Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,639 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,586
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

I am also one of the voices on this board that actually prefers Dr. Pulaski over Dr. Crusher. She and Picard had a great dynamic, and I really love, unabashedly, what they did with Pulaski and Worf, after Worf got "the Klingon measles" in an episode near the end of the second season.

"Unnatural Selection" was a great vehicle for Pulaski and for Diana Muldaur. We got to see Pulaski's foibles and stubbornness but also her warmth for humanity. She even apologizes to Data while she's on the shuttle with him, which I thought was a nice little touch of dialogue. I think everyone involved really made an effort to create a well-rounded character in Dr. Pulaski, and I would have liked to see more of her.

As for the continuity issues raised in this episode, specifically in regards to, "How could the Federation allow Darwin Station to experiment like this, considering what happened with Khan and the Eugenic Wars," I will simply chalk it up to this episode taking place in an alternate universe where the Eugenics Wars never happened, and there never was a Khan Noonien Singh.

Also, I can't explain why, but I cracked up at the arrogant, snotty Dr. Kingsley who oozed contempt and snapped at Picard through the viewscreen. She's exactly the type of haughty, vicious scientist-with-a-God-complex that would run a station and experiments like this. It was a nice touch that she knew who Pulaski was, because of that "Linear Models of Viral Propagation" paper that Pulaski wrote.

I'm conflicted on the transporter solution at the end. In its favor, we really don't know how the science behind it works, because, frankly, it's preposterous. But as it is, I can wrap my head around a system that converts matter into energy, and then recreates the matter after traveling through subspace to another location, being able to reform "another version" of the subject by superimposing a trace pattern. (I'm not sure if that even made any sense, but it's no harder to believe than warp drive. ) I can even forgive this can-of-worms being ignored in future episodes and movies because it was shown to be incredibly risky--they almost lost Pulaski, so it doesn't strike me as something that anyone would want to risk attempting again. And besides, if this episode took place in an alternate timeline, there are plenty of parallel universes where it never happened, so it wouldn't be brought up in a future show as a solution anyway.

However, I do understand the criticisms that the solution was an overly-simple, ridiculous deus-ex-machina and that they could have come up with something more inventive.

Also, it seems to me that they should have heard of space suits or even simpler Haz-Mat suits, but I know--Paramount budgets. I also think the message of the episode was simplistic and obvious. But I do like how it showcased the Picard/Pulaski dynamic; Muldaur and Stewart were both marvelous.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

It's more than that Peter. As I interpret it, the Founders *are* the link, which means each individual you see is basically an avatar of the whole. So it is not just that individual's person experience in play, but the experience of every changeling back to the beginning of the link itself. It explains how Odo was so easily swayed to betray his friends when the station was invaded after linking with the Founder.

There is something Borg-like about the Link when you stop and think about it, but it is interesting that like the Borg, the process does go both ways. When Odo linked with the Founder his being could change hers (and by implication, the entire link) much like Hugh was able to change the Borg.

Incidentally, there is another element to this. Odo went out of his way to avoid shapeshifting so as to not risk offending his friends; a fact that was pointed out numerous times in the series. This may have been just a symptom of his immaturity (perhaps all changelings go through such a phase) bit it does help explain why his skills were so poor. Comparing him to a Founder would be like comparing the running skills of a toddler to Usain Bolt.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

Good episode but...

...I couldn’t really get THAT into it because I just don’t buy that Ghemor and Kira are as close as father and daughter; it’s pretty ridiculous tbh.

The whole sharing of Cardassian secrets thing was a stretch too; apparently these secrets can only be shared verbally, face-to-face while experiencing severe mortal pain. Ghemor is such a drama queen.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

A great episode. Stewart and Muldaur make the ep. Spiner is good too.

More stuff about life and death - the nature of life, natural evolution, unnatural evolution, Darwin.

"No life forms present," says the transporter engineer to O'Brien, as he looks over Data, who is materializing in the transporter, having been disinfected by it. No life forms present, he declares, starting right at Data.

My favorite lines: PICARD: Will she be normal again?" DATA: "As normal as ever, sir."

Excessive use of the word normal, throughout the script.

That is one miraculous transporter. The technobabble in this ep is woven Iike a tapestry. It is positively mesmerizing.

Pulaski is a great character. Wish we could have kept her longer.

Good one. Light on the plot, but very well done.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@ Rahul,

It's probably because Odo's like 50 years old or whatever, and only gained consciousness maybe 10 years back, while the Founders from the Link are, I dunno, millions of years old or something. If my head canon is right, more like billions of years old.
Set Bookmark
turquoises
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

@Eat at Quark's--- EXACTLY!! I just watched this for the first time in 10 years and that was my conclusion. The lightbulb went off as soon as I opened the review and saw Jammer talking about how implausible it all is. I suspect that's the point. Especially because the episode starts off with one of Quark's fish stories being interrupted by the returning war heroes. I think he went full Spaceman Spiff to make up for it.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

They're just more practiced at impersonating solid in general, and presumably have reached the point where they need little specific preparations.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Kind of slow moving, but an interesting premise, very well done by Spiner.

More talk about what it means to be alive, as Graves refuses to go gently into his grave.

I wonder what the idea of the Vulcan doc was. Pulaski could easily have played that part. Were they considering replacing the doc yet again?

Average ep that rises above average due to Spiner.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

Really have a hard time rationalizing how Odo, who spends all his time on DS9 among humans, can't mimic a human face properly yet another changeling, recently from the DQ, perfectly replicates Adm. Leyton...
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 6:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

So I finished this, but aside from the nice shock of the deaths of the trio, it was truly a snoozer. I think this week's continuing Season 2 exploration of "the nature of being alive and being human" was probably about identity - the need for relationships but the need to have our own independent identity. Lots of stuff about what makes you, you.

My favorite part was Data doing the "two people at the beach" in sign language.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Yeah well Jammer covered everything quite nicely. The Whole DNA seems to be really stupid. Even if one could change every DNA in the body that still a long way from transforming entire bones or tripling the size of the heart. At least at the end they weren't back to normal immediately.

I noticed again that there is no bad enterprise episode without T'pol sexy time.
And how many outfits does she wear? I have seen five bad episodes now and she wore 5 outfits: striped black and white, white, grey, blue and pink. All of them have in common that they are very tight. And who wears belly free top when giving a massage to a crew mate?

For some reason I had to think about that firing weapons at warp speed makes no sense. Are phasers faster than warp 4-5. Whatever

Laugh out loud moment: When Reed (whose name I learned in this episode) runs around and just yells: tatatatata.

After that I somewhat enjoyed the episode because I accepted the silliness of it all. Watching these three run around like crazy neanderthals was pretty funny.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

So I actually watched the trailer for this episode. Pretty weird stuff. Trying to get the horny teen demo. Didn't people back then already have the internet.

I can see the focus group for that season: "So boys who likes Boobies?" It is really embarrassing. It damages my perspective on Star Trek more than the Discovery hour of madness.

So many Oh no moments. The T'Pol scenes kind of play like the beginning of a softcore porn if such a thing still exists.

The actual a story is very by the numbers. It's not even bad but almost mediocre.

Hardest laugh: for some reason I laughed when the Tellarite shot Tucker. It happened so abruptly.

Maybe I just want to see these people get shot.

Next episode
EXTINCTION!
Set Bookmark
HackFarlane
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I agree with Strejda. Of course Rick Berman & Brannon Braga wrote this. One of them actually admitted to an interviewer that he has an ongoing fantasy of crawling up into a giant woman's vajayjay. I'd say "A Night in Sickbay" makes a lot more sense in that context.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

TNG - pregnant Ogawa is the cure

VOY- pregnant Torres is the cure

DS9 - pregnant Ekoria is the cure

Who was the pregnant elixir on Enterprise?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome That is a good point. I suppose the writers felt the somewhat inherent goofiness of the concept warranted less serious approach, but it is a step down and in retrospect perhaps responsible for the diminishing quality of Mirror universe stories. Still, it arguably led to the In the Mirror, Darkly, which I enjoy greatly precisely for the goofy evil universe hijinks, so I don't think it's total loss.

I disagree with Elliot on many things, but I do have respect for him and generally see where he's coming from. Years ago when I first discovered this site, I remember thinking he was just dismissive and biased, but I see now he has put a lot of thought into Star Trek and how it works (probably much more than I have) because of how much he loves it and cares.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

This is the first great Enterprise episode. In some ways it's even better than In the Pale Moonlight, if I'm being honest. And that is one of my all-time favourites. In ITPM Sisko had the luxury of a fixed goal that guaranteed a massive payoff if successful. His actions brought the Romulans into the war, which was the big break. He did it once and it was done and he could go back to being a shining knight in Starfleet armor.

Archer is in a much worse situation. He has this message from Degra that may be a trap for all he knows. But as iffy as it is, it's his best shot. His ship might not even make it it to the rendezvous vous *with* the warp coil. His act of piracy and murder may lead to a pointless death even if it succeeds.

I thought the T'Pol subplot worked beautifully here in concert with the main one. Tripp's moral struggle was gut wrenching.

This is a true 4 star episode, plain and simple. About damn time!

Incidentally, for a second I really thought Casey Biggs at al. were Cardassians. Now that would have been a fun Easter egg.

One additional point: I kept waiting for Archer to pull out his Encyclopedia Galactica that he keeps in Daniels' quarters but he never does.. ummm why not?

And wouldn't have been neat if they had a video recording of the trans dimensional guy twirling his moustache at Archer and bragging about his nefarious plot to Degra instead of a couple lousy still photos of his corpse? They don't have CCTV cameras in Sickbay in case someone sneaks in and eats one of Phlix's bats?
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me simply the best Star Trek episode ever written! Excellent acting all around. Captivating and riveting dialogue. Not one punch thrown, not one phaser fired, not one explosion. The current people working on Star Trek could learn a lot from this episode. 4/4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Eh. Shut up, Worf.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Strejda

I'm with you and this can all be seen as big fun adventure episode, in the vein of TNG's "Starship Mine". The questions of whether our hero Sisko's actions have any moral ramifications are really only secondary to the driving force of the piece which is an action story with a heart (As other have pointed out, this is Star Trek does "A New Hope").

OTOH, the Mirror episodes up until this point have been good because they're an inversion of the prime universe. We've been asked to consider what our prime heroes would do if they're put in a situation where their values are now foreign and subversive. Many of the good moments like Kirk getting Mirror Spock to consider his freedom or Bashir and Kira pushing Mirror Miles to be more than a slave really spoke to what's great about the values of the Prime Universe. We're missing that in that in this episode. So while this story might be good on its own, perhaps it's a step down intellectually from previous MU stories.

And hey, Elliott's just a passionate guy. I don't totally agree with him on all things, but I try to see where he's coming from as he raises some interesting points.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Peter G. I would say they've changed Paris quite bit form his original conception. At first, they were clearly writing as a bad boy maverick ladies man, until giving up on that and writing him as a cool nerd type. And I think part of the reason was precisely to play into McNeill's strenghts-watching early Voyager, you can see how he is not playing Paris with the sleaze he is intented to have.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Worf: “I raised Alexander”

Really Worf?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome
The way he talks about he genuinely seems morally offended though, as if this was obviously morally repugnant, not just that Sisko is a hypocrite for not following Starfleet priciples but straight up bad person period and I just do not see it. Admittedly, I haven't seen the ep in years, but from what I recall, besides the thing with Dax, all Sisko did was shoot bunch of mooks working for a fascist empire.

The way he just decides to help them because Jennifer does bother me, but regarding the argument he doesn't care at all about the moral justifications of him doing this, consider: Would the writers treat saving Jennifer as reason enough if this was a complicated political situation that wasn't caused by Starfleet officers in the first place like in High Ground? Or even if it was the The Alliance asking him to kill the terran rebels for them to save Jennifer? I get complaint that after previous Mirror Universe focused on the horror of it this treats it as a big dumb action adventure, but the moral offense of this level seems unreasonable to me.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Overlooked this one but now I finally saw it.
This is just bad. Lakshmi is so bad. A dozen times I thought: Oh, no." Marveling at how bad this was.
The other bad episodes are at least entertaining but this is just boring bad. The worst kind.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

@Yanks I don't like how people compare every fictional supervillain to Trump, but there is something about a racist business man with daddy issues with working class supporters that seems familiar.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I love how Archer and Trip refuse to take T'Pol's story seriously, like she just made it up as a joke. Cause that's T'Pol alright, always pulling their leg for a laugh.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,586
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.