Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 73,318 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,933
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

The problem is, Data is a totally honest android. Ask him what he is thinking about, and he tells you. When he tries to act romantic it is completely obvious that it's an act. (Though that was a bit at odds with the way that in a previous aspect it was shown that, under the guidance of his mentor, Picard, he had become a very accomplished actor.)

Hunan relationships sometimes require an ability to be deceptive about how we feel at any time - deceptive to other people, and also deceptive to ourselves.

Actually that needn't mean someone else might be quite capable of getting along with him pretty well as a partner. If gay relationships had been allowed to exist in the Next Generation I think it would have been perfectly possible for the relationship with Geordi to be developed in that direction.

Plenty of people, especially men, go through life without indicating much emotion, and manage well enough. That's more especially true in some cultures and some countries. (The stiff upper lip...) The differences in how Data behaves is not really more extreme than that which can characterise some people on the spectrum.

Very reasonable that Jenna could be attracted by these very qualities. They imply a kind of safety, which could be appealing in a condition of emotional turmoil - and as was noted, there's a pattern of behaviour wanted. It's not what she really wants. She was definitely the wrong person for Data.

Fortunately, he's got Spot, who accepts him as he is, and has trained him to provide whatever is required in the way of food or comfort. Data just needs to find a human who is a bit more like Spot.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I really enjoyed this episode with 3 glaring exceptions:
1. The whole “no Borg has regained their individuality” thing that has been nitpicked to death already
2. The last 2 minutes: “we managed to get another 20,000 light years out of the transwarp coil before it gave out...” Huh??? It just gave out? And that’s it? No replicating it? No studying it to apply its mechanics to your warp system?

Other than that, fantastic stuff. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Correction - The preceding episode with a plot about symbionts, treated in a rather different fashion, was of course not Contagion, it was Conspiracy.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

I just wanted to point out how hard I laughed when Tom was like “look Tuvok, you need to accept this is home and the crew probably left without us,” and when we first see Voyager, the first thing they mention is that the shuttle’s been missing for an hour!

That was before they explained the time differential, but I still got a kick out of imagining Tom giving up hope after an hour. “Well this is our life now, better cheat on your wife, Tutu!” I could see that in Chakotay actually.....
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

“Itchy and Scratchy” did in 10 seconds to Poochie what this episode took 45 minutes to do to the Silverbloods. I can almost guarantee you that this was made solely for the purpose of tying up that loose end made by “Demon” where fans (and probably quite a few in the writers’ room) were left confused about what would happen with an entire duplicated crew in the Delta quadrant. Yikes, this was their answer?

I just rewatched the ending to “Demon” and the duplicate crew is standing in a crowd watching the real Voyager leave. They didn’t know they were duplicates then? Also if they are exact duplicates, why hasn’t the original crew figured out “enhanced warp?” They needed a Demon class planet to survive, but all their away missions on M-class planets went ok? The entire ship was degrading but they expected their time capsule to not degrade? In the entire quadrant they just so happened to find the other Voyager with minutes left? The Doctor never noticed that the crew now needed a different atmosphere to breathe, an atmosphere he said himself couldn’t be safely replicated?

I understand the emotional payoff of this episode, but with all these ridiculous plot holes, it comes of as manipulative rather than authentic. 1 star
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Why are there so many people here pretending Darmok was bad? Are they Russian spambots?
Set Bookmark
Maya
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I just need to notice the use of Star Trek theme song mixed together with Picard theme song on Picard/Rios scene. Good stuff.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Sorry, Guinan is no Ben. She doesn't hangout or play poker with junior or senior officers. In fact other than Beverly, Deanna, and and maybe Worf, she doesn't interact with no one else other than Picard. Never cared for Whoopie, and hated the fact she was even on this show.

I also despised Picard for manipulated this young woman into this mission. And if Star Fleet isn't a military organization. then what is it? Is it like the Merchant Marines? And if it isn't military, why are members putting their lives at risk on missions? Also, if the current society is not based on the accumulation of things, but to better ones self and not get paid, why would anyone want to join Star Fleet, and fight like the devil to keep from getting kicked out?

Sito, almost got kicked out of the Academy after covering up a classmates death. She was almost in tears as she told Picard how she no longer had no friends, and almost quit. What would actually happen to her if she did? It seems like you would live an easy life if you weren't in Star Fleet.

I did like seeing how you got to see junior officers, and how they progressed through the ranks. These four Ensigns didn't have a very glamorous life on the ship since they were the bottom rung. They even had to share a room with someone. Makes you think why Wesley wanted to be an acting Ensign so bad, and thought it was the best thing ever. Having been in the military, the first three officer ranks were based on time in grade. That means you automatically got promoted to the next rank. There were special boards where you competed to get accelerated directly to the 3rd rank, but these four weren't doing that.

It was eye opening that within an organization, there were secrets that were kept from even junior officers. Maybe I could see the enlisted folk being kept in the dark, but not officers. The more they pretend this isn't a military organization, the more it looks like one. Uniforms, rank insignia, a hierarchy, and military bearing. I laughed when Riker dressed down Lavelle that a single Aye was sufficient when acknowledging an order.

Having been in the military, there is no way I would join Star Fleet. Not a career I would want to be part of. Until I saw this episode, I used to think being on a Star Ship to be kinda cool. But that's because you only saw life through the eyes of the Senior Staff, who were given great leeway in their jobs. Hooking up with aliens for a few days, and problem solving. What's not to like? The junior officers don't seem to do anything but training and routine work. They aren't seen to have anything to do with missions even though they are sitting on the Bridge. All you ever see is them navigating the ship to the next great adventure, then ignored. Again, I never really thought about them until this episode.

I like the political maneuvering episodes with Worf, and even this episode over the ones when some demon alien gets inside an officers body, or the ship caught in some snare.
Set Bookmark
David A Korman
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

The question of how the Doctor was duplicated, always bugged me. Btw Jammer, been reading your reviews since the beggining. I was 13...
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

@P'kard, yes they beamed her directly to the Observation Lounge after she hung up. Riker set up that with Worf before calling:

LORIN [on viewscreen]: Enterprise, I have warned you about these unauthorised communications.
RIKER: Yes, I know, but I think it's about time we all sat down together and tried to work this out. I have Ambassador Mauric here...
LORIN [on viewscreen]: That is your misfortune. We have nothing to say to either of you.
(transmission ends)
MAURIC: Commander, you're working with the Prytt. Putting on this little show for my benefit does neither of us any good.
RIKER: We'll see. Mister Worf.
(Worf works his panel)
RIKER: I believe there's someone waiting for us in the Observation Lounge.
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

"I think the clash where Leah finds out would have been far better if Geordi would have confessed everything and admitted that he is lonely and fell for that hologram in a high pressure situation, that he made a mistake and is deeply sorry. AND then Leah warms to his honesty."

I rather took it that that was pretty well what we are meant to assume actually happened, after the initial spat, in the light of the eventual rapprochement. Though I can't see "deeply sorry" as the appropriate level of penitence for Geordi any more than for Leah. Both made errors of judgement which were perfectly understandable.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I love Golden Age Sci-Fi and I also like accurate period pieces and I like thoughtful character studies that let the viewer walk a mile in someone else's shoes and I like seeing the cast stretch their acting muscles and I like seeing them without makeup (because some of the cast look so different in their human state that they might as well be guest actors) and I like that I'm not being preached at but I'm still being invited to contemplate a dark chapter in history and in human beings in general.

What's not to like?
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"The number of comments from racism apologists with critiques that are little more than people clearly feeling discomfort because realistic depictions of the racism in their history is laughable.

This shit happened. This shit is real, whether you think, as dipshit Rogue09 does, that "dwelling on racism is as bad as supporting it". Holy shit you tone deaf imbecile. "

Yeah, this, times a million. How out of touch with reality do you have to be to think the explicit racism in this episode wasn't (and still is) prevalent. Trekkies need to check their privilege and take a walk outside their gated community lol.
Set Bookmark
Sintek
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

There's a reason Chekov and Uhura had nothing to do in this episode, nor Sulu in any other: SHATNER. It's known now that he would demand for himself lines written for other actors even if they were that actor's only one in the script.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

A waste of time in the worst way possible, one that convinces you of it's importance then pulls the rug out from under you, revealing itself as inconsequential nonsense.
Set Bookmark
Tannhäuser
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I agree this is among the best. However, through out the episode, I get the feeling that they are trying to escape their future and destiny rather than trying to change their past history.
Set Bookmark
Cjanus
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

It’s reassuring to know that if the ship is ever in jeopardy, Bridge Officer Troi will - if given a few days and several do-overs - eventually come up with the resolve to sacrifice a hologram.

(This plot line reminded me of my beef with Christianity - in which the central event is that God sacrifices his only begotten son for less than a weekend, knowing he’s going to pop back up on Sunday morning.)

Fortunately, the A story was a sweet delight, thanks to Data’s relationships with Gia and the local scientist. “You are an iceman!” will never not be entertaining.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I'm not a fan of this one. It's not creepy or clever enough to work very well in a Twilight Zone sort of way, but it doesn't have much else going for it. The solution to the puzzle seems poorly thought-out and implausible, in a genre where implausible is the norm.

Guinan seems unaffected by the inability to dream affecting the rest of the (organic) crew. Odd that she's allowed to keeps an energy weapon behind the bar and even discharges it on board the ship.

I found Picard's hallucination in the lift (that's possibly "elevator" for some readers) quite powerful. I sometimes have those out-of-control lift dreams myself. Sometimes they accelerate upwards out of control, sometimes they move sideways.

Here's a nit-pick - when Picard steps out of the lift onto the bridge, there is no gap at all in the carpet between the bridge and the lift. Yet later in the episode, you can see that there's a gap in the carpeting between the bridge and his ready room. Later still, as Data orders him to bed, there's a gap between the bridge carpet and the lift carpet! No, it's not an important point.

Sometimes the future technology imagined when TNG was made looks improbably old-fashioned, like those tablets they carry around that are two inches thick. But the device that Beverley has in her hand in the mortuary looks like an iPad or Android tablet. A device like that would have seemed ultra-cool and futuristic in the early '90s; now it looks mundane.

I don't really like the way that the Enterprise turns out to have a function to dispense hydrogen. Feels like rather convenient lazy writing, a bit like more or less every scene involving a sonic screwdriver in Doctor Who.

Anyway - this one just about scrapes an "OK" from me.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

uh no, this is no way near the horrible abomination that is "for the uniform".
Dave and Gerontius have correctly pointed out that all Geordi had to do was saying: "Computer, cut the romantic and sexually suggestive behavior."

What bothers people is that even though Geordi lies repeatedly and used his position to gather information (or are personal files public domain; is privacy dead in Star Trek??)
- he lies when he schedules a diner with Leah (an ok lie, in love a few tricks are allowed)
- when Leah notices that Geordi knows a lot about her, he lies about why and how he got the info (borderline)
- when Leah accuses him of using the hologram for god knows what he lies about how far it went (understandable but over the line)
- he also states that he just wanted to be nice (another convenient lie)

I think the clash where Leah finds out would have been far better if Geordi would have confessed everything and admitted that he is lonely and fell for that hologram in a high pressure situation, that he made a mistake and is deeply sorry. AND then Leah warms to his honesty.

but he shows outrage and continues to lie and trick her.
and it works.

I think that is a terrible message for boys and men.
Set Bookmark
William Smith
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

I found it unsettling that assistant engineer Singh dies and everyone is generally OK with it. No one was upset about their crew mate dying?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I thought it was pretty good. Janeway got her ass called out, and it was a very good indictment.

Come on! “Well we thought 8472 was a bigger threat”! Come on! How self serving can you get?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This wasn’t bad, but they cut to the chase way too soon. There was way more story available with 8472.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Actually, all he had to do was say " Computer, reset physical parameters of Holo-Leah. Make her hideously unattractive and smelly. Resume program. "
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Gerontius

Actually, all he had to say was "Holo-Leah, we only have a few hours until the ship is destroyed and all of us die. Could we focus on the crisis at hand?"

If holo-Leah balked, he could've easily instructed the computer to reset her personality subroutines back to their original state and told the computer to keep her interest firmly platonic.

It sure would've wasted less time than talking about her favorite pasta.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

I normally can’t stand holodeck episodes. And honestly towards the end of this one I kept checking the clock to see how much time I had left (something this season of Voyager has drastically improved upon!) But dang if Satan’s Robot didn’t make the whole thing worth watching for me. Technobabble and slow pace aside, I’ll give it a 2/4 just for that robot.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,933
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.