Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 82,411 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,297
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Agreed - as I said, I think it's a very weak point without further explanation. The scripts seem clear about it, though, for better or worse. The argument that is also made that parents would feel obliged to compete and where would it end seems much stronger.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Yeah this one was really creepy. Two women are kidnapped and stripped naked and then their captor takes them to a room with pretty much nothing but a bed, and the show thinks we're supposed to just be amused? The line in DS9 where Lwaxana basically says "Well, it was coerced - at first" didn't help either.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@Tomalak touche.

I guess I don't care for the premise which seems strange that genetic engineering would "enhance" a basic human character trait but admittedly I may be getting pedantic on this point.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Jammer is spot on - a great potential story early on, that descends into chaos. (Or rather, as I saw it, not so much chaos as 1940s Hollywood-style 'romance / jealousy' with sentimental orchestral strings to unnecessarily hammer home the message).

It's a real 'could have / should have' episode. The premise of incorporeal minds was fascinating, though one would immediately question why they hadn't originally built robot receptors before they voluntarily went into the spheres. The hijacking of The Enterprise before making a polite request to 'borrow' 3 bodies, was an excusable plot device, as no-one got hurt in the initial stages. As for the Henok using of Spock's body, that was a highpoint, as we got to see Nimoy getting the chance to emote again.

Kirk's "risk" speech was melodramatically delivered, but a good moment:
"Do you... WISH.. that the Apollo mission hadn't got to the moon? Then to Mars...?"
It's a sobering thought that this was shown a full two years before the moon landing, and now it's only days since a drone flew over the surface of Mars. Fine stuff.

As others have pointed out, it was also good that Nurse Chapell got to share her body briefly with Spock, in a wish-fulfilment of her dreams. Small wonder that it didn't put her off him!

But in the end, I simply couldn't believe in those incorporeal minds retaining their passions and jealousies, and the whole thing turning into a botched melodrama.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

A 2 year stay at a minimum security penal colony in New Zealand sounds like paradise. If you've ever been to the country you'll know what I mean.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 6:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

"It's the 24th century and in TNG 3x12 “The High Ground” @24:40 Data mentions the Irish unification of 2024 as an example of terrorism being successful. So I guess Ireland is one country by then."

LOL! I guess there is still a little more time...
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

"There is nothing in any Trek episode that seriously suggests that genetic enhancement actually makes people ambitious"

Space Seed:
KIRK: This Khan is not what I expected of a twentieth century man.
SPOCK: I note he's making considerable use of our technical library.
KIRK: Common courtesy, Mister Spock. He'll spend the rest of his days in our time. It's only decent to help him catch up. Would you estimate him to be a product of selective breeding?
SPOCK: There is that possibility, Captain. His age would be correct. In 1993, a group of these young supermen did seize power simultaneously in over forty nations.
KIRK: Well, they were hardly supermen. They were aggressive, arrogant. They began to battle among themselves.
SPOCK: Because the scientists overlooked one fact. Superior ability breeds superior ambition.
KIRK: Interesting, if true. They created a group of Alexanders, Napoleons.

Dr Bashir, I Presume:
RICHARD: I'm going to prison.
BASHIR: What?
RICHARD: Two years. It's a minimum security penal colony in New Zealand.
BASHIR: You can't do this.
BENNETT: It was your father's suggestion, Doctor. He pleads guilty to illegal genetic engineering and in exchange you stay in the service.
BASHIR: Well, I want no part of it. I'm not going to just stand by while my father
RICHARD: Jules. Julian. Listen to me. This is my decision. I'm the one who took you to Adigeon Prime. I'm the one who should take responsibility for it.
AMSHA: Let him do this, Julian.
BASHIR: Two years? Isn't that a bit harsh?
BENNETT: I don't think so. Two hundred years ago we tried to improve the species through DNA resequencing, and what did we get for our trouble? The Eugenics Wars. For every Julian Bashir that can be created, there's a Khan Singh waiting in the wings. A superhuman whose ambition and thirst for power have been enhanced along with his intellect.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 6:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Wow. Scotty's experinese at the begineing was how I had it for three years at my last emploeer before they kicked me out. I did not though have to hide in a buffert. On ther last day i managed to recycle all my atoms into a new life. I am also heading to the Norpin colony and trying to enjyoy the charm of every woman until I get there.

@Jeffrey Jakucyk. I do think Picard sentence makes sense in a wider perspective. Although he was a passanger he also acted as a crew in the end partly took command of it. He, although handing the command to Geordi, took possesion of this ship and sacrificed it. Juridically there is a difference of owning and having the possession of something. I have no problem with this "trade".
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

The look Janeway gives Chakotay when the Doc is answering her questions... laugh out loud moment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Before watching checked Jammers score - assumed it must be really good for 3.5 stars!

Snooze fest that was laughable and not believable in many places.

Already forgotten it.

None of it made sense and worse, I wasn’t made to care.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

In real life charcters like Barcaly can be quite tiresome. But you then often learn that they posess hidden but very good quilities, professionally and personally.

As almost always O'Brian comes over so very naturaly and the sceenes between him and Barclay is so very good. The other actors are actors. Colm Meaney does not seem to be acting. He is just transforms to Miles O'Brian, a relible "simple" CPO doing the things he ist told to do.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

re: {{ Troi's reaction to Ral was more like some kind of mind control think rather than any kind of attraction. Of course that might be how Betazoids work. }}

I wish they had made that more clear. I couldn't tell if we were supposed to think his full-Betazoid powers were mentally overcoming her half-Betazoid powers and inducing her to fall for him, or if we were supposed to think that Troi just had really crappy taste in men to fall so quickly for someone so transparently sleazy.
Set Bookmark
nil
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

T'Pol: "Prepare to leave orbit on my order."
Trip: "Belay that. Keep this ship right where it is."

"Engineering."
Trip: "Billy, stand by to vent the nacelles on my order."
"Yes sir."
Trip: "We're not going anywhere!"

So Trip tried to raise a mutiny... where's the consequence? It's just forgotten immediately. You'd think trying to overthrow your superior would have adverse effects on your position as chief engineer. Maybe T'Pol is just very lenient, but I wonder how Trip could keep his position after such an extreme display of insubordination.
Set Bookmark
nil
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

This episode highlights the inadequacy of early Archer. When his crewmen were in peril, he hesitated to call the Vulcans for help, and it needed T'Pol to convince him.

Archer actually considered risking the lives of his crewmen rather than swallowing his pride. At this point, he is clearly not fit for command.

If the best mankind has for commanding their best ship is someone as irresponsible as this, well then even ENT's obstacle Vulcans were right.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Regarding whether Maxwell was "unhinged"-- interesting debate, I remember wondering if he was unhinged or not. In Trek, there's about a 95% chance a visiting Starfleet officer will be unhinged.

But I didn't see him as obviously unhinged. I think the actor did a great job skirting the line. He definitely seemed war weary and troubled. I guess ultimately he really wasn't unhinged.

Bleh, I still wish they had found a way to bring this sort of thing in without there having been a massive ongoing war that was never before mentioned.

It really seems like they were itching to do this kind of thing as soon as Gene was practically on his death bed. The problem is, this kind of thing just turns Trek into something else.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Watched it for the second time today (first time was a few years back). Liked it less this time. It's got a few funny moments but most of it is pretty dumb, and now that I knew the funny stuff it wasn't as good ... similar to Qpid in that regard.

* re: My fave is when Sisko is arguing with Odo and says to him "what were you doing, regenerating?" - yeah that's my favorite line too. Also, Sisko was right, Odo completely blew that call.

* Several have commented about Avery Brooks acting in this episode being good, but I didn't like it. It's too much of a forced "stereotypical angry sports coach" stuff (Paul Douglas and Danny Glover did it much better), and I never liked his raised-voice ov-er en-un-ci-at-ing when he's trying to portray Sisko as stern/angry anyway.

* Just interesting to note, Worf bats right but throws left. I know Rom is left-handed in this episode b/c Max Grodenchik couldn't convincing pretend to be bad enough at baseball without using his off hand, but I'm not sure if Dorn was throwing with his off-hand for the same reason or not.

* The show creators apparently forgot the way Bajoran names work, since the Major's jersey says "Nerys" for most of the episode (there is one brief moment where she's wearing a jersey that says "Kira" though).

* Is it just me, or did they do something subtly different with the Vulcan makeup in this episode than in all the others where Vulcans appear, to try and make them look more stuck up and smug?

* I get that with the DS9 crew they were stuck with the people they already had, regardless of whether the athleticism or lack thereof of the actor matched that of the character or not. But with the Vulcans, why not find 9 folks who all looked like they were decent athletes? The dude who gets up from the dugout to head back to home plate because he never touched it looks like he never had jogged or run a day in his life before.

* Kira may not have baseball instincts, sure, but given who else they had to work with, she should have been one of the team's better players. But Nana Visitor just can't even make it look like the feared warrior and freedom fighter has moved around outdoors much in her life. But then, she was always good at the "emotionally torn" stuff and not at the "look like she could assassinate you" stuff - her fight scenes have always looked unconvincing to me.

* Alexander Siddig seems decently athletic enough that I'm not sure why they never had his (genetically enhanced) character do much of anything in the game. Although maybe he really wasn't, which would have explained why they didn't want to show much of Bashir? Seems like his character would have been a little more convincing in the backflip-catch than Ezri's obvious stunt double was, although really they should have left that out altogether.

* I can buy the Federation having an Official Anthem ... but one that they play before sporting events where people hold their hats over their heart/shoulder, and that sounds so much like a generic western national anthem?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

I think I've seen this episode of Mission: Impossible repeated in the 80's. No latex masks this time.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

MidshipmanNorris: The BBC did censor Remmick exploding.

It was pretty eye popping for 1980s TV, and it may have escaped censoring in the US because it was syndicated and thus wasn't under any network control.
Set Bookmark
MsV
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Realng good episode
Set Bookmark
Jason Rabin
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

@MSV I don't want to beat a dead horse as I've commented on this point in other threads, but in answer to your question, no it isn't because she's beautiful and it isn't even because I think she's some fantastic actress.

I just think she was well-cast for the role and her character worked extremely well. So well that I think she single-handedly saved Voyager.

I think the showrunners thought that they could generate ratings by bringing in a gorgeous actress. They were right, but for the wrong reasons.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@nyghtly
>He's Irish for sure, but there isn't anything to tell us what Ireland actually means in the 23rd century.

It's the 24th century and in TNG 3x12 “The High Ground” @24:40 Data mentions the Irish unification of 2024 as an example of terrorism being successful. So I guess Ireland is one country by then.

Looking through my notes, I only gave this episode a 3/10.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

A strange little episode to review. There's a quite deep philosophical and political undercurrent to it, forming Roddenberry's anti-Cold War message, most especially the conflicts in Korea and Vietnam, with the "Villagers" being the North, and the "Hill People" being the South, while the Klingons represent the Communist East arming the Northerners, and the Federation NATO. Ultimately, just like the real world conflicts, here it remains unresolved, though Kirk's 'Balance of Power' practicality wins out over McCoy's non-aggression anti-war idealism. I think we are meant to sympathise more with McCoy's philosophy than Kirk's (well, I did!), particularly in the character of the Hill People and their reluctance to be drawn into warlike modes of behaviour.

There is also an interesting contrast between Spock's very disciplined Vulcan 'self-healing' technique, and the (portrayed-as-hokum?) 'Witch doctor' healing methods on the planet involving herbs, roots, and incantations... which actually do succeed in curing Kirk's injuries! Interestingly, McCoy's very efficient and effective deputy on board is given an African name - coincidence or deliberate?

Two things severely spoiled this otherwise interesting episode: one was Nancy Kusack's utterly OTT acting particularly when healing Kirk, plus her character's inconsistency (how would a strong medicine woman be so easily overpowered by the rival tribe?). The other... well, need I even say it!? Even allowing for the limited 60s special effects, the 'monster' with the poison fangs was a joke. It would make even a 60s sci-fi producer wince. I could see that on a comedy spoof, but on a Trek episode? Come on!! I could make a better 'monster' from what's lying around in my living room.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

When I mean empathy I mean "they don't mirror your feelings as you feel them". I'm not a psychiatrist and it is quite far from my area of expertise (political extremism, state behavior). I guess you looked it up. I always wondered how psychos can manipulate other people if they lack the understanding of other peoples emotions. Your explanation solves that. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

@ Booming,

Psychopaths do in fact have empathy, just not reflexive empathy. Meaning they don't mirror your feelings as you feel them. But they are quite capable of empathizing if they imagine or intellectually consider someone's experience. And that, they can choose to do or not.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,297
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.