Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 80,303 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,213
Set Bookmark
DF
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Rewatching Voyager for the first time in 15 or so years. I don't know, I don't disagree with the criticisms leveled against this episode. I don't even remember it from my first viewing. It doesn't make a lot of sense, and the reset doesn't affect the characters in the long run.

And yet...

I find something totally haunting about it. Perhaps it, like some of the other time travel episodes, gives the audience a "god's-eye" view of the characters, rather like the view Tom and Janeway have during the time they are with this society, knowing it will be destroyed. At the end, WE are the ones who know something that our characters don't, and I find that kind of powerful.

The moment when Tom turns to the boy and says "I'm sorry" is very poignant.

Despite the logical fallacies, and Tuvok being rather dickish, I would give this one 2.5 stars for it's emotional impact...on me, at least.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 10:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

Honestly it would of been interesting if Picard did indeed have an illegitimate son and the episode simply focused on Picard and Jason coming to grips with that, it would of made for a strong season 7 episode.

The whole Bok thing was just a distraction , they had to make him pathetic because hey ....we had a season 1 tng Ferengi that we now have to integrate into a DS9 Ferengi template. They went from these space raiders to space businessman
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

''to first unload these harsh words and then later recruit Sito into the dangerous mission — almost comes off as a calculated manipulation to get an impressionable young ensign to step up and volunteer.''

when you put it that way.....it's almost cold blooded (mind you she was probably a lock for lieutenant junior grade if the mission succeeded) , it also illustrates Picard's tack for diplomacy and mediation
Set Bookmark
Z
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

My god, this was bad. Tilly trying to quip with Osyra was so cringy it literally hurt me. Watching...Captain...Tilly trying to be tough and witty was like watching my 4-year-old niece act tough after scraping her knee.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

LOL! They've known each other for ages and they needed an alien brain implant to work out they had feelings for each other? Picard is the unsexiest male bore of all, and Crusher is so gangly and bow legged. A match made on TNG.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I like this Triniray.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

When the prefect went from perfectly normal to utterly furious "take them" at the mentioning of a birthday, I rolled my eyes so hard that I feared they would be stuck. Had to turn off this implausible nonsense a few minutes later.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I've been reading these reviews throughput the last couple seasons of TNG followed by DS9, Voyager (on the last season) and now Enterprise...I have to admit I am getting a little wary of these ENT reviews which I think focus too much on the negative. As for the comments, I barely read them anymore.

This was a good episode, (and a very good series altogether), and neither the reviewer nor the commenters acknowledge the obvious, that the spending time among humans (the first Vulcan to do so) is affecting T'Pols control over her emotions. We are rubbing off on her in other words. I find the gradual process fascinating, and that Jolene Blalock portrays a fantastic representation of an erotic enigma that the male humans on board are curious and dare I say, fascinated by. I guess the incessant complaining on how a Vulcan should behave, and what technology doesn't make sense or why a sex scene didn't go a certain way has obscured these subtle changes in a character, or are more fun to bitch about.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"So here's a bunch of asians and I'm like wow, great. But then the other captain's like "The savages are clearly more like us!" Because they're the white ones. 🙄 This episode is disappointing."

?? I don't remember that part. I thought Captain Tracey was Allied with the Kohms.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I re-watched this yesterday. Sorry to say, but I have to lower my previous 2,5 Stars to a meager 1,5.

Here's why: I've mentioned many times before that I have a problem with time-travel episodes, because they are cheap storytelling tricks to concoct whatever plots you like without any regard to what has already been established. They never make any sense and work differently in every episode.

So, they all become convinced that if the stranded crew doesn't re-do the accident, the colony will cease to exist; why? They did exist simultaneously for 200 years without any problem, why can't they continue to do so? And with the same logic, if they didn't manage to escape wouldn't they just reboot the whole time sequence, still causing everybody to disappear, effectively creating a time loop? Or are they supposed to build a parallel, duplicate colony to the one that already exists?

The story is extremely poorly thought out if you scrutinize it even the slightest. Which is almost always the case with these type of scenarios. Of course there is something called suspend of disbelief, but that only works if the rest of the story contains elements of very high quality. In Star Trek IV they get a free pass, in Voyagers finale as well, in the Visitor etc,. But here ... The characters you love and respect only come off as stupid.

The main thing they manage to do is to deepen the relationship between Odo and Kira; however I fail to see how they couldn't have done it any other way. The only thing this episode has going for it is Bashirs banter with O'Brien, which is stellar enough to put it just above the 1 Star mark.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Preposterous episode - but fun.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 3:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Who cares that Troi's backstory comes so late in the series? It's not an arc driven show. Lwaxana is treated so ridiculously in other episodes, it's an insult to the sublime Majel Barrett. She absolutely shines here, and so does the young Kirsten Dunst. Super worth watching for those two bewitching screen presences.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 3:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Sometimes a lame episode is just a lame episode. Cellular peptide cake? Vomit bucket worthy.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 2:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

@WineVQA

If it makes you feel any better, the Ferengi are not the Jews of Star Trek. Their mercurial and rapey nature reminds me more of Indians (open bob, SEO bombing, etc).

No, the real Jews of Star Trek are the Founders of the Dominion.

Anyway, I am completely on the side of the Bajorans for this episode. Not only are the Skrreeans irritating, demanding, and disrespectful, they can also go literally anywhere else. I remember that little exchange about the Northern Peninsula and how it can be farmed. Why not let the Bajorans handle it? Better yet, why do uninhabited places need to be inhabited? This episode has a clear message of brow-beating native peoples for not wanting to accept undue burdens, and if you apply that message to a real world context, you can start to see how insidious this messaging is.
Set Bookmark
Kilby
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 1:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

@Frake's nightmare: Ha! You just won the internet.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Up until now, Arthur C. Clarke has been my hard sci-fi jam. I remember reading 2001 and Songs of Distant Earth. What struck me about them is that there were no moustache twirlers... No Khan, no Borg Queen, no Zareh, no Osyrra. The stories had danger, death, and tense situations, but they didn't have a scenery-chewing villain.

You can only do the same gimmick so many times, before it gets old. Leonard Nimoy knew that. Star Trek IV hasn't got a villain like this.

The thing about over the top villains is, they can't be built on shifting sands. Voq came out of nowhere, then evaporated into nothing. Harry Mudd went nowhere. Lorca, same difference (once it was revealed that he was a villain). Mirror Georgiou similarly went nowhere. Control went nowhere. Zareh and Osyrra went nowhere.

Khan worked as a villain, because Nick Meyer framed him properly, with historical context within the series, and there was some ceremony to his return, too (the "taking off the gloves and helmet" thing). In addition to that, Ricardo Montalban and Nick Meyer really sat down and did work on the way Khan was portrayed by Montalban.

You can't just churn out whatever drivel survived your little Survivor-esque vote in the writing room. The show loses its direction if you do that. If you can't write a decent villain, don't write a half assed one.

The question really becomes, at that point, why Star Trek seems addicted to beating this dead horse over and over. But like the detective in the police procedural who advises against probing too deeply into the mindset of the serial killer, it's probably best not to overanalyze what seems to merely be sloppy, ham-handed writing that got approved by a bunch of money grubbing ass kissers.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Oh yeah part of Kelly being the one to give the argument was a nice touch; in addition to the rest, it really is also story about the legitimacy of "women in a man's world." Kelly in particular is a good choice for this because -- well, Palecki is good, yes, but the Ed/Kelly arc seems to be that their marriage failed because Ed kept her separate from his work, and their new relationship (whatever form it takes) is going to succeed because he'll integrate her into it. I don't think we're meant to believe that in the actual 25th century story that there's significant sexism on Earth (except in the 20th century jokes I guess) but I think the subtext is about reconciliation of the sexes by coexisting within both domestic and professional spheres, a Trek fanfic take on the Tracy/Hepburn "Adam's Rib"-type battle of the sexes comedy. I think I remember some comments on Ed/Kelly getting tiresome and I can definitely believe that, but I think that's what story they're going for.
Set Bookmark
H
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Billingsley is good here, but Duet it is not.
Set Bookmark
Z
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I waited until today to build up the courage to binge the last 4 episodes. Fearing well that this show could not redeem itself from it's mid season cliff dive.

This was so much worse then I expected, just beyond face palms. Completely incoherent plot. Discovery has a mile wide storage area. Just backwards writing. Backwards show.

If Doug Jones is gone, I'm gone. Fire everyone at CBS. Sell the rights to Disney for fuck sake.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Actually *1.5 stars. I didn't really find this much of an improvement on the first episode, and in some ways it was somewhat worse, though it's not terrible IMO.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

While it may be grading on a curve, I like "The Orville" so far: it seems to know what it's trying to be, is leaving room for growth, and plays a delicate game (which Jammer alludes to in the Rudolph scene) in being both bold and tentative. My wife and I both found the allegory to map somewhat most closely to human intersex births (where frequently the doctors and parents choose to fix the child's sex at birth to avoid the child undergoing future stigma, with the decisions sometimes regretted), but the episode also bounces around all sorts of issues. It's not so much that the episode is particularly tight or coherent in what it brings up, as that it keeps suggesting new avenues for discussion long enough to keep the story engaging without letting the episode's spell break. I think I mostly like that the episode doesn't force its allegory to be too pinned down, though the stageyness of the episode does get to be rather much during the courtroom scenes (proving that Moclan females can be as strong as males by showing off Alara is a fairly meaningless gesture, as the prosecution points out). As far as these downbeat allegories go, I think it's not as good as, say, The Twilight Zone's "Number 12 Looks Just Like You," but better than "The Outcast."

I like the little details around the edges of the Moclan homeworld -- that the emphasis on a particular view of maleness leads to this society that's all weapons manufacturing and smog, a courtroom of cubes and larger cubes. Had the episode pushed this to the forefront, it would probably be ridiculous, but as backdrop it hits the right notes.

There's some Worf/Crusher ("The Enemy," "Ethics") vibes to the Bortus/Claire arguments.

Anyway the double-edged sword of this non-Trek Trek is that it can sort of get away with less-sketched in story aspects than if it were a more "legitimate" show, which also allows it to successfully navigate the anything-goes throw-it-at-the-wall-and-see-if-it-sticks energy, which I think maybe covers up some careful thought going into these scripts (at least this one). As Jammer says, the Rudolph scene is particularly good -- and also includes maybe the show's best joke so far (when Bortus says that Rudolph's father originally planned to have him euthanized, and the others say that that wasn't ever on the table). 3 stars seems right.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Interesting that Alara is in command by default partly *because* she's a kid, and is more disconnected from family responsibilities; Bortus is eggsitting and Ed and Kelly are entrapped by the spectre of reuniting with his parents which prompts them to relitigate their divorce. Alara's emotional turmoil felt real, if obvious, but yeah her turnaround did seem to be based primarily on peer pressure rather than what she actually thought was best. If the argument that Claire made to her was more that if most of the crew wanted to go risk themselves for Ed and Kelly then that was a good indicator they should do so, but that wasn't exactly the argument posited. Claire's advice was generally okay though.

Possible (unlikely?) subtext of us watching for the soap opera shenanigans which ties us to the Calivons; like the Calivons, we "want to see" the history of the Ed/Kelly ship (note: I don't actually very much right now). Super-smart viewers apparently just want to watch soapy reality TV right?

It's very by the numbers in its actual dedicated stories (the "comedy of remarriage" Ed/Kelly stuff and the green-first-command) but there are interesting bits of world- and character-building around the edges. 2 stars seems appropriate. The scale is sliding.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

So my wife and I are watching The Orville. I know there are other higher priority shows, but I think it's maybe what we want right now. Saw up to "About a Girl" tonight. So far I like it, even though it's not great in general. Brief comments:

It really is basically just Star Trek with pee jokes so far. I do get that MacFarlane is a big Trek fan, but it's too bad that he felt the need to make it start out kind of wan and confused like aspects of TNG season 1.

MacFarlane's acting upon Ed finding Kelly cheating on him was one of the ep's weaker points -- I really don't think he has much in the way of dramatic chops. In general, I think the show will hopefully improve once we see the Mercer we are told about. Mercer is obviously MacFarlane in certain respects, and the way in which he dreamed about one day being a Starship, I mean, Union captain, and ended up something of a lowbrow schmo instead, is maybe about his arc. I think at some point we will need to see the Mercer who dreamed of being a captain rather than the one who is kind of reluctantly dragged into it. In any case, there is a kind of anti-meritocratic feeling to it, because for both MacFarlane and Mercer there's a slight sense they shouldn't be there, which of course is part of the story.

Kelly cheating on Ed because he was too much of a workaholic: already (spoilers) three episodes in this is a boring plot point, but again it's not quite convincing because Kelly seems so much more ambitious an officer than him. I know the divorce was hard on him etc.

I do think this episode would be mostly fine if it were a half-hour show -- the Chekov's Gun (my spelling choice is deliberate) of the redwood/"Timescape" time accelerator machine thing was set up adequately well, and reminds me of the end of "The Trouble with Tribbles," it's just that there isn't much meat to sustain the rest of the show.

Bortus and Isaac are a hoot already. Others not so much.

1.5 stars is probably fair, though a kind of pleasant 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 8:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Pitch Meeting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKctcTr6GDc&t=215s
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Useless fact:
The other ships name is Brattain, not Brittain. The subtitles are correct because one of the pads shows it too and crew says indeed Brattain. However, in one exterior shot of the ship it is spelled as Brittain. Whatever. Engaging episode and Picard and Riker genuinely looked sleep deprived.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,213
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.