Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65,005 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,601
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@ Lew Stone
While this is a pretty terrible episode the clearly state that the stuff is only poisonous for Cardassians.

"When reading Les Mis I could not suspend my disbelief that Jean Valjean would be imprisoned for 5 years for stealing a loaf of bread ."
Well, may sound crazy to you but even though harsh that was a crime (vol par effraction) you could get 5 years for.

Still terrible episode. My personal most hated DS9 episode for sure.

I really loved DS9, though.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I liked this Nog Episode the most.
By the way Eisenberg means Iron mountain in German. :)
Farewell little mountain.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Really, this is the last one . . .

Nog, WTF? He looks 12 years old. Couldn't they have hired an older actor? I mean essentially Nog is in college, right? Oh, but that might make it more believable.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

One more thing . . .

I find it ironic that the writers use Les Miserables to help tell this miserable tale. When reading Les Mis I could not suspend my disbelief that Jean Valjean would be imprisoned for 5 years for stealing a loaf of bread (another 14 years for trying to escape). Likewise I could not suspend my disbelief that there would be NO consequences for Sisko! Sorry but that destroys the credibility, believe-ability of any story. You get the feeling that the writers/show-runners for DS9 aren't really trying to be credible. They obviously didn't care when they created this drivel so neither do I.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Archideus - "honor, honor, honor, hodor, hodor" LOL!!!!! Made me laugh out loud hard!

Wow! Brooks' acting is terribly overdone (much more than Mulgrew's) and his decision at the end was incredibly wrong. Some DS9 fans love this "dark side", I do not. Picard is special, Kirk is special ("A Taste of Armageddon" is a completely different situation), even Janeway because they don't do things like this. Sisko is now like any number of petty dictators on Earth today. Wow, different (sarcasm).

To get to the point, there are other less destructive ways of removing settlers from a planet. They're not going anywhere, bring a Federation ground force to stun them all. Did Sisko really need to contaminate an entire planet? I feel sure that flora and fauna were affected as well, even killed soooo . . . no respect for life? Sisko is a POS, I don't understand why anyone thinks he's a capable commander. And nobody even came close to protesting this decision. I knew stupid Worf wouldn't, but what about anyone else?? (side note: DS9 has ruined the Worf character) I think Sisko appeals to the aggressive side of some Trek fans who grow tired of peace and diplomacy.

I keep watching DS9 episodes because they fall right in the middle of the H&I channel's lineup of 5 ST series episodes shown in a row, so I tolerate it, but damn DS9 suuuuucks. Once in a long while there is a decent episode. VOY has better episodes, as well as Enterprise, much better, and that's saying something.

1/2 star.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

No, not 4 stars. More like 2.5, 2.75 stars and I liked it okay.

I generally like Barclay episodes, "Hollow Pursuits" is great, but I thought it was lazy writing to still have him back at square 1 with his various personality issues. A more interesting plot is as follows . . .

At the beginning of the episode, and for the next 15 to 20 minutes, we see a different Barclay. He seems to have cured his holo-addiction and lack of confidence, he seems like a normal, confident member of Starfleet who is second in command of the Pathfinder project. This would be a great hook for the viewer many of whom would be expecting the Barclay of old. Troi can visit him at some point and he confidently introduces her to his friends and girlfriend. Troi is impressed. About 15/20 minutes in a new director of Pathfinder is appointed. It's an officer from Barclay's past who knows the old Reg and doesn't like him nor believes he's really changed for the better and tells him as much. Everyone else in Barclay's life is relatively new and doesn't know about the old Reg. This reminder of Barclay's old bad habits triggers said habits and Barclay starts screwing up a la old Reg. We see the confusion on the faces of the new people in his life. This is where Troi comes in to help. So this is the middle of the episode when Reg is returning to his old bad habits. However, he does hit on a possible way of communicating with Voyager which his boss dismisses. Much of the rest is the same. Get a different guy to play Admiral Paris, and at the end Barclay, with Troi's help in-session, chooses and forces himself to discard his older bad habits forever. Also, they should have created a holo-deck whose sole purpose is for running simulations for work. It could have had an observation deck outside the holo-deck, on the second floor, for other workers to look down on, and listen to what was happening. This is where the Admiral would have been, watching Barclay's sadistic new boss chewing him out for being in the holodeck for 24 hours straight, working on Pathfinder then . . . we hear Voyager come across the speaker. The Admiral fires the sadistic boss and puts Barclay in charge, with promotion, of the Pathfinder project. Leave in the final scene of Voyager communicating with Starfleet, except maybe have the Admiral and Tom speak to one another directly.

In this way the beginning is fresh, a Barclay we've never seen, not cocky or a quaking, stuttering mess. The viewer can feel like this man is making progress and we're happy for him. Then the step back with the new boss from Barclay's past. Then at the end, Barclay reclaiming his new good habits while showing off his genius in front of the Admiral. In this way the viewer can feel like Barclay is making huge progress and doing really well. In the actual episode they show Barclay at the end, seemingly doing better, and talking about his new girlfriend, but it's only like 2 minutes so it comes across as flat, convenient, and underwhelming. Generally, I couldn't stand Barclay's over-the-top stuttering in this episode, it's gotten old. It's almost like the writers/director whomever said "give me more, give me more!" It doesn't work because it's too grating. That's why my idea would have been better. Show Barclay in a way we've never seen, confident (not arrogant) around normal, non-holographic people. Oh well, missed opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

@ Lister from 2015 - you are not the only one annoyed by Mulgrew's acting style (i.e. half-smirk/hands on hips). She can be annoying as heck at times. Other times her acting is okay.

I think Jammer got this episode about right, maybe 1.5 stars instead of 2. I'm glad that Jammer also noticed Mulgrew's overacting *Yes, thank you!* and although I thought the idea of Janeway actually falling for a hologram to be preposterous, the episode was kind of fun to watch.

On a side note. I think I've finally found a way to enjoy VOY, although many of the episodes are not good. I now think of TOS and TNG as depictions of legendary characters within the ST universe while VOY is not. VOY still has very capable officers and crew members, but they are more like people we know today who are very high functioning and talented, but with all of the foibles of 20th/21st century humans. TOS and TNG are the GOAT type characters and obviously the creators of those shows took the writing and production more seriously. I feel that the show-runners of VOY were just having fun with the ST universe and trying out plots that would not have been considered in TOS and TNG (although TOS 3rd season had some stinkers). I don't know, just my ramblings.

Back to this episode. It's cool if Janeway does the nasty with a holodeck program; the falling in love part was stupid though.

I agree with many of the complaints above. Why go to late 19th century/early 20th century Ireland?? I'd be on Risa, or a similar place, doing terrible things to a hologram ;).

And people, sorry to break it to you but the VOY Dr. is NOT sentient, neither is DATA, nor any hologram. Quoting the Critical Drinker "go away now".
Set Bookmark
Rattrap Maximize!
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Three stahs.

I love creepy, psychological terror stories.

I especially like any Trek episode that goes against the Trek grain. Ask me about any TNG episode featuring Lwaxana Troi...

Aside from seeing an episode or two way back in the day, I'm on my first real run of Enterprise. I've been hearing so much about the 'Xindi arc' for so long, that I've found myself, frankly, let down. As yet, the Xindi seem to have little agency; most episodes seem to boil down to them ominously kicking the can further and further down the road, in meeting after meeting which could easily *all be the same meeting* for as much as I can tell.

Paradoxically, the Xindi Arc seems designed to come at the expense of substantive, cogent, entertaining stories on a per-episode basis WHILE ALSO kicking the can so far down the road as to suggest that the writers really had no idea where they were going with the arc. It's a... strange place to be.

As a bottle episode, Doctor's Orders felt free of the shackles of the Xindi Arc. The episode felt free to be its own thing, and it felt like a breath of fresh air as a result.

Phlox and T'Pol are *easily* the best characters for my personal taste. Billingsley obviously can act circles around the rest of the cast, while Blalock's performances are... extremely underrated IMO. She's oddly adept at communicating a wide range of responses via a very subtle mastery over a limited set of facial expressions, body language, and inflections.

I don't mind the fact that the plot here was thin -- like I said, it's a breather from the sorta overbearing ineffectiveness of the Xindi Arc thus far.

Seeing the ever-cheerful Phlox slowly descend into paranoia while attending to duties far beyond his qualifications, aboard an effectively deserted ship built a rather effective sense of quiet desperation. Where other commenters found the episode to be poorly paced, I found it to be a satisfying slow-burn punctuated by moments of real confusion and terror. Xindi insects on board? Radiation-poisoned Hoshi? I thought it was paced wonderfully.

While I was initially confused as to T'Pol's first appearance, I didn't suspect the twist until roughly the near-euthanasia of Porthos. It seemed odd to me that T'Pol wouldn't arm herself, just in case the things Phlox was saying were true. The scene on the bridge, where T'Pol never even once goes to her station to check anything is where I pretty much knew. The engineering scene became a bit... silly. But I can let that slide, the price to pay for an otherwise great episode.

The interesting question -- why did Phlox conjure T'Pol? Jammer points out that it seems like an odd fit, considering how introverted Vulcans tend to be, compared to the extreme socialization of Denobulans.

Frankly, I think Phlox conjured T'Pol *because* of how private she is. Limited interaction means fewer clues for his conscious mind to pick away at. T'Pol's value for privacy and limited interaction is a credible means for Phlox's subconscious to 'protect' the illusion. If Phlox conjured up a more engaging person, he'd likely interact with that person more. More interaction increases the chances of him spotting something 'off' with the other person. If he does, he realizes how mad he's going, and probably goes all-the-way crazy, leading to the demise of the NX-01.

Phlox actually had to be crazy, in order to maintain sanity.

This may sound a bit dark, but as Phlox was waking up Archer, I was kinda hoping for one last terrifying twist where the ship exiting the anomaly was a hallucination, and the entire crew died because he woke them too soon. Alas.

Anyway, great episode. Three stars solidly earned. The concept was solid, and the execution was awesome.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Heard about Aron's death earlier today and wanted to write a tribute to him on the thread of my favorite Nog ep.

He was a great performer. He worked magic with the character of Nog. Nog was an annoying, often inconsiderate, sometimes unethical, usually sexist, little twerp. Yet he wasn't. Yet I was interested in him, and I rooted for him. Because he was those things, but he was so much more than just those things.

This episode - if anyone had told me a holodeck ep, centered on a Ferenghi, would be one of my favorites of the series, I would never have believed it.

I know the writers and directors and the others actors all did their parts, of course, but in the hands of a lesser talent, a lesser light, than Aron Eisenberg, Nog would have been a bust who would have mercifully faded away by Season 3.

RIP, Aron, and thanks for the memories.
Set Bookmark
Ovleist
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

I think it actually was "The river will provide."
Folowing canon as an end unto itself has precisely zero normative value. I can't fathom the mindset which offers as a virtue (the only virtue), "Well, this movie was terrible but at least it followed canon." Or worse! "This movie was grear because it followed canon (and for no other reason)."


One person's "You must follow canon" is another person's "attempt at censorship."
Set Bookmark
Ovleist
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Ny favorite Nog line of all time was from this episode:
The river provides.

Rest in peace, Aron Einsenberg.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I just have to say, Robert Beltran is a very, very good actor. Actually, I think he is superb. Definitely the best part of the show, in my opinion, and it's a shame they didn't use him more...even though they used him a fair amount.

I am surprised that he hasn't had a bigger career, but I wish him the very best for the future.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I've always loved this episode - apart from the INSANE ending. Why does no one else have a problem with the absurdity of the ending?

As soon as the Romulan captain leaves Voyager, Tuvok reports that this man died before Voyager was launched, so they have no way to know if their messages ever got home. WHAT!?

Here are the three things which make no sense to me...

1. After hearing that the Romulan died before Voyager was launched, everyone just accepts that they have no way to know if their messages got home. WHY LEAVE IT TO CHANCE? Why not just contact the Romulan and urge him to leave a will or give a copy to a trusted friend? Yes, the wormhole was due to collapse - but NOT YET. The man had ONLY JUST BEAMED OFF THE SHIP, without any sense of urgency, so clearly they can still make contact with him.

2. So let's get this straight: Tuvok hands over the data chip containing all the crew's messages to this Romulan man, knowing fully well that the man will die before he can deliver the messages? Knowing this, WHY ON EARTH didn't Tuvok urge the man to make sure he leaves a will, or give a copy to a trusted friend?

3. Besides all this - why tell the Romulan captain to wait 20 years before delivering the message? Get him to send it NOW! He could have transmitted it to Starfleet while they were watching him, then the Voyager crew would know for a FACT that Starfleet had received it. As for not wanting the messages to be seen ahead of time, just encrypt the chip's contents and leave a header note saying: "This message is from the future. The contents of this chip have been encrypted to prevent timeline corruption. In 2371, a federation ship will go missing. Rest assured that its crew are safe and well. This chip contains personal messages from them to the crew's families. The coordinates of the ship's last known location are the password for this file."
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Nagus

This isn't a Nog episode per se, but I'll give my tribute to Nog with this one, which contains my favorite Nog scene, and maybe one of the subtly sadder ones, which is the scene when he claims that Vulcans stole his homework, possibly because "they have no ethics". It's kind of sad to me because the class clown thing is a sort of cover for the fact that he's struggling and that a Ferengi in a human school is out of his element. It's great that even before they started developing Nog more Eisenberg manged to make a big impression in a scene like this which could have just played for laughs.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Very sad to hear of Aron Eisenberg's passing today. Always is the case when Trek loses one of its family members.
Noticed others posting about their favorite Nog episodes. For me, it's "In the Cards" - DS9's best comedy. (Although Jake plays a bigger role).
Nog and Jake really developed something special over the seasons -- from little brats to buddies to being at each other's throats and to mature young adults. Here, their partnership is at its best and most entertaining.

RIP Aron Eisenberg
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

While I think "Treachery, Faith and the Great River" is a slightly better episode overall, this is definitely my favorite Aron Eisenberg performance as well.

RIP Mr. Eisenberg. You were one of the best characters on the best Star Trek series. You navigated the waters of the Great Material Continuum, avoiding the shoals of bankruptcy and seeking the strong winds of prosperity, and you did it well. Enjoy your new life in the Divine Treasury, because we all know the Celestial Auctioneers accepted your bribe, good sir.

Godspeed!
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 2:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

This is my favourite Aron Eisenberg performance, though I agree with other comments that he's great in AR558 and Treachery, Faith and the Great River too. I'd add Heart of Stone, In the Cards and The Magnificent Ferengi as some dramatic and comic highlights. He did a lot with what began as a somewhat thankless role, which seemed to be primarily designed to develop Quark and Jake initially, and was a standout recurring player in a show with a huge number of them. RIP.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

People have been giving shout-outs to great Nog episodes due to the actor’s untimely passing. Well, here’s a favorite of mine.

Although the great material continuum strikes me as a bit of a retcon, it’s a good retcon, and really shows off what a capable Ferengi can do for Starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

A standout episode for Aron Eisenberg who sadly has passed away. Rest in Peace.
Set Bookmark
Greg M
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Aron Eisenberg passed away last night and I watched this episode again in Tribute. Still one of the best episodes of the series, and probably the best holodeck episode of the series.

RIP Aron.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Great episode, subtle and lyrical. But two things bothered me on my re-watch last night: Picard took a little too much time on the planet to figure out what the alien commander was trying to accomplish, and Riker displayed too much simplicity and brutality in his response to the episode’s events. Sure, he’d absolutely be preoccupied with rescuing the captain, but couldn’t he have at least semi-guessed that something important might be going on down on the planet that he maybe shouldn’t interfere with? That maybe a simpleminded focus on the captain’s safety shouldn’t always be his prime focus? The alien captain might have survived without Riker’s failed attempt to beam the captain out. I’m surprised that Captain Picard didn’t criticize him later about that. Still, a top-notch episode.
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

Sorry but the above comment was meant for the previous episode The Void!
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

Did anyone else think it was a shame that Seven went to all that trouble of preparing her shipmates a gourmet meal only for it to all end up on the floor?

Those damn spacial anomalies are a real nuisance aren’t they?
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

It’s not the dog stuff that’s the problem surely? Porthos is cute and we’ve been going into Archer having Janeway’s problem, that it’s hard and often taken as inappropriate for him to be friends with the crew, but that leaves him friendless a long way from home. So Porthos despite also being as Phlox put it “subservient” is closer to an equal he can be friends with, just because that doesn’t bother dogs and make them act weird - or no weirder than we expect dogs too. His relationship with Trip is pretty much the same, genuine real affection, but also Trip is his subordinate in a way that matters unlike with Porthos.

And being in a bad mood after spending a week doing what feels like grovelling and being turned away for what feels like no reason, and then your dog is dying, is fine. And he did apologise to everyone at the end and not get openly frustrated at the aliens so it’s not really a character assassination, just an example of a really really bad day. (He’s probably still shook up from thinking they’d had their first fatality last week, too.)

The problems are the invented sexual tension with T’Pol (the episode also implies through the focus on the decontamination scene that T’Pol has sexual tension with Hoshi, which she actually does to a limited degree, and Archer with Porthos which is... ugh!!) and Archer not even hesitating to kill one animal to save another apart from wondering if it will harm Porthos.

It’s so insulting to Jolene Blalock that they did this to T’Pol. They weren’t quite so bad to Jeri Ryan as Seven, and they still could have treated her a lot better. The stuff with Trip is fine and feels natural (and part of that comes from how they are both together with Archer a lot and neither is into him!), Malcolm fancying her is okay because he’s kind of the horny one of Enterprise (apart from maybe Phlox!) and they didn’t imply that he was very into her or that it was at all requited, but this is awful and spits on every episode so far. She feels the same? This woman went to sickbay because she had a tame sex dream about a jazz club, come on!

And though I’m not sure if it’s ever spelt out, I think the crew at this point believe she’s only up for it once every 7 years - so if that’s meant to be why they apparently all fixate on her, as a safe option in terms of effecting your relationships with your coworkers on a 5 year mission, they should go into that. (Also, this makes the line they put in about the crew being only nearly a third female even more stupid as well as offensive. You’d think it would then be a third gay men right? If they’re out there for 5 years and they recognise they’ll want to have sex with each other? But there’s no gay people and a shortage of women in the future, obviously! They briefly touch on the superiority of female astronauts in a scene that’s all leading up to topless Hoshi, but Starfleet are apparently too stupid to even hedge their bets and make the crew 50:50.) But no, it’s because the real actress has to wear a stupid costume because the show writers think it’s sexy, and they’re constantly thinking about having sex with her so obviously all the characters are.
Set Bookmark
Chappity
Sat, Sep 21, 2019, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

The Aldeans used a repulsor beam to repel and catapult the Enterprise three days away from the planet. What really mystifies me is how the force required to generate so much repulsion would not simply pulverize the vessel instantly.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,601
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.