Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"Crossover"

****

Air date: 5/16/1994
Teleplay by Peter Allan Fields and Michael Piller
Story by Peter Allan Fields
Directed by David Livingston

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Kira and Bashir cross into a parallel universe (the same one that Kirk crossed into in the TOS outing "Mirror, Mirror") to find humanity enslaved by the allied Klingons, Cardassians, and Bajorans—ironically enough, because Kirk led the "Terrans" to give up their violent ways, thus leaving them defenseless to the chaos of their neighbors. Kira finds herself face to face with her own counterpart, the evil Intendant Kira, who commands the station.

"Crossover" is a superb episode of unique style and attitude. The extremely neat-looking sets and lighting are dark and brooding. And David Livingston's first-rate direction utilizes freedom with some fresh perspectives; canted camera and low-angle shots add a welcome sense of unreality.

The characterizations can best be described as "brilliant." Nana Visitor's take on the mirror Kira creates a sexy, venomous persona with a healthy dose of narcissism and an intriguing subtext of lesbianism. She's spoiled, ruthless, and fearsome, but still has a respect for life and no love for violence. Meanwhile, Garak is the station's first officer—vindictive and power-hungry. Odo is absolutely hateful and brutal (with "Rules of Obedience" that can earn one a slap in the face for disobeying). Quark turns out to be noble (!), but is executed for helping Terrans escape the slave station. Then there's Avery Brooks' astounding performance as the alternate Sisko—an apathetic, self-serving, charismatic scumbag of a pirate who curries favor with the Intendant by running errands for her (among other things). Mirror Sisko is so watchable for all the wrong reasons; he's truly an antithesis of the real Sisko.

The plot to "Crossover" is fairly simple (Kira and Bashir must escape this universe before they're destroyed by its chaos), with a few interesting plots twists. It's meaty and involving, plunging humanity into the depths of despair. The mirror O'Brien gives the episode a full sense of credibility with a scene that says it all: If history had been just a little bit different, how would he—and all of humanity—have turned out?

That's what makes "Crossover" a real winner. Ask yourself: Based on the way the characters are played in this episode, isn't it possible that the real DS9 characters we know could've been capable of what their counterparts are here—provided history gave them the unlucky draw?

Previous episode: The Wire
Next episode: The Collaborator

Season Index

15 comments on this review

John - Fri, Jun 29, 2012 - 10:28am (USA Central)
I always wanted to like this episode more than I do.

A bit too ott and silly. A decent romp and a nice homage to the original series but not much more.

2.5 or 3.
ian - Tue, Jul 24, 2012 - 1:52am (USA Central)
Eh...So whatever happened to Spock and the Tantalus Field Generator?

This entire episode does not make sense.

The Terran Empire in TOS (and Ent, by the way) were pictured to be Nazis (or even Eugenic Supermen, like Khan, it was suggested in some fiction).
Now they are beaten down and a slave race?
LastDawnOfMan - Fri, Aug 10, 2012 - 12:34pm (USA Central)
I couldn't tell who the bad guys were because no one was wearing a goatee. I like to think of an evil twin universe where even the women and babies are all sporting goatees.
Patrick - Sat, Dec 22, 2012 - 8:37pm (USA Central)
You know what made the Mirror Universe work in TOS and even ENT? The alternate universe was *really* DIFFERENT!

The Mirror Universe of DS9 wasn't really that stark a contrast. It's filled with terrorism, war, and political chicanery; while the regular universe of Deep Space Nine was filled with... terrorism, war, and political chicanery.

If they truly wanted a Mirror Universe of DS9, they should should a group of individuals banded together to explore space and improve the cause of the human race...basically TOS and TNG.
Grumpy - Sun, Dec 23, 2012 - 7:32am (USA Central)
Without endorsing your DS9-bashing, Patrick, I'll just observe that we never really saw the mirror-DS9, as you envision it. The universe was always mirror-TOS, given a DS9 twist in this episode. That is, the TOS episode ended on a hopeful note, which is undercut here.

In another sense, TOS saw the Mirror universe as a literal reflection whereas DS9 treated it as a more conventional alternate history (except when they wanted the characters to act freaky for freaky's sake).
Patrick - Sun, Dec 23, 2012 - 9:55am (USA Central)
I didn't think I was bashing, just criticizing. I think DS9 was a fine show from a writing/directing/acting standpoint.

I see your point in saying that DS9's version of the MU was alternate rather than mirror (which Jammer himself criticizes in his "Emperor's New Cloak" review"). And frankly as an alternate universe, it's still not that alternate. In "Shattered Mirror" Sisko and Co. are fighting the Klingons--as opposed to what they were doing in Season 4? Not exactly mind blowing.

But you bring up something interesting about undercutting something from past Treks. In fact that was DS9's M.O--undercutting and deconstructing established Trek history.
Enrique - Fri, Feb 15, 2013 - 9:54am (USA Central)
I just watched this episode for probably the 5th or 6th time. I've always enjoyed it, but one nitpicky thing caught my attention. At the end of the episode, Kira says they've been "through the looking glass". In the opening scene, it was established she wasn't well versed in human idioms, as she didn't know what "burying the hatchet" meant. It's not particularly important, but it struck me as a little farfetched that she's read or is at all familiar with Lewis Carrol.
T'Paul - Mon, Mar 4, 2013 - 8:55pm (USA Central)
True, Enrique, I thought that about through the looking glass too...

Have to say I enjoyed the undertones of mirror/alternate Sisko in this episode, and the understated O'Brien too.
Sarah - Sat, May 18, 2013 - 10:25pm (USA Central)
I think this entire episode was designed so that Kira could strut around in black leather and be a sexy bisexual dominatrix. It feels very...um..."fan-powered"
ProgHead777 - Sat, Jul 13, 2013 - 5:49am (USA Central)
Upon embarking on my third complete viewing of DS9 (after watching it during its initial run and rewatching it again some years later) this was one of the episodes of the first three seasons that stuck in my mind and I anticipated seeing again. I can't really add anything to Jammer's excellent review... except one minor thing. The scene where mirror-Odo is destroyed by phaser fire is one of the most startling and striking visual effects in the history of Star Trek. I would love to know exactly how they accomplished it. It was quite convincing... and, as I said, startling. Besides that slight addendum, I can't think of anything substantive to add to this review.
Kotas - Tue, Oct 22, 2013 - 4:57pm (USA Central)

A fun episode, albeit a bit over the top.

6/10
the - Wed, Dec 11, 2013 - 8:04am (USA Central)
the real winner in the acting stakes here is colm meaney, who shows a truly broken and defeated man with hardly an atom of effort
Nissa - Tue, Feb 4, 2014 - 10:01pm (USA Central)
This was fun, but not great. I never bought alternate Kira as a powerful, dangerous woman. She kept undercutting herself by showing mercy for no reason. It would have been more fun if she were outright demented, and showed mercy only when it suited her selfish purposes.

Other than that, I don't like how this episode weakens the message of the original Mirror, Mirror, and makes it so that goodness is weakness instead of strength. Plato would be disappointed. If they had used that as a theme instead of a dismissal of TOS, the episode would have been better.

That said, I love where alt Kira mourns alt Odo. It's a great parallel to what eventually happens to Odo and Kira, and very fun.
Jay - Thu, Feb 20, 2014 - 12:38pm (USA Central)
Interesting that in the mirror universe, phaser fire makes Odo explode like the Stay-Puft marshamllow man, but in Apocolypse Rising, phaser fire makes a changeling explode like a bag of sand.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014 - 12:54am (USA Central)
I think the best Trek episodes are ones like these that make you think. Speaking of Plato, I could imagine Picard shaking his head at all this. But that's a lot of DS9. Sisko says it best in The Maquis... The heart of the federation is all up in the clouds with their saints and philosophies, but the same doesn't hold true for the rest of the galaxy. In a way, the mirror universe takes this idea, and exponentiates it.

Now, looking at what Mirror Kira said about the terrans... Sure, there was probably high hopes initially, but look at what they faced here. First off, trying to make peace when all around you is much more chaotic, never mind the likelihood that mirror terrans would be ill-equipped to actually enact change in the way the Federation did... Klingons are no help, neither are the Bajorans, in fact here they seemed to have become Cardassians.

Another parallel I see here would have to be the prime directive (Yeah, I know, I know...). Much like how TNG gets all preachy with developing worlds, tampering with the course of natural history... Where here, 'natural history' throughout the galaxy seems to be one of chaotic order. All Kirk did would not be dissimilar to taking a pail of septic sludge and an eyedropper to drop a tiny droplet of pure water. At first, perhaps for an instant, the drop will appear to make a tiny portion of sludge look like cloudy water, but corruption is inevitable.

Granted, I still have yet to see "Mirror, Mirror", or for that matter the remainder of DS9... But this is how it looks to me.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer