Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,531 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,342
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm with Stef on the Sixth Sense - it was telegraphed in trailers. I didn't watch the movie and said to my wife, that man is dead isn't he, because the boy says he sees dead people!

As for T'Pol, it crossed my mind when I first saw her but then thought, nah, they keep giving Vulcans immunity from abnormalities so she's up helping. But that makes me come to Jammer's question why Phlox chose her... it was to throw us off the scent of her being an hallucination.

At the end I was half expecting the reveal but i still chuckled at the misdirection and this added value to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I get a strong feeling that the ending was supposed to be the following:

When silver Harry Kim sees the unknown ship approaching on sensors he knows silver Voyager has but moments left to survive. In a desperate attempt at securing posterity, Harry Kim tries to send the unknown ship logs, newest-first. Only a few files are sent before the silver Voyager disintegrates. When they are received and decoded by true Voyager, they turn out to be the Doctor's photographs of Tom and B'Ellana's wedding.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

@Tidd
" Don’t be such nerds!!"
Says the person that has written dozens of Star Trek reviews. :)
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

@Tidd

If you think our conversations here are nerdy, then you must not have read Phil Farrand's Nit-Picker's Guides to Trek.

Ever notice how people's professional work sometimes has something odd in common with their hobbies? The same attention to detail that lets me find misplaced commas in book manuscripts makes it fun for me to come here and play Star Trek nerd.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

I’ve read the other comments and I must rail against all the “This is so inconsistent in relation to what we know about the Klingons in Series 4 (5, 6, whatever)”. For heaven’s sake, are you not going to allow the writers to develop a theme during a multi-season show?! It’s a fictional series... There will always be inconsistencies looking back with hindsight!! Don’t be such nerds!!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

In some ways a good solid episode in which we learn more about the Klingons (and Geordi’s visor) than ever before. It was good to see Worf’s character developing including his back story of his upbringing by humans. The death ritual scenes were convincing and the whole ‘Klingons are dishonoured by the alliance’ bit was believable.

However it spent too much time on exposition and too little on action making the episode rather ponderous. As for Picard’s fascination with Geordi’s visor while the away team are on an unstable ship in the neutral zone... ha!

I didn’t enjoy this as much as I should have - 2.5 stars but nevertheless it was one of the better episodes.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I think this is also veeeeeeeeeery hot, also a little disturbing and it goes on quite a while.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXnsqDLOnmw
Set Bookmark
Mal
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

For hot digit-on-digit sex, click here!

https://youtu.be/zMbI_7PHDH0

Oh Kathy, don't you like to watch?
Set Bookmark
Razzmatazz
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Wowee, Freud in space. B’Elanna has some seriously repressed trauma, with a side of major Daddy issues. Tom gets to play therapist at the end while B’Elanna gets a heavy dose of the Talking Cure. Hitchcock wouldn’t even.

2.5 stars - the designer baby issues (i.e. the actual sci-fi component in this soapy episode) are well done and very intriguing. I wish Trek had done more with this stuff (Khan and Bashir notwithstanding).
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

As soon as I finished this train wreck of an episode I rushed to this site certain Jammer was going to be giving it something higher than the 1 star it deserves. Sure enough, 2.5/4. Garbage site.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

this show is pretty bad.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Torpedoes go in the water
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

ditto
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Sigh.

Way to kill the fun, Booming. Guess that'll teach me to never joke with *you* again.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Well there's a reason why Frank Herbert created in-universe reasons why hand combat was necessary. Too much pew pew and combat becomes distanced to absurdity and means nothing in terms of narrative. But when transporters and planet-killing tech exist in-universe (even in TOS they said a starship could level a planet) at that point you have to just close your eyes and enjoy the storytelling. To whatever extent they needed to show fighting I think it should have been character-driven rather than plot drive. A good example of this was Dukat and Garak fighting side by side.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Shame is just a concept of the bourgeoisie because they don't want the working class to enjoy touching index fingers!
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

@Booming
"Now show us your index finger."

I'm shocked and appalled at this blatant call for exhibitionism. Do you have no shame? ;-)
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Doing a memory wipe and pawning Kurn off to another family can't possibly conform to Klingon life and honor whatsoever. This was just crazy.


Worf probably sounded like a perfect fit for the series but his sourpuss emo tendencies were just amplified and very little fun happened.

Going back to Way of the Warrior, I wish they hadn't even used the "I'm going to resign" "no please please stay" angle, which was already tied for Worf himself, let alone already being a clichéd trope.

Couldn't he have just been assigned to DS9, like normal? No problem him mentioning his issues some, but skip the tired melodrama. And would he really be so chatty with everybody with his personal issues? O'Brien MAYBE, especially considering the destruction of the Enterprise.

It really does seem they were mostly jettisoning Worf's backstory. I don't see why, wrt Kurn.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I liked this episode, and it is good for Star Trek to have an imperfect ending. We expected to see Tuvix be noble and willingly sacrifice himself, but instead Janeway had to do what leaders do...make a difficult decision. Kate Mulgrew really nailed it.

Now if only they had lost Neelix's pattern during the separation process...that would have been a perfect ending. I despise how annoying they made his character...even the cast was annoyed! It's too bad because there are episodes when he is cunning and brave. He should have been written more like a Quark or Garak, as a sharp, somewhat shady character who knows the ins and outs of the Delta Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

@Jason
But that is the problem with sci fi personal combat. It should not exist. If you really think it through then it should just be high tech drones fighting 17 seconds and so quickly a Human couldn't perceive it.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Well, that is the problem with Klingons in general. These guys should not have phasers or spaceships. They should live in caves eating each other.

To answer your question, yes. Attacking people who have that kind of firepower with swords would be suicide anyway. But if you think for a moment about it many things fall apart. Why not beam some kind of death ray bomb on the bridge and then beam over or 50000x other scenarios that would be smarter than beaming over in small group.

Same goes for NuTrek were the Romulans use throwing knives. It does not belong in Star Trek. At least not in an actual war scenario or spec ops stuff.

While I didn't like the siege of ar 558 that much, the fighting in there was handled better because it was mostly shooting, even in close combat. The hand to hand combat scenes were very short and chaotic as they should be.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I don't think that it would be that difficult to portray combat more intelligently and indeed it would probably have helped rather than hurt the show.

It is the 24th century. They should have embraced that premise. Have automated phaser turrets (like that thing that appeared in the replicator in Civil Defense) mowing down Klingon soldiers.

If a few Klingons get within melee range, let the hand to hand combat play out logically. Humans use phasers where they can. The turrets take them out eventually.

No way Sisko Kira should be holding their own in hand to hand combat with Klingons (let alone Jen'Hadar!) nor should they have to. It's their station. They have phasers.

I have said it before that it's utter BS to have someone like Kira fist fighting Klingons and Jem'Hadar. Her fighting style should be more like Garak.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

It's a problem with the form. How can you do excellent hand-to-hand combat on TV? It used to be, you couldn't. Now it's borderline. But then how do you deal with a race whose defining quality is being physically martial? Just talk about it and never show? The best answer probably lies in 'artistic' renderings, like Worf's fighting resembling tai chi, where you're fundamentally seeing dance. But even that doesn't work in a full-on war scenario. So I guess the answer is don't show a full-on war scenario other than with phasors?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I liked Worfi! But you are right about the fight scenes. Some are just plain awful. In one or two scenes you can actually see how people wait for their go to move. It looks so weird.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

A bit epic, but almost everybody in Operations being better at hand to hand combat-- and batleth combat!!! -- than Klingons was very very silly. Talk about serious villain decay.

Also, IMHO, Worf was a very dour and dreary addition to the show. Watching Worf whinge and people whinge about Worf for four years was not much fun.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,342
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.