Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 81,345 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,254
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I think Nog’s story is the A story here.

I also don’t think this is a very solid episode. There’s impactful story here for both Odo and especially Nog, but all of it feels like material that could have been folded into the background of an episode with a strong plot.

Though, both the writing and Nana Visitor’s portrayal do convincingly convey a “fake” Kira. And René Auberjonois plays his part 100%, as usual.
Set Bookmark
dave
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

The end with Spock and Rand is a real view into how men in Hollywood thought back then

1 - women shouldn't report or make anything public because it would be wrong to take down the man's career

2 - women likely are turned on by rape and attempted rape and its ok for their co workers and other managers to rib her about the assault

From everything we have learned the last few years from women's stories, this is actually how Hollywood operated back by with women and the men in power treating them this way.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

It is a gross comment and needs to be removed.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 7:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

I like this episode. It has some surprising twists and an interesting new take on the Borg.


Silly posted: "This was an apology for "Unity" failing to live up to the hype of the return of the Borg, as Jeri Taylor admitted"


The Voyager creators have a lot to apologize for, but Unity isn't one of them.
I would have liked to have seen fewer "slam-bang, Borg-as-villain adventure” episodes and more episodes that centered around how the various species in the Delta Quadrant were affected both directly and indirectly by the Borg.

Robert Beltran's acting is often described as wooden, but I prefer to think of it as "undetstated." He may not be giving a Shakespearean tour de force performances, but he does seem more "natural" than some of the other cast.

Something to ponder: all we know about the politics of the colony comes from Riley herself. Who's to say that she was telling the truth about the raiders? In retrospect, maybe the "raiders" were storming the cooperative to prevent them from reactivating the Borg hive mind?
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Oh - meant to add - here we have *YET ANOTHER* example of a pretty straightforward answer to a problem that completely undermines huge points of emphasis in this universe.

I'm talking, specifically, about solving the breaking of the Prime Directive by obliterating memories.

My main issue with the Prime Directive is how it suggests that because some % of the current generation of a society might experience emotional stress or religious trauma that you're better off allowing generation after generation to endure plagues and genocides? It's either idiotic or wildly without compassion, take your pick.

So here we have a solution so easy that a doctor on an exploratory vessel can perform it quickly on a single person which suggests it would easily be within the Federation's ability to intervene on a small or even medium scale as necessary.

Someone's got the Space Bubonic plague? Beam them up and cure them then wipe their memory with a MIB stick.

If you can easily skirt the rules by just wiping people's minds how are you allowing people to continue to suffer?

But I guess it's better to just allow the Holocaust to happen rather than beam some tactical officers into Hitler's office with phasers set to 'pink mist'.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Best part of this episode, easily, was Riker and O'Brien's interactions. There was a casualness to O'Brien's "I'll just be over here, asleep at my station" that I really liked because it suggests that this sort of corner cutting his hardly a novel concept in Starfleet.

I didn't enjoy the debate as much as others did. I loved the idea of a philosophical debate but I felt that having Riker introduce the concept of 'Fate' as though it has any value or meaning undermined it. Intrinsic to the idea of 'Fate' is some idea of a universal destiny usually authored by a God or some similar force that is ordering the universe. The sort of stuff about which the atheists on Star Trek would have zero belief. Not that it matters, but I'm not an atheist. Still the idea felt very out of character for the godless utopian society we see on this show.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

The opinion regaring this episode and the moral in it seem to be as diverse as the two colonies.

It had flaws, prejudices and sexism in it. It was very funny and entertaining. Key sceen to me is when Picard states that it is the diffrences that drives the progress.

The discussion rergarding sceene where Riker destroys the clones is intresting. With my word destroying you can read that I do not see this as neither murder or nor killing. But what was it?

Wether it is possible do develop the close so quick is not relevant in sci-fy. The bodies was there on purpose to create a statment. If they just had destroyed two test tubes the reaction would have been smaller. It was indeed life lying there, but in which stage ?

Which right do you have to your own dna?
Which right do a woman have to decide over her own body and terminate a pregnancy?

So although I find that Riker would have had all the rights to destroy a culitivation sample a couple of hours (or days) old, the destruction of two bodies is the stage displayed made me feel slightly puzzeled and uneasy.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

It is not a bad show by any measure. Nobody really hates it here, I think. It is a one trick pony. That is the main problem.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Very intresting to watch this "first" Borg contact. I would be very intresting to know how much of the Borg conset that was settled at this stage and what developed. It was really frigtning, Guinans warning that had almost no effect on Picard.

Well as an audiance we can only be happy that he did not listen otherwis we wouldn't have hat so many Borg encounters.

Q then? I find him as irritating as Picard does. I must admit that his accting is excellent and mostly funny but to me his character really doesn't have a place in star trek.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 12:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

This probably my favorite episode of Voyager's first three seasons. Both the script and acting are excellent.

Jammer said: " if one element truly carries "Remember" it has to be the performance of Roxann Dawson, because her work in the dual role is impressive. There are subtleties in the performance that should not be overlooked. I can't put my finger on what is so right about her portrayal, but there's something about it that really works. I think it's because when I see Kirina, I think "Kirina" and not "B'Elanna." Dawson's ability to separate the two (with a subtle aura that resides somewhere in the subconscious) is the true standout quality of "Remember."

It may be a controversial opinion, but I think Roxann Dawson is the best actor on the show.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

"What in the world was in all that data that 7 recorded?"


The kinkiest thing that a Borg could be into: Amish Romance novels.

Resistance to erotic butter churning scenes is futile.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Ned Ryerson's personality
+
Othello's jealousy
+
Dog the Bounty Hunter's hair
+
The fashion sense of a local children's party clown

=

Neelix.

And to make matters worse, his character was completely pointless. A bad cook on a ship with replicators. A morale officer who annoyed every one he came into contact with. A guide with knowledge of only a small section of the journey. A love interest for a two year old. Do you really want a character with all of these traits to act as the ship's ambassador?

About 95 percent of the character's screen time it to provide comic relief, but he just isn't funny. So those scenes are just pointless filler where the other characters silently stifle their frustration as he blathers on. "Mr Vulcan! Mr Vulcan!"

Even on the rare occasions when he is supposed to be taken seriously, his makeup (mangy humanoid nutria) combined with his 3 piece clown suit attire make it almost impossible to do so.


HAVING SAID ALL OF THAT...this is actually an episode that I liked quite a bit. I'm a fan of "quicksand" like stories where small missteps by characters slowly bring the protagonist down. Ethan Phillips is a talented actor and he does very good work here.



Two final thoughts:


1) I think this would have been the perfect time to remove Neelix from the show. Let the character go out on a high note.

2) The makeup effects were uniformly excellent in this episode. All of the aliens looked fantastic.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Negatives:

1) The FX are (understandably) dated. I wish they had found a way to do practical effects effectively when Janeway and the Doc physically interacted with the bugs. It probably would have been impossible to blend the two styles back then though. Oh, well.

2) The episodes climax could have been filmed better. I like the way it was written, but it was just missing some "oomph" in the way it was filmed.

3) They should have ditched the jazz/watercolors/tea epilog. You've done an ok job at turning Janeway into a Ripley clone for 42 minutes, so why ruin it now? We've got seven seasons worth of episodes to see Janeway in "normal" mode.

Positives:

1) It's a fun action show! Nothing wrong with that. If Picard gets to do Die Hard (Starship Mine) why can't Janeway do an Aliens homage?

2) The Doc gets off the ship

3) I thought the scene with the Tak Tak at the beginning was nice. I kind of wish they had used the miner's species as the antagonist at the end of the episode instead of bringing back the Tak Tak though.

4) Ethan Phillips has a knack for comedy. I liked what he did in the opening scene and I also liked Neelix correcting Janeway on the number of lungs he has. Small moments, but I enjoyed them.

Random thought: Neelix looks terrifying when his face is lit from below like in the scene where they first return to Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Lloyd
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:28am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

These are my least favorite episodes. To begin with, the acting comes off as pure community theater quality. I suppose this is because of the premise which is basically "act evil." The performances border on satire. This brings me to my second issue with these episodes. I watch Star Trek for the basic message of goodness and progress that it embodies. The mirror universe episodes turn that on its head. If the mirror episodes came off as more believable I might enjoy the contrast, but they do not. Finally, until Discovery, the episodes play no substantive part in the broader themes and story lines of the Trek series. The very worst mirror episodes are definitely from DS9. Watching Kira slink around all seductively comes off as an SNL parody skit. Kira is my least favorite Trek character and she is at her worst in the mirror episodes. The best of the mirror episodes is Discovery because they do play a broader role in the story, and aren't just an excuse to dress women in skimpy clothes and have everyone act like dime store thugs.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I don't know how much a gigaquad is but I presume it's a lot. We can put an entire encyclopedia on a single DVD in this century complete with videos and sounds. What in the world was in all that data that 7 recorded?
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

My favorite part of the episode:

Doc: You're rushing the tempo!

Diva: I am not rushing, YOU are lagging behind like a tired donkey!


This is another episode that isn't as good as I previously thought. Skeptical posted a comment upthread with a detailed analysis of the episode's biggest problems so I won't bother rehashing them as I doubt I could add anything to their excellent post.

Their first paragraph succinctly sums up my feelings :

"This feels like it could have and should have been better. There were two potentially interesting ideas here, and both got shortchanged by being intercut with each other."



The only thing I'd like to add is that the techno solutions to both the A and B plots were disappointing; particularly the Swarm plot.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It's made even more ridiculous by the fact that Sisko isn't remotely bothered that the Vegas characters interact with frickin' BAJORANS and KLINGONS and FERENGI and SHAPESHIFTERS without batting an eye (which isn't historically accurate either), but he chooses to get his panties in a twist over the "nonaccuracy" of how HUMAN characters are treated. What incredible stupidity.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

I just like the show as an action serial. ....serials inspire the original film and now SW goes back to that. The stakes are always clear.. and even more personal than many of the films. A kid can get as much enjoyment as an adult can.

Maybe everyone is trying too hard to hate it. Believe me, I HATE the SW sequel trilogy, but I think this series feels both nostalgic and a welcome return to the Galaxy.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

No, it's ___ and ___.

In all seriousness (very vague spoilers up to the end of s2), I watched the show and liked it. The acting and stunts are good. I really like the creatures -- the blurrgs and banthas and such -- some of which we've seen in previous SW media, some of which I understand are from the extended universe books. I think what people are responding to, in part, is that the creators set themselves reasonable goals and achieve them (like its title character), which *is* harder than it sounds; the temptation to go really big and get points for "ambition" is easily succumbed to. Arguably the show starts to slide down this in season two, though I think I like it better than season one overall.

In terms of my overall enjoyment, I'd probably dock about a half star per episode from Jammer's ratings, on average. I get why Jammer rates up (he's always done the Roger Ebert thing of rating according to expectation), but the simplicity of the show's leaves things a bit pat. Sometimes the show still surprises.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I think I liked The Doctor better when he had terrible bedside manner. It's a fun episode but here is where the character starts to get annoying to me.

He's like a kid genius. He has all the answers so he thinks he can handle real life situations but lacks the emotional maturity. Which is why I don't understand why Janeway even considers his ECH request. One flick of a button turns off his ethical subroutines. Captains sometimes have to order someone to their death (indirectly) or kill to protect the ship. The Doctor wouldn't be able to do that without having a breakdown. So much could go wrong.

The daydreams themselves were entertaining. Of course all the women are fighting over him. When he had to actually pretend to be captain was hilarious! Him improvising and Janeway rubbing her temples visibly annoyed with him.

Although he could've just went to the holodeck if he wanted to live out a fantasy world instead of making himself drift off at times he should be paying attention.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 7:43am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Honestly, I'm not a huge fan of the show showing us Mando's face so much this season. Every time he takes off the helmet, it feels like he loses a little of his mystique, and not really in a good way.

I can still understand why people like him showing his face, and it feels appropriate during the finale, it just comes off as forced in this episode, at least drawing it out for so long.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 7:34am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Honestly, the more I think about this film, the more extreme my opinion on it has become. At this point, PM, they could dedicate a whole trilogy to that and I probably wouldn't watch them lmao
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 6:37am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

Sure, and someday yours might finally go away. Forever... :)
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 6:21am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

That's a shame. You deserve one. A big veiny throbber.

Some day maybe.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 6:08am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

I love it even more when people feel the need to defend millions of people from people who don't like what they like.

"Go you lot, I hope you all have hard ons!"
No.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,254
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.