Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,668 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,587
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

It is interesting that the Leyton-changeling exhorts him to "keep practicing." Is this mockery of his weak skills?
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

The problem is the show never makes any production efforts to show he can’t mimic things besides humans. So, many viewers will come to the (perhaps correct?) conclusion that only humanoids are precious snowflakes that Odo can barely begin to imitate.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

And that is indeed the explanation that the show attempts, in this very episode (same scene, actually!):

BENTEEN: Well, if you ask me, that was a pretty convincing seagull.
ODO: Thank you. Though I'm not sure the gulls would agree.

I'm not sure I'm entirely convinced that it makes sense that Odo can even replicate objects that pass scrutiny perfectly but can't do faces, but it is necessary to the construction of the character: he's a misfit and an exile, after all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

"Now, what is inconsistent is that he can accurately replicate other things, like a rat (is a rat's face easier than a humans? I can't imagine why it would be)."

If you were a rat you'd think he looked pretty stupid too.
Set Bookmark
james04
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

One of my favourite TOS episodes. Far more alien, even eerie, than many that were more impressive in production values. And far superior to Q in almost every way. Trelane would have made a much better Q than Q. At times the episode had the tone and atmosphere of one of the more disconcerting Twilight Zone episodes. The lion’s share of the credit for that belongs to the excellent William Campbell, whose mercurial Squire was unpredictable, friendly, ingratiating, wheedling, incredulous, hurt, tantrum-throwing, and terrifying by turns.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

A worthy forerunner to a very good film.
Set Bookmark
Corey
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Damn, Riker. Are you so thirsty to sleep every woman on board the Starship Enterprise that you’re willing to literally infect yourself with a *potentially* deadly parasite, just so you can get up in Crusher’s guts?

Kudos on the commitment level, 10/10.

And how you like them apples, Picard?
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I don't think it's a conceit that Odo cannot accurately reproduce faces; it's consistent with a character who is a novice, largely untrained shapeshifter. Note that in episodes like "The Alternate" we see that he is capable of a lot that he cannot control. Now, what is inconsistent is that he can accurately replicate other things, like a rat (is a rat's face easier than a humans? I can't imagine why it would be).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

You know what I have realized? I don't actually hate this show, or at least not every aspect of it. The characters are growing on me. Hoshi, Phlox, Trip, Reed, Archer, even T'Pol - I am kind of liking them whenever they are given just a little oxygen. There is so much potential here.

And it's being suffocated, one f-ing time travel plot after another.

I haven't done the math, but I am pretty sure the 3rd season had north of 25% total episodes where someone was travelling in time or encountering a time traveller - and that is not even taking into account that the Xindi arc was itself a big time travel plot. Bakula might be doing more time travelling at this point than he did in Quantum Leap.

Someone has hijacked this show and taken it in an utterly insane direction.

This falls squarely on the shoulders of the showrunners. Fatigue with TNG era trek didn't kill Enterprise - the nuts in charge did. This show was sabotaged plain and simple. The showrunners have fundamentally, irrevocably lost the plot.

What a crying shame.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Wtf?! More like Yeaaggh!! The future needs to let the past the F alone!!

That's it. I am now officially in full skip mode, starting with this latest wretched time travel plot. Alien Nazis? Don't care not interested. Skip. Skip.

This show is appalling.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Ha ha ha ha!

When everyone else is saying "there's just too much technobabble", there comes George Monet who listened to the technobabble carefully only to say how wrong it is.


@George Monet:

There is such a thing as energy. Energy. The quantity that is conserved according to physicists. Think of it this way: all ship systems are using one form of energy or another. After using this energy, what happens to it? It becomes useless from the thermodynamic perspective (entropy increases). The only way for this to not increase the temperature of the ship to unmanageable levels is to radiate it out of the ship. All machines do this, and the Enterprise does as well. This is the energy that the booby trap feeds off. So I don't think using energy instead of particle names is lazy. In fact I think it is appropriate and correct. The shields have never been depicted as being able to stop simple radiated energy. (If they could do this, (a) the Enterprise would be a stealth ship and (b) it would heat up very soon and blow up.) (PS. I know radiation is photons.)

In regards to your second question, I think a good way to think of the booby trap mechanism is that it was generating a warp bubble which continuously warped space in such a way that whatever movement the ship made, it could never leave this bubble. The solution was to do an impulse burn so short that this warp field does not react thus allowing the ship to exit it.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Nopoet, as far as I can tell it’s all men not taking this seriously, from the writers to the commenters here. And your example is a bit extreme compared to what Trip experienced in the episode. He wasn’t raped just because he got pregnant and human women can only get pregnant through sex. As he was quite keen to point out, he didn’t have any sexual contact with anyone.

I found it quite appalling though. Why wasn’t abortion even mentioned? They did in that Troi episode and it was simply that she didn’t want to, so there’s no excuse here. He clearly doesn’t want to be pregnant and Archer acts like he’s being childish instead of a victim of a violation with a potentially serious condition.

I hadn’t clocked the water under the boat thing. That’s pretty silly.

I really liked the alien ship and Trip adjusting to it. Organic ships and partially organic ships are very cool. And their holodeck is beautiful. Shame the story is so stupid and offensive.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

The problem with this episode is not that it presents a moral dilemma. Done well, moral dilemmas make great fodder for Star Trek. The issue is the execution.

First, the crew never really pinpointed the heart of the matter: whether the Crystalline Entity was sentient, and thus could be not only communicated with but reasoned with, or whether it really was (1) sentient but evil, or (2) a sperm whale instinctually feeding on cuttlefish.

If you're in the former territory, Picard has a justifiable stance. If you're in the latter territory, killing the Crystalline Entity is justified. Planets with intelligent life aren't cuttlefish. And park rangers kill bears that have mauled humans. (To be clear, Picard explicitly stated that "it may be necessary to kill" the Crystalline Entity, so clearly he's contemplated the latter territory.)

Second, Marr's character came off as a mustache-twirler from the get-go with her threats to disassemble Data. Moral dilemmas work well when each side can make a credible case (see "Ethics" for a good example), even if one viewpoint ultimately prevails (e.g., "Drumhead"). That's the opposite of mustache-twirling.

If we wanted someone to truly critique Picard, either Marr or another character needed to delve into the heart of the matter above. (Troi would have been the obvious choice; in "I, Borg," she observed that there were no civilians among the Borg. And Guinan did the same thing.) The inexplicable choice to focus the first third of the episode on boring scenes set in caves left no time to cut to the chase.

Third, you can't ignore the fact that "Silicon Avatar" is a sequel to "Datalore," and that ultimately is what undercuts Picard's position here; "Datalore" strongly suggests that the entity knows what it's doing.

So in sum: potentially interesting dilemmas spoiled by poor execution and a one-sided antagonist. "Silicon Avatar" is no hidden gem.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"I rather suspect that if you or your family had had dealings with a rampaging killer, you wouldn't be here defending this thing."

I actually was prompted to re-watch "Silicon Avatar" this evening after re-watching PATRIOT GAMES and vaguely remembering that the actress who played Mary Pat Foley was in a TNG episode.

FWIW, in PATRIOT GAMES, the Deputy Director of CIA, a guy named Marty, tells Jack Ryan -- whose family had been attacked by an IRA splinter group -- that "you are a victim of terrorism, and that does not make for the best analysis." The movie never followed up on this point (it wouldn't be Jack Ryan if he doesn't work at CIA!) but Marty had a point.

We do not, in Western judicial systems, let victims determine punishments -- yes, we take them into account, admit victim impact statements into the record at sentencing, and so on. But we ultimately recognize that victims do not always offer an objective prescription for the appropriate course of action going forward.

I mean, in real life, should victims of IRA terrorism have been able to scuttle the Good Friday Accords?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Certainly a boring episode. Really hard to rate 1.5 or 2.
Loomis is so one dimensional. He makes no sense as a character. He himself points out that the moment the cops put 2 and 2 together they will be onto him. All that for 55000$ without any escape plan. In the end he gets what he deserves.
The audience can lean back and think:"Haha, you thought you had a deal, scumbag." *eyeroll*

Blalocks performance, as always, completely flat. I don't understand why they hired her. Probably thought: Oh, she cannot act but she plays a vulcan so it doesn't matter." I also learned that the blue satin v-neck belly-free top is her sleepwear. So in the last bad episode I watched, she massaged Tucker in her sleepwear? jeez.

Archer will always be my least favorite captain. Archer always feels more like a teenager to me, not like a seasoned captain. Kirk was a guy who was adventurous but Archer always comes across as someone shouting on the bridge:"I will go on an adventure and you can't stop me mom... I mean T'Pol."

Maybe it was revealead in an episode but where does Porthos go to shit and piss. Is Archer just walking around with his dog picking up poop and calls the cleaning people to clean the 3-6 places where the dog made it's urine mark. Is there a dog park on Enterprise?
Plus he tortured Loomis which of course works immediately. mhh 2004 simpler times.
Set Bookmark
james04
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 4:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

It was quite watchable……until the Tin Man’s re-hashed nonsense about the Gadgets of the Week being alive. Sorry, but they are not alive, and neither are is the TM. The TM is a sophisticated machine, nothing more, which gives the illusion of being more because it is the invention of script-writers who are more. Data is as genuinely tiresome as the well-hated Wonderboy was said to be.

The episode stopped being intelligent, and became tiresome. Machines with angst are funny, now and again, because they are ridiculous, but when the angst never lets up they become tedious. Data needs a convenient airlock - or better still, a trash compactor. Unfortunately, that does not happen in TNG. But human beings, unlike St. Rubbish-bin, are expendable.

And having a weird hairstyle like something from Cosmo does not an alien make. Ray Bradbury was able to make even things on Earth seem alien - a gift far too few script-writers in ST shared. TNG is all too often a soap opera in space.

Still, at least the nauseatingly twee Trevis and Flotta were not inflicted on the viewer. Mercifully, neither was the unbearable Q. But an episode does not become a good episode merely because detestable characters do not feature in it.

Two stars.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

"But I agree, to hell with Shakaar. He's not particularly good at his own job, it seems... Yet he barges in and tells O'Brien he can't even witness his own baby being born"

Yes, so many problems with the B plot. But the most glaring was that it only worked at all because Shakaar temporarily lost 50 IQ points for an episode, started acting bizarrely, and then unbelievably all the women - even Keiko - decided Miles was equally to blame for wanting to witness his baby's birth in the face of TempMoron-Shakaar's protests. It was like the writers didn't even try to make their own script make sense.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

In a bit of retroactive continuity, it's clear that Sirella had some sympathies for T'Kuvma from Discovery Season 1. Sirella subscribes to an idealized version of Klingon history and worries that aliens are adulterating Klingon bloodlines. This sounds exactly like someone who would get seduced by T'Kuvma's ideology.

And despite 100 years' worth of changes to Klingon society between the two series, I doubt T'Kuvma's ideology has completely disappeared. (We know that there are still Molor worshippers in Kronos, for instance.)

All of this makes Sirella a lot less likeable than she already was.

All in all, I think this episode suffered from way too may cliches: the angry mother-in-law; calling off the wedding at the last moment; the caricatured Klingon bachelor party. It had its moments, and I enjoyed Jadzia's scene with Sisko and her Polynesian-themed party. And yes, I do think Worf and Dax had some chemistry; but the execution was still poor.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

In Will's defense, at least he didn't kill Tom in cold blood like he did with another duplicate William T. Riker.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I've just finished rewatching this one. Add me to the list of people shocked at how unpleasant Will was to Thomas. He deserved a clip round the ear for that gratuitous hostility to someone who really needed support.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@ Rahul,

If I were writing a sci-fi story I'd probably have to create some kind of timeline of how long it takes races to evolve into 'godhood' or whatever. Trek doesn't have a defined view on this and each writer does his/her own take on it. I don't think looking around for specific examples will tell us much about making a general rule here.

Even if it were established somehow that a million or so years is enough to become an energy being, there's (IMO) a very definite thread going through DS9 that the Founders are *extremely* stagnant, both in their worldview and in their way of life. All they want is to go into the Link and stay there. It's an aggravation for them to even have to interact with the rest of the galaxy. It's pretty much the definition of xenophobic shut-ins. Even if some other race could have developed more quickly in less time, my argument would be that the Changelings are ironically the most stuck race of them all, basically doing nothing for thousands of years at a time and sitting in their little orgy or whatever it is.

I think I once mentioned it on another thread but there's a good book called Calculating God by Sawyer, and (SPOILERS) the major premise in the book is that races tend to vanish randomly at a certain stage of development. We find out later in the book it's because as soon as a race has the technology to plug themselves into The Matrix, basically, and experience nothing but pleasure all the time they will do so. One method of doing this is to upload themselves into a computer system that will perpetuate their lives forever in paradise. To me that's basically what the Great Link is: the eternal pleasure button where you disappear and cease doing anything. It's Youtube surfing on ultra-steroids. Based on this premise (which I do think is intimated in the scripts, especially in S6) I would suggest that they have been completely stunted for an extremely long time, and that it takes losing a war and almost being wiped out by a virus to wake up and look around.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

Oh come off it-TOS episode series One-Enemy Within-transporter duplicates Captain Kirk.
This is a more mature but nevertheless reworked version of that story.
The eternal triangle was quite good but absolutely agree that Deanna just leaps at Worf next season only to lose him to Jadzia Dax in DS9-that Worf is a right tart isn't he?
I too cannot see why Will Riker has to be such a bung hole to what ,in effect, is a sort of long lost twin brother.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@Peter G.

I really don't believe that that 4 billion year old alien race in "The Chase" is or became the Founders. If they were, by the "Star Trek paradigm" I think they'd probably have turned into pure energy beings instead of "merely" shapeshifters given 4 billion years time. The Founders are nowhere near the most advanced species in Trek.

Another thing comes to mind re. as how long it might have taken the Founders to develop into shapeshifters from solids and why I don't think they've been around for even a million years: In "Errand of Mercy" (if memory serves) Spock speculates that the Organians had like a million years or thereabouts to develop into energy beings. But one thing that's problematic is in "Arena" the Metron told Kirk that in (again, if memory serves) 1000 or 1500 years humans could be like them. Now this seems quite farfetched.

I think what you said in your last paragraph is reasonable/logical as to the reason why the writers have it so Odo can't mimic humans properly but the Founders can -- it is a fanciful conceit, as I said -- and obviously Odo is DS9's Spock/7 of 9/Data so they have to make his face appear non-human and innocent enough looking for the audience's benefit. But the Founders need to be able to mimic humans accurately to be a real threat and thus, voila, they are able to.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 1:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Craig

This episode was a fan submitted script used due to the writers' strike so that explains why the characterizations are all off.

In the writer's defense, whether Picard is interested in archaeology or not, he's still a Starfleet captain and handling looming aggression by the Romulans should be his top priority. It's not like he couldn't have a nice long chat with the cryo-hippies later.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@ Craig,

You're not wrong. There are some other times in the series where I get the distinct idea that the Enterprise crew is somewhat elistist and doesn't really like talking with people or aliens who are 'less civilized' than them.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,587
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.