Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 80,443 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,218
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Did anyone else notice that the orderlies who take Dr. Severin away to Dr. McCoy for a medical examination are identical twins?? Whoa!
Set Bookmark
Ramon Ymalay
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@peter
If you truly believe that I believe we are actually "close" to holodeck level tech, I don't even know what to say. LOL. I am definitely laughing.

My point is that given the insane jumps in technology it would take to create that turbolift chasm or the holodeck, we are lightyears closer to a holodeck than making subspace bubbles inside a starship that encapsulate turbolifts.

We have already "transported" one photon.

https://mitechnews.com/guest-columns/one-step-closer-to-creating-star-trek-style-transporter-warp-drive/

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/09/23/quantum-feat-takes-us-one-step-closer-to-star-trek-transporters_n_8181418.html

Couple billion years (if humans can avoid self destruction) maybe we can transport someone... then move on to the turbolift dilemma.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"Kevin Riley who sang and died in "Conscious of a King" - was an Irishman."

Ya, Kevin Riley survived in that episode.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Turnabout Intruder

Star Trek season 3 episode 24

“If only.”

- Kirk has the series' last words.


2 stars (out of 4)


Here we have a fairly simple story, told far better in TNG’s “We’ll Always have Paris.”

There, Picard breaks the heart of his girlfriend by choosing his career. He literally abandons their relationship. Picard stands her up at the cafe where they were supposed to meet. The life of a starship captain is a lonely one. Starship captains are already married - to their ships. Starship captains have no place in their lives for love (JANICE: Your world of starship captains doesn't admit women. It isn't fair.). Kirk is no different.

We see the similarity between Picard and Kirk in Star Trek: Generations. But more than that, as @R.J. points out, Kirk says it plainly in "The Corbomite Maneuver” (KIRK: I've already got a female to worry about. Her name's the Enterprise.). For whatever reason “Turnabout Intruder” takes this fairly simply premise and turns the volume up to 11, and in the process gives us a screeching and unfortunate conclusion to an otherwise very fine series.

This episode fails in two very unrelated ways.

First, Spock has had to decide which Kirk is the real Kirk several times before. In “The Enemy Within” when Kirk was split in two - evil Kirk and pansy Kirk. "Mirror, Mirror" when Spock threw Mirror Kirk into the brig fairly quickly. And most relevant for us here, in “Whom the Gods would Destroy,” when Garth of Izar takes the form of Kirk and starts recounting well known tactical moves in a failed attempt to convince Spock that he was Kirk. Here, as @Linda says, in the scene where Janice (with Kirk inside) is recounting for Spock their past shared experiences, Spock and McCoy should have just asked Kirk (with Janice inside) the same types of questions. There is no way she’d be able to pass that test. I mean, she kept calling Bones "Dr. McCoy," because she had no idea what Kirk normally called him.

Second, this episode fails because we’ve basically been down this road with professional women before. In “Metamorphosis,” the Assistant Federation Commissioner Hedford has those key lines,

NANCY: I don't want to die. I've been good at my job, but I've never been loved. Never. What kind of life is that? Not to be loved, never to have shown love?

We essentially have the same set up here with Janice,

JANICE: The year we were together at Starfleet is the only time in my life I was alive.

And then later,

Janice (in Kirk’s body): Believe me, it's better to be dead than to live alone in the body of a woman. It's better to be dead.

The fact that this was done already, and done much better, should have been a clue that the jig was up. The show had burned itself out.

When you take into account the ridiculous number of episodes in this season that leaned on the same basic tropes - an illness was the ticking clock (plague, disease, etc.); someone on the crew goes mad (or, for a change, the whole crew goes mad); and the third trope, the ship gets taken over - Turnabout Intruder takes the cake, because we have all three: fake Kirk uses Janice’s illness as a ticking clock to force a diversion of the ship, Kirk acts mad because Janice is mad, and third, oh yeah, Janice and her Doctor boyfriend take over the ship. Turnabout Intruder may be the Platonic ideal of a Season 3 episode!

This is not an episode about a woman’s ability to command. This series literally started with a female first officer. This is not an episode about feminists hating men. It’s not even about bad breakups, even if it is basically a jilted lover switching bodies and then fucking over her ex boyfriend.

If this show is about anything (*if* being the key word), it’s about the basic common sense notion that you don’t stick your dick in crazy.

https://youtu.be/iuVmKam3m34

There are some nice touches to be sure. As @Trek fan points out, it is good to see that Spock and Bones no longer vacillate about removing Kirk from command, especially after the disastrous consequences of hesitating in "The Deadly Years.” Chekov and Sulu are fun here, and as @Rahul says, watching Shatner play a woman is super fun. Plus, for no apparent reason, thanks to @Trent, we get to read Gene’s letter to Asimov! But the fact that people (including @Trish, who has had wonderful comments throughout the series) have read all kinds of BS into this BS episode is a testament to its many, many failings.

How sad.

This is the way the show ends
This is the way the show ends
This is the way the show ends
Not with a bang but a whimper.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

ramon wrote: "Heck we are getting closer and closer to holodeck technology already. Not sure how much VR you do, but the Virtuix Omni is a VERY rudimentary idea of the treadmill in place concept and they are even producing a second version. Combine that with replicated matter and transporter tech and it’s really not hard to
Imagine a holodeck."

@ramon:
Vr is similar to a holodeck? Us getting closer to holodeck tech? And you think transporters and matter replication are even remotely plausible? Especially in the near future as you appear to think? Don't make me laugh.

As far as I know vr involves putting contraptions on your body, a holodeck does not. It is doubtful matter replication and transporters are even possible within known physics.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Loved your review Mal for one of my favourite episodes. There really is so much here that TOS does wonderfully.

Spock's monologue is brilliant and as a Spock episode I like how you've turned the tables in asking how he can not understand what it means to be human. I never thought of that aspect, but if there is some continuity to how McCoy chides him in that prior episode (which I believe is "Requiem for Methuselah") then there is some growth for the character here -- or at least added depth. What's been interesting in S3 is how Spock evolves -- really opening up about the mating aspects here is so different from "Amok Time". Maybe it all had to do with McCoy rewiring his brain in "Spock's Brain"! But then he also hit his head in "That Which Survives" and started acting like a jerk...

It's also great that we get scenes where Plasus and Droxine discuss the situation without any of the main cast present, we really get to understand their motivations. I also liked Vanna a great deal -- man, was she hot in that cave scene...

And I don't know if you notice the very final shot in this episode is a glance at Droxine and a hint of the love she might have fulfilled with Spock that is likely gone forever. It always says a lot for me.

I think this episode is quintessential Trek and going back to the discussion on "The Enterprise Incident", while this episode doesn't rate as quite as highly for me as that one did (it's not far off 8/10 vs. 9/10), I think it is more "series defining" than "The Enterprise Incident", which I hadn't considered before.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

What’s with the weird expression on Riker’s face in his first scene, right after the credits? I thought that was going to pay off but it didn’t.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@John Harmon, yes I watched the show. Notice I didn't say The Expanse doesn't have politics or character drama. It's got a lot of that. But, as Paul M. explained, it's not allegorical in the manner of Trek or BSG. It's not trying to be a commentary on current events or make statements about human nature. To some extent, I get that the show has an undercurrent of "human nature remains the same" - a counterpoint to Trek's optimism about the future - but that's more part of the world-building and less a theme.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 7:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Interesting that Zarabeth was in a polyamorous relationship ("My crime was in choosing my kinsmen unwisely. Two of them were involved in a conspiracy to kill Zor Kahn.”), and suddenly she gets handed two men by some amazing twist of fate. Poor thing, no wonder she couldn’t believe her luck and almost had a nervous breakdown ("This isn't real. I must be imagining all this. I'm going mad!”).

She was far too well coifed for a woman with no access to toiletries. But I’m not complaining. Every time - over the decades, when I watch Spock go back into the portal, I inevitably wonder how he could have made himself do that, and if I was in his place, would I?

Parting question: are we, here @ stHypertext, more like the Sarpeidons than we'd like to admit? Instead of dealing with the epic disaster that is nuTrek, have we simply reverted into the past, rewatching old episodes again and again and again?

@Malia, I agree with you, and its a shame that TNG did the same thing with the Iconian gateway technology,

https://youtu.be/0D-YmDYjGkE?t=135

An enjoyable hour. I’m good with 3 stars, but no more. I do prefer the Doctor Who library/time-travel/romance:

https://youtu.be/agRTtcEfTaE

I'm not going to write a whole lot more, cause I want to get to the next episode. I can't believe our time here is almost up...

https://youtu.be/y8_oqgPwHfI?t=49

It was fun. Oh my.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“the Expanse doesn’t say anything about the human condition.”

@Dom are you sure you watched the same show?
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Finally an adult episode among the dross of S7.
Thank God, Wesley's out of Starfleet's clutches at last. I could never imagine him turning into a Picard, he's not sufficiently duplicitous for the Federation's dubious diplomacy. Wesley isn't only super intelligent IQ wise, he has oodles of emotional intelligence, which enables him not only to see the truth, in this case how morally wrong removing these people from their home is, but to call it out loud and clear.

The Indian culture and its spiritual dimension are treated with respect and without the condescension usually reserve by TNG for small races in the way of the Federation's military ambitions.

Hell, this lot CAN deliver a descent episode when they put their collective minds to it.

The Indian old man is superb, his calm and wisdom are so moving; Wheaton plays Wesley pitch perfect here, without the cloying cuteness of earlier episodes; the spiritual Indian/Traveler aspect is sensitively handled, he gives Wesley the way out that his combined seniors (Dr Crusher and Picard) cannot give him; even Picard is not entirely loathsome here, coming across as humble and genuinely concerned for the villagers.

And the Cardassians are just superb: two sons lost in the war, who wants to lose their last one? Echoes here of the Cardassian at the end of Lowe Decks. I adore the Cardassians, they're the most complex characters in the whole ST universe. No wonder DS9 is so beloved by true ST and SciFi afficionados. They have done the Cardassians true dramatic and narrative service.

And we have the foreshadowing of the background to the Maquis. Nice tie in with other ST iterations, but another aspect of the ST universe never truly developed anywhere.

Just loved the pace and dignity and maturity of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

The Savage Curtain

Star Trek season 3 episode 22


“Human?”

- Bones

“All too human.”

- Lincoln quotes Nietzsche


3 stars (out of 4)


Given that the Nietzscheans are the key antagonists on Gene Roddenberry’s Andromeda, we should hardly be surprised that Gene was interested in what the philosophy of Nietzsche had to say about man. Particularly about what it might have to say about man of the future. Khan was of course the most direct depiction of the Übermensch on the show’s original three year run. Unsurprisingly, the Augments (as we later learned to call them on Enterprise) were a product of genetic manipulation, which of course is how the universe in Andromeda got the Nietzscheans also.

Here, Gene has penned a story that examines the core question of Nietzsche’s book, “Beyond Good and Evil,” in which he asks is there really any difference between good and evil men, or is it merely that what makes man man is expressed in purer form in evil men, while men we consider good, are those who temper those same instincts.

In a lot of ways, this episode reminded me of DS9’s “Heart of Stone,” where shapeshifters similar to the rock creatures here, manufacture a situation for Odo, through the creation of a fake Kira, in order to teach Odo something about himself. Aliens who have no common moral reference frame for understanding humans, and yet can create human forms? Me thinks the Changelings owe a lot of their character to Yarnek.

This episode marks the first time we see Surak of Vulcan. Spock is of course beside himself. Season 3 has been quite a journey of exploration for our favorite science officer. He’s played music with hippies. He’s fallen for the beautiful daughter of the administrator of an entire world. He’s played an original Brahms and coveted an original Da Vinci. He’s been offered power, love and glory in The Enterprise Incident. And now here, he meets his greatest hero. I’d say that if this is where The Original Series wanted to leave Spock, they did quite a fine job.

On a side note, when watching Surak, I couldn’t help but think of T’Pol. Some of the smirks, some of the speech patters were very similar. Maybe Jolene Blalock was a lot better actress than I’ve given her credit for? For those who haven’t seen it, the Vulcan trilogy in ENT season 4 is really good.

https://youtu.be/zBD6nKUYPNM

Yeah, hard to imagine, but ENT had easily the best examination of Surak’s philosophy in Trek!

We also meet Kahless, or at least as @William B points out, Kirk’s idea of Kahless. Suffice to say that for such a fantastic figure, a white man in black face was not exactly an auspicious beginning.

Rounding out the baddies is Zora, aka Deathwalker from Babylon 5.

https://youtu.be/braDD-4ZYQk

And of course Col. Green, who we don’t ever really hear about again on Trek until, as @Trek fan notes, the end of Enterprise, on Terra Prime.

https://youtu.be/aPKOhXVC6xQ

Then there’s Ghengis Khan. I’m not sure why he’s on team evil, unless it is because Kirk thinks of him as evil? If you want a more nuanced portrayal of the great Khan @P, I’d recommend the incredible Kazakh movie Mongol,

https://youtu.be/nHaYiA6u3Co?t=14

Really an epic movie. Highly recommended. That said, @P, don’t feel bad about Khan throwing rocks. Throwing rocks has sometimes been the sign of an epic warrior and leader of men

https://youtu.be/Po3HbErxC-c

Let’ see, did the episode give us anyone else from history?

Oh yeah, they also bring back honest Abe.

Or least they bring Abe back long enough to stab him in the back with a spear! Oh I know, I shouldn’t kid. These are revered figures for so many. I’ll only say, that this is the one piece of the episode that was 50 years ahead of it’s time, and only now, in the 20’s, starts to make perfect sense to me. After all, Kirk knows how to respect an alien who presents as a man, and he orders everyone on the ship to use Abe's chosen pronouns:

MCCOY: Jim, do you really believe he's Abraham Lincoln?

KIRK: It's obvious he believes it. Doctor McCoy, Mister Spock, full dress uniforms.

SCOTT: Full dress? Presidential honours? What is this nonsense, Mister Dickerson?

DICKERSON: I understand President Lincoln's coming aboard, sir.

SCOTT: Ha! You're daft, man.

DICKERSON: All I know is what the captain tells me, and he says he'll have the hide of the first man that so much as smiles.

SCOTT: I'd have expected sanity from the ship's surgeon, at least. President Lincoln, indeed. No doubt to be followed by Louis of France and Robert the Bruce.

KIRK: If so, we'll execute appropriate honours to each, Mister Scott.

Scotty, dude, get with the program!

OTOH, @Paul and @zzybaloobah point out the key note of 23rd century sanity from Uhura,

UHURA: But why should I object to that term, sir? You see, in our century we've learned not to fear words.

I fear, as perhaps @Britz94 does, that we are still very, very, very far from that future.

There are obvious flaws in the episode. And while I liked the fight sound track a lot, as @Jammer says and @Trish really elaborates on, they could have easily called this one Arena part III.

Finally, I’ll admit that when I was reading @Strejda’s comment, and she says “bad rap,” I immediately thought that this episode would have worked better as an Epic Rap Battle of History. Good vs. Evil. Who wins? You decide.

https://youtu.be/0N_RO-jL-90

How’s that, @JPaul, for the group turning on itself and imploding?

Weirdly, I have zero recollection of ever having watched this episode before. But like @Trent, I quite enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 3:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@slackerinc I think saying complete lack was too strong of wording. Any show when it ends always will have some minor quibbles from fans about the ending.

However, I think we can both agree it stuck the ending a million fold better than Lost, BSG, dexter (worst ever for me, hope the revival can fix that) or GoT. I want to watch breaking bad again to get to that last season. I avoid BSG, Lost and GoT specifically because of the endings.

While not Sci Fi, I felt Friday Night Lights and The office along with TNG are some of my favorite endings. The office probably being my all time favorite. Perfect resolution on all fronts practically. DS9 when it first aired, I was underwhelmed with “What you leave behind”, but having watched through the series multiple times since the era of DVDs and now Netflix, being able to binge it, the ending seems to flow much better and I love the ending now.
Set Bookmark
Nothing but the Tears
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Having read the books and as others have mentioned, ending The Expanse after S6 makes sense. And I definitely see opportunities to revisit that universe. Personally, I’m just excited. Like the ones before, this season has been terrific. So I’m hoping S6 will be no different.

On a different note, sad news about Furlan indeed. That came completely out of the blue for me.

As for B5 itself, I struggled with it back in the day, purely because I used to think you needed to be in one camp vs the other (I was on team DS9). However, I’ve come to really appreciate it. For all its flaws and, again, as others have mentioned, I think it’s a fantastic show. Much like DS9 I’d love to see an HD remaster, as unlikely as that seems to be.

Some of the work in the realm of AI technology does give me hope, mind you. Even if you could, at some point, run a software that does most of the heavily lifting, then just go in and brush it up, thereby greatly reducing cost, that could go a long way.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I saw someone on Twitter make a point I haven't seen addressed here. Namely: what happened to the SOCIAL science fiction we always used to associate with Star Trek? That is, you fly around and investigate "strange new worlds" where civilizations are oriented around some bizarre principle we wouldn't expect. Then you play out the logical implications of that. I miss that kind of thing, and I can't think of any episode of DISCO that explores anything like that.

@Ramon: "Breaking bad however allowed everything to happen organically and it felt 'right.' Hence the complete lack of controversy regarding the ending of breaking bad."

[vague spoilers follow]BB is my #1 favorite show of all time (although BETTER CALL SAUL might be just as good--we'll see how they stick the landing), but even Vince Gilligan screwed up in this regard at least once IMO (the berries). He also found it very frustrating to have to write his way out of the box he put himself in with the machine gun in the trunk, although I think he did pretty well with that one.

And there is actually controversy about the ending of BB. Quite a number of people thought Walt got off too easy, and have even proposed that everything after he got in the car in New Hampshire was a dream. (I personally liked the way it concluded, but there were in a sense three different endings to the story, four if you count EL CAMINO.)

@Dom: "BSG is still my favorite"

I STRONGLY advise anyone who hasn't seen that series (and we're presumably talking about the early-21st century version here, not the original and obviously not the Sam Esmail BSG series coming soon on Peacock) to watch the two-part miniseries and then exactly 25 episodes of the series proper, culminating in "Resurrection Ship, Part II". There's a nice end point there, and if you do that you will have seen a cohesive 27-episode series that ranks as one of the greatest achievements in television.

If you disregard this advice, you will first of all get the widely acknowledged worst episode of the series two episodes later, but even the episode before that you will get a lame and hackneyed deus ex machina we've seen a billion times before. And as you continue, you'll get heaps of ludicrous and incoherent retcons, various reversals that don't make any sense, and reversals of those reversals, plus plenty of woo-woo mystical mumbo-jumbo. And then in the final episode you will get the most ludicrous and disappointing conclusion of any series ever, even worse than LOST and GAME OF THRONES.

You were warned!
Set Bookmark
Franklin Newman
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

This is one of my favorite episodes. Why shouldn't a busy captain relax with a Gothic novel? It's a fantasy, a chance to live a life she didn't choose. No one complains about what the male characters want in their fantasy life do-overs? Why is a rip-off of classic lit so offensive?

Besides, the whole theme of the show is basically about ghosts indirectly. It's a magic battle disguised as a psionic battle, but this is on all fronts a ghost story.

It would have been more interesting, and more focused, had Janeway and Kes teamed up. Perhaps Kes protecting Janeway, while Janeway takes the dialogue of the doctor? But still, the most satisfying way to deal with a villain is to reflect his energy back at him and turn his strength against him.

I simply see this as a rather fun and compelling ghost story. Not every episode needs to be a rock'um sock'um physical fight & phaser battle.

True, I'm a bit disappointed that we learned nothing about the intruder. Properly dealing with him might've made an interesting final scene.

But on the other hand, if you ignore pent up negative energy and thoughts for too long, sooner or later they will turn on you.

Just consider this a ghost story and everything is fine. And besides, that was a brief, but great, esoteric battle at the end.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

^

You still have the second season to watch (and Season 3 will be out in a few months).

Trust me, it gets more Trekkish with each episode.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Great review, Mal. This episode is really one of the high points of Trek. It combines intellectual discussion, a tantalizing look at what plenty can achieve in good hands, a class struggle with more than mere greed behind it, an examination of environemnt and how that shapes behavior, and even a bit of actually relevant action where the fighting is directly tied to the circumstances of the miners and the gas.

The sorts of direct statements in an episode like this could be seen as terse by today's standards. Having a dude walk up to a lady and call her a work of art, and have their mutual admiration a fait accomplis with no other smalltalk, flirting, or lead-up, is actually refreshing to me. What they think of each other is both physically and logically clear, so why not be clear? And likewise, the facts regarding the gas and the aggressive behavior leave nothing to guesswork: it *definitely* has an effect. The episode doesn't tell us how much of an effect, but it is stated as a simple fact that having to breathe in this environment leads to aggression. And yet it doesn't denounce the aristocratic cloud dwellers as being deliberately manipulative either; it's not like the upper class fatcat who keeps the people in their place so that he can line his pockets. Here there are only people to respect, no one to look down on, and this is something I don't think you'll see in modern American media. In TV (and apparently politics) today someone is either the bad guy, or sullied in some way, or it's grimdark and everyone is shades of grey, probably all of them sort of low on virtue generally. It's hard to find someone in Game of Thrones, for example, that I'd like to actually hang out with. TOS has a funny way of making even the guest actors inviting. We were just talking about Requiem for Methuselah, and you know for all the episode's quirks, Flint still seems like a cool guy to know. Here it's the same: even after the reveal that the Troglytes have been abused, we don't suddenly see Droxine as being some abusive witch. There is no veil to lift here; she really was what she appeared to be, there was just something new to learn about nature and how it affects people. That's a nice message.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 9:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

The Cloud Minders

Star Trek season 3 episode 21


"I have never before met a Vulcan, sir."

"Nor I a work of art, madam.”

- Droxine & Spock, sitting in a tree


3 stars (out of 4)


As the crew of the Enterprise prepares to sail off for a decade long hiatus, it is nice to see them leaving us with some wonderful memories. So far season 3 has given us many memorable moments, from Spock playing a sexy Bond in “The Enterprise Incident” to Spock serenading Nurse Chapel with a beautiful ballad in “Plato” to Spock feeling jealously at seeing a man who has all the finer things in life in “Requiem.” It is time for Spock to taste the bite of cupid’s arrow.

When Spock’s parents visit the Enterprise in my personal favorite episode, “Journey to Babel,” Spock and his mother get into a very heated argument. At one point, Spock has that wonderful line,

SPOCK: Mother, how can you have lived on Vulcan so long, married a Vulcan, raised a son on Vulcan, without understanding what it means to be a Vulcan?

The same might be asked of Spock. How can he - half human himself - have served on a human ship so long without understanding what it means to be human? Bones essentially challenged Spock on that very point at the end of last week’s episode,

MCCOY: You'll never know the things that love can drive a man to. The ecstasies, the miseries, the broken rules, the desperate chances, the glorious failures, the glorious victories.

The miseries. The ecstasies.

The broken rules. Right away Spock starts breaking his rules. He ruminates that the planet does not have “wise leadership”. And yet he is drawn to it’s art and intellectual pursuits. He sneaks out as his captain is sleeping to see the woman he’s been told is herself a “work of art.” And he tells her about his very limited experience with sex, probably the most uncomfortable conversation any man or woman could find themselves in. I remember when Odo was so proud that his girlfriend didn’t realize it was his first time,

ARISSA: But you've never been with a woman before?

ODO: Could you tell?

ARISSA: No.

ODO: Good. I don't ever want to leave this room. Can we stay here forever?

If only poor Data had received even half that tenderness from Tasha after they hooked up, maybe his exploration of his humanity would have been a lot deeper and more satisfying. But then, TNG was never very good with interpersonal relationships - nothing like like TOS and DS9. They say culture flows from the top. And Picard was a cold fish.

Droxine asks Spock if there is anything she can do to knock him out of his seven year funk. And Spock gives that very magical answer: maybe.

DROXINE: And is there nothing that can disturb that cycle, Mister Spock?

SPOCK: Extreme feminine beauty is always disturbing, madam.

Not only is this whole setup very satisfying, as pointed out by @Lorene, the episode is visually striking. @Ray makes a good point. Seldom has Star Trek been so sexy. The show in its later iterations, sadly, substitutes titillation for sexy. But the women here are sexy. Take Vanna. First, she can very well hold her own in a fight with Kirk and Spock at the top of the episode. But then, she - Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman like - puts on a beautiful dress and is well armed to go after Kirk. And Kirk can’t believe how great it feels,

KIRK: I'm not afraid. In fact, I find this rather enjoyable.

Vanna is a good leader. She’s the one who in the end, keeps her head and saves the day when Kirk & High Advisor Plasus have turned into Troglytes. And she’s beautiful. And she’s strong. Not a lot of people like her.

Speaking of the High Advisor, seeing Jeff Corey play High Advisor Plasus was a real treat. Just as we learned that we had lost the irreplaceable and incomparable Mira Furlan, Delenn from Babylon 5, to see Corey up on the screen brought a tear to my eye. Because of course, one of Corey's last performance on TV in his very long 62 year career, was on Babylon 5. On B5, he played Justin, just a few years before he died,

https://youtu.be/HJT5XBT6oRM?t=72

Not all is perfect here. I love @Outsider65’s hilarious critique, "I have to laugh at the fact that Kirk is taking a nap while on a critical, time sensitive mission.” LOL!! So true! And true also that plague is overused as a ticking time clock. Perhaps pandemics were the excuse in fashion back in the 60’s, sort of like terrorism is the excuse we’ve been using ever since 9/11, to justify all kinds of horrid behavior. Fortunately, once again we live in a world where infectious disease can be used by TV shows in that way ;)

DROXINE: I don't like filters, or even masks.

@Trent, feel free to add that to your wonderful collection of quotes. Including Kirk’s hilarious line, delivered with perfect deadpan timing,

KIRK: Die from something that can't be seen? You astound me, Vanna.

"The Cloud Minders” sticks to the simple and timeless message that is at the core of Star Trek. It does it with good humor and loving tenderness. It is an episode that was always a favorite of mine in childhood, and I’m so happy to see it is just as enjoyable - more enjoyable even - watching it now as an adult.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 7:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Semi reptilian Worf hissing and spitting venom cobra like all over Crusher's face: absolutely priceless.
And then all the way downhill from there on. Semi frog Troi in a bog bathtub: can it get any lower than that?
OMG: what were they thinking?
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 7:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

Did they or didn't they?
In their dreams, it seems.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Sure, they "chose" to stop at six seasons because after negotiations and consultations and what not they knew they couldn't get more. Therefore they planned seasons 5 and 6 with that in mind, and are hopefully able to provide a satisfying conclusion to the story. Were they hoping for a chance to adapt the whole damn thing? Of course they were! There are still three books worth of story to tell after Season/Book 6. Naren Shankar, the showrunner, and his team are outright saying that they hope that The Expanse will continue in some form or fashion. Talking about that possibility, Shankar said in an interview: "You know, honestly, that would be more of a question for our studio, for Alcon, they control the property. What I will say is that there's definitely more to tell and I'm sure Ty and Daniel would say exactly the same thing. But yeah, that's probably about as much as I can say at this point."

So yeah, depends on how you define "cancelled".
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Paul M., the authors seem pretty adamant that the show "wasn't" canceled by Amazon and that they chose to stop at 6 seasons. Now, that could mean many things. They also seem to be open to The Expanse continuing on TV in some capacity. I suspect that they saw the time jump as a natural place to pause the story. Maybe - hopefully - we'll get a sequel series someday.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I will happily watch These Are The Voyages or the one where Beverly gets jiggy with ghosts, on a loop for all eternity, before I watch one second of Discovery ever again.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Well, The Expanse was and it wasn't cancelled. It wasn't in the sense that the writing team, which includes the writers of the novel series, was operating for a while now on the assumption that six seasons is all they get...




SPOILERS: There is a pretty massive time jump after Book 6 which makes for a pretty convenient place to wrap it up in a somewhat logical and natural fashion. END SPOILERS


It *is* cancelled in the sense that the guys surely hoped to be able to adapt the entire 9-book-long series and, as it seems, they won't have the opportunity. I am still not exactly clear why Amazon and Alcon Entertainment didn't reach the deal to continue producing the show. The Expanse is allegedly in the TOP10 streamed show in the US in 2019/20.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,218
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.