Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 80,460 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,219
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Roga Danar

I've completely abandoned the TrekBBS for that exact reason. Too many attack dog fans who jump down your throat for disliking whatever the Trek Du Jour is doing. I experienced it as far back as the first JJ reboot, where even the mildest statement going against the grain was piled on mercilessly, and it's never abated. Just smug, condescending crap masquerading as enlightenment, and rigid conformity as intelligent discussion. It's a shame; I used to spend a lot of time there.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I've noticed that the most hardcore Discovery fans are those who claim to have watched Star Trek from the very beginning. People who have been consuming Trek for 55 years and refuse to admit to themselves that it may have turned rotten.
There's also forums like TrekBBS and TrekMovie where you have those "I've been watching since '66!" folks, except trashing 1966-2005 Star Trek is acceptable, even highly encouraged, while the tiniest criticism of post-2009 Star Trek sends ravenous hordes against you!
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

An enjoyable episode. Three stars. While Data's move was ridiculous, how it ended was awesome
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@greycat
“The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.”

Lower Decks is a comedy though, Disco is supposed to be serious drama.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trek Films S1: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Part of the interesting aspect of both Decker and Ilia is that they are both incomplete at the start of the film. The film suggests that in fact we are all incomplete, but that we potentially have different ideal ends to merge with. For Decker and Ilia their ideal merging is with each other; or specifically the person-to-person connection to make their exploration of the unknown a reality. To them the unknown is best found in someone else. For Kirk the merging has to, in the end, be with the Enterprise. Someone else was docking with his mate, and he had to stay in that chair. We could see it as him being one of those hateful admirals, but in TOS those admirals are invariably people totally unsuited to the captain's chair. They are bad not because they are admirals, but because they are treading where they don't belong. In Kirk's case it is where he belongs, and he is a better captain than an admiral. William Decker himself chooses the merging in the end as his ultimate good. Yes, we could argue that it was the typical selfless Starfleet sacrifice to save his crew, but the film gives us enough to show it's more than that; this was his ultimate happiness. Not in command of a ship, but merged with his lover. From that standpoint I'm not sure he had entirely made up his mind about even being a captain. From the pilot we see Pike ruminating about another life, about being with a woman, and he's miserable. He gets his happy ending in The Menagerie, but he did not leave The Cage a happy camper. Decker gets his happy marriage, and it is not to his ship. So to me that makes it right and proper that Kirk gets the ship and Decker gets the marriage. Until TNG comes along, family and command did not mix, and TMP makes it very clear he wants both very badly. So unlike his dad - and perhaps in a subtle but deliberate nod to The Doomsday Machine - William goes a different direction from Matt, choosing something other than an obsession with hanging on to his ship.

From Ilia's standpoint we don't get quite as much, other than she seems more Vulcan than human in disposition. I hardly think it's a coincidence that V'Ger, the machine that wants more, chooses her as its vessel. There is something in common with Spock there, except it's somewhat the inverse: Spock has the human element and thinks he wants less; Ilia seems to lack it to an extent and wants more. She gets more by connecting with Decker, and Spock seems to realize in the end that he shouldn't want less. So what begins as an inverse perhaps ends in a kind of parity; they both realize they need more than just themselves to be complete. Spock's completion doesn't necessarily happen until ST: IV, but the arc begins in TMP. II-IV are largely the Spock saga, showing how he comes to terms with accepting his human half, but all the cards are laid out on the table right here in terms of the Kolinar failing for him, and needing (in a cosmic sense) some great thing that is currently beyond him. For V'Ger that thing was humanity itself, as it seems to be for Spock. Perhaps this film is saying that the attempt to banish or destroy the thing bothering us inside ourselves leads to destruction; that we have to find how to give it a proper home.

The thing that's beautiful about most of the TOS films is they have some heavy meta-content while still whizzing along on the literal story level. ST:V fails in this regard because the literal story barely makes sense in its pre-occupation with the message. TMP is different because both message and story are there, but the story is as drawn out and cosmic as the message is. This uniformity makes it hard to watch for some people, especially when contrasted with WoK or other films whose story moves at a brisk rate, even though its delineation of the meta-narrative is slow, even taking multiple films to complete. But in TMP the story is just as slow as the message, making the experience of seeing one already get you to the other. I think this is a neat device, similar as mentioned in other posts to 2001: A Space Odyssey, but I do think TMP pulls it off. I'm sad to have to say that no TNG film had the heft of this one in terms of what it was trying to get across. These older films were far more ambitious, and less pandering to what they thought people wanted. Granted they did realize for ST: II they needed more action, but even so the messages didn't become pandering and trite.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: Trek Films S3: Star Trek (2009)

I just watched this movie again last night after several years. I'm sure it's been noted somewhere in the comments above, but I found it a little hard to swallow that Scotty could deposit himself and Kirk onto a warp-speed ship halfway across the galaxy, after seeing that Harry Kim couldn't get a transport lock on a barn door through a mere dust cloud. Oh, and that Kirk was deposited right at Spock Prime's doorstep.

Other than that, I liked it. I'm not letting myself get caught up in canon and all that; I'm accepting the movie on its own. It's a fun homage to the TOS actors and characters, and it moves right along. Time travel may be an old chestnut, but it's the only way to both pay that homage and also establish new directions, so I accept. Anybody having a problem with that shouldn't be watching a reboot in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: Trek Films S1: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Star Trek: The Motion Picture

"You rammed getting this command down Starfleet's throat. You've used this emergency to get Enterprise back.”

- Bones

3 1/2 stars (out of 4)

TMP was the last live-action Star Trek to premier before I was born, and as such, it is, for me, part of that hazy past we call pre-history. Pre-history, of course, is different for everyone. I have watched Star Trek the post-TMP movies again and again and again. But I can remember watching TMP itself only once, and that too, more than a quarter century ago. As I watch it now, after just completing a rewatch of The Original Series, I am happy to say that reports of TMP's tedium and boring nature are completely overblown. This movie, quite simply, is a work of art.

And an enjoyable one at that.

The movie starts with an absolutely gorgeous 3 minute long musical introduction, with just a few stars streaming by to keep us company. I can’t remember ever enjoying the opening of a movie more. I can only imagine what my folks must have felt when they sat in that theater on a date in anticipation of what this new episode of Star Trek would bring after more than a decade with the show off the air.

After the Paramount mountain we are treated to the music theme song that will carry us through so many Star Trek movies, and of course which is most famous for being the TNG intro. Wow, I envy living in a world where studios put that much power and beauty into a score.

The three big heroes get their names flashed, then the entire crew - down to now-doctor Chapel - get a frame for their actors' names, and then Persis and then Decker. And then we begin this glorious journey. Already I am in the best mood I’ve been in in a very long time.

TMP teases us with Klingons. I don’t have any real idea of how movie promotions used to work back before I was born, but I have to imagine that the fact that Klingons were in the movie was a big plus point for many Trekkies. Here we get the wonderful full view of the three ships, and of course the great Klingon theme music. These are the new ridged Klingons we’ll see more of in TNG. Fortunately the age of black-face makeup is behind us. They speak in Klingon, but the movie is good enough not to bother with any translation. The movie is confident to let the musical score and the sound of the Klingon grunts convey the mood of the scene. The three klingon ships are in a formation that evokes the feel of an old-school cavalry run. Martok would be proud.

Now, 7 minutes into the movie, we get the first english we can understand and a wonderful shot inside the starbase. I love the uniforms, and everyone is so ridiculously good looking. The scene has a very old school Battlestar Galactica vibe, which of course was on TV at the time.

And it is here that the movie shines at a whole new level, when we cut to Vulcan. Spock is close to completing the Kolinahr. He is getting ready to purge the last of his emotions. So while we are ten minutes into the movie, and we get a glimpse of the first person we actually recognize, Spock and his surroundings are allowed to be completely alien to us. We can’t understand the literal translations of the words in the ceremony, but the larger meaning is absolutely clear. The larger than life statutes on Vulcan are surreal. Almost something out of a fairy tale. And that necklace carries so much weight. When it falls to the ground, you know something profound has been broken.

It’s hard to put into words how impressive all this is. TMP has a gravity that so many of the later Trek movies lack.

Finally we see the Golden Gate Bridge. The theme music for the movie plays loud. We, the audience sit up straight and take notice.

TMP is a fairly straightforward tale, not altogether dissimilar from the Season 2 episode “The Changeling.” (@Daniel B, LOL!).

Many of The Original Series episodes leaned heavily on classic literature. There was of course Hamlet that formed the basis for the Season 1 episode "The Conscious of the King”. Ovid’s Pygmalion provides that backdrop to the Season 3 episode "Requiem for Methuselah”. The bible, Plato, Nietzsche. TOS was a literary delight. So it’ll hardly surprise anyone when I say that TMP has its foundation in Moby Dick. Which is quite appropriate given that that same story was the basis for the Season 2 classic episode "The Doomsday Machine.”

In "The Doomsday Machine” Commodore Decker lost his crew to a weapon of unbelievable power. His obsession with hunting down that destructive force moves him to eventually take command of the Enterprise away from Captain Kirk. Here, in The Motion Picture, we find Decker’s son, Will, in command of the Enterprise. And we find an Admiral Kirk pull rank and take over the captaincy from the younger man. They say history does not repeat itself. But it sure does rhyme.

TMP introduces a new ticking clock: the matter of planetary security. I suppose it is better than the TOS Season 3 trope of a plague. In the quote I put at the top of this review, Bones confronts Kirk and says that Kirk has used this entire situation to get the Enterprise back.

So essentially, Kirk is the original “evil Admiral” we saw so many of in TNG, who were always trying to take over command!

Admiral Ahab wants command of the Enterprise more than anything, and he’s not above using this emergency to get it.

The movie’s main conceit, and one that I don’t buy for even a second, is that an Enterprise still in space dock, is the only ship within 54 hours of Earth. But like seeing Worf on the Enterprise for the TNG movies - when by all rights he should be on DS9 - I’ll let this one slide. The fact that we even got a Star Trek movie seems like such a remarkable cheat of fate, why quibble with minor miracles?

The movie makes good use of the youngsters. Will Decker clearly can’t stand the old man. And Kirk is old. By the time TMP premiered, Shatner was 48, older than Bones was back when TOS began. Ilia clearly shares Decker’s point of view on the entire situation. Two key pieces of dialogue take us into the younger generation’s mind set. First,

ILIA: *Commander* Decker?

Translation - I came here to serve under my old boy friend who is supposed to be captain, who the fuck are you, old man?

KIRK: Yes, our Exec and science officer.

Translation - look here young lady, I’m in charge.

DECKER: Captain Kirk has the utmost confidence in me.

Translation - the old man is a fuck all.

KIRK: And in you too, Lieutenant.

Translation - how you doin’?

ILIA: My oath of celibacy is on record Captain.

Translation - ew!!!! I’ve heard all about you!

The other piece of dialogue that gets us into the mind set of the younger generation is,

ILIA: Was it difficult? [seeing Kirk in his quarters, she means]

DECKER: No more than I expected.

It’s a short spinet, but it shows that these two youngsters are well aware what a pain in the ass it is going to be being stuck with Kirk on this ship.

Here we finally get Spock on the ship. The crew is now complete. The movie rewards us with just the slightest hint of the original series theme song. It is a nice touch.

TMP has all the old chestnuts that Gene packed into the original series. Uhura and Chekov have little to do. A fembot, Ilia, speaks in a robotic voice and orders everyone around, and Kirk thinks the computerized adversary can be overwhelmed with a little flirting. Fortunately the old man doesn’t undertake this task himself (ew!!!!). He points love-sick Decker in the direction of the fembot, and then the two old men, Kirk and Bones, watch him make his moves on a view screen. As this was also a core strategy from The Original Series, we are again treated to the slightest hint of the original series theme song. Again, it is quite welcome.

The Enterprise goes deeper and deeper into the belly of the whale. Fortunately, the movie lays off the Moby Dick theme from here on out, and the Jonah story takes over. The season 2 episode “The Immunity Syndrome” comes to mind. And like that episode, this is the only part of TMP that starts to feel like it drags.

The writers try to alleviate the drag by adding some semblance of jeopardy. Sadly the writers way over-compensated, and the whole “Earth will be destroyed in 10 minutes if we don’t push the right button” cliche was born. And omg did it creep into almost every single movie from here on out. If only they had known what a Frankenstein’s monster they were creating...

A mainstay of Season 3 of The Original Series was a long expository monologue - often by Spock - towards the end of the hour that would magically explain everything that had just happened. TMP treats us to that, when in a ridiculous piece of dialogue, Decker, Kirk and Spock unravel the entire mystery of the Voyager VI probe, including, evidently, that it fell into a black hole, found its way to a planet inhabited by sentient machines (Borg? h/t @Peter G.), the machines gave the probe its own ship in which it could travel and do its work, and somewhere along its journey home, Voyager achieved consciousness. Yeah, sure, whatever. I hope someone writing this stuff was high.

Watching TMP right after watching all the old TOS episodes is a fantastic treat. A lot of folks here at @Jammer’s website seem to think that “All our Yesterdays” is a better finale for our crew than “Turnabout Intruder.” But for me, it is The Motion Picture that really serves as a well-deserved bookend for our crew. Here we see how each person has turned out. How that five year mission left them stronger, wiser, better. Uhura sports a cool new hairstyle. Chekov got promoted and heads security. Scotty looks quite good for his age and is valued by the service for his unparalleled expertise. Sulu is still helmsman, which means Harry Kim and Hoshi Sato were not the only asians to get screwed over for promotions. Which brings us to the core five for this movie.

Bones is retired, but jumps in the saddle again when his captain needs him. Spock too hears the call of duty even though he is light years away and deep into a very personal journey. We think Spock is going to be a lifeless logician from here on out, but fortunately his experiences in this movie with Voyager actually brings him into better balance with his emotions. The two youngsters get screwed over. Decker first gets his Captaincy snatched from him, and then he basically sacrifices his life on the mission. Ilia? We hardly knew ya.

And Kirk. First of all, Kirk looks incredible. Slim and trim and fit for duty. He’s been promoted, sure, but like Peter Pan, I don’t think he’s quite grown up. And he’s still an incredible leader. Perhaps the best leader we’ve ever seen on Star Trek.

There is a scene early in the movie when Rand (erstwhile Yeoman Rand) is struggling with a malfunctioning transporter and it appears that the two officers might be lost. Kirk takes the controls. If these two are going to be lost, it is going to be at his hands. There is no need for Rand to carry the burden of that guilt. Kirk pushed the crew to take the Enterprise out of dry dock before she was ready. This is on him. He tells Rand after she’s turned away, and only her back is to us,

KIRK: There was nothing you could have done, Rand. It wasn't your fault.

And in a way that is the theme of the entire movie. A massive alien cloud is heading for Earth. If the Enterprise can’t stop it, maybe that is the end of all. There is every chance they will fail. And even if they succeed, they may not live to see it. If that is to be their burden, is it right for Decker to shoulder it? Is he ready for that level of guilt if he fails. That’s what Kirk is taking on when he sits in that chair. Heavy hangs the head.

My favorite scene in the movie comes when Kirk and Scotty are in a pod floating towards the ship. Kirk cranes his neck to get a glimpse - a peak - at the Enterprise. As Kirk tries to catch a view, we try to catch a view. Our anticipation is reflected in Shatner’s every expression. And then we see her. The music soars. Kirk’s face reflects our awe. This is the big reveal. The money shot. And Shatner is incredible. Not too much, just a touch of wonder. Just a pinch of anticipation. Just a hint of excitement.

This is going to be the adventure of a lifetime.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Lower Decks seems ok. I kinda like the TNG styling of it all but I just didn't find it funny. I got bored after a couple of episodes.

The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.
Set Bookmark
Benedict P Mercadante
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Of that era, this was one of the better episodes. Without going into all the classic personality differentials of the cast, or the science (really, most all these episodes take great leaps faith....; ) But, as a massage I do believe this makes certain where the foot comes down, and it is squarely in the camp of mainstream western patriarchal society, proving once again Star Trek was anything but counter culture. It's not that it ever pretended to be, but many have some misconception as that the message expanded beyond where our society was at that time, of which I was well aware of, I remember as a mid teen, scratching my head as I watched episodes like this, and people around me thinking that it represented the sense of freedom, and individuality, etc etc. Of course, if you think about it for a moment, it's not really any different than all the other 'messages' we were fed growing up in that era, preparing for our next 'adventure'...conflict, as it turns out. The only difference with Star Trek and the usual schlock we were fed, is that Star Trek took a moment to analyze the differences, where as during that time differences were generally hit with a hammer. Not to say that the juxtaposition was not relevant, it was and remains so, but it was Kirks line near the end, where he turned to the absolute of , para phrased...'....do we stroll throw the fields to the sounds of a lute, or strive, claw (etc) to the sound of a beating drum....' That message , was clear as a bell, and it coincides with the gaining strength of the anti-war movement and all the rest, that unfolded before my young unjaded eye.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Definitely worse than the end of Voyager. Time warps and Q trials and Picard tending vines and Geordie with silver eyes popping in out of the blue and Data with skunk coloured hair ( that grumpy housekeeper is the only authentic note here) a Laucasian professor at Cambridge, and Beverly with a crepe neck captaining the "Pasteur" (seriously?) and Deanna in pink like a toddler arguing with Worf about the exact feeling of their holodeck experience, yeah, that relationship is gonna go far....
I'm gonna stop myself right here. The episode tries to be all things to all people and it ends up being nothing very much at all.
Goodbye and good riddance to 7 years of puerile dross but for a very very very few shining moments briefer than that of Camelot.
Set Bookmark
DF
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Very enjoyable. Completely predictable, but at least we've now resolved the silly Neelix jealousy thing. 2.5 stars.

One note - since I'm covid-binging this series on a large 4K TV in 2021, I'm disappointed this it hasn't been upgraded for HD like TOS and TNG.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

I'd give this 3 stars as well, or just under. Mainly for these reasons:

1. I didn't like the Winn/Dukat scenes - never been a fan of the prophet stuff but their scenes felt like just filler.

2. Gowron & Klingon honour & glory - eugh, cliche-ridden stuff.

3. Ezri - more soap opera dialogue and it was obvious Bashir wasn't going to let her finish her explanation and get distracted....

One other minor flaw or niggle. If Odo really was infected first, shouldn't he have been thr first to show the symptoms? Or is Bashir wrong in his conclusion?
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 4:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Lots of potential here. Would have benefited from some good rewriting though
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Finally! Two episodes from the end of the series they get it right. So right in fact, this episode could stand alone as a piece of TV, even for anyone not familiar with Ro's backstory and the whole Bajoran/Cardassian/Maquis context.

Brilliantly cohesive narratively and dramatically; great pace; Forbes is beyond stellar in the character; even Stewart manages a couple of genuinely emotional facial expressions, though Riker looks ludicrous in that earring.

What a pity they pretty much abandoned the Ro Laren character and the Maquis after this. She is one of the most individual, complex and exciting characters in the whole of ST. Better than all the crusty old male admirals put together.

Just like Nick Locarno, Starfleet's sanitised and arid militarism has no place for anyone who might rock the boat for the better. Ro would have suffocated under the likes of Picard despite his alleged fondness for and protectivess of her.

Fantastic episode, pulsing drama, scintillating viewing. Outstanding work from Michelle Forbes.
Pretty unforgettable stuff.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 2:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

LOL! They didn't have the guts to give Picard a real son, so they set him up with a poseur who's part of a Ferengi's vendetta with Picard. A real son turning up would have stretched the writers' tiny minds plot wise: to send him away at the end or keep him on. That would have tested Picard's human skills big time. Hell, he goes to Beverley for parental advice! But he's free at the end courtesy of genetics -what a convenience DNA is to every ST writer stuck with writer's block!- to back to being married to the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Poor Brent Spiner! All his sublime acting skills totally squandered on this moronic rubbish. Another fantastic initial premise butchered in the execution.
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 2:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Finally. Some intelligent life on the Enterprise, all the tech getting together to exceed the sum of its parts. Wish the human component would do the same!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Did anyone else notice that the orderlies who take Dr. Severin away to Dr. McCoy for a medical examination are identical twins?? Whoa!
Set Bookmark
Ramon Ymalay
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@peter
If you truly believe that I believe we are actually "close" to holodeck level tech, I don't even know what to say. LOL. I am definitely laughing.

My point is that given the insane jumps in technology it would take to create that turbolift chasm or the holodeck, we are lightyears closer to a holodeck than making subspace bubbles inside a starship that encapsulate turbolifts.

We have already "transported" one photon.

https://mitechnews.com/guest-columns/one-step-closer-to-creating-star-trek-style-transporter-warp-drive/

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/09/23/quantum-feat-takes-us-one-step-closer-to-star-trek-transporters_n_8181418.html

Couple billion years (if humans can avoid self destruction) maybe we can transport someone... then move on to the turbolift dilemma.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"Kevin Riley who sang and died in "Conscious of a King" - was an Irishman."

Ya, Kevin Riley survived in that episode.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Turnabout Intruder

Star Trek season 3 episode 24

“If only.”

- Kirk has the series' last words.


2 stars (out of 4)


Here we have a fairly simple story, told far better in TNG’s “We’ll Always have Paris.”

There, Picard breaks the heart of his girlfriend by choosing his career. He literally abandons their relationship. Picard stands her up at the cafe where they were supposed to meet. The life of a starship captain is a lonely one. Starship captains are already married - to their ships. Starship captains have no place in their lives for love (JANICE: Your world of starship captains doesn't admit women. It isn't fair.). Kirk is no different.

We see the similarity between Picard and Kirk in Star Trek: Generations. But more than that, as @R.J. points out, Kirk says it plainly in "The Corbomite Maneuver” (KIRK: I've already got a female to worry about. Her name's the Enterprise.). For whatever reason “Turnabout Intruder” takes this fairly simply premise and turns the volume up to 11, and in the process gives us a screeching and unfortunate conclusion to an otherwise very fine series.

This episode fails in two very unrelated ways.

First, Spock has had to decide which Kirk is the real Kirk several times before. In “The Enemy Within” when Kirk was split in two - evil Kirk and pansy Kirk. "Mirror, Mirror" when Spock threw Mirror Kirk into the brig fairly quickly. And most relevant for us here, in “Whom the Gods would Destroy,” when Garth of Izar takes the form of Kirk and starts recounting well known tactical moves in a failed attempt to convince Spock that he was Kirk. Here, as @Linda says, in the scene where Janice (with Kirk inside) is recounting for Spock their past shared experiences, Spock and McCoy should have just asked Kirk (with Janice inside) the same types of questions. There is no way she’d be able to pass that test. I mean, she kept calling Bones "Dr. McCoy," because she had no idea what Kirk normally called him.

Second, this episode fails because we’ve basically been down this road with professional women before. In “Metamorphosis,” the Assistant Federation Commissioner Hedford has those key lines,

NANCY: I don't want to die. I've been good at my job, but I've never been loved. Never. What kind of life is that? Not to be loved, never to have shown love?

We essentially have the same set up here with Janice,

JANICE: The year we were together at Starfleet is the only time in my life I was alive.

And then later,

Janice (in Kirk’s body): Believe me, it's better to be dead than to live alone in the body of a woman. It's better to be dead.

The fact that this was done already, and done much better, should have been a clue that the jig was up. The show had burned itself out.

When you take into account the ridiculous number of episodes in this season that leaned on the same basic tropes - an illness was the ticking clock (plague, disease, etc.); someone on the crew goes mad (or, for a change, the whole crew goes mad); and the third trope, the ship gets taken over - Turnabout Intruder takes the cake, because we have all three: fake Kirk uses Janice’s illness as a ticking clock to force a diversion of the ship, Kirk acts mad because Janice is mad, and third, oh yeah, Janice and her Doctor boyfriend take over the ship. Turnabout Intruder may be the Platonic ideal of a Season 3 episode!

This is not an episode about a woman’s ability to command. This series literally started with a female first officer. This is not an episode about feminists hating men. It’s not even about bad breakups, even if it is basically a jilted lover switching bodies and then fucking over her ex boyfriend.

If this show is about anything (*if* being the key word), it’s about the basic common sense notion that you don’t stick your dick in crazy.

https://youtu.be/iuVmKam3m34

There are some nice touches to be sure. As @Trek fan points out, it is good to see that Spock and Bones no longer vacillate about removing Kirk from command, especially after the disastrous consequences of hesitating in "The Deadly Years.” Chekov and Sulu are fun here, and as @Rahul says, watching Shatner play a woman is super fun. Plus, for no apparent reason, thanks to @Trent, we get to read Gene’s letter to Asimov! But the fact that people (including @Trish, who has had wonderful comments throughout the series) have read all kinds of BS into this BS episode is a testament to its many, many failings.

How sad.

This is the way the show ends
This is the way the show ends
This is the way the show ends
Not with a bang but a whimper.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

ramon wrote: "Heck we are getting closer and closer to holodeck technology already. Not sure how much VR you do, but the Virtuix Omni is a VERY rudimentary idea of the treadmill in place concept and they are even producing a second version. Combine that with replicated matter and transporter tech and it’s really not hard to
Imagine a holodeck."

@ramon:
Vr is similar to a holodeck? Us getting closer to holodeck tech? And you think transporters and matter replication are even remotely plausible? Especially in the near future as you appear to think? Don't make me laugh.

As far as I know vr involves putting contraptions on your body, a holodeck does not. It is doubtful matter replication and transporters are even possible within known physics.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Loved your review Mal for one of my favourite episodes. There really is so much here that TOS does wonderfully.

Spock's monologue is brilliant and as a Spock episode I like how you've turned the tables in asking how he can not understand what it means to be human. I never thought of that aspect, but if there is some continuity to how McCoy chides him in that prior episode (which I believe is "Requiem for Methuselah") then there is some growth for the character here -- or at least added depth. What's been interesting in S3 is how Spock evolves -- really opening up about the mating aspects here is so different from "Amok Time". Maybe it all had to do with McCoy rewiring his brain in "Spock's Brain"! But then he also hit his head in "That Which Survives" and started acting like a jerk...

It's also great that we get scenes where Plasus and Droxine discuss the situation without any of the main cast present, we really get to understand their motivations. I also liked Vanna a great deal -- man, was she hot in that cave scene...

And I don't know if you notice the very final shot in this episode is a glance at Droxine and a hint of the love she might have fulfilled with Spock that is likely gone forever. It always says a lot for me.

I think this episode is quintessential Trek and going back to the discussion on "The Enterprise Incident", while this episode doesn't rate as quite as highly for me as that one did (it's not far off 8/10 vs. 9/10), I think it is more "series defining" than "The Enterprise Incident", which I hadn't considered before.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

What’s with the weird expression on Riker’s face in his first scene, right after the credits? I thought that was going to pay off but it didn’t.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@John Harmon, yes I watched the show. Notice I didn't say The Expanse doesn't have politics or character drama. It's got a lot of that. But, as Paul M. explained, it's not allegorical in the manner of Trek or BSG. It's not trying to be a commentary on current events or make statements about human nature. To some extent, I get that the show has an undercurrent of "human nature remains the same" - a counterpoint to Trek's optimism about the future - but that's more part of the world-building and less a theme.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,219
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.