Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,579 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,344
Set Bookmark
J.
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

Everything felt recycled in this episode. A form shifting villain like the man trap, a green seductive alien woman doing a dance like in the cage, the torture chair like the other rehab episode gone wrong with the hand logo uniform insignia from that same episode. Even the aliens were recycled from previous shows. This was like a cost cutting hodgepodge of things from previous shows put together due to an obviously strained budget. D+ at best. You’d think a minimal 2 man security escort preferably 4 men would have been prudent given the danger of beaming the Captain and First Officer into a n asylum, penal colony ripe with danger.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Dear God! The nonsensical nature of Ocampan mating/reproduction is like a never-ending pit. Just when you think you’ve hit rock bottom, someone uncovers another brick in its wall of absurdity.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Sad to say, that's a pretty good estimate! : )
Set Bookmark
Alan B
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Wow, this thread has been going for a while. One thing I noticed which I don't think has been mentioned, is that Kes's father is supposed to rub her feet.

However, given an 8 year life span, and fertility happening at the age of 5, wouldn't most Ocampa parents be dead long before their offspring had children?

I.e. Kes' mother had her at age 5, when Kes reaches 5 herself, her mother would be 10, and therefore long dead. It would only work if Ocampa males always mated with much older females so they were still around to do the foot rubbing... Entirely possible, but just another bit of weirdness to add to the poor Ocampa.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"It's possible that the fall of Betazed is all the more shocking, both to characters and audience, because everyone implicitly accepts that prescient & mind-reading Betazoids should have seen the attack coming, but were by the millions, unable to sense that the Dominion was anywhere near the place."

If TNG is any guide to how useful these powers are at figuring out the non-obvious, only once all the ground troops had landed and slaughtered a couple of million people would some Betazoid would have said "I sense great hostility!".
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 7:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

It's possible that the fall of Betazed is all the more shocking, both to characters and audience, because everyone implicitly accepts that prescient & mind-reading Betazoids should have seen the attack coming, but were by the millions, unable to sense that the Dominion was anywhere near the place.

Added shock factors include that the planet is a particularly idyllic locale, which is never shown having a standing army, i.e., the Tibet of the galaxy, like Alderaan in SW.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Initiations

Writing mainly to up the number of comments on this rather decent episode. Aron Eisenberg generally delivers a quality performance, and here, as Kar, he doesn't disappoint. He's great with "Angry Young Man" material, as often seen in his early Nog renderings in DS9, but his "Kar" adds a dash of menace which I thought rang true.

Chakotay came off a bit flat, but I liked what the writers wanted to say through him. Peace between whole peoples is worth the individual's self-sacrifice.

All that being said, the sacrifice of the shuttle craft to allow peace and quiet for a compact ceremony that could have been conducted in a Jefferies tube was criminally stupid. I will be counting the remaining shuttles with care.

A pleasing little episode to me. 3.0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

I think the writers intended to have us think that the "heretics" they were talking about were scientists / logic people; the conflict they were talking about on their home world was science vs. religion. They made us believe it by the T'Pol vs. D'Jamat argument, and D'Jamat's continual mocking of science. So the reveal that the conflict was religion-v-religion was supposed as a surprise. It did surprise this commenter at least.

Maybe the writers were attempting to quickly convey religion-v-religion conflict, through the words of a basic religious zealot. Many on this board are reading too much into it and expressing their disdain that religious conflict is much more complex than such an absurdist reduction. Yes, it definitely is, but if you had to reduce it to a single sentence, it would seem as absurd. E.g. conflict over whether some guy was resurrected or not.
Set Bookmark
Amber
Sun, Jun 20, 2021, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Loving reading the comments on capitalism after the pandemic, if there’s one thing covid has taught me it’s that people NEED activity to stay healthy. So, actually I do find it more plausible than ever that people in a post-scarcity world would continue to work.

Weirdly, I was actually thinking about the Star Trek commerce problem while I was out walking last week, and I decided that in a space restricted area like San Francisco, (notice Harry seems to have the bedroom and the kitchen in a sort of one room studio apartment, probably lazy set design but actually kinda realistic to crowding?) buildings that you run businesses out of could have ‘rents’, but the rent comes in the form of ‘unit of thing given away’. So in other words, for the type of business you want to run, some datacruncher figures out what demand floor should be, and you have to clear a certain hurdle of meals produced or clothing given away each month to keep your spot. When someone goes out of ‘business’, potential replacements can pitch their businesses to people in the service area of their business, sort of like one of those competition shows (except probably like most civic things, at most a handful of people show up or care) and then the winner can take over the building. Complicated, but idk? That way demand doesn’t play no role in who gets to use what space.

Anyway, like other people have said, I think this episode went about things the wrong way. I think the better idea is that Tom should want to go back to Voyager. The twist I would put on things is that both Tom and Harry were in the shuttle- they both remember. Tom immediately starts scheming to get back. But he somehow gets arrested which puts a brief pause on his plans, during which time Harry settles into his new life. Harry gets therapy to cover the fact that something happened to him. He knows it’s probably not true, but he’s gotten some kind of bullshit trauma induced memory loss diagnosis because his friend was lost on Voyager. He’s trying to hide that he lost time and compensate.

Finally Tom is released and finds Harry. Harry is a bit freaked out, but at the same time, you get the sense that he is relieved to see Tom. Like others have pointed out, Libby and his new work pal aren’t that great, they’re status seekers so Harry’s great life is actually pretty fragile. He’s managed to keep things together for the time being, but as soon as Tom convinces Harry to use his Star Fleet access to start poking around, then it sets off the paranoid government response and then you start to see all the cracks appear in Harry’s life. So at first it seems like Voyager would be great for Tom but not Harry, but then you realize Harry’s life had some issues too. The fact that he is a high achiever means he’s attracted people who are users. This could also be the episode that got him over Libby, because he sees that actually she wasn’t that great.

Ugh, and after the last episode, I realized if they had wanted to pair Kes with a stable relationship, they would have been better to pair her with Harry I think? I mean that would have been so much more age appropriate and Kes and Harry are both kinda quiet, laid back low key people I think it would have made more sense. I mean Neelix was the worst, but then Tom was also a weird choice for her.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

Also, for people upset that "photon torpedoes" are being used in the 22nd century and also the 24th, the Phoencians used bladed weapons we call swords and the Vikings used bladed weapons we call swords, and they're separated by a thousand years. The principles behind each remain the same (stick 'em with the point end, ha), but there's a world of difference between, say, a copper gladius and a steel longsword. Both in the technology to make them and in their performance and effectiveness. A model T and a Tesla are both cars, are they not? They even have the same basic form as dictated by their function, yes? Don't get hung up on the semantics, is my advice.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

The writing is still incredibly lazy. Future Guy shows up to tell Archer who did the attack because there's literally no other way for Archer to find out everything the plot needs him to find out so quickly. And of course they just have to get their "the aliens are being manipulated by people from the future into doing the attack in the first place" BS in there. So now all of Starfleet and the Vulcan High Command knows there's a Temporal Cold War, too. It's not just something Archer and his senior staff are keeping to themselves like they're supposed to be doing. Continuity obliteration complete.

It's not a credulity problem that the Xindi tested their weapon on Earth, or that they didn't target San Francisco. They tested the weapon on Earth because the transport system to get it to Earth is part of the weapon. Whatever makes it work clearly needs special calibration to get it from the Delphic Expanse to Earth, and if they test it on another planet, they wouldn't know if that calibration works. And they didn't target San Francisco because they don't know much about Earth. They don't know where Starfleet headquarters is--they weren't told everything.

It's not a problem Enterprise now has photonic torpedoes when a few episodes ago Reed had never heard of them, meaning Starfleet didn't have a program for developing them. Starfleet didn't develop the technology. They traded for it. Other races in contact with humans have them, so it's only a matter of time before someone would sell the technology or it would be discovered by espionage. That's how it is with technology. It proliferates. In fact, it's amazing Enterprise doesn't have forcefields and shields yet (or even holodecks), considering they immediately met tons of races that have them (great job, writers).

Of course all this may be contradicted by episodes in the next season, I don't know. I half-watched it when it first aired, but not closely enough to have any memories of it. It wasn't the Star Trek I wanted to be seeing, all anger and phaser battles and soldiers. Nothing thoughtful. When DS9 did the war, there was tons of thoughtful storytelling and reflection by the characters amongst everything that was happening. Maybe this time through, twenty years (or close enough) removed from 9/11 and the Bush presidency, I'll find there's more there that doesn't come off hamfisted. We'll see.

Oh, and it's obvious why the writers went with "Xindi" instead of Romulans, who are the race that should have been used. They can't show any Romulan faces. That's a nightmare for writers, it closes off so many avenues for storytelling and for developing the human stakes of the conflict. It can't ever really get personal. It doesn't make for great television, or at least not twenty-six hours of it. In this case, it was the right choice.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I just did a re-watch of this episode and, despite all the attempts at rationalizing I've just read in the various comments above, there's absolutely--ABSOLUTELY--no way to square what happens with Trek continuity in any way that passes the credulity test. Absolutely no way, that is, except by invoking those three dreaded words from the worst storyline idea Enterprise ever had: Temporal Cold War.

Yup, that's right. This whole thing with Enterprise's encounter with the Borg wasn't supposed to happen, and while Time Agents from the future couldn't manage to stop it from happening because they were being opposed by another faction, they were successfully able to suppress any record of it having happened or knowledge of it having happened from becoming widespread. Thus, the timeline was preserved. Archer and co. didn't know this battle was part of their participation as an active front in the Temporal Cold War, but it was. Yup. There it is. Now I can squint enough to find some amount of enjoyment in this episode rather than overriding disgust at how stupid it was begging its viewers to be.

I mean, it's still an episode the show shouldn't have done. If this is the kind of stories you wanted to tell, why did you make THIS show? I know just how bad the ratings were (deservedly) and just how dire the show's survival prospects looked at the time, so I'll excuse the desperation that led to it. But in the long run, did it really help? Did it do anything other than piss off dedicated fans and reinforce their belief that this show just didn't care, didn't have any respect for them, and didn't have anything to offer instead? No. Not as I recall, anyway. This episode that was envisioned as a turn-on for lapsed fans instead was just another in a long line of turn-offs for those fans who were sticking with it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

It amuses me to no end that Netflix selected scenes from this episode showing the Ligosians appearing aboard the Enterprise as the preview for STNG when you select the series. Someone has a sense of humor.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

I like some things. I like Sloan's trap for Julian at the end, of giving him his secrets, and Miles' role as Julian's conscience/connection to the everyday world rather than the information/spy/hero fantasy, dragging him out of there.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Hah, I guess I'm the only one who really likes this episode.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Sigh2000, you're right, this is strangely parallel to "Emergence".



This was definitely mostly tired retread off cliches.

I could have done without the the tired faux peril "if we don't make it out of his head before he dies, we die too!" Really?


This one just screams budget, including the lengthy Julian/Miles corridor scene. There are not cuts, and the dialogue was trying to reuse the hilarious scene from an earlier episode where O'Brien got stuck saying "Julian, people either love you or hate you. When I first met you, I hated you. And now...."


The pitch sounds good.

* We need a cheap bottle episode because of the other very lavish episodes we are doing

* Bring back the popular Sloan

* Another Julian/Miles romp

* Get the Odo cure
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

I like this episode. Very upbeat and I like how showed how people could fight in the future.
Set Bookmark
J.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

This is an episode that you can’t take too seriously. Just have fun with it. The part with Elaan’s bodyguard working with the Klingons to sabotage the Enterprise was an exciting and fun part to an otherwise subpar story.
You would think the dylithium crystals would have been dangerous to handle if they gave off so much power in the engine room. And the Klingons trying to sucker the Enterprise into warp speed and destruction was a fun twist. I’d give it a C+, lots of fun but a goofy episode.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

@petulant

I agree, 100%

@Prince of Space

Uh? I just watched this on Netflix and there was no reference to flossing. If there had been, I’d have at least got a good laugh.

@William B

Yes, the look on “electrified Riker’s” face was indeed “so bad it’s almost good “!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 3:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Awful, boringly preachy episode. Poorly paced, badly staged, ridiculously obvious and clunky dialogue. The scene where Tasha explains drugs and addiction to a wide-eyed Wesley sums up the bottomless pit of just how bad this is. As for the opening scenes where Picard tries to debate with the Ornarans what their problem is, instead of taking immediate action to rescue them... unbelievable!

You know, I used to think the upcoming Skin Of Evil was the worst episode, but now I’ll reserve judgment - it will have to go a long way to beat Symbiosis.

0.5 stars, if that.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

Jammer said:

"What doesn't hold up is the plot advancement surrounding the computer virus and the Enterprise's solution, which is to essentially wipe the affected hard drives and restore them from backup. In a word: Duh. Shouldn't that have been the first course of action? And doesn't the Enterprise computer have virus-protection software? I also find it doubtful that the Yamato crew wouldn't be able to figure out what was going on when they had just as much information as the Enterprise crew. But I quibble on a basically solid show."

That wasn't what I got from the Staff Meeting scene where Geordi first reports on the Probe.

It wasn't a "virus," I don't think they used that way of describing it. They just call it a "program." From what I am gathering, this "program" is trying to install itself on the Enterprise Computer, as it installed itself on the Yamato Computer. But the two computer systems are absolutely incompatible with each other, was the problem. The Iconians destroyed their own civilization 200,000 years ago, according to Data's sensor sweeps of the planet, but they had technology that was super hot dog submarine sandwich hot air baloon holy crap advanced, compared with 24th Century Federation Tech.

To use an analogy that modern Windows Users would understand, it began trying to rewrite the Enterprise's Protected System Files to be compatible with it, in a futile attempt to install itself.

Basically, this process was never going to work, but it's just a program; programs do not know what they're doing, they are only sets of instructions.

But this is all just a really roundabout way of saying, the Iconian Program was not a virus. It might well have been a video message that explained what happened to them, or a dynamic recompilation protocol that would allow people to communicate with the Iconians, back when they saw visitors. It could be a recipe for hasperat for all we know.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

In a lot of ways, this became the prototype for what TNG would become. I think, for me, this is the first episode that is not merely good, but "Good TNG."

You notice that Troi is looking a lot more normal? I noticed it too. This is more the look we came to know Troi in, and her dialogue here is a bit better than before, even if still not terribly critical. There isn't any Counselor Obvious moment in this one, let's put it that way.

In addition, there are just enough plot threads running through the episode, and its pacing is pitch perfect such that they all get adequate screen time and exploration.

And that's really the key word here, this episode is a dynamic and acutely sharp take on the "Space Exploration + Sciencey Space Stuff" Subgenre of Trek Episodes that we all love so much.

Trek is always at its best, when it is just being Trek. The Cage wasn't "too cerebral," studio heads were "too uncerebral." And the early 70s syndication run of Trek proves it, not to put too fine a point on it.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Two fun episodes and cool that they chose the 90s, which is when I grew up. It's good to have episodes like this once in a while.

I know it's science fiction, but I find it incomprehensible that even a very smart guy from the 20th century would be able to reverse engineer 29th century technology. Ed Begley being able to hack into Voyager? Come on.

And apparently even in the 29th century the security of starship consoles is just as strong as it was on Enterprise D, DS9, and every other Federation vessel in history. Begley is able to simply sit in the chair and talk, and he has complete access to the ship. If I leave my work computer for 10 minutes, the screen locks and my password must be entered.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Pretty decent series finale. Minor complaints:

* I firmly believe Garak would have shot Odo before allowing him to link with the Founder.

* O'Brien's mentioning he would be leaving DS9 once the war is over just seemed weird. As viewers, we know the Feds will win and that most likely O'Brien would survive, but a character in the story indirectly suggesting that just seemed wrong.

* Intercutting the space battles, the events on Cardassia, and the end of the war scene on DS9 with Winn and Dukat's story made it seem like they must have been in the caverns for weeks.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

I meant Rosot, not Vornar.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,344
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.