Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 43,921 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,757
Set Bookmark
J.B.
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This episode almost put me to sleep, between the snooze-inducing Vulcan plot and the endless expository dialogue. I don't know. I'm just not very invested in this show because I don't care about anyone in it.
Set Bookmark
Dusty
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

At first I was surprised and bewildered by two Star Trek-type shows suddenly launching at the same time (this and 'The Orville'). Now that I've done a little research, I think this show is the one I would actually be interested in watching and reviewing ... but if CBS expects me to pay for the privilege, then forget it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I am using the CBSAA app for Android, streamed through Google Chromecast to my HDTV. I have zero issues using this exact setup with the Netflix app. I emailed CBSAA support and got a reply immediately that indicated this was a known issue, so it sounds pretty widespread. Not a good way to build a reputation for a service you are trying to roll out.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Jammer I have had zero issues with CBSAA, and I have watched all but one episode just after it is first released.

I was really surprised to see the issues with CBSAA streaming hiccups. I have seen numerous streaming complaints in different Trek places, so it is definitely a widespread issue. I suppose I am due to run into some problems myself eventually.

I have heard of difficulties on the CBSAA App. I use my laptop for streaming it via the CBSAA website, so maybe that is part of my escaping the issues.

Either way, I hate to hear others are having issues accessing a PAY service, and this was one of the pitfalls of making the series AA only (rather than broadcast).
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Jammer

Yeah seems like a lot are complaining. Happened to me too.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Review pending, but I have to vent now about CBS All Access. The presentation tonight was just atrocious. This is a sorry excuse for a streaming service if this is considered acceptable in 2017. Did everyone else have those video stuttering and quality issues? Terrible. CBS should be embarrassed, and I am embarrassed for paying them money.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Mark

Yes I did. The only reference is to the animated series which wasn’t officially canon for all the run of TNG, DS9, VOY and ENT (except for the episode about Spock’s past I believe) until very recently when cbs changed their mind. Although some aspects were made canon by subtle references to them which was always nice at the time. However, as a result of not being canon all that time a significant fraction of it was retconned, including the recreation deck. Memory alpha now includes it simply because cbs said so regardless of whether I makes sense. They’ll do the same with Discovery, because they have no choice.
Set Bookmark
Dusty
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I'm going to opt out of this one, and here's why. I have never found Seth MacFarlane to be funny, interesting, or even particularly talented. I think 'Family Guy' is an unfunny, lazy, and downright nasty show that oozes contempt for its audience. I think his success is thoroughly undeserved, and I have not an iota of interest in seeing him try to carry off a live action Star Trek parody / ripoff / homage / mishmash or whatever it's supposed to be. Even if the show's temperament and humor are substantially different from 'Family Guy' - which seems apparent - I feel like I'd be somehow condoning or encouraging him by watching. And I'd really prefer that Seth, and the whole style of humor he's developed and popularized, just go away.

But for those of you who are watching and will continue to do so, I hope that you find something to enjoy in 'The Orville'. :D
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Did you actually read the Memory Alpha article entitled "holodeck"? Try again.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Mark

Guidebooks are not canon, and according to memory alpha:
“Prior to the late 24th century, Federation starships were not equipped with holodecks.”
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Mal's review after Jammers...

Star Trek Discovery season 1 episode 5
"Chose your Pain"

3 stars (out of 4)

"All this shit started when Starfleet decided to boldly go where no one fucking wanted you to."
- Harry Mudd (may not be an exact quote)

I saw this episode immediately after a massage while on vacation, so I'll admit I was in a good mood.  As a stand alone hour of trek it was pretty good.  Not great.  Ok.

But I love @Skuffle's point ("Mudd goes on and on about how Starfleet are bad guys, which we heard from the Klingons in earlier episodes. So no one in the galaxy likes Starfleet I guess, and judging from the characters so far on the show I can see why.")

I don't like this show.  And I have never - in three dozen years watching Trek - ever said that.  Even when ST V went in search of God at the center of the galaxy (who signed off on that?!), I didn't say it.  Even when VOY was derivative and unoriginal, I didn't say it.  Even when ENT was boring, I didn't say it.  Even when Abrams OD'ed on the blue flares, I didn't say it.  Beacause I still loved Trek.  At the end of the latest Abrams movie - Beyond - I had a big old grin on my face.   But I'm saying it now. 

I don't like this show.

@Startrekwatcher hit the nail on its head: these folks are morally bankrupt.  And they know it.

I don't know how many of you understand what its like to work for a large bureaucratic organization, but there is only one reason you summon someone away from their day to day work for a face-2-face meeting (@Jack Strawb and others).  And that's cause you don't want a record of what was discussed.

Starfleet wants to hunt and trap and press into service as many Rippers as they can?  Yeah, we're going to need you to travel for a F-2-F.  Kthnxbye .

The morality on many shows is bankrupt. I remember being sick to my stomach every Sunday watching Don Draper decend further into depravity (Mad Men aired around the same time every week that the new STD drops). Or take the dispicable Underwoods on House of Cards. Both are amazingly scripted shows, compelling characters. Addictive story lines. None of which is true for Discovery. Discovery is just bad.

Take that god-aweful scene at the top where Sonequa Martin-Green says she is "out of sorts." Can a line delivery bomb any harder? @Brian and others ("Burnham is dragging the show down..."). Did anyone really think they could build a show around this actor?

Only Saru continues to impress. Sorry @Jammer, gotta go with @Jason on this one: Saru was super effective at carrying out his primary concern: protecting his captain. Way to step up when you're called upon to lead.

Which brings me back to Mudd. He's right, these folks are terrible. When I want to watch terrible people, I have a lot of far superior options: for incest, there is Game of Thrones; for throwing your people under the bus, House of Cards - and that's not even taking into accout old shows like the Wire which are always eminently rewatchable.

And speaking of the Wire, there is one of the most poetic scenes of dialogue from the Wire when the detectives (McNulty and The Bunk) analyze an entire crime scene using only the word "fuck." Fuck. Fuck. Fuck. And on like that for minutes. It is amazing.

Or you want scifi fucks, go watch The Expanse, where Christian, a beautiful middle-aged woman wearing a sari tells her political rivals to grow a pair of fucking balls. She's a powerful leader, and her fucks have meaning. Compare that to a kid on STD blurting out a bad word: oops.

In short, for bad people I have tons of TV to chose from, all better than STD.

Star Trek used to do just one thing better than the rest. Not CGI. Not violence. Not token minorities. Not torture. It showed what we might be. If we really tried. But that's hard. It means foregoing cheap tricks that please your corporate bosses. It takes courage.

Come on Star Trek, grow a pair of balls.
Set Bookmark
CBSNoAccess
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@John

You were getting that too? Something must be wrong with their servers. They should apologize and credit all subscribers a month for this crap.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Star Trek Discovery writers have no appreciation for how big space is. I miss when Star Trek actually made space feel eerie with how vast it really was.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

“I thought the scolding he got from Admiral straightened him up a bit and he felt like he should follow protocol for once. That was my reading.”

After that dressing down, Lorca probably asked himself what Admiral Cornwell would want him to do in that situation, and decided not to launch a rescue. So, I think you’re right.

I absolutely don’t think he knew the Klingons were setting a trap. Whatever issue he has with the Cornwell, he’d never let the Klingons have her. He was willing to destroy his own crew to prevent their capture.

By the way, (spoiler) the actress who plays Cornwell is only credited for three episodes, so she probably bites it soon.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

There are good ideas developing, but the scripting continues to be horribly amateurish. The amount of expository "dialogue", mostly delivered in muted whispers on 2x speed so they can fit more in, is just destroying the entire flow. Worse, it signals to me that the writers are arrogant--they believe we are stupid and need long, immersion breaking expository segments just to understand whats going on. They need to wake up and realize their audience--all first world humans with money and access to broadband streaming services, just MIGHT be smart enough to not need cringe-worthy exposition.

Set Bookmark
Matthew
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Also this was the day I cancelled All Access. There are plenty of alternative means of watching the show. I'm not paying another nickle to a wannabe netflix with ads that can't even play a show with buffering for half an hour.
Set Bookmark
Matthew
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This show would be a lot better if Lorca had been the centerpiece and star instead of Michael. If they had done something like Breaking Bad, where the star is conflicted, dark, unethical, highly driven and occasionally amoral yet still compelling and fascinating (Lorca is all of those things to me), it'd make for some strong drama.

Instead he's a side character while Michael reads her too-long lines exposition-heavy dialogue with the flat, wooden delivery of someone pretending to be a vulcan.

It's frustrating, like the rest of the show.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

And CBS All Access is literally the worst. It barely plays anything. Constant stopping and starting all throughout the episode.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

So I guess we can add holodecks to the list of technologies in this show that shouldn't exist yet.

And now we're to believe there's Vulcans who think humans are inferior and hate the Federation? The people who believe in IDIC? Why do writers past TOS hate Vulcans so much? What a terrible idea.
Set Bookmark
Michal is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Based on the 'it's online, so anything goes - sex, cursing, and violence' rumor mill from before the series launched, I think it's worth acknowledging that DSC chose not to present an explicit sex scene with Lorca and Cornwell in this ep. Not even boobs or a butt were shown. I'm a little surprised, although I think they basically said close to the launch that there wouldn't be nudity, or maybe that there wouldn't be much, anyway. ENT was far more explicit on broadcast with some of the racier Trip/T'Pol scenes.

Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

No, the recreation deck on the original Enterprise used them. Go check the guidebooks or Memory Alpha. They were just more advanced in the TNG era.
Set Bookmark
HawgWyld
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

So, it appears a Starfleet captain may have manipulated a situation that resulted in an admiral getting kidnapped by the Klingons? Why? So he can keep his ship?

Wow. That's just awful. Perhaps this thing is set in the mirror universe, after all...
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The first 15 minutes really pushes the imagination (or limits of belief) hard, but the last 25-30 minutes wraps everything up nicely, including some character/background developments for Burnham, Sarek, and Lorca.

I didn't read Lorca's order to Saru to consult with Starfleet command on rescuing the Admiral as a sell-out, or an attempt to remain Captain longer. Maybe I am naive. I thought the scolding he got from Admiral straightened him up a bit and he felt like he should follow protocol for once. That was my reading. We'll see.

Also unlike for other commenters, Lorca and Cornwell scenes worked for me. They are obviously close and that would explain why she is tolerant with him. It helped give more insight to Lorca's state of mind.

I'll check out for now and eagerly wait for Jammer's review.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Mark

Intrepid class starships in the 24th century had them because they had already been invented.

TNG clearly established holodecks as brand new.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Even the Intrepid class starships in old Trek had holodecks. Why wouldn’t the most advanced Federation starship in the fleet have them?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,757
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.