Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 45,746 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,830
Set Bookmark
Jake
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

this is what introduced me, age 9 or so at the time, to the true nature of 'to be continued'. I remember having the TV on for another *three hours* wondering when the continuation would be, before realizing I'd have to tune in next week.

... nope, not even that.

it was a long summer.
Set Bookmark
Skuzz
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

If the Caatati's ships run on thorium, why wouldn't they be able to make it? Voyager could, and that was even before Seven's magical thorium maker. They had already made and given them some earlier in the episode.

And when they dump the warp core, they are no longer at warp obviously, and they lost impulse too and are dead in space, so why is the warp core millions of kilometers away? It should be right next to them. Makes no sense.

And if you use a tractor beam on it will supposedly explode, but the Caatati tractor it all over the place and nothing happens.

Once you replace a warp core, doesn't it take a long time to initialize it as well? More than 30 min I think. Not to mention all the other stuff they did in that same time period while Paris and Torres are running out of oxygen, as other people said.

And they keep saying in the show 114 millibars of oxygen left, 93 millibars, etc. Millibars is a measurement of pressure. Not an amount of oxygen. They should have said parts per million or a percentage or count down time or something that made more sense.

Not just a Voyager thing, but most sci-fi does it; and that is that people in outer space always move in slow motion. Like when they are typing on the communications pad and whatnot in this episode. I always found that ridiculous.

And why didn't Voyager realize that they were out of communication with the shuttle long before that? Why didn't either of them on the shuttle tell Voyager they found the core and that the Caatati were trying to steal it?

And why would Seven have suggested that she turn herself over to them first, instead of bringing up the thorium generator? She only brought it up after Janeway said no, she won't let her go. It doesn't seem very Borg-like to surrender.

And screw the Caatati, they didn't even apologize.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 1:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

For me, "Code of Honor" is among the better episodes in a list of "worst Next Gen episodes" list. (I like it better than "Justice," for instance).

As others have pointed out, it definitely has the feel of an Original Series episode but with Next Gen characters. Specifically Season 2 of TOS.

As for the racism: I'm trying to do a lot of self-examination these days and see the world through eyes other than white American male. But in the end, that's what I am, and I really didn't feel that racism vibe others feel -- then or now.

I took the Ligonians to be a loose derivation of an older Asian culture, the Mughal Empire perhaps, but played with black actors instead of brown ones. It didn't strike me nearly as racist as Jar Jar Binks or the trade villains in "Phantom Menace." Those immediate jumped out to me as bad stereotypes. The Ligonians -- they just came off to me as another typical Season 1 effort than didn't pan out well.

I think the easy solution in that instance was to hire actors of various skin pigments.

Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

As others noted, this movie had a cool effect in that it actually makes ANH a better movie.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

I’ve just watched this episode today (i’ve not seen any series of Star Trek in almost a decade). I’ve give this episode 3 stars instead of 3/12 stars. I agree with most of what jammer said about this episode. However, I’ve also agree with those who question the relationship between Sisko and mirror Dax and with those who stated that mirror Tuvok appearance is a waste of time since he is there only for show and I didn’t see him take part in any of the action scenes in the episodes.

Also, I’ve a minor issue with the first act of the episode. When Smiley (mirror universe of O’brien of course) took Captain Sisko hostage, Odo and Quark sure have gone to the turbo lift rather quickly after Smiley said he wanted to talk to Sisko alone prior to both Odo and Quark being there. Also while Smiley was configuring the transporter to bring him and Sisko to his universe, some of the ops officers had the opportunity to tackle the man to the ground or to use their own phasers to stun him. Sisko wouldn’t had to go to the alternate universe in the first place or not go there as a hostage.

Even though I didn’t like these flaws, the pros of this episode more than outweight the cons and it was a good episode overalll.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I enjoyed this one more than TFA. It started slow to setup the story, but I really enjoyed the 2nd half of this one. The best part was the end when Darth boarded the rebel ship and single handedly took out 2 whole corridors of troops using only his lightsaber and the Force. He literally threw people through the celiling as he raged for thr stolen data.


It was a great ending as a prequel to setup ANH. The final battle visuals were good. The movie wanted us to care about the different characters. The blind guy kicking ass with the Force was fun, and the droid is actually pretty funny. Much better than TFA imo. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

Not a bad movie but definitely nothing special. Too much of a rehash of ANH. The villain was a pimple faced brat and a CG gargoyle that didn't resonate at all. Rey defeats the villain after learning about the force the day before. The movie had a feeling of political correctness that seemed hollow. I probably expect too much from these new Star Wars movies as nothing will recapture the feeling that the originals gave me in my youth.
Set Bookmark
Matt Strathearn
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi

Jedi is my favorite. We have the great scenes in the desert in Jabbas palace, Luke as a fully fledged Jedi, the Emperor actually makes Vader look like a saint, the awesome space battle, and Luke going apeshit on Vader in an epic Saber clash. Rebuilding the Death Star didn't bother me either.

Sure the Ewoks were a bit hokey. However, I don't see them as "little bears that defeated the empire forces," like many do. They just helped the rebels tip the scale in their favor as the empire didn't account for them at all. ESB was great because it expanded the Star Wars universe and wasn't afraid to be dark, but Jedi is more visually appealing, and kept the tension and the stakes extremely high in a "David vs Goliath" kind of way. A common theme in movies, but to me Jedi knocks it out of the park. It's not common for the final part of a trilogy to be so good.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Great episode.

I echo the sentiments here but wanted to mention how I love the comic relief in this episode. The scene when Kurn was eating with the crew was classic.

As Picard was carving a turkey, Kurn asks, "how long has this bird been dead? It looks like it has been lying in the sun for quite some time."

Geordi reminds him that they cook much of their food and that they use the replicator.

Kurns response, "ah yes, I heard about that. I shall try some of your burned, replicated bird meat," as he slaps a Turley leg on his plate.

Then Picard explains what a delicacy caviar is, and that he was able to obtain some for this dinner, Kurn says, "I'm honored," as he scrapes some caviar on top of the turkey leg. Omg this sequence had me rolling.
Set Bookmark
Groundie
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

Trek fan: “So Data's yellow/green skin and fake eyes on TNT is actually the more primitive design than TOS, where Roddenberry was probably just trying to save money by having androids who looked human.”

The technology to make Data (and Lore) have natural pigmentation existed, but Dr. Soong purposely made them that way so they’d stand out.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Enterprise was at its best with first season episodes like this: mundane, banal, pseudo-realistic tales in which the Enterprise crew struggle to do simple things (which later Trek series treat as routine). And so here we watch as the crew struggle to communicate, develop boarding party rules and fix their targetting systems. Very simple. Very unique and gripping. It's a shame the series, like DS9 did after its first 2 seasons, felt the need to move away from such things and toward BOMBASTIC VIOLENT DRAMA.

Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I thought a lot about why Part 1 and Part 2 fails to entertain me, and I think I know what it is. I think they crammed too many things together. The concept of aliens traveling back in time to commit murder should have been enough to fill the episodes, but then they crammed in Guinan and Mark Twain. Then they made Mark Twain the center of it all. There's no time to think about what's going on because there's too much going on. Compare that to the Inner Light, which is the exact opposite. I wanted to learn more about the aliens, but sadly we never hear about them again. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

⭐️ ⭐️ 💫

Pretty good idea and Brannon didvgreat job nailing the mannerisms and characterization of someone suffering from a phobia and generalized anxiety. He really nailed the details from Barclay freaking out as moment of transport nearing to The embarrassment he has for flaking out when the rest of the away team managed to beam like no big deal to suffering internally and mind mulling all sorts of worst case scenarios. That all was realistic and well done
I also Liked Riker’s act of kindness telling Barclay that he was glad Barclay joined them.

I also thought fresh to finally see what it is like to transport from the transportee’s point of view.

The mystery was intriguing as to what Barclay saw on beam, the reaction from the dead crewman and Barclays glowing arm. BUT the payoff was really really underwhelming and not very satisfying. The whole “the Yosemite crew looked like monster worms was due to distorted spatial relationship” I didn’t buy and felt similar to it was all a Dream.

If the payoff had been better—cause it is the weakest part of a solid episode of have given it 3 or 3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

"The Darkness and the Light" is Bryan Fuller's first tv credits, which is surprising because it's a wholly pedestrian and bland hour. The whole plot is something we already knew from "Duet"-Kira killed Cardassian civilians! We get it! It also kills of the genuinely interesting members of the Shakaar resistance cell for shock value. Seems like a waste to me.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

"The Begotten" is one of the best Odo shows that DS9 ever did. I remain disappointed that the series didn't give Odo much focus after the season opener, but this is a very nice way to resolve it. Odo's bond with the 'baby' changeling was surprisingly poignant. The B-Plot with the O'Briens was mediocre and cringe-worthy, but it doesn't really matter all that much.

3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Rahul-He doesn't 'value' DS9 more, it's just his favorite Trek series. We all have a favorite.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Despite its flaws I enjoyed this one a lot. 3 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Trek fan
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 6:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

To me, old-school Star Trek is like pizza: Even when it's bad, it's still pretty good. And "Spock's Brain" is a fun little slice of B-movie 1950s Sci-Fi pulp that sneaks its way onto the series for an offbeat hour of quirky amusement. As a kid, I actually found this one pretty terrifying, as the brainless remote control Spock left me with a queasy and uncomfortable feeling of terror. Ditto for the surgery scene at the end. I suppose I'd give this one 2 1/2 stars, as it's not nearly as embarrassing as TNG's "Sub Rosa" and many so-horrible-I-wish-I-were-dead shows on Voyager and Enterprise.

John DeLancie ("Q" on TNG) describes "Spock's Brain" with utter seriousness as his favorite TOS because it shows actors at the top of their game doing what actors do best: Trying to sell low-budget material as top-drawer stuff. If some TOS shows like "The Deadly Years" are examples of good concepts suffering from pedestrian execution, "Spock's Brain" is an example of an bargain-basement concept (crew seeks to recover Spock's brain from alien thieves) that gets a wonderfully fun execution. The whole notion of organ thieves terrified me as a kid; it didn't matter to me that a brain doesn't seem ideal for transplant, as I suspended my disbelief to believe anything in the future is possible. Also, this plot is not unlike the Vidians and their Phage on Voyager, where Neelix basically wakes up like Spock in one episode: Missing the vital parts he needs to survive and (like remote-control Spock) temporarily stabilized by Future Medicine, Neelix must wait for the crew to recover his organs. So the basic story setup of intergalactic organ thieves, despite the gloriously silly "brain and brain" line, is believable enough in the Trekverse for me. It's actually pretty terrifying. And the idea of a civilization living off technology it doesn't understand, despite Gene Coon submitting this story under a pseudonym, works for me. So no, I don't think SB is as bad as everyone says! It's not great, but it's GLORIOUS, to quote the great Commander Kor.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

Pretty strong episode here without too many flaws although there's an awful lot going on that doesn't get satisfactorily explained for my liking.

The most important part about this episode is another Spock/McCoy interaction. Kirk's dead captain log settles it, but McCoy is out of line on a couple of arguments and Spock's actions were justifiable. For McCoy to harass Spock about firing on the Tholians and not withdrawing is ridiculous. Then he accuses Spock of wanting Kirk's captaincy. But at least they had a good scene at the end when they feign not having had to listen to Kirk's dead captain log.

Great start to the episode with finding the Defiant and the mystery about its crew -- the whole space is breaking up phenomenon and the eery music created the right atmosphere -- kind of like when Kirk & co. go aboard the Constellation in "The Doomsday Machine". Good tension/suspense here.

It gets a bit tricky with Kirk's situation -- apparently he's caught in the transporter beam and not moving in space despite what the Defiant and the 2 universes are doing somehow. And at the end when the Tholians complete their web and the Enterprise just disappears and re-appears somewhere else -- how did the ship's power throw them clear of the web? A bit of handwaving required here I think.

Also, what's the explanation for the Kirk visions? It's sci-fi here, not fantasy. Only thing we get is from Spock saying something like in dire situations, people see what they want to see?

Spock declaring Kirk dead, I guess, is based on the amount of time until the next interphase possible being too long after his oxygen supply runs out. In retrospect, that was presumptuous but it gave him and Bones the duty to listen to the dead captain log, which was needed to get them out of the predicament.

As for the Tholians, we don't learn too much about them but it's interesting that the Enterprise series made use of them in a couple of episodes. I wish other Trek series had made more use of TOS aliens (like the Gorn etc.).

A strong 3 stars for "The Tholian Web" -- nearly 3.5 stars for me but for some minor flaws in the writing and McCoy's acting toward Spock. The revisiting of multiple universes is good sci-fi. Definitely one of the better Season 3 episodes and a good one for Spock.

Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

I'm mostly here to echo points already made:

1. When I watched this the first time, I remember thinking it was the "first good episode." And really, it's practically OUTSTANDING until we get to "11001001." Of course, once episodes such as "Measure of a Man" are released, we get a new bar.

2. Wonderment. What a great word. And that's probably the only thing Season 1 (and maybe Season 2 a little bit) actually does better that the rest of the seasons. Wonderment. There truly is a sense of wonderment and exploration and the ability to be surprised that's lost after the series turns to Klingon and Romulan machinations and threats from the Borg.

3. The music. Not that I was paying a whole of attention, but I think the music for this episode added to the sense of wonderment, not take away from it.

4. This probably would have been turned into an amazing episode in Seasons 3, 4 or 5.

5. Chief Argyle would have been a good recurring character, although I think O'Brien ended up filling that particular character void. (Dr. Solar is the one-time character I most lament not being a semi-regular).
Set Bookmark
Lynos
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@SlackerInc

Yes for Lost, no for BSG (quit after season 2).

Why do you think there is a correlation?

Dissappointing to find there will not be an episode this week, AND that they shortened the season by an episode.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 3:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Not one of my favorites. The Prime Directive debate wasn't much different than previous ones. The alien girl was the only one of her species they encountered, and it was just too cheesy for me. I agree with others that Data just seemed goofy in this one.

I did like the sub plot with Wesley learning how to be in command. It is very relatable to anyone in the corporate world. This part raises the episode to 2 stars from me.

The visuals of the planet look great on Blu-Ray.
Set Bookmark
Andy
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Chrome - Thanks. Wish Airiam would get more screen time in command.

I don't know if anyone else has commented on this, but how does British actor Jason Isaacs manage to put on such a perfect American accent? It even has a slight southern twang to it.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

@ Andrew,

I agree with you that the episode would have been much stronger had Sorella's attitude really come out of an actual attitude problem from Jadzia. As it was I think no matter how Jadzia behaved she would have treated her the same way. I get the "you're not a Klingon" angle, but for Jadzia to have to be humbled it wasn't enough to just say that she should have to beg to be accepted into a Klingon house and not make assumptions. It should have also involved a humbling of the Jadzia/Curzon character of feeling like they're entitled to whatever they want. There's something in common, in a way, between the Curzon persona and between Kor, in that they both feel above others in some way and that they should be considered as privileged in some way. I would have liked Sorella's attitude to come directly out of "you are not Curzon" and for Jadzia to really be put in her place and have to stand for herself, rather than as 'new-Curzon'. The episode didn't really go there and instead what we got was Jadzia basically having to grovel because marriage is important and she should do whatever it takes to make it work. That's an ok message, but it barely even told that message. We end up with a kind of mishmash where some of it is Jadzia not sure if she wants to settle down, and some of it where she's proud but has no good reason to keep hoisting up that pride over what she wants. The scene with Sisko is excellent but it's not enough to really give us the story that should have been here. I like this one, but it comes short of really giving us what we should have gotten about Jadzia's character weaknesses.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

I think the conflict between Dax and Sirella could been a lot better if Sirella thought Dax was over-playing her connection to Curzon and thus her Klingon-ness rather than just directly racism/xenophobia, openly against any non-Klingon and supposedly that she's less physically strong.

I don't blame Dax for either having mixed feelings about getting married or remembering & being affected by having been married multiple times before.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,830
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.