Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 84,646 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,386
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

@ Paul,

"The writers of this episode obviously don't know the meaning of the word prodigal."

I think you have to take seriously the episode's premise to see why they thought the term applied to Ezri. What I think they mean to say is that from the perspective of Ezri's narcissistic, dysfunctional mother, Ezri ran off to pursue selfish things and leave the family in the lurch when they needed her for the family business. Apparently since she left everything's been falling apart. and since her mother naturally blames her for it, that makes her the prodigal daughter from a wrong POV. Certainly not from ours. So that alone muddies what they're even trying to say. But even worse, it's not even clear what the family thinks about Starfleet or whether they supported her or opposed her going, or what the heck is happening. Why did she even join Starfleet? We don't know. Unlike with Spock and Sarek, we aren't treated to any backstory about the origin of this conflict. It's just not a very good episode for the most part (I can barely bring myself to watch it), but the title at least gives a hint at what they were trying to write.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

The writers of this episode obviously don't know the meaning of the word prodigal. Obviously, they must have heard the story of the prodigal son and assumed, as many people do, that the word prodigal means "returned", but it actually means "wasteful" or "extravagant", which has absolutely nothing to do with this episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Silly

I can understand why DS9 would put a ton of emphasis on Ezri at the start of S7 as we've got a new character etc. and I wasn't a fan of it. But I don't really feel early DS9 put an excessive amount of emphasis on Jadzia. What I think DS9 had to do was to flesh out the whole Trill host/symbiont thing which TNG basically just introduced. As a character, I feel Jadzia was given less "air time" than Sisko, Kira, Odo and maybe even O'Brien in the early going -- and rightly so. Even this episode "Dax" is less about Jadzia than it is about hosts/symbionts. From what I remember, there's actually very little Jadzia does in this episode.

Jadzia was a well-conceived character and there was some potential with host/symbionts to tell some interesting stories (like this episode IMHO) but the actress Farrell wasn't good enough to make the "Trill episodes" stand out. In fact, I'd say the "Trill episodes" as a DS9 theme are generally mediocre and could even have been omitted except for the fact that the show needed to fill 7 seasons of like 26 episodes each.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke asked, "So unless something directly affects me personally, I can't talk about it?"

Yes @Luke, those are the rules.

Everything has to be about your "journey" and your "lived experience." Kindly comply with @Boomings requirements, or you will not be permitted to opine on these matters any further.

Thank you for sharing your "truth",

https://youtu.be/Pw2sex1mJNI
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I'm glad to see some of the later commenters didn't much care for it, because I certainly don't. I think this episode is so badly flawed that 1.5 stars is being generous.

Back when season 7 first aired, it was hampered by far far far too much focus on Ezri Dax. But early DS9 was also vastly overly focused on Dax!


In seasons 1 and 2, It seems like the production assumed Dax would be the breakout character and practically acted like Jadzia was the star of the show. But that never happened. I doubt it ever would have happened, but rolling out these deep Dax backstory episodes BEFORE the current character was even established certainly didn't help.

Would TNG Measure of a Man have been so compelling if it was one of the first few episodes, before we got to know and like Data?

Note that the very Spock-centric Amok Tine and Journey to Babel came about AFTER and BECAUSE Spock was a hit.

Probably this episode should get a little leeway for its clunkiness because it's a very early one before the show got its sea legs. But that doesn't fully absolve it because the extreme doting on Dax was quite deliberate.
Set Bookmark
Contumacious
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 6:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Adam reminds me of a live action version of Beavis from Beavis and Butthead.
Set Bookmark
jillyenator
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: LD S1: Much Ado About Boimler

Isn't the farm where we tell our children that we brought their dogs too? You know...the farm..where they can run and play in our minds, but they adults meant the kill-shelters. It becomes fridge logic when one grows old enough to understand.

Nice to have it turn out like a Risan pleasure planet.
Set Bookmark
jillyenator
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

Besides the obvious riff on aliens, we also get a bit of Harry Potter's Chamber of Secrets. Ick ick ick! In the best way.

I was suitably horrified that The Child kept slurping up the precious eggs, but also couldn't stop laughing over it. Each time he slurped one down I had to crack up.

In the next two eps the kid continues to eat things that either aren't his or that are...um...still moving. (Ghagh is best when served live.) Growing kid's gotta grow!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Angela Lansbury: “When they first pitched this story, I said that I wasn’t prepared to be in it. I told them several times that Murder, She Wrote is NOT a sci-fi show. Eventually they listened and told me they would offer it to Star Trek instead (though they didn’t believe it would be taken up). The show itself? I can’t comment I’m afraid.”

The opening sequence of the art class was by far the best thing in it.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Hey Luke how about giving an answer to move things along!
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Lol whenever Tuvok or any Vulcan recommends a mind meld, we always get the usual protest from a doctor only for the meld to proceed anyways. Can we just skip the predictable protest?
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@Jeffrey -

That’s why it makes it even more profound his performance. I keep seeing a bunch of comments on how he was overacting and things - but if at some point, he stopped acting and it became real…it’s an even more poignant scene.

I have to watch the documentary now - I’d love to hear more about what the actors and actresses say now
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

And I did not like AT ALL that Odo got so submissive to Koloth when Koloth says he's a Dahar Master. Koloth essentially threatens Odo.

First, why would Odo know much of anything about Klingons, especially those kinds of details. Maybe he gets a monthly security magazine? But that's minor, Odo could have learned.


The bigger problem is Who Freaking Cares? This is a Bajoran station and Odo is security chief. Is Koloth actually going to attack Odo?

This is just flat out of character for Odo. It's just sort of a variant on the Worf Effect. The script made Odo back down in submissive awe just to establish how Significant it is to be a Dahar Master. Never mind that there's another one in the drunk tank.

And maybe they should wear a Dahar Master belt or button or something?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Meh, I've rewatched this, and when Jadzia gets into that Proud Serious Dax mode, it does not work for me at all. It's just all Really Serious Terse lines and staring. I just don't think the actress was able to bring this aspect of the character alive, and a whole episode of it is a chore to watch. I wasn't sure in Playing God, but here it seems clear in contrast with these veteran actors.

Also, it was well established that trill's aren't bound by past lives oaths, and the Klingons understand and honor that. I thought it would be better if Jadzia was just lying and her oath/honor talk was just a front while in reality she just secretly wanted revenge, perhaps for unstated reasons.

Probably the show wasn't ready to go that far with a Starfleet officer, but making it about honoring a past life's oath for dubious reasons makes this seem sort of like a misdemeanor, while if she was really after revenge, it gets a lot closer to flat out murder.


Still, with misgivings, it's very strong. Obviously it's a hoot to bring back these three old Klingons. And there was something hilariously retro 60s about calling their foe "the Albino."

Jadzia casually asking Kira what it's like killing someone was gold because of course Kira figures that out pretty darn quick.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

I tried to rewatch this, but I just can't get into it. Yes, the script built an interwoven theme well. But now I remember, this early Dax stuff just never worked for me.

I don't know if it's the actress's ability or weakness in the scripts, but whenever Jadzia would have serious stuff related to Dax, she always switched into sort of a Proud Honorable Serious mode. That one with the Klingons and the albino is a whole episode of it, and it makes it quite a chore to watch, for me anyway.

When I see Terry Farrell acting, it doesn't seem fake or bad, but I wonder if she just didn't have the breadth of skill to bring that part of the character alive. Because, for Cobra Kai watchers, this mode distinctly reminds me of the Robbie character when he gets into super serious mode. Basically, tersely say a word or line and stare.

But partly I couldn't care less for Dax's history. Sisko calling her "old man" and a line here or there were plenty for me. The Blood Oath was a decent story at least, though flawed, but that's for that page.

I just find this episode unpleasant. The guest actor seemed to play his part well, but it was a whiny character that I didn't really want to watch. Also, I had forgotten, but this script pushed Jadzia way way way into the hell raising, gambling, sleeping with anybody. Far more than before, so it wasn't just retooling the character, this particular script took it all to 11 just to shock the upright initiate. I'm hardly a prude, but I wouldn't want anything to do with this Jadzia.

Some bits here were good, like Quark thinking the initiate is in love with Jadzia then realizing and dismissively saying "oh, this is about the worm?"
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

So unless something directly affects me personally, I can't talk about it?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

That Ellen DeGeneres has picked up some mad surgical skills by the 24th C!
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

"Kai Winn(makes me shudder to call her Kai)..."

Just call her Nurse Ratched.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"Things I learned today: Avery Brooks wasn’t acting when he broke down."

I re-watched the "What We Left Behind" documentary over the weekend (which incidentally is freely available on YouTube now https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHixW9PLsAc ) and that's where it was mentioned that Brooks went all-in on that breakdown. There was also some discussion about whether he should direct or not, because usually they don't like to do that, but in this case it made sense.

From Memory-Alpha, quoting "What We Left Behind":

First Assistant Director Lou Race recalled shooting the scene; "He falls to the floor, and I'm saying, 'Well, I gotta say cut. But how long should I let this go on?'" Nana Visitor related, "They called cut, and he's… not coming out, and I know what that feels like as an actor. You're gone, and he was… he was gone." Added Lou Race, "If I'd stood there for half an hour, I think he would have kept on. He was very committed to that part and very committed to that scene."
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I'm not sure what the issue is here. Surely two humpback whales, plus however much cubic whatever of sea water, make for a bigger beamout than a shuttlecraft, and that was done much earlier.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Luke

England. So Brexit is relevant to me, and affects me.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@Booming @Peter G

Yet they also have a tractor beam - why stretch our credibility with the transporter?
Set Bookmark
Vivekwhu
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

As I continue the search to the purpse of life and love, being battered along the way with false dawns, but remaining incurably optimistic as a Star Trek fan, my comments:
This is the most romantic ending to a Star Trek episode ever, with perhaps only Metamorphosis coming close. I am sure there many holes in the plot, with even the concept of binary sex being challenged. But look beyond our current limitations and marvel at the idea of love being presented here.
After refusing her own temptations of power, Thalassa and Sargon choose to be together for oblivion, together. Imagine that, when current realtionships are so fragile.
Imagine CHOOSING to be with one person for oblivion, having already spent half a milliion years as energy trapped in a ball.
Takes your breath away.
Meanwhile, back on Earth, there is still huge danger that the pursuit of total power may get us all killed, facing the same problems as Sargon and his band. Who would we choose to survive the extinction of mankind?
A most thought provoking and romantic episode of Star Trek.
I like it even more every time I watch it, being jealous of those who have never had the pleasure.
TOP MARKS!
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Things I learned today: Avery Brooks wasn’t acting when he broke down.

Well, then. Paints everything in an even stronger light.
Set Bookmark
KP
Mon, Aug 2, 2021, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@PB

Precisely. Nervous breakdowns look exactly like how Brooks acted it, actually
Next ►Page 1 of 3,386
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.