Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 58,267 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,331
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Those are thoughtful comments, Jack. I enjoy the Moclans (as a gay guy) but I really see where you're coming from. Please don't feel guilt/shame.

For me, part of the issue is that certain aspects of the reality of gay male culture end up falling between the cracks – on one side you have religious conservatives (of various faiths) who have a problem with gay people full stop, and on the other you have a lot of well-meaning progressives who treat gay people like special magical unicorns that must be protected at all costs. Which makes it hard for gay people to honestly and openly discuss problems within the gay community. A lot of gay guys have had really unpleasant and traumatizing experiences within gay male culture – gay-on-gay bullying, the cult of hypermasculinity, body shaming, assault, abusive behaviors etc., not to mention drug abuse and promiscuity – and it's really hard for gay men to talk about these things, because not only does it get shut down within their own community, but well-meaning straight progressives don't want to listen either because they don't want to engage with any negative discussion of homosexuality, out of moral narcissism. I have a friend whose family was totally accepting and supportive of him when he came out, but he found himself marginalized and mocked by other gay men because of his appearance, body, dress sense – and most of all, not being "masculine" enough. Every piece of gay-related media he'd consumed as a teenager had told him that the exact opposite would happen – that his family would reject him but he'd be welcomed with open arms by the gay community. In reality it was the other way round.

There is a damaging cult of masculinity and misogyny among gay men, and while I don't think the Moclans are an intentional parallel of this in any way, I do welcome the depiction of a complex, three-dimensional, same-sex-attracted society that has its own distinct set of problems which aren't brushed under the carpet. Then there's obviously the issue of porn addiction and sex addiction as covered in Primal Urges, which affects straight and gay men but is a particular issue among gay men.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 12:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

I actually enjoyed this one. I am not sure why. Troi was okay despite this one being about a truly emotional time for her. Maybe Because I enjoy Laxana for some reason. Again not sure why.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

@Presto

Yeah, not forgetting that Derulio thing. And it was treated as normal-ish by everyone. But it was also a product of alien biology and, well, not normal. Or, well, consensual.

But we haven't seen a normal same-sex human relationship -- although, arguably, we haven't seen a normal male/female human relationship either yet.

But yeah, all the characters (including Bortus and Klyden, arguably), have been straight. Also Derulio (he'd just boink everything).

Again, I'm not trying to police what they show. But the Moclan society is getting pretty dark -- and, well, there was a long history of gays being painted as destructive and dark (remember the war on the family and the gay agenda?). The gays were basically the Borg to plenty of conservatives.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 11:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I'm repeating myself here, but I'm certainly not asking for portraying the Moclans (same-sex-relationship characters played by black actors) as sunny and perfect. I'm thrilled that they're not doing that.

This is a Seth MacFarlane comedy -- none of the characters come across as sunny and perfect. And they'll all occasionally be the butts of jokes. But the show is kind-hearted, ultimately, to most of them. We haven't quite seen that with Klyden yet. He's a bit of a stereotypical shrew. And again, the Moclans have been presented as dysfunctional and harmful in a way that other characters haven't been.

And I get that the show wants to use the Moclans to critique a rigid, dogmatic, heterosexual, cisgender society. And maybe to critique male gender role rigidity. Or too say that, hey, we need chicks to be happy. And maybe riff on the TNGs Klingon stuff. Maybe? I have no idea.

I just don't think it always works. And I do think some people will see them as gay -- and as proof that gay people are screwed up and unnatural. Sure, those people will think that anyway. But I wonder what a young gay kid will think when they watch this?

The good: all the characters and the union accept the Moclans, generally and aren't phased by the same-gender thing.

The bad: the culture is portrayed as backward and barbaric (tooth-eating, husband-killing, baby-mutilating, shunning of all difference). And Klyden and Bortus sure seem miserable.

It's still worth doing. And it's interesting. I just think it's a lot of episodes on these themes in the first 20 or so episodes.

Maybe my biggest beef is that Klyden is the most one-dimensional character on the show. He's an unpleasant, nagging housewife. It's not funny. It's not saying anything. And maybe he'll evolve. It could also be the actor or direction. Bortus is funny, generally. Klyden is awful, generally. Again, maybe there's something interesting there (he was born female and forced to change). But what's that saying, exactly?

Also, logically, why would a species where males can procreate have females, even in small numbers, at all? Or was this all engineered by the society and is, again, unnatural -- so, could some see that as proof that the gays want to destroy the traditional family and get rid of all women (which we've been accused of)?

It's just a TV show, but I want to know that the writers are aware of some of this stuff.

You could make a similar argument with Clare and LeMarr -- that they're both shown as stereotypes -- she's a single mom struggling to cope and he's a slacker. She's also the "wisest" woman on the ship (another black sterotype). But I think the show shows both are both human and highly capable.

So I might be wrong about this Bortus stuff. Maybe we've moved past all this.

And, again, complicated and nuanced is good. And we should be asking ourselves uncomfortable questions.

I just think this stuff is worth thinking about.

And maybe I'm projecting my own crap/guilt/shame onto a Fox sitcom.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@Booming
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 1:45am (UTC -6)
@Yanks. "Not that I ever saw that as a problem. :-)"

"While I get your point I think it is a problem. Because acting ability is sacrificed for physical beauty. Terry Farrell, Jeri Ryan, Jolene Blalock all mediocre actors at best who started as models. And while it maybe pleasing to watch for (heterosexual) men they lowered the acting quality of the show."

To each his own tastes for sure, but Jerry is a most capable actress. I agree concerning Terry and Jolene, average a best. Although I think Jolene was perfectly cast for T'Pol.

"And I am not sure if we have the same problem with Sonequa Martin-Green. I think she is a better actor than any of the three but is she good enough for the lead role?"

SMG is intellegent and beautiful but, until recently I have found her to be lacking in the emotional side of acting. I do think she has improved slightly during season 2. This could be just a case of being familiar with the character... I hope so.

"Think about some of the favorites: Spock (not good looking), the voyager doctor (worse than Spock), Sisko (ok looking), Data (not good looking)
Just think about how it would have impacted these shows if they had cast more attractive but less charismatic actors..."

It's the whole - what exactly is better looking. there are MILLIONS of women that find Spock better looking that Kirk! You have some TV parts that actually list how certain body parts need to be this or that. It's always been a "bigger deal" for the females. Is that right? ... I don't know... I think harsh might be a better term. Women are just as consious of their looks as men are appreciative of them. You aren't going to make a very popular show if everyone is "ugly".

I think Star Trek, especially the spin-offs, has suffered through some pretty bland acting talent throughout the years... and it certainly wasn't always a give and take with looks. I think it's like that everywhere, not just in Trek. Sometimes you hit gold, and sometimes you just hit mud.

Jerry, Jolene certainly were "displayed" in an effort to appeal to folks, but neither turned out bad and both played thier parts very well. Terry is a little different deal because they didn't stick her in a catsuit. Funny, Kira was more of a catsuit wearer in DS9.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 3:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Tim C

Oh, sure, I weighed the possibility that Section 31 might possess these super mad computer skills to hide their tracks over the span of centuries, and everybody else in the Alpha Quadrant, including their A.I.s, are basically just a bunch of "utopian" dimwits, but then we're going down the road of the Illuminati and every other ancient secret society that's supposedly thrived(s) undetected under the noses of the prevailing social order—and so naturally Occam's Razor cut in and I dismissed the notion on all counts for lack of credibility.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 3:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

“…I don't see any point in turning this into an argument on semantics.”

Huh? I quite clearly flagged my own remark as being pedantic to begin with. The obvious conclusion would be that I was well aware of the minefield I was stepping into. No further step on your part was required.

But then you had to step into it anyway…

Logical fallacy: appeal to common practice.

Who gets to decide “common usage” and its validity anyway?

You? You and a couple of drinking buds? You and a couple of drinking buds and the Ladies Cheerleading Squad? You, a couple of drinking buds, the Ladies Cheerleading Squad and your clearly unimpressed mom—who’s been waiting for over an hour for you to drive her to Walgreens like you said you would?

I’m not telling you that you’re wrong necessarily, only pointing out the essential flaw in your argument, because no one is obliged to adopt your “common usage” or any other group or groups “common usage,” particularly if they belong to another group or groups with their own “common usage.”

Which brings us back to dictionaries and utopia, which, whether you like it or not, does have a lexical meaning.

Unless you’re going to suggest dictionaries be amended to accommodate EVERY “common usage” and applicable frame of reference out there, including one specifically for Star Trek… or, because it’s all such a bleeding headache, you just want to see each and every last one of the bloody things tossed into a river, I’d suggest just using scare quotes: “Utopia.”

Cut! Print!

@John Harmon

Re: usage of “utopia” in-universe

Ya, maybe. I certainly entertained the possibility. But I don’t think anyone here, including myself, is going to marathon over 300 episodes to test that theory.

@Trent

Re: your reactionary list

I don’t recognize STD, J.J. Trek or Enterprise as canon, and DS9, as I’ve gone on and on about to the dismay of some, crossed that fine line when Section 31 entered the picture, so I can only respond to concerns as regard TOS, TNG, DS9 pre Sec. 31 and VOY.

A) “Yeoman Rand enjoying being sexually harassed/raped by evil Kirk, moments of sexism, the dropping of Number 1 from TOS.”

That’s would be a misreading of events. By the end of the episode Rand knows it was Evil Kirk who assaulted her. At the same time, however, she’s also cognizant of the fact that Good Kirk desires her, and for very obvious reasons. When she is just about to address the issue Kirk gently and professionally saves both of them any further embarrassment with a simple “thank you, yeoman.”

But that civil exchange goes right out the window with Spock’s closing line: ”the, uh, imposter had some interesting qualities, wouldn't you say, yeoman?”, which is an objectively deplorable attempt by the writer to inject levity at the end of the episode given her experience. Note Spock’s smile and Rand’s unspoken, turn heel “Men!” Pure comedy gold, amiright?

A more disturbing scene, however, is when Rand—and in her own words—struggles to rationalize her defence, literally going as far as to tacitly condone a captain’s prerogative to objectify and take liberties with his staff. It’s classic Stockholm syndrome.

As for Number One, I believe her dismissal was a network directive. The very fact the character was created and filmed at all rather contradicts her mention on your list.

So, yes, TOS’ blatant sexism does undeniably make for discouraging and uncomfortable viewing some times. No argument here. But in the political sense, the status quo doesn’t react upon itself, it only perpetuates itself. The Women’s Liberation Movement’s rejection of the status quo, however, kicked off a reaction and reactionary movements intent on preserving and/or restoring the status quo.

B) “the early portrayal of the Klingon's as a "yellow menace", the franchise's uncritical endorsing of a Cold War narrative (west good, eastern aliens bad).”

The Klingons have for the longest time been associated with Soviet era Russians, whereas the Romulans were the “yellow peril,” but given Klingon naming conventions it’s kind of hard to ignore the obvious Asian influence. No matter, I think the introduction of the Organians in “Errand of Mercy” and the critique of the conflict that unfolds rather punctures that interpretation of yours.

C) “Hippie bashing.” I don’t think so. Yes, Kirk, as the authority figure and spokesman for the status quo in the room, regards Sevrin as a possible threat to life and property, but not because Sevrin and his troupe are members of a counter-culture. No, I think instead it’s because Sevrin, as we discover, is clinically unstable, and his condition WILL probably lead him to be a threat to life and property. Besides, Spock literally endorses the troupes search for a place other than the UFP to find their happiness.

So, no, “The Way to Eden” is not Ward Cleaver pointing a dismissive finger at the counter-culture movement at large, but rather it’s a direct warning from the writer and producers to all the young viewers out there in the audience to beware charismatic crackpots clamouring for Paradise.

And if anything, the mental instability angle is an anti-drug message.

Trivia: “The Way to Eden” was broadcast in Feb. 21, 1969. The Manson Family stepped onto the national stage and into televisions just 6 months later.

The remaining mentions on your list aren’t specific enough for me to address.

@Quincy

Re: moustache-twirling

Personally, “Mirror, Mirror” was the only episode not played self-consciously for its camp value.
Set Bookmark
I’m With Reg
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 2:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

I really did not enjoy this episode. Rather than being moved by the so-called father-son dynamic between Mora and Ofo, I found it patronising to the point of being offensive. I was not surprised by Quark’s referring to it as a family reunion — the Ferengi is of course fairly insensitive in matters not relating to profit, and never misses an opportunity to irritate Odo — but when Sisko drew the same parallel later it struck me as inappropriate and insulting. Only Dax, in the scene on the runabout where Mora urges Odo to tell his story and then proceeds to tell it for him, appears to have any real compassion (albeit quizzical) for Odo’s situation.

This prevailing attitude, of treating someone potentially sophisticated (in this case, demonstrably) or ancient as though they were a child just because they’re new or different seemed at odds with the guiding principles of Starfleet, which here seemed to be veering back towards the “we come in peace, shoot to kill” parody rather than more enlightened attitudes. Or is this because I am watching Trek, now, through the prism of another fifteen years of human history?

I was also troubled by Dax’s wanton destruction of an archaeological site. Is it really Starfleet policy to simply beam out anything of interest, vandalising history in the process? I seem to remember that in TNG episodes we saw head-mounted ‘video’ cameras, which would have been the responsible way to record the ruins and the characters on the obelisk — particularly as it played no part in the plot whatsoever aside from various cast members giving it meaningful looks and Odo and Dax’s goofy aside about it moving from one side of the lab to the other.

Another niggle: why does Mora exclaim “my god, what have I done?” Isn’t Bajoran faith based on the Prophets? Wouldn’t “oh, the Prophets” have been a more appropriate oath?

As so often, and recognising the need to wrap up 43 minutes of drama before the commercial break, the closing scene was strange. I’m not sure what was meant by Odo needing to speak loudly enough, or even what Odo was apologising for — it felt to me as though the wrong in their relationship was all in Mora’s side.

Overall, then, this episode really didn’t work for me. Even the title didn’t sit right.
Set Bookmark
Gally
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Thomas

I disagree, utopia is what we should be working towards, and when we get there civilization will be complete. Aldous Huxley knew this, you should read Brave New World if you haven't.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I'm right with you, @Gil, on the technology for recording and retrieving history being so superior to our own. But the Enterprise computer being able to spit out an answer to "Computer, did Starfleet Intelligence ever have a black ops division?" doesn't guarantee that anyone is ever going to care to *ask* it decades after it officially stopped existing. Even then, who's to say that the *only* answer would be "Section 31, circa 2135 - 2293"? Or that the answer wouldn't be "That information is classified to Level X or higher"?

I agree that there's surely specialists who know the territory and can talk about the old stories of holographically-cloaked starships and black comm badges. There'd likely have to be several higher-ups in the admiralty (ala` Ross) who are aware of it, and Starfleet Intel agents themselves would definitely have heard tales. But your average Starfleet officer is unlikely to have ever heard about it except perhaps as a passing reference, and if the S31 of the TNG era are doing their job competently then they'd have no reason to ever ask.

Final point: this is a crazy sci-fi world where Data can magically disable a super-advanced race of cybernetic beings, or weird computer viruses can transform ships into history museums, or a self-destruct program can remain unnoticed in the background of a Cardassian computer system for years. It's not particularly outlandish to grant that S31 may simply have been able to, over the course of many years, strategically erase records of their existence in all the systems that matter. Or even maybe just Memory Alpha, said the be the Federation's central repository of knowledge.
Set Bookmark
Burger
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 1:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Nice shot of the shuttle landing on the planet, & Muldaur is a better actor than all the others combined - no wonder they had to get rid of her. Everything else about the episode is just bleeeh, clearly knocked up on the back of a postage stamp. Final dialogue - Riker: Set course & speed for such-&-such. Wesley: Course & speed laid in Sir. Uhmm - any chance of specifying *what* speed? Dumb.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

3 stars

Very thoughtful episode that uses an original sci fi idea to communicate a good message while being entertaining in the process.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

2 stars. Idea in principle for this episode is a potentially interesting one but the actual story executed around it fizzles. The best part were some of the inmates
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

2 stars. Rather underwhelming. The aliens were lame. The idea behind their experiment underwhelming and not very satisfying. Pretty bland overall
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Catspaw

2 stars

I like spooky atmospheric episodes but this was quite disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Ah Worf jumping over the console. I have fond memories of that.

Again, the low tech planet a la TOS. The animal creatures were very Dr Who or perhaps its Dr Who that copied TNG?

I don't like Q episodes as a rule. But this one was better than the last. It really showed me how the Q treats humans as pets or circus animals to be toyed with. An animal rights lesson for us all.

Tasha`s tears and behaviour.....oh my god. I hate to say it but a low point of acting, of script, of direction. Why do they portray her so unprofessionally? And I don't remember cringing when I watched it 30 years ago.

This episode really highlighted Picard and Riker`s goodie two shoes behaviour and perhaps this is the Roddenbery way everyone talks about. I don't mean that Riker should have become the Q but there was something about their pontificating that was grating and simplistic.

2/4
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Not a bad VOY outing that works some familiar themes (shuttle crash, rescue under duress from time and enemy fire, instant romance with an alien). Was going to use Jammer's "hard-headed aliens of the week" but then I read his review where he says: "These are Uncooperative Aliens of the Week (not to be confused with the slightly more extreme Hard-Headed Aliens of the Week, who would probably open fire on Voyager rather than just cutting off a communication effort)."

I liked the Paris/Tuvok dynamic where Tom presses the Vulcan to open up. But what didn't work was the supposed romance building quickly between Noss and Tuvok. When Paris first challenged Tuvok that he's in love with Noss -- how could he possibly come to that conclusion given that they had just met? This felt forced as if to set up the examination of Tuvok's conquering of the love emotion and Paris' ongoing attempts at prodding Tuvok (which eventually work). And the Noss character's sudden change to hating logic when spurned by Tuvok didn't feel right either. Another attempt at romance on Trek that failed.

The "Uncooperative Aliens of the Week" might as well have been hard-headed. This is typical VOY and is usually the weakness in any episode they're in. The ones on the planet had evolved into raiders putting Noss under constant threat.

I liked the idea of the subspace sinkhole combined with the temporal anomaly that makes the people on the planet forced to spend a long period of time together. That has potential if Noss is a better character. But I'm glad they didn't make this another 7 episode -- other VOY characters are being marginalized.

As for a Tuvok character examination through the flashbacks to his youth -- perhaps he's now a stricter Vulcan given what he went through with the Vulcan Master who helped him get over unrequited love. But Tuvok eventually "breaks down" and explains to Paris and through the mind meld explains to Noss -- but the episode didn't really explain how he got over love -- just that he did as a Vulcan. So not a well-done character examination for me. Was it supposed to be the main thrust of this episode or just in the background of a mainly rescue mission episode? I suspect it was supposed to be the main thrust. But if so, it was half-assed.

2.5 stars for "Gravity" -- some creative elements here were nice like the planet and the initial lack of the universal translator for Noss - made it feel like Star Wars for a bit. The rescue under duress was OK, but the romantic element didn't work (which isn't surprising for Trek). As Tuvok episodes go, this one didn't really give us much more about him ("Innocence" was better in that respect). Tom Paris can be quite nosy. No way is this one of the better VOY episodes in a solid Season 5 but it didn't suck either.
Set Bookmark
Thomas
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

What would have been more interesting with Culber is if the spore-network Culber who got 'rebirthed' back into the fetus didn't carry his memories with him, and therefore doesn't remember Stamets or their relationship. Not only does it makes more sense scientifically (not that this is saying much in such a scientifically absurd premise) since DNA doesn't hold memories, but it would give rise to a promising narrative thread between the two characters. I find Stamets fairly bland so giving him some mental anguish to work with wouldn't have been a bad thing.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Quincy that's why people prefer Star Trek not go back to the Mirror Universe though. Previously we've seen MU characters in small doses and it gets old fast. Now we have one of those shallow cartoon villains given her own show.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

It’s an ambitious episode, which I appreciate. But issues of war and its effect on the human psyche are very hard to get right and this episode falls well short. The word “hackneyed” is perfect for this episode. Every cliche was used and every bit of stilted pretentious dialog was spoken. M.A.S.H. did it much better and was funny too.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

As far as people having a problem with mustache twirling Georgiou, can someone refresh my memory as to which evil mirror character, besides Spock, wasn't a mustache twirling caricature. I can't remember one, but I've only seen about half the mirror episodes anyway. Otherwise, that seems to be par for the course for mirror characters.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I hated the fact that Culber was brought back. Not only is it the wrong move story-wise, it didn't make any sense how they did it. How did he transport Culber into the network? I could understand if they'd had his body originally being buried in the network somehow, but the way they did it just made no sense. Also, the crises didn't make any sense at all considering the reveal. How the hell is shadow bark encrusted Culber killing off her people? If he's covered in toxic tree goo (which to me seemed to be native to the network), which was poisonous to spore creatures trying to eat it, JUST STAHP TRYING TO EAT HIS ASS! Problem solved. They have free will don't they? They quit trying to eat Tilly when told to. Go on a damn dead doctor deficient diet and STFU. How hard is that?

The May alien rebuilds his body from scratch with that same diseased booger interface with which she pilfered, plundered, and pillaged Tilly's village. I guess it's half replicator-half transporter. It breaks the body down atom by atom into a matter stream and transports you into and out of the spore network then reconstitutes your form. In this case, I guess she had Culber's pattern and she rebuilt his body from scratch with the replicator function.

It's definitely bad for the show. Culber's death served the show well. It increased the tension as it let the viewer know a main cast member can still die. Now not so much. It humanized Stamets for me at least. Up till then he was just the show's resident asshole. I thought for sure they were going to leave it at his being unable to cross over at the point when they were trying to get back home. That would've been a powerful moment and would've saved the episode for me. "You have to let me go." That could've led to some real character development for Stamets, but no such luck.

Only thing I like about this episode is that the dirty booger alien lost her Tilly interface, rebuilding Culber's ass from scratch. Maybe, just maybe, we won't see her behind for quite some time. I've got my fingers crossed. There's been entirely too much Tilly these last too episodes; I don't know how much more of her I can stand.

Another thing that's annoying me, it seems this season is destined to get overly maudlin from now on. All that panic with Burnham running to the spore room at the beginning was way over the top. (She was trained as a Vulcan. It's an artistic mistake to have her gushing all over the place, regardless of whether or not people want her "emoting.") And at the end, all that garbage about Tilly's sudden onset best friendship forever with May, whom she couldn't wait to get the hell away from ever since she found out she was ghost/dirty booger alien, was absolutely ridiculous. You staged a booty invasion, ass-jacked me to the upside down, and now no one knows me better! You're totally my BFF!!! Dafuq?!?
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

This is the first four star episode of the series. I don’t know what the following episodes will be like but I think they really pulled out all the stops and tried hard in this one. After the disappointment of the last six episode arc of the last season, I think this was a serious course correction. Now that doesn’t mean I love everything. I still think Sarek and Spock are a little bit of a gimmick. This changes everything in the Trek cannon. I’m supposed to believe Spock NEVER mentioned his sister? No I can’t really get behind that. They could have made Sarek be just a normal different Vulcan. But now it’s too late and the show must remain married to Michael being in Spocks family. Another mistake is Lorca. He was great as their captain. Like I said that whole mirror universe six episode arc was just....not good. But so far Pike is the next best thing. Having Discovery find the enterprise with Pike would have been enough fan service without having sarek and Spock involved.
Set Bookmark
Johannes
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Utopia is a pretty much meaningless concept anyway.

If it means no one wants for anything, well, Barclay is still neurotic, Picard still wants children. There's still a counselor on board. People still suffer, and wants haven't gone away even though they can be satisfied at the touch of a holodeck panel. Utopianism doesn't seemed to have helped Barclay or Picard in that regard.

If utopia just refers to material wants, then many of us already live in one. Many western countries will let no one starve or go without housing (with the USA an exception). There are no flying cars or holodecks, but if we're using that benchmark then the mind will always conjure up better versions of things we don't have, no matter how well off we are materially. Own a spectacular cliffside property overlooking the mercury oceans of Kepler-90i? Well, wouldn't you like to own a whole planet, or star system?

I'd love to see a world where everyone got all their physical and emotional needs met no matter their situation, who they are, where they're from, what they look like, or what they've done. But I think we'll find that if and when that happens, nothing much will change in our lives without a dramatic change in mindset away from a mode of existence centered around 'getting'. That is a utopia we don't need to wait for, if we want it.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

I've been watching DS9 for the first time and I've pretty much been on the fence the whole time this season. But this episode was INCREDIBLE!!! WOW! I seriously can't put into words how good it feels to say this episode is amazing. If this is the kind of storytelling I can expect from later seasons, than I am totally on board with this series.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,331
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.