Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77,579 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,104
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 3:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@Austin
At first I thought "Dishonorable discharge" was too hard a punishment but it is actually the norm in such a situation, at least in the USA. A fellow soldier of mine (German Army) once went AWOL for several month because of some harebrained scheme (he was an idiot) and he was not dishonorably discharged but demoted and had to spent 3 month in prison. On the other hand we see people breaking orders all the time in Star Trek... often without consequences.

And please CBS do not make Burnham captain. To quote Weyoun: "Perish the thought!"
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 3:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

I LOVED the music in this episode! It had that quality of mystery and spookiness that the episode more than lived up to. It was good to see what I think of as a classic Trek episode. In that there were no villains, just communication with a very different lifeform! Great! It was also good to see the captain's hobbies and his friendship with Trip
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:58am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Ok, now my review of the episode:

There are many different things this episode can be associated with from real life events. It is a shame, but as Ecclesiastes 8:9 says, "Man has dominated man to his harm" I know a lot of people here do not believe this, but I look to God's Kingdom to correct the problems in the world as it soon will. This includes this kind of treatment after the wicked are destroyed and the earth is a paradise.

The episode itself gave a touching example of how these things happen. Racism, fear and prejudice run rampant today, whether it is internment camps, or peoples personal ideas (eg: Someone from Race "A" did something bad to me, so all people from Race "A" are bad) What helps me to fight this prevalent attitude is remembering that "God is not partial, but in every nation the man who fears him and does what is right is acceptable to him.”​—Acts 10:34, 35.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Hell, this show, if Seven had beamed in for an improbable fling with Trip, it would have been far better than the stillborn Temporal Cold War “arc”.

And by the way, this one is credited to B&B... meaning, they believed they could get by shaving bits off TNG era...
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

Silly, could you perhaps enlighten us on the connection of Samuel Beckett to ENT and Archer? Reading your post I've been scratching my head about as much as the first time I read Waiting for Godot.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Absolute embarrassment. Dreck.

The Borg episode was an annoying cheat, but at least vaguely plausible.

But the Ferengi so close to Federation space that they staged a raid, yet the Feds don’t seem to know anything about them for two centuries? SMH.

As retarded as this one was, Trip Tucker running around in his underwear was one of the high points of the entire four seasons. Hell, with the way this show holds a finger up to logic and continuity, I’m amazed they didn’t have 7 of 9 drop by for a thing with Trip.

To be fair, this was the first season of Enterprise, and Treks do tend to flail for the first couple seasons. BUT, while I don’t mind seeing Trip running around in his blue skivvies, I think it’s pretty obvious Trek wasn’t built on pretty people running around nearly naked.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@SlackerInc I will never say what television can show. I am a Jehovah's Witness and am completely neutral about politics and such. It is God who will judge of all us on our actions, not us. That is why we preach to people, but we do not try to force anyone to do anything. We all will account for our actions ourselves
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

I don’t know if this is the right place to complain. Different shows work for different people, so it Enterprise is your thing, cool, I’m not trying to take anything from anyone.

So, just my personal opinions...

Bleh. To me, this show is shockingly bad. And I’m absolutely no small part, Sam Freaking Becket in space. BLEH. Connor Trineer’s Trip Tucker is VASTLY a better character. A better character, and far better played. When I tried to watch the show, I certainly wasn’t thinking “well, a cute assertive redneck is what this show needs “, but darned if that’s not the best the show had to offered. But, not even settling, Trip is a fantastic character! And considering this is supposed to be mankind’s uneven step into space, well, a cute assertive American redneck is the way it would probably happen.

I’ve seen people say that Becket’s Archer got his place from nepotism, and he knows that, so he knows he’s a fraud. Well, great, but that’s not exactly compelling, is it?
Set Bookmark
Ian
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 12: The Siege

I do like The Mandalorian but I'm concerned about it falling into repetitive decline. At the moment the series is very much like Kung Fu where the protagonist arrives at a new community in each episode and solves a problem. That's not necessarily a bad thing. But I hope we can see more episodes where Djarin doesn't do this.

Another thing is the continued ineptness of the Stormtroopers. In the previous episode Djarin was reluctant to join the other Mandalorians in taking the Imperial freighter. But the four of them were able to do it despite the presence of dozens of Stormtroopers onboard. Here in "The Siege" another Imperial stronghold is penetrated and none of our heroes get hurt. Knowing that the Stormtroopers can't shoot and kill their targets really undermines them as a foe and reduces dramatic tension.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I didn’t say all. In fact, one of my very best friends is a professor of chemistry and a devout Christian. But he would be the first to say that he feels rather outnumbered among his colleagues. (He is a big fan of Francis Collins, probably the most prominent devoutly Christian scientist in the United States.)

My original point stands. Atheism has rarely been portrayed positively on mainstream television. (One of the only other examples I can think of is the main character, a scientist, on BONES, although this is kind of portrayed as one of her strange or comical personality quirks.) So if scientists are the least religious group in society, and the vast majority of TV shows honor or at least do not contradict religious belief, why should anyone be surprised or get their nose bent out of joint if a science fiction show takes a different approach?

I call BS on this dogmatic idea that everything aired on TV has to be respectful of religious belief. We are not in Saudi Arabia, you religious folk don’t get to have control over everything. Those of us who are nonbelievers get to have a few things of our own, dammit.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Trent: “But a work of art is under no obligation to represent everyone”

Technically true, but the woke contingent is not going to like the implications of that.

Personally, I was a fan of Bill Clinton‘s aim of making his cabinet “look like America”. I would like the bridge of the Discovery to look the same. We could, as I have said, broaden that out to English-speaking countries more generally, but that would skew it whiter, so I think just sticking with representing every major demographic group in the United States would be the best approach. And again, I’m not even calling for the straight white dude(s) to be as numerous as their percentage of the population would predict, nor to be in positions of power. Just not so blatantly absent would be nice.

But I said upthread here that it’s not as though this was the dealbreaker to keep me from enjoying the show. It had lots of other problems. But then with the most recent episode, I thought it was really excellent without changing that aspect. So it’s just something I would prefer, but it doesn’t get in the way of my enjoying the show on the rare occasion (which I hope will now become less rare) that they write and direct a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 12: The Siege

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

This is completely off the topic of the episode review, but I have a question that maybe someone can answer:

I wonder how they have child aliens. I mean I know that the rules of child actors are that they can only work limited hours and must have a tutor on site. I was wondering about this, because the alien actors on Star Trek usually have 2 hours each for makeup application and removal. I would think that by the time the child actors go thru that, there would be very little time left for actual acting! I asked that in a review for the Voyager episodes with the Borg kids too-anyone know the answer?
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 9:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Well, I just watched the show in its entirety. That was unexpected-it still had that spooky, mysterious element! Great!

I guess the only negative to it in continuity is the fact that the Enterprise crew could fix the computer with its holographic creations. I mean holograms in Starfleet only make an appearance 200 years later. I used this analogy earlier, but it's like a 19th century steam locomotive mechanic fixing a 21st century jet engine.

But that nitpick aside, I really liked the episode! I see T'Pol seems jealous of Trip! Hehe-that was amusing
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 9:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

Episode had a deliciously spooky beginning, and then changed to a stranded crew. Not a bad one.

You know, I found Liana to be quite attractive here. It was Annie Wersching's first acting job. I don't mean this in a mean way, but it is uncanny how people can be made up. Every other single photo of her that I've seen, she looks TOTALLY different and not attractive at all! I think it is the hair, mannerisms, and I'm not sure what else. I mean she even looks different in the facial features than she does everywhere else.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

@SlackerInc

You said, "Most scientists are atheists". I would like to draw your attention to a few accounts:

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201606_3_VIDEO

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201604_3_VIDEO

https://www.jw.org/en/library/videos/#en/mediaitems/OriginsLife/pub-jwbiv_201606_2_VIDEO
Set Bookmark
Trent
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

Ira Behr loves to contrast mundane domestic scenes with giant galactic wars. And so this episode - which kicks off the Dominion War - opens with Rom and Leeta picking out a wedding dress.

Such trivialities pile on: Sisko and Jake share dinner, Kira and Dax chat about Yamok sauce, Miles talks about shipping Keiko and the kids off the station, Nog brings Sisko some coffee, and so on and so on. It's a more concise and brisk version of "Way of the Warrior's" first act- the calm before the storm.

The aforementioned storm begins with news that the Romulans have entered a non-aggression pact with the Dominion. Such sinister whispering, which encapsulate how methodically sinister the Dominion are, effortlessly pitting Empire against Empire (Why isn't the Federation this smart?), lead to scenes in which Miles, Dax and Nog brainstorm ways to block the wormhole. Unfortunately these scenes are silly: the wormhole should have been secured years ago. At the very latest, it should have been secured immediately after learning that the Dominon tried to explode Bajor's sun.

And methods of blocking the wormhole should have been cooked up years ago by Federation experts, tacticians and scientists, and not left to the last minute. That Rom figures out a solution - self-replicating mines - when nobody else can, is similarly unbelievable.

The mines themselves are a bit hard to believe. It's not physically possible for a mine to have enough feed stock to keep replicating itself. And any hegemony like the Dominion possesses enough explosives to simultaneously detonate all mines at the same time.

But the show's going for a WW2-in-space vibe, and the mine fields look cool, so we can let that slide.

From this point onwards, the episode serves up one iconic scene after the next. Starfleet positions its fleets to hit the Dominion elsewhere (they use DS9 as bait). Odo fakes com-traffic in order to create the illusion that DS9 hasn't evacuated civilians. The Defiant begins laying a vast mine field at the wormhole mouth. The Dominion send Weyoun to DS9 to negotiate the removal of the mine field, and Sisko gathers his crew and dramatically notifies them to prepare for war.

The only thing lacking here is Sisko explicitly calling out Weyoun for trying to decimate a Federation fleet with an exploding sun several months prior. Surely that event, from the Federation's perspective, and which Dukat confirmed, was the first formal act of war. Weyoun's acting like the Federation are unfairly policing an international shipping lane, not justifiably blockading a "nation" with a recent history of blowing up an entire planet! The Sisko/Weyoun conversations are going for a level of cordial suspicion which the show should be well beyond.

More great scenes follow: Sisko assembles the Bajoran Council of Ministers and pushes them to sign a non-aggression pact with the Dominion, Sisko politely "turns down" Kira's request that Starfleet turn DS9 over to the Bajoran Militia, Nog indulges Ira Behr's fondness for "Casablanca" homages (he echoes Bogart in his farewells to Leeta), and Garak regrets not shooting Dukat in the back a decade prior, an act "everyone on the station will also soon regret".

Then Damar, Dukat and Weyoun roll up in a hilariously huge Dominion Fleet, looking like wannabe gangsters with fancy space-monocles. Sisko dares them to kick his ass, which they dutifully oblige.

This episode juggles a big cast much better than "Way of the Warrior" did. It's a leaner, more streamlined episode. It's action climax is also better, with the Defiant frantically laying mines, Martok's Bird of Prey bravely running interference, and DS9 spitting quantum torpedoes like a station on cocaine. Some of the FX shots are a bit hokey, but the battle holds up better than similar fare from the era, and several of the compositions are pretty great.

Sisko then gives the order to evacuate DS9. He hops aboard the Defiant, which blasts through the Dominion fleet with Martok's Bird of Prey dramatically in formation.

The iconic scenes then keep coming: the Dominion board DS9, walking in lockstep like Nazi henchmen. Before they arrive at Ops, Kira and Odo self-destruct all useful computers and databanks. Then Dukat famously finds Sisko's baseball - "He's sending me a message" - and we close with Sisko looking pensive on the Defiant, which famously joins formation with a massive Federation fleet.

End result: DS9's best season climax since Season 1's "In the Hands of the Prophets", and arguably one Trek's top five season finales.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@ grey car

I tried watching New Girl and I found the supporting cast to be very likable and amusing. Zooey Deschanel? I think her persona is phony.

She's also in one of those oretentious coffeeshop "bands" where a guy plays a ukulele while she sings the same 4 notes in a vibratoless voice. Imagina a song in an Apple commercial, it's repellent to me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@grey cat
But.... Megaman tho :(
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Also re: the Burn. I hate how predictable this “introduce a problem in episode 1, spend episodes 2-12 giving no information/misleading information, and then cram the resolution into the last 2-3 episodes” formula is. But a few thoughts...

I don’t think Burnham is the cause of the Burn....um? If they wanted to play this smart, I’d say make it the Q Continuum. The Q could have been threatened/annoyed at how fast humanity was evolving and decided to push the reset button. Biblically it’s like the Tower of Babel, but instead of stopping the dangerous accelerated cooperation of a society by confusing their languages, it’s stopping them by essentially putting them all in time out in their limited warp-free bubbles.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Jenna was a basket case and train wreck from the opening credits. And she is definitely fatal.

Not sure why, but she seems like a Linda Hamilton clone to me, but she is no Sarah Conner's. Way to clingy with Data. I can't believe he didn't get a Bad Syntax error when trying to communicate or rationalizing with her. Perhaps it is her acting that is subpar, but I knew exactly how this episode was going to end. She was so predictable.

This has always been one of the worst TNG episodes when rating them.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@Austin "2/4 from me. I was going to say 1.5, but I really liked the Megaman style arm buster cannons"

They do look cool admittedly but they're utterly useless as weapons. Right up there with storm trooper blasters. They don't look quite cool enough to add any stars for me. What a horrible mess this was.

SMG was in an episode of New Girl. God she was annoying but at least she was playing a deliberately annoying character. She didn't cry either and was semi funny (which is about as funny as the show gets).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@ Trent

Agreed. Saru makes a pretty good captain.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Fifth Season Recap

Out of ten, I'd rank each episode of this season thusly:

Apocalypse Rising - 7.9/10
The Ship - 5/10
Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places - 5/10
Nor the Battle to the Strong - 7/10
The Assignment - 7/10
Trials and Tribble-ations - 9/10
Let He Who Is Without Sin - 2/10
Things Past - 5/10
The Ascent - 4/10
Rapture - 7.9/10
The Darkness and the Light - 8/10
The Begotten - 5/10
For the Uniform - 7/10
In Purgatory's Shadow - 9/10
By Inferno's Light - 9/10
Doctor Bashir, I Presume - 5/10
A Simple Investigation - 3/10
Business as Usual - 4/10
Ties of Blood and Water - 7.9/10
Ferengi Love Songs - 2/10
Soldiers of the Empire - 7.9/10
Children of Time - 8.5/10
Blaze of Glory - 8/10
Empok Nor - 5/10
In the Cards - 7.9/10
Call to Arms - 9/10

I thought this was a muc weak season, rescued by a trio of great Dominion War episodes, and a couple Ron Moore episodes. The Odo episodes were weak, Bashir had no great stories, and the standalones generally felt dull and aimless; with the Dominion having tried to blow up Bajor's sun mid-way in the season, it makes no sense that the Federation waits several months to mine the wormhole.

I seem to differ from the consensus on "The Ship" and "Nor the Battle", which I didn't like. Later seasons would handle such soldiering stories better (eg "Rock and Shoals"). "Looking for Par'mach" seems well respected, but did nothing for me.

Unless I'm mistaken, this season closes off DS9's Maqui arc. I thought "Blaze of Glory" was fine, and did well to rehabilitate Sisko after seeing him WMDing a planet in "For the Uniform". "For the Uniform" is itself hard to rate; it's dramatically exciting and cool, but that Sisko climax is baffling.

"Trials and Tribble-ations" - a neat loveletter to TOS - arguably saves this season from being more heavily criticized.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Spore Driver wrote: “After nearly three years, I don’t see how they can rehabilitate this deeply flawed character enough to build a series around her.” I think that’s exactly what they’re trying to do. MU Georgiou seems to be having flashbacks of PU Georgiou’s death. With her hesitation to take the kill shot, I think the PU and MU Georgious are going to somehow merge.
I enjoyed the chewing out that Burnham gets, but she really should have been dishonorably discharged from Starfleet and/or thrown in the brig. Taking away a title she didn’t want in the first place is hardly punishment for disobeying a direct order, putting her whole crew at risk, and what’s more, this is a pattern of selfish, dangerous and insubordinate behavior that (according to the show) already led the Federation into a war.
Also, does Burnham really have to cry in nearly every episode? No other woman in Trek has been portrayed as this hyper-emotional crybaby. Troy was the most empathic member of Starfleet and hardly ever cried. If you haven’t guessed, this series has really made me hate the Burnham character. She’s poorly written, overacted, and hypocritical.
BUT, the saving grace of this show is the rest of the cast. Saru’s grappling with his newfound command has been my favorite part of this season. Tully’s scenes are great in this episode, as is the Stamets/Culber talk. The slow world building of the Federations is intriguing. The Gray Tal portions, however, don’t really need to be included though. Ian Alexander is not a great actor, and the continuation of this weak plot line strikes me as Discovery writers proving how woke they are.
2/4 from me. I was going to say 1.5, but I really liked the Megaman style arm buster cannons.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,104
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.