Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 60,120 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,405
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 2:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Everything about Burnham’s upbringing on Vulcan bores me to tears.

The idea that Saru’s eyes could see something on the viewscreen that could not be magnified is offensively absurd.

I like Captain Pike though (even if his personality does not match what we saw in "The Cage". And the Tig Notaro character was awesome.

BTW, I watch on the CBSAA app on an Apple TV 4K connected to an LG TV, and have zero technical issues.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Nice to see how the hatewatchers (very Trek by the way) needed only a few days to snap back into their insulting self. Wasn't it nice, the two days after Jammer asked us to behave in a more civil way.
Two days of peace and reasonable debate.
What a magic time that was...
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Kinemetic

"and the fact that for some reason a problem with a device that Stamets has disconnected and set on a table makes the power drop."

This is a bit of a weird complaint regarding a show that takes place 250 years in the future. We already have wireless charging today and big money is being put into wireless power for not just phones but homes and business. Not out of the realm of science then in 250 years that when you short out your wireless power source, all the draws connected to it go down.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I'm not generally big on prequels in general, so I was never big on Enterprise as an entire series. This episode seems to have been intended as sort of an origin story for the Prime Directive, and it doesn't work for me.

I stopped reading the comments when I got halfway through 2014, amazed that over a period of several years, nobody had mentioned the TNG episode "The Perfect Mate," in which Picard is outraged by the limitations placed on a sentient being who has been raised all her life to be a diplomatic "gift" because she is, essentially, a rare other gender that the Federation had not been aware of among her species, and he insists on opening new vistas to her, radically transforming her view of herself and the universe.

Picard's actions were clearly considered by the writers to be right and good, and so they wrote no dark ending with suicide and reprimands that would hold up a figurative billboard proclaiming to the viewer, "This is why we need a Prime Directive!" They gave us only a bittersweet resolution in which she will be forever the person she became by knowing him, and as a person of duty like him, she chooses to follow through with her assigned duty, while Picard keeps a stiff upper lip as he watches a woman he seems to have fallen in love with marry a man who cares more for trade agreements than for her.

The Trek franchise has always been fond of grinding axes, and its writers have never been very subtle about it. It's generally pretty clear which side the viewer is "supposed" to be on by the end of an episode. No, it is not about accepting all possible approaches to morality; it's usually a pretty heavy-handed effort to impose the writers' morality (even if that morality is sometimes the oxymoron of imperative moral relativism). Apparently, a TNG viewer is supposed to think pretty much the opposite of an Enterprise viewer, even though they attempt to draw on the same fan base.

Forgive me for not wanting to subject myself to moral whiplash.
Set Bookmark
Tyrrath
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

This is yet another demonstration of why this show failed. It isn't the only completely wrongheaded episode in the series, but that anyone could write it in this day of, for example, international condemnation of women's oppression in certain parts of tlhe world lends it an air of something darker than moral incompetence.

Its authors basically steal the premise of Margaret Atwood's "The Handmaid's Tale", with big dollops of the Star Trek:TNG episode "The Outcast" and even "Angel One." Only in this case, it uses the as u st unformulated Prime Directive to effectively sanction slavery, the trafficking against their will of sentient beings, and forced reproduction involving an oppressed class of fertile beings who are denied basic rights. It implies that "culture" trumps (ha) the inalienable rights that all sentient beings share, not least in the vision of Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry's philosophical world, exemplified by the early TNG episode "The Measure of a Man" and countless Star Trek episodes where the Federation denies entry to numerous candidate worlds based on their sentient-being rights violations.

The Prime Directive is supposed to.be about noninterference in developing worlds, anyway, not respect for "culture" over rights. Yes, there are "consequences" to Trio's actions - just as there were "consequences" to Franklin and Jefferson papering the French countryside with copies of the US Declaration of Independence. That doesn't mean we wish they hadn't!
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Yikes, not a fan of this one. Hard to watch, good thing I had laundry to fold while it was on.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Gil

"That would almost be funny if only 25% weren't wrapped in quotes.

I can now ignore the posts immediately preceding."

???

Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Torture was unexpected, but with the tone of this season it is was a believable option. I finished DS9 for the first time and people seem to forget that Sisko did a lot of questionable shit, for someone that was a spiritual leader, a single dad, and a supposedly more evolved Starfleet.

This is the first time viewing Enterprise, and it is not great, but not as terrible as I was expecting. I am tired of the theme song though, thank god for fast forward.
Set Bookmark
Mandy Yang
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Gil, yes, who are these Discovery superfans one sees on the internet, who spend so much time crying over the opinions of strangers, with the "leave my sweet Disco aloooone!"

News: many long-time Trek watchers are going to watch the new Trek series, even if it is a very flawed show like Discovery. Instead of crying about their critiques, you could argue why you feel the writing is not incredibly slapdash, or why the jabbering Tilly is already a magnificent Trek icon. Just a thought.

Set Bookmark
Daya
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

You are right. The ecliptic and the galactic plane are not approximately aligned. The galactic plane and the Earth's equator also seem to be misaligned ~60 deg. So my proposed driving convention is not as attractive then. Maybe it still applies in deep space (not near any star) like we see in this episode, and near a star everyone shifts to the local orientation. Maybe.
Set Bookmark
Mandy Yang
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Agree with the previous commenters about Martin-Green. She just might be the stumbling block that prevents the show from ever lifting off. I was withholding judgement about her acting during the first season, but now it seems clear she doesn't have the feel for this sort of sci-fi epic. If last year she was too stiff, now she is too maudlin and soap opera-ish, with an array of cornball tics. She probably would be OK if she were just an ensemble member, but as the all-important lead, she seems unable to carry this thing.

And to anyone who would baselessly accuse me of bigotry or whatnot, please refrain. Penny Johnson Jerald is my favorite thing about that other space show.
Set Bookmark
Mitch
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

*Ahem*, if I may...

TNG's "Darmok" received 3 stars, but this episode of Discovery deserves a full 4 stars? More extreme, DS9's "Sacrifice of Angels" shamefully and far too critically received only 3 stars, but this episode of Discovery get a 4 star rating of perfection? Really?

I'm going to assume Jammer's thinking is each TV series is relative to the other, with him holding a higher level of expectation and standards of one over the other (i.e. if this were an episode of DS9, it likely would've scored 1 or 2 stars), but still... it's cringe worthy to see anything about this so-called Trek series get such high praise.

Personally, I found "If Memory Serves" fares no better than any other episode in this series so far. Sure, maybe it plays out better and above than some of the other really poorly written episodes of season one, but did I truly enjoy it? Did it make me re-examine my feelings on Star Trek Discovery on a whole? Absolutely "no" to both. Sorry, I just can't stomach this TV show, it is not Star Trek and it is just not a good television series in general.

As of this date, there is not one single episode of Star Trek Discovery I would ever want to watch again. It's depressing (even the opening title music is about as uplifting as a funeral march!), dull, convoluted, confusing and just a big giant mess. I suppose I still watch it out of obligation, in that I've seen every single episode of Trek (and movie)--ever. It's hard to believe that anything could be worse than Enterprise or Voyager, but even with those series, there are still a handful of episodes I could again re-watch and enjoy.

Yeah, I know I sound cynical here but honestly, I've tried to be as opened minded and neutral as possible to get into Discovery and I just...cannot. Sorry, but this show is just terrible, and I certainly disagree that this particular episode deserves 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Requisite Flirty Sexy Lady makes an early appearance as a beautiful young yeoman gives the Captain a quicky back massage while he sits in the captain's chair.

Well, we're off to a strange start, as McCoy sees Alice in Wonderland characters on a planet he's scouting with Sulu.

Pretty silly so far, as the crew's random daydreams come to life.

Now the yeoman is flirting with McCoy who's flirting back. She looks young enough to be his daughter. But McCoy dies before this pairing can go any father. I mean farther.

Endless fight with Finnegan. Endless.

McCoy is back from the dead and no one notices or cares that "dead" crew member Angela is still missing.

Below average. Too much silly.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"The weed of crime bears bitter fruit. Crime does not pay! The Shadow knows!"
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Gil

"Never seen, only heard - as a haunting to superstitious minds as a ghost, as inevitable as a guilty conscience..."
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men? The Shadow knows..."
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

8/10

my opinion of this went up and down throughout the whole episode.

On the aerobic outfit scene alone, it deserves a zero - no wonder geeks are seen as social losers. Cheap titillation.

The creepy negotiator gave a good portrayal of, well, creepiness. The touchy-feeliness made my skin crawl and I am a dude. I enjoyed the tense discussion with Troi on ethics. Surely she would have thought through these things before and been able to respond. He portrayed manipulativeness so well even before the dealings with the Ferengi. I LOVED Riker's comeuppance of him.

Despite all of this I enjoyed the multiplayer drama - at the negotiating table, the bedroom and in the wormhole.

The final scene is what made me up my score to 8/10. Finally Troi shows some strength and sees through him. How selfish and self centred he was to want her to go away with him to help him become a better person - after his initial lectures of her as always being on the job. Her comeback was perfect: " I already have a job as counsellor"

Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

But this argument about what happened could be irrelevant.

Airiam could have already sent the 100% data complete and the whole situation after, including the fight on the station, could have just been stagemanaged by Control to keep the Discovery occupied while it retransmitted the data elsewhere.

It could be 5 steps ahead of everyone involved and have the DISCO crew running around like white mice in a cage.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"'So where's this "only 25%" suddenly suddenly coming from.'

From Airiam. In the episode we all watched."

That would almost be funny if only 25% weren't wrapped in quotes.

I can now ignore the posts immediately preceding.

This experiment is now concluded. Thank you for participating.
Set Bookmark
4Q2
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I think I see the problem here.

"Identity Pt 1" set the bar too fuckin high. Great episode.

Had this one shown up prior, it would have been lauded as "best ever" as many others before it have been, IP1 should have been this season's cliffhanger.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

Fun episode, but a science disaster, anybody accelerated like they were would consume enormous amounts of oxygen and any movement would create very powerful sonic shock waves.There are 101 other problems also , you have to shut your brain down on this one.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Gil

"So where's this "only 25%" suddenly suddenly coming from."

From Airiam. In the episode we all watched.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Gil

Also, we don't know exactly what the AI's control of Airam actually entailed. We saw it make her do things, but we never saw it turn her on or off like we saw data being turned on and off. As viewers we can only speculate how much actual control the AI had. But again, based on the narrative we are presented, not 100% of both her organic and inorganic systems. In that case, one can speculate that perhaps it was manipulating her systems as opposed to dominating them.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Gil

"Tilly states she doesn't know how to hack Airiam. But apparently Control can hack Airiam since it can turn her off and on at a whim."

Your statement.

Yes, this was the first attempt to break the control the AI had over Airiam. And it worked, a little, but not enough to prevent Control's objective which was opening the door. Still not sure what your relevant complaint is. What in Tilly's upload or in not preventing Airiam in speaking consituted a threat? In fact, allowing her to speak was to Control's advantage, as we saw. As long as Burnham saw Airiam as her friend and not as a threat, she wasn't going to push the button.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,405
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.