Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 80,230 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,210
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

'To stupidly blunder where no idiot has blundered before'.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The fact that Voyager's Threshold got ZERO stars and this steaming pile of sh*te has got 1.5 stars tells me Jammer has really mellowed over the years LOL. Personally I think this episode is Threshold-level bad.
Set Bookmark
J-Dogg
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Some people definitely do act like that in real life.

You wouldn't to serve with them on a military vessel in life of death situations though.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Love your reviews, and visit the site often. On this one I must disagree. Not perfect, but with some terrific low-key humour and a few touching moments. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Shock horror. An episode with Nerys that I like. Decent acting too, for a change.

Perhaps it's the director and writing staff to blame for the usual nonsense. This episode is good and has a nice twist to it also. Perhaps a bit shoe horned in that Dukat was with her mother but I'll let it pass.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Mostly it's about the money. "What do you do?" is a first question asked most of the time, and it's more or less interchangeable with "how much money do you make".

That is an oversimplification. The "importance" or status of a job may be correlated strongly to remuneration but in my experience there is a distinction.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@ Jason R,

I agree about the supposed dystopian places. Like is Yar's home planet even part of the Federation at all? And there is another issue of colony vs member world. A human-colonized world would, I imagine, be privy to all advantages of a Federation world in terms of sharing resources, although perhaps with a small population they would only merit a single industrial replicator or something (which would affect 'build time', not resource availability). But many worlds that opt into the Federation no doubt still have a large leeway to govern their world however they want, and we don't really know anything about how much latitude that includes. Could a planet join the Federation but still prefer to operate their own local capitalistic society? I have no idea. Could a member world have a dictator, but because they're 'unified' they are eligible to join? I don't know what kind of humanitarian or moral standards the Federation has for membership, but I am guessing they have to be somewhat open-minded about that because after all many races would never join in they thought it meant being thought-policed into accepting human values.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Peter I am only noting that even today there are pockets of relative "paradise" here on Earth where things like hunger and deprivation are largely eliminated. They may not be post scarcity societies but they are pretty good overall. Yet we don't say that *humanity* is evolved by arbitrarily ignoring the large parts of the world that are not so lucky.

It seems to me inconsistent with Picard's claims that any human colony could be a dystopian nightmare. If that's true, then how is future human better than the one of today other than having fancier gadgets?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@ Bob,

I think it's made pretty clear over a few Treks that materialism is not only alleviated but is outright obsolete. Maybe Picard oversells the idea that all humans are evolved to the point he is, but I think it's almost self-evident that if you eliminate wealth you will eliminate along with it people trying to own everything they see, and also that feeling of measuring yourself based on how much stuff you have. There is nothing to brag about if you are at the same 'economic level' as your neighbor and literally cannot do anything to rise above him financially. Right now, especially in America, people define themselves by the social strata of their work and how much money it makes. Mostly it's about the money. "What do you do?" is a first question asked most of the time, and it's more or less interchangeable with "how much money do you make". The idea is that in the Federation self-worth isn't defined in these terms. I think there is a psychological truth to this: take away the mechanism and you take away the idea. Even if you didn't magically develop all kinds of virtue, if you found yourself in a place where there was simply no such thing as making more money than someone else and having a fancy house and car, you would quickly divest yourself of the idea of trying to be better than him on these grounds.

True, people might end up being competitive in other ways, and especially narcissists might try to look better than others in some way or another. Maybe you created more art than the next guy, or invented something that gave you fame. I would imagine that prestige would replace wealth as a commodity to fight for, so that respected positions (e.g. within the Federation) would be the object of desire rather than wealth accumulation for people not satisfied with a humble life. That is 'economics' in the loose sense (i.e. the study of what people want) but not in the sense of it being about physical resources.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Did I actually write "surfaces" instead of "services"? lmao

@Jeffrey Jakucyk see, I don't know that I buy that the federation actually is post scarcity. Maybe a few planets are there but the simple fact that goods are transported sort of pokes holes in that. I brought up ship fuel because fuel is a resource needed to operate the space vessels. Maybe there's unlimited fuel produced at star bases and federation planets but I have a lot of trouble wrapping my head around that idea as well. There's a lot I don't understand about replicators and transporters either. Can they create literally anything with enough battery charge? Do you need to mine dilithium crystals or can you just replicate them? Could a space ship refuel itself just by sitting in sunlight and converting radiation energy to fuel?

Maybe I took Picard's statement to be too broad because I didn't think he was talking about materialism nescessarily, he made it sound like no one has a desire for possessions and that's why I bring up things like mama Troi's luggage and the crew's personal effects. Clearly, people want to have things, they're still people. Perhaps the desire for possessions has become more about emotional or sentimental value than anything else but there is still a desire to own things. We humans of the 21st century still have a lot of behaviors developed over many generations of evolution that are arguably obsolete, I think the desire to have would take many thousands of years to truly be gone from the human psyche, if ever. Which is also why I can't understand why someone would run a café in France, or anywhere, without demanding some manner of compensation for services. I love my job but it's often hard and I wouldn't want to go through the effort for nothing in return.

I mean, yes. A lot of things can happen in a hundred years. There's also a real possibility of hardly anything happening for a hundred years though this is admittadley less likely in a society where technology is continuously being improved. Nothing has tubocharged cultural change here on Earth quite like the march of technological progression. I don't know, maybe it's just me having trouble adapting to this new world of TNG. Maybe I'm DeForest Kelley in heavy age makeup in the first episode of TNG.

@Jason R. Funny you should mention Sweden! I'm born, raised and currently living in Sweden! And you know, while the idea of most everyone living decent lives is a lot less true today than it was in the 80's, the idea of blocking off the rest of the world is something I'm sure several Swedes would like. There's most definitely people who take great issue with immigrants, maybe they see them the same way the Enterprise D crew sees the frozen people? Regardless, Sweden today is just another reason why I'm having trouble accepting the rapid cultural change in the federation. You have Swedes today dreaming of the days of the Swedish Empire, of the days when we fought the Dane tooth and nail out of our country, of the days of exploring the world's oceans and pillaging, raping and murdering whatever we found. Culture is made by people and people are flawed, I don't think there's such a thing as humanity growing out of its infancy. Oh well, I guess I'll just keep watching the funny robot man trying to figure out how comedy works.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 12:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

I am reading a few lukewarm responses to "Lessons," and I have to disagree.

I also think this episode deserves another half-star, simple in the light of it being possibly the most heart-felt and believable romance story I have ever seen in a single episode of a television series.

Shows can cheat with time; there is the time frame that the episode gives you, and the time frame the episode can *appear* to entail. I think that the time frame over which these events happen (in this episode) is kept deliberately vague. That's an extremely smart writing choice, for a single-episode romance story; hey, what if they were dating for some several months, and this episode just 'forgot' to say so? The story still functions as well as it would have, if it were only over the course of 3 days. This kind of writing in Star Trek is *chef kiss* bravissimo.

Add into that that Wendy Hughes *sells* the performance. Famke Jannsen has gone on to movie stardom in retrospect, but I find Ms. Hughes to be far more believable as an officer and as a person, and as a musician (I am also one and she is delightful, I'd love to play a jam session with Lt.Cmdr. Darren).

To go further on that point, the scene in Picard's quarters where she teaches him that he can improvise is, by far, the single most realistic depiction of music performance that I have seen committed to celluloid, bar none, for the rest of eternity. Shows tend to fake this and this one is no exception, but the dialogue about music that intersperses their actual playing is top-shelf. Whoever wrote this has a background in improvisational playing, and that is super cool to me.

I do think the reset-button-antics of the episode tend to hurt the overall story, but they were also unavoidable as anyone familiar with television production knows. But this balancing act is difficult even for a show that doesn't have to whip up firestorms to get the episode out of the way. ST:TNG managed to make me sad that Picard and Darren's relationship had to be sidelined, and I mean honestly sad. She seems like a good fit for Picard. I hope she's still around and would consider doing some episodes of Picard Season 2, to be honest. I want Nella Darren back. This was a moment where Star Trek seemed like it was really doing stories, just for the sake of doing the story, and it's something that I feel like the franchise has let lay fallow for too long.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@ Jason R.,

I think part of the deal of the Federation post-scarcity society would have to be rationing. They did hint from time to time of 'replicator rations', and in TOS they did refer to receiving pay (which in later Treks was specified to be Federation credits). The credits are certainly a type of currency, but unlike our modern currencies are undoubtedly only to be used to withdraw from the common resource pool and for no other purpose. There would be no 'investing' your credits to accumulate more or anything like that. They never said this directly but I also imagine that being in Starfleet for instance gets you more credit than just being some civilian on Earth. No doubt that you have to save up your credits or pool them to get a big thing like a shuttle or small starship on a private basis.

So the only way Canada's economy would resemble this would be if everyone was not only on a UBI (which would be a starting point), but additionally if private investment and wealth generation was removed from the picture. So the UBI (or its later equivalent) would not only be a safety net but in fact would be someone's entire ration to use each pay period - I don't think there could be any other source of income for such a system to work. Nor could there be any other source of income if all credits are electronically distributed by the Federation; no one would be able to start a for-profit business, for example, to try to charge other people for their credits and have them exchange hands. If they could do that then you'd be right back to square one in a regular 2020 economy with people accumulating vast amounts of credits, being rich, etc etc. Other than they would still get their UBI, but the wealth disparity would certainly still exist. So I don't think it could work like that, and therefore even if Canada currently has done away with starvation in particular, I still don't think it resembles what a Federation economy would have to look like.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

"I think you misunderstand. This is a post-scarcity society with replicators and nearly unlimited energy. That's why there's (nominally) no money in the Federation. With no scarcity there's no reason for a medium to allocate scarce resources. Yes people have possessions, but there's no longer a materialistic drive for accumulating said possessions. If anyone can have them, there's no exclusivity or pretension, no keeping up with the Jones'. Instead that drive is turned towards self-improvement and fulfillment through other means. Generally when they do bring up money it's when exchanging with cultures outside the Federation, such as the Ferengi or the Bandi (Farpoint)."


Hmmm... what culture was Turkana IV again? Ferengi?

I always thought Tasha's home world was an odd anachronism. I mean ya, not every human world is creepy sewer rape gangland - but these are *humans* no? Same species as Picard. Where does Picard get off with his mankind has evolved BS? Maybe he should talk to Tasha.

I mean today we have states like Sweden where most everyone lives pretty well while states like Somalia are not so enlightened. Can the Swedes just wall themselves off from the rest of the world and declare *mankind* evolved because Sweden is a paradise? What about the first world generally? If nobody starves in Canada does that mean Canada is as good as the Federation?
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

"I've never been convinced that Picard, the archaeology professor's star student took a sudden turn to a Starfleet career. Why didn't THAT figure in Tapestry? The lack of any rudimentary arc development in TNG is a real pain."

Good point about Tapestry, but Picard's criticism of his blue-shirt self is that he is a man "bereft of passion and imagination". So perhaps he just lost interest in his archaeology.

In general though, it's perfectly understandable that someone could be really really good at something, but still be better at (or prefer) something else. It's not that Picard was on a track to become an archaeologist, it was probably the equivalent of a minor or secondary degree, he just happened to be really good at it, but still preferred the command track.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Bob the answer to why the guests are treated so poorly is because this is the first season, where according to Gene, Humans have "evolved out of their infancy" and become self-righteous pricks with no empathy or patience.

As to your sixth paragraph , "'We have eliminated hunger, want, the need for possessions.' Picard what the actual fuck are you talking about? Didn't people buy and sell things on Farpoint?"

I think you misunderstand. This is a post-scarcity society with replicators and nearly unlimited energy. That's why there's (nominally) no money in the Federation. With no scarcity there's no reason for a medium to allocate scarce resources. Yes people have possessions, but there's no longer a materialistic drive for accumulating said possessions. If anyone can have them, there's no exclusivity or pretension, no keeping up with the Jones'. Instead that drive is turned towards self-improvement and fulfillment through other means. Generally when they do bring up money it's when exchanging with cultures outside the Federation, such as the Ferengi or the Bandi (Farpoint).

"Didn't you exchange gifts with the Ligonians in Code of Honor?"

It was a symbolic gesture of friendship and cooperation. That has nothing to do with materialism.

"Didn't Troi's mom have a big honking coffert of things you had to carry?"

Clothes and wigs and personal effects? That's not really relevant either. It's just about comfort while traveling.

"Didn't you go to a café in Paris when you were younger and did they not charge for their surfaces?"

Services. And from what we know about the universe, no, they very likely did not charge anything. Again, post-scarcity. The waiter or chef could be living just as well as a nuclear physicist in such a society, because their job doesn't determine their wages (since wages don't exist) or housing or anything else. Now, the question becomes, who would want to be a waiter at a cafe in such a society, or a janitor, or any number of other jobs? But some people find those things fulfilling and they would gravitate towards them. Maybe there'd be way fewer, or they'd only work a handful of hours per week, or whatever.

"Don't most everyone on the ship have different things in their quarters?"

Like I said before, just having things is not the same as needing to accumulate things to feel validated or worthy or to impress other people.

"Don't your engines require fuel?"

Sure, so what?

"Don't the ferengi exist (and you weren't baffled by the concept of mercantilism?"

Yes but the Ferengi aren't part of the Federation. They weren't baffled by mercantilism because they studied history and/or are familiar with the workings of other cultures. Picard's pronouncements are all Human/Federation-centric, they obviously don't apply to all species.

"And if we look back at ToS, we have merchants in the federation selling tribbles and shit, grain to be delivered to hungering planets, ore to be mined, land to be owned and exploited. What, did all that go away in under a hundred years?"

Possibly. TOS was much more the wild west than TNG. They may have been well on their way in TOS but just hadn't gotten there yet. The Soviet Union, for good or ill, sprang up, made far-reaching comprehensive economic and societal changes, and collapsed, all in roughly the same 70-year time period. Imagine how much change could happen in a society so much more technologically advanced, which also had contact with numerous alien species.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Anybody have any recommendations for someone looking for shows or books similar to Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

"I'm in the minority, but I thought the ship combat scenes were quite good for the limitations. You can tell they save on cost when they only show isolated shots of each ship firing or getting hit, but the concussive sounds and punchy effects (and yes, the shaky camera) had some serious weight to it."

This was one of the biggest production flubs in the series, where the Enterprise shoots a (huge) phaser blast out of the forward photon torpedo tube. In the HD remaster they recycled the Enterprise from The Best of Both Worlds, shooting properly from the saucer section.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Somewhat on topic, I watched the Ready Room for the season finale which had SMG, Olatunde Osunsanmi, and Michelle Paradise and during the interview each one of them started crying at one point when talking about how amazing the show is. It gave me insight into why the characters act like they do on the show (frequent outbursts, constant crying, etc.) and also made me realize that my criticism that "nobody acts like that in real life" might be unfair. Some people really DO act like that in real life.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“Tilly as ensign???? Don’t even get me started!”

Hah!
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

My autocorrect spaced out turbolift. And I meant to put two words. I am well aware turbo lift shafts is three words. My emotions and rage got the better of me.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I rarely ever post on here, but Disco has gotten so absurd I don’t even know where to start.

Throughout the season I have never seen more unearned moments than what I have seen on this show.

The crew could have cared less about gorgiou yet when she dies she gets a better send off and tribute than DATA!!!’ (At least before Picard). That is ridiculous.

Tilly as ensign???? Don’t even get me started! How about some basic chain of command.

The crew is crying constantly. I have never seen a more unprofessional crew in my life.

One word. Turbo lift shafts. Enough said about that.

The burn being caused by some emotional child’s outburst.... omg.

This show is a disaster. I wish they would just call it non canon and cancel it and start over. It’s the laziest writing I have ever seen.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I agree with some others here that this episode must have meant a lot when you *first* see it, and don't know the revelation or what to expect.

Because of this, I ended up not rewatching the episode nearly as often as other ones, maybe only 2-3 total viewings over the years. It turned out I really didn't remember much, so even on a rewatch a few days ago, it felt pretty fresh!

I'm in the minority, but I thought the ship combat scenes were quite good for the limitations. You can tell they save on cost when they only show isolated shots of each ship firing or getting hit, but the concussive sounds and punchy effects (and yes, the shaky camera) had some serious weight to it. I can remember a good amount of TNG battles with Birds of Preys and Warbirds where there was absolutely no punchiness.

And yes, Peter's gif is GREAT.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Agreed!
Set Bookmark
Icarus32soar
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Who can survive a plunge into a star's corona?
A Mad Ferengi, a Blue Scaly Alien, and a Dumb Redhead Broad.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Hang on, my bad: Sara Lynn Michener did actually have two criticisms of the season! (I had not finished the podcast when I posted.)

She thinks Kira should have talked about her pronouns earlier; and she is very disappointed that they did not include a scene of “Saru admitting that Michael is the better leader” (verbatim quote!) followed by Michael reassuring him not to worry, he tried his best. (eyeroll, gag)
Next ►Page 1 of 3,210
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.