Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 75,440 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,018
Set Bookmark
Mpondaj
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

This is total crap. As Arnold Rimmer might have said " I consider it an insult to my buttocks that I had to sit and watch that". I could have gone with the "nudge-nudge, wink-wink" hooky Gothic stuff but it's the fact that senior members of the crew suddenly become complete imbeciles that annoys me (and my buttocks). Troi is ok with someone getting off on their grandmother's porn diary, Picard let's Bev resign and beam off the ship while dressed in tweed. Nobody listens to Groundskeeper "Dinnae goo to the hoose lass, and dinnae light the candle!!" Willie. Man this was bad. Makes ST:Ent look like Shakespeare.
Set Bookmark
Mpondaj
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

As Norvo said - this is a mish-mash of TNG's Who Watches the Watchers, DS9's Meridian and Voyager's Blink of an Eye. And it doesn't hold a candle to any of them. Considering WWTW was made 30 years ago that is damning. Move along - nothing to see here.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 5:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

In the final scene, Laura was going to bury her phone the subsequent week. This means that the computer's ability to, and need to "interpolate" would have ended, since the data available in the timeline would have ended. Assuming the computer could "extrapolate" from there, character-Laura would gain more free will to deviate from real-Laura's script. This means Gordon would have a real chance, just one week in the future of where the simulation was.

But would such an extrapolation be as realistic as the interpolation that the computer created here? Or would the character become repetitive due to a lack of new information to mine? Was the so-realistic-you-could-fall-in-love-with-it effect basically because it was a recording? Like falling in love with a character in a book or a movie? Or was it a real person?
Set Bookmark
Mal
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: The Devil Take the Hindmost

2001 Andromeda: this is the Way.
2020 The Mandalorian: this is the Way.

1969 Frankie Blue Eyes: I did it my way.

There was a brief flicker of time in 2001 when Farscape and Andromeda - not Star Trek, were the thinking man's scifi.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Why the hell is it any business of Starfleet to remove a child from their parent? If Geordi had a kid would Starfleet take them away because he's blind? B.S. amazing how dystopian the Federation is
Set Bookmark
Dba
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

I think Jammer's right on the money about being tired of the material. This was airing during a period when at least one Trek had been on the air for a decade. The formula is a winner, but even good things get old after awhile. However, watching the series years later, my own opinion is that Enterprise is certainly superior to Voyager, and compares favorably even with some early TNG. Enterprise doesn't deserve the bad rap, although I do wish they'd change the theme song.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Third Season Recap

I’m with Jeff, you could have taken out all the filler, dedicated 2 whole episodes to fleshing out the Xindi races, and still been able to tell the entire story in about 10-12 episodes. Then you could face the next threat or start exploring again. This season was definitely a step in the right direction tho, and was very DS9 in nature, but the execution was still very Voyager, namely, starting a story halfway thru, and then going back and filling in the gap. Voyager burnt me out on that crap, and it feels like a cheap attention grab technique. But overall, definitely the best season of Enterprise so far, and probably better than all the pre-7 Voyagers and early DS9/TNG seasons.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I've always liked the way this episode offers little sketches of life on DS9.

And so meandering about the station like a probing eye, we catch glimpses of Bajorans as they head to their religious temples. We catch Kira waiting for ale, and find Bashir and Miles heading to the holodeck dressed as warriors. Later we find them sitting on the promenade, just chilling and relaxing and spying on Quark's Bar, where they spot Worf, who seems to be having a bad day.

Meanwhile Worf is wandering about the station, missing the Enterprise, and totally oblivious to Dax, who when you rewatch the series you realize is totally in love with him from this point onwards, and who goes out of her way to help him fit in. But nope, DS9's a pain in the ass. Worf decides to sleep on the Defiant.

And on and on we languorously prowl, the stakes pleasantly low, nobody up to much. We drift into Sisko's office, who learns that Quark's employees are striking - another stupid problem for the Federation to solve! - and then to his confusion finds his chief officers in the brig. Gah! Lock them up for the night, Odo!

More neat touches abound: Sisko does some important Trek world-building, by informing us that the Federation is so "wealthy" that it collects no rents or monies from Quark (Oh no! Quark the libertarian subsidized by Big Government!). Later Worf and Miles meet up and apologize for a scuffle, and Quark replaces his staff with hologram versions of himself, much to Odo's annoyance (one Quark was enough!).

We also get some good character development, Rom abandoning Quark for life as a station engineer. Later he falls in love with Bajoran babe Leeta, who is as alienated from Bajoran culture as Rom is from his.

All these neat touches exist on the margins of a Ferrengi plot that is interesting, but ultimately wastes most of its opportunities. In this plot, Quark so mistreats his staff, that they form a union and go on strike. Rom's their leader, who gets the idea after talking to Federation officers (Miles and Bashir). Yes, DS9 is so subversive, that it starts out subverting its own subversive take on TNG's ferrengi. Not content to only turn TNG's abrasive space capitalists into loveable trolls, DS9 now has them slowly corrupted by Gene Roddenberry himself ("It's what Gene would have wanted!" you can hear the writers say). And so here the Federation literally puts ideas of unionizing and Karl Marx slogans into Rom's head. Later on in the series Rom has his son join Starfleet, Quark increasingly grows to love the Feds, and hanging around Sisko and the gang starts the Ferrengi on the path of women's rights. The Federation just can't help corrupting every culture it touches.

Most of the comments above seem to hate the Rom vs Quark plot here. I thought it was the right mix of cute comedy and serious social message. But there's no serious critique of capitalism and its myriad contradictions here, and the episode wastes time by introducing the Ferengi Commerce Authority (FCA), who give the writers a get-out-of-jail-free card by forcing labor and capital to form an alliance in their attempts to deceive it. The episode does end with Rom winning - he gets a pay rise for the staff - but it's a victory which is too consoling, and ultimately sells a lie; the idea that issues of class, poverty, and exploitation can ever be ameliorated in aggregate by "good bosses", and that the latter can exist without negative knock-on effects elsewhere in the system.

Incidentally, I found it neat that the Bajoran Time of Cleansing, in which Bajoran's fast and renounce biochemical pleasures for a month, brings about the fall of Quarks. Quark's little economy relies on a kind of dissatisfaction. His customers are incomplete, hungry, thirsty, chasing hedonistic highs and the next new hit, so much so that religious peace, self-satisfaction and contentment, ruins his customer base and puts him out of business (under capitalism, the most radical thing you can do is be satisfied).

I also heard that Trek legend Jeffery Combs was in this episode, but couldn't spot him anywhere. I had to use Google to find out where he was hiding (in plain sight, it turns out).
Set Bookmark
Gail Jaitin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

p.s. Bayliss and Pembleton! Sigh. Homicide.
Set Bookmark
Gail Jaitin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Wow, I have definitely seen way worse episodes than this, mainly on ST:VOY . But I agree that the writing could have been much, much better. I also agree that T'Pol's pajamas are another embarrassing attempt to exploit Jolene Blalock's hot bod. Could they ride down any lower? How does one sleep in those?

Glad to see they have diversified her wardrobe, though. Now, in addition to a gray skintight unitard, she also has a red one and a white one.

In terms of acting, Phlox is clearly the best acted and most interesting character. Mayweather is the worst. I read an interview with the actor who played Mayweather in which he complained that he hadn't been given any backstory for Mayweather. I thought, are you kidding?? That's YOUR JOB! I mean, I'm not an actor but I know this from years of reading and listening to interviews with actors!!
Set Bookmark
Dom
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Flipsider, what really made Galaxy Quest special was that it managed to poke fun at Star Trek tropes, and yet never felt like it was making fun of Star Trek or the fans. I never liked Big Bang Theory in large part because it seemed to center around showing how weird the nerds are.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

I think this episode wastes a great idea and a good script.

You never get the sense that Worf's brother is suicidal. You never get the sense that he is alienated not only from Klingon society, but life in general. There should have been more scenes of the brother trying to hold down a "degrading", "dishonorable job". More scenes of him being belittled and disgraced by Klingons. More scenes of him absolutely disgusted with how his life turned out. It's an episode about suicide and self-hate which doesn't sell the idea of why this guy is suicidal and filled with loathing.

Worf's empathy for his brother should also be milked more. Worf's the ultimate outcast, banished from Klingon society, and ill-at-ease with humans. He should ache and bleed for his brother, and intimately know how much pain his bro is in. But you don't quite sense this brotherly love. It's there, but it's not pushed hard enough.

The episode culminates with a great idea, and what should be a powerful moment - Worf helps his brother commit suicide again, this time by wiping his memory - but the emotional climax doesn't quite come off. This should be a brutally tragic ending, supremely powerful, but it sort of goes by with a shrug.

As others have said, Bashir should also not have administered the "memory suicide". Worf should have been forced to go the black market route.

Still, it's a very good episode, and the Kira subplot is pretty great; she and Miles hunt a Klingon fleet which is busy mining Bajoran/Cardassian space. Using the Defiant, they flush the Klingon's out, leading to some neat visuals along the way.

I can't help but feel, though, that this subplot gets in the way of fleshing out the Worf story. When TNG gave Worf a suicide episode, I don't recall it getting distracted with elaborate subplots.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

I really liked Degra, he reminded me of a more fleshed-out version of Jetrel from Voyager... someone who made a hard decision that resulted in the deaths of millions, then had to live with himself. Degra had the benefit of being able to develop over an entire season, whereas Jetrel had to compress this journey in 1 episode because Voyager. So that’s not surprising. What IS surprising is that Degra was developed far more than Reed or Mayweather. Everything was done well, I personally didn’t appreciate how obviously Degra’s murder was telegraphed, but I mean hey, we all knew it was coming eventually. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Flipsider
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I've always found Family Guy lazy, and I tend to not like modern comedy writing, so maybe this just isn't for me. Even Rick & Morty feels like it's not as strong as it was in the first couple seasons.

Now Galaxy Quest was probably the best comedic take on Star Trek I've seen. It used it's fictional setup to take some pretty hilarious shots at Star Trek tropes, while not feeling overly "reference-y." Maybe something like that would have been a better take than a show like Lower Decks which wants to exist within and "respect" Star Trek canon while satirizing it as well.
Set Bookmark
Tholetho
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

@DLPB

That's the point. Do you really think those pastors of megachurches with their private jets and mansions have a "lifetime of belief and conviction" in anything other than their own self-importance?

She lied to herself so well she truly believed she meant well.

This was the episode she finally was true to herself, but then went right back into denial. She's only doing it for the good of all.
Set Bookmark
KJM
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

One of my Top 10 TNG episodes. Plays off the personality quirks of the main characters that have been established throughout the previous episodes. And any episode with Q is great given the comedic interplay and his constant challenging of the stoic Picard.
Set Bookmark
Max
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

The release of this series just seems like really bad timing for the new season of Discovery.

At the bottom of it all, this series seems like it’s written by a bunch of people who just want to make fun of nerds. Hell, one of the latest episodes even made fun of Galaxy Quest. If it were truly serious about being a comedic take on Star Trek, I doubt they’d have pissed on one of the best comedic takes on the franchise.

All in all, this show has no business bearing the “Star Trek” name and should just be a separate animated comedy.
Set Bookmark
Max
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

I recently watched this back to back with “Where No Man Has Gone” from TOS. Threshold definitely seemed to me like a troll take on that particular episode. I appreciated (maybe even enjoyed?) Threshold’s absurdity more because of how fresh the TOS episode was in my mind.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I watched "Insurrection" this weekend. It was the first time I had seen it in years, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. I'm not sure why this film gets so much grief, because there's a lot to enjoy and very little to dislike. It's a fun adventure for the TNG crew, with some nice moments for most of the characters (though poor Dr. Crusher gets nothing to do once again). 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 6:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I'll confess I haven't seen this one since it first aired but my feeling then was little more than: "Kinds of funny. A bit padded."
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

"That's like saying you'd take the French killing 15 million in the Congo, or the Brits killing hundreds of millions elsewhere, over 6 million slaughtered Jews."

If you can prove Great Britain murdered 100,000,000 people anywhere in its entire history then I will happily concede that they have Japan and Germany beat.
Set Bookmark
Tannhaeuser
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

The fatal radiation nonsense is too contrived, but otherwise, it is a nice episode. I agree with Jammer that the fake alien is a bad idea.
Set Bookmark
gozar
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Is Kovin’s rifle a Dyson vacuum cleaner?
Set Bookmark
Dba
Sun, Sep 27, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I honestly can't understand the hatred for this episode. We never really believe that the showrunners intend to kill the dog, which lets us focus on Archer's touching relationship with his dog. The interplay between Archer, Phlox, and T'pol is well-observed, and the sight gags are too numerous to acknowledge. I do have to say that I laughed out loud when I saw Archer with the chainsaw. The whole thing is reminiscent of the demands of Monty Python's Knights of Ni.

Overall, a charming comic interlude that eschews space opera for character drama; it is among the stronger outings thus far.
Set Bookmark
Tommy Tutone
Sun, Sep 27, 2020, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Note: For those who have read Michael Piller's book, the whole point of the book wasn't "My script got ruined by meddling from executives and actors." The point of the book is "This is how a typical script gets made in Hollywood."

I'm not sure if any of Pillar's script ideas would've worked, but eventually they had a deadline to meet and did the best with what they had. There's not much I can say to add that hasn't been said already, from the lame villain and muddled moral dilemma to the inconsistent tone and bland guest stars.

I can sum up the movie in one word: Boring.

And it's a shame that this movie essentially killed the franchise. After doing a movie written and directed by two Trek veterans (Piller and Frakes) which flopped, they went with outsiders for Nemesis which was even worse. RIP TNG
Next ►Page 1 of 3,018
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.