Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,931 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,598
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

How cool would it have been if Commander Sela, Tasha Yar's offspring from the "Yesterday's Enterprise" alternate timeline, whom we haven't seen since TNG's Unification popped up in this episode. Even cooler if she was somehow connected to Section 31...
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Two more things:

1) Will Riker's disguise as a Bajoran is far-fetched. As the First Officer of the Federation Flagship he would be very recognizable, even with nose ridges.

2) It would be cool if Ro turns up in the PICARD series!
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

It is interesting that the Marquis episodes in the last season of TNG and the second season of DS9 were designed to set up Voyager, but are actually more interesting than any of the Voyager Maquis episodes, perhaps with the exception of Repression.

I thought it would have been interesting if Ro had become part of Chakotay’s crew and wound up as a regular on Voyager, (like O’Brien moving from TNG to DS9) but that likely would have taken B’Elanna’s place and they probably didn’t want a major Bajoran character on two series airing at the same time...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@ Booming

That was hilarious!!

Yet I try to remember that as a whole, The Star Trek franchise, at it's worst is better than many programs on TV nowadays. Thank you for your post!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Thank you for the advice. It sounds interesting and I will look forward to exploring this hopeful option!!
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@TIM -1
"Sadly, I am midway through S-6 and getting closer to the end of the last virgin- viewing episodes of Star Trek as I have known it. I think I will start stretching them out...like a child making the candy last."

You might want to give "The Orville" a shot, if you haven't done so already. It's a show inspired by Old Trek that shakes a few details up, including the fact that the crew relies far less on magic technobabble to solve their problems. They don't even have transporters (and I think you'd really appreciate their take on the holodecks as well). So if you like TOS and Enterprise, you should definitely check this one out.

A fair warning:

Fans of Old Trek tend to either adore the Orville or hate it with passion. The show has some comedic and dramatic elements that aren't for everyone. I, personally, fell in love with it immediately, but I've also seen Trekkies having the opposite reaction.

So I suggest you treat this as an experiment. Give the show a chance and see where it leads. If you end up loathing it, no biggie. Just stop watching. But if you end up liking it, than that's 26 fresh Trek-like episodes for you to watch (with another season coming up next year).
Set Bookmark
Norvo
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

One big gaping plothole: in Equinox part I it was established Ransom needed to kill over 60 more aliens to get home. He got away from Voyager with one dead alien, but his ship is still falling apart. How will they succesfully harvest dozens of aliens without getting destroyed?
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Neat episode. As well as the Inception parallels, I kinda saw this as a precursor to the ideas of free will and control explored in The Matrix too. There's not a whole lot of depth to this and it's mostly used for cheap thrills, but as it stands, not a bad outing.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 2:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@ Tim-1
Just to mention it. The holodeck is not fantasy. It is science fiction.
To clarify: Fantasy looks back (uses stuff from the past like fairies), science fiction looks forward.
So because the Holodeck is in the future, created by tech it is science fiction. Certainly not hard science fiction.

I always thought that if the Dominion ever finds out how the Feds replicated Will Riker the Federation is done. Why did they never use projectile weapons against the Borg?! The problem with the holodeck is that they just used it when they had no ideas.

Just picture the writers room:

Head writer: So anybody any ideas? No? You over there! Tell me something? Anything!

Other writer: How about Janeway and Paris fly really fast and then turn into slugs and procreate... ....

Head writer:Uhhh Great idea. Maybe we can use that later. Anything else? YOU!

Other other writer: How about eh... the crew eh... lives through a year of hell because of some guy who eh... changes things.

Head writer: That's a terrible idea.... ... ... .Ok... let's do another holodeck episode. And brig me the designs for Jery Ryan's new suit!

Cheers and clapping.
Set Bookmark
TIM -1
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Ever since Far point I believed that the holo-deck technology was too advanced even in the warp-drive age. It seems too imbalanced (especially looking backward to all the impossible scenarios that occurred). In this regard it seemed closer to a fantasy element than a science fiction one. Many good stories were written with it but a lot of times you had to stretch your patience and credibility and look the other way. A lot of times in Star Trek the ship (in any series) would run into the vastly superior, smarter, or more evolved race. Buy hey!....we got this holo-deck stuff that can bring people to self awareness and we can make weapons out of thin air....just for starters! Now that is superior!
I like all the Star Treks, but I have a fonder appreciation for TOS and ENTERPRISE maybe because they had to deal with the dangers more by the seat of their pants in many ways. But I do love Voyager.
Sadly, I am midway through S-6 and getting closer to the end of the last virgin- viewing episodes of Star Trek as I have known it. I think I will start stretching them out...like a child making the candy last. Alas! I would apologize for the rambling post but then....I smile to myself and realize at this late date no one should mind.
Set Bookmark
Warp Capable
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Like everyone else, I never thought much of this episode.

But on reflection, there are people in my life who I have used as "receptacles". Which is to say, I would rant about my frustrations and anxieties to them, and they'd listen, supporting me, but I never let go of anything. I'd be back the next day, next week, next month, ranting again, about the same things, over and over again.

Eventually, one of my friends cut me off. They didn't want to hear it anymore. I was hurt. But I've since realized that my attitude was part of the problem. It's different for everyone, but in my case, I didn't just need someone to rant to sometimes, I needed to make some changes in my life that I'd been resisting for too long.

Looking back at the episode, Alkar here may be in a similar situation. If his negative emotions are so strong that they do, well, *that*, to Troi, he needs to figure out where that's coming from, rather than forever dumping it on others.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Yeah so I'm still very drunk BUT the mini rips, white bread and Hummus gave me some strength to continue (pig power in the house https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxVK3VI4cko). Four 1 star episodes in one evening. Good that I'm protected by drunkenness.

Man, every bad episode DOES revolve around Harry Kim.

Janeway with a different hairdo. Which one do I like more? Women sometimes changed their hair but the only man who changed his hair was Sisko and he didn't change it really... What happened to B'Elanna in later seasons? Did we lose her in the 7 of 9 maelstrom?!

Ok so apart from the Janeway and Paris turning into our future selves aka slugs every bad episode has some kind of Harry getting laid plot. Is that disturbing? I'm not sure.

harry and the black widow planet. I actually knew what was happening around minute 15. This was the worst kind of 1 star episode. BORING. The other 1star episodes made me laugh quite a bit but this is just... watching horny Harry walk through this ruin of a plot is just tedious. And by god why were the women all wearing red and orange. Are these the only colors they can perceive. Change it up a little ladies! So yeah my mind started to wander pretty early. As boring as carpenter street from Enterprise but with less plot. This one deserved 1 star.

What does Jammer think

I guess I agree that the episode started kind of promising. What's happening?? Harry, the seer? Time shenanigans? No just stupidity.

Jammer calls this a laughingstock, maybe I have seen horny Harry one too many times to laugh about this nonsense.

Anything else. Nice to read Jammer's pre Voyager meltdown stuff.

Positive thoughts: Nothing.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

The twist is too obvious to us who know about holograms. It’s weird that they largely copied a DS9 story with a DS9 actor, and then made Kes II his daughter. But this is one of the better one off guest star romances I’ve seen on all of Star Trek. I thought she and Trip had great chemistry, it was very believable, and there’s a believable happy ending too.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I'm still watching but I had to write this down as to not to forget it. Is that correct English. Whatever. Tom Paris just said: "You know what they say about your life passing before your eyes. Well, its true. I was finally getting past puberty." W T F

At this point I stopped to make Jim Beam Bourbon mini rips.

I definitely should have gone to a bar. What did I just see. In a bar somebody could have told me why refugees are the downfall of us all and it would have made more sense than this. I was sitting, ok lying here(I have a recamiere) with my mouth open. I did not understand anything. That's my review.


Ok I'm drunk but this was weird. This made no sense?!! What ??! Have I gone mad while watching this. Demons, blue alerts, liquid Harry. What???

I guess this is the episode where the writers finally snapped.

Let's see what Jammer has say
(The smoke from the rips just triggered my fire alarm. Or was it the episode??? Just imagine me standing on a fragile chair, drunk, trying to silence a fire alarm thingy)

Oh so Jammer snapped several times during Voyager. But he is right. Tuvok you asshole let Netflix have his blanket or his book. WHY CAN'T HE HAVE HIS BOOK??!

Yeah why did Netflix go to sickbay??! Sorry I know. LAME but am I the only one who always thinks Netflix when you hear the name Neelix???

ah shit. I burned my index finger (is that the pointy finger???) while rescuing the burned rips. They are really mini...

So yeah Jammers review. *chuckles* What can I add to that... only one thing maybe. We should spend all our money for modern medicine and plastic surgery to look like our goodess Jery Ryan. All Hail Jery. I mean it!
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I like Vic Fontaine, and I like this episode.

But by my count, of the last 12 episodes, only 2 contained material which meaningfully advanced the Dominian War arc ('Treachery..', where we learn that a disease has infected the Great Link, and 'Covenant', where Dukat's agenda is incrementally advanced)

And then we rush into the last third of the season like our lives depend on it.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Ok, the next 1 star episode. Full disclosure. I switched from golden sicilian white wine to Bacardi Cola and yes I know that Barcardi was basically a terrorist organisation back then (look it up sheeple) but I didn't have Havana Club and the Bacardi was a leftover of a party from last week. Sue me.

This is another "Oh Harry" episode. In Enterprise it was weird sex scenes, I guess 1 star episodes have to include Harry. He is not a bad looking guy, ok he is not Tom Paris and certainly no Chakotay but still... Harry find a women who doesn't give you a virus or is made up of photons.

What else... ehh there is this one guy who is the captain/King/Mullah of the other ship. He is an idiot, kind of. The whole "let my people go" story was so superficial. I did not care one bit about it. By the way, are there systems on Voyager who actually work when they should be (in this case the docking clams).

Is there anything else... well Jery Ryan is always filmed in the center of the frame. (Here a video about male gaze: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNkTeHpHj_I&list=PLJGOq3JclTH8J73o2Z4VMaSYZDNG3xeZ7&index=6) I think Jery Ryan is giving me gender dysphoria.

I laughed quite a few times. To quote the doctor: Sometimes I think everybody has been possessed by alien hormones.

Indeed, Doc. Indeed.

Let's see what Jammer has to say.

Ok, so this episode finally made Jammer snap. This is a weird review. To think that he had to go through four seasons of Enterprise and two seasons of... what is the new show called oblivious... obstacle... ... no its Discovery, yes, two seasons of discovery. I want to give the guy a hug. Is it a he... was that ever confirmed. I think so.

He is right of course. This Harry + horny alien episode is not about love but about sex. They don't know each other apart from certain body parts. We never see them sharing anything deeper than having sex.

Again two heavy mistakes in Jammers review. Tal (Harry's hottie) is not an engineer. She is an assistant engineer. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT, SIR!

The second mistake shows what a corporate shill Jammer is. To quote: "I think we need to turn our attention to the Microsoft and Disney corporations, which maintain joint ownership of Earth in 2031"

Really 2031. Come on Jammer Disney took over in 2018. Who paid you!!

Positive things about the episode: I really liked Tal's lipstick.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

The only thing getting shut down during this episode is the audience's brain.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Finally. I saw the other Fair Haven episode - the bad one.

Well, that made no sense. I must admit though that Voyager bad is on another level of bad than Enterprise bad with which I mean Voyager bad is better.
To the episode. Not much to say. Holodeck stuff. Lots of eye rolling, worst scene is certainly the Doc being hypnotized. It also seems to be quite common that Holodecks turn fictional characters into sentient beings. One would think that the Federation has some kind of protocol in place.
What else... no chemistry between between Janeway and Michael. I get it that she has to find love on the holodeck but what is Harry's excuse. There is a ship full of actual women (or men) Harry?! Man, Jery Ryan is gorgeous. Totally get it why all heterosexual men love her. The blue eyes, the body, the blond hair helmet... ... where was I... right... I would give this 1 1/2 stars. It is just holodeck nonsense but nothing that made me shout at the screen. I must admit though that I was at a wine tasting where I also bought wine. Plus I watched Geostorm before this which is a great bad movie maybe that made me more forgiving.

Let's see what Jammer has to say. (Reading Jammers review)

Wow, I'm amazed how in detail Jammers reviews are. I would have stopped after the first paragraph. BUT Jammer made a pretty big mistake. The town idiot Milo (Mr Pitt from Seinfeld https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWW86eBm5aw) shots the holodeck thingy with a rifle not a shotgun. Shame on you Jammer. I mean who is the idiot now?! Ok it's still the writers.

I'm also with B'elana. Let's shut this town down.

I hope this was the last Fair Haven episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@ gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)

"@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens."

I finished grading VOY and season 5 rated as my #1 Voyager season.

# Eps Average
Season 5 25 3.08
Season 1 15 3.07
Season 2 26 3.02
Season 3 26 2.88
Season 4 24 2.83
Season 6 26 2.75
Season 7 23 2.65
Totals: 165 2.89

"DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!"

It was great when it was on point (DOM War), but some of their filler episodes... burp...
Set Bookmark
William
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I have to say, it's been a pleasure to watch DS9 with Jammer. I know I'm a few years late, but watching one episode at the time, and reading your reviews, it was a wonderful experience. DS9 blew my mind too, much more than TNG (I skipped TOS, sorry bout it).

Thank you for the amazing times and see you on the Voyager section!
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

It's been interesting seeing this episode for the first time since I was a kid (I was abour 12-13 when I originally saw it and remember really liking it and thinking a lot about it afterwards)... so I echo TB's comment. I still think the plot and concept are good (original and engaging), but the execution is remarkably bad, something I didn't notice as a kid at all (amazing how imagination counts for so much when you're younger, and you mentally paper over the cracks and don't notice plot holes and shoddy production as much). As noted by others above, the alien society is really unconvincing - they're not just totally human but even seem American, and then there's even the laughable digital clock with Arabic numerals. Kes's parts are fairly effective, and I like how Janeway and Paris are in this episode (they're a big part of what makes it work), but the way they get caught up in the environmental protest group seems really contrived and convenient - then there's the fact the power plant has one solitary guard (who's easily overpowered) and appears to have no staff at all on the inside, so they just walk in. The ship-side material isn't too bad (and the post-destruction set is convincing), but rather tech-heavy and rote, and the characters haven't quite found their footing yet (which is to be expected at this stage in the series). Most of all, because the budget constraints are so visible, I just didn't feel the stakes or the impetus this time - it was much harder to get invested in the situation and outcome than when I watched it as a kid. Then there's the sudden reset ending, which just doesn't work in the way it's intended. Think I'm gonna settle on a 2.5 star rating - the script is 3*, but the execution is about 1.5*.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

The Enterprise crew (especially Archer and Trip) being belligerent idiots is getting very tiring indeed, and we're barely halfway into season one. What's worse is this could have been the episode to actually challenge their gung-ho attitudes, but no, just a shootout and an easy fix. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Advanced intelligent life - why not?

The iffy part is that they look pretty much identical to humans. Them, and their technology too. Even the most mundane things, like pillows and chairs would work differently in a high-gravity environment.

So yeah, it kinda spoils the immersion.

Still a good episode in my opinion, though. And to be honest: I'm not sure what alternative could work better from a story-telling perspective. I doubt showing realistic high-gravity dwelling people would make for compelling drama...
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don't think a planet with gravity that high would ever evolve advanced intelligent life, and that kind of takes me out of it.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,598
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.