Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,684 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,068
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

wow, across 10 years and this episode evokes so much emotion
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

@borusa
You might want tro translate that apparent diatribe....do you get drunk and THEN post?
I agrre with a lot of those who posted earlier that Pert 2 is trash compared to Part 1...a real let down! 2.5 stars at best!
Set Bookmark
Peter
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

PS:
Archer can be pretty amoral when it suits him. Not good for a Star Trek captain.
Set Bookmark
Peter
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I was worried that clone would act according to his biological age rather than his chronological age ... and when the episode indeed went that route it lost all credibility for me. Memory from DNA or super fast learning? ABSURD!
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Thanks for your touching and considered comment Nolan, and all the best for your continued recovery. That's what's great about Star Trek - it'll always be there for you.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

As soon as Nerdy Nurse walked in the room, I could see where that scene was going.

All she needed was to have double D's, and a shirt unbuttoned halfway down.

Bow chicka bow bow
Set Bookmark
Nolan Campbell
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I just want to tell this community... I was in a motorcycle accident three weeks ago. In my recovery I’ve binge watched all of TNG and this far in DS9. After each episode I love reading this review and the comments. I have so much respect for the cordial discourse and dialogue that occurs here. Sometimes people don’t agree, but they don’t resort to ad hominem assault. I find the discussions intellectually stimulating. Thanks for being here! Keep on Trekking!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Jammer, I have generally respected your viewpoint and refrained from calling you out when I have disagreed, but your reviews of the new SW movies seem... unbalanced. 3.5 stars for this drek? Really?

I finally got around to watching this on Netflix and it was as bad as everyone said. I mean there was an entire section of the movie that was utterly pointless. I can only describe it as a level from a video game. That's what it was. And in the end it came to... nothing.

I can say more about the movie, but I just can't bring myself to believe that you believe this is a 3.5 star movie. I have never before felt this way.
Set Bookmark
Prince of Space
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

All I can say is... I hope Jammer gets full credit for having managed the website that solved the Jewish-Palestinian issue.

Set Bookmark
Joshua
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

I don't really understand all of the complaints I see here about Bashir 'easily' being able to cure the effects of the Harvesters. The guy literally spent nearly 400 attempts to neutralize the weapon and succeeded. I don't really see how it's impossible that, in knowing how to neutralize them from the experiments, he could cure it as easily as a flu. It's like knowing exactly how to cure a disease, and the Harvesters are chalked up as another one.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

This episode made me realize how much annoying Beltran's voice is..
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I actually was okay with this one at least in the second half.

Threshold just made me laugh: Paris and Janeway have lizard babies will forever be a bad joke in my house.

This one at least attempted some meaning and made some sense. I appreciated the ending and the moment Archer finds the ruins was played well.

Not the best episode but certainly not the worst
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

@ NCC-1701-Z

I like it! Sounds like a better Voyager!

You know, I had actually thought of setting half a season or a whole season there myself. Another thing I had thought about but didn't put in my post:

I think once the Federation/Klingon/Romulan dynamic had been set up, I'd eventually want a more alien threat, and I actually thought of the Kelvans from Andromeda as a possibility -- along with introducing race that built the Doomsday machine.

Thanks for your reply!
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

And another episode where a character evades voyager's laughable security protocols.

In a way, I'm glad there wasn't an eighth season, so I could be spared the episode where Naomi Wildeman takes over the ship, leaving Tuvok stunned and confused.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Trigollius - fun idea about the origin of the Borg. Maybe Alice and the Borg area related in the same way Tosk and Jem Hadar are related in DS9.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

This is one of those episodes that leave me puzzled about where the high ratings are coming from.

Fajo's over-the-top cartoon behaviour is something I expect in a SpongeBob episode and don't appreciate in Star Trek. That he turns out to be pretty evil doesn't change anything, I don't understand why that would make everything different.

How Varria quickly reveals to Data that Fajo once severely punished her for disloyalty is just too cheap and convenient for decent story development.

Also, we're back to TOS style costume/effects work. That guy who Fajo shows Data just looks stupid, as does that last-of-its-kind space lizard insect whatever thing.

Then of course Picard and Data acting out of character. Picard is bemusingly insistent on leaving it all behind and not wasting more time investigating the incident, and Data of course attempting to murder an unarmed man (and then lying about it).

Now I'm all for learning a different side to characters if it's well told and to some extent understandable. Here it's just random, implausible, unexplained, and forgotten afterwards in best VOY fashion (like Janeway's attempt to murder a prisoner). Apparently this was the writer's first Star Trek story, maybe that's why she messed with well-established characters.

And finally, reading one sentence of Shakespeare doesn't make your show smart. But to be fair, that's a general issue in Star Trek, and TNG in particular.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

'Borg Multiple Personality Disorder' would have worked better as a well-thought-out multi-episode story arc. But that's not how most television worked at the time.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Grumpy_otter - great review. I think this was a 'high-concept' episode that was written as a rush-job, and that's why there were all the plot holes and gimmicks mentioned in the previous reviews. I would add to plot holes that Naomi should have immediately known something was wrong with Seven, not spent an hour with her playing a game. I'll bet Jeri Ryan relished the range the episode offered, and I"ll bet she enjoyed playing the Ferengi most.
Set Bookmark
kyle
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

The problem that makes this episode well intentioned but lame in execution is that the writers have confused sex with gender. Sex/sex organs are biological. Presumably the Jnaii are hemaphrodites and have none? Or do they have both male and female sex organs? The writers don't explain that. Gender is the cultural roles, behaviors, social norms and expectations that are attached to biological, sexual differences that make us male or female. You can be biologically male but choose the female gender. You can then change your biology to match your chosen gender. Another problem is that the episode doesn;t acknowlege any of that in our history. Like this is the first time this type of species or problem has ever been encountered. Last problem: Riker would risk his carreer and fall madly in love with a person he only met three days ago? Yeah right.
Set Bookmark
Prince of Space
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

So many of these comments are hilarious. People all excited to point out an inconsistency or a bad plot-point.

Woo hoo! You did it! haha

I mean, don’t get me wrong... I can be as anal-retentive OCD as the best of you. I guess I just know when it’s worth it to be. ;-)

An enjoyable episode. Interesting, some action, some thought-provoking elements. Certainly far better than watching paint....... er, most of your all’s comments dry. haha
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Not consequential or qwirky enough to like or hate. Just a meh episode to be quickly forgotten. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

I'm sure Merkel could arrange it.
Set Bookmark
PicardsMightyBaldHead
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

You need to come to Sweden, DLPB. We are very liberal and our progressive and labor movements managed to fight for about half a year paternity leave for men, and the labor movements won this in the 1970s before this was even an issue on the radars of most other nations (I think Clinton won this for you in America, after decades of the Republicans shooting it down). We also have the most generous parental leave packages (currently 480 tax-funded days to share between a couple) and heavily subsidized day care in the world.

Sweden is very dark, especially in winter, and this leads to lots of suicide, so we do lots of studies on it (we are now lower than the European average though). One science report (the abstract quoted here) on this I found fascinating: "Women are twice as likely as men to experience major depression, yet women are one fourth as likely as men to take their own lives. Men have been socialized to value independence and decisiveness, and they regard acknowledging a need for help as weakness and avoid it. Women, in contrast, value interdependence, and they consult friends and readily accept help. Women consider decisions in a relationship context, taking many things into consideration, and they feel freer to change their minds. It has been found that women derive strength and protection from suicide by virtue of specific differences from men. Factors that protect women from suicide are opposite to vulnerability factors in men."

In other words, the very gendered notions of rugged individualism and stoic masculinity inculcated in males is leading to higher susceptibility to suicide. Some studies showed that simply talking about feelings had a bigger effect on countering male suicide than implementing lots and lots of sun lamps (because of the darkness in winter months).
Set Bookmark
PreppieYeti
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

It's a Viet Nam allegory.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Good episode. Nitpick that isn’t important to the story but that moon seemed awfully close to the planet with the facility. Could it maintain a stable orbit? What about tides? While minor Star Trek could make itself that much more close to being mostly sci rather than fi by paying more attention to such details.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,068
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.