Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72,545 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,902
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

That's an interesting idea re: Pulaski. You're right that it wouldn't really work with the story as told. I can totally see Crusher and Pulaski butting heads over personality and other more trivial matters, but the circumstances would need to be different. Pulaski tends to be rather flippant when it comes to protocol, but not when it comes to her patients. Dr. Russell puts her *patients* at risk ostensibly to further her research, but more likely as a means of self aggrandizement. Pulaski on the other hand puts her *self* at risk for her patients and even seems to be embarrassed by her accomplishments and acclaim, as evidenced in Unnatural Selection. She's a bit of a hothead and even said that she tends to leap before looking, but that's still pretty different than Dr. Russell.

So I think for the story to work with Pulaski, you'd have to get rid of the questionable medical ethics. Maybe replace that with Pulaski mirroring Picard's viewpoint in the same way that Crusher mirrors Riker's. Pulaski would be pro-suicide, but maybe she's the one who brings knowledge of Klingon ceremonies to Riker and realizes that neither of them can help Worf go through with it. Worf's obstinance can still lead to Pulaski suggesting a risky treatment, just not one that's her own pet project. After all, there's plenty of medical procedures that are well established and vetted but still dangerous. The only problem is that half the conflict in the episode has been removed, leaving only the suicide question. Is there enough meat left? I can't think off the top of my head of a way to fold in the USS Denver triage to the story since that was used only for the medical ethics drama.
Set Bookmark
Peter G/
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Or a bunch of guys in costumes running around doing T-rex chicken arms.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

If only the Horizon had left behind a copy of Jurassic Park, there could've been a planet of dinosaur zoos.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Maq
Seven also drinks all the time.

"regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting."
I felt the opposite. He character was so one dimensional. Try to summarize him: "naive, loyal." Apart from that it is killing people, the second most behind Narissa.

"It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world."
I'm really happy that this happens and that they toning down the Botox. Foreheads are finally moving again. Really freaked me out to see all these dead Botox faces.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Correction:
Rios would also need a Detox. Picard perhaps not or perhaps also after living on a vineyard so long. :-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Borusa I can understand some of your points. I also have my doubts regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting.

But your comment regarding Raffy and detox. Honestly, is not Picard in more need?

I very much enjoyed the return of Seven. She seems very fit. I also liked that the Raffy character had traces of life. I am lucky to be enough old / mature to appreciate the beauty independent of it's age.

It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Tim Lynch's review from when the episode aired mentions that it was rumoured that Dr. Russell was originally planned to be Pulaski. I've never heard anything to support this claim, but it's an interesting counterfactual: bring Pulaski back and set her at Crusher at odds. It wouldn't have quite worked with this story as told, not the least because she has an existing relationship with Worf. What do people think?
Set Bookmark
Matthew Martin
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

I think it would have worked better had Occupation and Precipice been two episodes and Exodus been a two hour event. Just flip those two and it works perfectly
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Also, I saw the quick changes of mind by Roslin and Adama as essentially they agreed with Tyrol’s points, but they could not give credence to strike as legitimate. So once they got him to back down first, get that token win, they proceeded to address the issues like the rational people they are.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

On rewatch I *really* liked this episode and the ending with seelix really moved it. I remembered thinking it was good but that Adama acted in a way at the end that I didn’t totally buy. But this time, I had no issue. It struck me very clearly that Adama was making an aggressive bluff and Tyrol had no desire to call it (in part because it was so unexpected and convincing). I liked that Roslin could be very firm and rigid in some places (as with Adama, she knows this is a can of worms that cannot be even slightly legitimized) but where there was room and it was a conversation without extortion/strike (the conversations about inheriting jobs, and again at the end) she met Tyrol’s POV genuinely. A lesser episode would have kept her hardline throughout.

3 stars feels right, but a strong 3. First episode in a while that really felt like it was firing on all cylinders in all aspects (even other midseason stronger episodes had some weaknesses).
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Really agree with Andersonh1, always felt this one was unfairly maligned. The kitschy things like the dog and the vampy woman are part of the package, and it works and is fun.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I come very close to calling this one the second four star episode after "Eye of the Needle", but the opening feels a bit hokey before the episode pulls things together nicely in act one and gives the crew a real dilemma, so I'll go with three and a half. Once again it's a given that the crew will not succeed, but the character choices made with B'Elanna and especially Tuvok, and the establishment of Seska as a solid supporting character really carry this episode for me. And Josh Clark makes me wish that Joe Carey had been a recurring supporting character beyond season one as a father who really just wants to get home to his family. Voyager would have benefitted from more recurring characters that could be developed a la DS9, and I really like the "engineering staff" that allow B'Elanna to have her own subplots apart from the main cast.

Nice to see a Starfleet crew on the receiving end of a "prime directive" for once and having to just live with that. I thought that particular reality could have used a bit more discussion in the episode, maybe leading to some flexibility on the topic down the line.

Like ovaduh, I love that this episode is referenced in "Picard". I didn't expect so many Voyager references in that show, and most were quite welcome, this one in particular.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

The is the first four star episode of Voyager, an episode that is patient and thoughtful and in which the plot takes several unexpected turns, and which uses Voyager's unique premise very effectively. They really do just about everything right here. Yes, it's a given that Voyager will fail to find a way home by the end of the episode, but it's honestly unreasonable to hold that against the episode, given the premise of this series.

I enjoyed watching the crew investigate, get their hopes up, run into an obstacle which dashes those hopes, only for a solution to present itself, at which point the cycle repeats itself. It's a nice example of this crew working together to problem-solve and find alternatives until they finally hit a dead end and are forced to give up. And the Romulan scientist is a nicely written, well-acted antagonist who becomes a friend by the end, so much so that we're genuinely sad to hear that he died before Voyager even left in the first place.

Four stars, easily.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

I think it's clear that Voyager was still trying to find it's way and identity in these early episodes. That being said, I enjoy the film noir detective story approach, and I quite like that Tom's eye for the ladies really gets him in trouble this time. This is not a terribly ambitious episode, but as an early "still getting to know the characters" type of drama, it works fairly well. Yeah, it's not hard to see where the plot is going when it comes to the two Baneans having an affair behind the old professor's back and setting Tom up for the fall, but the twist of using Tom's implanted memories to smuggle information to the Numuri worked well the first time I saw the episode. Like Tom, I assumed the symbols were part of the punishment and didn't think any more of them.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I shall be brief

I am glad you liked it Jammer.

There was almost nothing salvageable in this series :

1. The hero spacecraft was as uninspiring as the Scorpio from Blake's 7 season 4,as non starfleet a ship as you could get: yes I know it wasn't a fleet ship.
2. Raffy belongs in detox.
3. Seven of Nine as Elen Ripley ; give me a break.
4. The Sheer 'f bomb' hubris syndrome ,effing this ,effing that-utterly puerile writing by ninnies.
5. What was the point of having Legolas in this?

I quite liked a Romulan Borg connection as in Star Trek legacy but it was poorly executed here.

Deconstructing Picard was a nonsense .

The only thing was the scene with Data but even so it was cheesy.
And then they have the unwarranted arrogance to set this up for a second season: of what precisely-Firefly Clone :the show?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

I have looked at my earlier coment and wish to reconsider:

Nothing and I mean nothing of any of my criticisms of various TNG episodes including the really really weak ones from earlier seasons can compare with my abject terror at what they just did to Picard-omg-blade runner synths,cthulhoid Ai monsters from beyond,Picard killed and re born into a minority group artificial body after spending the whole season being portrayed as some irrelevant fuddy duddy imperial colonial elite member of a society that totally does not exist in the star trek universe.

It is agonising and the same wholesale vandalism has been inflicted on Star Wars and Dr Who.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Nolan, thanks for your insights. To late now. I still would have walked the way.

I mostly never really enjoy the Trek first time I watch them. It is first when I rewatch them that I really start to appreciate also the strange episodes.

Americans are quite often extremely good story tellers and they are able to implement some quite silly things enjoyable on a television screen.

It was slow but very good acting from some actors. Not only from Stewart. God visual presentation. Many opportunities were missed. Sad when so much effort was put into it.

If they managed to do something well it was to show how people starts to reclaim life after having lost it. Or settling with a new after a disaster.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

The mixing of the imagery is the genius of the episode. Q an eternal being cannot keep it all straight. Tents at Agincourt, tents at Marengo. For Q just a blink of an eye. For the ants hundreds of years. It shows us how Q sees reality.
Checkmate!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

THIS JUST IN:

Art design on fledgling science fiction show is wacky! This is not a drill, all personnel secure your art history textbooks, THIS IS NOT A DRILL.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

The episode is a strange amalgam, and is therefore difficult to comment about. Do I think it's good? Not sure. Do I think it's awful. Uncertain. So here goes (foley artist: insert sound of person diving into really cold swimming pool water).

Q (the very worthwhile deLancie) decides to drop in and gives Picard and his crew a war that they're not interested in fighting. It's frustrating to them and to the viewer because lives are at stake and what was to have been an "errand of mercy" is interrupted.

This is a variant of Organians stopping the Federation from having a showdown with the Klingons in TOS.

What can be worse than not being allowed to fight for a just cause? Answer: having a sham Napoleonic skirmish thrown into your face, one replete with bad uniforms.

@Edax (Dec. 18, 2015). You are correct that no matter how you slice it, Q's gettup cannot be interpreted as French Grand Armee staff. Even if you bend over backwards and try to see Q as an image of Bonaparte as First Consul (which I think the costumers were going for since they slicked Q's hair down with pommade), He's wearing the Order of the Golden Fleece for pity's sake, which puts him on the other side ! Think Austrian Habsburgs, Spain, Netherlands... sheesh (foley artist: insert sound of frothing at the mouth) .

Also the campaign tent belonged in the French camp at Agincourt; not at Marengo. A simple beige tent would have sufficed!!! (Foley artist: insert sound of a Nerd speaking in tongues) . Comment within comment: we are supposed to be nerds when it comes to the space-time continuum, so please get the uniforms right ...I guess history nerds never mattered...only tech and science nerds.

The review could go about the Riker bit, but my starboard nacelle just fell off.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Mike
Good point. Obama pointed out that much when he mentioned that this will have been worth something if it is transformed into actual political change. Always the constitutional professor.

@James
I'm actually politically active and also lead a program for immigrants. So I share your sentiment. Sadly politics (and everything where it is about power) is a dirty very rough business. Still, nice that your kid is so active and Brookings, I guess I know what that means. ;)
Asking us to be more civil is certainly justified. I personally are often too combative.

Cody
https://tenor.com/view/heiitse-cfc-chelseafc-redcard-var-gif-16550606
Set Bookmark
Nolan
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Plus, as we saw with Geordi, the Romulans are fairly decent at deploying dopplegangers to vacation spots and seminars while they kidnap Starfleet personnel.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Is that really a plot hole, though?

Troi was attending a seminar and was kidnapped while returning to her guest quarters. Even if the people in charge of the seminar routinely checked on their guests (and why should they, really?), it would have been easy for the Romulans to fake a message from Troi saying that she doesn't feel well and she wants to rest in her quarters.

Anyway, I agree that it's a great thriller of an episode. Definitely one of the best in season 6.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Mom rewatch of 2020 goes great tonight. Mom is loving this one and always been a favourite of mine own as well. Besides the plot hole of no one noticing her being gone its a GREAT thriller episode. 7.5/10 junja sticks for me
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Peter G.

Nothing Freudian about it. Just a word I didn't know how to spell until you corrected me.

@James White

"Why do I come here? I really don't know. At first, it was a whim. Now, I realize many of you are some of the most thoughtful and decent people out there."

Thank you for the compliment.

Now let me ask you this:

Do you really think "the most thoughtful and decent people out there" have decided to dedicate their entire lives to bitching on a Star Trek website? And that we need a person like you to tell us to help people in need and so forth?

I mean, that's basically what you have assumed here. Knowing the kind of people we are, does this assumption make any kind of sense to you?

"Protest. Tell politicians to go fuck themselves. Stand for something."

One of the things I stand up for, is the importance of continuing to live our lives as normally as possible, even in the face of crisis.

From spending time with our families to discussing our favorite TV shows, it is the little things that make our lives worth living. Even if it occasionally means that we get into heated debates on "trivialities". That's part of life too.

So you want to me protest? Very well:

I protest against the notion that Trekkies should stop discussing Star Trek on a website dedicated to Star Trek just because things have gotten rough in the real world.

Oh, and lest I forget: The politicians (from both sides) *can* go and **** themselves. There. I've said it. Not that this will make any kind of difference, but venting against a crummy situation is also part of life.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,902
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.