Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 49,003 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,961
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

I agree with Trent, that's always how I felt the energy of the episode. It's always been a 'great fun to watch' episode, up there with Disaster and Conundrum in terms of the general tenor of the show being offbeat and a cool adventure.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Surprised to see Jammer's low rating; I found this to be an exciting, original and excellent episode. Yes, the ending is a bit heavyhanded - TNG had a problem with some of its overly-talky endings - but the premise was just so much fun, I think we can let that slide.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 6:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

You got to be f*cking kidding me. Four stars for this religious piece of sh*t? May the prophets be killed by the dominion. Terrible episode.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

TNG was good at tackling addictions and the way technology is abused and used to evade reality. With smartphone, internet, video games, binge TV and other mass media addictions being common place today, "The Game" feels much more relevant now than it did decades ago. I think it is a fun and creepy episode.

I also think the reason it generates hate is because people are taking it too seriously. To me, it clearly seems modelled on all those 1980s kids adventures, be they sleazy like Brian Depalma's Dressed to Kill, or sanitized like Matthew Broderick's Wargames, in which geeky teenage boys save the day with a cute female sidekick in tow. The episode is a giant kid's fantasy adventure.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

While fun, it's also absurd. The holodeck must have been designed by idiots for it to fail like that without an emergy shutdown or exit.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 2:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I'll also throw in one more observation, which is in the powerful scene between Worf and K'Ehleyr when Worf says her refusal to marry him after their sexual union dishonors Klingon tradition, her reply is "Worf, it was what it was, glorious and wonderful and all that, but it doesn't mean anything," to which he says "That is a human attitude." This furthers my observation of the libertine view Roddenberry seemed to be putting forth about sex in the future and how it's just a physical thing that means nothing. To be fair, this exchange doesn't quite mean that every human thinks this, but to categorize that type of materialist view of sex as being a human attitude does suggest to me that it's more than just the view of some humans, but is perhaps more prevalent than just that. This hearkens back to Okona's episode where clearly sleeping around was something that just happened and was commonplace, where here Worf is showing us that for Klingons the traditions place a higher meaning on the act than just being fun. Once again I'm happy to note that this whole business was dropped as of around S3 where the series would finally stop making claims one way or the other about what should mean what. In the end, I think TNG's best message is that each person has their own values, and the worst way of telling that theme is for the series to be periodically dropping hints about free love.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

The most noteworthy thing about this episode to me is the Cliff Bole / Ron Jones partnership, which has a legendary status in my mind in Trek history. The two of them created Best of Both Worlds together, and this episode has much of the creepy tone and eerie soundtrack that would later be greatly expanded upon in BoBW. These two had other episodic partnerships together as well, including A Matter of Perspective and the earlier Lonely Among Us, the latter of which is certainly a weird and eerie episode. I'm sure the pairing was coincidental as the producers hired them and they found out they were paired together, but especially in The Emissary I think there are hints at the tone and sound we'd later get in BoBW.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Great episode. Reminds me of the "Men Against Fire" Black Mirror episode. Great acting by Beltran in this one too.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

A great show, no question. But why the hell did the Enterprise-C so conveniently appear right in front of the Enterprise-D? They could have tried to explain that somehow following out of the logic of the story. Wouldn't have hurt.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G, 100% agree in your analysis on why Discovery's problems seem like more than just growing pains. I think the notion that the first season is rough but then shows inevitably improve is a holdover from the 80s and 90s. Back then, shows used to have a rough first season, hit their stride in the middle, then often stumble a bit during the final season. But that way of looking at TV is outdated and has been since the Golden Age of TV. Nowadays, many shows put their best foot forward right out of the gate, but shows tend to stumble over time as writers try to find ways to extend the story for additional seasons. I don't think I'm alone in thinking that the first seasons of Lost, BSG, and Game of Thrones were the best of their respective series. Some of those shows had very strong later seasons, but never again quite fired on all cylinders.
Set Bookmark
Peter
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 6:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

On a highly personal note, there probably is some sort of reasoning I missed to justify it but imho Geordi is insane for refusing to have his blindness treated. I've lived with poor vision in one eye since birth and while I can get along fine I would probably happily jump at the opportunity if some one offered me full and proper eyesight. Unless of course there were some VERY WELL FOUNDED reasons to refuse instead of some vague ethical mumbo jumbo. How do others here feel about this issue in general?
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I did like this episode, but it kind of bothers me that no one but Data knows the truth about this new alien race. I guess I feel it makes the good guys "lose" somehow.

Either way, it really was an exciting and fun episode
Set Bookmark
digitaurus
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 2:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Trek fan makes an excellent point: this episode is far more enjoyable for children than adults - and none the worse for it.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

So I watched this ep with a friend the other night (he bought the eps on Amazon Video) and I have to say, liked it as a whole. There were parts when I was just laughing at the sheer absurdity but I suppose that's the point. Still not 100% convinced to give the series as a whole a second chance though - the excessive off color jokes are still as annoying as hell - but I like it a hell of a lot better than Discovery.

Maybe I'm predisposed to agree with this ep, being a very private person compared to my peers and having scrapped all of my social media long ago (except for a LinkedIn I keep for professional networking), but I feel this was a very effective commentary episode. It deftly skewered social media, traditional "news" media/bias, and even got in a jab at the ridiculous levels of political correctness in our society today (Alara's hat - which I thought she looked kind of cute in)

Yes, it's effectively an old fashioned TOS style morality play in modern packaging and will probably be severely dated in a decade or so. But the bright setting of the Orville felt like a breath of fresh air compared to all the dark gritty shows on TV nowadays (cough Discovery cough). Thank you McFarlane for filling that need - that's definitely in Orville's favor.

Fun fact: Stephen Culp, who plays LaMarr's PR guy, also played Major Hayes on Star Trek Enterprise. I didn't recognize his voice due to the accent but thought his name looked familiar when I saw it in the credits. Good to see some Trek alums crossing over - they already have Kasidy Yates and I hope to see more.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Rewatched this ep for the first time in years and I feel that this ep epitomizes the stark difference between TOS/TNG and DS9.

On TNG, the holographic Moriarty episodes were used to explore broader points about humanity, illusion/reality - cerebral stuff to make us ponder. DS9 on the other hand used the holodeck as a straight up plot device and emphasizing the horror aspect - I.e the technology's capability for bad (or should I say, misuse by unscrupulous actors)

I say this not as a criticism of DS9, but as an observation. Nothing wrong with the darker approach - after all, they were trying to tell a different type of story on DS9 as opposed to TNG. (And of course TNG used holodeck malfunctions as one of their more infamous plot devices)
Set Bookmark
Georgios Bosch
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 12:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I find it remarkable that Jammer and so many of the commenters here bought the contrived ethical dilemma in this episode, when in the real world we're all happy to enjoy the fruits of Nazi medical science obtained through unspeakably evil means.

There is no meaningful debate on this any longer. We as a species collectively decided that we should use knowledge to help those that are alive and let the dead rest. Everything else is superstition.
Set Bookmark
III
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

The asshole captain and the bitchy first officer were pretty much the SJWs of DS9, wanting to control everything and everyone so much that they give Jake and Collins a lecture because she expressed a human emotion and then they put Jake in a holding cell because of his opinion... they make Captain Edward Jellico from "Chain of Command" look tame... hell, I'll take the Borg kids from VOY over them any day.

Because they were written so horrible, I felt nothing for them after they were killed, they were not simply following orders, like Nog they actually believed the captain was right and since Collins was so brainwashed by him, she tries to make it seem that Watters was a great man, while Nog was right that he was a bad captain... but Watters was no hero... far from it. They could have written these Jr. officers as flawed and complex, giving them a better backstory and reasons as to why they acted like this... but instead they were just insufferable brain dead brats.

The episode seems like it wants to be a mix between "The First Duty" and "Lower Decks"... but it fails.
Set Bookmark
Pon Farr
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

I hate to get political, but the fawning over Khan by so many of the principle characters (nevermind the problematic McGivers) reminds me of the authoritarian path that the United States is on now. The danger of the tyrant takes a back seat to his power and charisma, and as a result, the US is suffering many more casualties than Spock. Yes, WoK shows us the natural and tragic end of warlord worship, but this episode was not created with that end in mind. Attitudes have changed with time, but I'm afraid that too many of us still haven't learned better.
Set Bookmark
Ed
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Skecko

"It shouldn't take more than a year for the second season of a television show to air, that's ridiculous. And if it does, maybe cut down on the special effects and focus more on the storyline and writing. I, and I'm sure most ST fans would be willing to forego some of the effects if the plots were better. I don't need flashy visuals. I'd rather have a great story."

And it would be one thing if the effects were used to create fascinating alien worlds. Instead they're mainly used for elaborate space battles and similar things. Despite the series' faults, I like it and want to see what happens next.

I'd gladly settle for space ships that were done in an updated version of the styles of DS9 and the better parts of ENT if I could see the show sooner and hopefully they would spend the money saved on better writing as well as better sets and locations representing the planets they should visit.

Every other Star Trek series has had "strange new worlds." This had a single decent one. And even in the MU, I'd rather have had the Emperor live a real palace the size of a city or visited her game preserve on Risa.
Set Bookmark
warp10lizard
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 5:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

@Jasper

At least Quark came out on top in the end!

...I'll show myself out.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 5:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

I thought it was a bit of a drag. Get it? Get it?
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

I wish Trek did more casual episodes like this, where the characters simply walk about and do mundane activities. The episode with the Binars in season 1 had a first act similar to Data's Day, in which Riker simply chills out and roams the Enterprise's rooms and corridors.

Jammer gives this episode 3 stars, but I'd bump it to 4 (for its sheer novelty value). This episode, with its narration and relaxed pace, also seems to have influenced Enterprise's "Dear Doctor".
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

Of course a disease specifically created by one species to kill members OF THEIR OWN KIND happens to be deadly to multiple species that didn't evolve on the same planet as well ... because the plot demands it. Sloppy and absurd. Other notes: I found Lwaxana to be rather irritating. Otherwise an uninteresting but harmless episode.
Set Bookmark
Bill Bunkum
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I really enjoyed this episode. As 'boiler-plate' as it may have been, I agree with most that it's heartfelt - that's pretty good storytelling, if you ask me, to affect the viewer.

I'm glad Neelix gets a dignified send off. He's so often the goof or the comic relief, a sort of static character, I sometimes wondered how he survived on his own. This episode (and, others of course) show him as having unequivocally grown, as dynamic, at the end of a long journey and as fully realized that he must move forward with his life.

His time on Voyager has run its course, and yet, he will be sorely missed during the rest of their journey. Whatever this episode does, it resonates with me and I find myself melancholy afterward. Pretty awesome.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Feb 23, 2018, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Nice episode. Not much to say, except that I have noticed that while it may have been groundbreaking back in its day, TOS is borderline unwatchable compared to TNG.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,961
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.