Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 75,278 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,012
Set Bookmark
ReD
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Is it just me or does this episode seem to be the birth of the concept of The Matrix...
Set Bookmark
Dreubarik
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Actually, the fact that the Dominion fleet engages the Allied fleet a few light years away from DS9 makes sense within the premise of the show: Sisko's main goal is to disable DS9's anti-graviton emitter to prevent the Dominion fleet from deactivating the minefield. It is stated that he wants to reach DS9 with enough ships to do so even if the overall battle doesn't go well. So it would make no sense for the Dominion to wage battle at a location where any potshot from a random enemy vessel could have disabled the emitter.

What DOESN'T quite make sense about this premise is the fact that DS9's deflector is made to be so special because it can be turned into an anti-graviton emitter. Surely, any large vessel's deflector array could do the same, or an appropiate device could be shipped from Cardassia. At no point is there any reason to believe that Terok Nor's deflector technology is somehow special.
Set Bookmark
RHH
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 8:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

>> I was disappointed that Picard resorted to swearing in Klingon. Undignified.

When interacting with Klingons, it is the an appropriate response to having one's honor challenged. In other circumstances, Picard might have been obligated to fight.
Set Bookmark
Jillyenator
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I don't know. I forgot this one existed. And after all this time I'm actually thrilled to just hang out with the crew and watch them shoot the shit.

I didn't love Manhunt back in the day, but this time I was utterly charmed. I had to back it up every few minutes to catch everyone's expressions. Clearly the cast had a ball.

Sometimes I don't want a plot: it's nice to watch my friends having fun. And Lwaxana did save the conference. It was nice to see her being competent. ;-)

I also got a kick out of seeing Worf be obsessed with the Antidians. Early Worf cracks me up. And I could see he and Pulaski had a fine familiarity -- good continuity from their tea ceremony.

It's a cheery little episode.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I liked this episode and found it entertaining, but my biggest issue was that it's just so insanely unrealistic. Having a pre-recorded message for every single variable just seems very unlikely, but even so having it automatically destroy the entire station without someone needing to authorize that is just impossible to believe.
Set Bookmark
Sen-Sors
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Probably the latter.
Set Bookmark
Dreubarik
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

One of the best DS9 episodes ever made. Perhaps a scene that doesn't get noticed enough but is key for the story's thematic undertone is when Sisko first meets the Jem'Hadar Third and tries to manipulate him to serve his own ends (a fact Dax them comments on). The core of the episode seems to be about how war is fundamentally about manipulating the troops to do the bidding of the higher echelons without regard for their own lives. This is what "the order of things" inevitably is, and Sisko isn't above it either. In the end, however, Sisko's actions do show that there is indeed more to war than that.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

@sskoog

I know exactly what you are saying. Imo how good any show is lives and dies on your relationship with the characters and how well they are written. For me a lot of political/war episodes seem to “zoom out” and get too large scale, too much going on, too many moving pieces. While some of the comedy episodes that focus on just a few characters show more of who they are and I find heartwarming
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

So Cyrus Ramsey stepped into the transporter... and vanished. Sure I’ve heard something similar before...

Interesting build up to this episode but awful ending. Such a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Mamon
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

I feel some of you missed the "non-com" comments Goran'Agar made when they landed the runabout. It's clear to me the episode is divided between strategic and tactical thinking, one reserved to commanders, and the other to soldiers. Given that, it's pretty clear O'brien's rationale is similar to the Jem'Hadars he hates so much, incapable of thinking beyond their feuds and present. No wonder he only identifies with that random soldier ranting he also hates being helped by humans. It's stupid. On the other hand, Bashir realizes that, in the long term, relieving the Jem'Hadar from the addiction could set a military mutiny in their enemies, as Goran'Agar realizes that, in the long term, they have been sistematically exploited and are no different than the religious people they have butchered. A matter of strategic and tactical thinking.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 8:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I'd seen this one once, before, but I'd forgotten how mind-scaldingly brilliant it is. I must have, because until this afternoon I've considered First Contact and Who Watches the Watchers? to be my favourite TNG stories.

This is so affecting. The masterstroke of this one is that Picard comes to accept and embrace his new life. He even has children that he can't imagine being without, and the moment he suggests a nursery to his wife was a real jaw-dropper for me. One can imagine that in a TOS story, Kirk would have fought against his illusion until he found some way out of it, probably by blowing up a computer somewhere.

There are of course some problems with this episode. I'm loath to write about them because despite them, this TNG story was absolutely fantastic telly.

But anyway -

The civilisation on the doomed planet seems quite simple, almost even agrarian. No dramatic cityscapes with pointy towers, no replicators, or transporters, etc.

They do have missile technology, we learn, but only just. How do they build a probe capable of identifying a passing space vessel then beaming a 30-year 3D reality into a starship captain's brain?

Picard must bring knowledge of his life in Starfleet to his new life. There must be a definitive way, via understanding perhaps of technology they don't have, to establish that he is Not Of Their World. Yet over time he seems almost to accept that his former life was a delusion .. or does he? It's never quite clear.

Surely after losing his new life, the old one would almost be as hard to accept, all those years later, as his life as Kamin was, when he wakes up on the doomed planet. One can imagine him raging against it .. no .. NO this is just an old dream! But he adapts very quickly.

It occurred to me that to make a man lose his wife, friends and children, real to him albeit actually an illusion, is actually an abuse. But then again - even in the illusion, they are doomed by their planet's star. Perhaps that's the point. Millions of the planets inhabitants lost their lives and families.

It crossed my mind that a nice touch might have been for someone to retrieve the program from the probe, and extract its data to make a holodeck program from it. But on further consideration - no. The finality and the loss of that society makes the story more emotional.

Anyway. That last scene, with Batai and his family gently explaining to Picard the meaning of the apparent last few decades of his life is really haunting.

Bravo.
Set Bookmark
Scanner
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Braxton: "Long time no see". Ugh, that rang of Ahnold as Mr. Freeze with his cold jokes.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

The interactions between Sisko and Bashir in this one are so much fun. I wish we'd seen a bit more of the naive, brash Bashir of the first couple of seasons. While he was annoying, the way others reacted to him was a joy to watch - including Kira's amusement when Sisko slaps him down in this one.

I think Brooks did a good job of portraying an almost fatherly approach to Bashir, with a fondness for him coming across along with his irritation.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Countdown

@The_Man, Enterprise really was an exercise in wasted opportunities.

For example, imagine instead of Major Hayes dying, it was Lt. Reed who died in this episode. Right after Daniels said he wasn't important. Ho-ly Fuck. Talk about shaking things up. Way more dramatic than Tasha's death in TNG.

If they really wanted to get creative, Hayes could have taken on one of Shran's Andorians as his assistant in security in season 4. Maybe a woman with real attitude to bring a little Worf flavor into the show and really set the ball moving towards a Federation.

And of course it would have made a lot more sense in season 4 if Hayes had been part of Section 31, given his hardcore MACO background. What did Reed bring to the show that Hayes (with an Andorian assistant) couldn't have done better?

Even more interestingly, imagine it was Hoshi who was left behind on the sphere when it exploded (instead of Archer) in the finale. Again, this would be soon after Daniels said she wasn't important.

How interesting would it have been to see how the Nazis in season 4 treated Hoshi - a Japanese? The Japanese were Nazi allies. Almost like a "Man in the High Castle" mini-arc. Certainly it would have been more interesting than seeing Archer battle space Nazis for what must be he eleventy-millionth time in scifi history.

But TPTB played it safe and by the numbers, and in the end, no one bemoaned that Enterprise only lasted 4 years.
Set Bookmark
Juan
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Could someone who is familiar with how these type of animated shows are made answer this: Is there a minimum page length for the scripts? Because that would explain why the voices sound like they were recorded at double speed and crammed into every bit of space available in each 25 minute ep. I wouldn't be surprised the average Lower Decks ep is longer than the average TNG episode, which is of almost double length. Either the writers or the people vetting these scripts need to be made aware of that and cut down the damn dialogue.

Or have the producers done some kind of calculation where they found out how fast the dialogue needs to be before the viewer is too distracted to be able to determine whether they are actually enjoying the show.
Set Bookmark
Jillyenator
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

"Nice planet."

It's worth watching just for this priceless Worf comment. I still quote it. I think this is the first of his many dry, terse, hysterical deliveries.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

And Arix from TAS! Or at least same species. Although Tendi and her dog were super annoying. If they could jettison some inane stuff like that it would be a better show.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Lower Decks isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I don’t like the juvenile snarky vibe but as a comes it can work, and there are some really trek worthy stories in there . If they can slow down the dialogue and get a more mature tone I could get into it. It feels more like real Star Trek and less like kurtzman/grim dark/nutrek than all the other Star Trek shows on right now. And what was that creature? I have to rewatch now but I think that was the jellyfish creature from Encounter at Farpoint? And definitely felt the Chain or Command vibe, right before Mariner makes a reference to Jelico.
Set Bookmark
Jillyenator
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

What is it about Jean-Luc and turbolifts? I recall three times he's had trouble on one. Here, Night Terrors, and Disaster.

Geordi had a bad experience on the turbolift too, where he was rolling around on the ceiling before it spat him onto the bridge. I think it was Contagion.

I'm surprised anyone takes these things. Clearly the turbolifts are evil. Maybe they should just beam all around the ship. ;-)
Set Bookmark
Dela
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Has anyone ever mentioned how overbearing Beverly Crusher is as a mother?

She has the prodigy child who does everything that is asked of him and outclasses most adults on a regular basis. But she berates him for not getting a haircut on time....

There are other examples, one that i can think of is in the season 2 episode with the nanites. He is working his ass off on a great science project and the only thing she can do is to follow him on the intercom and complain...
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

“Theres no reason to assume they’re hostile.”

“Uh, sir, this arm alone is equipped with a bone saw, a projectile weapon, and an engraving of a human skull with a the words ‘Resistance is Futile’ encircling it.”

“....You’re fired.”
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

3/4 stars is about right for me too. The flashback scenes were done well, and they seemed to learn from the mistakes of Carbon Creek. It wasn’t great, but it was nice putting some meat on the 100 year skeleton we have between the 21st and 22nd centuries.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

After seeing how the Ferengi were retconned into Enterprise, I was not excited to see a Borg episode. I was happily surprised however, and enjoyed this episode quite a bit. I groaned initially but it was because I had forgotten about First Contact (some would say if I can manage to forget all the TNG films, I’d be one lucky fan). Seeing Archer make the hard choice of blowing up the Borg was a bold move, and Phlox remains my favorite character/actor with the believable trials he had to put himself through to fight against this new microscopic enemy. 3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

4 stars seems a little high in my opinion, but your mileage will vary with a lot of these better episodes. I found the premise interesting, but Trip came off as mansplaining and condescending. Maybe that’s the point. Maybe the point to have him act like an idiot and possibly ruin a first contact is because sometimes humans can act like idiots and mess up first impressions. The final scene was powerful, though, and like some others, I feel it’s Archer lashing out at his own guilt of setting a bad example for this crew. Good stuff, 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Gail
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

So no one else thought that Hoshi rocked as substitute captain? I thought she was looking exactly like a captaincy was in her future. She shut down that political guy with no trouble at all.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,012
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.