Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 85,838 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,434
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 10:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

If Archer had to "figure out how they map coordinates" here, then how were the coordinates Archer got from the nine fingered guy in the season premiere of any use?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 7:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Chrome
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:32pm (UTC -5)

"Oh and among others, I recognized Control making a cameo in the ending."

It did? Please elaborate!
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I didn't realize people hated Farrell's acting until I started reading the comments on Jammer's website, and a few other Trek forums.

I always thought Dax was wonderful and wonderfully acted - aloof, sensual, playful, smart, wise, mischievous like an old man, always with a glint in her eye. For me the character only suffered once her romance with Worf started. Lots of bad dialogue came her way.

I think DS9 had the best Trek cast. It didn't have anyone of the caliber of Spock, Bones or Picard (arguably), but all its secondary cast were amazing. Ironically, I think Avery Brooks was the weakest of the main cast, not in terms of ability, but in terms of the sheer number of "bad choices" his director's let slip into an episode. Sometimes, out of nowhere, he'd do an odd gesture or inflection that calls attention to itself.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 2:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

This is a frustrating episode.

It's well directed, boasts a great premise, and has a few stand-out scenes, and hovers on the edge of greatness, but the technobabble is far too relentless. Someone should have combed through this script and removed at least two-thirds of the techno-jargon.

Voyager has always overused its magical solutions, but this episode is particularly overbearing; we see "fix the problem with the sensor array" cliches, orders to magnetize the hull, anti-matter explosion solutions, countless orders to reverse the polarity, fire magical proton bursts, and alter modulations...it's all far far far too much.

Compare to "Yesterday's Enterprise", where a similar premise is treated in a much more subdued way.
Set Bookmark
Noni
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 2:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Wesley's not so bad. He's an irritating little shit in Season 1, but almost everyone sucks in S1. Hell, even Picard is an unlikeable asshole in S1.

Over the course of Seasons 2 and 3, Wesley improves a lot, or more specifically, the writing of the show in general improves a lot. By Season 4, I honestly kind of like Wes.

All that being said, though - this episode sucks. It's a poor sendoff for Wes, and just a stupid plot. The garbage scow stuff is dumb, the video gamey fountain makes no sense, ugh.

Dirgo really was too stupid to live, I hope he suffered immensely inside that crystal casing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 1:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I don't disagree with what Peter or anyone has said about Farrell specifically but for me there is this admittedly subjective feeling that everything she says is somehow flat and contrived. It feels like she is barely above reading her lines. I can't describe the feeling more than that. I don't get that same vibe from anyone else in the main cast.
Set Bookmark
InSaNe
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 1:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

I can't believe it's 2021, and people are still talking about voyager. I do love this show :)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Okay, I admit that I didn't recognize Combs and that was despite reading an article before this aired that he would be back this week. Maybe that's a testament to the actor's range, or maybe it's just a testament to my short attention span this week.

It was a pretty good episode and truly it was nice to see an A and B plot that didn't revolve around established Trek Lore or trivia. The stories feel mostly irreverent though, and I agree with Jammer that resolving *why* Mariner would sabotage Boimler's chances to advance would have made this episode great. Maybe they're saving that conflict and resolution for the finale. We'll see.

Oh and among others, I recognized Control making a cameo in the ending.
Set Bookmark
philadlj
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 11:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

7 episodes in, and Lower Decks has become my favorite Trek series (or film) since VOY ended.

Like that show, and like The Orville, it all comes down to TONE. Like the Gold Standard TNG (and DS9 too despite the war arc), Lower Decks is a future and a world I actually want to live in. It feels like home in a way the Ent-D and Deep Space Nine felt like home, especially now that I'm familiar with the Cerritos' various locations.

It also has that positive outlook those older series never fully abandoned even when SIsko was breaking interstellar law to get the Romulans into the war (because he knows what he's doing is wrong and will have to carry it).

Finally, the characters are simply likeable. I was annoyed by Mariner at first, but now that I have a better idea of who she is and where she comes from (thanks to a funny thing called "character development" sorely lacking from the newer Trek series), I've really warmed to her.

Boimler, Tendi, and Rutherford are all great to watch, their friendships feel real, and the supporting crew are also entertaining and feel like real people you wouldn't mind interacting with. I especially like the added alien diversity afforded by the show's lack of budgetary constraints vis-a-vis makeup and production design.

As an avid watcher of The Simpsons' first eleven or so seasons and more recently a fan of anime (but oddly enough only since college, when it first clicked for me) I've been open to more animated series doing what live action series can do as good or better.

Lower Decks is showing me every week that it's got that certain Trekky something that all the flashy CGi in the world can't replicate in Discovery or Picard. Here's hoping for a third season...and a lot more!
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 11:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

How would you compare Terri Farrell to Denise Crosby or Garrett Wang? To me they all have something of a "tamped down" feel to their acting/characters. Sure each has had some big moments, but there's a bit of stilted woodenness which is also to be found in other cast members. Part of that comes from the producers. Human characters were told to tone down their emotions to help the alien characters stand out. That's risky because it makes the people we as the audience are supposed to relate to and care about feel detached and unrelatable.

Dax is not a Human character though. She doesn't come across as Alec Guinness' Obi-Wan Kenobi which I think is more what they were going for. Odo as possessed by Kurzon Dax feels more like how the character should've been played. Wise but also unperturbed and fancy free. We get some of that in "You are Cordially Invited" and Dax's hanging with the Ferengi, but more often she just comes off as stoic, which is completely uninteresting.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 11:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Supernova are so intense that the minimum safe distance has been calculated to be 50-100 light-years. That's for a planet. For a space ship with shields and such, it can be a good bit closer, but 10 billion kilometers is just a little over 9 light-hours which actually sounds way WAY too close. XKCD even dealt with how unimaginably huge supernova are.

"Which of the following would be brighter, in terms of the amount of energy delivered to your retina:

A supernova, seen from as far away as the Sun is from the Earth, or

The detonation of a hydrogen bomb pressed against your eyeball?

Applying the physicist rule of thumb suggests that the supernova is brighter. And indeed, it is ... by nine orders of magnitude."

So even though it would take over 9 hours for Voyager to see it (there's arguments to be made that Star Trek view screens have some sort of FTL abilities but let's ignore that), the brightness of the flash would be so intense as to vaporize the ship. Yes, the shock wave from a supernova "only" travels at about 10% the speed of light, so it would take almost four days to reach that position, but that's not the part to worry about.

I agree Voyager's math has always been pretty terrible, but at the same time a lot of what happens in space is so monumentally huge and drawn out and boring that there'd be no story. "15 Borg cubes just dropped out of warp a billion kilometers away, they'll be here in...four hours."
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 10:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Found this to be very underwhelming, mainly because I felt the entirely Billups sex storyline was so lazily puerile - a repetitive complaint, I know, but I think it's this misjudged yet persistent juvenile humour that has let LD down most in recent episodes. I'm aware some people like it, but it's like watching American Pie in Starfleet uniforms for me. I really don't understand who its target audience is meant to be.

Nevertheless, the Boimler/Mariner and Tendi/Rutherford team-ups continue to be interesting (though not so fresh or earnest this week), and it was obviously great to have Jeffrey Combs on board as a guest voice.

Laugh out loud line this week: 'You're the closest ship in the quadrant.' Well played. Also liked the idea of science terminology being renamed to sound more magic. Could have done more with that.

Hoping next week is much better.
Set Bookmark
11001001
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 10:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Hmm, I haven't finished watching the ep yet, but reading Jammer's review, I'm a bit disappointed in the left turn it takes into the mundane body-snatcher plot.

Regarding the exchange between Archer and Phlox about the access panel: I wonder if the writers were trying to be funny here. I.e. they wanted to establish just how much Phlox *really* isn't a maintenance worker by having him ask goofy questions like this. Apparently all that was missing was a "Dammit John, I'm a Doctor, not an environmental-control technician" line.

Another thing that struck me during the early acts of the episode was, "What does God need with a starship?" Not to say that these non-corporeal being are godlike. But it's very strange that they cruise around in a giant Independence-Day-like flying saucer, given that they 1) are non-corporeal, 2) live in subspace (implying FTL travel may be natural or easy for them without engines), and 3) are shown very clearly as being able to survive in the vacuum of space. The interior of the alien craft added a lot of atmosphere, but wasn't very well thought through from a plot standpoint.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 9:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Peter G.

I hope I haven't conveyed that I think Farrelll is a *bad* actress in absolute terms. Everything's relative of course. The hypothetical I brought up was just to illustrate what I think her limitations would be.

But one other comparison I thought would be useful is with Linda Park as "Hoshi" on ENT. I think Park is clearly superior to Farrell and while the characters are slightly different -- there are similarities: they are both secondary and were occasionally given a chance to shine. Hoshi outshined Jadzia Dax I'd say.

Park also runs circles around Anthony Montgomery, for example, as another character who I think was intended to get roughly the same opportunity, but who ultimately couldn't run with the ball. Farrell did better than Montgomery, but would still be one of the weaker main cast Trek actors for me.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 9:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@ Rahul,

I don't disagree with your last paragraph, but I don't think it's a fair comparison when asking whether Farrell is a *bad* actress. Visitor is an absolute beast, way beyond most TV actresses. I feel like she could have held her own on the big screen, personally. Farrell doesn't need to be that good to still be good. Rejoined is ok for me, but Dax's best episodes to me are Blood Oath + Sword of Kahless (sort of a duology), Looking for Par'mach (my personal favorite), and Change of Heart. It's not a Dax-only episode, but I'm also very partial to Trials and Tribble-ations, where her awe and nostalgia come in a big bag of fun.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Bok R'Mor
@Peter G., et al.

Interesting discussion on Farrell's acting -- there can definitely be some subjectivity to assessing it and taking into consideration the scripts she got, but there are also some fairly objective evaluations possible with acting. I can't help feeling that she's the weakest actor in the DS9 cast, which is one of the better casts in Trek (2nd only to TOS).

I'd say she is best used in light-hearted, secondary roles. But maybe Farrell's best script/opportunity was "Rejoined"? I wasn't a fan of the episode but did comment that she did reasonably well in it. Certainly one of her better outings, though not outstanding.

One final point I'd make is to look at a hypothetical. Based on everything I've seen of Farrell's acting, I find it hard to believe she could deliver a standout performance like Nana Visitor did in "Duet" or Brooks in FBTS or Meaney in "Hard Time" or "Whispers" -- just a few examples. Granted those were great scripts but the actors really delivered as well. I'd even add that Lofton who was given table scraps for opportunities hit it out of the park when given his chance in "The Visitor".
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 8:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Another 3 out of 4 for me. Jeffrey Combs as the evil computer was worth the admission alone this week.!

I think last week was the worst episode of season 2 for me, though that was a 2.5. This week we had a lot more great character work.
Set Bookmark
Michael Z Freeman
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 3:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

Thanks for the review. Watching this episode again I wonder if Dr. Mora knew the gas would be on that planet and it was all his plot to get back his experimental subject into his lab ? Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but the scene with them when Dr. Mora forces Odo to transform seems especially disturbing. The story seems to suggest that he is just putting pressure on Odo to confirm his theory that the monster is really him. But why suggest that Odo has always been committing these crimes ? Why state that he needs to be back in the lab, even a zoo ? One could take this as Dr. Mora knowing exactly what upsets Odo. But he also initially seems to block Odo from getting help with the gas even if he relents after Odo's transformation in front of him. At the end he seems to accept a closer relationship with Odo over getting him back in his lab, if you ask me. Maybe I'm just overly suspicious (a bit like Odo ?) but did Dr. Mora know about the gas before they got to that planet ?
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 2:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

1.5 stars, Jammer? What are you playing at?! This episode may not be in my top 10, but it’s nevertheless very good. For a start, Joshua Harris is a far far better actor than the kid who played Alexander. The imitation of Data was both funny and poignant and, as Troi clearly understood, quite natural after Data rescued him from what must have seemed like imminent death.

The story of the Viko was also well developed: a ship that thought its own echoes were an attack by aliens, raised its shields, and so destroyed itself as the gravitron (!!) waves tore it apart. The way this gradually emerged, and the very real dramatic tension of the closing scenes, was effective.

Ultimately though, this is an episode about human psychology, and the stresses caused by PTSD, which Timothy was experiencing. His interactions with Data taught us as much about the android as about what it means to be a child living through extreme circumstances. It is not your typical TNG episode, but it was a vast improvement on New Ground. I’d give it a solid 3 stars.

Two trivial questions:

1. We seem to have a permanent helm now. Anyone know who she is? (Rather than just “ensign”)
2. How come Picard sometimes wears his new uniform, sometimes the old one that causes all male crew members apart from Data to tug down in the Picard Manoeuvre?!
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Rahul
@Peter G., et al.

Peter G. provides a truly excellent, comprehensive overview and assessment of the 'Farrell/Dax question' here. Impressive post. Thanks.

Taken together with Rahul's directly above, which I also agree with for the most part (see below), we all seem to be agreeing that the problem is more with the weak writing afforded Dax, which consistently limited Farrell. I don't know why Dax was given such short shrift by the creative staff. It's a pity.

However, I don't agree that Farrell was in any way 'out-acted' by her co-stars. It's all subjective, naturally, but while I dearly love them both, I notably sometimes found Avery Brooks' and Nana Visitor's acting to drift into uncontrolled scenery-chewing, which Farrell's never did. (That's not to say Brooks and Visitor aren't good at acting - they obviously *are*, which made their occasional over-the-top moments all the more striking.)
Set Bookmark
Starfleet Acting Academy
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

Look. Avery Brooks is an incredible actor. Not blinking is page one in Michael Caine's "acting for film" text book. This episode is trying hard to call back to the weird gothic romance vibes of TOS, and it obviously brings along some pretty icky gender politics. I can't defend that, but I also can't condemn an episode which gives Sisko so many beautiful moments to brood, smile, flirt and giggle. Brooks rules/stuff it, haters.

PS. Kiley's dumb.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 8:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@ Rahul et al,

"If I were to sum up my criticism of Farrell's acting, I'd say it is very underwhelming. I don't think it's that she wasn't given much to work with either over 6 seasons either. Granted she's not one of the main characters like Kira or Sisko, but she had "her" episodes and they usually wound up being dull for me."

I still think I liked what she was bringing to the table right out of the gate in Emissary. They didn't know where to go with it, and perhaps in theory that can be blamed on the actress (since the performance inspires the writers to do more). But in a newly spun series you also need to first inspire the actors before they can inspire you back. The production has the first duty to make everyone excited.

Did Farrell fail to deliver on the episodes where she finally got a chance? Let's look at some of her first ones. And let's bear in mind that she, herself, when she was cast on the show knew very well she was green and needed help from Avory and others to get up to snuff. So it's not like anyone was expecting Anthony Hopkins type performances from her. But she could improve, and be interesting, if given a chance. Here are some chances:

-Dax: 7th episode, so already Kira (Emissary), Bashir (Babel), Odo (A Man Alone), O'Brien (Captive Pursuit & TNG), and the others had way more to do than her. What's worse, the 'science officer' role had already achieved a bad reputation from TNG where (a) there actually was no science officer a la Spock, and (b) even Geordi tended to be relegated to tech plots rather than getting rich stories like Worf and Data got. So right out of the gate Farrell was almost given the job of being the show's science nerd, which is a thankless role. She may as well have been giving the weather report. But at least this episode is about character and not science. And yet it's a pretty boring performance, certainly not a breakout show to make us fall in love with her. Her fault? Well look at the episode itself, compared to its counterpart Measure of a Man. This one just plain has a boring story, stakes we can't relate to because, unlike with Data, the question of sentience and personhood is not on the table. It's really a sci-fi question about a hypothetical species not analogous to us, and the treatment of it is less than thrilling. I would suggest that Farrell's first chance was sabotaged for her.

-If Wishes Were Horses & Dramatis Personae: These are not actually Dax episodes, but I thought I'd mention that these came along before she got a second chance, and both give her the dubious opportunity to play a dumb bimbo rather to impress us in some positive way.

-Invasive Procedures: holy moly, S2 and this is her second chance to grow on us? Talk about shades of Denise Crosby. And also this is a super-weird episode to feature prominently in. It's an odd situation since she's mostly not playing her actual character but really a new one, plus she's totally out of it most of the time. I don't know how anyone, even a strong actor, could come out of this looking good.

-Rules of Acquisition: This is far from a Dax episode, but she does get some significant scenes that IMO make her look really good. It's a nice small chance at least.

-Shadowplay: A joint effort with Odo, but at least she gets significant screen time. It's more an Odo episode, though. Dax has little to do in it that's going to make her shine like a star.

-Playing God: Aha, finally a real star episode, Farrell's first since Dax in S1. This is really her 2nd chance to come off as a real fleshed out character and to gain a fan base. And guess what, it's also the episode where her Curzon gets permanently activated, as many of us have discussed. Some call it a retcon, I'm not sure I agree (I think it makes logical sense that he was suppressed before this), but either way this is the first time she gains any more definition than she had in the pre-Emissary character bible. So really on only her 2nd outing we begin to get closer to the final version of Jadzia. This could easily have come back in S1 and got the ball rolling much quicker. Why didn't it? It's not the best ep, but it gives her character a lot for future episodes.

-Blood Oath: And here we go, Jadzia is really rolling now as a character IMO, and it took 1 1/2 seasons for it to happen. I like her a lot in this one, I have no complaints at all. She gives it gusto, shows some colors, and the episode really really works. It may not be world-class performing, but it's totally legit for TV, certainly decent.

Dax's next big episode is early S3 in Equilibrium, another totally lame script that gives her little to do but wander from one sound stage to another as we hear exposition. And after that, the notorious Meridian. After that, Facets, near the end of S3, another episode mired in Trill lore that gets us nowhere better in knowing her and is mostly unrelatable mumbo jumbo.

So in three seasons, Farrell's big chances to shine are IMO mostly bogged down in third-rate scripts, with some especially poor ones like Meridian (I challenge you to find a couple of actors, film that script, and come up with a product that looks excellent). The only episodes out of the above (not very long) list that I even like on paper are Playing God and Blood Oath. Playing God ended up being underwhelming but still ok, giving us perhaps more than we suspect but still being way less involving than it should have been; and Blood Oath which I love, both on paper and on screen. Think about it: Blood Oath gives Farrell classic TOS characters to play with, a huge adventure to enjoy, and all the energy that a great story needs. And she accomplished it just fine. Now *that* is giving someone a chance, and she passed. The rest of the eps on this list are barely any kind of chance at all. More like "how to trip up newbies 101". Some kinds of anemic writing are especially impossible for any but accomplished actors to play. Sure, Ian McKellen can take lame lines from X-Men and make then sound like Shakespeare, but very few can do that. Mostly bad writing tends to make sub-excellent actors look much worse than they actually are. You have to be really talented, like Michael Caine level of genius, to be able to look amazing in absolutely anything.

So I think Farrell got shortchanged for quite a while, and when she was given good chances she got there. Maybe she needed more good chances early on in the series so that she could have had a better batting average over 7 seasons. And for all that I always do like her, she is very pleasant to watch (physical beauty aside) and plays nicely with others. I think she gets unfairly maligned, personally.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Great review Jammer.

I REALLY enjoyed this episode. Mariner and Boimler teamed up again and suck-up Billups of all characters getting his time on screen.

I can't believe there are Trekkies out there that don't immediately recognize Jeffrey Combs' voice. lol It's such a huge part of Trek lore and behind 2 of Trek's more memorable secondary characters. As soon as I heard it my excitement level for this episode doubled.

We start off with Boimler getting reassigned from a task he was really excited about to the blah assignment of delivering an evil computer (Agimus) to the Daystrom Institute for study. I suspected Mariner would have something to do with it.

Then we meet Queen Palana (Billups). A missed opportunity here IMO. Suzie Plakson's voice and inflections would have been just perfect for the queen. We learn that suck-up Billups is heir to a thrown?!?? haha... leave it to LD to come up with something like this. Of course, it gets even whackier when we find out all he has to do to become king is to lose his virginity and his mother is hell-bent that her son will inherit the throne. She reports her engines have failed and her folks can't fix them. An obvious ploy to require the services of her favorite engineer. It appears most everyone on Cerritos knows what's going on.

Nice to see we haven't forgotten some classic trek tropes... shuttle mission gone awry, crash landing on a planet without seat belts, the planet just happens to have a breathable atmosphere... and just like in regular trek, it doesn't matter. lol

Mariner pops her shoulder back in and of course, Boimler can't watch, again.

My scan indicates you could lose a couple of pounds anyway... lol Nice reference to TNG's Times Arrow by mentioning Data's head.

Boimler finds out that Mariner got him reassigned and he's furious.

Billups and Rutherford figure out what's wrong with the engines and the Queen seems to respect her son for his engineering prowess. Capt Freeman summons Billups back to Cerritos trying to help her engineer out figuring his mother would have been up to her old tricks and BOOM! A huge explosion on the Monadean(?)
Billups can't figure out why the engine exploded and the Queen is dead. Dr. T'Ana informs Tendi that Rutherford was a casualty of the explosion. While I knew this was going to be a ruse to get Billups on the throne, I actually felt for Tendi here.

Billups resigns his commission to tend to his royal copulation duties. Tendi searches for a weak Rutherford signal and ends up finding him having a feast with the Queen. He rushes to warn Billups that this is all a trick and prevents the ascension to the throne. "Did his kingdom come?" lol

Back on the planet, Boimler gets in a scuffle with Mariner and actually stuns her all to get Agimus from her so he can get them off the planet. Boimler gives in and plugs Agimus into the console and we are treated to Jeffrey Combs hamming it up and getting all-powerful only to learn that he's been "Boimed" haha... he was only plugged into the lighting panel and wasn't able to take over anything all while Boimler was able to send out a distress signal. Mariner is impressed with Boimler's plan and how he executed it.

Tons of funny lines in this one.

Tendi/Rutherford, Mariner/Boimler... back to the old combos that have worked so well. Combs was perfect. The pace was nice and we got a couple of stories that did some character building along the way. As always, all in good fun.

Suzie Plakson I'm tellin ya... 3.5 stars from me.

Did we see the MK5 stored away at the Daystome Institute at the end?
Set Bookmark
ian
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 6:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

I just watched this episode again after a long while. I had forgotten that Rene Auberjonois was in it and it was a real pleasure to see him again. He is missed.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 6:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Scott
@Bok R'Mor

If I were to sum up my criticism of Farrell's acting, I'd say it is very underwhelming. I don't think it's that she wasn't given much to work with either over 6 seasons either. Granted she's not one of the main characters like Kira or Sisko, but she had "her" episodes and they usually wound up being dull for me.

It's not a question of understated acting, it's just she doesn't bring out any reactions in the viewer. Farrell is consistently "out-acted" by her co-stars -- DS9'a main cast has some pretty good actors by 90s Trek standards though.

Take a look at "Meridian" where she is in a romance, but it is so wooden (also due to the guest actor Dax falls in love with). There are other examples where I was hoping for more, but didn't get it.

In this particular episode, Dax basically having nothing to do is a choice the writers made so it isn't a good barometer for Farrell's acting.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,434
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.