Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63,986 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,560
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

@ Booming

""As Jammer writes, this is more like X-FIles in a Star Trek setting. That is probably the reason why there is no follow up episode."

Well just so you know, the Borg were originally supposed to be an insectoid hive-mind species...just saying :)
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

I should add - Dax could have just made it up, but the Cardassians have records on everyone and that device Garak used that will identify them. So Dax was either taking a huge risk, or somehow knew what her name was.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

When Dukat mentioned the young, attractive Bajoran girl's name, the one that Dax inhabited, he called her "Leeta". I knew I recognised the name, its the same one as the young, attractive Bajoran dabo girl that works in Quarks. Its never expressly addressed, but I now cant help but wonder if they are the same person. Maybe its a name as common as Sheila or Barbara, I don't know, but its an interesting side note.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

In the Cards = 4 stars. Children of Time = 4 stars. Soldiers of the Empire = 2 1/2 stars.

I'm pretty much done with Jammer's DS9 reviews. It's pot luck whether a good episode will get a good score and it's virtually guaranteed that the uninspired fillers will be rated as classics. Sorry for being grouchy but I woke up ill today and decided to watch some of Jammer's higher-rated DS9 episodes, and needless to say, they didn't make me feel better.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 6:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Another uninspired romance-of-the-week episode. Slow pacing, predictable, with very poor writing for Aryssa, delivered as uninspiringly as possible, and utterly forgettable bad guys. Oh well, this is DS9, better give mandatory 3 stars and needlessly trash Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

the whole odo / kira relationship never worked. i'm sorry, but it's just flat. not believable. no chemistry. nothing. it's awful really.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

How the battle itself could go:

-Shinzon is twenty minutes away from firing the thalaron weapon at Romulus when the Enterprise and other ships warp in and attack. Shinzon cloaks and disables/destroys three of the ships without breaking a sweat, until Troi does her mind thing allowing the Enterprise to disable the cloak.
-The remaining ships are able to damage the Scimitar/destroy two Reman-crewed warbirds escorting it, but ultimately, every Starfleet ship is destroyed except the Enterprise which is heavily damaged, weapons disabled.
-Shinzon prepares to fire on Romulus. Picard orders the Enterprise to ram the Scimitar, taking out the thalaron weapon.
-Enraged, Shinzon still has plenty of conventional weapons and orders them all targeted at the Enterprise. ("Target the Enterprise." "With what?" "EVERYTHING!")
-Picard tells his crew "it's been an honor serving with you", then Donatra warps in, having disobeyed Shinzon's orders, with three warbirds (one of which is commanded by Sela). They save the Enterprise from getting blown to smithereens and take down the Scimitar's shields.
-Picard decides "enough is enough" and beams to the Scimitar with a boarding party of himself, Worf, Data and a bunch of security to capture or kill Shinzon. Epic battle in the corridors, including Data single-handedly thrashing a bunch of Remans hand-to-hand, plus Worf using his bat'leth.
-Shinzon partially restores the thalaron weapon and prepares to use it on the Romulus capital city - he won't be able to wipe out everyone but it will still kill a lot of people. Picard and co fight their way to the bridge. Data plugs himself into the system and shorts out the reactor permanently, but is heavily damaged in the process.
-Picard kills Shinzon in an epic hand-to-hand fight, then accesses the comm system and recalls the Romulan fleet just in time. The Enterprise is victorious once more...
-But Data is heavily damaged beyond repair. They take him back to the Enterprise but even La Forge can't restore him. With minutes left, Data accepts his death, thanks the Enterprise crew for teaching him what it meant to be human, and expires.
-Big funeral for Data as Donatra's warbird tows the Enterprise back to Earth.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

So I was having a discussion with a co-worker on the merits of the various Trek movies and this one came up. In the middle of the conversation I had an idea for one change that would have made this movie better.

Why not have Shinzon target Romulus with his thalaron weapon, instead of Earth, as revenge for the way he was treated?

Not only does this make Shinzon's motivations make more sense (while obviating the usual Earth-is-in-danger cliche), it also forces Picard to make a choice: save his own butt, or risk his life and ship to help former enemies?

So the story would then go something like this, in my mind:
-Picard is kidnapped, Shinzon take a pint of his blood - one pint is all he needs to begin the regeneration process or whatever, but the operation itself will take several hours. Data rescues Picard and they escape; the Scimitar does not pursue.
-Shinzon diverts the majority of the Romulan fleet away from Romulus by ordering them to attack the Federation. His plan: wipe out Romulus with the thalaron weapon as revenge for how he was treated, then sit back and let the Federation destroy the Romulan fleet. Then he will take the Scimitar and wipe out every last Romulan colony in the galaxy.
-Picard and company figure out Shinzon's plan, and Picard deduces that Shinzon will wait until his operation is complete (say, eight hours) before commencing his plan, firing up the Scimitar and turning every Romulan to stone.
-Picard realizes that by providing his blood to Shinzon (albeit against his will) he will be indirectly responsible for the slaughter of billions. He has a choice to make: continue back to Federation space at max warp to help Starfleet fend off the Romulan fleet and leave Romulus to their fate, or turn back and try to stop Shinzon, helping his former enemies?
-This being Picard, what do you think he will choose to do?
-He contacts Starfleet, however, they're more interested in preventing the incoming Romulan fleet attack and essentially say "too bad for them". However, six Starfleet captains disobey orders and volunteer to help Picard.
-Picard takes the ships back to Romulus, gets there just in time, and attacks the Scimitar. After an epic battle, with some timely assistance from Donatra (and/or Sela) the Scimitar is destroyed and Shinzon is vanquished. (Data's sacrifice is optional)
-The Romulans appreciate Picard's actions, opening a door to a new era of friendship between the two powers.

Thoughts?
Set Bookmark
Clara
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

The idea of this episode is kind of fun, but from the first time I saw it I noticed glaring mistakes with it.

• Why was the aircraft set down on the planet but the truck left floating in space? For that matter why were the vehicles brought at all?

• This abduction was supposed to have taken place in 1937. The truck is 1936 model. Why would an almost brand new truck have tons of rust on it?

• The truck was owned by a farmer. This was the height of the Great Depression. Farmers were not doing well at that time. Very very few could afford a brand new truck.

• The “37s “ we’re supposed to be the ancestors of the current human population on this planet. How was that possible being they had been in cryo-stasis for 400 years- presumably from the moment of their abduction . How were they able to produce offspring during this period. of cryo-stasis ?
Set Bookmark
Broley
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

hey jammer,

i didn't like this episode after the mirror universe aventure. too much quiet, i am not sure on the "story" of this episode. lorca was a bad person, we learn last episode, and now burnham is still on Discovery? she should be in prison, no? lorca wanted her to stay on Discovery. i am happy she is not but it doesnt make sense.

i like the conversation with stamets and tyler, and the scene with tyler and others coming to his table. short but good moments. everything else was in disorder however.

salutations,
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

"Have you ever given an oak tree a cold by sneezing on it? Sounds ridiculous, right? To catch a disease from a never before encountered alien lifeform is exponentially more unlikely."

In real life this is certainly true, which makes the idea of contagion or infection from alien life forms you often see in scifi (or parasitism like in the Alien movies) especially implausible. We would almost certainly have nothing to fear from an alien organism at the microbial. Even at the macro level an alien predator probably wouldn't even recognize us as something to eat let alone try to eat us. And if they did our foreign chemistry would probably make us as nutritious to them as rocks would be to us!

But to be fair this is Star Trek, where half the galaxy is populated by so-called "humanoid" aliens who are almost indistinguishable biologically, such that they can even breed with us the idea of cross species infection is more plausible.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

@Springy

"Some fun moments. I wonder if Picard ever really does have a few wandering sexual thoughts about Lwaxana. We'll never know."

I think it's implicit he does have those kinds of thoughts - at least if we take some of the comments Lwaxana has about Picard's feelings seriously. And you're right, we'll never know if we can take those comments at face value. Of course, in terms of a romance these two are about as far away in compatibly as, I think, two people could get. I always liked the Picard-Crusher shipping, and (possible spoilers) it's more-or-less stated that they'd be together if it weren't for what happened between Picard and Jack Crusher.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

@Peremensoe - I realize I'm several years late here and the original commenter will probably never read this, but I had to point out the appalling misunderstanding of biology in this comment just for my own peace of mind.

The epidemics of smallpox, measles, and other Old World diseases among the inhabitants of the Americas are in no way comparable to what happened in this episode. As Dutchstudent clearly said, viruses and bacteria cannot effect species they are not adapted to. Key word: species. Europeans and Native Americans are not different species! Smallpox, measles, etc, had been adapting to the human species in Eurasia and Africa for millennia before they were brought to America, where they encountered absolutely ideal conditions for a disease, a large population of a species they were adapted to that had no prior exposure to them. That's why those epidemics were so devastating.

The situation in episode is in no way comparable. It's explicitly stated that the Enterprise crew are the first humans to land on the planet, so nothing on the planet would have had a chance to adapt to humans. Without prior exposure, the chances of a bacteria or virus being able to infect or even interact with a human's system would be extremely low. Have you ever given an oak tree a cold by sneezing on it? Sounds ridiculous, right? To catch a disease from a never before encountered alien lifeform is exponentially more unlikely.
Set Bookmark
JLo
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 7:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I just finished rewatching this episode, and honestly, ignoring the obvious plot holes in terms of the broader show, I found it to be very enjoyable as a kind of old school action/thriller/sci-fi episode, elevated by a great atmosphere and environment, consistent tension, and very good acting by Dawson as B'Elanna of course, but also by guest star Ron Canada as Fesek. For a race that generally hasn't been that interesting on this show, he really helps to almost make them fully compelling. His presence was one of my favorite parts of this episode. But all in all, great entertainment taken on its own.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Hello Everyone

From the time I watched this first run, to the last time a couple of years ago, I always thought the way he malevolently said "peaceful co-existence" meant that was the last thing they wanted. He said it to mock the Feds, not offer the hand (heh) of peace. Federation sentient beings were taken over and at least one ship was destroyed along the way, with the loss of all hands. This was an invasion, pure and simple, and they stopped it.

I do recall being a bit surprised they made it all explody, instead of beaming it to a holding cell, but I think it is a case of shoot first/remove the threat, and figure out the rest later.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Totally, bros before dead wife hoes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoQEEh0Z20o
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Rom was more annoying than usual in this one. Seriously, can’t even throw a ball?? I just wish there was an episode where Rom would get shot by the Jem’hadar with anticoagulant rifle and die slowly like Quique Muñiz in episode “Starship Down”.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I seriously hate how everyone has to accommodate Worf’s or the Klingons’ feelings/culture/customs etc... Worf should’ve been charged with assault. Who cares what Worf wants, if Julian wants to tap that a**, then he can. Afterwards, O’Brian goes to see “what’s bothering Worf” to make him feel better. Chief!! Worf just assaulted your best mate.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

Watching and commenting:

--The legendary Lwaxana makes her auspicious debut! Wow, that's some message for Deanna. Gems literally spill out of it.

--Wyatt seems sweet. I like him better than Riker already.

--Ah, I love this bit with Lwaxana's luggage being so heavy. Yep, she comes with heavy baggage.

--Lots of stuff about past agreements and obligations.

--A Tarellian ship, a spectre from the past, appears. They thought the threat was gone 8 yrs ago, but surprise! It's back like a forgotten fiance.

--Frakes' acting, as a jealous ex, is cringy. Looks like Riker's old feelings for Deanna are back like a forgotten Tarellian ship.

--Weird story. Destiny, future, moving forward despite the tractor beam of the past.

--Some fun moments. I wonder if Picard ever really does have a few wandering sexual thoughts about Lwaxana. We'll never know.

Average ep. Kept me entertained.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

@ Luke
As Jammer writes, this is more like X-FIles in a Star Trek setting. That is probably the reason why there is no follow up episode. We never know what happened to that species. Maybe the Federation is now lead by brain parasites...
The Klingon War, The Dominion War are all just in our parasite infested brains.
It is also kind of true that they are a threat but annihilating them seems a little harsh.
Set Bookmark
Mary
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I agree with you, Springy! I winced quite a lot of the time watching Keiko and Miles, but she is not a harpy. They are both strong-willed people, and they have differences, but they truly love each other. The realism of their relationship was contrasted with the craziness going on around them. I like both of them, and their marriage.

And I actually enjoyed this episode. The one element that makes ME cringe is actually Lwaxana Troi and the way she treats Odo. Someone further up in the comments said she basically harasses him. It's true. And it's a pity, because their previous encounter showed her capable of being kind, discreet, and even wise.

But, for the rest, this was a light episode that often made me smile, and that had a truly loving marriage at its core. I'd probably rate it 2 or 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Alex99a
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

You guys should light up every now and then... this two-parter was just fun. Granted it made no sense in a lot of places, but come on... Klingons fighting nazis! Seven Of Nine and her holy holographic hand grenade! How often do you get stuff like that?
Set Bookmark
Luke
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

There are a couple problems with your analysis.

1.) Star Trek always uses the term "race" to refer to different alien species. It is rather surprising that the word "species" is almost never used. But it is a remarkably consistent tract across the entire franchise. I think you're reading too much into that aspect.

2.) "There was No reason that such an intelligent alien would make up such a lame excuse." That's just bad writing, not some grand scheme on the part of the writers. This is Star Trek, after all. Are you really saying that the grand statement is "you should be racist"? In Star Trek? In TNG Season One? The one season where Roddenberry himself had the most creative control?

3.)"...as Remmick dies he explains they seek peaceful coexistence..." Couldn't he just be lying? They obviously not seek peaceful coexistence if they are forcibly taking over people and using them to institute an even grander invasion plan.

4.) "They take no prisoners, make no effprt to seek out and discover more about this fascinating, intelligent, brand new life form from so far away." An intelligent, brand new life form which was trying to enslave them. What were they supposed to do? Let themselves be enslaved? Does all a conquering enemy really have to do is say "we're really you're friends" and all is well?
Set Bookmark
Name
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Who else thought the only shocking thing about this episode was the message of racism? No, i don’t throw the term around freely and I would love to be convinced otherwise. In college literature classes we were taught to look for the writer’s intended message in a sentence or two, the key “word” being “race” here. Not once do they refer to the alien species as anything other than “races”. When compromised Quinn tries to convince Picard that his real issue was how hard it is to recruit other “races” in the federation it does stand awkward and out of place, but it’s the first sneaky clue the writers give us about the real message. There was No reason that such an intelligent alien would make up such a lame excuse. Moving on, when Tyrla speaks to Picard and he asks “What race are you” finally as Remmick dies he explains they seek peaceful coexistence, but in Very atypical to the Star Trek fashion, they kill this most intelligent alien race! They take no prisoners, make no effprt to seek out and discover more about this fascinating, intelligent, brand new life form from so far away. The message therefore, i deduce is one against allowing other races to come in freely and rise among the ranks. Again, i would love to be proven otherwise. I was trying to understand the hidden message behind this extremely cheesy 80’s sci-fi ep and could not find anything else. But this Is Star Trek, even the cheesiest eps have a message in them. Long rant anyway LLAP
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Enterprise to be revamped as 'ultimate' reality series

Star Trek: Shock et. al. (Hehehe)
Next ►Page 1 of 2,560
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.