Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65,631 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,626
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 7:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

"Kai Winn was played by Louise Fletcher, who won an Academy Award in 1975 for her role as as the tyrannical Nurse Ratched in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest."

Oh my god I never realized that! Cool.
Set Bookmark
Omitten High Lird6
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 5:53am (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S1: The Sum of Its Parts

I would have to disagree with the 2 star rating, O would give it atleast 3 stars...Reasons? Well I listed them below;
1. While yes the Consensus of Parts, has a remarkable similarity to the Borge Collective, it lacked a very vital part where the Borge want to "consume" or "assimilate" all life hell conquer all soly to "upgrade" itself, the Consensus wishes only to "assimilate" other machines or spare parts (all be it for only specific tasks), and for the most part assume a neutral stance (all be it more of a Neutral-evil ailnment) towards other lifeforms and lacks a distinctive need/want to consume all things.
2. I am not a huge star trek fan nor an Andromeda super fan, I find the physical appearance of both the Borg and the Consensus "drones" quite different from one another and not just due to budget differences, meaning Borg drones, ships and equipment are very uniform, perpiusly designed for unitary and functional purpose, where as the two Consensus Drones we see could not be more different from one another one very intimidating and functional while the other seemed very nonfunctional and deliberately designed to seem passive aggressive. As for the ships nothing close to cubes and spheres not even aesthetically pleasing, I would even argue not even functionality, a bit excessive and intimidating, sole purpose to look bigger than life titanicly designed for the sole purpose of intimidating its opponents nothing more nothing less. Quite the opposite of what the Borge field in the Star trek universe.
3. While I did think as far as the Andromeda universe goes they kind of underrepresented the effect the crew of the Andromeda actually had on poor HG and OC-1, one would think such a strong plot tie would reappear again on the shows and future seasons of the Andromeda, for example the OC-1 could have had a huge place in the Reformation of the Commen Wealth, bringing in a more unique type of AI into thier ranks, they could have played a much bigger role in the Commen Wealths development, serving as advisers, reservist (planetary security forces) and most importantly in infrastructure development (aka great engineering drones) which would have shown a much better separation from thier more Borgish supposed copy cat, which they are accused of being.
I could definitely see so much more potential of both the Outcast and the Collective Consensus factions.
4. Finally yes I could see the originality of the HG/humanity vs. Collective/borg suffered some on this episode but is thier really any way to really change the center theme, it really can only be played out in very similar ways, of which I think the writers of the Andromeda series did very good at if not lost some very good potential in another minor plot twist to add to the armory that is the Andromeda Universe.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 5:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Uncompelling for the most part, but manages to turn up the heat in the last 10 minutes. Though, I have to say that the Borg kids don't do anything for me, and I'm getting really tired of the over exposure 7of9 is getting.

As is the case with most of the episodes in the second half of season 6, they won't be included on my VOY re-watch list.
Set Bookmark
Mark Bogn
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I'm watching this in 2019 for the first time and found it absolutely hilarious and I'm in complete agreement with Jammer from over 22 years ago.

One thing it seems none of the commenters picked up on--when Jake and Nog see Kai Winn on the promenade, one of them says, "You wouldn't like her when she's angry." Kai Winn was played by Louise Fletcher, who won an Academy Award in 1975 for her role as as the tyrannical Nurse Ratched in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.
Set Bookmark
Norvo
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

What's particularly baffling about this episode is the fact that even a year into their journey back, the Voyager crew still treats the EMH like a talking hypospray.

Hologram or not, the chief medical officer should be informed of day to day ship operations. Telling the Doc off for trying to do his job is a bit hypocritical, especially on a ship that supposedly already monitors the crew's whereabouts and lifesigns.

Of course, in later seasons we learn the EMH has a penchant for gossip, but
Set Bookmark
Trish
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

@Jim Seigler

I agree completely! Your comment is basically the one I came to make: Neither one of them should be considered an "impostor."
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Voyager had improved significantly at this point in its run. It may never hold a place in my heart like DS9 but 'Latent Image' and to a lesser extent last week's 'Counterpoint' are worthy episodes that provide a satisfying back-to-back viewing experience on this umpteenth rewatch. Something that was rare in a single episode from seasons 1 - 3. Yes, the over-reliance on three key characters is a major problem (Janeway, Seven and The Doctor remind me of Kirk, Spock and McCoy carrying the whole series in the las season of TOS), but nevertheless the last season and a half has been such an improvement in general. My memory insists this wears thin eventually and seasons six and seven sag in comparison, but considering how much I generally deride Voyager, at this point in season five I'm enjoying it more than I'd expected to on this latest visit.

FWIW I think the young Jammer was a little stingy with this one. I'd definitely give it a solid 3.5. Next week we're back to whocaresville with Chaotica , but I've been pleasantly surprised that a show of which I have so middling an opinion has been so frequently enjoyable over the past thirty-odd episodes.
Set Bookmark
William
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I was bored to death with this one. Tried my best not to look to my phone ALL the way.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Yes, no doubt due to the fact that Colm Meaney was in that film (which, for the record, is about Wales). Ireland does actually have plenty of legit mountains, mostly in Munster.
Set Bookmark
Ola Andersson
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

No one has mentioned the hilarious reference to "The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill..." :)
"I was climbing mountains in Ireland before you were born"
"You mean 'hills', don't you?"
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 2:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

The name “Endgame” has been around in literature for a long time. If one were to examine the script by Beckett, for example, to which I have actors in my family that had been part of such productions, and also cross over to Trek famous episodes, you would find Janeway’s actions steeped in philosophy of the absurd.

I’ll leave you magpies to your wire.
Set Bookmark
Valan
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

The discourse is much enriched.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

And you’re just a whiner.
Set Bookmark
FUevryone
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I'm amazed by how many idiots are out there.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I understand that when this was filmed the times were different, but I really think the story would've benefited if Seven had finished the Hirogen off at the end. Not only would it be visually cool, but her guilt would be way more convincing and harder hitting (no pun intended) for the audience. Also, too bad we didn't get to see Tuvok fight.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Most of you are some serious haters
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

So what language is being spoken in this camp? Obviously not Klingonese, because the generation raised there need the lyrics of a Klingon song translated for them line by line. They're not using something like a universal translator, because it's not translating the Klingon.

I guess I can imagine the prisoners being fluent in Romulan by now, and it might be their children's first language, if that's what's spoken in the camp. But is Worf fluent in Romulan?

I know, we're not supposed to ask these things.
Set Bookmark
William
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

That was the first time I read all of the comments section. And after umlauts, opera and Newton, all I have to say is: GOOD GOD GIRL GET A GRIP
Set Bookmark
Peter H
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Wow!

On paper this reads like very typical Trek, and in different hands could have ended up the way that most of these kinds of situations do.

Although the ending was inevitable (the show must go on after all), a lesser version of this episode might have tried to keep the colony going through some technobabble twist of fate. The moral conundrum at the heart of the episode has no easy answer and there are no quick fixes or cheats to resolve it either. This gives this episode an unexpected weight and impact. It was a genuine suprise.

I can genuinely say this is in the top 5 episodes of DS9 for me. It's so rare for something seemingly so small have such enormous heft. What a great episode!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Oh come on everybody! Janeway obviously knew he wouldn't go through it in the end. Her reaction in their last scene clearly shows it.

If one doesn't take this one too seriously it's quite enjoyable - and this is coming from someone who isn't very big on the Doc.

Ryan and McNeill are great, Dawson and Mulgrew magnificent.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

We have power!

We are smart.

We are strong now. We have better weapons.

We are a force now. We will have respect.

lmao.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

In "Counterpoint" (S5), they pulled off a Janeway romance with flying colors, much thanks to great attraction and a superb main story. In "11:59" (S5) the chemistry was non existent and because the story was otherwise lacking, it kind of bombed.

In "Fair Haven" the affection is at least half way there, but because there's nothing else of substance it still falls flat on an overall scale of things. There's not much of a main plot, no b-plot and it's not even remotely believable that the whole Voyager crew is going gaga over Paris mega lame rendition of early 20th century Ireland.

With that said, it's still a treat to see Kate Mulgrew shining in every scene; among other things showing the audience a girly side of the Captain, not seen often before and done to perfection.

So it's worth 2 stars or maybe 2,5 at most, but I'd probably still include it on my re-watch list - simply due to my Janeway bias.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 4:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

@Franklin

You're comment intriuged me, so I went and read the Memory Alpha entry for the episode for clarification. Long and short of it is that Rocha was the guy murdered, by the creature. It went to attack Aquiel, she shot it, driving it away while also leaving a bit of it on the deck plate, alá a bloodstain. Then the wounded creature ate her dog, and became it.

Residue in sickbay isn't a full creature, just some bit left over. I mean Geordie had to shoot at ole yeller for quite awhile before it went down, and presumably Aquiel couldn't manage to get that long of a shot of while under the pressure of wrestling with the creature. Much like the writers with this episode couldn't either.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 3:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Surprised no-one mentioned the casual way Chakotay let the guy leave with Starfleet technology. In the past Janeway was willing to self destruct the ship to stop Starfleet tech getting into alien hands, now they couldn't care less. This kind of casual disregard for continuity is what turned me off Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Franklin
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 12:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Here’s the plot hole I don’t understand, which makes this unwatchable:

If the blob is the dog, then who was murdered?
If Aquiel phasered the blob into melted deck plate, how did it become the dog?

How many blobs were on the station? The dog, and the deck plate that turns into Crusher’s hand in sickbay? So we are really looking for two blobs? But we only suspect Rocha was a blob when he came on the station?

It’s like, oh no Aquiel killed a guy! But the guy was really a monster! And now the murdered monster is alive (except his body’s in sickbay) and is the dog and the monster wants to kill Geordi.

Nope. Worst episode of TNG, first season excepted.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,626
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.