Jammer's Reviews

Comment Browser

Clear | RSS for this

Total Found: 18,788 (Showing 1-25)

Next »Page 1 of 752
Jerry - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 3:01pm (USA Central)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I agree with the 3 / 4 stars given. I think Michael Ansara was one of the high points of the episode, and the other was the 2nd most famous Klingon proverb - Only a Fool Fights in a Burning House.
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:39pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

The whole episode I was bracing myself for another display of Quark groveling at "Move Along Home" cringe levels, instead I get a thrown bat'leth and (if you'll excuse me) "COME AT ME BRO", followed by the most amusing divorce ceremony ever.

And yeah, it's good to see Keiko responding negatively with depression, as awful as that sounds now that I think of it... It gives the character more dimensionality than the usual O'Brien marital duking we've seen. Here, we see Miles instead of returning angry canned lines off in the distance, we get 'I can't see her like this' and real solution.

I agree with Nic, though... Does Jake just have to suck it up and tutor himself and everybody else now?
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:56am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

@Bravestar - Considering Nog is Jake's best friend and the purpose of the staff meeting was to get a senior staff baseball game going and the only person who knows more about baseball on the entire station than Kassidy and the Sisko's is probably going to be Jake's best friend.... I'd say it makes plenty of sense that he was invited.

Beyond that.... since I'm aware of at least 3 people that WERE NOT main cast that outranked Harry Kim, what the heck was HE doing at the staff meetings (or Seven).
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:48am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

@Rivus - The Odo plot was a 4 and the other plot was... I dunno... badly written fan fic?

I absolutely love the beam out where Kira presses Odo's comm badge. I just love their closeness there.

I could never give this episode a 2 because of how much I love Odo's story in it.
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:46am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Are there bald people in the mirror universe? They have gay people there....

I always just assumed that bald was a fashion choice in TNG era.... after all, the Doctor re stimulates Seven's follicles to let her grow hair....
Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:38am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

I tend to look at the stars before watching the episode, then read the review... This whole episode, I was scratching my head, going 'how in the hell is THIS two stars!?!?!?' I was laughing my head off at Garak's one-liner... But then the ending came around, and while I think the 'cop-out' isn't nearly as bad as some say, I think the issue is more with how it's presented. It's not like "Whispers", where there's all this huge buildup until the plot's made clear, it's just madness and chaos all throughout, and a sudden sucker punch at the ending... I just don't feel it punctuated the overall feeling of the episode as well as it could have... Still, excellently acted, especially the interactions between Kira and Odo. I'd say it's worthy of a 3, docked down from 3.5 just because the ending felt admittedly abrupt.
Robert - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

"Why did the Bajoran woman just happen to contact Kira at the beginning of the episode, just when the Cardassians wanted to kidnap her? If she had been working for the Cardassians, then she wouldn't have contacted Sisko when Kira didn't show up. The Cardassians did not need the backstory of Kira just learning that she had supposedly been in the prison. "

It's pretty obvious that SOMEBODY was working for the Cardassians, but I doubt it was that woman. The Kobliad woman who kidnaps her watches the communication at the beginning of the episode. Most likely whomever assigned the Bajoran to research Elimspur was working for the Cardassians, even if the woman who contacted Kira was not. The events were clearly not random (as you could see by the Kobliad woman observing) they were planned in some way.

"The idea that in ten years Kira never had a check up, which would have easily revealed that she was Cardassian, is silly."

I believe in Voyager Seska (who was also genetically altered to be Bajoran) scanned as Bajoran to most superficial scans... it wasn't until the doctor kept poking that he discovered she was Cardassian. And she tried to lie it away, claiming a transfusion from a Cardassian caused the readings. The doctor saw through it, but she clearly felt she had enough Bajoran DNA for it to be worth a try. And Voyager (at it's time) was state of the art. DS9 was likely using a lot of old Bajoran equipment and before DS9 she was likely getting even crappier check ups. Voyager's Second Son shows a race genetically altering Harry to not appear human as well. The original ending was going to have the doctor not be able to verify one way or the other.... so clearly the writers thought this tech was good enough to fool medical equipment (or at least it could be).

"Why would Kira's interrogator be asking stupid questions that Cardassia easily has the answers to? Wouldn't that tip Kira off that they don't actually want information from her?"

As far as I know interrogators almost ALWAYS start with the easy stuff. If you're not even willing to admit you've been in Ops, of course you're not going to tell them anything useful. You'd start with the basics (stuff she knows you know), move onto intermediate (stuff she doesn't know if you know) and move on from there. The idea being that there is no point in starting off with things you can't verify....

"I like to think that this episode is actually leading to a triple cross. Kira's "father" is a double agent. The bracelet he gives her is a spy device. His overwrought warning about Garak then takes on a different meaning altogether. It would have made the episode a lot more interesting. "

Have you seen the followup to this episode yet?

"Also, why does Garak kill the guy instead of stun him? Why does Sisko not have a problem with this?"

Considering Sisko later decks Garak for something similar, I agree with you here 100%. It was good for Garak's character to be established with the kind of edge that could just murder somebody like that for the hell of it, but it weakens Sisko's character a bit that he doesn't even so much as grumble about it. I mean.... in the end there's not much he could do. The man just saved his first officer and I HIGHLY doubt that there would be any real consequences for what Garak did... but Sisko is explosive enough (and presumably against murder) that I find it hard to believe nothing came of this. Maybe off screen....
Grumpy - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 11:25am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

"If Picard can baldly go, so can Picard-o." --some damn "Making of" special

As far as we know, Ric, incurable baldness is a side effect of the 24th century's cure for gayness.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 2:01am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I can't help but keep saying: it is impossible to keep swallowing how easy it is for someone to escape security measures. To overcome security officers at the sickbay, to by-pass command codes. To beam people without authorization. The lazy writing is extreme. Btw it is funny that Jammer did usually excuse these things more than he did the losses of shuttlecrafts.

That said, of course it was a good episode. Mostly by the fact that we start seeing continuity regarding the development of Seven's character. And finally we see some consequences for her wild actions. The last scenes and the dialogues between her and the captain were a joy to watch.

Rivus - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:54am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I think the best Trek episodes are ones like these that make you think. Speaking of Plato, I could imagine Picard shaking his head at all this. But that's a lot of DS9. Sisko says it best in The Maquis... The heart of the federation is all up in the clouds with their saints and philosophies, but the same doesn't hold true for the rest of the galaxy. In a way, the mirror universe takes this idea, and exponentiates it.

Now, looking at what Mirror Kira said about the terrans... Sure, there was probably high hopes initially, but look at what they faced here. First off, trying to make peace when all around you is much more chaotic, never mind the likelihood that mirror terrans would be ill-equipped to actually enact change in the way the Federation did... Klingons are no help, neither are the Bajorans, in fact here they seemed to have become Cardassians.

Another parallel I see here would have to be the prime directive (Yeah, I know, I know...). Much like how TNG gets all preachy with developing worlds, tampering with the course of natural history... Where here, 'natural history' throughout the galaxy seems to be one of chaotic order. All Kirk did would not be dissimilar to taking a pail of septic sludge and an eyedropper to drop a tiny droplet of pure water. At first, perhaps for an instant, the drop will appear to make a tiny portion of sludge look like cloudy water, but corruption is inevitable.

Granted, I still have yet to see "Mirror, Mirror", or for that matter the remainder of DS9... But this is how it looks to me.
Ric - Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 12:09am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Quite a good episode. I only can't take the fact that Voyager easliy sent the only doctor available in the ship to a mission with high likelihood of failure. It does not make sense at all and is one of these many examples of silly lazy wrtting in this show. Also, the lack of imediate consequences for Seven's wild behaviour was a bit annoying.

But again, the rest of the episode is very good. I do think that it managed to balance fun, funny and important storytelling. I can't understand how Jammer could have said this episode was superficial. We saw Seven's behaviour going wilder, we saw a bit of build up on her relationship with Torres, we saw The Doctor delivering a message to the Starfleet! Now they now about Voyager's journey. One thing is to expect deep character moments. Or profound moral choices (this looks a bit like a DS9-addiction). Another is to say the episode, its plot or its consequences were superficial like it was said about past episodes in this season. Lastly, what a joy was the last scene, what a great line delivery when the captain gets the final message...

In another tone, the dialogues between the doctors are frequently really fun. The piece about sex, with our Doc so proud of his sexual experience was amazing. And what about Seven's face when she asks "I am rude?", haha.

Also, I think they have managed to bring the Alpha Quadrant to the show in a smart and sort of believable way. I liked the episode a lot.


PS: Paris asking for more hair to the replacement doctor made me remind of something that I always have though about The Doc. He makes 21th century bald people like me hopeless about the future...
SlackerInc - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 11:17pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Bob's comment at the top of this thread perpetuates a pernicious myth about the Civil War that needs to be countered with a dose of reality:

www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/five-myths-about-why-the-south-seceded/2011/01/03/ABHr6jD_story.html
Ric - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 11:03pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I actually think this is episode is quite good. Sure, not really deep, good quality entertainment. Fun, funny, and with a fresh way to deal with the mind control, parallel reality stuff. Just for that summed to the good dialogues, it deserves more than 2.5 stars in my perspective.
K'Elvis - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 5:15pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

A good episode. It challenges Neelix's belief in the afterlife, but doesn't come to a clean resolution. There's any way of re-interpreting the afterlife to be compatible with his lack of experience. But even if there is no afterlife and this is all there is, is it truly of no value? While Neelix doesn't resolve his question of whether or not there is life after death, he does appear to accept that even if there is no afterlife, this life is still of value.

If this life is all we have, it is precious. Imagine you had the last bottle of wine on Earth. Is it valueless, just because it won't last? Or is it something of great value to be saved for a special occasion, and shared with friends?

It's quite realistic that Chakotay was able to talk him down from the ledge, so to speak. It's a common enough phenomenon in real life, after all. It doesn't mean that everything is going to be perfect afterwards. I would have liked the closing scene to be Chakotay and Neelix doing the ritual again.
Verdeta - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 3:04pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I assure you, Gene Roddenberry turned over in his grave.
Ric - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 2:12pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Such a touching episode, very good. Amazing plot, deep debate behind the story. Loved it.

Even more because FINALLY someone was not able to beam without authorization, or to steal a shuttkecraft and etc. Hope it happens again other times when it is not Neelix the one trying.

However, I also thought that the nano-tehnobabble was littel credible and I totally agree with DLPB's comment above, about the ex machina and the issue it introduces. What saves us from any fear is to know that in Voyager it will not have consequences later anyway...
Peter - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 11:35am (USA Central)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

To fluffysheap and all:

"Devil's Due" like TNG's season 2's "The Child" was actually an episode written for the non-produced late-1970's TV series, "Star Trek Phase II", that yes would have been given to the original series cast.
Ric - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 10:47am (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

@Nick LOL LOL

Awful episode. Implausible plot, childish story, cartoonish execution.

Besides, I am also one of those who just can't stand anymore "There's too much interference, I can't get a lock on him", not to mention "they bypassed security protocols". At this point, when I listen these lines, my mind already goes off the episode.
Bravestarr - Tue, Apr 15, 2014, 9:51am (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Once again Nog saves the day.
K'Elvis - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 11:39pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Non-touch telepathy among Vulcans has been shown ro exist, but is also shown as being very limited, but this episode makes it appear that speaking telepathically is common among Vulcans, but Tuvok chooses to use spoken words to deal with humans. There's little indication that Tuvok has substantially greater telepathic gifts than other Vulcans, and so rather than throw out the rest of canon to accommodate this episode, I choose to interpret it as he is able to communicate telepathically with someone who is a strong telepath.

I'm not sure what to think of this episode, because it requires judging this society, and we really don't know that much about it. It makes sense that a species of telepaths would have to control their violent thoughts. Are there better methods available? Perhaps they could work on shielding themselves from negative emotions rather than forcing them not to have such emotions. The Vulcans are even less open to emotions than these people are. While I don't think they would force you to have memories erased, they expect Vulcans to control both positive and negative emotions, and a Vulcan who went about expressing emotions would be treated as mentally ill.
Quarkissnyder - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 10:16pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Also, why does Garak kill the guy instead of stun him? Why does Sisko not have a problem with this?
Ric - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 9:59pm (USA Central)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

The explanation given to Chakotay about how the weapon-ship operates and of what it has done, was terrific. The complexities of the Krenims behaviour was really nice to watch.

However, as @Jake Sedge has asked above... here I am to be the annoying one! I hated how the writers have writen the captain in this episode. Since the beginning, she was refusing to take any medical care or precaution was irritating and silly. Culminating with her disrespecting not only the Starfleet regulations, but The Doctor, in quite an awful way. Was this show to have a bit more of continuity and lasting effects, this would have to harm inescapably the relationship between her and The Doc, and more, would harm how much The Doc see himself as a real part of the real crew.

Some can claim that this moment has introduced a deeper, dark-side DS9-ish moment. I say it introduced an annoying captain, in a character moment I hope I can forget. Granted, we all know she wanna save the ship. We all understand the parallel that was trying to be made between her obssesion and Annorax's. But one thing is to show that she also has her obsessions, another is to show her so out of character. More than that, repeating her moments of stupid bravery dozens of times was not necessary.

Not to mention the dozens of "captain is being stupid, but let's obey". Curious, the crew still obeys hierarchy, but the captain herself does not! It is like just a personal stuff, the captain chooses when Starfleet stuff are valid or not. This is crap. It put me off the episode.

That said, of course it was entertaning, had a few good dialogues and a bit of deep moments. I also enjoyed the irony in the end, when we see that had Annorax let his ship and himself be destroyed before, everything he wanted to restore would have been restored! But for me, the damage was already made in my connection to the episode due to the shallow and irritating poratryal of the captain's obsession. I cannot give this episode more than an intermediate score.
Quarkissnyder - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 9:58pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

While this episode was enjoyable, it had huge plot holes. Why did the Bajoran woman just happen to contact Kira at the beginning of the episode, just when the Cardassians wanted to kidnap her? If she had been working for the Cardassians, then she wouldn't have contacted Sisko when Kira didn't show up. The Cardassians did not need the backstory of Kira just learning that she had supposedly been in the prison.

The idea that in ten years Kira never had a check up, which would have easily revealed that she was Cardassian, is silly.

Why would Kira's interrogator be asking stupid questions that Cardassia easily has the answers to? Wouldn't that tip Kira off that they don't actually want information from her?

I like to think that this episode is actually leading to a triple cross. Kira's "father" is a double agent. The bracelet he gives her is a spy device. His overwrought warning about Garak then takes on a different meaning altogether. It would have made the episode a lot more interesting.
Dutchstudent82 - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 8:39pm (USA Central)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

This was THE one moment in the entire series that made me think WTF!

*genocide on your attacking race? without even twinking my eyes. It is what I NOT share with star treks cosy little world, I much more prefer the Alternative relaity of Terra Prime / The Terran Empire -> but than one with a little more trust between humans, and a little less killing your officiers.
As such the survival of man must ALWAYS take priority and any and all that pose even the slightest risk to that factor must be wiped out.
They NEVER should have stroke the accords with the cylons back than, and running was NOT the prefered chooise of action, ever since the first eposide my feeling was, payback, genocide on the cylons, in this episode they could, why don't they!

And didn't they took blood samples? surely they are not all destroyed. Time to catch some new prisoners, for attempt 2.0

BTW why think so small, the ONLY reason they ever needed that resurrection ship was because of the distance towards their homeworld(s)(as such resurrection ships are mere signal boosters) killing them in orbit of caprica, or any of the colonies would infect ALL cylon homeworlds, retake what ours.

Also there is the fact of having to protect that possible 13th colony too (and as far as story goes we still believe those to be humans)

In the same line, in the earlier kara-episode, I would have killed that kid, even on the hint she was hybrid. Humun blood must be pure, everything that has ANY cylon in it must be eridicated.

It might be a quick end to the series.. killing the cylons off in this one, but it would have been the right call.
It leaves me VERY dissattisfied in the end not each and every cylon has been wiped out of excistance as should have been the priority mission from day 1 (even more than survival)
Matrix - Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 6:42pm (USA Central)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

@Rob in Michigan. Love, love, loooooove those ideas. I remember when I first watched 'Valiant' and how Jake and Nog talk about how Starfleet sending Nog on some mission to Ferenginar or somewhere might lead to the Ferengi helping out in the war. I was really just hoping to see some of those big Ferengi ships we saw on TNG turn up on DS9. That second point, man I remember thinking up strategies where the Tholians and Gorn would make some kind of appearance, or at least just their ships. Plus, anyone remember in Voyager's 'Scorpion' where they talk about the Breen having organic ships? I always hoped those guys would show up with a Vorlon-type ship, but on the good guys side. Around about this same time Babylon 5 had the end of it's 4th season and they have that combined fleet of all the major races heading to liberate Earth. I would have loved something like that!
Next »Page 1 of 752
Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer