Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 66,905 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,677
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 3:00am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

“All I could think of was that TNG spliced-up parody video, created in the early-to-mid 1990s, where Data announces, "I have six aces!" and then laughs maniacally (using the audio from "Deja Q").”

That sounds hilarious. Does this video still exist somewhere on the internet?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Loved the review. Definitely agreed. Glad to see it was a pretty long one too. That’s bound to happen with the first episode at least.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:49am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed this pilot episode of STP (still hate that name, but what are you gonna do?). Looking at Picard's aging had me feeling my own. Time overcomes all challengers as Jammer indicates. Still, even with the bright shiny sheen, though, I got that old familiar Star Trek vibe from the episode. It was like a hybrid of the old and the new. Which makes this next post all the more hilarious:

@ OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
"Am I the only person here who is bothered by the fact that the Trekverse has been turned into some kind dystopia? It seems that the same people who had this exact same problem with Discovery, suddenly accept it now without any problem."

LMAO! Kind of illustrates exactly what I've been talking about. All of Discovery's sins become virtues when you thrust Jean-Luc into the forefront. People groaning and eye-rolling about too much Burnham don't even bat an eyelash at the absolutely CRINGE WORTHY title, Star Trek Picard. The ridiculosity is hilarious. Perhaps now you'll recognize that many (not all, but many) of those detractors came in bad faith anyway and held merely capricious and arbitrary objections in the first place. But perhaps you won't. In any case, I won't hold my breath. Any charges of "dystopia, dystopia," is overblown. Picard doesn't live in a dystopia; he lives in a more believable future than one exclusively made of rainbows and butterflies. As someone said above, "$#!% happens." If anything is to be expected of the future, it is that.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@ Trent
"This episode implies that someone used Data's robot DNA to make robot babies modeled on Data's daughter paintings. The impression I got was that the creator isn't Data (probably Maddox or the Romulans, both who had access to Data's body)."
Yeah ok but only Picard had the picture of Dajh were you could see her face. I guess it was Maddox who built her. How did he know a 30 year old painting that Picard kept at the archives and that nobody accessed (Picard asked the computer).

"I thought this was great. The newly designed Romulans look excellent - no rice bowl haircuts or shoulderpads, each unique - and have a sympathetic, graceful, homey quality which we've never seen before. These two seem to owe their lives to Picard, respect him greatly, and really appreciate his attempts to save their people."
The looks of them were fine. It is no Discovery klingons horror. What I mean is that Picard was always portrayed as being very private person who always needed his personal space. So having two people live with him who apparently do nothing else but serve him just seemed odd to me. By the way, that is a gigantic mansion Picard ... owns??

" I got FOX news vibes from her; she did seem to be trying to bait him into a reaction."
I always thought that women at fox need to be white and blond?! Why would Picard sit down with such a blood hound? It felt a little forced. Couldn't his PR Romulans have warned him? Nice that we got a "we have to do what's right." speech but the whole scene still bugged me.

"The impression I got was that it's a ban within the Federation, or within Federation colonies belonging to Earth."
At the Daystrom the scientist says that building androids would violate galactic treaties. It sounded like galactic ban.

"Notice too that when the scientist enters the room, we get a show-offy close up of the fancy computer touchscreen required to let us into the room"
Yeah I noticed that too. I little bit like the eyes of the archive hologram lighting up when it does a search. It smells a little bit like TV for stupid people. Like " The computer is doing a search, get it?!" Also the room and the entire institute looked very 21th century.

"I thought it was a derelict/damaged/abandoned Borg cube which the Romulans converted to some kind of facility. I didn't get any Romulan-build-death-cube vibes from it."
Really? Why would there be derelict Borg cubes? Wouldn't there be a billion people who would try to get there hands on something that valuable.

I will continue to watch and I hope that this is smarter in it's set up---> pay off than Discovery... no scratch that because everything would be smarter than Discovery's pay off. I just hope it pays of well and is not another: committee of 20 people who have watched five episodes of star trek hated four and thought "we can do this much better and not boring."

"Now go watch Orville S2, Booming, we're waiting on your reviews. This whole post is a trick to get you to watch keep reviewing."
I haven't even finished season 1. And who is we?! It is just you who wants to see me suffer. Your gotcha questions remind of that nasty journalist. I would never shy away from doing my duty to review Seth Macfarlane's last artistic bowel movement. ;)
Set Bookmark
Alex.Cucina
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I don't think the ambassador's outburst was bad. It helped show the need for balance and hiw his overindulgence lead to bad things. People say drunkenness shows our "true character" but I disagree. Sometimes it activates parts of us that we are adamantly opposed to simply because our brains aren't working. It fit in with the whole theme.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

GET AWAY FROM THAT LAUNCHER

...

Ok I turned on Auto Volume Leveling on my computer and turned down the bass.

4/4.

Star Trek is back, baby.

It occurs to me now, especially after talking with my Dad, that we haven't actually revisited the main timeline proper since the end of Star Trek: Voyager. I'm into this.

The emotions which are seemingly intended to be generated by Jean-Luc Picard realizing that sitting around pouting about Starfleet being little whiny b***hes about the Synthetics ordered to evacuate Romulus instead going rogue and torching Mars and the Utopia Planetia Shipyards have just hit me in full force.

I mean, now that I can properly hear and process the dialogue. There's so much that goes into enjoying and properly understanding a film presentation.

Also, the actiony/dystopian bits of this series are kind of necessary, in my opinion. You are guiding people who've not watched Trek for a long time or have never watched Trek into a new world. You have to take them from what they know (everything is garbage) into this new world. I feel that Picard is going to do that, and the fact that it draws so much from Star Trek's past in ways that are relevant to the storytelling (and not just "easter eggs" that make you say "OH SH** that's a TREK THING) gives me faith that this is actually going to hold my interest.

Also, I should probably point out that I did not RE-WATCH a single episode of Discovery.

I just re-watched a new episode of Trek for the first time in multiple decades. That has to say volumes.

Also, during the 2nd Picard's Data Dream, where Data is painting in the vinyard...

What's this?

https://imgur.com/PCW9iX1

There's some image inside the lens flare. What is that? Numbers? Is it some kind of code? What is that?

Intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Leif
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Jammer et al.

How,can you be sure Data will not be ressurrected at some point? I think it would be nice if they did. Also, yoh described the Borg cube as being wreckgae being rebuilt, how do you know it's not a new cube being constructed...thsts the impression I got. And I had no idea Rene Auberjonois died..so sad...this life
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:06am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

You know what? I hated it. I hate Kelvin Trek. I hate Kurtzman Trek. And now I hate Picard too. I just fundamentally do...not...like what this group of people create. I knew the moment I saw trailers for Picard, that I would hate the show, because it is essentially the same people making the same show except with Picard in it. I thought the pilot contained the same ridiculous sort of modernist attempts at story-telling that failed abysmally in Discovery and a myriad of other TV shows. It is a sad commentary on our demographic that they believe we need kung-fu sword-fighting robots to stay subscribed. It feels like it was designed and written by committee. How many producers were credited in the opening? Must have been 15 at least. I think for an average sci-fi show it's passable. For a Star Trek show, it's embarassing. Really struck me as a blatant cash-grab spin off show, at the expense of a once beloved character. It takes zero risks and plays exactly into the waiting mouths of rabid fans who will fawn over anything with the Trek name on it. If this drek were released under any other name it would run one season and be forgotten. Star Trek is really being crushed under its own weight.

I'm guessing this is how it'll all play out:
- Picard will have an insanely contrived rise to prominence and very quickly he'll be back in ye old captains chair saying "engage" a lot.
- there will be many space battles and kung-fu scenes with much CGI spam
- there will be a handful of messily written character arcs we are supposed to "identify" with.
- the music and visuals will tell us exactly what to feel and when, because none of it will feel earned.
- the season will come to an unexpected and contrived cliffhanger ending which virtually necessitates that you stay subscribed to All Access and watch season 2.

I trust these people to give us a unique take on the man-vs-machine dynamic about as much as I trust my 3 year old to take the trash out on tuesday night.
Set Bookmark
DavidR
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Let’s begin with an exercise in willing suspension of disbelief. Which of these two scenarios sounds more far-fetched: that over the course of the next several centuries humanity could master interstellar travel, conquer all material needs, become a race of peaceful explorers, discover countless alien races and build a utopia on a foundation of individual rights and dignity?
Or that they could make a new Star Trek show starring Patrick Stewart that I wouldn’t greedily devour like a taspar egg after a hunger strike?
The series opens back in Ten Forward on the old Enterprise D with Brent Spiner reprising Mr. Data across the table from Stewart’s Jean-Luc Picard. And they’re playing poker in a spiritual continuation of the final episode of TNG (I will not acknowledge the four dreadful studio movies. For me, as for most fans, the Next Generation I know and love ended with “…and the sky’s the limit” from the final TV episode.)
As in the finale, the poker chatter here veils a deeper meaning. As Picard mulls a call or fold, Data wants to know why he’s taking so long to decide. “I don’t want the game to end,” Picard replies. “I’m all in.”
With the weight of seven seasons and four movies of TNG behind it, this seemingly innocent remark nods to the mortality of Picard and even to that of the 79-year-old Stewart. It’s also directed at us, the convention goers, the cosplayers, the usenet-turned-Redditors who have watched, discussed, critiqued, dissected and loved Picard for decades now.
An extra-narrative angle like this can easily turn overindulgent, but director Hanelle Culpepper displays a light touch (and nice to see a black woman in the “captain’s chair” as well.) Perhaps she learned what not to do watching the latest Star Wars movies, where the camera fawned over original movie characters for so long it turned gratuitous and plodding.
Things take a turn for the worse as Picard sits for an ostensible interview that quickly devolves into some extremely sloppy exposition. Sample question: so Admiral, can you catch us up on what you’ve been doing for the last 20 years? Stewart does a voiceover (cringe) and explains how Starfleet dropped the ball on helping out the Romulans in their hour of need and banned synthetic life forms like Data, so he quit in disgust. Stewart is Stewart, so he sells the heck even out of this lazy backstory. “Because it was no longer Starfleet,” he mutters. “BECAUSE IT WAS NO LONGER STARFLEET!”
Newcomer Isa Briones plays Dahj, a young woman recently “activated” by mysterious assassins and now searching for answers from Picard. Here the fanservice, so deftly executed in the opening scene, takes a turn toward the maudlin. “Everything inside me says I’m safe with you,” Dahj says, with a very obvious double meaning most children of the eighties (me included) can probably decode. “Be the captain they remember” urges one of Picard’s assistants. That’s a little thick for my taste.
Picard is flummoxed when he realizes that Dahj’s face is identical to a painting that Data created decades ago. A quick trip to Starfleet HQ confirms Picard’s memory and establishes that Data named the painting Daughter. Even the thickest viewer realizes that Dahj is Data’s creation, an outlawed synthetic person hidden in respectable human society, though she herself doesn’t yet recognize her true nature.
Picard is trying to explain all this to Dahj when the posse of shrouded assassins returns and Dahj has to beat them off. Dahj drags a wheezing Picard to safety while she continues to kick butt of every hooded dweeb who beams in. These fight scenes are outstanding: fast, bone-crunching and visceral. The earlier fight scene where Dahj was first “activated” really had some shock value. I have no idea if Briones is doing her own stunt work, but we’ve come a long way since Kirk faced off with a Gorn in a rubber suit.
Picard gets a look at one of their faces and….they’re Romulans! The last one spits some acidic green blood on Dahj and for reasons I can’t understand her gun explodes. Yeah, not sure I buy for one minute that Dahj is permanently dead. “I owe it to her to find out who killed her and why!” Picard declares. Oh how motivated your character is! JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE.
Picard meets with Dr. Agnes Jurati (Allison Pill), a cybernetics expert and disciple of Commander Bruce Maddox, last seen arguing in TNG Season 2 that Data should be disassembled and reverse-engineered. Picard and Jurati ogle the disassembled B4, a Data precursor also played by Brent Spiner. In a plot twist everyone who watched Star Trek: Nemesis saw coming, “The essence of Data may be alive!”
Pill’s character intrigues me and I like what the actress is doing with it. “This is everything that ever mattered to us…to me,” she says of the now shuttered Federation robotics lab. Her backstory is convincing and interesting. Pill has some fine comic timing, too! She figures in a number of scenes from the end-of-episode trailer, so I guess she’ll be a big part of the new show’s cast. Thumbs up for initial impressions.
The other big reveal is that androids are created in pairs! (Remember Data and Lore? See, it works with the established universe.) Dahj has a Romulan twin working her flirt with a Romulan with a “sad story”… but what dreamy eyes! And are they in a….why yes they are in a Borg-like cube, either under construction or maybe damaged.
The ship designs look very cool here, with an updated, sleek Romulan warbird and a menacing cube that feels absolutely and appropriately huge. The pullback shot that reveals the cube is handled well, more props to Culpepper and the visual effects team.
So off we go with the launch of a new show. I’m pretty impressed so far and looking forward to the next installment. Let’s see what’s out there.
Set Bookmark
Jet
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I was really surprised by how much I liked this episode!

It's not perfect, but it sets a strong foundation for what's to come. The acting, set design, CG... I was really blown away by the visuals and spectacle.

As for the story, I enjoyed it but it'll really depend on the rest of the series. Unlike TNG, this one is so tied in to the storyline that I don't think this ep will be a great standalone visit many years in the future.

Still, I loved what I saw. It's so "true" to JLP, and I think that's exactly what it needs to be.

Eager for more!
Set Bookmark
Dick
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

My initial thoughts:

- Everything looked and sounded very nice, especially at Chateau Picard. The camerawork was restrained and the pacing was less frenetic than STD, which is a step in the right direction.

- Sir Patrick Stewart was great, as usual, but I'm not sold on the actress who plays Dahj/Soji. Her over-the-top emoting in some scenes felt very Burnham-esque.

- I won't indulge in too much nitpicking surrounding the increasingly convoluted taxonomy of Soong-type androids (whatever happened to Juliana Tainer?), but the technobabble explaining Dahj's creation was laughably nonsensical. The technical details behind Data's creation were always kept fairly vague on TNG, and they shouldn't have tried anything more ambitious here. Just say that Bruce Maddox created androids using Data's specs and leave it at that.

- As with STD, producing Trek-like dialogue continues to be an issue for the writers of nuTrek. The news interview/exposition dump at the the beginning of the episode was particularly bad in this regard.

- I am intrigued by the teased return of Dr. Bruce Maddox. If he does come back, I hope he gets the same rich characterization as in "The Measure of a Man" and isn't just an evil/insane villain.

Overall, I give Rememberance a tentative 6/10. A lot will depend on how well the plot threads are resolved as the season progresses.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 10:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed the first episode of Picard!
-It's great to finally have a sequel set in the main Star Trek universe. No more prequels or reboots or alternate timelines, which frankly, have often been kind of a let-down.
-The writers clearly know their Next Generation. Lots of callbacks to the series: the reference to Bruce Maddox (the guy who tried to have Data dismantled), the stuff in the storage locker like the Captain Picard Day banner, Data painting and having a daughter, poker, the French vineyard, etc.
-This may make people mad, but I'm kind of glad Data is actually dead. I didn't really like Nemesis (though admittedly I haven't seen it in a while), and I didn't agree with the decision to kill Data in the first place, but I'm glad they're not running from the decision. I remember someone had told me that various comic books had made B-4 just like Data reincarnated, which is definitely a stupid and way-too-easy way out. Though I would be ok if this show had a long drawn out "Search for Data" sort of thing going on where they try to bring back some aspect of him.
-In many ways, Data was kind of the heart of Next Generation, so I really like how even in death he's still a central figure in the story.
-I remember being annoyed with the decision made by the J.J. Abrams team to blow up Romulus in the prime timeline for no good reason. On a side note, I've noticed J.J. Abrams movies have a tendency to blow up planets out of nowhere as a cheap way to raise the stakes. (See e.g. the Star Wars sequel trilogy). But anyway, like Data's death, the writers did not run away from or ignore the decision, and the destruction of Romulus is a major plot point in the story. Even after just one episode has made for some really compelling ideas.
-Which brings me to the "interview scene." To me this might have been the most captivating scene in Star Trek since...well...maybe 1999? This is classic Picard, being the moral voice of Starfleet, and completely unwavering in his view that the Federation should have saved as many Romulans as possible even though Romulans are old enemies. One can't help but think of the parallels with the U.S. failure to take in Syrian refugees, and how the true test of a country is its generosity to others during times of a crisis. So when Picard says he left Starfleet "because it was no longer Starfleet," that really really hits home. The show seems to be off to the right foot because it realizes that the best scenes in Star Trek are not usually space battles but instead really compelling stories.
-I was intrigued by Picard's Romulan assistants And I think it was trying to show how people who used to be enemies from a different planet can get along and make wine together. It's sort of a callback to the original Star Trek "Balance of Terror" where the unnamed Romulan commander right before his death tells Kirk that under different circumstances they would have been friends. I thought it was interesting that Picard's Romulan's assistants appear very human in their clothes and hairstyle.
-I want to learn more about this rebellion of synthetic lifeforms, and how the interviewer seems to hold Picard somewhat responsible for what happened. Maybe it's just because people now hate artificial life forms and Picard has always been a champion of the rights of artificial life forms (see "Measure of Man"), or maybe there is something else going on.
-I really hope the show doesn't turn into shoot-em-up action next week, but if this episode is any indication, I think we're on the right track as far as good storytelling goes.
-This might actually be the best Star Trek pilot episode. DS9's "Emissary" is pretty poorly paced, but is way better when you have seen the end of the show because you see how much of the groundwork for the show was laid down right from the start. But as a standalone episode, I think Picard is hands down the best Star Trek pilot.
-My girlfriend and I watched Battlestar Galactica and Season 4 of The Expanse recently, so she made the joke that it's easy to get Picard confused with these other series since we have android sleeper agents and people living on Mars.
-So what's going on with the Borg, anyway? The trailers had totally given away the big reveal of the cube at the end. The finale of Voyager was such a mess I honestly don't remember to what extent the Borg collective is still around or if they were all wiped out by Janeway (or did they ever tell us?). But anyway, the cube no longer appears to have any Borg on it and it's just being used by Romulans as an outpost. I really hope this show doesn't overuse the Borg on this show like Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I watched the episode again and thought it played really well once you self-censor the cheesy action scene.

The "Picard waking up at home instead of a hospital" scene also now seems less like bad writing and more like a crucial point; it is suggested that the security footage of the attack on him has been doctored and scrubbed, and we know that the telephone call to the synth's mother was some kind of deepfaked woman. It seems someone with sophisticated gear is doctoring and erasing these events, much like Control did in Discovery. I hope Kurtzman isn't trying to tie these two series together.

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi said: "Am I the only person here who is bothered by the fact that the Trekverse has been turned into some kind dystopia?"

Trek's been moving away from episodic, mind-bending SF tales, and tales of naval exploration, and toward serialized war and conflict for decades now. The latter tends to be easier to write. The former is hard and tends to be easier to write badly.

This first episode of "Picard", though, doesn't feel as "dystopic", grim and airheaded as some of the comments (mine included) here make it seem. It really does feel like a logical continuation of TNG and DS9; the Federation's still a good place and Starfleet still launched a massive humanitarian operation to help its foes. But it's also a Federation that's been driven to paranoia and forced to hunker down after excessive threats from outside. You get the sense - at least from this episode - of Picard trying to drag the Fed back to the stability and nobility of the relatively peaceful TNG era.

Booming said: "So did he paint it and then build the two daughters somewhere between 2369 and 79 or did somebody else somehow build the two"

This episode implies that someone used Data's robot DNA to make robot babies modeled on Data's daughter paintings. The impression I got was that the creator isn't Data (probably Maddox or the Romulans, both who had access to Data's body).

Booming said: "Picard just accepted that two Romulans wanted to become his servants?? I find it strange Picard is comfortable with that."

I thought this was great. The newly designed Romulans look excellent - no rice bowl haircuts or shoulderpads, each unique - and have a sympathetic, graceful, homey quality which we've never seen before. These two seem to owe their lives to Picard, respect him greatly, and really appreciate his attempts to save their people.

Booming said: "Why is the journalist angry about Picard??? Why is it his fault that synthtics went rogue??"

I think she's just pointing out that the attack decimated the fleet that would have assisted the Romulans, and/or forced Starfleet to become somewhat isolationist. I got FOX news vibes from her; she did seem to be trying to bait him into a reaction.

IMO that scene made the episode. It was like a classic Picard MONOLOGUE OF RIGHTEOUSNESS DELIVERED WITH GUSTO BEFITTING A KING.


Booming said: "Did I get that right that there is a galactic ban on synthetics??"

The impression I got was that it's a ban within the Federation, or within Federation colonies belonging to Earth. Seems to be a "some terrorists did some bad things so we ban all brown people" metaphor.

Booming said: "Why do the scientists who study synthetics still have a huge room when there are only like five people working there??"

And why is there a table at the center of this room dedicated to storing Data/B4's body parts?

Notice too that when the scientist enters the room, we get a show-offy close up of the fancy computer touchscreen required to let us into the room. A better director would shoot this in long-shot; its a matter-of-fact, mundane procedure for these far-future people, as dull for them as turning a door handle is for us. TNG was great for its really detached approach to the Enterprise's technology. The crew weren't wowed by it, and neither was the camera. This banal approach led to a sense of realism.

Booming said: "Why are the Romulans building a death cube star?? Didn't their empire collapse??"

I thought it was a derelict/damaged/abandoned Borg cube which the Romulans converted to some kind of facility. I didn't get any Romulan-build-death-cube vibes from it.

Now go watch Orville S2, Booming, we're waiting on your reviews. This whole post is a trick to get you to watch keep reviewing.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 9:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

As with any serialized show, a lot will depend on how the overarching storyline plays out, but judging from this episode we're in for a treat. It's hard to believe this was made by the same people who make Discovery. From the very first frame, this feels much more competent, like classic TNG with just a slightly more modern feel, which I think is exactly what most of us want.

I have many questions that I'm hopeful will be answered somewhere down the line. I thought the revelation that the "flesh & blood synthetics" are made in pairs was kind of dumb, but that's a minor issue.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I heard from my Dad that Jonathan Del'Arco is cast in this series.

That's the guy who played Hugh in "I, Borg." Just saying.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The issue there was that they were a pre-contact species. It's not to do with it being natural causes. The Enterprise helped with natural disasters plenty of times ("Deja Q" and "A Matter of Time" come to mind).
Set Bookmark
Boomer
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Plot Hole:

In the episode "Homeward" the aliens were allowed to die, of natural causes. In this episode, Picard keeps insisting the Romulans MUST BE SAVED. A Supernova is a natural cause, why is Picard involved?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

"I hope that there are answers to this but I fear that we just get hit with Kurtzman's mystery boxes..."

All valid concerns.

But seeing the Enterprise D and Captain Picard Day drawing pretty much sealed the deal. And yeah, it's Picard.... I feel like I've come home and found my long lost friend. They've got my money for as long as they want to put Patrick Stewart in front of the camera.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

While we are at it. The new logo of the space force.
It looks like starfleet command! :D
https://twitter.com/Acosta/status/1220823868853702657
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I have to rewatch it but I'm for the time being part of the resistance, the contrarians.

So is this the prime or Kelvin???
While I appreciated the warmer color pallet I still hat somewhat the feeling that it didn't look like trek.

So is Mars burning for 10 years now? What? The atmosphere? Wouldn't that burn out very fast?? Days probably??

I hope there is some kind of cover up because one wonders how there are explosions and whatnot but the Federation is not sending the space police or something. I mean they were fighting in broad daylight more or less directly in front of that central archive. Wouldn't there be hundreds if not more witnesses?? Shuttles flying around???

How is Picard no badly injured? I once had a mine explode maybe 10m away. That was pretty rough and here it was a huge explosion and Picard was barely 10m away. The shockwave pushed him back several meter. It looks like a small atom bomb?! How is he not dead. Maybe they should check if Picard is a synthetic.

The people who attacked the data daughter said: "Knock her out." but then just put a sack over her head and wait for several seconds and then try to beat her. Was that supposed to knock her out?? Are there not better was to knock her out to literally knock her out??

So Data painted two pictures for Picard 30 years ago around season 5 of TNG. One on which you could not identify his daughter and one where you could. Then he was killed 20 years ago. Ten years after painting this. So did he paint it and then build the two daughters somewhere between 2369 and 79 or did somebody else somehow build the two and for some reason they looked like a set of paintings Data gifted to Picard???... ???

Picard just accepted that two Romulans wanted to become his servants?? I find it strange Picard is comfortable with that.

Nice to see that in the 24th century women still wear skirts and high heels... I'm joking. I actually find it very strange that in 400 years women still mangle their feet, knees and lower back that way. Shattering women's lower body parts from 1960 to 2399. Sure there is modern medicine but still odd that gendered human clothing is very much like it is today.

Why is the journalist angry about Picard??? Why is it his fault that synthtics went rogue?? She also behaves kind of racist. Romulan lifes?! That there is sometimes racism, ok. We know that but that she just blatantly says: "Romulan lifes?!" or "resources could have spent somewhere else" Billions of people will see this. What was her aim? Trying to make Picard snap? What journalist would not be fired after forking this up so badly??

Did I get that right that there is a galactic ban on synthetics?? So the entire galaxy just agreed: "Ok no more synthetics!"?? Also the Federation still has no idea why it happened but still banned everything?? So these Synthetics were not like Data?? Because he once said that his positronic pathways could not be forcibly altered.

Why do the scientists who study synthetics still have a huge room when there are only like five people working there?? And always two have to be created...ok

Why are the Romulans building a death cube star?? Didn't their empire collapse??

I hope that there are answers to this but I fear that we just get hit with Kurtzman's mystery boxes...
Set Bookmark
Omar
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Bold Helmsman

"Others of us would like to have sci-fi that actually talks about contemporary issues, rather than reveling in some outmoded version of the past that was only a utopia for some people"

Then make your own sci-fi series with non-gender specific holograms and bash the U.S. and nationality sovereignty all you want. Leave Star Trek alone.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Ruth, I agree. I was also worried that the show was going to drag out the reveal that Dahj was Data's daughter. I guessed it before it was revealed, but it would have been really frustrating to see Picard stumble around trying to figure it out when the audience had already beaten him to it. By contrast, Discovery really dropped the ball by dragging out the Ash/Voq reveal through most of Season 1. By the time the characters found out, we'd already known for months and didn't share their sense of shock.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Re: the complaints about the title theme

Why didn't they reuse the theme from Star Trek II? It is light years better than anything else soundtrack-wise, at least since Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I also really like that we weren’t “wondering” if she was Data’s daughter for the whole bloody series. I was worried about that. I think not telling us about her, about Data, about Romulus, about why Picard quit, that’s still a bit manipulative, but I guess it would be a heavy infodump otherwise so I forgive it.

I’m also sad that the Romulans who live with Picard are only “guest stars”, I really like them!
Next ►Page 1 of 2,677
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.