Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 82,241 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,290
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

It is not a perfect episode but it is good. Now rewatching it, this episode with Ro was the only one that I could remember parts of. I like the character but it was a little bit to obvious and perhaps overplayed.

There where a lott of nice sceens really brining the contrasts and then suddenly Guinan who refuses to accept this in her own way.

Guinan is a very intresting and useful character: I am though glad that she appars relatively rare and seldom gets really important in the plot. Here, as in "Yesterdays Enterprise" it works find and is one of the goodies.

Although curious , I am glad that the mystique around Guinan is alwasy there. You only get small hints and never a real presentation of her people.

Ro's similarities with Burnham are striking, with the big difference of class. Ro beeing a real refugee and Burnham some sort of adopted nobility almost.

I will be intresting to see the following episodes.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Well, if there is no threat to the entire galaxy then why should the audience be excited?! So much of this stuff looks like the bad legacy of the super hero movie era.

The Burnham thing at this point feels like a liberal version of a right wing trope. The uber special hero who comes in to solve all problems (with violence). She is basically Clint Eastwood. But what made Eastwood to some degree relatable was that the problems his characters encountered were small scale, he was forced into it and nobody else was around/lawlessness (only true for the western; in modern settings the state had to be incompetent and corrupt so that the excessive violence could be portrayed as necessary). The Mandalorian is a good example for a modernized version of this formula.
Set Bookmark
Shrantastic
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

One of my favorite Enterprise episodes. One thing that's ironic is how it's the Vulcan initiate, firing wildly in the reliquary, who causes part of the cloth covering to fall, reveal the metal portal, and ultimately undo the Vulcans' deception.

Some of the posters ask why Archer would ignore the alliance with the Vulcans to let the Andorians have the info about the listening post. Can you imagine the actions the Andorians may've taken against the Enterprise landing party then and there, and in talks later, if he'd tried to prevent them from seeing through the portal and getting info on it. Archer's whole motive was to end the hostage situation and get his crew back safely, and the Vulcan monks didn't help much. Plus, the metal portal was very out of place in a reliquary.

And I think Archer directing some of his disgust or head-shaking toward T'Pol at the end wasn't really personal toward her, but his very human response to the Vulcans having held Earth back from space travel and how their scientists slowed his father's development of the first warp five engine and the Enterprise. So, understandable, I think.
Set Bookmark
Jean Michel
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Another BIG THREAT to the galaxy? And this time it's a... it's a... A GRAVITATIONAL ANOMALY! Oh the sheer creativity of this writing team! A TNG/VOY episode stretched across an entire season, that'll work!

Spoiler alert: Michael Burnham saves the galaxy. Or the universe. Or the mirror universe. Or the Q-continuum. Everybody cries.

FFS. Why is that that the only people capable of taking care of a THREAT TO THE GALAXY is this one pathetic starship? There's literally an entire galaxy of civilizations, and there's nobody there that can take care of those threats except Michael Burnham? For crying out loud, why is this universe so small?

Coming season 5 to Star Trek: Discovery: the crew faces a threat to the entire galaxy! And this time it's a... a LAMP MONSTER!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

KIRK: I have far.

KIRK: Too many.

KIRK: Redshirts. I MUST.

KIRK: Find SOME... way, to

KIRK: Reduce... their....

KIRK: Numbers.

Don’t share the general approval of this episode. Apart from Shatner’s melodramatic histrionics, the whole business of sacrificing colonists (and why - given the circumstances - couldn’t the Yorktown have met with the Enterprise at a convenient midpoint to transfer the vaccines?), and the general acceptance that it was fine to destroy an intelligent lifeform, I just can’t see the good points.

That’s not to say there aren’t redeeming features. Spock and Bones are excellent, though I did laugh out loud at Spock believing he could stop a gas coming through a grating by pressing his hands against it! Garrovick is also good, as is Nurse Chappell.

In all I can’t give this much more than 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
dave
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Someone can correct me, but I believe women went from command roles to "yeobabes" because network people felt the show had no future with a woman in a command role. Number One was not well received even though she would have been one of the best characters on the show based on what we saw in the Cage.

Hard to fathom now, but that is how they thought back then.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

@Silly

Can't remember off-hand but was this Earth they were at? Regardless, who's to say it's the same spacedock? 70 some years have passed, so, they probably just built a bigger Spacedock in that time.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

I wonder if the writers' strike affected this script? It's not just a plot hole in this episode that Riker blithely ignores very strong and specific advice from two senior officers, it's more like a series wide plot hole.

First, Worf is alarmed they are sending their chief engineer.

Then Troi, in one of her most accurate empathic roles, tells Riker exactly what is going on. And her line is spot on and rather damning: "You think they are weak."

Riker looks like a blithering idiot here.



Aside from all that, the "are the Pakleds as dumb as they look/sound" issue isn't really handled well. It just doesn't seem consistent that they could be so stupid as to fall for Geordi's obvious ruse, while having set up their own effective ruse to begin with.

Though I suppose Riker being an idiot was the only reason their plan worked to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

BTW, the rather spectacular space station shot was reused from Search For Spock. They just superimposed the Enterprise D over the old ship.

This always bothered me because that completely screws up the scale. The space door opening wasn't that much wider than the original Enterprise so there's no way there much larger D would fit.

However, somewhere someone suggested that maybe this is just another door on the other side. It's still a bit of a cheat because the station portals shouldn't look exactly the same, but I can at least sleep a little better.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Oh brother...Troi and Resting Bitch Face Keiko in the same episode.

I understand that Barrett is the wife of the boss, but her character is uninteresting, annoying, and so one-dimensional as the cougar on the prowl.

O'Brien should dump Resting Bitch Face and start hitting on every skirt on the station. You knew that he was infected because he didn't jump for joy when she told him she'd be gone for 3 more months.

This is also a rerun of the TNG episode although without the humor of Data's fully-functionalness.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I think "Darmok" reminds us that we have to hand wave away certain technologies such as the universal translator other wise the show just doesn't work.

I for one accept the suspension of disbelief required to appreciate Star Trek and other science fiction.

My over all score for this episode is 3/10 as it lacked entertainment value and also philosophical value.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

This is one of the horrible episodes that I must force myself to watch.
I don't like it. The idea, the concept and Stewarts acting is ok. But it does not work.
To me it is just a long transport between the beginig and the end.
I will perhaps watch the episode again in 5 years. I hope I like it better then.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

A * star for Hirogen leader speech about need for change, and creative way they found to include Roxxan's pregnancy in a plot. Otherwise I Iiked few scenes and ideas but execution didn't work for me...
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I love Voyager, it's my favourite Star Trek by far, but this gets half a star from me only based on acting. Story has so many flaws it's ridiculous.

There is real shallowness to it, in how it touches several important themes but then just dismisses them (PTSD, victim blaming) and it's full of plot holes (what about medical evidence before whole repressed memories procedure?, missing two hours?, what about other two people in 7's memory?, crown evidence on regenerating nanoprobes ONLY proves trader fired at 7 - which is only part of the story they both agree on! It doesn't prove anything either way, so trader decided to destroy Voyager rather than face ruined reputation???, complete 180 turn of the crew in second part... I give up).

I think this is episode I missed on my many re-watches on telly and I wish I missed it again.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

I would say that this is one of the best Season One episodes. Granted, that isn’t saying much - I would only give it a 5/10 - but still.

I think the problem you noticed with Picard’s age comes from the fact that Picard is actually supposed to be considerably older than Patrick Stewart. Picard, in this episode, is supposed to be 59 or 60 years old. So yeah, “22 years ago” would put him on his late 30s, which doesn’t make much sense. Stewart, however, was only 48 at the time he played a 60 year-old character. “22 years ago” for him would mean he was only 26, which makes more sense. The writers seem to have based that line on the actor’s age instead of the character’s.

As for why Crusher wasn’t used as Picard’s “future” love interest.... that’s because the decree came down from on high (I believe from Roddenberry himself) that the show absolutely could NOT have long-term romantic relationships between main cast members.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 9:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

They really dropped the ball on this one. Which is a shame, because as @Sarjenka's Little Brother’s says, Mrs. Manheim was very pretty.

Plus, seeing the cafe in Paris was a real treat! This marks our first view of "contemporary" (read:future) Earth in a Star Trek episode! We only got to see 20th century Earth in TOS.

Yes, as @Kat S says, 22 years ago, Picard would have been in his late 30’s. For Picard to stand a woman up at 37 is a real dick move. Now if the writers had instead made it 32 years ago, then standing her up would have been understandable (not great, mind you, but at 27, still something you can forgive). Seems the writers were confused about… time ;) Which I suppose was the whole theme.

And speaking of the theme, here's where they really dropped the ball.

The three time periods - the 3 Datas - should have been clearly reflected in Picard’s romantic interests over the three stages in his lift:

- The Past - the memory (“ghost”) Picard had of her in his mind.
- The Present - the still-beautiful but now married Mrs. Manheim; and
- The Future - which for Picard, should have been … Beverly! How did they not lock that down?

No wonder Gates McFadden left in season 2. If they couldn’t even get something this simple done right, what was the point of her staying.

Oh yeah, and they show Troi bringing Mrs. Manheim to spend some quality alone time with Picard on the holodeck. Like wtf? As a reward, I suppose Picard will have a little fun drinking with Troi - far more fun than Kirk had drinking with Spock,

https://youtu.be/wd0-JjxyPHY?t=56

PICARD: It's called the Blue Parrot Cafe, and you're buying.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

It's 4 star for season 1. For the series as a whole, I'd say probably 3.

The dialog is painful at times and it seems likely the actors were forced to stick to the letter of the script. For instance:

RIKER: The Bynars seem perfect for this. Even though this is the first time I've ever come in contact with them.

Real people don't actually talk like that.

I love that Wesley was in one of the first groups to transport off the ship. And there is NO WAY they would be able to get everybody off in time at the place they are going. They should have made it several more minutes. The warp drive about to explode in 20 minutes is still evacuation worthy.

Quinteros really seemed to be in cahoots with the Bynars. He's continually obstructive.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I could actually buy that a baby could become a full grown man in 3 days. What I couldn't believe is that Jake has enough game to land a girl 4 years his senior with dual photon torpedoes. She has the pick of dozens of able bodied men at the station and still goes for the dorky high school kid.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

This was the episode where I started liking Kira. Her angry Cardassian hater persona melted when she gripped her "father's" hand at the end. It was touching.

Garak is brilliant as always. "Just something I overheard when hemming someone's trousers...." Perfect writing and perfect acting.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I love this ep. ***
Set Bookmark
SouthernHope
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I've taken the last year of the pandemic and watched TNG from start to finish and came across this review site.

I just wanted to say that I appreciate these reviews greatly....though it makes me a bit sad to see more thoughtful replies 10 or 12 years ago and then a bit more impatient and mocking in tone nowdays (with some exceptions).

anyway, a thank you to you, Mr Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Wesley's jumper - it's not a jumper. Goodbye fakey three stripe thing, hello sort of shades of grey uniform cum jumpsuit with ribbing collar and epaulets. 'Ensign'.
And hello Riker's creepy sex pest facial hair and leering.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Pulaski was a great character, but got off to such a horrid start. Her treatment of Data in Where Silence Has Lease torpedoed her quick. They were trying to recreate a McCoy/Spock thing and good lord it went poorly.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It's a bit of a mess but for some reason I liked it.

I think one reason is Riker and Pulaski being down and frying their clones, no ifs ands or buts, along with their argument with the colonists. Granted, it certainly does seem like they left a full story on the vine here.

I also really liked the use of Geordi and his visor. It's underplayed and does seem believable, in as much as any lie detector works, especially with the liars completely unawares. This really should have been used again.

The stereotypes of the Irish is excessive, but there is a plausibility to it. An isolated colony could easily maintain strange accents and perhaps build their own.

I don't think the episode is "funny"-- I don't think Trek ever really pulled off solid comedy until Voyager. But like Picard, I think the situation is absurd.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Thanks for clarifying. I had read about the chinese system a little but only after this I actually googled it and saw that, as you mentioned, it comes up first.

"Because it is in no conceivable way a credible example of a "social credit system"."
Yeah, I see your point. I perceive these societal systems in a more general way because of my social science perspective and excluding one minority because of gender identity seemed to be a nice connection to the episode. In the sense that a society punished people for non-conformance. As I said, I didn't immediately understand that Mal's comment was specifically aimed at China.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,290
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.