Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,544 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,342
Set Bookmark
J.
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

This has to be one of the more goofy episodes in the original series. One of the few I was glad to see end. I didn’t like it and thought it was way too syrupy. The Aliens could have simply tested on animals and proven what they needed to know. Dismal episode if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I thought it was okay, not sure why everyone brands this as a disaster, a bunch of non corporeal aliens dueling it out on the station and all Sisko and crew can do is stand idle by (okay except for the chroniton flooding).

Yes it's the boring narrative of good vs evil, but the entire point of the episode is about how far are you willing to keep your faith. What shocked me is Sisko blindly believing the prophets will save his son, but again it's established at the beginning he fully embraced his role as emissary.

As for Wynn, I sorta disagreed with Kira, I think she did it because she feared losing her office of Kai and seeing Sisko take all the glory if the prophet won.

As for ''the prophet'' and '' the paw wraith'' , how can one battle determine who wins , last I checked there was more than one entity on both sides.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

I'm sure quite a few are reading them.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3K2N7FZSXc ;)
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

A Story:

An almost typical TOS setup, especially the planet set, rather cheaply done on a budget. The programmed salesman was a clever and entertaining device, especially the way he went from recorded message to the ability to answer questions.

B Story:

Nice interlude with Picard and Crusher, perhaps the first time we’ve seen her in a role that’s not either bland doctor or over-protective mother. Some back story about her upbringing and family.

C Story:

The strongest element I believe, was how they developed Geordi’s character into effective command role, with Troi also given a strong part for a change. The only thing I found absurd was yet another Chief Engineer (Logan) whose presence was presumably only to test Geordi’s ability to make strong decisions. Will we ever see Logan again? I can’t remember so even if he does, it couldn’t have been earth-shattering.

Footnote: good to see Sulu’s granddaughter Su in his seat! (Joke...)
I’d give a strong 2.5 stars, but it would have been 3 if the A Story was handled better.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

@Trish

LOL

@Booming

It’s true (smile) - but good to know that someone is reading them!
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

While DS9 mastered the art of developing guest stars into great secondary characters, Voyager excelled at killing them. It seems like Voyager loves to kill off its crewmen like the good old redshirts of TOS. Brad Dourif did a wonderful job as Suder, and to see his character arc continue as he redeemed himself and perhaps even rejoined the crew one day would have been rewarding. Hogan was a likeable character...similar to O'Brien...and killing him off was just dumb.

Also, does any Federation ship ever win a battle? It seems that they let other ships pound the living shit out of them, consoles blow up (fuses weren't invented until the 27th century), engines are always disabled, and their weapons have no effect.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

The thing that really bothered me this time is that there's no way in hell that Picard should be making the call on whether or not to aid Gowron. Even Starfleet Command wouldn't be making that call. It should be up to the Federation Council and President. Also, I would have expected someone to bring up the fact that by not supporting Gowron, the alliance is being risked no matter who wins. Obviously if the Duras sisters prevail, the alliance will end, but if Gowron wins after asking for Federation help and being denied, he's likely to be much less friendly towards to the Federation than he might otherwise be.

As for the Duras' sisters cleavage costumes, they're obviously just for eye candy, but if one wanted to fanwank it, you argue that it's a subtle (by Klingon standards) form of boasting. "I'm so tough, I don't need to armor my most vulnerable areas because no opponent will ever get that close to me." Plus, Klingons are supposed to have all those redundant backup organs anyway.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Oh and I'm also willing to dispense disbelief to some degree in that the humans are doing fancy 23rd+ century fighting techniques but that the show can't adequately depict this. That's what some of the novelizations suggest. For example, Kirk didn't defeat Space Seed Khan merely by hitting him with a plastic pipe.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Trek has struggled with fight scenes, which is kind of weird. At least this isn't as bad as early TNG, like Heart of Glory, where security officers jumped their whole bodies in the line of fire.

That said, I don't think this particular hand to hand was staged poorly. Parts of it might have been.

But Sisko being able to defeat Klingons with a batleth is crazy. I can buy Dax doing it because of her history.

To me, the Klingons fight so incredibly poorly that if I were Sisko, I would believe it was intentional.


Rewatching this, I get the feeling Avery Brooks was not at all pleased with Michael Dorm joining the cast. Sisko seems incredibly blah and subdued in the relevant Sisko/Worf scenes. It's quite possible Brooks perceived Dorn's arrival as a threat.
Set Bookmark
Defor
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Loved it. Picard back and Stewart hits all the right tones with the older Picard. A lot harder to accomplish than the worship-Him at-all-costs version in the TNG series, not that he didn't sell that either. Rios, Raffi, Agnes all good, will get more character growth in Season 2.

After reading the prequel book that beautifully features the tragic breakdown of Raffi's personal life because of her obsession to help Picard with the Romulan evacuation, I feel like the writers should have spared more time to her redemption. Oh well. On the opposite end, thanks to the writers for giving Data a proper goodbye.

Bring on Q and the new challenge.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

@Malia
>We destroy insect colonies all the time. Are we "evil"? for not wanting roach or termite or wasp infested homes? To Species 8472, The Borg Starfleet, etc., may be lifeforms at that level, when compared to them.

I don't think that species 8472 are so far advanced compared to the Federation that they view them as insects. I would reserve that comparison for energy beings like the Organians. The thought of aliens being that much more advanced than us is kind of scary, lets hope they are peaceful and don't view us as insects or vermin. Who knows, perhaps we will evolve in to such powerful beings that we are like gods compared to aliens. I'd like to think that we become peaceful gods with compassion for other beings.

Over all score for this episode is 5/10.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

And when you have a chance, read the section of the agreement that Pikard uses to end the standoff. Bits like “in the event something screwy happens with the treaty, messages in bottles or any other water, gossip and half truths,” It’s hysterical!
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

“He's riling up the people based on false information, scapegoating, and appeals to emotion.”

Try to imagine how Trump would have responded to a demand that we evacuate the country. Now imagine what his supporters’ course of action would be. We say the response is shallow and two-dimensional. Seems spot-on to me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm with Stef on the Sixth Sense - it was telegraphed in trailers. I didn't watch the movie and said to my wife, that man is dead isn't he, because the boy says he sees dead people!

As for T'Pol, it crossed my mind when I first saw her but then thought, nah, they keep giving Vulcans immunity from abnormalities so she's up helping. But that makes me come to Jammer's question why Phlox chose her... it was to throw us off the scent of her being an hallucination.

At the end I was half expecting the reveal but i still chuckled at the misdirection and this added value to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I get a strong feeling that the ending was supposed to be the following:

When silver Harry Kim sees the unknown ship approaching on sensors he knows silver Voyager has but moments left to survive. In a desperate attempt at securing posterity, Harry Kim tries to send the unknown ship logs, newest-first. Only a few files are sent before the silver Voyager disintegrates. When they are received and decoded by true Voyager, they turn out to be the Doctor's photographs of Tom and B'Ellana's wedding.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

@Tidd
" Don’t be such nerds!!"
Says the person that has written dozens of Star Trek reviews. :)
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

@Tidd

If you think our conversations here are nerdy, then you must not have read Phil Farrand's Nit-Picker's Guides to Trek.

Ever notice how people's professional work sometimes has something odd in common with their hobbies? The same attention to detail that lets me find misplaced commas in book manuscripts makes it fun for me to come here and play Star Trek nerd.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

I’ve read the other comments and I must rail against all the “This is so inconsistent in relation to what we know about the Klingons in Series 4 (5, 6, whatever)”. For heaven’s sake, are you not going to allow the writers to develop a theme during a multi-season show?! It’s a fictional series... There will always be inconsistencies looking back with hindsight!! Don’t be such nerds!!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

In some ways a good solid episode in which we learn more about the Klingons (and Geordi’s visor) than ever before. It was good to see Worf’s character developing including his back story of his upbringing by humans. The death ritual scenes were convincing and the whole ‘Klingons are dishonoured by the alliance’ bit was believable.

However it spent too much time on exposition and too little on action making the episode rather ponderous. As for Picard’s fascination with Geordi’s visor while the away team are on an unstable ship in the neutral zone... ha!

I didn’t enjoy this as much as I should have - 2.5 stars but nevertheless it was one of the better episodes.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I think this is also veeeeeeeeeery hot, also a little disturbing and it goes on quite a while.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXnsqDLOnmw
Set Bookmark
Mal
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

For hot digit-on-digit sex, click here!

https://youtu.be/zMbI_7PHDH0

Oh Kathy, don't you like to watch?
Set Bookmark
Razzmatazz
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Wowee, Freud in space. B’Elanna has some seriously repressed trauma, with a side of major Daddy issues. Tom gets to play therapist at the end while B’Elanna gets a heavy dose of the Talking Cure. Hitchcock wouldn’t even.

2.5 stars - the designer baby issues (i.e. the actual sci-fi component in this soapy episode) are well done and very intriguing. I wish Trek had done more with this stuff (Khan and Bashir notwithstanding).
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

As soon as I finished this train wreck of an episode I rushed to this site certain Jammer was going to be giving it something higher than the 1 star it deserves. Sure enough, 2.5/4. Garbage site.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

this show is pretty bad.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Torpedoes go in the water
Next ►Page 1 of 3,342
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.