Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 68,005 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,721
Set Bookmark
Chris
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 4:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

This episode was meant to cause debate and it absolutely succeeded in that. Sometimes there aren’t simple answers. We can and should all debate what was the right decision here, but the facts are so specifically (and yes, artificially) laid out that neither decision can be declared absolutely the correct one. Incredibly impactful episode.
Set Bookmark
A A Roi
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 2:02am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Rahul

While the TV series were fairly gore-free, I will agree, the movies on the other hand explored violence to a degree that the two recent series emulates on a similar level. TMP had a horrific Transport accident of the like which has never been repeated in the franchise. Wrath of Khan featured the bloody effects of ship to ship combat on the crews. First Contact also featured disturbing violence and gore. Since the new series seeks to emulate the production values of the films, it's not out of line, IMO, that they also emulate the envelope pushing the films offered.
Set Bookmark
Cue Who
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 12:43am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

If I didn't love the character of Picard I would have stopped watching by now. This show is slow. I would rather go back to episodic television that has a different story every week rather than take 5 weeks to slowly get to the point. What's up with a Romulan ninja with a sword and why do they not even look like Romulans? Why can't the ships be brighter? in tng and voyager the bridge and ship had bright lights. Even DS9 wasn't as dark as the new shows. they weren't dark with neon lights everywhere. There is so much about this show I would change. JL. I'll at least watch the first season because I love picard. Before the season I started I just prayed they wouldn't have Picard find a long lost son and have that stupid story that every show wants to do now. Instead Data's daughter is in it and now the ninja boy. anyways I hope it gets better.
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 11:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Oh, yes, that's right, thanks for reminding me Jammer, the return of beam based weapons. I also liked that. I have no idea why they tilted so hard into the laser toots of the last several years, they sounded ridiculous and for me at least, were less dynamic. If I had to guess they were logistically easier to write for. Because I'm at a point now where it's not at all hard for me to imagine the writers taking the easiest way possible.

And please note, while I never try to insult those that do enjoy the shows, if my ranting does come across like I'm putting down those that do, it's unintended. My rants are always towards the production side of the shows. If I call the writing simplistic, uninspired or poorly thought out, that is aimed squarely at the skills and motivations of the writers, not those that can find enjoyment in the work.

I know that what I value about Trek and hold up as foundational to the franchise is not going to be shared by everyone. I'm glad others can be serviced by what I view is trying to pass as Trek today, but I am not going to sit quietly by and allow what I value about Trek to go unrepresented. It may not save the Nu movies, or Disco, or Picard, but it puts those needs of mine out there so that there can be an awareness out there so that someday a Trek might come along that does better serve what I view Trek as needing to be.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Spot on review. I too thought the Soji/Narek sock slide scene was a little (a lot) on the cringe side. I am digging the makeup of the crew though. And Seven is a welcome sight.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
A A Roi
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Brian L.

As somone who grew up on TOS, and as I expect many who did, I found the Berman era in general and TNG in particular replete in bland, formulaic episodes which offered the science fiction version of white breat. Compared to TOS it pushed few boundaries and instead prefered to offer a comforting blanket to its fans. And while episodes like Tapestry and Inner Light were a cut above the mediocrity of the Berman era, the are nonetheless not particularly compelling slices of science fiction TV.

I've found the new series on CBSAA to be quite a step above the valium laced conformity of much of what comprised Star Trek between 1987 and 2005, and look forwards to each episode to add something new to the franchise rather than conform to the status quo as vast swaths of the TNG-ENT era offered. Even Picard, replete with its callbacks and cameos, is taking Trek in new directions that would not have been allowed under Rick Berman, and cheers to that.

Sorry that you find such pushing the envelope numbing, though. But if running TNG in the background helps, maybe that's more your cup of tea.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I want to add to this that Stewart's french is really terrible. :)
Set Bookmark
Gerontius
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I liked this episode best of those so far. It's been fun reading through this mass of comments. Full of points where I wanted to respond, but I've forgotten most ofthem along the way.

I'm was surprised to read post after disparaging post - but then it's generally easier to write an interesting knocking review than one expressing enjoyment, especially if it's muted enjoyment rather than outright ecstasy. And in the spirit of Picard's comments about it being a mistake to make the perfect the enemy of the good, this episode was good without being perfect, and deserves to be appreciated. Or rather, it's not a question of deserving to be appreciated, but for me at any rare, achieving that.

Obviously it's to be expected that the science in Star Trek is going to be absurd most of the time, so it strikes me that going on about stellar physics and which sort of stars are liable to explode is a bit irrelevant. You have to suspend your disbelief every bit as you do in Harry Potter, and you do that willingly and consciously. What replaces consistency with the real world is consistency within the artificially constructed world - and that is surely the basis of of the worries expressed about whether or not things "are Star Trek".

I findit strange that so many people seem to get het up about the fact that the show decided to allow some actors to speak in their own native accents rather than adopt a generic American accent. After all they've accepted that for Picard for all these years. I'm sure Patrick Stewart is perfectly capable of assuming an American, or a French accent, if required - but why should he, and what would be gained if he did? And the same goes for actors from Ireland or Australia or Chile. If this provides a gentle reminder that people do have different ways of speaking, no harm in that.

I'm enjoying this series for what it is, as I enjoyed the previous series. Eery now and then an episode has reached the heights, but most of them coasted along in the lowlands enjoyably enough. I'm confident that the same will be the case with Picard, and I look forward to every episode, and I expect in time there will be some classics.

And I'm afraid I haven't even noticed most of the unseemly language that appears to get some people hot under the collar. That may reflect the fact that I generally confine my viewing of TV to the BBC.
Set Bookmark
Brian L
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Rahul
"But what I'd also say that since Trek is no longer using the 25 episodes a season model running for several seasons, our expectations should be higher. While being a tighter, more focused product will likely prevent a truly terrible (1* or below) episode from being produced, I'm disappointed at the lack of excellent (3.5* or better episodes) produced by DSC and PIC."

Many people aren't comfortable dealing with emotions, and they look for something to numb them out. And, having been there at one time, where I would rather just feel nothing than gamble with the good and bad, now as an older person I see things differently.

I'll gladly take an occasional "Code of Honor", to get an occasional "Tapestry" or "Inner Light". Just like in real life, where you're sort of required to push through the dark times, in order to have a chance at the peak experiences.

Nu-Trek is like Star Trek on anti-depressants. Watching it makes me feel...flat. Nothing. It's never horrible. It's never breathtaking. It's just kind of there. And to me that is the biggest disservice we could ever do to the Star Trek franchise.
Set Bookmark
Sen-Sors
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

"I was referring to the second Star Trek episode ever filmed, Where No Man Has Gone Before broadcast in 1966, not a film made 22 years later. But it's understandable, based on the commentary among posters, that many fans of Star Trek here disregard anything the franchise did prior to 1987."

lol, woooow. Or perhaps it was an honest mistake, considering there's decades of Trek stories across many different series and films.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@ Rahul

Space Legolas was my invention.

Yes, I felt the irrational need to point that out.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Rahul

It's true violence (and nudity) has been amped up over time. Although TOS did notably have its share of fistfights and painful ensign deaths, its depiction was relatively mild. If you look through all the ST films you'll find only ST1 was rated G, and the rest of the TOS films are PG. TNG has two PG-13 films and all the reboot movies are also PG-13. Discovery and Picard go even further with a TV-MA rating (rated R in movie terms).

Audience attention is probably just one of many factors in this trend. Not being limited by network television gives the showrunners more options. I recall reading about a few DS9 and VOY episodes where they really wanted to deliver some visceral action sequences but censoring cut much of that footage to the floor. Also, the success of a string of mature HBO releases really set the bar for "water cooler talk" subscription shows.
Set Bookmark
A A Roi
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 2:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Bold Helmsman

That whole 'mourning Edith for a whole season' is hyperbole and obvious hyperbole for anyone who's watched Discovery play out the last couple years. Yes, Kirk could have been shown thinking about Edith here and there and his follow up behavior could have referred to her death, but the conceit implied that serialization would force an entire season to be utterly occupied by the ghost of Edith is a bit too much. Take Airiam in S2 of Discovery as an example of this. She dies. Everyone mourned her the next episode and then the season moved on.
Set Bookmark
A A Roi
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@James

I was referring to the second Star Trek episode ever filmed, Where No Man Has Gone Before broadcast in 1966, not a film made 22 years later. But it's understandable, based on the commentary among posters, that many fans of Star Trek here disregard anything the franchise did prior to 1987.
Set Bookmark
Bold Helmsman
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 1:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Rahul

Perhaps a millennial like myself doesn't know what he's talking about, but is it really that people's attention span have decreased, or that people simply have far more content to consume?

Stimulation is necessary to get people to engage, or they won't even bother, and the show is dead in the water.

Serialization on the other hand is more a matter of technology catching up with reality. The ability to rewatch episodes at will gave studios the opportunity to tell the kind of stories they wanted to tell, the kind of epics writers studied in school. This is a net good to me, but I feel it has its drawbacks. Even Kurtzman admitted that something like "The City on the Edge of Forever" couldn't be done now because Kirk would have to mourn Edith for a whole season.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Chrome,

Talking about what is different between DSC/PIC and and 90s/60s Trek is the depiction of violence, as 1 example. There are plenty of other differences of course as well as the individual flavors of the series -- but that's another debate.

But I say the depiction of fight scenes and violence mirrors how society has changed (to my prior comment). Technical improvements (VFX, choreography etc.) have allowed this but also fed the need for more graphic and brutal violence for that shock value which today's viewers crave. I recall Nimoy describing how fight scenes, violence was handled on TOS and thought it was excellent in that there is no need for gore or something to that effect.

So you'd see very little blood/gore on TOS. Then when TNG rolled around, there was a bit more. "Conspiracy" was an episode that went too far outside Trek boundaries on this topic for my liking and I panned the ep.

But then comes DSC with its scene of a device thrown by Mirror Georgiou to cut through the heads of a bunch of people standing in a circle. And PIC has a scene where a Romulan gets decapitated by Space Legolas (was that what Trent called Elnor? Elnor also sounds like a LotR Elvish name by the way...)

All to say -- Trek's violence is 1 barometer for how the series have changed and not for the better IMO. Clear difference with DSC/PIC or Kurtzman Trek and 90s Trek/TOS.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Yeah Rahul, you’re like one of the few people on this site who watch everything and give it a fair review. :-)

There’s no question each Trek has a certain flavor even if certain Treks have a similar structure. When I watch TOS, I get into 60s mode and try to think about what was revolutionary about the show for its time and for stories that are still relevant today. It’s very different than TNG, which I think focuses less on military and more on cooperative problem-solving.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 10:59am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Doesn't Nemesis take place not long after Voyager? Weren't many of the warp capable ships across the quadrant destroyed in the Dominion war? Does anybody know what the sate of Romulus was after that? Been so long since I watched DS9 I don't really remember, but I thought I recalled something about the Federation having to fast track recruits because, while they could replace ships, competent personnel was harder to come by. It seems to me that Romulus was even harder hit than the Federation by that war.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Tim C

I agree with pretty much everything you've said (minor exceptions being the Reno character on DSC, and I'd say TOS came out of the gate the best).

For me, the Kurtzman Trek era (DSC, PIC) has not been terrible either -- objectively when I evaluate the episodes and season or in terms of personal preference. But it hasn't been great and speaking about my personal preferences, DSC was/is the first Trek series I didn't really greatly appreciate. I love the 5 preceding Treks and have really grown to appreciate ENT having gone thru the series at least 5 times.

DSC has its redeeming qualities which you pointed out. It was terrific to get a quasi-standalone episode like "If Memory Serves". And yes PIC is too young to judge, although the trend is worsening but that could change. At least it does have an interesting premise, good cast and decent acting. The writing is iffy, however.

The thing about Kurtzman-era Trek or Trek in the 2010s and 2020s, is it mirrors the ethos (for lack of a better word) of today's society just like the prior Treks did. I'd argue today's people have shorter attention spans, need to be stimulated (hence the constant attempt at shock value in DSC, PIC) and want serialized TV. People are different today than they were in the 90s or 60s -- just wired differently.

But what I'd also say that since Trek is no longer using the 25 episodes a season model running for several seasons, our expectations should be higher. While being a tighter, more focused product will likely prevent a truly terrible (1* or below) episode from being produced, I'm disappointed at the lack of excellent (3.5* or better episodes) produced by DSC and PIC.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

James, I think you’re wrong on both counts. A script that’s trying too hard to tell a message can backfire hard if it’s not done well. Take TNG’s “Force of Nature”, for example. By all counts, the episode has a sincere message about conservation of natural resources (a message I agree with). However, the episode uses very questionable methods to get to that message. The proponent of environmentalism, Serova, commits ecoterrorism to shock people into action. Her methods are so wrong that it’s easy for the audience to dismiss her and vicariously dismiss the whole good conservation message in the process. What a mess!

I’m not really sure where STV was going because, similarly to STP actually, there were too many people who wanted their own special say in the movie and it ended up being a jumbled pot of loose ends and mischaracterizations.

As for the reboot movies, they may be full of action schlock, but similar to the schlocky Indiana Jones movies, the messages are straightforward. ST2009 was about two very opposing people, one human and alien, who need each other to accomplish greater things. Into Darkness had a clear stance on overreacting to military threats and not letting militarization take away your core beliefs. You may not like these films for other reasons, but saying they’re not trying to tell a message is patently ignoring what’s on screen.

I may be asking the impossible here, but I wish people would stop conflating the reboot movies with DISCO and STP. The films are relatively tightly written Trek tales for a general audience. The shows (so far) are bloated and meandering labyrinths of stories with a few shining exceptions.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

3.5 stars for me. Only slightly worse than last weeks.

The warrior nun/monks with swords didn't really do it for me. I mean Klingons use the Bat'leth, ok fine, but they shoot the hell out of you first with distruptors. I mean I don't hate the idea, I just don't love it.

Really loving the show in general though, the cast have done a great job at filling their roles in the 4 episodes we had. Although I only just realised Alison Pill is from Scott Pilgrim.. now I'm having trouble not seeing her as the dead-pan sarcastic drummer ("If your life had a face I'd punch it"). Anyway she's doing a fine job being quirky and funny.

Rios is a little bland but decent enough and Raffi is also growing on me (the JL stuff is a bit meh though).

Welcome back Seven.. I wonder why she doesn't use her original human name.. maybe she does now... we'll see.

This show feels the most like Star Trek a show has felt since Voyager/DS9. More so than Enterprise to me. THAT felt like a different show to me. (I'm not going to bother mentioning Discovery - that's a "hate watch" for me - ok I just mentioned it).

I don't really see the need for people who dislike the show keep trying to say anyone who does is somehow mentally deficient. Movies/Films and Art in general is extremely subjective. If you hate it - fine, fair enough. That has no connection with the intelligence of people who like it.

@James "How about that there's a barrier around the galaxy that if you cross it turns people into regular men and women into beings with godlike power" is a reference to ToS's second pilot "Where No Man has Gone Before" https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Where_No_Man_Has_Gone_Before rather than the barrier at the centre of the galaxy in ST5 ".. mythical planet Sha Ka Ree, the place where creation began; the planet lies behind a seemingly impenetrable barrier near the center of the galaxy..". Either way the science of both is ridiculous as is a lot of the science in most interations of Star Trek. VOY in particular was horrible for ridiculous technobabble. If you're not really prepared to except ridiculous science then Star Trek probably isn't the show for you.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I love how he ended his rant with a Trump-related comment. As if our appreciation for the optimistic and positive message of Classic Trek has anything to do with THAT guy. It's hilarious.

Oh well... I guess he couldn't use the usual "you're a misogynist racist homophobe!" quip, because Picard is a straight white guy.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Nolan
"But then the writing would be serving a narrative focus in that scenario, whereas I don't think there's anyone there in the writers' room paying that much attention."

That is exactly the crux of the problem. We have Kurtzman-style writers who are trying to write epic worldbuilding-oriented sci fi, and it isn't working.

It is clear that the writers haven't done their homework on this front. There is no sense of historical continuity between the Federation we knew in the 2370s and what we see onscreen in 2400.

This, more than anything else, is why STP doesn't feel like Star Trek to me. It's not just about Roddenberry's vision. It's a completely different world, even if they are using the same names.
Set Bookmark
James
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 6:20am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@A A Roi

"You'd say that Star Trek jumped the shark with Red Matter? How about that there's a barrier around the galaxy that if you cross it turns people into regular men and women into beings with godlike power? Honestly, if red matter is your qualification, Star Trek has jumped the shark dozens of times over the decades. "

I know everyone agrees that ST5 was a total flop, but I sometimes wish that the writers in charge of Discovery and Picard would embrace such ambitious subject matter. For all its failures, at least The Final Frontier asked some interesting and relevant questions. And isn't that what sci-fi is about? Putting forward fictional science to address familiar, human problems from a new perspective? I don't see nu-trek or DSC or PIC doing this. The science is mostly used to propel the plot, and not much more. Who cares how 'real' the fictional science is - how it is used is what I'm interested in.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,721
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.