Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,523 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,341
Set Bookmark
Razzmatazz
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Wowee, Freud in space. B’Elanna has some seriously repressed trauma, with a side of major Daddy issues. Tom gets to play therapist at the end while B’Elanna gets a heavy dose of the Talking Cure. Hitchcock wouldn’t even.

2.5 stars - the designer baby issues (i.e. the actual sci-fi component in this soapy episode) are well done and very intriguing. I wish Trek had done more with this stuff (Khan and Bashir notwithstanding).
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

As soon as I finished this train wreck of an episode I rushed to this site certain Jammer was going to be giving it something higher than the 1 star it deserves. Sure enough, 2.5/4. Garbage site.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

this show is pretty bad.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Torpedoes go in the water
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

ditto
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Sigh.

Way to kill the fun, Booming. Guess that'll teach me to never joke with *you* again.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Well there's a reason why Frank Herbert created in-universe reasons why hand combat was necessary. Too much pew pew and combat becomes distanced to absurdity and means nothing in terms of narrative. But when transporters and planet-killing tech exist in-universe (even in TOS they said a starship could level a planet) at that point you have to just close your eyes and enjoy the storytelling. To whatever extent they needed to show fighting I think it should have been character-driven rather than plot drive. A good example of this was Dukat and Garak fighting side by side.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Shame is just a concept of the bourgeoisie because they don't want the working class to enjoy touching index fingers!
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

@Booming
"Now show us your index finger."

I'm shocked and appalled at this blatant call for exhibitionism. Do you have no shame? ;-)
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Doing a memory wipe and pawning Kurn off to another family can't possibly conform to Klingon life and honor whatsoever. This was just crazy.


Worf probably sounded like a perfect fit for the series but his sourpuss emo tendencies were just amplified and very little fun happened.

Going back to Way of the Warrior, I wish they hadn't even used the "I'm going to resign" "no please please stay" angle, which was already tied for Worf himself, let alone already being a clichéd trope.

Couldn't he have just been assigned to DS9, like normal? No problem him mentioning his issues some, but skip the tired melodrama. And would he really be so chatty with everybody with his personal issues? O'Brien MAYBE, especially considering the destruction of the Enterprise.

It really does seem they were mostly jettisoning Worf's backstory. I don't see why, wrt Kurn.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I liked this episode, and it is good for Star Trek to have an imperfect ending. We expected to see Tuvix be noble and willingly sacrifice himself, but instead Janeway had to do what leaders do...make a difficult decision. Kate Mulgrew really nailed it.

Now if only they had lost Neelix's pattern during the separation process...that would have been a perfect ending. I despise how annoying they made his character...even the cast was annoyed! It's too bad because there are episodes when he is cunning and brave. He should have been written more like a Quark or Garak, as a sharp, somewhat shady character who knows the ins and outs of the Delta Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

@Jason
But that is the problem with sci fi personal combat. It should not exist. If you really think it through then it should just be high tech drones fighting 17 seconds and so quickly a Human couldn't perceive it.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Well, that is the problem with Klingons in general. These guys should not have phasers or spaceships. They should live in caves eating each other.

To answer your question, yes. Attacking people who have that kind of firepower with swords would be suicide anyway. But if you think for a moment about it many things fall apart. Why not beam some kind of death ray bomb on the bridge and then beam over or 50000x other scenarios that would be smarter than beaming over in small group.

Same goes for NuTrek were the Romulans use throwing knives. It does not belong in Star Trek. At least not in an actual war scenario or spec ops stuff.

While I didn't like the siege of ar 558 that much, the fighting in there was handled better because it was mostly shooting, even in close combat. The hand to hand combat scenes were very short and chaotic as they should be.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I don't think that it would be that difficult to portray combat more intelligently and indeed it would probably have helped rather than hurt the show.

It is the 24th century. They should have embraced that premise. Have automated phaser turrets (like that thing that appeared in the replicator in Civil Defense) mowing down Klingon soldiers.

If a few Klingons get within melee range, let the hand to hand combat play out logically. Humans use phasers where they can. The turrets take them out eventually.

No way Sisko Kira should be holding their own in hand to hand combat with Klingons (let alone Jen'Hadar!) nor should they have to. It's their station. They have phasers.

I have said it before that it's utter BS to have someone like Kira fist fighting Klingons and Jem'Hadar. Her fighting style should be more like Garak.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

It's a problem with the form. How can you do excellent hand-to-hand combat on TV? It used to be, you couldn't. Now it's borderline. But then how do you deal with a race whose defining quality is being physically martial? Just talk about it and never show? The best answer probably lies in 'artistic' renderings, like Worf's fighting resembling tai chi, where you're fundamentally seeing dance. But even that doesn't work in a full-on war scenario. So I guess the answer is don't show a full-on war scenario other than with phasors?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I liked Worfi! But you are right about the fight scenes. Some are just plain awful. In one or two scenes you can actually see how people wait for their go to move. It looks so weird.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

A bit epic, but almost everybody in Operations being better at hand to hand combat-- and batleth combat!!! -- than Klingons was very very silly. Talk about serious villain decay.

Also, IMHO, Worf was a very dour and dreary addition to the show. Watching Worf whinge and people whinge about Worf for four years was not much fun.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

5 stars, this episode is what it's trying to do and does it well , the whole Vegas club concept works better than what VOY tried to do with Fairhaven.

Also thank God Frank Sinatra Jr. said no this role , James Darren did a masterful job incanting the charismatic crooner we all came to enjoy .
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

"so what you're saying is"

Nicely memed.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

To give you a visual of how sex should look like.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5b/Michelangelo_-_Creation_of_Adam_%28cropped%29.jpg
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Yes, that is absolutely what he is saying. He not only thinks it is wrong, he thinks it is disgusting. Any sexuality or procreation that goes beyond touching the index finger is a mortal failing that needs to be overcome. Now show us your index finger!

Next question.
Set Bookmark
Anonymius
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Peter G

"I know actual people who do believe such things, that the attachment to a particular form is a failing that needs to be grown out of. This is true not only in regards to the gendered sphere, but there are also for transhumanists who believe we need to get past our concept of "human being" itself as tied to our current physical form. There may be some overlap between these positions, although I'm not entire clear on the...uh, epistemology of the arguments sufficiently to proffer an opinion on that particular point.

I think it's reasonably clear that The Host is at least opening up the question of whether the Trill aren't perhaps a more evolved form of society, even if the whole symbiont thing seems icky to us mere humans. And to be frank DS9 could have gone a lot further exploring the ways in which the Trill really are different and have a superior perspective (having lived multiple lives). The closest we get to an attempt to show them as being really different was in the pilot, where Jadzia acts as if she's evolved beyond getting excited by flirting. That ended up being a non-starter, but at least it was something beyond merely having a jumble of personalities down in there somewhere."

so what you're saying is it's wrong to be straight or even gay?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Anything that happened between Q and Vash would probably be pretty tame by human standards. The Q and the Grey has an amusing twist, Braaten. Spoiler alert...




Q spends the whole episode trying to seduce Janeway as he wants to reproduce. In the end he mates in front of her with someone else and all he ever wanted sexually was briefly touching one another's index fingers (admittedly with Janeway then holding the baby). Janeway is baffled: "That was it?!".
Set Bookmark
HS2K
Tue, Jun 15, 2021, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

This episode held up less well from my memories of it as a kid. A big plot oversight that I haven't seen mentioned (apologies if I missed it): since the transmission of the greeting was audio-only (fortunately, since the prickly Jarada would surely have been offended by Picard being out of uniform), why not record it (or have the computer record it in Picard's voice, or have Data mimick Picard's voice) and transmit that?

Other things:

Why wasn't the possibility of beaming Picard and co. out mentioned?

Seems like it should be a breach of regulations for the captain not to bring his communicator even on the off chance that internal comms fail.

The holo-lipstick stays on Picard's face but the gangsters (eventually, slowly) dissolve. (The lipstick can be explained by the use of replicators, but the gangsters not immediately disappearing when they cross the threshold seems impossible to explain.)

Why doesn't the holoprogram automatically pause when the user leaves? Felix enters Dix's office and keeps talking after Picard leaves the first time until he manually turns it off.

Are door malfunctions common enough on the Enterprise that Crusher walks right through them without contacting engineering? If my elevator doors did that, I'd turn around and call the super. And why did the doors open for her and not for anyone later? Did the Jarada's scan cause a deteriorating malfunction, and if so, why didn't it mess with the program itself?

Seems like Whalen should have died in the time it took to leave the holodeck (Crusher was losing his pulse!). Also seems like Crusher should have been able to do more for him; maybe she needs more training in field medicine.

The applause at the end was incredibly cringey.

All the other ridiculous stuff has been mentioned: the overdone enthusiasm over upgraded holodeck technology, the immediate warp out after the greeting, Wesley!!, the stupidity of the possibility of living people disappearing if the holodeck is turned off, the lack of a failsafe/emergency shut down, etc.

A few positives: Crusher/Picard sexual tension picking up from The Naked Now (and her rolling her eyes when Whalen wanted to come along), and the Data from south America gag (but did no one in the 40s know about albinism?) and the whole newspaper scene. And the weird concern for holocharacters' feelings at the end might be explained as a consequence of the upgrade's verisimilitude, which might have interesting implications for how the crew interacts with and is affected by their holodeck experiences.

Not great. First episode my non-ST-watching spouse has disliked (of Farpoint, Naked Now, WNOHGB, the Battle, Hide and Q, and Haven).
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Tue, Jun 15, 2021, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

A very good episode. Well written. Proper sci fi.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,341
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.