Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72,551 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,903
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

The Enterprise floating in blue cloud skies looked so wonderful to me—-many years later The Voyage Home’s brief similar shot of the Bird of Prey “Bounty”. Just looked fantastic.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I’m rewatching it. It’s great.

I’ll fanwank... there’s a very good reason the Gorn moves in slow motion- it’s explicitly stated the race is cold blooded.

There’s plenty to critique- like why did Kirk and company not immediately beam up when first beaming down to the colony when it was very obviously a trap. And Uhuru screaming when Kirk was taken from the bridge... lol because teleportation is quite mundane in this universe.

But still, this is a first season ep of TOS. Come on, they were quite literally making it up as they went along. And thank you Lucille Ball!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

This episode was fairly well done, 2.5 stars about fits. I, like previous posters, feel the major drawback was setting a plot where a husband and wife were sent alone on a mission. Dumb. I also didn’t like the absences of a coagulation compound in the end kit, or when Jadzia says “our tricorders are useless now” but then they’re using their tricorders later.

But the stuff between Jadzia and Worf (Jarf? Wordzia?) is genuinely good. I like the evolution of Worf, and I don’t even think his marriage is the catalyst for his better disposition. I honestly feel his ability to be a man of war and actually fight and kill and launch an actual torpedo without Picard telling him “no”, he gets to understand what it’s like to truly be a Klingon, and thus frees him up to laugh, fall in love, and be himself. In short, killing Jem’Hadar is way better for the Klingon psyche than skull-faced hologram calisthenics.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

This was a fun outing, but the Founders must think very little of our quadrant if these are the dummies they’ve specifically bred to fight in the Alpha quadrant. This wasn’t exactly a comedy episode, so I don’t give the alphas quite the pass I gave to the Iggy Pop Vorta in “The Magnificent Ferengi”.

I do love when they take absurd concepts and then add actual science though, such as shrinking down would leave them unable to process oxygen molecules in the regular atmosphere. It reminded me of that episode of Futurama where they have to go microscopically into Fry to battle his worms and use tiny avatars. When someone asks why they just don’t shrink down, the Professor says “that would require tiny atoms, do you know how much they cost? I’m not made of money!” So points to the writing team for addressing this issue, even tho the premise is so crazy, I doubt they’d be called out on it.

All in all, it was a decent outing, but meant very little in the big scheme of the show.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

and Avery Brooks was born in 1948 so he has probably seen some rather ugly things.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Looking back in some of the earlier comments, those notions of being heavy handed with racism, and those of bringing up past racist policies in America only makes things worse— wow do those notions feel antiquated now. I have recently started watching all the Star Treks from TOS in order, now I’m in DS9 and I’m watching this episode AS RIOTS ARE GOING ON.

Let’s face it, this episode had a lot to say, and despite Brooks’ scene chewing and the questionable tie in to the overall plot (the opening scene DID mention Sisko wanting to step down), I believe it tells the story well. I think between examining where we were in the 1950s, and where I think all of us would like to be in the 2400s, where race is not an issue at all, it’s very prescient for where we are now. It shows us how far we’ve come and how far we still need to go. For all the progress we’ve made since the 50s, this powder keg we live on is still volatile... and one small group of racists, xenophobes, sexists, etc can cause the whole thing to blow.

I do think if this episode made you feel uncomortable, that can be a good thing. If you think it was beating you over the head, just be glad it wasn’t sticking it’s knee in your neck, because there are still real people being held down for real, and they’re more desperate than Bennie Russell.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

That's an interesting idea re: Pulaski. You're right that it wouldn't really work with the story as told. I can totally see Crusher and Pulaski butting heads over personality and other more trivial matters, but the circumstances would need to be different. Pulaski tends to be rather flippant when it comes to protocol, but not when it comes to her patients. Dr. Russell puts her *patients* at risk ostensibly to further her research, but more likely as a means of self aggrandizement. Pulaski on the other hand puts her *self* at risk for her patients and even seems to be embarrassed by her accomplishments and acclaim, as evidenced in Unnatural Selection. She's a bit of a hothead and even said that she tends to leap before looking, but that's still pretty different than Dr. Russell.

So I think for the story to work with Pulaski, you'd have to get rid of the questionable medical ethics. Maybe replace that with Pulaski mirroring Picard's viewpoint in the same way that Crusher mirrors Riker's. Pulaski would be pro-suicide, but maybe she's the one who brings knowledge of Klingon ceremonies to Riker and realizes that neither of them can help Worf go through with it. Worf's obstinance can still lead to Pulaski suggesting a risky treatment, just not one that's her own pet project. After all, there's plenty of medical procedures that are well established and vetted but still dangerous. The only problem is that half the conflict in the episode has been removed, leaving only the suicide question. Is there enough meat left? I can't think off the top of my head of a way to fold in the USS Denver triage to the story since that was used only for the medical ethics drama.
Set Bookmark
Peter G/
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Or a bunch of guys in costumes running around doing T-rex chicken arms.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

If only the Horizon had left behind a copy of Jurassic Park, there could've been a planet of dinosaur zoos.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Maq
Seven also drinks all the time.

"regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting."
I felt the opposite. He character was so one dimensional. Try to summarize him: "naive, loyal." Apart from that it is killing people, the second most behind Narissa.

"It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world."
I'm really happy that this happens and that they toning down the Botox. Foreheads are finally moving again. Really freaked me out to see all these dead Botox faces.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Correction:
Rios would also need a Detox. Picard perhaps not or perhaps also after living on a vineyard so long. :-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Borusa I can understand some of your points. I also have my doubts regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting.

But your comment regarding Raffy and detox. Honestly, is not Picard in more need?

I very much enjoyed the return of Seven. She seems very fit. I also liked that the Raffy character had traces of life. I am lucky to be enough old / mature to appreciate the beauty independent of it's age.

It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Tim Lynch's review from when the episode aired mentions that it was rumoured that Dr. Russell was originally planned to be Pulaski. I've never heard anything to support this claim, but it's an interesting counterfactual: bring Pulaski back and set her at Crusher at odds. It wouldn't have quite worked with this story as told, not the least because she has an existing relationship with Worf. What do people think?
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

I think it would have worked better had Occupation and Precipice been two episodes and Exodus been a two hour event. Just flip those two and it works perfectly
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Also, I saw the quick changes of mind by Roslin and Adama as essentially they agreed with Tyrol’s points, but they could not give credence to strike as legitimate. So once they got him to back down first, get that token win, they proceeded to address the issues like the rational people they are.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

On rewatch I *really* liked this episode and the ending with seelix really moved it. I remembered thinking it was good but that Adama acted in a way at the end that I didn’t totally buy. But this time, I had no issue. It struck me very clearly that Adama was making an aggressive bluff and Tyrol had no desire to call it (in part because it was so unexpected and convincing). I liked that Roslin could be very firm and rigid in some places (as with Adama, she knows this is a can of worms that cannot be even slightly legitimized) but where there was room and it was a conversation without extortion/strike (the conversations about inheriting jobs, and again at the end) she met Tyrol’s POV genuinely. A lesser episode would have kept her hardline throughout.

3 stars feels right, but a strong 3. First episode in a while that really felt like it was firing on all cylinders in all aspects (even other midseason stronger episodes had some weaknesses).
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Really agree with Andersonh1, always felt this one was unfairly maligned. The kitschy things like the dog and the vampy woman are part of the package, and it works and is fun.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I come very close to calling this one the second four star episode after "Eye of the Needle", but the opening feels a bit hokey before the episode pulls things together nicely in act one and gives the crew a real dilemma, so I'll go with three and a half. Once again it's a given that the crew will not succeed, but the character choices made with B'Elanna and especially Tuvok, and the establishment of Seska as a solid supporting character really carry this episode for me. And Josh Clark makes me wish that Joe Carey had been a recurring supporting character beyond season one as a father who really just wants to get home to his family. Voyager would have benefitted from more recurring characters that could be developed a la DS9, and I really like the "engineering staff" that allow B'Elanna to have her own subplots apart from the main cast.

Nice to see a Starfleet crew on the receiving end of a "prime directive" for once and having to just live with that. I thought that particular reality could have used a bit more discussion in the episode, maybe leading to some flexibility on the topic down the line.

Like ovaduh, I love that this episode is referenced in "Picard". I didn't expect so many Voyager references in that show, and most were quite welcome, this one in particular.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

The is the first four star episode of Voyager, an episode that is patient and thoughtful and in which the plot takes several unexpected turns, and which uses Voyager's unique premise very effectively. They really do just about everything right here. Yes, it's a given that Voyager will fail to find a way home by the end of the episode, but it's honestly unreasonable to hold that against the episode, given the premise of this series.

I enjoyed watching the crew investigate, get their hopes up, run into an obstacle which dashes those hopes, only for a solution to present itself, at which point the cycle repeats itself. It's a nice example of this crew working together to problem-solve and find alternatives until they finally hit a dead end and are forced to give up. And the Romulan scientist is a nicely written, well-acted antagonist who becomes a friend by the end, so much so that we're genuinely sad to hear that he died before Voyager even left in the first place.

Four stars, easily.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

I think it's clear that Voyager was still trying to find it's way and identity in these early episodes. That being said, I enjoy the film noir detective story approach, and I quite like that Tom's eye for the ladies really gets him in trouble this time. This is not a terribly ambitious episode, but as an early "still getting to know the characters" type of drama, it works fairly well. Yeah, it's not hard to see where the plot is going when it comes to the two Baneans having an affair behind the old professor's back and setting Tom up for the fall, but the twist of using Tom's implanted memories to smuggle information to the Numuri worked well the first time I saw the episode. Like Tom, I assumed the symbols were part of the punishment and didn't think any more of them.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I shall be brief

I am glad you liked it Jammer.

There was almost nothing salvageable in this series :

1. The hero spacecraft was as uninspiring as the Scorpio from Blake's 7 season 4,as non starfleet a ship as you could get: yes I know it wasn't a fleet ship.
2. Raffy belongs in detox.
3. Seven of Nine as Elen Ripley ; give me a break.
4. The Sheer 'f bomb' hubris syndrome ,effing this ,effing that-utterly puerile writing by ninnies.
5. What was the point of having Legolas in this?

I quite liked a Romulan Borg connection as in Star Trek legacy but it was poorly executed here.

Deconstructing Picard was a nonsense .

The only thing was the scene with Data but even so it was cheesy.
And then they have the unwarranted arrogance to set this up for a second season: of what precisely-Firefly Clone :the show?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

I have looked at my earlier coment and wish to reconsider:

Nothing and I mean nothing of any of my criticisms of various TNG episodes including the really really weak ones from earlier seasons can compare with my abject terror at what they just did to Picard-omg-blade runner synths,cthulhoid Ai monsters from beyond,Picard killed and re born into a minority group artificial body after spending the whole season being portrayed as some irrelevant fuddy duddy imperial colonial elite member of a society that totally does not exist in the star trek universe.

It is agonising and the same wholesale vandalism has been inflicted on Star Wars and Dr Who.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Nolan, thanks for your insights. To late now. I still would have walked the way.

I mostly never really enjoy the Trek first time I watch them. It is first when I rewatch them that I really start to appreciate also the strange episodes.

Americans are quite often extremely good story tellers and they are able to implement some quite silly things enjoyable on a television screen.

It was slow but very good acting from some actors. Not only from Stewart. God visual presentation. Many opportunities were missed. Sad when so much effort was put into it.

If they managed to do something well it was to show how people starts to reclaim life after having lost it. Or settling with a new after a disaster.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

The mixing of the imagery is the genius of the episode. Q an eternal being cannot keep it all straight. Tents at Agincourt, tents at Marengo. For Q just a blink of an eye. For the ants hundreds of years. It shows us how Q sees reality.
Checkmate!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

THIS JUST IN:

Art design on fledgling science fiction show is wacky! This is not a drill, all personnel secure your art history textbooks, THIS IS NOT A DRILL.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,903
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.