Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"The Collaborator"

***

Air date: 5/23/1994
Teleplay by Gary Holland and Ira Steven Behr & Robert Hewitt Wolfe
Story by Gary Holland
Directed by Cliff Bole

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

On the eve of the election for Bajor's new Kai, Vedek Winn suspects Vedek Bareil of being a Cardassian collaborator and recruits Kira to help her find the truth. Kira—who is in love with Bareil—finds herself in a very difficult bind where her personal feelings are at odds with her duty to Bajor and the truth.

I like seeing characters put through the wringer like this; it's a good way to see emotional performances emerge, and Nana Visitor is one of the most credible and effective when it comes to projecting emotion onto the screen. There's never a question of whether Kira will find the truth or not; it's more a question of what she will find, and how she'll react emotionally to it.

The plot's twists and turns are probing, bringing up the issue of how to deal with Bajorans who sold themselves out to the Cardassians, and, further, looking at the reasons why people would be tempted to do such things. Odo makes a keen observation when he notes that in extreme circumstances everybody is capable of terrible things. (Was he referring to Kira's murder in "Necessary Evil"?)

Vedek Winn's political intrigue takes the character in some unexpected directions, particularly when she declares "peace" with Sisko in a scene that makes one wonder if she's being sincere or merely self-serving. Similarly, her belief that Bareil could be a collaborator gives her the perfect opportunity to milk the situation to her political advantage—yet her motives somehow seem deeper and more sincere than her superficial arrogance and condescending persona let on.

Kira's investigation takes her where she doesn't want to go—straight to proof that Bareil did help the Cardassians destroy a rebel base. His noble motives were to save Bajoran lives—an admission that will still cost him his political career. A last-minute twist privately confounds the situation even further, showing Bareil as a truly honorable man. If there's a subtext flowing through here, it certainly highlights how brutal and painful the Occupation was, even apart from the often-explored issues of killing.

Previous episode: Crossover
Next episode: Tribunal

Season Index

8 comments on this review

angel - Sat, Sep 10, 2011 - 12:29pm (USA Central)
Episodes like "The Collaborator" show that Quark would be better at Odo's job than Odo is, seeing at how he can just effortlessly bypass security bullshit that Odo can't
T'Paul - Thu, Jul 4, 2013 - 7:51am (USA Central)
The twist (without revealing it) was very good regarding a much-loved previous character.
Kotas - Tue, Oct 22, 2013 - 5:01pm (USA Central)

I just can't get into the Bajoran storylines.

3/10
gata4 - Wed, May 7, 2014 - 12:25pm (USA Central)
Great Winn-Kira episode. Winn is shaping up at this point to be a great villain: there's sufficient ambiguities in the plot to make you think she just happens to be in the right place at the right time, adept at taking advantage of situations, or (more likely), she might have manipulated the whole thing, the arrival of the collaborator at DS9 and all. Winn seems to have ears everywhere, so will know of Kira's relationship with Bareil, so takes not a little pleasure in choosing Kira to investigate her lover. Her putdown of the "child" on the Promenade was classic. I liked the implication as to an inherent weakness within Bareil too, the number of times he seemed to need to visit that Orb for guidance.

An 8/10 episode for me, spoilt only slightly by Avery Brooks' acting again. His wild-eyed suppressed anger does him some credit here in his scenes with Winn, but he uses a variation of this face way too often, such as in getting excited about holosuite baseball with Jake, or trying to sidestep politicians. He seemed more suited to the Alternate Universe Sisko in "Crossover", IMO. Bring on the Nick Fury look and the new uniform in season 4 - that grave him some gravitas.
Yanks - Mon, Jul 7, 2014 - 9:33am (USA Central)
Solid 3 stars for me too.

Winn, knowing the truth finds a way to have Kira reveal it so as to dethrown Bareil before the election. Brilliantly evil.

I also loved the line where we find out that Winn isn't going to sit around and "take" Kira's disrespectful tone:

"Oh, and child, one last thing. I know you're under a terrible strain, but if you're wise, you will never speak to me with such disrespect again."

Louise Fletcher delivers these lines so well. The look she gave Kira was priceless. I just love (or hate) when she says "child" :-)

Weiss - Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - 1:34am (USA Central)
I just watched this ep and noticed Odo's very subtle reaction to hearing kira loves Bareil. He was saddened in his reaction and but quickly hid it and misdirected kira interpretation of his reaction. Very excellent scene well written. This set up his love story for her.

When I watched these eps in my teens of the bajorans I was always bored, although I always loved winns character. But now as I am older I find these eps very gripping! All the twists visions all excellently handled. It was hard telling what winns involvement was, maybe she did call the collaborator, she did have a sideways glance at him. But she was also desperate so she threw everything at the window, even trying to get a implicit endorcemtn from sisko. Her becoming kai was the worst outcome, but did the prophets want her to become kai?

Quark figuring out whaat odo couldnt with security makes sense, he is a conmen and thinks differnetly. Conversely quark being a security chief would be a terible idea, he lacks a ethical code to maintain security

Domi - Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - 9:53pm (USA Central)
Three stars? I could not be more bored.
Dukat - Mon, Sep 1, 2014 - 6:40pm (USA Central)
I can't stand bajorans or bajoran episodes. Their superstitions and their treachery and their lies, their smug superiority and their stiff necked obstinacy, their earrings and their broken wrinkled noses.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer