Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 66,987 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,680
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 1:10am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I have another question.
The people who tried to abduct Dajh obviously knew who she was/what she was. Why did they only sent three people (Does hitting the head of an android with a fist have any effect)? They didn't realize that she would kill them all easily?

The same goes for the second attack. What was the plan here? Let's try what didn't work the last time but with slightly more people thrown at the problem? If the poison guy didn't spit on her then they would have accomplished nothing. Also they shoot at her and miss several times. How fast/strong/super awesomely powerful is/was she?

And how does living tissue exist on a robot? Wouldn't that make things far more complicated?? I mean you have to create an entire system that just keeps the fleshy parts from dying off.

PS: Is the friend of Dajh just rotting away in her room (and the killed operatives, too)?? Are people on earth often found with knives sticking out of their chests? Isn't this big news? Like the giant explosion in the heart of San Francisco???

I really hope that they planed this out this time and that we don't fall down another rabbit hole of incompetency like every season of Discovery...
Set Bookmark
I’m With Reg
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I’m just fifteen minutes into the episode, so reserving judgement, but (I can’t help it) I keep slamming up against the absolute unlikelihood that a “space whale” evolved to live in the vacuum of outer space would survive being transported to a starship shuttle bay. If only it had been transported into stasis or some kind of containment field mimicking it’s natural habitat. But then I suppose there wouldn’t be a story, would there?
Set Bookmark
JulieYBM
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I loved it. I'm a little sad to see the novels might be ignored but it's a nice story so far and it's incredible seeing so many old actors bad.

I do wish the cinematography had been more inventive. I want smarter angles, shot rhythm and handling of dialogue scenes. They could save so much time for more important scenes by handling scenes through off-camera ADR.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Jor-El agreed - I just found puffed up Brent Spiner in makeup cringe-inducing. Given it was just a few seconds of screen time here and there it would have been one of the few times I would have applauded use of de-aging cgi.

Also I wish they'd stop using the makeup from the movies and go back to Data's look from the show. The movies made him look greasy and slimy and totally unappealing. I wish they would not have carried that over into the new series. Yuck.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 7:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I still don't understand why they couldn't use current technology to thin Data's face and make him look younger. It's so distracting and takes me out it. Are we really expected to not remember how Data looked? Isn't this aimed at TNG fans who actually watched TNG? All I see now is old Brent Spiner playing Data with lots of makeup which is failing to make him look younger and instead is making him look creepy and ominous.
Set Bookmark
Becca
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 7:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

So why didn't Dahj mention she had a sister? Well my theory is that she isn't Dahj's sister but one of another set of twins, and I think there will be three pairs because Data put down a hand of six queens in the dream poker game.
Set Bookmark
R.
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I think the writers of this new generation of Trek threw out any adherence to the established narrative history of the setting (ignoring the dreaded 'c' word for now) when (a) Vulcan got sucked into a black hole, (b) Cadet Kirk got promoted to captain of the Federation flagship in the same movie or (c) introducing a war with with Klingons in the 2250s that apparently decimated the Federation and Starfleet yet is never mentioned even once in all the chronologically antecedent material set in that same universe and timeline. Consistency has been shortchanged in favour of action.

I for one am thankful that Kirsten Beyer seems to be reining in this crop of writers somewhat. If I remember her 'Voyager' relaunch novels correctly, she's extremely good at making narrative sense of otherwise meaningless or unintelligible ideas from the show's original run. Even the spatial distortion phenomenon from that godawful episode 'Twisted' or the glowy space ruins that Kes's boyfriend shows her in 'Darkling'. The woman deserves a lot of credit.

@Jaxon

Word of God is that Worf will look like his TNG self despite this show being in the same timeline as 'Discovery'. How they'll explain that one is anyone's guess.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Keith

I'm glad you gave Ms Beyer a mention. She's the one who forced the writers to go to canon camp.
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Have spent most of today collapsed on a sofa with my partner after a long flight, binging DS9 together -- this was as far as we got, and man, was it a hell of an episode to reach.

Busy few days, but I'll definitely be writing up something substantial at some point: my partner (who knows of my habit of writing up thousands of words about things) has practically *commanded* me to write an essay on this one. It's been a definite favourite for both of us.

For now: I just wanna say that my partner is big on war stories, has seen a *lot* of stories about war and old soldiers in his time... and he says this episode is one of the very best depictions of PTSD he's ever seen. And that's saying somethin'.

God damn, Nog. Kid's had a hell of a life.
Set Bookmark
Helmus
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Thank you Jammer for your review and thank you for maintaining this site. I love reading the discussions about the new Picard series. It feels for me that Star Trek is alive again.

The first episode of the Picard series was very enjoyable. I still can't believe we have Picard back and finally post Nemesis Star Trek. A few things, as already started before, could have been better. The music was a bit too much, the pace a bit too fast. But in the end, this is modern Trek. I'll get used to it.

This is a series I really hope and really want to be good. We'll see how it evolves.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The value-based version of canon (also in the broader sense of "literary canon") always seemed to me a bit different. After all, we treat a Star Trek episode like "Spock's Brain" or "Shades of Gray" as canon... any Star Trek product that bears the stamp of "canonicity" no matter how artistically worthless, while -- with select exceptions -- no novel (say, The Final Reflection) or fan film (World Enough and Time) gets to be canon, no matter how good or even influential they prove to be. In other words, I don't think canonical status should be thought of as some sort of blue ribbon. It's a descriptive term for establishing its status relative to officialdom.
Set Bookmark
Aurelius
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Didn't someone say in the show that there were two duplicate paintings, and Data gave Picard one of them?
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The term"canon" in this sense gets a wider use than in the context of religion. It gets used of the writings of authors and poets as well - and not merely about whether or not a piece was written by the person, but often restricted to the work they felt of value. So a writer might wish to exclude juveilia, or hackwork.

WithStar Trek its morecoplicate, basecause of all the different writers involved, in a range of media. It wouldn't be righttojust seeit as a matter of who happens townthe franchise at anytime , which could change overnight, after all. It has to be seen as meaning a kind of consensus between the creators and the fans. But consensus isn't just a matter of individual preferance.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The concept of a canon in a fictional universe serves only to allow corporate entities to say certain stories are more important than others. The concept of canonicity began as a joke, but has become a corporate canard of immense power over the last 20 years, due largely to George Lucas and his endless and endlessly stupid revisionism. Prior to the special additions, hell, prior to the prequels, nobody cared about what was or wasn’t canon. More on the canonicity canard here.

https://www.themarysue.com/star-wars-expanded-universe-canon/
Set Bookmark
Keith DeCandido
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

FYI, there's a credit missing from the writer list: Kirsten Beyer, a Trek novelist, who is very much a driving force behind this show, even though she's not as famous as the male names in the writing credits......
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Quite the opposite: regardless of their religious origin, these terms are founded in the vagaries of corporate ownership. Reject what you like, but the language of "canon" does not apply, and is in danger of becoming meaningless the moment you make it mean "thing I like." To quote myself, "We do not have to accept their authority, but as soon as we reject it, we're not talking about canon any more."

To further this metaphor, if creator/owner says "X is canon," if your reaction is "I don't like X," you have the ability to not watch X or not watch the entire show if you feel like it. But creator/owner can produce more operating under the premise of "X is canon" and your decisions don't affect that directly.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Yanks, Circus Man

You're hinging so much on the word "canon" that it's a bit frightening. Is this a Star Trek forum, or a forum for religious zealots?

May I remind you that Star Trek is a work of fiction? Regardless of how central Trek is to our lives, it is still a work of fiction. People are free to accept or reject whatever parts they want from a work of fiction. There is no cosmic rule that says you have to accept everything or reject everything. Sure, TPTB decide what's "canon", but what we personally decide to do with that is our choice.

And I'm not willing to accept the world depicted in ST:Picard as the future of the world from TNG/DS9. I, personally, find the notion of accepting this to be an anti-thesis of what Star Trek means to me.

That's my personal choice. You're free to choose otherwise, but your personal choice does not oblige anyone else but yourself.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Be careful what you wish for.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Quite a few people have mentioned DS9 and have expressed hope that we'll see some DS9 characters at some point. Count me in. I hope "Picard" will figure out a sensible way for us to perhaps visit DS9 or least get some update on the DS9 side of things. What's going on now between the Federation and the Dominon, if anything? What happened with the alliance the Federation had with the Romulans during the war with the Dominion? Would love to see Garak again.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Borrowing from Phil Farrand, I always laugh at the fact that Troi speaks only one word this episode: "Concerned?"
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

It seems likely that the question of how whoever put together the two Data girls got to see the picture is likely to be seen as a big puzzle.

If that's Maddox a simple explanation would be that Data, being in touch with him after the trial, and helping him in his work (once the little business about taking Data to bits had been dealt with) had scanned the painting and sent him a copy. Perhaps the girls are the joint effort of Data working with Data, and trying to avoid the glitch that messed up things with Lal.

It'd be nice to have Data as having been actually involved in some way in creating his "daughters".
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

"I'd love to see Kira and Bashir in season 2, as well as obviously Worf"

If it means Worf has to be one of those monsters they're trying to call Klingons now, I'd prefer they not bother.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

To build on Yanks point, I think that the term "canon" is used so loosely these days as to lose descriptive usefulness. Canon means officialdom; it's ultimately an institutional term. It means those things legitimized by the Word of God, and this is slightly more than a pure metaphor, since the very term references matters of the sacred. The Catholic Church claims among its powers the ability to degree which books of the Bible are canon, are of divine origins and which are not (Apocrypha, Deutercanon, Pseudepigrapha, etc.). Now obviously every other denomination claims these powers too and sometimes have slightly different versions of the Bible, and any individual reader of the Bible has the ability to declare "I think this part is real and this part isn't"... but in so doing, they are hypothetically going against canon. A book like "Bel and the Dragon" obviously does exist — you can go and read it. The question isn't whether or not it exists, but whether or not it contains that mysterious touch of God that gives it the status of canon. The parts where Star Trek canon is nebulous or unclear are roughly equivalent to those moments when the Bible contradicts itself; points for discussion and debate, certainly, but even engaging in this debate theoretically accepts that there is such a thing as canon and that it's worth talking about. Just as the Catholic Church claims for itself the powers to say "this is real and this is not," the people running Star Trek (or whatever eklse) do the same. We do not have to accept their authority, but as soon as we reject it, we're not talking about canon any more. Fans have a place in this canonization process (I gather that a fan poll helped (re-) canonize TAS), but it's not an all-determining one, it's one of influence and the ability to assert pressure through ones choices of consumption, etc. Saying "I don't like this" is not the same thing as saying "this is not canonical"; saying "I don't want to think about this" is not the same thing as saying "this is not canonical."
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

There’s a difference between a character having flaws and being consistently written. In “Frasier”, the character Roz is constantly chasing sex over commitment. It’s a character flaw, but it’s a consistent one and we learn to respect Roz despite the flaw. Janeway’s flaw is that she’ll follow the Prime Directive only to service the plot. We don’t know from one episode to another which way she’ll lean on the Prime Directive, because it depends on the author that week. That’s a writing flaw.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Concerning the Romulan spitting acid. If you look carefully, you see that he bites on a capsule of something before spitting it out. So Romulans have not started to spit out acid, he simply bit on a capsule of acid and then spit it out a her.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,680
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.