Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83,568 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,343
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I just did a re-watch of this episode and, despite all the attempts at rationalizing I've just read in the various comments above, there's absolutely--ABSOLUTELY--no way to square what happens with Trek continuity in any way that passes the credulity test. Absolutely no way, that is, except by invoking those three dreaded words from the worst storyline idea Enterprise ever had: Temporal Cold War.

Yup, that's right. This whole thing with Enterprise's encounter with the Borg wasn't supposed to happen, and while Time Agents from the future couldn't manage to stop it from happening because they were being opposed by another faction, they were successfully able to suppress any record of it having happened or knowledge of it having happened from becoming widespread. Thus, the timeline was preserved. Archer and co. didn't know this battle was part of their participation as an active front in the Temporal Cold War, but it was. Yup. There it is. Now I can squint enough to find some amount of enjoyment in this episode rather than overriding disgust at how stupid it was begging its viewers to be.

I mean, it's still an episode the show shouldn't have done. If this is the kind of stories you wanted to tell, why did you make THIS show? I know just how bad the ratings were (deservedly) and just how dire the show's survival prospects looked at the time, so I'll excuse the desperation that led to it. But in the long run, did it really help? Did it do anything other than piss off dedicated fans and reinforce their belief that this show just didn't care, didn't have any respect for them, and didn't have anything to offer instead? No. Not as I recall, anyway. This episode that was envisioned as a turn-on for lapsed fans instead was just another in a long line of turn-offs for those fans who were sticking with it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

It amuses me to no end that Netflix selected scenes from this episode showing the Ligosians appearing aboard the Enterprise as the preview for STNG when you select the series. Someone has a sense of humor.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

I like some things. I like Sloan's trap for Julian at the end, of giving him his secrets, and Miles' role as Julian's conscience/connection to the everyday world rather than the information/spy/hero fantasy, dragging him out of there.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Hah, I guess I'm the only one who really likes this episode.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Sigh2000, you're right, this is strangely parallel to "Emergence".



This was definitely mostly tired retread off cliches.

I could have done without the the tired faux peril "if we don't make it out of his head before he dies, we die too!" Really?


This one just screams budget, including the lengthy Julian/Miles corridor scene. There are not cuts, and the dialogue was trying to reuse the hilarious scene from an earlier episode where O'Brien got stuck saying "Julian, people either love you or hate you. When I first met you, I hated you. And now...."


The pitch sounds good.

* We need a cheap bottle episode because of the other very lavish episodes we are doing

* Bring back the popular Sloan

* Another Julian/Miles romp

* Get the Odo cure
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

I like this episode. Very upbeat and I like how showed how people could fight in the future.
Set Bookmark
J.
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

This is an episode that you can’t take too seriously. Just have fun with it. The part with Elaan’s bodyguard working with the Klingons to sabotage the Enterprise was an exciting and fun part to an otherwise subpar story.
You would think the dylithium crystals would have been dangerous to handle if they gave off so much power in the engine room. And the Klingons trying to sucker the Enterprise into warp speed and destruction was a fun twist. I’d give it a C+, lots of fun but a goofy episode.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

@petulant

I agree, 100%

@Prince of Space

Uh? I just watched this on Netflix and there was no reference to flossing. If there had been, I’d have at least got a good laugh.

@William B

Yes, the look on “electrified Riker’s” face was indeed “so bad it’s almost good “!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 3:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Awful, boringly preachy episode. Poorly paced, badly staged, ridiculously obvious and clunky dialogue. The scene where Tasha explains drugs and addiction to a wide-eyed Wesley sums up the bottomless pit of just how bad this is. As for the opening scenes where Picard tries to debate with the Ornarans what their problem is, instead of taking immediate action to rescue them... unbelievable!

You know, I used to think the upcoming Skin Of Evil was the worst episode, but now I’ll reserve judgment - it will have to go a long way to beat Symbiosis.

0.5 stars, if that.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

Jammer said:

"What doesn't hold up is the plot advancement surrounding the computer virus and the Enterprise's solution, which is to essentially wipe the affected hard drives and restore them from backup. In a word: Duh. Shouldn't that have been the first course of action? And doesn't the Enterprise computer have virus-protection software? I also find it doubtful that the Yamato crew wouldn't be able to figure out what was going on when they had just as much information as the Enterprise crew. But I quibble on a basically solid show."

That wasn't what I got from the Staff Meeting scene where Geordi first reports on the Probe.

It wasn't a "virus," I don't think they used that way of describing it. They just call it a "program." From what I am gathering, this "program" is trying to install itself on the Enterprise Computer, as it installed itself on the Yamato Computer. But the two computer systems are absolutely incompatible with each other, was the problem. The Iconians destroyed their own civilization 200,000 years ago, according to Data's sensor sweeps of the planet, but they had technology that was super hot dog submarine sandwich hot air baloon holy crap advanced, compared with 24th Century Federation Tech.

To use an analogy that modern Windows Users would understand, it began trying to rewrite the Enterprise's Protected System Files to be compatible with it, in a futile attempt to install itself.

Basically, this process was never going to work, but it's just a program; programs do not know what they're doing, they are only sets of instructions.

But this is all just a really roundabout way of saying, the Iconian Program was not a virus. It might well have been a video message that explained what happened to them, or a dynamic recompilation protocol that would allow people to communicate with the Iconians, back when they saw visitors. It could be a recipe for hasperat for all we know.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

In a lot of ways, this became the prototype for what TNG would become. I think, for me, this is the first episode that is not merely good, but "Good TNG."

You notice that Troi is looking a lot more normal? I noticed it too. This is more the look we came to know Troi in, and her dialogue here is a bit better than before, even if still not terribly critical. There isn't any Counselor Obvious moment in this one, let's put it that way.

In addition, there are just enough plot threads running through the episode, and its pacing is pitch perfect such that they all get adequate screen time and exploration.

And that's really the key word here, this episode is a dynamic and acutely sharp take on the "Space Exploration + Sciencey Space Stuff" Subgenre of Trek Episodes that we all love so much.

Trek is always at its best, when it is just being Trek. The Cage wasn't "too cerebral," studio heads were "too uncerebral." And the early 70s syndication run of Trek proves it, not to put too fine a point on it.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Two fun episodes and cool that they chose the 90s, which is when I grew up. It's good to have episodes like this once in a while.

I know it's science fiction, but I find it incomprehensible that even a very smart guy from the 20th century would be able to reverse engineer 29th century technology. Ed Begley being able to hack into Voyager? Come on.

And apparently even in the 29th century the security of starship consoles is just as strong as it was on Enterprise D, DS9, and every other Federation vessel in history. Begley is able to simply sit in the chair and talk, and he has complete access to the ship. If I leave my work computer for 10 minutes, the screen locks and my password must be entered.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Pretty decent series finale. Minor complaints:

* I firmly believe Garak would have shot Odo before allowing him to link with the Founder.

* O'Brien's mentioning he would be leaving DS9 once the war is over just seemed weird. As viewers, we know the Feds will win and that most likely O'Brien would survive, but a character in the story indirectly suggesting that just seemed wrong.

* Intercutting the space battles, the events on Cardassia, and the end of the war scene on DS9 with Winn and Dukat's story made it seem like they must have been in the caverns for weeks.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

I meant Rosot, not Vornar.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@Frake's Nightmare

Well, those 24th-century folks generally travel pretty light, probably because replicators can supply most of what they might want or need at their destination.

In fact, I kind of wonder why people need to pack anything for a relatively short trip. But given Robert's anti-replicator attitude, I guess Picard has to make sure he has enough changes of clothes, just in case any of them get, well, muddy.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Absolutely spectacular.

The fivesome of Kira, Odo, Garak, Damar and Vornar is fantastic. And a semi-Mexican stand-off to boot.

It does strain credibility that this team could expect to go unrecognized under cover, but gratefully, Damar is indeed recognized.

And the character Damar has a very believable arc that you never would have expected in his early appearances. He's had to grow up very quickly. He has to eat quite a lot of s*** from Kira (even though she's mostly not doing it intentionally).


My only complaints are regarding the Gowron/Worf parts. The Gowron problems aren't new, he's been pretty poorly written throughout DS9. He's a pale version of his TNG self, but at least he still has the eye thing.

Second complaint is that Worf should have accepted being chancellor. The only reason he didn't is I'm sure due to executives wanting him to remain available for TNG movies.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

They should have done more of an X-Files homage. After all they were going around in a car. After all T'Pol was skeptical of everything, including if time travel exists in the first place. After all it was night and dark (they should have had flashlights). After all Archer was unquestioningly sold on a crazy theory.

Since it was supposed to be 2004, they should have let T'Pol speak to Archer from the car instead of stepping outside to do so. Then when the medic refers to "all y'er fancy equipment", he should have said "y'er fancy equipment, y'er fancy flip phone". It would have been ironic because flip phones were inspired by Star Trek. :)

The American obliviousness of vegetarians' queasiness circa the early 2000s was well depicted. The fries "might be ok". Indeed!
Set Bookmark
Amelia Batehart
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Definitely one of the worst Voyager episodes for me. Although, saying that since I love Voyager so much I have sat through this one several times on complete all-season re-watchings.

The story is far too silly/simplistic for me to be plausible, especially for a crew that gets stranded in the Delta Quadrant and has dealings with alien technology.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Dukat's story went rather loony, but to some degree it's worth it because we get the rise of Damar, a very mundane functional officer. He's clearly no ego-maniac and the dry delivery of his speech makes it seem more real and believable. I doubt a Dukat type could have made a more convincing speech.

I'm also kind of happy that Dukat didn't get redeemed.


Also, it's perhaps Damar's dull demeanor that caused Weyoun to completely miss what was happening with Damar, right under his nose. Weyoun never seemed to consider for a moment that Damar could become a threat.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Santa Anna allowed some non-combatants to escape to spread the word, but executed any survivors of the Alamo and ordered the slaughter of hundreds of POWs soon after at Goliad. Santa Anna believed this would be demoralizing but this did not work, it created anger.

Whatever the Founder's reasoning, it was probably wise not to destroy the life pods. Creating martyrs is risky business, plus if people believe they will die no matter what, they tend to go all out and become vicious.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Picard is also a demon at packing. Wish I could fit everything for a weeks stay in such a tiny bag.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Who doesn't like a bit of sexy mud wrestling involving two bald, middle aged men ? Slow it down and put some heavy sax and bass in the background and you're away.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

@ zanki,

"What shocked me is Sisko blindly believing the prophets will save his son"

I guess I always interpreted it as an Abrahamic situation, where on some level Sisko would have sacrificed his son if that's what it took to protect Bajor.
Set Bookmark
Chris Nash
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Not much else I can say other than to repeat that this whole Xindi arc should have been compressed into a smaller span of episodes rather than dragged out across the whole season, when it really only came into its own from "Azati Prime" onwards. It was clear that there just wasn't enough story there to carry a 26-episode season; a lot of the earlier Xindi episodes don't contribute anything meaningful to the last five/six episodes, or contain hints of a payoff that never comes.

For example, what happened to Raijin and her bio-scans - if the Reptilians used them to build their bio-weapon in "Carpenter Street", why do the other Xindi know nothing about it when Archer shows them the dead Reptilians and the weapon itself?

The finalé here is very strong - well, up until the alien Nazi curveball - but I'm a little concerned at how defenceless Earth appeared to be, and why Archer hadn't been communicating with them and warning them that the Xindi weapon was on its way so they could put some ships in orbit! There's also the plothole of being unable to communicate with the doomed orbital station due to "interference from the weapon", and then in the very next scene receiving communications from Shran without any trouble...
Set Bookmark
J.
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

This has to be one of the more goofy episodes in the original series. One of the few I was glad to see end. I didn’t like it and thought it was way too syrupy. The Aliens could have simply tested on animals and proven what they needed to know. Dismal episode if you ask me.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,343
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.