Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 66,052 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,643
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I did genuinely enjoy this one, at least a little. The "free spirit" world to which Lwaxana takes Alexander does appeal to my inner kid.

Weird marriage of A and B plots, though. I love how everyone's on the verge of dying aboard the ship and Lwaxana/Alexander/royal fiancé family get conveniently forgotten about until that's all cleaned up.
Set Bookmark
Proteus
Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I thought this episode, like the much meatier “Muse,” was primarily a meta riff on storytelling itself - particularly a self-referential and self-deprecating bit of Voyager-mocking by the writers themselves - with secondarily a (mostly unresolved) inquiry into a minor aspect of child psychological development.

The misunderstood-intelligent-energy-alien-trying-to-communicate has been done so many times in ST that you really have to accept it more as recurring genre exercise than accuse it of redundancy. Given that, I thought this outing was executed amiably enough.

But not for a minute did I think it was to be taken seriously. The framing as a scary campfire tale told by a guardian of children - a camp counselor or fun uncle, more or less - allows for all manner of inconsistency, embellishment, and fabrication on the part of the story-teller. So I didn’t care about plot holes or improbability in Neelix’s narration.

What I wondered as he told the story was whether it was the right way to entertain, distract, and comfort children in an already spooky situation. Neelix went into the assignment more worried than anyone else that the kids would be scared by the shutdown/blackout - and I expected him to be more comforting and reassuring.

It surprised me that he went with this narration of a recent harrowIng episode on Voyager. But maybe it’s a truism that kids don’t mind beIng scared if they feel safe in the protective custody of a sympathetic adult - and maybe Neelix rightly understood that Borg kids would be more objective and analytical than scared. That THEY understood the events of the tale as a series of science problems to be worked out, and NOT a supernatural ghost story, and that it would keep them occupied during the shipwide reboot.

What caught me by surprise when the lights came back on - and what I’m surprised neither Jammer nor most commenters have mentioned - was that Neelix said at the end that it was all a complete fabrication. When all was said and done, the alien intrusion never happened!

And since the blackout shutdown condition was never explained, aren’t we left with what Voyager’s most persistently negative critics accuse the series of turning out - that is, a hackneyed and derivative incoherent tale with an abandoned premise and lots of goofy action, which means nothing in the end because it wasn’t even “true” in its fictional setting? Kinda no need for a reset, because in this episode, LITERALLY NOTHING HAPPENED.

Plot synopsis: all power and lights on the ship are shut down for no reason, and Neelix tells a fictional and meaningless campfire tale to some kids. The End.

It’s like Voyager gives its audience a literal version of what the audience complains about - and no one seems even to notice. I thought the joke was on us.

Besides which, it was entertaining enough, with a fair amount of amusing camp - and, withal, fine characterization and an engaging depiction of the REAL action. That is, Neelix telling a story: when we’re in the cargo bay with the kids and Uncle Neelix, everything rings true, and is even endearing.
___________

Also, while the pitch black of an unpowered spacecraft drifting in the void of space has to be about the loneliest, most nullifying environment I can imagine...I’m kinda with Neelix in being more disturbed by inpenetrable fog.
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

This was one of the first Star Trek episodes I watched, when dropping in on my partner's half-complete first viewing of the series. Trying to remember this from about a month ago -- it couldn't have been more than about the third or fourth episode I saw.

Suffice to say, not an episode I recommend as an intro to Star Trek. It was uncomfortable viewing, and while that's perfectly valid as something TV can aim to make you feel, a lot of it was uncomfortable in the wrong ways -- at least for me as someone brand new to this show.

William B commented here in 2013 about how the episode's internal logic might lead you to believe that, given that Riker and Crusher's memory invasion scenes concerned real events, Troi's memory invasion would *also* be a real event. Complete with actually being raped by Riker.

Well, sit a new viewer down in front of Violations, and there's a damn good chance that they'll actually be on the verge of believing that. I wasn't familiar with the characters or their relationship at all, and reaching that scene -- when it's already been established through faulty internal logic that the Ullians enter Real Memories of Actual Things That Happened -- I didn't have much reason to conclude anything other than "oh god, did Riker actually rape Troi at some point?"

And let me tell you, I didn't *want* to believe that. It made for a hell of an uncomfortable undertone when watching the rest of the episode, trying to gauge Riker so that I could confirm whether he'd genuinely done what I'd just watched him do or whether the memory was a fabrication (which, again, would defy what the episode had established and would continue to establish). The scene where Riker comes to Troi's bedside to talk to her through her coma did reassure me somewhat, but that's still not "proof", is it?

In hindsight, now having the experience of multiple seasons of TNG to fall back on, I agree that they *of course* wouldn't genuinely have had this memory be true. I even knew at the time that it *probably* wasn't what they were going for (though "probably" is less than "of course"). What was it even for, then? As per Jammer's review, the episode's rape metaphor is already secure without *actual* rape. William B saying it's a matter of gratuitous sexualisation and violence seems to be on the money. But why give the rapist Riker's face? Maybe it was the easiest shortcut they could think of to slot in something sexual from Troi's history. Maybe it was an intentional attempt to bait audiences into thinking -- no matter how briefly -- that this genuinely did happen, and reap the emotional response from that. The latter would be one hell of a cheap attempt at drama.

I'm not doing a lot of talking about the rest of the episode here. But then this did overshadow the rest of the episode for me. It's not like they did anything to help with that, not by showing variations on that same damn scene three bloody times. Riker's crew death memories and Picard with hair only get one showing a[hair]piece. Troi's memory invasion unfortunately forms the core of this episode. And it's a rotten one.

(Alternate Troi memory suggestion: Lwaxana having one of her *particularly* obnoxious moments, and then gasp! Suddenly it's Jev being mortifying in an outrageous dress. Troi goes into a coma from embarrassment.)

[Final note: I'd originally intended to say all this on the end of my comment on A Matter of Perspective, an episode which internally accuses Riker of attempted rape -- and which, in-universe, I don't think does enough to exonerate him. But I figured it'd be more appropriate to comment all this on the episode I'm actually talking about.]
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

RIP, Rene' .

A wonderful actor who added so much to this series, and seemed very well loved.

I've been trying to think of my favorite Odo moment, and though I can't narrow it down, I enjoyed his banter with Quark the most. Shimerman tweeted a nice message in remembrance and it wasn't surprising to read he considered him a close friend. They had great chemistry.

I did love when they were stuck in Odo 's office together:

QUARK : Should've listened to my father. He always warned me this was gonna happen.

ODO : What? That you'd spend your final hours in jail? I could have told you that.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I just saw the news about René as well. A wonderful performer, whose work in Altman movies, Beauty and the Beast, Frasier, etc. I enjoyed. His A-game, terrific work as Odo, having the most expansive, complex and demanding arc of the series (possibly of the franchise?), playing a character who was a shapeshifter, grump, cynic, romantic, pillar of integrity, near-fascist, traitor, collaborator, freedom fighter, prodigal son, hermit, friend, lover, and self-sacrificial redeemer of his fallen god people, and keeping these disparate elements balanced within a believable whole, could never have worked without this man's dedication, talent, and soul. RIP.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Just saw the sad news that René Auberjonois has passed away. Very sad and unexpected. I've been watching a lot of DS9 of late and this feels like such a loss.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 12:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Brilliant episode that really plays out the Trek ethos. There’s a nice scene right in the beginning where McCoy ignores the red alert signal emphasizing that danger shouldn’t always be met with panic and fear. I really like the idea that both sides wanted to get to know each other, but the two peoples were so different that First Contact came down to a series of bluffs and upping the ante. One doesn’t need to think too hard to allegorize this story to many conflicts and wars in human history.

Lt. Baley had a great arc going from being a green officer we might associate with the military of our time, while Kirk and company sharply contrasted that by being the military (or non-military) of the future. This reminds me much of TNG’s “Darmok” with Riker being the naively aggressive officer and Picard navigating real cross-cultural alien understanding. I think I’ll go 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Proteus
Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Said someone, years ago: “What would REALLY be interesting is to have a harmless-looking race turn out to be the fiercest and more war-like. Thoughts?”

My thought: oh...you mean humans?
_________

Episodic Epigram: a good deed never goes unpunished.
_________

Why did the good bad guy turn against the bad bad guys, and sacrifice himself so others might survive? I don’t know...to demonstrate that no culture is homogenous or inherently evil - and that Voyager ISN’T all black and white? (Also note that good bad guy acknowledged that his race fit both his first innocent characterization of it, AND the darker, more historically nuanced interpretation Neelix uncovered. And hey - that sounds like MOST cultures.)
_________

Why did Janeway switch allegiances at the end? The answer comes in an upcoming episode: there’s no difference between victors and survivors. All the protocols, directives, and nice moral perspectives pale before the sheer necessity of staying alive. We might take survival as a base biological instinct, and we might take it as a moral imperative - but if we have a choice, we take it over the alternative.

To be cynical, she (with Seven) had done their good deed by awakening the dragon’s teeth (oops...I meant “giving a destroyed civilization another shot at survival”), leaving them in at least as good a position 900 years ago. She really just restores the status quo in the land of You Can’t Save People From Themselves.

Main thing is, she gets to leave. It’s certainly not the first time Voyager has left turbulence in its wake.
____________

I felt sure when I saw so many elaborate neckridge alien suits that we would be seeing this species in several more episodes. You mean we won’t?

Dang.
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

My god, Rasmussen's voice sounded like a dead ringer for Kermit the Frog to me. I could've closed my eyes and enjoyed the time travelling Muppet Show crossover.

As it stands, though, bit of a middle-of-the-road shrug episode for me. I was amused by all the talk of questionnaires though.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 4:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Agreed Jason - any issues with the character aside, she isn't a good actress. John Boyega and Adam Driver are the strongest actors in these films, but Boyega's material in TLJ was a waste of his abilities.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Reacting to the theatrical cut ...
It's very ambition, kind of enjoyably majestic, weighty (the best part was the crew both being different and close enough to how they were before and reuniting), deep/thought-provoking, impressively so different from rather than trying to be Star Wars, but a bit too weighty rather than dynamic or fun and even in its deep themes at times a bit too awkward, abrupt and/or repetitive. It's interesting both in itself and in retrospect how much this film seems like a precursor to the Borg and to TNG-style generally but not really doing it well, TNG definitely did both the style and some of the specific themes much better.
The Kirk/Decker conflict is good but a bit too overdone, the idea of Spock maybe not being loyal way too awkward (McCoy quickly becoming suspicious too out-of-character), too much of the Decker/Ilia relationship, before and after she is replaced, feels too just there to be there and overfocused on. The crew in general, though seeing them reunite was fun, is too often too lacking in energy or warmth/chemistry and does get too overshadowed by the effects (which are strong but too often feel excessive).
A lot of Jerry Goldsmith's music is really good but a lot of it, though mostly with regard to the Decker & Ilia relationship, also feels a little too obvious and clearly-present and repetitive.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

There were flashbacks in TFA that hinted at some kind of origin for Rey that ended up on the garbage pile for TLJ (like most things Abrams set up in that movie).

That said, I can't imagine how Rey having some special origin would improve her character or make Daisy Ridley less dreary.

I'm long past worrying about whether Rey is a "Mary Sue" or not. Suffice it to say she's just not very good and after two movies, we've seen all there is to see at this point from her .
Set Bookmark
Proteus
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 11:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Ehh, stuff I wanted to mention but forgot.

I suppose it’s inherent in my comments, but I meant to specifically mention how refreshing it was to get an interesting non-humanoid alien species AND a non-hostile humanoid race in the same DQ episode. Provides some dimension.

And that apparently Jammer is immune to the pathos of Vulcans dutifully returning to the stern discipline of logic after brief vacations in the more expansive domain of freer emotional expression. He gave TOS’s This Side of Paradise a similarly damning rating - the first ST episode that unexpectedly brought me to tears. In it Spock somewhat grimly submits again to his duties and responsibilities after experiencing a liberating range of emotions. His line “For the first time in my life I was happy” wipes me out every time.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 9:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Bear in mind that Data didn't even know that Soong was his creator (or weirdly who he even was) before "Datalore." His "memories" of the colonists are decidedly partial.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 7:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Followup to myself.

Ok, in a later scene they make it clear that Data only has the colonists logs in his brain, not their memories. (I could have sworn it was referred to as memories in previous episodes) They also explained why there was no reference to her in those logs, because she retained her first name when she married Soong and hid their marriage from other people.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'm watching this episode right now and in the first scene Dr. Juliana Trainer approaches Data and is like "do you know who I am?" and Data doesn't realize she's his "mother".

My immediate thought was "Isn't Data supposed to have memories of all the people from Omicron Theta? Shouldn't that allow Data to recognize her?"

I'll let that slide since I never liked the "Data has everyone's memories" aspect of his background anyway. I thought it was kinda dumb (did Soong scan peoples brains? How did he get those memories?) and the writers rarely did anything with it anyway. I think they forgot about it most of the time. :P

Overall I liked this episode. Its not top tier, but it's above average, especially for season 7.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 5:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Oh my goodness-Picard and Crusher have feelings for each other-yes we know-this is hammered into us from Season 1 with brilliant observations from Wesley like 'You knew my father' and continues with garbage like The Naked Now.
If it takes Picard and Crusher a contrived mind link device to hold hands after twenty years they can't be that keen on each other.
Anyhoo, as someone above observes, who cares?
This is supposed to be science fiction a genre label that continues to be misapplied to kindergarten social drama like this forgettable episode to this day.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:56am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I read somewhere that fans are very interested in Rey's origin and parentage. Just watched Rogue One on dvd - Jyn's crystal pendant holds the clue, because her mother's (Lyra) side must have the Force in them, as blind monk Chirrut could sense Jyn's presence when she walked past him. Maybe Jyn was saved somehow and Rey is offspring from Jyn-Lyra's family tree, which would tie in Rogue One characters with Rey's future stories.
By the way, re swordplay and ancient Japanese folklore - I grew up watching black & white movies of Chinese swordplay and 'ching kung', much like Yoda's lightsaber fights. So Chinese audience may be wooed if Michelle Yeoh (of ST Dicovery fame) turns up with a lightsaber in SW franchise!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Oh, and in classic Star Trek fashion the planet they visited looked astonishingly a lot like a typical american country side.
Set Bookmark
Proteus
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I don’t read Jammer’s reviews - or any responses - till I’ve seen an episode. I’m always curious to see what his rating is. It really doesn’t matter to me what critics think, as I’m capable of responding to a creative artifact and making up my own mind. But I generally find Jammer’s reviews balanced and reasonably fair - making allowances for his inexplicable aesthetic prejudices (and sometimes the sheer momentum of his affection for one series and his animus toward another).

His reviews generally at least touch on all or most of the general themes I caught, and sometimes he points out something I’d missed, or has an enlightening perspective. And the reviews are “multi-phasic,” in that they attend to most aspects of an episode: premise(s), script, dialog, plot, characterization and development, tropes and conventions, symbolism/metaphors/subtext/social commentary, deeper moral, ethical, or philosophical import, acting quality, production quality, effects, costumes and prosthetics, pacing, music...

Very few of the respondents here cover that much ground - most of us specializing in the two or three elements we focus on, and some of us grinding the narrowest of asinine axes.

All that said, I generally either more or less agree with his overall assessments, or at least understand where he’s coming from. All of which may explain (at least to me) my befuddlement when our judgments of an episode diverge wildly. This episode is a case in point: I was fully expecting to see a solid 3.5 or even 4 - as I was appalled to see (as examples) 4 stars for Barge of the Dead, and 2.5 for Alice (too high).

But then I remember we must have very different perspectives; he wrote these reviews in his 20s, as a college student, no doubt with a touch of intellectual hubris. I’m in my 60s, feel like I’ve had my intellectual pride beat out of me over the years, and have become more forgiving and less demanding of others along the way. I wonder how Jammer would rate these episodes now, from his more mature perspective.
__________

I really think this episode is an example of Voyager (in Tom Paris terms) firing evenly, robustly, and smoothly on all cylinders. It’s a rather quiet episode, well-paced and consistently engaging. Characterization is spot-on for everyone, Tuvok and Neelix are written intelligently and sensitively, Russ and Phillips nail their roles effectively (and affectively), and new character dynamics emerge naturally.

Russ plays the damaged patient perfectly, with mannerisms, postures, expressions, speech, and affect that read both tenderly and movingly real to anyone who has seen people go through such experiences. And the ever-supportive, well-intentioned Neelix nails the truly empathetic and responsive caregiver, becoming the only member of the crew to insist on providing the “human” touch for a prickly character, even when he is discouraged from - or at best patronized for - doing so. Doc finally tolerates Neelix’s homely ministrations as much to humor him (and get him out of the way) as from any confidence Neelix might do any good.

And as much as the rest of the crew depends on Tuvok, respects him, or sometimes values his strength and insight, they’re all content to wait for medical science to provide a miracle cure - partially so they can get the cloaking frequency from him. It’s not clear that they CARE for Tuvok the person as much as they recognize they NEED their Vulcan tactical/science appliance.

Only Neelix, the one guy on board Tuvok least respects and enjoys, cares for him personally with touch, voice, and sensory experience when Tuvok is comatose and useless to the others. Only Neelix (with advice from Seven as DISpassionate as it is COMpassionate) takes the conscious but broken and childlike Tuvok as he finds him, where he is, rather than pushing him to recover to his old self. When Tuvok is frustrated with himself and near despair, aware of his own cognitive and developmental disorders, it’s Neelix who has the patience, insight, and compassion to encourage him to become this new personality which has emerged.

I found it all both realistic and moving, and very much appreciated this interplay and the mutual insight between these odd-couple characters. Yeah, it reminds us of Tuvix, but for my taste it’s more real and better done.

Neelix’s bittersweet support of Tuvok undergoing full restoration to his customary personality carried radical ambivalence, pathos, and more than a little self-sacrifice. He all but knew he would lose this new friend with all his unexpected potential, but also knew not only that part of Tuvok would always feel the loss of his original nature - but that Tuvok was vitally important to the survival of Voyager, which needed his Vulcan logic and strength more than his newly poetic Vulcan soul.

In this sense, Neelix sacrifices his new friend for the good of the many; it’s ironic that touchy-feely Neelix makes a very Vulcan decision, while the Vulcan submits to it only when given the Vulcan-irrelevant promise that Neelix would still be his friend afterward. Everyone on board owes Neelix a heavy debt of gratitude for his warmth, compassion, insight - and, ultimately - clear view of necessity and steely resolve.

I get that Neelix has sometimes been badly written, seems frivolous, and could be annoying. But I’m with the posters above in considering him the heart of the ship, and indispensable.

I may be pre-disposed to this sentiment, as he reminds me in essential ways of my maternal grandfather. He wasn’t annoying, but he was soft-spoken, kind to all, considerate, emotionally perceptive in an unassuming way, gentle, humble, and patient. He also had unexpected strength and endurance of character, great physical and emotional courage, and an unbreakable will which was flexible only in means, never in ends.

After his stroke, and for the 8 years it took his body to run down, he was unfailingly polite when we visited the nursing home - while wringing his hands in despair that he didn’t know who we were, just that he was supposed to know.

So I guess the episode caught me there too, as some of broken-Tuvok’s behavior and mannerisms also reminded me of him.
____________

But that’s only the prominent, character plot. I also thought the subplot with the “xenophobic” aliens was very well done, in an understated way, with less conflict and less technobabble than usual.

I found the cloaked, tentacled aliens more cautious, secretive, and defensive than hard-headed or bellicose. Yes they surreptitiously gathered intel on unknown ships passing through - but certainly no more invasively than Voyager has often done. A case can be made that there was no intention to hurt Tuvok, that had he not caught the alien in the act, he would not have been fired on. And if the culture that knows them best can consider them mythical - but for one rogue Mulder who has documented all of 12 incidents - they can’t be much of a threat.

I like that they remain mysterious; it seems to me that interstellar spacefaring humans (should there ever be such a thing) will have far more similarly inconclusive encounters than shootemup space battles with violent foreheaded humanoid bipeds.

I guess I consider the Neelix-Tuvok material the cake here, and the alien encounter the icing. The yummy sprinkles would be the completely altruistic Naroq, who is consistently straightforward about his motives and agenda, with never a hint of subterfuge or betrayal - and whose somewhat self-sacrificial gesture at the end brings about a win-win-win resolution for three species.

The plot doesn’t dwell on it, but - as he gave up his cloak-busting tech - it would seem his deepest motivations were indeed exploration and intellectual curiosity, not military dominance. Presumably he goes home with enough images, hard data, and sensor logs to prove that the shadowy species exists, and establish at least something about them. Whether the rest of his society can be satisfied with that, or whether they turn his research against the mystery race, we can’t know.

But that’s science. Explorers never have much control over society’s use of their discoveries.

So, overall, a humane and generally harmonious episode featuring creatures of goodwill, working in good faith through tragic circumstances. Seems about as Trek as it gets.

But OK, I could have done with a little bigger cherry on top of the cake at the very end. The writers might have let Tuvok remember and acknowledge more of the emotional journey he and Neelix had made. Not anything too dramatically overt, but a half-smile, a wink, something. As I’m watching through in order, I can’t conclude there’s a hard reset at the end of Riddle; I can still hope future character dynamics between these two will incorporate something of this episode’s rapprochement.

I am grateful, though, for “Sundays/Sundaes.” The homophonic verbal logic may indicate Tuvok 3.0 retains some of the creative spark of Tuvok 2.0.

AND I can entertain the notion that “Sundays” COULD mean that on one day a week, Tuvok might bake some confections with his buddy Neelix.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Trent (Tue, Oct 10, 2017)

Summarizes my feelings for this episode quite eloquently.

III of IV

P.S. Drugs are bad, mmkay.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

It doesn't matter what the Prime directive says explicitly, it's its core message and how it is lived by, that ultimately defines it. To this definition one clearly must include the idea of souverenity; because there is no way Starfleet would tolerate outside-alien intermingling in earthly affairs.

With that said, "Taste of Armageddon" would be a lot less fun if Kirk would have just beamed away at first best chance. One of its highlights being Scotty in command of the bridge, "The best diplomat I know is a fully activated phaser bank!" =]

A real treat of an episode, one of the finest of season 1.
IV of IV
Set Bookmark
Jason
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 7:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Wowza this might be my favorite Trek episode. My only issue is that going forward the Captain wasn't changed more by it.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

And in particular, Uxbridge was not planning on using *any* "force," even the threat of force. I think his pacifism was so strong that even depowering them directly would seem to violate his extreme, inflexible code -- only deception and illusion were allowed. Threatening them would be right out. The problem is that Uxbridge didn't really anticipate he would fail, and so didn't consider any intermediate options (threatening the Husnock, un-weaponizing them, destroying the particular attacking ship) between extreme pacifism with some deception and overt genocide. If he had known that Rishon would die and how he'd react, of course he would have taken more steps, but he didn't.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Dec 6, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

@ Chayton,

Yep, I agree. This is a top episode for me. Maybe not in the "classics" category like some myth-level episodes are (BoBW, Chain of Command, etc) but among regular episode it's top-tier.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,643
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.