Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,492 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,340
Set Bookmark
Blair
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Plot: Malcolm loses his keys and everyone forgets transporters exist.

Absolute and utter garbage. The only thing that kept me from falling asleep was anger at how inexplicably idiotic everyone handled the situation.

When captured, Archer and Reed are asked point blank if they’re aliens, do they have a ship orbiting the planet, and where in space they came from. This is immediately after we learn their physiology has been revealed to be of a completely different species, and the iron in their blood would be toxic to any species native to this planet.

10 minutes later as they await execution, Archer asks AGAIN “Hey Malcolm, what if we told them the truth? We could beam them up to the ship, show them around, prove everything, get our stuff back, and you know, not be hanged.”

To which Reed replies...
“You said it yourself captain, they’d never believe us.”

...what?

YOU HAVE LASER GUNS AND ALIEN TECH ON YOU. THEY KNOW YOU’RE NOT OF THEIR SPECIES. ALSO, THEY JUST ACCUSED YOU OF ACTUALLY BEING ALIENS.

This sack of absolute garbage gets 2.5 stars while A Night In Sickbay (Archer breaks down because his dog is dying from the carelessness of the PearlClutcharians, who care nothing about their mistake and want HIM to apologize for yet another nothingburger of an “offense”. I would’ve told Reed to level their capitol with every photon torpedo on board. Did no one watch John Wick?) got only 1 star? Criminal.

I’ve been enjoying my rewatch of Enterprise up until now. It’s aged well, and after watching Discovery throw away so much of the previous series, I appreciate it even more.

But this episode sucked. Miserably. It deserved -3 stars. It was so bad the episodes surrounding it should have stars deducted as well just for being adjacent to this pile of excrement. But considering the following episode is “The Enterprise Crew Tries Space Meth” I don’t know if there are any stars to borrow from.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

I just want to agree with Nic's comment all the way back in 2013: Yes, the "it doesn't look real" line is a great way of handling the state of this episode's special effects.

Hey, who says a deadly alien species WOULDN'T look like a cross between manta ray conjoined twins, a unit of whole blood, and a plastic puddle of novelty vomit, with the flight skills of a vampire bat.

It's a big universe, after all.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

@OmicronThetaDelta: Exactly my point!

And we end up having "no episode" anyway, because the episode cancels itself out.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Ironic that people are *both* angry at why have they not advanced in 300 years and at how can they maintain this level of technology. Any point of view, as long as we can hate the episode, eh?

The backstory seems clear. After the human uprising, the Skagarans were marginalized. Help from the larger Skagaran society never appeared because the Delphic Expanse had happened by that time, cutting off this world from the rest of the galaxy. Archer is trying to get as much information about the Xindi as he can. If he sees a planet with human biosigns, he is obviously going to investigate to see if he can make allies or get information.


This episode asks one of the most difficult questions to ever be asked. How much retribution is OK? When does the oppressed become the oppressor? I guess when the question being asked is not popular, the writers try to hide it by not belaboring the point. But then evvvvveryone misses it. Kinda like Spock's Brain.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I won't say much given everyone pretty gave a topo on this episode, but looking at Avery Brook's face in the end scene when he's staring at us saying he can live with it.......I'm not convinced he cannot live with it, despite deleting the log.

After introducing us to section 31 , pale moonlight pretty much sums up how mucky SF is willing to get to end the war with the Dominion (after all this was greenlighted by SF command).

Despite this dark turn on the part of the Federation , Sisko still somehow grips with it's initial ideals in that final scene (from my point of view anyhow), which adds importance and credence to Garak's speech about how he alone could of done it giving Sisko complet exoneration.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDelta
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

@Daya

According to this logic, even the first test wouldn't be necessary. Since the existence of the parasites eventually leads Phlox's first test, which eventually leads to their eradication, they shouldn't have existed at all in the first place.

But then, of-course, we would have no episode.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Not the best Q episode, but not the worst. I found it amiable and fun, honestly. I enjoyed the friendship between Q junior and Icheb, who hasn't had anyone his age to spend time with since his introductory episode. And it was honestly nice to see the Q and the Gray followed up on. Yeah, something serious and grand and dramatic might have been preferable to Q jr hijinks, but what we got was fun and entertaining, so I can't complain.

And since we now know that Q is turning up in Picard, this will soon no longer have the distinction of being the final Q episode. That might elevate it, depending on how the Picard writers handle the character.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Lots of great reviews on this one with @Marcus (October 28, 2017) standing out as making great sense.

Roxanne Dawson's performance elevates the episode greatly, but, with respect, it was a difficult watch...another torture-yarn set in a dark cavern.

(1) The Vidiian sodality can split Torres' genotype and create 2 viable individuals with perfect precision, (and do it overnight no less) but they are at a complete loss to cure themselves of the Phage over 2000 years.

(2) How much space territory does this group of very sick people control, for Voyager to keep bumping into them? It would have to be a vast amount I figure, Either that, or Voyager is flying in a circle, or least in an area no larger than the airspace between Detroit and Cleveland.... Logically, we must conclude that the Phage is simply a pain-free excess latex disorder, and not a debilitating disease. Do they ever have a bad headache that slows them down? What about Vidiian dispepsia, does that ever occur?

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Leo
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Good grief, if you didn't like my original two posts then just get on with your lives. I don't see the need for strawmen or snide remarks.

I never singled anyone out. I simply commented on a sphere of negativity and closed-mindedness I've witnessed on this site in relation to Trek, specifically this episode.

I never said, "you all stink", but if the shoe fits.

It's amazing how quick you are all to justify my original post.

"Easily angered" I really hit the nail on the head with that one.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 2:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

“When the bough breaks
The cradle will fall
Down will come baby
Cradle and all “
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

An interesting story full of potential and different from the usual Trek sci-fi. But delivered in such a terrible clunky way! Apart from some dialogue that is both predictable and lazy, there are plot holes so big you could sail the entire Starfleet through them. As Jammer would say, “Gee, a race so powerful they could hurl the Enterprise 3 days distant, yet apparently unable to discover the source of their own problems?”

Consistent though, in developing the notion that Picard is not comfortable around children, I’ll give it that.

I would give this almost 2 stars for potential - it could have been a 3 star episode if done right.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

The Bark.

This episode has a proper Wesley moment, but by this point, the writers are aware and doing it deliberately.

It's not just that Wesley was first season insufferable, he was downright rude.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I have a thought

Is it ever found out what happens to Lore's main rom memory after he is "deactivated?"
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Yup like I said, Time's Arrow is far and away a much much much much better story than this dreck.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

I totally agree with Landon. Time's Arrow is far far better, and closer to TBOBW in good than it is close to this in bad. Let's not even talk of Redemption.

TBOBW>>TA>>>>>>>>>>>Descent>>>>Redemption.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I remember watching this decades ago and thinking it was a meh episode. But on rewatch its actually not bad.

But I really like Krog's idea. Will finally gets promoted and Tom takes his place. There would have been so many good stories there. And then in the movies (like the Borg fight) it would have been great to have two Rikers.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

It's true -- throwing a brick through a window is rarely helpful, even if there's something very insightful written on the brick.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

The parasites that were gone from the newest scan were gone from the earlier scans as well. This means that Phlox would have always believed there were no parasites in that region of the brain. Which means he would have targeted another region of the brain in his first test. Now the parasites in this region would be gone, which means they would have never existed in the first place and so on and on. Thus, Phlox's *first test would have been enough* to remove the parasites bit-by-bit, and time would have been reset. No need to destroy Trip's Enterprise.

(With thanks to Bernd, I modified his theory)


= = = =


I wish there was a scene while Archer and T'Pol were both dying which gave some closure to the romance. I propose:


(Archer has set the final subspace overload lever and both, dying from phaser fire are waiting for the outcome)

Archer: Well, let's see if this works.

T'Pol: If this doesn't work ...
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

He didn't "rage-quit" nor did he quit at all. The guy has never shown his face here before his present rant. He came out of nowhere, and basically screamed "you all stink!".

Honestly, this kind of behavior shouldn't even dignify a response. We should be talking about Trek (and other interesting topics) here, rather than have piss-fights with kids who come here looking for them...
Set Bookmark
Cory
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Completely random, but something I noticed back in 2004 when this episode premiered and which has always bugged me:

When Phlox mentions how he's enhanced the neuro compound as much as possible, and recommends they stay no longer than 15 minutes, the shot focuses on a young extra in the background.

It's so blatant I was expecting her to have a line of dialogue, but she doesn't, even though it stays focused on her when they cut back to Phlox after T'Pol asks if he's ready to release the compound.

Was that an error on the camera operator's part that the editors missed, or was she a side character in some past episode that I skipped over? This mystery has bugged for 17+ years now...mainly because the extra is so dang GORGEOUS. lol. Maybe she was the camera operator's (or director's) paramour?

For those of you watching on Netflix, what I'm talking about happens around 13:30 (or, if it's easier for you to find, when there's 29:12 remaining). If anyone cares enough to look.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

You freely admit that you didn’t even bother to read all the comments? So, in other words, you encountered a few comments that disagreed with your opinions, thought that was unacceptable, and then decided to call some people names and rage-quit.

Nah, I’d say the only one who got his ego bruised here was you.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

My money is still on H-bombs. That's why Sisko lost his hair 4 episodes later and Jake always so thin... probably only eating potassium iodide tablets.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

By the way, on the subject of WWIII and the current f***_ed-up situation of the world:

If you think that a modern global war is going to resemble WWII with it's physical invasions and ground maneuvers - think again. Nobody is going to march troops into any cities. Why bother when information warfare is just as devastating?

We live in strange times, and it is difficult to tell - from our current limited perspective - how future historians will describe our era. But it may well be that WWIII has already started quite a while ago.

(and to be absolutely clear: I'm not referring to one specific faction or nation as the cause here. Reality is far *far* more complicated then that)
Set Bookmark
Chris Nash
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

What a great run of episodes. I'm with Jammer in wondering why it took so long for this season to reach this kind of quality - perhaps the 26-episode season length is to blame. The danger with announcing a "season long arc" is that viewers will expect that arc to be advanced every week, and this goes double when looking back on episodic shows like Enterprise from today's almost totally serialized TV landscape. , Perhaps the Xindi weapon arc should have been compressed into half a season instead for better narrative cohesion and fewer fallow spots.

I also took note of Degra's slight pause after Trip remonstrates with him. Wonderfully played by Randy Oglesby (yes, even without dialogue and with his back to the camera!) - there really is nothing that Degra could have said to Trip in that moment, and you can see that he almost wants to anyway, but then the futility of it catches up to him.

The show has done a great job of expanding Degra's character over the past few episodes, and although I'm not sure I'd be so forgiving if someone told me they'd repeatedly wiped my memory and subjected me to what was effectively psychological torture for extended periods of time, I nonetheless see the parallels between Archer's attitude in "Strategem" and here: in that episode, he used deception to extract information, tried to gain Degra's trust under false pretenses. But now, he's being open and honest with him, and it's leading to a de-escalation of the Xindi conflict. This, to me, is a textbook demonstration of Star Trek's values and message.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Mal

When it comes to the question of giving the Valakians warp drive, T'Pol is very clearly right. That's not a very difficult dilemma. You don't give people magical access to f***-ing antimatter unless you are absolutely sure that they'd know how to handle it.

Antimatter (which some people don't realize to be a real thing) is insanely powerful as well as volatile. A single ounce of antimatter, upon contact with ANYTHING, will result in a blast that's equivalent to about 1 megaton of TNT. This kind of "help" is almost certainly going to backfire disastrously.

This, though, has absolutely nothing to do with the question of giving the Valakians the cure for their disease.

@Peter

Janeway is a control freak, plain and simple. A mostly benevolent control freak, but a control freak nevertheless.

Ordinary this wouldn't be a problem for a Starfleet captain, because of the restraining effect of the admirals and the rest of the fleet's command structure. But in the Delta Quadrant... well, we've seen the results.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,340
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.