Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 81,444 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3,258
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 4:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

Others have already mentioned the lunacy of disabling all your shit and having a War Game in the middle of nowhere. So I won't mention how much that drove me crazy because it would be repetitive to say "What the hell, TNG, writers?!" and I don't want to be repetitive.

Loved the character of Kolrami. A really enjoyable fat little twit of a douche.

My only other complaint about this episode is that I kept thinking about real life Pen Testing that we do at my job. What the Pen Testers don't do is ask the head of network security for the company they're testing to come over to their side and then use his credentials and knowledge of systems to attack. Because that would completely defeat the point of the test. Almost every network out there allows for remote connections and if you had access to admin credentials and their 2FA app guess what - you'll get in too.

So what, the hell, was the point of that War Game? Was it to simulate what would happen if the XO and Chief of Security and Chief Engineer all defected to the Romulans? Because, otherwise, the stuff that Worf and Riker and Wunderkind pulled completely undermined the entire point of what you'd expect a War Game to be. Logging into a system that you can access remotely and using your expertise and first hand knowledge of that system during a War Game makes no sense otherwise.

Everyone temporarily assigned to the Hathaway should have had their access temporarily disabled. Nobody should have been allowed to beam over.

Anyone can use inside info to cheat to win. That's not the point of the War Game as they presented it to us and I got so mad I smashed my Alf collectible drinking glasses in a rage.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

I get the clip show but why did they use some clips of that other Riker guy, the one who lacked the majestic beard and never lifted a leg to pointlessly set his foot on some object?!

I had work to do today that I put off so I did that while letting this episode play so I could say that I didn't skip it.

PS - I still skipped a lot of it.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

With the exception of "City on the Edge of Forever" I'd have been perfectly content if Trek never ventured back to the 20th/early 21st centuries.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Just finished rewatching this one. Easily my favorite Janeway episode. What I like best about it is that Janeway outthinks and outmaneuvers a much more powerful opponent. I think that tracks with the "one lone ship" premise. She is also presented here as showing a little vulnerability while still being tough. It makes her a much more interesting and sympathetic character, imo.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I think the writers missed an opportunity with the ending.

The show opens with the wedding of Tom and B'Elanna. He slips the ring on her finger and says it's a symbol of their eternal love. Here's where I would begin to change things: the two rings would have to be items not created by the silver stuff on the Demon planet. Let the fact that they are not breaking down be one of the clues that unravels the mystery.

Skip to the end. Instead of having Harry, Seven, and Neelix being the final remaining survivors at the end, I would have went with Tom and B'Elanna, holding hands as the ship disintegrates around them. The real Voyager arrives and finds nothing, but the camera slowly moves in on the two rings floating together in space for eternity.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

Anyone else prefer Enterprise's rehash of this story, "Doctor's Orders"?
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Skimms said: "I can pretty much buy that the monster can affect peoples minds, but how does it alter sensor readings?"


Who reads those sensor readings?

........

Michael said: "Gotta love the "monster expert's" faux-Australian twang. "

I didn't notice an attempt at an Australian accent. The actor who played the part is British fwiw.

.......

Jay asked: "Isn't the Beast mobile? Can't he move away from the buoys?"

It's either a slipup by the Voyager creators (Impossible!) or a clever bit of writing. The creature has been shown to have an increasing influence over its victims the longer they are in its proximity. "Do not kill me!" seems like a message that it would send constantly. "Yeah, marker buoys are good enough - I'm totally immobile!" would be another useful trick. If intentional, it might also suggest that the creature has tricked Qatai once more in the episode's closing shot. Who knows?


Random bits:

- Why wasn't Qatai's ship digested at some point between the time he dropped his shields to beam aboard Voyager and the time he returned?

- The creature reminded me (a tiny bit) of a an evil version of the creature from the TAS episode "One of Our Planets is Missing."
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

William B has a very insightful comment above and it convinces me that there are some genuinely good ideas in this episode. Those ideas get drowned in an ocean of crap, but they are still there.

Let's play "fix the episode":

I like the idea of "emotional toxic waste." I like B'Elanna being the central character. I also like the character of Fesek.

I don't like having a literal monster, B'Elanna being in constant "Hulk Smash!" mode, the idea of "space polluters", the inclusion of Neelix, or the violent ending.


Start the episode with the Tuvok and Miss Turtlehead scene.

Make this a planet bound episode. Torres is asked by the Malon to help repair one of their power plants. Torres is outraged by their polluting ways. She harangues a middle management type, Fesek, for his role in what's going on. He's at least somewhat receptive.

Disaster strikes. Torres and Fesek are in a race against the clock to stop a total meltdown. As the story progresses Torres continues to press Fesek about his society's shortcomings. He becomes more and more sympathetic to her POV. As the show gains momentum and the tension increases, it becomes apparent that Fesek isn't just being influenced by Torres - he's also being affected by the radiation.

The episode's climax takes place when Torres and Fesek make it to their destination. Fesek has become unhinged due to radiation poisoning. He is both mentally and physically damaged. He has taken Torres' advice about the need for societal change and combined it with his own pain and rage. He sees the faults in Malon society, and blames it for "forcing" him into a job where he has been harmed and has done great harm to others. Instead of preventing the meltdown, he believes that the only way the Malon will change is if they feel the consequences of their own selfish actions - he's going to let the reactor explode.

Torres finally recognizes the wisdom of what Tuvok told her in the opening scene, She realizes that her anger, which she had thought of as "a useful tool" for most of the episode, is nothing more than emotional toxic waste; waste with which she has polluted Fesek.

Our Trekkian ending: Torres does not, I repeat, does NOT beat Fesek with a rod to solve her problem. Instead, she talks him down. She opens up about her life and explains how her uncontrolled anger has hurt her and hurt the people she loves. She convinces Fesek that the best way to fight for change is to go public with what has happened to himself and let the people know what their pollution is doing to others. In the end, he agrees.

/cue sonic shower scene




Better? I don't know. But it did allow me to kill some time on a lazy Saturday morning.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 12:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

The moral of tonight's story: "If you suffer from uncontrollable rage, it's ok, because most of life's problems can be solved by beating someone to death with a rod."

B'Ehlanna is angry! What an interesting, fresh character development.

So the Malon are the "scourge of the quadrant"? Not the Borg, not the Vidiians -it's the race of mutated garbage men that are the REAL threat.

I thought Voyager was going to give the Malon some environmental tech after "Night"? Was that ever mentioned again?

Why is Neelix shoehorned into this episode?

Wouldn't having the ability to dump toxic waste into any nearby star solve all of the Melon's disposal needs? I know the producers wanted to do a show with an environmental message, but they did absolutely nothing to establish the Malon as a believable society.

Skuffle notes: "This monster business. It's ridiculous. The Malon have heard of this 'mythical' creature before, and some even claimed to have seen it! Oh my! But wouldn't they notice a psychotic mutated crewman on the ship when they got home? Or notice that one of their core workers was missing? The fact that this happens to some of their crew and they don't know about it is beyond stupid."
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

@David in MN

Thanks - that's good to know. It was weirding me out.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

@EventualZen

I had forgotten about that.

I got that idea because I have to drag my greasy thumb across a button that reads my finger print and then put in my password then open my 2FA app and input a code so I can see how much money I owe on my credit card from buying Warhammer figures and Onlyfans subscriptions.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I actually liked Worf's little gambit. It was, as far as TNG goes, a nice little twist to see the half-human wanting to blow them the hell up while the full klingon thinks of an elegant solution.

I remember consistently enjoying all the Klingon stuff until I really, really didn't.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

^ I knew that, but I'm ashamed to admit that someone had to point it out to me even after watching the show for decades. in a similar vein, I only noticed Data's blue eyes in "Parallels" for the first time just a few weeks ago!
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

This is Jeri Ryan's show and I have no problem with that. She's great here.

Tuvok and Seven work well together. I can't remember if there are any episodes after this that team them up, but there should have been.

As others have said Doc's "personalities" line and Seven's "Sub-unit" line are both gold.

I like Naomi Wildman. Many child actors are annoying but Scarlett Pomers is good.


You know what really sealed the deal for me though? The screaming little girl at the end. Being assimilated by the Borg should be an abominable fate, and that little girls stark terror really brought the horror of the situation home.
Set Bookmark
zaphy
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 11:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

@JerJer, there's one or two other barber scenes in TNG, with another Bolian "Mot" doing the haircuts.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

All Betazoids have black irises. Any actor who has portrayed a Betazoid has to wear colored contacts.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Good episode. Jammer's review was spot on, imo.

I read the first third of the comments here and there were a ton of really weak nitpicks. Yeah, I'm guilty of it too sometimes, but a lot of the "problems" that get brought up are addressed in the episode itself or in other well known Trek episodes.


Jammer said: "However, one problem I have with "Timeless" is the way this moral theme affects Chakotay. Specifically, just what motivates him to help Harry change 15 years of history."

^

Would the story have worked better if B'Elanna took the place of Chakotay aboard the Delta Flyer? I think it would. Her killing the Voyager crew, including her boyfriend, via her work on the slipstream drive would provide a much stronger motivation than the one Chakotay had. She's already a character who suffers from self-disgust and bitterness. Let Roxanne Dawson take the lead in the angst department while Wang plays a (slightly) more reserved version of what we see here. I think it would play to the strengths of both actors.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

I enjoyed this one I would have to give it 3 stars. Not every episode has to have some deep social commentary to be good. It was fun, entertaining to watch and didn't involve Archer playing space cop which for me is a nice change.

Also, I genuinely don't mind rehashed or cliche plots as long as they make sense and at least tries to be original. I just look at it like 'hey I haven't seen these specific people in this situation before let's see how they handle it.' *shrugs*

Archer's bad boy criminal act leaves much to be desired. He maneuver effectively though gaining the trust of Kuroda, who I think is an interesting villain. Even though Archer is good at deceiving him he does pose as a real threat. As the story goes on you can see why he is persistent on not going back to Canamar.

The Enolians surprisingly admitted to the wrongful arrests without much of a hassle and proceeded to help, although you can pretty much tell what kind of people they are when one of them orders their patrol ships to destroy the prison vessel killing everybody when finding out Kuroda is aboard. Harsh.

Of course Archer has to do something stupid before it's all said and done or it wouldn't be right. Risking not just his life but everyone on the shuttle to save Kuroda who cleary doesn't want to go. This guy here man.. *shakes head*
Set Bookmark
Daemon
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

So, having just seen the episode, and thinking on it for a bit, I feel like, while a decent episode, with some nice character work, it wasn't quite the 'Top 10 Star Trek episode' that others have described it.
The premise seems very much like your basic 'person becomes desperate, and makes a deal with the devil to try and fix it' scenario, with Garak being the devil in this instance, and Sisko as the desperate individual who's tricked by the Devil to performing various dark deeds, both directly and indirectly*. The difference here is that, being Star Trek, the dark deeds are limited to: Forging evidence (of something that was likely to happen anyway), Murder (of a death row criminal), and Blowing up a shuttle with a senator on board (one who was going to make the war that much harder to fight)**
It being Star Trek is also the thing that makes that work, because from the perspective of an advanced society like The Federation, actions like this *would* still be concerning (and in fact, it's something that the show acknowledged in the previous episode). That said, two things that keep the episode from being great for me are:
1 - As others have pointed out, the actions shown here aren't that much worse than others taken in prior episodes in this show (the changeling's on Earth two-parter is a good example, where Sisko actively defends his actions by saying "It's easy to be a saint in Paradise", a stark contrast to his response here).
2 - Sisko is for the most part not very pro-active. Most of his actions in this episode are basically him agreeing to Garak's ideas, and/or generally playing along to Garak's tune, out of desperation, with the final act being conducted almost entirely by Garak, with Sisko as an unwitting accomplice at best. This, to me, undermines the theme of an individual performing dubious actions in service of the greater good, by essentially offloading most of the work to Garak. Had he started out this way, but then gradually began to make decisions of his own accord (somewhat like what he did with Quark, but worse) I feel the idea could've worked, but it instead seems to do the opposite.
Overall, in isolation, the idea is an interesting one for Star Trek, and is still a decent enough episode overall, but it has some caveats that to me, keep it from being the all-time great that it's often described as.

*Then again, Breaking Bad built an entire Emmy-winning show entirely on this very premise, so maybe originality in premise doesn't matter much if it's well-done?
**Another factor is that the 'devil' in this instance is Garak, who is a series regular and someone (somewhat) sympathetic to Sisko's goals (that's also why each action comes with some sort of 'mitigating circumstance').
Set Bookmark
Jean Michel
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm awfully bit late to the party, first post here, although I've been visiting this page for ages.

I thought I'd chime in with regards to people trying explain away the ginormous turbolift shafts with "warp bubbles" and how the ship might be "bigger inside than outside".

This might be only my impression and a biased one, but I feel that Star Trek has always been about practicality. We know what purpose the holodeck serves. Or the transporters. Or the replicators/food synthesizers. Or how the warp drive works. Discovery is on the opposite side - they invent things that are supposed to look cool without serving much purpose:

- floors at the Starfleet HQ made from programmable matter: WHY
- detachable nacelles. Yeah, "greater maneuverability". In space. No. They just look cool, but they make no sense.
- all the ship at Starfleet HQ sustaining the field or whatever. So basically they can't move?
- ginormous turbolift shafts. What's the PURPOSE of all that EMPTY SPACE? And even IF that space is needed and the ship is indeed using a "warp bubble" to be "bigger on the inside", it still begs the question: WHY. Why would one want to make the ship smaller on the outside? Why would the size of a *starship* matter? Is it easier for parallel parking or what? It makes zero sense in this universe/franchise.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 2:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I also disagree with the main review. - I think this is the best of the early episodes. There are some superb dialogue moments between Kirk and Spock, and Kirk and McCoy, which underpin a tense and ultimately believable story. Yes, perhaps “Baby Balok “ was a bit silly, but on the other hand that was an unexpected surprise at the end of the episode.

Kirk and poker? That established a theme that would recur several times in Classic Trek.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 2:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

Another potentially great episode that “goes to pot”. It was full of good ideas and discussions right up to the point where Dr “good guy “ Adams suddenly becomes Dr “mad scientist “ Adams, and for why? Just because Kirk and Dr “microskirt “ Noel start playing with a machine they’ve already been shown?

This episode. - being made when the Cold War was still on. - is quite possibly a comment for American audiences about the nature of totalitarianism, ie the manipulation of people using mind control. In that respect it was clumsy and should not have been the basis of a Trek episode.

At least we got to see the first use of the Vulcan mind meld.
Set Bookmark
Jillyenator
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

So...Archer's door switch panel wasan outline of a Horgan. At least that part made me happy.

And then we had more Porthos (aya!) and we learned a little bit about Denobulans. Everything else else was trite.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 9:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I love what you do Jammer and I have immmmmmense respect for your work. So I mean this in the best possible spirit. It’s hard to come across a rating and review like this one and not feel you have a bias against TNG. Considering the quality of this episode - and how much my kids loved it the other day - but especially considering the quality of this episode as compared to the vast majority of Discovery episodes, it’s hard to square the consistently generous ratings you’ve given to Discovery. Sure the special effects are nice, but the writing is consistently terrible (my opinion, I’ll grant) and nowhere near the standard of TNG. Leaving the other series aside, comparing these two on your site feels weird. If this is 1.5 then there should be a whole lot more disco episodes with a similar or lower rating. IMHO of course!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

I enjoyed this movie, but overall I’d probably give it a 2/4. The actress for Shaw was so 1-note it really took me out of the story. The story itself had some pretty big holes, and I saw Shaw’s sacrificial death coming from about a parsec away. But Forbes salvaged it for the most part.
Next ►Page 1 of 3,258
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.