Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 82,328 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,294
Set Bookmark
Q
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

There was a scene where Terry Farrell was comforting Jake and she had a blank stare on her face. Someone I know committed suicide and one of his closest friends had the same stare on her face and I will never forget it. I hadn't thought about this for years but TF's expression in that scene brought it back. I think this just one example of the fine acting and directing in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

" Next you'll claim Colonel Quaritch from Avatar was lying when he said the gas grenades would be "humane"."

I don't know, that guy has just a face I can trust. He will probably get it done with minimal casualties. Look at that smile.
https://www.metro.us/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/stephen-lang-avatar.jpg
Set Bookmark
TB
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

In this episode the Enterprise is just a delivery ship in this episode. It's next job, which gets delayed, is delivering chili peppers.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Oh please Booming. Next you'll claim Colonel Quaritch from Avatar was lying when he said the gas grenades would be "humane".

Let's face it, the writers goofed with this episode. It happens. Luckily, these older shows were far less serialized than the newer ones. You can file Sisko's gas attack on the same shelf we keep Janeway and Tom's reptile children.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 2:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

I like this. Comedy gold. Yes, the plot — such as it is — is repetitive, but it’s worth it to see the Enterprise crew hamming it up in Hollywood-style gangster paradise. Kirk learning to drive (badly), the game of Fizzbin, Kirk adopting Noo Yoik modes of speech and behaviour, several instances of the Spock “noiv” pinch, Scotty’s gradual understanding of what’s going on...

Sure, there is little to reflect on, no great talking points, but if you accept it on its own lighthearted terms, it’s ¾ of an hour that flies by and provides laughs galore.

3 stars, maybe slightly more.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 1:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@Nolan

I never said that it was genocide. But it is certainly forced displacement. Ethnic cleansing comes to mind. Sisko literally threatens to destroy every Human colony in the region with C weapons specifically for Humans.

to A) Could the colonists all be hot, muscular 30 something pioneers? Hopefully. I'm picturing it right now.

I was under the assumption though that many of these people are refugees. If they they weren't before, they sure are now. At least they can now live on the former Cardassian planets which shouldn't be a problem. Cardassians and Humans are basically identical.

to B) Let's just hope that there is none of those TNG caves where transporters cannot reach a few nature hikers. :)

Plus, next time a successful terrorist bothers the Cardassians they have more than enough justification to do whatever they want.
Set Bookmark
Evan Chartrand
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Why is no one talking about the disgusting and unforgivable scene at the beginning where quark sexually exploits his Dabo girl by threatening to fire her. Only for her to at the end say umacks sound like fun. Truly awful and this was certainly written by a man who knows literally nothing about women.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

This episode just ended and I was reminded why I do not like Picard as a captain. He is the arrogant one. The thing about Q that irked me (but necessary for storylines) was how Q with all his powers, did more harm than good for the universe. His son would later be even worse. Riker wanted to do good for his ship mates but they all said thanks but no thanks. Seriously? Especially Geordie. He would later get his eyesight repaired, but wouldn't let Riker do so now? The entire Worf bit was cringe-worthy. Not saving the little girl just because Picard said not to use the newly gifted powers? Yuck, the whole episode was terrible, not only in execution, but the storyline itself.

Give me Q powers, and I will use it wisely.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@Booming et all:

Why when talking about the end of this episode do so many forget it takes place in 24th Century Star Trek? I'm not saying gassing this planet wasn't extreme, it was. But let's not forget a couple of factors:

A) This is a FRONTIER Colony. That means we can make a few assumptions; i) the population is likely highly localized, all within reasonable distance to transport, and not spread out over both hemispheres. ii) The populations of these planets are likely hardy people who volunteered to live far away from Earth and all it's creature comforts, who expected a life of somewhat hard labour and work. The population of this planet very likely has few to none infirm desk jockeys or people with serious enough medical issues to need special care. If they did, they likely would've been sent off-world to a place that could better care for them than the town doctor.

B) This IS the 24th Century. We have TRANSPORTERS. Even if there are farmers at the outskirts of the colony borders, it's a matter of ease to either get beamed into town or, up to ships already launched who have bio-scanners that can isolate life-forms and beam them up. They likely also have large cargo ships for transporting livestock and possessions from when they arrived that can also be used to beam all that stuff back.

I'm not saying that there SHOULDN'T be some follow up to this and I do think the fpisode erred in it's jokey send off rather than imply that Sisko's going to have to at LEAST face a rightfully annoyed Admiral. But given the setting and circumstances, I also don't think his gassing of the planet, in THIS CASE is as huge and as extreme and evil as some are making it out to be. It was extreme, but it was also not genocide. That's just blowing it way out of proportion.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

But to not always be contrarian. If you ignore the problematic aspects and just watch it as a sci fi episode then it is not a bad one.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

For some reason I started thinking marry, shag avoid ?
And another candidate for Next Gen ultimate sleazoid list - do you mind if my slave watches ?
Wesley's jumper - yep he's firmly established in the grey ribbing jumpsuit - 'Ensign'.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

'' I get to sue doctor Orpax''


....being a Ferengi doctor sounds like a very volatile business
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

Solid season finale, highlight of the episode is the female changeling giving a grim warning to Garak that war will come to Cardasia and given they're barely holding off the Klingnons at that point , one would think they're boxed in a corner. Which makes Dukat's diplomatic reversal in season 5 all that more impressive.

One thing has bugged me since the Klingnons have become adversarial and i'm not sure if the writers chose to ignore this, but I thought the ability for the Klingnons to wage war especially against the Federation, was syphoned because of the Praxis incident in ST 6
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

The whole nobody died thing is pretty stupid. If you have a colony with a few thousand people, even if we assume that they for some reason had enough transports and institutions that could organize a complete evacuation in 5 minutes, then a few people will still die. Old people getting heart attacks, children getting lost/left behind.

"Especially that the bridge crew gave no pushback to crazy orders."
awful, dumb, disrespectful to the characters and audience. You name it. For some time there were these stipulations from Roddenberry what was allowed and what wasn't and they followed that pretty narrowly in TNG. With DS9 they started to deviate from it. Numbers weren't that good so they started to mess around.
I picture the first day of writing of this episode like this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCLynwl0kvk


It's all fine and well to have flawed characters, probably better than walking saints. Sisko was never portrayed as flawless but it is one thing to have a temper or a horrific obsession with baseballs and another to gas planets. That is not flawed, that is psychotic.
Set Bookmark
Chris Nash
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Like the previous episode, "Vanishing Point", this one feels as if it's trying to crib from previous Trek episodes. A Kriosian woman in a stasis pod? Well that's obviously meant to evoke the (far better) TNG episode "The Perfect Mate", where Famke Janssen played a Kriosian empathic metamorph who became 'bonded' with Captain Picard.

But here, it's like the writers belatedly realised that if they continued any further they'd be making a shot-for-shot remake of that episode, and decided instead to swerve into a dismal escape-from-captivity plot, starring the most inept criminals this side of those Ferengi from last season. It's perfectly serviceable if you like this kind of thing, but it's just fluff. It's meaningless, and by the time Archer and T'Pol arrived to oh-so-conveniently rescue Tucker from one of the aliens (who seems to be immune to face-punching for some reason!), I found myself wondering "is that it? Is the episode over? What was the point?"
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I DON'T think there is any such unwritten rule, sorry.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

"It is a sad fact that there is a ready supply of humans who were, are, and will be war criminals. *No shock*."

Yes! Can you be a war criminal if no one dies? But agreed what he did was very naughty.

It's just the assumption the writers screwed up if they portray Sisko doing something unacceptable that I disagree with. Criticise fictional characters all you like, but I think there is any unwritten rule saying the writers are to be held responsible for not portraying their characters as flawless. I think the writers did a good job with this episode.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Points well taken. Especially that the bridge crew gave no pushback to crazy orders.

This is my first viewing of the series. So what I detect is that the writers over time have gone over a precipice in what they deem to be "OK" for the good guys to do.

I do not know what caused these writers to deviate from humane positions (Geneva) other than their need to devise stories which they think will entertain. At times this results in some unacceptable decisions by the characters.

It is a sad fact that there is a ready supply of humans who were, are, and will be war criminals. *No shock*.

As for Epaminondas, the connection I saw was that he became an implacable enemy to Sparta, and like Sisko in "For the Uniform", he developed an indirect approach (rather than a blundering direct one) to destroy its hegemony. E. succeeded in his strategic goal, died in battle but was loved in Thebes, and forever hated in Sparta.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

And as being someone who was actually in the military I find it very disturbing that everybody on the bridge just went along with it. Every modern military has mandatory courses about unlawful orders and dropping C-weapons on civilians, one would hope, is illegal in the Federation.
If my commanding officer would have ordered me to shoot a gas grenade at a village because he is so mad about the local resistance leader, I would have said:" Sure thing, sir. Give me just a sec." and then started running, shouting:"The captain has gone crazy! CRAZY!!!"
Set Bookmark
StarTrek Fan
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

People, please, don't act like you're shocked by how someone can like an episde you didslike (or the other way around).

Don't forget that everyone has their own tastes and visions for everything, including episodes of any show.

Opinions and preferences are NOT facts. So they can't be right or wrong.

That's the nature of opinions: it's something very individual, how someone's brain feels about certain things. Even if those feelings might be objectively illogical or inconsistent, or not being shared by majority of others, everyone still has one right: to like or dislike things that give them entertainment or pleasure: movies, shows, games, food, etc.

It doesn't matter if some episode has some objective issues with writing, or acting, or continuity, or anything else.
It still can be liked or disliked by every individual, and it shouldn't shock you to see that.

Your'e free to like or dislike what you wish, and let others do the same.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Everey man could fall in love with Famke in this role. Just looking on her in this episode would justifi it. Fantastic acting.

But, if you take the time a take one step back se many other aspects. It rises a quistions for them who wnats them

Many good sceenes. Beverlys reaction and Picards quite tame excuse at the firs breakfest sceen. Ten forward is very funny.

There is also a lot of logical holes. Where was Troi? If this was so important why not involve the femal staff more? Some quite stupid ferengiinvolwment.

But all of this is excused by the apperance of Famke.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

Oh, one more note: this episode is essentially “The Cage” re-done, very badly.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

Kirk gets beautiful female alien. Kirk outwits rubber brains (instead of computer). Kirk wins all his fights. Spock and Bones argue. Humanity “proved” superior to all other life forms. Ridiculous stupid episode.

Although it took him an essay to say so, I think William B has it right: it’s the manipulation of Shana by Kirk in the supposed name of freedom while actually pursuing his own personal freedom, that provides the only real talking point of this episode.

1 star, or less.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

As mentioned above, Picard saying that it is possible to make no mistake and still lose is a pretty powerful message, and it was kind of lost in the minor B plot. A whole story could have been built on that.

It's nice to see proto-Quark in a pretty effective Ferengi appearance.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Ok, let's not confuse things here. Epaminondas developed a new battle formation, the"oblique order" to beat the unbeatable Spartan army (with 300 gays, the sacred band), he didn't drop gas on innocent. If you want an example, then there are far more recent ones, Bashar al Assad and Saddam Hussein. I guess they handwave any real damage away, nobody was hurt, if having to flee with little warning and losing your home and all is not considered hurtful. And what would have happened if Eddington had not given up?! Sisko becoming the worst war criminal since WW3? That the Federation condones chemical warfare against civilians, which is forbidden by the Geneva convention even today, is another deeply disturbing thought. Are we sure that the writers were not from the mirror universe?

He's a war criminal *shock*?
Next ►Page 1 of 3,294
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.