Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77,830 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,114
Set Bookmark
USS-Relativity
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@Sen-Sors nice name haha, I agree with the aforementioned:

"When someone views TOS and sees that there isn't a person of Arab descent, there are no gay people, no trans people, and sees that as a problem, you can't help but think they didn't get that message. If we feel the need to include every shade of skin color, we are saying appearances do matter. Instead of identifying with the shared aspects of humanity, we're reverting to identifying with what separates us. If so, then there will always be somebody feeling excluded, since no matter how large the cast and crew, we cannot include every permutation and combination of appearances."
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

The entire say yes thing is so ridiculously unplausible that I was cringing the whole time in disbelief. Its almost over the top so far from reality lovey dovey of a show. Its like they are just a bunch of random civilians on a ship with no structure like a bunch of hippies or something in a drum circle talking about science lol. I dont know how to describe it.

There is no sense of ship, no sense of a crew like with TNG or VOY you felt like you were actually on the ship with them.

This show feels like youre just watching a bunch of random people do random things. The atmosphere is wack.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 8:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Wow Discovery gets more ridiculous by the episode! I'm trying REALLY hard to get into Discovery but its painful. Tilly should NOT be a first officer. Like are you kidding me? She has panic attacks and gets super nervous! LOL. There are so many other qualified people. Not to mention her crew would hate her for jumping so many ranks. Wtf? IRL if someone gets passed over at work... not a good look. These writers are literally out of touch with the rest of the world I swear. In their own bubble.
Set Bookmark
Dogcat
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Latex Zebra good points! And I don't think the length of the seasons is relevant, because Culber/Nahn etc were already heavily involved in those episodes. Avoiding Burnham taking over at the last minute might even have *saved* time, by cutting out the speeches about why she is special and needs to do the job.
Set Bookmark
Dogcat
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

As much as I enjoyed Burnham's mum having a go at her, isn't this basically a retread of snarky Spock doing the same thing last season? It's almost like the producers know what is annoying about her character, but overestimate its interest.

I did enjoy the courtroom scene... but why exactly did Burnham's feelings about her family become relevant to the case? They are deciding whether to trust the federation... so they base the decision entirely on how devoted one person who is 800 years behind on Federation events is? It would be like some Protestants deciding to trust the Catholic Church based on the emotional state of a disobedient Catholic monk from 1150. I just don't see the logic!

Thoroughly enjoyed the walk and talk between Saru and the president though -- "we have evolved beyond slogans" or similar, a very layered conversation.

About Tilly, I guess her promotion doesn't compare well with Riker's behaviour in Best of Both Worlds. He made Shelby XO, despite disliking her, because he knew he needed her experience and knowledge and command ability during a crisis. This was meant to show that he is ready for command. Saru's decision to elevate Tilly (instead of asking Starfleet to assign an XO) doesn't look good in comparison.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

This episode wasn't even good enough to be bad. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@JohnnyIt

“Was Picard secretly recording his conversations like Nixon?”

Hahahahaha that made me laugh. He must have wanted some blackmail in case Spock ran for office. How Tilly got ahold of The Picard Tapes we will never know. Maybe she met with Deepthroat.
Set Bookmark
Mark B
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 6:52am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

BTW and FWIW,

The 2nd & 3rd Matrix movies were seriously awful.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 5:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Dogcat - Much as I am enjoying this season I totally agree with you. One of the good things about the other Treks is much as they had their main focus on the Captain, everyone got at least an episode a season. I appreciate they had double the amount of episodes to work with and we got a lot of filler as a result but we also learned about the characters. That they focused on bit part players like O'Brien so that when he joined DS9 he was already a character you knew. No reason, like you say that some of these characters couldn't do a bit of the heavy lifting now and then.

So as for the episode. I liked it. I think the Tilly decision whilst definitely odd was actually handled well. The main story was a lot better, especially seeing Burnham get publicly shamed pretty much. I tuned out early on season 2 so not sure what the deal with her Mum is.
Set Bookmark
Dogcat
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Archer22 I do get the point, but it was also extremely annoying in Enterprise that this one small crew seemed to have invented everything that was important centuries later (phasers, red alert, etc). I also think the portrayal of Picard as a superhuman who was an expert in nearly everything got extremely silly by the end of TNG.

The difference with the other shows is that there were many, many episodes that focused almost entirely on someone other than Archer, Picard, or Sisko. Has there been a single episode of Discovery this season where Burnham wasn't the key to the solution? The saloon bar episode came close, but ruined in the last 5 min.

Imagine if Discovery had escaped the ice by itself then, if Culber had helped Adira through the pool, and if Nahn had talked down the depressed seed man. It would really have fleshed out these other characters, and there would have been a lot less groaning at Burnham being front and centre this week.
Set Bookmark
Thiago S
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 5:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Wondering if they rescued Aditya Sahil, or at least let him know that the Federation is still around...
Set Bookmark
RichardH
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 4:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Mostly agree with the review. I was a bit apprehensive early on as soon as it was clear things were a dream/illusion/going to be undone, but it turned into a sound and well done character piece.

My only quibbles:

1 - It does feel like we've been here before - B'Elanna has to learn to accept her self. When her mum said "You've taken yoyr first step..." I though "THAT'S her FIRST step?" Has she not learned anything from all her previous episodes treading the same ground?

2 - More a general quibble about B'Elanna as a character, but does she ACTUALLY have a bad attitude? Her 'aggression' and 'quick temper' feel much more like traits we are simply informed about (a lot!) rather than ones we ever see really play out. She's had many small confrontations with other characters (Tom, Seven and Chokotay most often) over the years where I've thought "A genuinely short-tempered person would have bitten their heads off there' but she responds positively diplomatically.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

A good episode. Action packed, and the Enterprise helps the downtrodden.

I am not a person who employs violence. It saddens me that so many here apparently are. I do not believe in fighting at all, let alone killing.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 4:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Archer22
They were - in my opinion - better actors, the scripts were stronger, these earlier ST series had a strong ensemble aspect with other bridge crew getting plenty of focus and story lines. My irritation with Discovery, amongst several irritations, is this constant emphasis on Burnham. Hardly anyone else gets a look in. It could be sooooo much better than it is, it's frustrating.

Also as Booming says she's an emotional wreck, really unstable.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Archer22
The problem is that Avery Brooks and Patrick Stewart were used appropriately, I also think that they are both better actors. I admit that I found Scott Bakula pretty annoying but I only saw a few episodes of Enterprise. I found him annoying because he often behaved like a spoiled brat. This attitude of "I want to do this now. Damn those Vulcans!"Kind of like the USA EU dynamic after 9/11.

Burnham often acts like a 12 year old. I find her portrayal borderline sexist. That she is not ever in control of her emotions. I see the problem with her more in the directing department. On the Walking Dead she was ok and there she played the role more subdued which for an average actor like her is often the better choice. On Discovery she jumps from mental breakdown to mental breakdown. It is the opposite of subtle. It feels like being hit in the face with a baseball bat of emotions. To name a character I adore who also has better eye make up by the way is Drummer from the Expanse. I really like that eye shadow... She is so cool in general. Played really well from start to finish. Smart, nuanced, just the right actor for the right role. I had hoped for a while that they would tune Burnhams emotional episodes down but it seems that season again gave me maybe two good episodes around the midpoint and then just jumped off a cliff.

@Tommy D
True, Wesley flying the ship seems irresponsible and smells of nepotism. I guess we should be happy that Geordie is so unsuccessful with the ladies or who knows what position his offspring would fill. Still that is far more rational, as dumb as it is, then making an ensign first officer. If I was the admiral I would relieve Saru of command. It is so baffling especially considering that Saru wants to win the trust of Starfleet. I would love to see when the admiral hears that. It is a "look up from a pad and say:"He did what?!!"" moment but as some have pointed out, on the stupid Discovery list it is maybe #528.
Set Bookmark
Harpohara
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

This episode made me angry.

I really like Discovery. I can put up with Burnham puking her emotions. I can put up with Tilly being a twat.

I really thought the thing that would bother me most is Tilly being made first officer.

But no. Burnhams mother showing up was just plain fking contrived, stupid and unnecessary on so many levels.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Archer22, great point. It's quite alarming actually.

On top of what you mentioned there is also -- ironically -- Unification Parts 1 and 2 which contain one of the biggest Federation-figure worships of all Trek, with Picard playing Mr. Federation, assisting the forever-long Vulcan-Romulan dissent, receiving plenty of enamored praises from Spock, not to mention the privilege of having mind-melded with both Sarek and Spock, and him playing the bridge between two of the greatest figures of Vulcan history, let alone father and son by "allowing" Spock to share the memories of his father through HIM so that father-son can connect thanks to the Picard brain, and yet I have not read one word about how he is the be-all and end-all in that. And yet, Michael gets slammed for being at the center of a courtroom drama where it made complete sense for her to be present and in that position, and one in which she gets scolded pretty badly.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

I actually like the notion mentioned by Dax here...that there is some danger in utilizing warp drive within a solar system. But we've seen countless examples of warp drive being implemented in solar systems ever since "to Neptune and back in six minutes", and not just in a solar system, but from planetary orbit. I can totally buy that entering warp in the vicinity of a planet would have deleterious effects.
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE made Sisko literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
dave
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@alienatbar

Funny you mentioned Soran. I read somewhere recently that by the years and what was said about the Nexus Ribbon in Generations, the current year for Discovery is only a year off from the Ribbons next visit to this galaxy. Maybe just funny trivia, but what if the writers......
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 1:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Courtney Peldon was great!
Awesome ep!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

There were some moments I liked, and some I absolutely hated.

The plight of Porthos was gripping. And seeing Archer's concern was touching.

Also, it is good for all of us to learn to humble ourselves and apologise. We do not have to exercise our "rights", but consider the other superior to us and go two miles if asked to go one.

Even the doctor's nightly routine was humourous and diverting

That said, I can't excuse the "sexual tension" plotline, nor the gratitious use of T'Pol again. It is such a shame, but in this sex-obssessed world, even children are used, attired and portrayed in an indecent way.

T'Pol and Archer are not married, so that should be the end of story. If Starfleet (and the Vulcan high command) allowed them to, that would be one thing, but I think at this point, Starfleet prohibits marriages of anyone on board their ships. I am glad they didn't have the two engage in immoral activity, but dwelling on such a subject is nothing but destructive and frustrating!

It is a shame, because this episode did have things going for it. It showed the value of humility, even towards those who are unreasonable. It showed had to mess it up with a negative message as well
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Very good episode! Maybe I am morbid, but if I were Mayweather, the first thing I would have asked is to see my lifeless replica!

Anyway, I love that the station still has mysteries (who built it, and why) It really doesn't make sense to open a repair bay just to steal a member of each crew. Maybe some alien race who wants to study different races?

It was neat seeing the station repair itself at the end. I don't think this was ever touched on again, but I could be wrong
Next ►Page 1 of 3,114
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.