Star Trek: The Next Generation

"Sarek"

3.5 stars

Air date: 5/14/1990
Teleplay by Peter S. Beagle
Story by Marc Cushman & Jake Jacobs
Directed by Les Landau

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Famed Vulcan Ambassador Sarek (Mark Lenard) comes aboard the Enterprise to conduct delicate negotiations with the Legarans, an alien species that Sarek has single-handedly been able to open relations with on behalf of the Federation. Sarek intends to seal the talks as the crowning achievement in his storied career. While en route to meet the Legarans, however, odd occurrences of flaring tempers begins to affect members of the crew, with escalating urgency. Meanwhile, it becomes evident that Sarek himself may be having problems controlling his emotions; Picard sees a tear in the Vulcan's eye during a concert in Ten-Forward.

The flaring tempers begin ominously but harmlessly, as Wesley and Geordi get into a shouting match over who's more hopeless when it comes to women (ah, a perfectly appropriate nerd fight!), and slowly escalates: Crusher slaps her son in the face for no good reason, and ultimately an entire bar brawl breaks out in Ten-Forward — a visual that proves as amusing as it does odd. What's going on here? Crusher believes that it's a case of a rare Vulcan mental illness that results in a loss of emotional control. The side effects are unintentionally inflicted upon others, caused by Sarek's telepathic abilities randomly projecting emotions, and thus havoc, on members of the crew. Picard runs into resistance with Sarek's staff and wife Perrin (Joanna Miles) when he recommends that they delay the negotiations. A delay would derail the talks completely, and Sarek will not hear of it.

In addition to being a rare, direct, fan-welcome bridging of TNG and TOS, "Sarek" is an obvious example of the "actor's episode." Some Trek outings highlight action or visual effects as their main selling points; this one highlights performances. It's a good, solid story that's elevated by two critical acting scenes. One is where Picard confronts Sarek, and Sarek attempts to prove his competence while his emotional control is not being held together by his aide Sakkath (Rocco Sisto). Sarek's gradual deterioration as depicted by Mark Lenard in this scene is an explosive (and heartbreaking) sight to behold. The other big scene comes when Picard offers to accept a mind meld that temporarily allows Sarek to regain control of his emotions long enough to finish the negotiations. In the meantime, Picard's mind must host Sarek's savagely intense and unfiltered Vulcan emotions. Patrick Stewart is completely uninhibited in showing a rambling, anguished explosion of Sarek's inner voices, fury, and soul. It's a remarkably brave performance that makes us believe in this intriguing premise.

Thematically, the story provides a subtle allegory on the elderly and the mentally ill, regarding the issues of humiliation they must endure when the circumstances of their health force them to abandon important parts of their lives and identity. There is no cure for Sarek's condition; like Alzheimer's, it will slowly continue to steal him away, separating the mental faculties from the man.

Previous episode: The Most Toys
Next episode: Menage à Troi

Like this site? Support it by buying Jammer a coffee.

◄ Season Index

52 comments on this post

dustwy
Tue, Jul 3, 2012, 4:54am (UTC -5)
I find this episode excellent as well. I cannot think of a better choice of music to frame Sarek's silent, gradual fracture - the Brahms bit is pure emotion itself.
Willaim
Wed, Aug 29, 2012, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Just one more example of the power of the third season of Next Gen. Totally agree with review -- this is strongly acted episode.
Chris
Thu, Aug 22, 2013, 7:37am (UTC -5)
A great episode, the tear during the concert and Stewart doing what he does best after the mind meld were just fantastic scenes...and a bar fight to top it off!
Dwane
Sun, Sep 8, 2013, 4:52am (UTC -5)
Could you imagine if Worf ended up losing his temper due to Sarek?

The poor sod who crossed him wouldn't live to tell the tale.
Kieran
Tue, Dec 17, 2013, 9:07am (UTC -5)
I liked this one, but not too sure why Picard wasn't just sedated while he had to host Sarek's emotions. Was it integral that he stay conscious in such turmoil?
SkepticalMI
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Forgive me for being contrarian, but I must disagree. Lenard and Stewart are great actors, of that I have no doubt. And Lenard's portrayal of a man barely containing his emotions was excellent... up until the point where Picard forces him to confront the issue. Sadly, that scene always looked cheesy to me (Irrelevant! Irrelevant!) He looked more like Data getting short-circuited than a man losing control. Too bad, because up to that point it was an excellent scene.

And on a similar note, I thought the Picard-as-Sarek scene was too over the top as well. I guess they were trying to convey that Vulcan emotions are that much more powerful than human ones, but it still didn't convince me. Picard alternating between shouting and crying while verbalizing Sarek's internal monologue was also rather silly to me. For one, if he is really experiencing that much emotion, would he just remain seated the entire time (or did Bev strap him down?)? And two, if he was really so overcome with emotions, how could he enunciate clearly like that? Ever see people give speeches at a funeral or other emotional event? Notice how they have trouble talking when they start to cry?

For that matter, I think the scene also could have been plotted better. Wouldn't it still make sense, within the confines of the story, if Sarek transferred over only his emotions, but not necessarily the thoughts that went with it? Mindmelds aren't exactly perfectly fleshed out in Trek lore, so why not? Then we could see Picard not being able to control his emotions, but they would be HIS emotions and not Sarek's. Wouldn't it be better to have an unbridled, brutal look at the main character of the show rather than a one-time guest star? Especially since Sarek's thoughts and emotions were pretty pedestrian, all things considered?

Still, a very good episode on the whole. I particularly liked that Picard asked Beverly to stay with him; it's a nice reinforcement of their friendship.
Patrick D
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
I got to meet Peter S. Beagle, the author of this episode. He was also the author of The Last Unicorn and many works of fiction. He recounted how the episode came to be and even remembering what the TNG writers group were wearing when he pitched it back in '89. He also autographed my ST: TNG Companion. Class act.
dash
Sat, May 9, 2015, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Great episode, but why does this series have to make such a mockery of classical music? Can't they find anyone who knows about these things? Clipping off the introduction to the "Dissonance" quartet is bad enough. For the second movement, we have the slow movement from the Brahms op. 18 sextet... played by a quartet?
Luke
Sat, Jun 13, 2015, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
An excellent episode. It's nice to finally get a crossover/call-back to The Original Series. We had the cameo appearance of DeForest Kelly in "Encounter at Farpoint," but that wasn't very well done and Kelly was buried under so much old age make-up that it was laughable. This one is just perfect, even if we're dealing with a side character from TOS.

Two things I'll mention that make this episode so good. First, the scene where Picard confronts Sarek about his problem. It's amazing that that confrontation takes up an entire act of the episode (from commercial break to commercial break) and yet it just flies by. It really is a testament to some wonderful actors (not just Stewart and Lenard, but the others in the scene as well). It's nothing but a bunch of people (and eventually just two) standing in a room talking and yet it's riveting. Second, the scene where Picard deals with Sarek's emotions. Stewart indeed knocks it out of the park, acting-wise, but that isn't what stands out most for me. I especially liked the end of the scene where Crusher takes Picard into her arms and comforts him. It's a really well-handled and kind-of subtle demonstration of their relationship. Nothing really needs to be said, she just bends down and embraces him in his time of need. These are two people who genuinely care for each other. It's a shame they never properly pursued this relationship because all the elements are clearly there for it to be wonderful.

9/10
Diamond Dave
Sun, Sep 6, 2015, 10:07am (UTC -5)
With its callbacks to TOS, this one bears all the hallmarks of a TOS episode with a relatively simple story, lots of (welcome, given TNG's sidelining of the race) Vulcan imagery, and glory of glories, an honest to God fistfight in ten-forward.

What elevates it above the norm are two bravura acting performances from Mark Lenard and Patrick Stewart. The latter steals the show in the stunning scene where he struggles with Sarek's repressed and raging emotions - the simple "It's quite... difficult" as he regains himself for a moment may be the best delivered line in the series so far. 3.5 stars.
Rikko
Mon, Oct 12, 2015, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
I loved this episode!

The allegory of old age and ilness was really well done, a theme that's so universal that it makes this episode timeless. Also, the acting. I almost felt the "Irrelevant" scene was a bit over the top, as SkepticalMI said, but any doubts of this episode's quality were erased by the end of it.

I loved the mindmeld scene for all the reasons stated above and for something more: this is pure TNG optimism right here. Sarek's problem is everyone else's problems too. While they can't cure him, they can at least help him bear this burden. And you see Beverly Crusher helping Picard as well.

Btw, this is once again* a great way to bridge TNG with TOS, something the previous seasons couldn't do well at all. One of the greatest strenghts of S3.

* The other time (imo) was with the first Romulan episodes of the season. They made me care for that alien race, and at the same time, I acknowledged their importance in the overall universe of Star Trek.
Peter G.
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 11:39am (UTC -5)
The most interesting detail in this episode is that after Amanda's death Sarek has chosen *another* human woman to marry. Not only does Sarek deem it logical to marry a second time, but he once again chooses a non-Vulcan. For someone so utterly invested in Vulcan culture and the science academy - to the point where Spock rejecting this life and choosing Starfleet led to their estrangement - he seems to have quite the fascination for Humans. Sarek had also long since been the Vulcan ambassador to the Federation as well, apparently living on Earth among Humans (we frequently see him in council sessions on Earth in the feature films). Sarek's quote from Journey to Babel about his decision to marry Amanda was "At the time it seemed the logical thing to do," which to me is clearly a subtle hint that Sarek is much more like Spock than he would ever let on, and a little less than the unemotional robot he pretends to be.

Here's another question I never thought of until now: Might Perrin be Sybok's mother?
Peter G.
Wed, Mar 16, 2016, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Er, let's just forget that comment I made about Sybok. I was tired...
Jor-El H.
Fri, Sep 9, 2016, 10:15am (UTC -5)
It felt like the confrontation scene with Sarek ended rather abruptly, like it was cut off before the originally intended end of the scene.

I remember an interview in which P. Stewart evaded a question about which role he liked better, Picard or Prof. Xavier. Episodes like this (and there are so many) make it very hard to believe he really doesn't know the answer - Picard is clearly THE role he was born to play, and he invested so much more of himself in this role, so much more emotional depth, charisma, and brilliant acting than any other role I've seen him in (I haven't seen his theatre work). One could argue that he revitalized Star Trek almost by himself. I can only assume he didn't answer because he didn't want to alienate his x-men fans.
Dark Kirk
Fri, May 12, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
I just realized why ST: Voyager struggled - it didn't have too many opportunities to do shows like this where we meet family members of the crew.
Ravenna
Sat, May 13, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
@dark Kirk:

Ah, but the positive side is, this gave Voyager not too many opportunities to display the strongminded controlling father alongside the ineffectual placating mother, the Great Man father alongaide his devoted, self-abnegating wife; the show-stealing father alongaide the generic smiling mother, the well-characterized brother alongaide the generic smiling sister-in-law.

Not that there's like, a pattern there or anything.

(What other female relatives showed up on ST?, Well, there's Ziyal. She was interesting when first introduced - actually I thought she was going to develop in exciting ways and create great new storylines. But she was quickly downgraded to a generic Sweet Young Thing who existed to give Dukat and Garak an object to argue over. So who else? Geordi's dead mother. Tasha's hot sister.)

Now, Mrs Sarek. Who is Mrs Sarek? She is a person. She is a person who fell in love, moved to an alien land with her unemotional Romeo - where she was required to give up all normal and natural human self-expression, all laughter and fun and tears and authenticity that she had been accustomed to to. She has a husband so coolly unfeeling that while she is striving to protect his dignity, he is meanwhile making dry disapproving comments to near-strangers about his wife's unseemly human over emotionality. She has an adopted society so rigid and coercive, it demands she use excruciating self-control and constant decorous deportment at all times.

Yet the episode tells us that she is content inside these strict limits, on this planet where she is never allowed to cry or laugh or play or tell a friend how she feels or be her own true and relaxed self.. And why is she content? Because she has the lurrrrve of a great man. Sure, he is barely willing to actually show her any lurrrrve, but she sets the bar low enough that the little glimmers of lurrrrve he flicks at her are enough to fill her heart. Sure, she has sacrificed her own soul and her own self and receives almost nothing. But it's lurrrrve! And he is a great man. Wifehood trumps all the negatives.


(It's too bad: I probably would have loved the episode had they simply given Sarek a normal Vulcan wife , and spared us the character of an all-but-burqa-clad Mrs. S.)
Jason R.
Sat, May 13, 2017, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Ravenna remember this is Sarek's second human wife. I actually had to look that up the first time because I naturally assumed that she was Spock's human mother - until I did the math and realized she'd have to be 120 or something for that to be true.

Which makes it even better - when the old devoted human female croaks he just goes and gets a newer model to replace her. You'd think bridging the cultural gulf and finding companionship with an alien woman would be something special, maybe even once in a lifetime. But for Sarek I guess it's no bigger a deal than checking the "human" box on his Vulcan Tinder App.
Peter G.
Sat, May 13, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -5)
What makes you guys think that Sarek taking a Human wife in Amanda was some random coincidence? He told Spock it seemed like the *logical* thing to do, which means it wasn't a fluke. Since we know that Amanda wasn't especially unemotional or logical, it seems logical to assume that some part of Sarek's character made this logical. And if it was logical once it should remain logical twice. I believe the writers were intentionally hinting that Sarek wasn't your typical Vulcan and not as different from Spock as we might think. In this episode we have confirmation when Picard shares he thoughts and we hear about all the love Sarek had in him and was repressing. Not your normal Vulcan at all, but surprisingly human.
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Is it so hard to believe Sarek likes a certain type of woman? Is there something wrong with that?
Jason R.
Sat, May 13, 2017, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Is it crazy that Sarek would have this type? I suppose not. Illogical, but not crazy. Sort of like if Worf fell in love with another Trill.

But where is he finding these human women willing to devote their lives to him? I think Raveena illustrated pretty well how unlikely it is a woman would seek out such a lifestyle. So we're left with the assumption that Sarek caught lightning in a bottle twice.

I suppose it's not wrong from a plot standpoint. But for me it just feels like they needed Sarek to have a wife and a human one, couldn't make the math work with the original wife, so they manufactured a new identical one as a plot contrivance. It makes Mrs. Sarek seem, shall we say, disposable.
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
@Jason R.

"But where is he finding these human women willing to devote their lives to him?"

Simple, Sarek's a prestigious Federation official and some women are attracted to that sort of prestige. As for the human side of the equation, wasn't Sarek a Vulcan ambassador to Earth granting him ample opportunity to meet human women?

What's more, this episode really only shows a slice of Prinna's role as Sarek's wife during a time in which Sarek desperately needs special care. For all we know during Sarek's healthy life, Prinna influenced Federation trade deals and policy along with Sarek, it's just not relevant to this episode.
Chrome
Sat, May 13, 2017, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Sorry, Prinna should be Perrin. Silly auto-correct!
Peter G.
Sat, May 13, 2017, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Jason,

"But where is he finding these human women willing to devote their lives to him?"

It sounds strangely like you're saying that no human woman could or would ever find a Vulcan desirable. Is that really what you're trying to say? Because I bet you there are many human women who would enjoy the company of an intelligent and sophisticated Vulcan. How many of them could endure long-term in such a relationship is another matter, and has more to do with what typical values are in the 24th century compared to now and how people are raised. If a large enough proportion of humans value logic over emotion then they might even find Vulcans to be role models. We don't see that in Trek because the shows try to show us different cultures, rather than people from one culture taking on the ways of another. But in reality I'm sure there would be many 'Vulcanist' humans, and also ones who like the Klingon traditions as Curzon did.
Rahul
Tue, Jul 4, 2017, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Great character episode - Mark Lenard was terrific as a guest actor on 60s Trek as the Romulan captain in "Balance of Terror" but more well-known as Spock's dad in "Journey to Babel". Always nice to get that connection between TNG and TOS. Sarek as a diplomat was well on his way to building the Federation in JtB. "Sarek" continues with that storyline.

Also a chance for Picard to show his great Shakespearean acting when he takes on Sarek's emotions. I don't know why he didn't walk around the room, stomp his feet etc. but it was good to see Crusher there doing what a doctor and dear friend would.

Bigger picture - it does shine a light on the struggles of the elderly to not lose their respect and their desire for finishing their life's work -- that much is accurately portrayed here. Those closest to Sarek are doing their best to keep him together and let him have his dignity.

The scene with Picard confronting Sarek is the highlight of this episode -- not so much when Sarek explodes as if he's having a seizure -- but for how Picard logically confronts the aging Vulcan and his initial reactions.

Too bad we didn't actually get to see the Legarans given they went to such great extents to set up a slime pool for them on the Enterprise!

I'd rate "Sarek" just highly enough to get to 3.5 stars - poignant performances that aren't often seen in Trek.
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
2.5 stars. So-so episode

The first say 3/4 of episode kinda aimless. The bickering among the crew was not that interesting. And really not much else really going on. So basically it took to Sarek really coming front and center with 15 minutes left in hour that the episode picked up in my opinion with Picard finally confronting Sarek about his condition. The scene featuring Picard suffering through the emotional turmoil did a good job really conveying to the audience exactly how torturous Bendii syndrome was and really in that moment I could feel like in Sarek's shoes. And if you're going to bring on a TOS character going with A Vulcan who it has been previously established as being long lived was the way to go and to explore aging in Vulcans was right way to go with this story too. Something like Bendii would be a disease you'd expect to see in older Vulcans--breaking down their ability to repress their emotions

Actually one of the weaker season three episodes. Season three very very consistently good and solid. Still think season four better with more four star and three-and-a-half star episodes from me than season three which was comprised of a whole bunch of thre star episodes which is still good and what you'd want out of most week episodes
borusa
Wed, Nov 29, 2017, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
This was a good episode with its frank exploration of the debilitating betrayal of the self that is Altzheimer's disease.
Patrick Stewart's emoting scene recalls Leonard Nimoy's emotional breakdown in TOS episode The Naked Time -I think it is almost identical.

Mark Lenard lends TNG some class and gravitas and I loved Geordi and Wesley's fight about who was the most useless Lothario.
Great that Wesley reminded us of Geordi's creepy holo love affair.
Derek D
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 11:20am (UTC -5)
With it's exploration of the effects of conditions like Alzheimer's and aging, superb acting performances, and a fascinating glimpse into the seldom-revealed Vulcan mind, this was excellent.

Riker: "Is it my imagination or have tempers become a little frayed on this ship lately?'
Worf: "I hadn't noticed."
as they walk into an all out brawl. Priceless.
3 1/2 stars.
Ken
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
In the scene where Picard is with Beverly after the mind meld with Sarek, on the back of the chair Picard is sitting in......isnt that the sash the Mintakans presented to Picard? Ive watched this episode a dozen times and only noticed it today!
Peter H
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Poor Michael didn't even get a mention when Picard-as-Sarek was listing all those he had loved in his life! ;)
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Thu, May 17, 2018, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Another fine addition to Next Gen's best season.

The Picard/Sarek confrontation was marvelous, as was Picard facing the onslaught of Sarek's overwhelming emotions. However, my favorite scene was the concert and the single tear. Magnificent.

And it was so nice to finally have Vulcans back on the show in meaningful way.
navamske
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:22am (UTC -5)
"and slowly escalates: Crusher slaps her son in the face for no good reason"

One reason might be that a lot of viewers derived great satisfaction from seeing Wesley finally get smacked.
navamske
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -5)
@Chrome

"Simple, Sarek's a prestigious Federation official and some women are attracted to that sort of prestige."

"Power is the ultimate aphrodisiac." --Henry Kissinger
Joe
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
@Ravenna
You're a simple narrow-minded piece of work. You must be lonely because I suspect NOBODY would tolerate 2 minutes of your inane drivel. Go crawl back under your rock......perhaps there's a roach waiting to marry you......oh wait....that would be too hard on the poor roach!
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -5)
If you are ever having trouble sleeping, turn this one on, you'll be snoozing before the concert is over.
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 2:02am (UTC -5)
What a beautiful episode! An episode that perfectly captures the greatest aspect of Star trek: the nobility of its characters. So beautifully written and so beautifully acted. I am honestly shocked that there aren't more comments here!
Burger
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Did anyone else notice in the background of the brawl, a young woman convincingly beating the sh*t out of a bigger male crewmate. Cracked me up completely, especially as I was already laughing at Riker/Worf's "I hadn't noticed." exchange (as Derek D. mentions above). Why wasn't this actress given the role of Tasha Yar?
Walrus1701D
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
There's no point adding anymore critical commentary about this excellent episode, so I query this instead:

So Wes is dating an Ensign, eh? It's interesting that no one on the ship seems to have a problem with this. Wesley was 17 during the third season, while his "lucky" lady was at least 22, given her rank. I suppose his status as Boy Genius and Perpetual Ship Saver makes such a scandalous pairing OK. "Yes, he's still in high and school wears nothing but gray pajamas, but he saved my life!"
Meister
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
I wasn't overly taken with the first three quarters of this episode. I think I found the telepathic emotional assault on the crew a bit of a gimmick. I am not sure why, it could be an interesting science fiction angle but somehow didn't seem true to me. Maybe as the telepathic side of Vulcans isn't something I remember from Spock. Side note: Why were Vulcans not included in DS9? If they were telepathic and logical, it would have been an interesting addition.

The episode improved once we saw more of Sarek and of course Picard`s mind melding experience.

actually, not to be facetious but that beautiful green planet really stood out for me as well.

8/10
Springy
Fri, Nov 1, 2019, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Well done.

Great performances from Stewart and Lenard - a classic. In lesser hands might have been overwrought, hokey even. But I found the story of the brilliant, legendary, (but aging and ill) ambassador, genuinely moving.

I have always liked the character of Sarek and his portrayal by the talented Mark L, and he turns in a virtuoso performance, here. Perrin is also well portrayed. They all are.

We've been looking all Season at life, what it means to be alive, the need for relationships and for purpose. With Sarek, we take a look from a different angle. He isn't Data, struggling to feel, he's a Vulcan trying not to feel. He isn't inexperienced Lal, learning control, he's a learned man losing control. He isn't dead Tasha preventing a meaningless death, he's lived a life full of purpose and meaning, and he wants to die with dignity.

But for everyone we've seen during this outstanding season, ultimately the message is the same: We need each other and we need to belong and we need purpose.

The mind meld takes the idea of needing support, needing connection and intimacy from others, and dramatically pushes it to its limits. But we also see more everyday examples, from Perrin, from the rest of Sarek's entourage, and from Beverly, as she comforts a very needy Jean Luc.
Fenn
Thu, Nov 28, 2019, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Despite the comment being almost six years old, I'd like to reply to Kieran here:

"I liked this one, but not too sure why Picard wasn't just sedated while he had to host Sarek's emotions. Was it integral that he stay conscious in such turmoil?"

I feel Picard would *want* to: to have the unique opportunity to experience this man he admired, in full force.

To quote him earlier in the episode: "I suppose they were foolish and vain, my expectations of this voyage. Sharing his thoughts, memories, his unique understanding of the history he's made." Turns out he gets to do this anyway, and a lot more directly than anticipated.
Latex Zebra
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Great episode but another bloody classical concert. Constant laziness (in the writing) that the boldly going, forward thinking Federation just live in the past culturally.
James G
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Phenomenal episode. No perilious technobollocks or standoff against alien despots, just a clever, original idea brought beautifully to life by some remarkable acting.

A couple of niggles - Riker turns up at 10 Forward where there's a large scale brawl breaking out - surely his first instinct would be to bellow at them to stop? Like when Pike turns up at a bar fight in one of the movies. He'd take charge, instantly. Instead he just wanders through it, until he gets chinned himself.

Also, when Riker and Picard fight (verbally) on the bridge it's notable that Picard apologises, but Riker doesn't.

Finally, the mind meld thing - can't help thinking that Picard's emotional state might have been appropriate during the mind meld, but not for an hour afterwards. They sort of conveniently rewrote the manual for that one.

Nonetheless, inevitable niggles aside - a really good one.
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Apr 21, 2020, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
The moment in the final scene where Picard says to Perrin, "he loves you...very much" always gets me, it's beautiful.
Gerontius
Fri, May 22, 2020, 6:12am (UTC -5)
It struck me that Worf showed remarkable self control. Normally mild people around the ship erupting into violent confrontation under the influence of Sarek's telepathic projections - and all he did was to be a bit harsh towards a subordinate in a bureaucratic way. You'd have thought he¡d have turn somebody's head off.

Perhaps it's that Klingon's aggressive emotions are a lot closer to the surface all the time than the case with Earth humans, and he'd be much more used to consciously holding himself back, whereas the others would do that unconsciously, and that was where the telepathic disinhibition was focussed.

And Troi didn't seem affected either.

But I'd have thought that we'd have seen something more like the Naked Time/Naked Now setup, with a range of different enotions being released. After all with it wasn't particularly aggressive emotions that Vulcan's held rigidly back.

Still that would have been a different scenario, and this one worked well. Good to see Patrick Stewart given his head. And the bar fight was wonderful, including that pugnacious lady - I wonder if they used her again, they should have.
Jessiej
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Overall, I’d call this a middling episode and was surprised to see the review and consistent positive comments. That isn’t to suggest it was a bad episode or one to avoid.
Something I’ve noticed about TNG opinions is that the location of one’s “PC” meter sometimes factors into judgment of an episode. Trek has always been about social commentary, so we expect it. But one person’s overreach that informs judgment of a episode to be a failure, to another person might be brilliant or exciting drama.

My opinion of this episode falls into that category. It was nice to see a beloved character, nice to see Alzheimer’s issues highlighted, but aside from these, there wasn’t much depth to it.
What would I have changed? Perhaps take the focus off the dramatic “discovery” of Sarek’s condition, and instead, simply make it clear he arrived in that state. This way, much more time could have actually been spent IN the negotiations. For my part, I was really looking forward to seeing these aliens that required a foul smelling soup for a habitat!

But my overall point is that we’re all going to judge episodes that highlight issues we find important as positive. Criteria for quality should instead be placed on plotting and writing. Again, not bad, but not great here.
Crobert
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Loved this episode. Genuinely unsure why someone's views on "PC" culture has anything to do with that...

As much as I can remember this was the best instance of bridging the gap from TOS to TNG since Admiral McCoy in the pilot. Savak is fantastic and does a great job of showing his deterioration. I didn't know Vulcans were telepathic - has that always been the case?

Unlike others, it seems, I could have done without the scene where Picard is overwhelmed by Savak's emotions. Nothing wrong with Stewart's acting or anything else it just wasn't the sort of thing I really wanted to see from Vulcan/Human interactions.

Not a lot here that is bad, I enjoyed the whole episode from end to end.
Trish
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Sometimes, I get a surprise when after decades of familiarity, I suddenly understand some detail of one of these episodes in a way I never did before. In this episode, that was the moment when Crusher the Elder slaps Crusher the Younger.

The last time Trek showed us a mother slapping her son out of the blue was back in TOS, during the episode during which we were first introduced to Sarek (then in the prime of Vulcan life) , Journey to Babel. I remember Amanda's unexpected slap of Spock making me sit up straight on the couch.

I think it's more than a coincidence that the event replays in this episode that introduces us to the old man Sarek has become.

I wonder, could the writers have been hinting that Sarek may have been leaking some emotional vibes during Journey to Babel, too, perhaps because of his medical problems? I certainly don't think we were supposed to believe that Amanda routinely smacked around an adult Spock.
Peter G.
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
@ Trish,

I like your idea, but it could be the inverse: maybe Dr. Crusher slaps Wesley *because* Amanda slapped Spock. Maybe Sarek is projecting his memories telepathically as well.
William B
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
@Trish, wow, fantastic catch. I like Peter's idea that it was memory leakage going on.
Rahul
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
I actually think it is pretty much coincidental that both "Journey to Babel" and "Sarek" have a mother slapping her son. I think reading into the TOS episode that Sarek may have been leaking emotional vibes is stretching -- it's a heart issue in TOS, a physical ailment -- but in TNG it's a mental/emotional disease which leads to this emotional leaking as an interesting side-effect.

One should also consider why Amanda slapped Spock -- she's frustrated with Vulcan logic and that Spock is choosing duty over saving his father's life. She can't understand that and reacts in an understandable way. I don't think Fontana would attribute the slap to an unreasonable mental lapse for Amanda due to Sarek involuntarily projecting some vibes. The slap comes organically.

Whereas in "Sarek" Dr. Crusher just slaps Wesley for no reason -- it's all because of Sarek's mental instability, though the memory leakage hypothesis in this particular instance has some merit.
Trish
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 12:21am (UTC -5)
I like the idea of "memory leakage," in part because this idea goes in the right direction when you think of how the two slaps came to be in their respective scripts. Of course, at the time "Journey to Babel" was written, TNG didn't even exist, but when "Sarek" was written, the writers had access to everything in the TOS episodes. There would have been no reason for the TOS episode to have envisioned the character Sarek projecting his emotions telepathically, but every reason for writers who wanted to portray Sarek doing so to mine the character's past appearances for material.

I do think that once you do have the information from both episodes, it could be argued that if a Vulcan would lose telepathic control of his emotions due to neurological decay, he might also lose it momentarily when "incapacitated" by a heart condition, especially at moments when he is slipping in and out of consciousness.(Good thing Vulcans aren't telekinetic. If they were, a Vulcan ICU would have equipment flying all over the place like the scene in Plato's Stepchildren when Parmen's delirium is translated into physical chaos.)

I actually think the writers may not have thought it all the way through, because I suspect if they had, they would have been so proud of the idea that they would not have been able to resist throwing in at least one line somewhere that would explicitly point out to the viewer that Sarek's memory of Amanda's conflict with Spock was overflowing to the crew of the Enterprise-D, and was picked up by the two people whose relationship was most similar. If they did, it was a masterful touch, and I'm sorry they overestimated my (and apparently most other viewers') perceptiveness, given that it took me over three decades to appreciate it. Even if it was just a little homage to the TOS episode, I am a little sorry how long it took me.

But as with most things, once seen, it cannot be unseen. You'll never convince me now that it was just a coincidence. I think they did it on purpose.
Silly
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 2:36am (UTC -5)
Stewart's acting here is nearly Oscar level equivalent. The level of performance he attempted and achieved was light years above the expectations and realities of weekly TV of that era.

Stewart was in no small way key to the success of TNG.

I liked the writing and acting of both the Wesley/Geordi and Picard/Riket fights.

I didn't realize Levar Burton was doing Reading Rainbow before TNG even started. Wesley's wisecrack to Geordi about reading a book was actually an actor joke.

Submit a comment




I agree to the terms of use

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.