Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 55,073 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,203
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

So England was quickly overrun - a ridiculous line delivered by the only Englishman aboard - but the plucky ol' US of A managed to hold out against aliens using time travel technology and plasma weapons... OK. Well this is for American audiences after all.

If Vosk was a hundred times scarier, and was played with passion, rather than simply reciting bland lines in his old man voice, this could have been an epic two parter. Unfortunately he was just "there" and was not memorable for anything other than his Nazi uniform (which has already kind of been done in TOS and definitely done in Voyager). The Hirogen were certainly scarier than the not-Remans.

Also, the special effects were HORRIBLE. The aircraft strafing Enterprise and particularly the building blowing up were some of the worst CGI I've ever seen, and I've watched Tripods, Blakes 7 and classic Dr Who (not the horrible, brain rotting crap of modern Who which simply exiats to push the BBC's agendas).

I will always have a soft spot for Enterprise. But having watched it through again (and having skipped a minimum of 10 to 15 episodes, two of them halfway in), I can wholeheartedly say the shows I just mentioned bury Enterprise. They focus on plot and acting rather than special effects, which makes them scary and gripping. There are few enough episodes that stories are usually well paced. Just don't watch Tripods series 1, that is the exception to the rule.
Set Bookmark
William B
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

@Springy, lmao. Your writeup almost makes having watched the ep worth it.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

Re-watched this after many, many years, and despite the obvious VFX budget hit which will continue to plague this season, I actually really enjoyed this one.

I'm glad the TCW is finally being resolved. Not resolved as in wrapped up neatly with explanations, shocking revelations and consequences, but as in "blown the shit out of with photon torpedoes", the only response modern audiences can understand!

I don't think Vosk was very well written or acted though. This was jarring after how good much of seaaon 3 was in those regards. And yet again, a chance at continuity or even just being a prequel are lost, because Vosk and his men aren't Reman, they just look like them. Why aren't they a breakaway faction from the future trying to escape Romukan oppression? (If you're going to use time travel you may as well go all in rather than bugger about with half-arsed nonsense that satisfies nobody and accomplishes nothing.)

My best friend has been watching Enterprise through and so far, he has failed to be impressed by almost anything. This isn't all the show's fault - he is extremely difficult to please - but his number one complaint these days is no longer that the show is boring, but that he doesn't understand why half the episodes need to happen. And in that, he's got a point. There is a shit-ton of filler, and ideas that simply should have been better thought out.

Still... I enjoyed Storm Front pt1 for what it was, an hour's mindless entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Ok, but a bit disappointing for a Moore episode who is usually better. The story had potential but was too inward focused and lacked sufficient outward focus. The plot focused on cheesy prattle and conflicts among the klingon crew inside of the ship instead of the search for the Klingon ship and dealing with the Dominion (which were much more interesting). For all the talk of battle...we don't have one battle scene in the entire 45 minute episode.

Something else that was a bit annoying was the inconsistency the writers have shown with relative ship strength. Based on other episodes one bird of prey is nowhere near as strong as one jem'hadar ship. Yet in this episode the implication was otherwise.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 10:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

@wolfstar-

Blasphemy!

Although your points are fair enough, I think the story is so strong it renders the contrivances basically obsolete.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

"--Is it prejudging to hate the ep already, if I saw it before about 25 years ago, and remember almost nothing except the extremely sour taste in my mouth?"

No, no it isn't. Especially when the episode in question is a flaming pile of garbage.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I assumed that you can only use a certain nick in connection with a specific mail addy. But now that I think about it ... :)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Booming,

"Well, you at least need the mail addy?"

You mean you think the troll has been giving his real mail address? Well, even so, only Jammer would see that. We only see the chosen handle.
Set Bookmark
Eat at Quark's
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Really nobody knows how to make this episode plausible and "canon"?
Quark was bored by federal heroes' tales and invented a great "Spaceball". Maybe nobody at Quark's believed him telling the story, but it was very entertaining.
Well, we too were at Quark's listening to his story, not believing to him but enjoying the tale. :-DDD
Set Bookmark
DontFeedTheTrolls
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

*slingshots around sun*
*puts up "Don't feed the troll" sign*
*slingshots back around sun*
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 8:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Peter G Well, you at least need the mail addy?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 8:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Booming,

You do realize that this isn't a site where we have registered accounts, right? It's not possible for someone's account to be hacked if they don't have one. Anyone can post "as" someone else. I wonder how one could block a user on a site like this.
Set Bookmark
Sillyk
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

Modern day ambassadors are often simply political gifts and getting to do travel to interesting places perks of that. Seems to be the dynamic here and why Sisko gleefully pawns them off on noob Bashir. And Lawaxana’s very large personality likely precedes her, particularly with O’Brien on the station.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 3:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

I prefer Necessary Evil to Duet too. It's a much more natural story, whereas Duet is highly contrived and certain elements of it are written and executed in a very stagy way.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

2.5 stars

Not great but decent in spots especially the plot involving tuvok and the kids. The drayans were okay as aliens nothing outstanding or fresh but fair enough that I didn’t mind them. More interesting was the scenes with tuvok and the mysteey of what was going on with the kids. I don’t care how biologically realistic it may be i liked the idea of a species aging in reverse

I also thought tuvok had a good showing and the interactions were Vulcan but sweet too
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

2 stars

I wasn’t very interested in the doctor finding romance. Denara was a nice character but everything else left me cold. The 57 Chevy scene was too cute for me

Far more interesting was the Jonas and seska plot
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

2.5 stars

First half slow and boring. The second half the episode picked up and my was re-engaged with Geordi in command, the saucer separation and the discovery of the computer. I also liked the little humanizing tidbit about Crusher and herbs

I did think the drone weapons were pretty cool
Set Bookmark
Peter Stoll
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:05am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Loved the moment in the opening Capt.Proton scene where the woman keeps screaming, and Harry quietly grimaces in the background! (and also the commenter above who called this "Captain Protein"; a new breakfast cereal perhaps?) :)
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 12:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

"You can maybe argue that the Starfleet officers depicted in TNG and TOS were a bit arrogant towards some alien species, but not as a rule towards their fellow humans. There is something fundamentally different about the way that cadet behaved than any of the young officers we've seen previously like Locarno or Harry Kim."

Right. But my point was that since the Academy is so hyped up, it's not a stretch to think that those who make it through the rigorous academic selection will get a bit of an inflated ego. Especially with something like 'Red Squad'. It sounds like the Phoenix Club mentioned in "The Social Network". Taking a bunch of people who already may have too high opinions of themselves and elevate them even above their peers. But even leaving Red Squad out of it, I doubt it would be hard to foster elitism among cadets.
Set Bookmark
Elliott
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

@Viktor:

Ich bezweifle, dass sehr viele der Besucher dieser Website Deutsch verstehen. Wünschst du nicht Reaktionen dieser Gemeinschaft?

Zu dieser Serie, was war alt, ist wieder neu, nicht? Wenn man über die Anachronismen der Zeit hinaus schauen kann, dieses ein ganz besonders Fernsehprogramm ist. Viel Spaß!
Set Bookmark
Elliott
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Iceman

"Did you like that it made you think or did you think that the episode is another attack by DS9 on Roddenberry's vision?"

I actually think that this is one of the rare instances when DS9 challenges the Trek ethos successfully, in that it earns its conclusion. Leighton is the episode's antagonist; it's perfectly reasonable within the established universe that an evil or misguided man with access to the Academy could disrupt the legacy of Roddenbarrian humanism. This is because Trek humanism is a learned behaviour, human evolution is cultural. So if you fuck with the institutions that create culture, you can counterpose Federation ideals without cheating.

"So those that do get in will probably develop a serious superiority complex." You can maybe argue that the Starfleet officers depicted in TNG and TOS were a bit arrogant towards some alien species, but not as a rule towards their fellow humans. There is something fundamentally different about the way that cadet behaved than any of the young officers we've seen previously like Locarno or Harry Kim.
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Ein starkes Kapitel, das mich unbehaglich gemacht hat, die Gymnastik-Szene ist wirklich witzig
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Ich fange an, die Serie erneut zu sehen, da mir diese Folge nicht gefällt, zu altmodisch für meinen Geschmack, nicht für die Kostüme und Effekte dieser interrassischen Charaktere
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 10:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

@Elliott

"I find myself very disturbed by this two-parter and what it means moving forward. "

Did you like that it made you think or did you think that the episode is another attack by DS9 on Roddenberry's vision?


" Leighton and those like him are creating an insidious anti-Federation culture among the future members of Starfleet, dripping with elitism, aggressiveness and a thirst for conflict."

Regarding the elitism thing, I think it's all but inevitable with an uber-prestigious school like Starfleet Academy. They made it sound like it was harder to get into than Harvard or MIT. Even boy wonder Wesley Crusher didn't get in. So those that do get in will probably develop a serious superiority complex. This is definitely seen at prestigious schools and universities in the U.S. (not sure about other parts of the world).
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@Elliott-

"What I'm saying is that the kind of events which in the real world would trigger terrorism *of the type* that could cause such massive social upheaval, in the vein of 9/11, only occur as a result of the post-imperialist mess that the Cold War wrought upon the world."

Gotcha. Thanks for clarifying. I still don't agree that they should have focused on it, and I think the changelings do qualify as an existential threat that people would be scared enough to hand over civil liberties for, but I understand your perspective better now.


"But if the Changelings *had* caused the power outage and *had* upped their attacks, seeing Earth submit to martial law so easily would reveal that the Federation's principles don't amount to much in the face of fear."

This is just basic human nature though. Fear can drain all logic and rational thinking from a society. I have no problem with DS9 portraying human nature like this. I guess that's where we differ.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,203
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.