Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 75,408 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,017
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm sorry but thats an awful comment not in the spirit of IDIC.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I guess I should at least quickly bring this back to DS9, because what we're shown isn't merely a clash of cultures like Klingons loving conquest up against egalitarian humans, or even Cardassians thinking they're better than everyone in the degree of their achievements and advances. With the Founders we're dealing with a point of view about life that cannot be explained merely as a result of aggression by their neighbors, whatever they occasionally claim about having been hunted. The Dominion doesn't merely want to bring others to their knees in order to create "breathing room" or to ensure their own protection. Like Walt in Breaking Bad (SPOILERS) they do it because at bottom they just want to. It's not that the Federation is a threat to them, it's that humanoids are like bugs to them, insects to step on. Inasmuch as early Cardassians are portrayed as Nazi-esque and Orwellian, they are actually not quite the real deal in terms of that cultural superiority mentality. Oh, they're in the running, but they do know that Humans are crafty, Klingons good fighters, and all that. But the Founders really believe everyone else is just nothing, to be stamped on, and there is really no way to reason with that. Whatever may have originally caused the Dominion to become expansionist, nothing ever made them develop this idea that the life of one Founder is worth more than the entire Alpha Quadrant. That is entirely on them and (IMO) their lack of awareness. Want to blame a tense atmosphere partly on the Federation? I guess I can buy that. But blaming the Federation for the actual events that take place, which in their pre-history include planets such as we see in The Quickening, no; no one except the Founders is responsible for that.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

If you watched Disco or Picard and liked them, then this series is 100% your fault. Do you feel ashamed yet?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

@ Trent,

I think you're misconstruing the general tenor of my argument. The point of your recent post is something along the lines of the momentum and ecology of large forces shape adaptations and behavior on a large scale, and can't be ascribed to individual will. I will in fact be a top proponent of this theory of history. I never said that you were wrong about how major powers caused aggressive changes in the Axis powers. I certainly believe that about Germany. What I think Jason R is saying, and what I am definitely saying, is that nothing the allies ever did caused them to resort to such monstrosity that it would take a skilled horror writer to come up with it. Did Versailles make the people angry and want (in so many words) to see the scapegoats hauled down the streets? Maybe so. Did it mentally arm them for a war machine that would leave the enemy dead at their feet? That is easy to accept. It's not easy to accept that the economic vise they were in, coupled with the humiliation of going from winning the Franco-Prussian war to being reduced to a vassal, should then translate into acts that Dracula would shy away from. The popped balloon of Africa may translate into a military explosion, but does not explain the wholesale attempt at a genocide of a people currently irrelevant to the war effort. Now we may say that there are other genocides on record; true enough. What seems to separate the Nazi one is the brutal efficiency - industrially planned - of the genocide, the coldness of it. And what also separates it is the experiments. Which leads us back to the Japanese, who even exceeded the excesses of the Nazis, to the point where Nazi reports back about certain Japanese activities had them saying that, uh, I know we're badass but this is really crazy. You can say all you want about how Japanese militarism was basically inevitable; but there was nothing inevitable (on the side of allied actions) about their atrocities. It's not just about deaths, it's about thinking of the victims as literally not the same species. And unlike the British and French, which may be guilty of plenty (and I am not about to defend the American war efforts of the 20th century), here we're dealing with - in both cases - Master Race mentalities that go further back than the allied interference you mention. Already by the mid-1800's the proto-Nazi movement was afoot, capped up in their victory against France (which they deemed a cultural victory), and even prior to America's actions with Japan there was the idea that all other peoples were inferior. No one made the Germans and Japanese that way, unless you want to trace all things back to, I dunno, the first molecules of the formation of the Earth. But if you're looking for proximate causes, the Americans and British did not cause those mentalities in the Japanese and Germans, and these are the requisite factors in what I'm describing. Not the militarism, which I agree is easy to explain and predictable, but in the other stuff and the excesses. I think if you read detailed accounts you'll see that this was like nothing the British or later Americans were doing.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Jason R said: "I think I will take the British Empire over the Nazis particularly speaking as a Jew but we will have to agree to disagree buddy."

That's like saying you'd take the French killing 15 million in the Congo, or the Brits killing hundreds of millions elsewhere, over 6 million slaughtered Jews.

Regardless, my point was that you can't make that choice. The Empire's were inextricably bound, and the entrenchment of the successful Empires over long periods of time (the British Empire controlled a quarter of all land on Earth at this point) influenced the logic and brutality of Imperial Germany in a condensed period of time. Each influenced the behaviors of the other. Protracted violence breeds explosive counter violence. In this regard the historian Adam Tooze once described Imperial Germany as a balloon trying to expand into Africa. It gets barred from expanding, gets squeezed back upwards and explodes against its neighbors.

Peter said: "what the Nazis did was so unbelievable to the allies that they literally did not imagine it was going on"

Why would you expect the Allies, who couldn't imagine the crimes committed in their own colonies, in their own names, whose citizens had no idea of the blood spilled to produce their sugar, coffee and silk, to conceive of Hitler's crimes?

History teaches us a big lesson about human psychology. Cycles of violence don't happen because people fail to learn from history, rather, people repress history because they perpetuate cycles of violence. Behavior tends to precede belief, belief tends to be a post hoc rationalization of what you already do, and both limit what you allow yourself to know.

Peter said: "and a view of accepted values as they shifted between the early 1800's and the mid 1900's."

You seem to be arguing that "Germany's Imperialism is worse" because it "occurred at a time when everyone knew Imperialism was bad". I was arguing, however, that it is hypocritical to condemn Germany's Imperialism and not the Imperialism which preceded it, and which it was reacting against, and it is dangerous to offer "more Imperialism" as the solution to the Imperialists we don't like.

Regardless, the Allies did not really "shift their values". In the mid 1950s in Kenya, for example, well after Hitler's camps were exposed, the Brits put the entire civilian population in "work camps"; one and a half million people locked up and surrounded by troops. Meanwhile, in the late 1950s and early 1960s, the French were massacring one and a half million in Algeria, and displacing about 2 million. And of course then there's America's record.

So the idea that the Allies were "bad in the 1800s", but "changed their ways", "became forces of good", "defeated the nasty Hitler" and "continued being good" is silly. They seemed good 'cos they had nothing more to conquer. They reverted to type when those they conquered tried to break free.

Peter said: "but NO ONE could have made them what they were other than themselves."

IMO like James you're ascribing a kind of autonomy and free-will to people and nations that doesn't exist in the real world.

Japan was highly cloistered and isolationist from about the 1600s to the 1850s. They minded their own business. The Americans rolled up with gunboats and soldiers and forcibly opened it up for trade. They installed a central bank, debt based currencies, a bureaucratic class, signed trade treaties, opened up ports and kick-started severe reforms. Only then did Japan have its industrial revolution, and in the space of a generation become super Westernized. Feudal workers turned into wage laborers.

The rapid social and cultural changes caused by this - a rapid transition from feudalism to capitalism, subsistence crops to export goods, traditional roles and customs obliterated by a new economy - caused a big backlash. This directly led to the "Showa Restoration" of the 1890s, a kind of hyper-conservative, hyper-nationalist movement which stressed Tradition (Trump in a kimono). All social ills were blamed on the West. Americans were deemed a corrupting parasite. Then a major Great Depression hit, Japan's debts piled up (mass banking collapses in the 20s), and it had no markets to expand into (the big Empires placed trade strictures, barred it from trade deals with China etc). Because its market had been transformed - once self sufficient, now reliant on imports of raw materials that now never came - it started to suffer. Then in the mid 1920s the US made it sign treaties limiting its military power - which the Japanese viewed as an insult and attack, like the Germans and Versailles - and American expansion began to ramp up in the Asia-Pacific, coinciding with increasingly stricter sanctions.

So like Germany you had a country feeling surrounded, feeling dictated to, feeling torn from its past, impoverished, locked into a grow-or-die economy that struggled to access even its nearest markets, and turning to a hyper-nationalistic leader or ideology. The Japanese didn't choose these conditions.

Now you can say Germany and Japan "choose militarism" instead of shrinking back down and kowtowing to the bigger fish. Sure. But the point of this discussion is that nobody ever asks the bigger fish to do the same; to act more like the Federation. And in DS9, even the Federation doesn't first act like the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

I thought "The Assignment" was an excellent episode, and the most fun and briskly paced episode since the season's premiere.

I think it helps if you view the episode as a trashy 1980s Brian De Palma psycho-thriller, or one of those cheesy early 90s Hollywood potboilers about crazy wives. It's pure bombastic schlock and knows it.

And so Keiko arrives on DS9 and IMMEDIATELY REVEALS SHE IS AN ALIEN DEMON!!! Any other Trek episode would slowly drop hints and draw this out, but no, "The Assignment" leaps straight into absolutely over-the-top mayhem, the possessed Keiko falling to the deck and foaming at the mouth.

She then quickly gives Miles an ultimatum - "Do as I say or I kill myself and so your wife!" - and we're off. The episode spends the next 40 minutes watching as poor Miles is tortured yet again. The alien threatens him, threatens his wife and even their innocent little daughter. It's so devilishly twisted, so proudly ridiculous. And I enjoyed reading on Memory Alpha that the writers dubbed this another "Miles Must Suffer!" episode; DS9 created it's own Trek subgenre dedicated to abusing poor Miles.

The direction is taut and tight by DS9 standards, and Miles is given one very good scene after the other. Rosalind Chao's acting as Keiko's is a revelation, and this episode arguably contains her best acting in the franchise.

As a bonus, the episode contains a touching subplot involving Rom. One of DS9's more interesting arcs continues here, Rom revealed to be a gifted engineer and promising Starfleet officer. Of all DS9's subversive jabs at TNG, its handling of the Ferrengi probably worked out best; DS9 sympathizes with the big-earred aliens and turns most of its key Ferrengi into characters loyal to Starfleet. In this regard, I thought the parallels between Miles devotion to Keiko, and Rom's devotion to Miles, were touching.

I would say the episode has three flaws. Firstly, a brief but goofy scene where Miles knocks out Odo, and secondly, the resolution in which the villain is hastily dispatched by lightning. Luckily the episode is so brisk, these silly bits fly past fast. The more lingering problem is the nature of the episode's villain: she's a Pah-Wraith from the Firecaves of Bajor. That's a can of worms that should have never been unlocked, and it's unlocked here.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

To clarify slightly, it’s possible Tuvok fully remembers his experiences as Tuvix deeply misses them, and wished Janeway hadn’t separated Tuvix. He sure as hell wouldn’t bring it up in his normal state of mind, but he definitely would in this state.

Aside from the potential murder angle, Tuvok might believe that she took something from him and deeply hurt him. Given that he would be “fixed” by the end of the episode, Janeway would remain saddled with this knowledge. It would be similar to the (not bad) actual ending, with Neelix wondering if Tuvok still liked him, but quite a bit thornier.
Set Bookmark
Gail Jaitin
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

The special effects and action sequences of this episode were surprisingly well done, but I wish Bakula's portrayal of Archer were a little more nuanced. He's either all GeeWhizIsn'tSpaceGreat?! or ANGRY!Archer. There seems to be nothing in between, and I wish the change had been more gradual and not so sudden. That would have made it more believable.

This is a very different show from seasons 1 and 2.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

The comparison between GB/USA and Nazi Germany is so odious that a simple reductio ad absurdum is in order: what the Nazis did was so unbelievable to the allies that they literally did not imagine it was going on. And as Han Solo put it, they could imagine a lot. The very fact that they couldn't conceive the the barbarity and conditions the Nazis created is proof enough that they did not ever use methods like this. That should be enough for that argument.

If you are trying to create an equivalence in damage done over time, etc etc, this requires a broader view of history, a definition of what "damage" is, and a view of accepted values as they shifted between the early 1800's and the mid 1900's. Citing old British Imperialism in comparison to acts committed after the advent of TV is just crazy.

I'll address one particular in the flurry of statements. Trent said:

" The Japanese wouldn't have become techno-fascists if not for the forced market reforms of the Americans."

Don't know if you know much about Japanese society now, or how it was in the 1800's, and I am by no means highly knowledgeable in it myself, but NO ONE could have made them what they were other than themselves. They were utterly isolated and unique leading up to the opening of the technological and cultural floodgates, and what happened after that was not forced on them. No one 'caused them' to become, during WWII, a military culture that made the Nazis look gentle in comparison. That they did all on their own.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Yeah I'm somewhat with Jason here. The Nazi totalitarianism was way worse than GB or the USA. Sure empires were killing millions left and right but Nazi Germany was doing things on a whole different level.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

I do like a Reg story, and I really enjoyed this one. The techno-nonsense aspect of the plot is really just a vehicle for the main plot trajectory of Reg being neurotic, conquering his fear, then solving the puzzle and saving lives - and I think it works really well. Dwight Schultz is a very effective performer in this role.

Of course there are problems with it. Deanna doesn't seem to have her empathic abilities in this one; she comes across as having no more insight than a human. How could Reg keep what he describes as "mortal terror" from her? She even asks "is there something you're not telling me?"

And how can you be sentient enough to recognise bizarre space creatures while your brain molecules are being dispersed?

Reg's hair style is more or less a combover. Surely if you're sufficiently bothered about being bald, there must be some sort of cheap and easy hair transplant technique by the 24th Century?

I was interested that the dead burns victim was shown so graphically; surprising for family TV in the early '90s, or even now.

Anyway, very good. After an awful start, this episode gives me hope for the sixth series.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

@Lee

Which one of these two choices would you say is more important for any television show?

Well written characters and stories
OR
Trying to correctly predict appliances of the real world future
Set Bookmark
Tannhaeuser
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 1:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

They more or less got the surface of Venus right.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I posted my last comment without reading the other reviews but after reading them now I really am done with this series if people are saying this is as good as it gets. It's 2020, so this supposedly takes place 4 years from now, yet their computers are the size of a desk and require a pen for input and their ration cards are pieces of cardboard printed out and laminated like you got in school in the 80s. Maybe back in the '90s this episode was better but seeing that the future isn't even remotely close to this and that they got it so completely wrong is what makes it hard for me to even try to enjoy it. It's just soooooo cliche even including the black social worker. And don't even get me started on Jadzia all dressed up for the party but still wearing the stupid communicator instead of putting it in her pocket. This just reminded me so much of an 80s movies vision of the future that I just couldn't get into it as it's just too far from the actual world to be believable. I get it's fiction but at least try to make an effort, as they couldn't have been any more wrong about what the 2020s would be like.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

This is my first time watching DS9 and so far after every episode I come on here and read all the reviews however, this is the last time I will be coming on here. The fact you gave this garbage episode a perfect score with the last one only one star is mind-blowing. This has to be hands down one of the worst episodes there has been so far. It's so completely unpausable and unrealistic that I can't even watch it. I'm sorry but you throw all those people in that place and tell them to live on their own then it's going to look like escape from New York. These "bad ass gang members" guarding all the buildings are like children. Beshir arguing with them that they just want a place to sleep? If this was reality both of them would have taken a shotgun to the head within 5 minutes.

This episode is so bad that I think I need a break from DS9 as it's actually offensive how terrible this was.
Set Bookmark
Tannhaeuser
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

The funniest moment gotta be when Janeway activated the Borgs.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

"German Imperialism of the early 20th century - barred by the other Empires from pillaging Africa, and expanding at home - was but the Imperialism of the Allies squeezed into a shorter, more violent time-frame."

I think I will take the British Empire over the Nazis particularly speaking as a Jew but we will have to agree to disagree buddy.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Jason said: "Frankly I am a little surprised at you agreeing with Trent's borderline equivalence between Nazis and allies - you always seem more hardcover anti fascist in these situations."

German Imperialism of the early 20th century - barred by the other Empires from pillaging Africa, and expanding at home - was but the Imperialism of the Allies squeezed into a shorter, more violent time-frame.

And so while there are obvious differences between Naziism and the Allies, their capacity for evil was the same. The British Empire killed over a billion in India during the Raj. The French and Brits were raping Africa and the West Indies (and even after WW2, these Empires fought long and bloody campaigns to avoid relinquishing these colonial holdings to subjects they once treated as Hitler treated the Jews). Everyone was raping Indonesia. The Americans were wreaking havoc in Latin America and China (later they'd drop more bombs on Vietnam than Hitler ever constructed), the latter carved up along with the French and Brits. The Japanese wouldn't have become techno-fascists if not for the forced market reforms of the Americans. The Aussies were raping the Aborigines, the Kiwi the Maoris, and the Allies of course had marriages of convenience with psychos like Stalin, and various Middle Eastern puppet monarchs, the latter of which would lead to a further century of inconvenient problems. And as late as the dawn of the 20th century, places like Canada were still massacring native Indians.

There are countless other examples (and counter-examples: the Imperialism of the Axis and Allies in some places "positively" introduced practices with overthrew barbaric customs of indigenous peoples, either directly - the white man banning the practice of sati [widow burning] in India or the caste system in Nigeria, or indirectly, like Hitler's Naziism "leading" to emancipation movements which toppled British/French colonies).

Anyway, my point was simply that the idea that Imperialistic Fascism is beat with the arms, resources and power won through violence, murder, plunder and exploitation, is the wrong lesson to draw from WW2. If Imperialism is largely caused by economic factors, and how these factors intersect with ethnocentric, political and religious factors, then you stop it by more, not less, "Federation values". More sharing, more caring and more understanding. And you keep an a-bomb in your back pocket just in case as a last resort ("But if you have an a-bomb? Why share and care? Why not Take!").

I always thought a more interesting DS9 would have contrasted how citizens under the Federation live to that of the Dominion. Imagine a Changeling envoy being granted asses to Federation worlds ("See, we don't hate or persecute! We even have many non solid members: here, meet Ambassador H20 of Aquawet IV!). That would be pretty cool.

You can still have your traditional war story afterwards. But take the time to first show how the Feds differ from historical Empires. Otherwise, what's the lesson?
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: Harper 2.0

Awesome catch @eastwest101 ;)

Lexa Doig may be the hottest woman ever to star in a scifi show. The writers must have loved that line!
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Surprised Jammer gave this one 4 stars.

I like the core idea of this episode. I like the idea of Jake as a Norman Mailer/Hemmingway/James Jones type, immersing himself in combat for a story, and coming out irrevocably changed.

I like the low-key exaltation of Bashir and the other medics, who put themselves at risk and through hell to save lives.

I liked the last scene, where Jake exposes himself and so his cowardice through his writing, and receives praise from his father; good art, and emotional honesty, are their own kind of bravery.

There's also a great scene with Bashir, who immediately takes control of the situation when he sees an unhinged Jake snapping at some joking doctors. Once he takes Jake aside, Bashir then immediately softens, and attempts to help the troubled kid.

(I feel the episode missed a trick by not having a little scene between Bashir and Sisko. It would be interesting to see how Sisko reacts to Bashir appologising for endangering his son.)

But while this episode might play well on paper, or as a radio play, and while it has some really powerful scenes, I think the direction and production design let it down tremendously.

The underground sets look hokey, almost all of the secondary cast act poorly (a few nurses aside), and the director's attempts at "gritty medical turmoil" feel like a cheap knock-off of a 1990s ER episode. The attempts at combat are similarly hokey, with exploding puffs of smoke/powder, Jake and Bashir's comical falling, dopey falling rocks, and clownish Klingons.

There's also an odd WW1 or WW2 vibe to the episode, characters not quite behaving like far-future medics and soldiers. And most of the episode's scenes are the kind of generic fare war movie buffs know inside out.

This material can look better - the famous director Sam Fuller specialized in making low budget war films and morality plays like this, all effective on a shoestring budget, largely thanks to tough, spare scripts - and should have been tightened up.

The danger, though, is that in dressing episodes like this up, you lose a very special aspect of Trek. You want the theatricality of an episode like this, the stageyness, the stiltedness, the heightened power that a certain abstractness engenders in the audience. But this abstractness is add odds with realistic, gritty, literal portrayals of combat. The styles don't mesh. So how should you film a script like this?

Kurtzman Trek would gloss an episode like this up with bombastic music, camera work, slicks effects and action, and IMO this would lead to something much worse.

I think a better approach would have been to strip this script down further. Don't let anyone go outside the caves. Don't show any outside combat. Set everything underground, black the lights out in the caves and tunnels and have the action unfold in the feeble pockets of light afforded by little candles and lamps. Have injured folk constantly beaming into the underground outpost - a never-ending march of the dead and dying, which troubles Jake - and film the medical action in silence, with more Jake voice-overs.

For excitement, have the Klingon's constantly advancing through the tunnels and being met with technobabble armored doors. The Feds hold a door, fail, and fall back to hold another, the Klingons slowly closing on the last door and so the medical outpost.

Unless you're a Sam Fuller or a Kubrick (think Paths of Glory), you ain't gonna shoot impressive ground combat on a shoe-string TV budget. So why try? To this episode's credit, it knows this, and wisely to focus on psychology, and the effects of combat, but it needs to be tighter. And you can't constantly be breaking up the narrative momentum with scenes on DS9 of guys talking about decaffeinated coffee.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 4:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

"but so much could or would have gone terribly wrong before that which could have effectively ended the war before then"
As they say in the states woulda coulda shoulda. :)

" Maybe Churchill's books on the series are biased"
Maybe... As one historian wrote: In Callahan's view, Churchill was guilty of "carefully reconstructing the story" to suit his postwar political goals.

"No documentaries I have seen about the Battle of Britain suggest that it was some cakewalk -"
As I said between the defeat of France and the invasion of Russia there was a short time were the Axis was superior in some areas. In 1943 on the other hand most major German and Japanese cities were already what the historian calls "completely destroyed". Germany and Japan as the upstarts could get some wins in during the first two years of major warfare (mid 1940- mid 1942) but after that the complete superiority in every area became more and more overwhelming. It was the time span GB and the USA needed to convert their much larger economies from peacetime to wartime and mobilize their populations.

"Frankly I am a little surprised at you agreeing with Trent's borderline equivalence between Nazis and allies - you always seem more hardcover anti fascist in these situations."
In these debates I'm always reminded of what Michael Shermer said about scientific training. It makes it really hard to not see objective reality, if it is pleasing or not doesn't matter.
I wouldn't say that there were "good" countries on either side but the allies definitely included the better countries. It is true though the Nazis copied the race laws of the southern states in the USA. GB let millions starve to death in India in 1943. The Soviet Union under Stalin did (insert horrible crime here). The Allies weren't knights in shinning armor but compared to the Nazis and imperial Japan they were the better side. A somewhat free press and an equally somewhat fair legal system (for some), a certain hesitancy to actively murder millions. It was good that they won. :)
Set Bookmark
Nota Name
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

@okrad del diablo

You have some serious anger issues, racism issues and a glorification of violence. Your way is clearly “the American way”. Democracy through the barrel of a gun, other cultures can go F themselves in the face of our superior might....

Why you watch Star Trek at all is hard to fathom, and I say that as a fairly right wing individual myself. Roddenberry’s pacifism annoys me at times, but I don’t go around hating on an entire race with an interesting and well developed culture. God forbid anyone like you would ever represent our species, you’d get us all killed because someone looked at you wrong or failed to recognise the superiority of humans (the deep irony that you have a god complex toward humans (and Americans I suspect) while hating the Vulcans for the same.

It’s reactionary, low-intelligence bullshit of the highest order, and your comments in this thread where you are violently hating on Spock (wanting him slapped harder until he bleeds) are deeply disturbing, to say nothing of cowardly (anonymous Internet thug talks violently about others, yawn). I worry for whoever you live with, no doubt if they looked at you wrong you’d give them a slapping too.

Seriously, get help. And by the way, I don’t love Vulcans, I’m not a pacifist or a serious Trek fan, so don’t try and misdirect toward those things. This is about your unpleasantness and nothing else.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Butt.
2/4
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

This one is a winner because of Russ’s great acting, and his and Phillips’ acting. 3 stars.

Could have been better. Less of the “find and deal with the aliens” plot- who cares?

Also, I don’t think the name “Tuvix” is spoken once in the episode, a dreadful omission considering how much dramatic meat that could have provided. Tuvok and Neelix could have come to terms with that experience in ways they probably hadn’t.

And this Tuvok might well accuse Janeway of murder for splitting Tuvix, and Neelix would have been interesting standing there whether he agreed with Tuvok, agreed with Janeway, or was torn himself.
Set Bookmark
Jake
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Sxottlan - If they do bring Badgey back at least the show will be conforming to a Trek tradition, along with Keiko, Alexander, Wesley, by having at least one incredibly annoying character. Unfortunately Lower Decks also deviates from tradition in that most of the other characters are annoying.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,017
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.