Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Enterprise

"These Are the Voyages..."

**

Air date: 5/13/2005
Written by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga
Directed by Allan Kroeker

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"Computer, end program." — Star Trek: Enterprise signing off with a stunning anticlimax

In brief: Some individual moments are good, but overall it's an unsatisfactory way to "wrap up" this series.

One of the interesting things about Star Trek after 39 years is how the library and time settings have grown so expansive, and yet so familiar, that storylines can drop us into the middle of wherever (and whenever) and we instantly recognize where (and when) we are. We don't bat an eye, because we realize that, hey, here we are in TNG's seventh-season episode "The Pegasus," which happened 11 years ago and now is happening again (for us, anyway). In Star Trek, it's almost a natural occurrence. Timelines don't matter for the audience because Star Trek, at this point, is happening simultaneously in all forms at all times, as a part of the imagination.

"These Are the Voyages" knows this about Star Trek, and that's somehow comforting. Flashback, flash-forward, whatever you want to call it: In this universe it's a perfectly appropriate approach that allows for an unusual way of telling a story. And, more than that, it demonstrates how Star Trek itself has transcended its own mythos and exists as a larger-than-life milieu, TV ratings and box-office sales notwithstanding.

On any other day, that would be what we might see is being demonstrated here. On this particular day, however — on which Star Trek: Enterprise is airing its final episode and the franchise itself is going away for the first time since TNG started 18 years ago — I'm not so sure it works. Check that; I know it doesn't work — not as presented. What I don't know is whether it could've worked given better execution. I suspect it maybe could've.

The central conceit of "These Are the Voyages" is that it's actually framed as a TNG episode (I'm tempted to call it "Pegasus 1.5") in which Commander Riker looks at a holodeck program depicting the crew of the NX-01 on their final mission before the signing of the charter that will eventually form the United Federation of Planets.

The central problem with "These Are the Voyages" is that, really, this doesn't make any emotional sense as a series finale for Enterprise. Riker looks at events in order to gain insight about himself (a recommendation from Counselor Troi), and to decide what to do about the central dilemma he faced/faces in "The Pegasus." In short, he's using the NX-01 crew as a tool to resolve a personal conflict. Wouldn't it have been better for this premise to simply look back at the NX-01 crew to study it as history, as a turning point in human society? By making the show about Riker's personal problem, the show painfully short-changes the historical context of the NX-01 crew. Granted, the historical context is a focus in the episode, but it really doesn't have much to do with William Riker (or vice versa).

I guess it's just as well that Enterprise was canceled, because by the looks of things from what this episode tells us — which takes place six years after the events of "Terra Prime" — nothing of any significance would've have happened in the course of the next six hypothetical seasons of this series. The members of the Enterprise crew are not going to change. Not. One. Single. Bit. Hell, they don't even look any older. Forget six years; this episode might as well take place six weeks after "Terra Prime."

Quite frankly, that's depressing. If the narrative is going to move forward several years into the future, couldn't it at least show that the characters have changed ... even a little? TNG's finale, "All Good Things," and Voyager's finale, "Endgame," both showed hypothetical futures in which characters had moved on to new things. But here, Sato is still a communications officer, Mayweather is still a helmsman (both are apparently still ensigns, which is just ridiculous), Trip is still the chief engineer, and so on. Everyone is exactly where they were six years earlier, and there isn't even so much as a hint that they've advanced during that time.

What about Mayweather's talk in "Demons" about reconsidering his personal options and possibly moving back to Earth? I guess it was just that — talk. And what about Trip and T'Pol, who went through the agonizing loss of their child in "Terra Prime"? You might think that their relationship would've evolved after such an emotional turning point. But from the looks of things, they've soldiered on in neutrality for the last six years ... until the prospect of the crew now about to split up forces them to take stock of their relationship one last time. One would hope that they haven't been spending the last six years playing Will They or Won't They. If they have, we can at least be glad we didn't have to watch it.

And yet the framing device of TNG is somehow comforting. I grew up on TNG and will always have a soft spot for it, and there's something reassuring about the idea of future generations looking back upon the past. Several sets from TNG have been reproduced for a number of scenes aboard the Enterprise-D, much the way the TOS sets were reproduced for "In a Mirror, Darkly." The emotional nostalgia is present and accounted for. There's also a new CG version of the Enterprise-D that looks great.

But there's a built-in problem with the use of flashback for the storytelling, which is that the scenes don't gain any momentum. Every time we start getting into the scenes involving the NX-01, Riker pauses the program, or fast-forwards to later in the day, or inserts himself into the story, until we're all too aware that he's literally driving the narrative and that none of these events are actually happening, except in a holodeck.

There's also the bigger problem of the historical record, which is to say, most of this shouldn't even exist on record. There are private conversations here that couldn't be a part of any record, unless they were reproduced from published memoirs or extrapolated from someone's subjective interpretation. There can be no objective truth in a recording like this — at least as far as private conversations go — and we begin to realize that we must be watching the 24th-century equivalent of a made-for-TV movie in which the narrative is "based on a true story." After getting over the initial gee-whiz effect of TNG settings, the holodeck framing device gradually becomes a distraction and a big liability for the events being depicted.

The final mission of the Enterprise before it returns to Earth to sign the charter is less than enthralling. It involves Shran coming to Archer and asking for help (Archer, of course, owes him) to rescue his kidnapped daughter from some aliens whom he'd had some vague dealings with. They want something that might best be described as this week's MacGuffin, because it certainly has no more relevance than that. This leads to some typically generic action scenes with a less-than-epic scope, hardly befitting a series finale. It's perhaps ironic that Shran is the only character in the story to have changed in any significant way in six years (he has a family), while the human characters have apparently all become mechanical slaves to their jobs.

Foreshadowing alert: Troi in the holodeck mentions how Trip doesn't know he won't return from this mission. Trip sacrifices himself in the course of the episode to save Archer. It might be called a heroic sacrifice, if not for the sheer incompetence of how it's depicted. First there's the whole silliness of how the aliens so swiftly get aboard the Enterprise after we've already been told the Enterprise is safe. Then there's the way the hostage situation actually plays out — underwritten and overplayed — with Trip flipping out, knocking Archer down, and then leading the aliens to a panel where he pulls out a cable and blows himself up along with the bad guys.

This is painfully contrived and poorly, ham-handedly executed. It's exactly as if Trip had said to himself, "Well, this is where I've been preordained by an already-written history to sacrifice myself, so let's git 'er done!" How many times have we seen exactly this sort of crisis situation play out, where the Enterprise crew is always able to figure out how to cleverly escape — but not this time, simply because the plot demands that Trip die. This is not a satisfying death scene for a major character by any stretch of the imagination. It borders on goofy.

Similarly, the all-too-muted reaction to Trip's demise is puzzling. Archer consoles T'Pol, but the episode never stops to think that maybe it should be the other way around, considering how Archer has been best friends with Trip for countless years and T'Pol is, well, a Vulcan. There's no funeral, no service, nothing — at least, not on-camera. Perhaps funerals, services, etc., have been done to death and are seen as cliche, but you simply can't purport a heroic death of a major character and then not deal with it.

All that said, the level of downright hate for this episode is strangely fascinating. Jolene Blalock famously called it "appalling" in an interview, and fans denounced it on the Internet as an unmitigated travesty — sight unseen — weeks before it even aired.

Personally, I find the vitriolic bile leveled at this episode (and the vilification of Berman and Braga in particular) from the Internet Trek community to be somewhat over-the-top. Judging by comments I've seen on message boards, you'd think Berman and Braga had strolled into a hospital nursery and murdered a room full of newborn babies. No, this episode does not work, but is it the worst episode of Enterprise ever made? Worse than "Precious Cargo" or "Bound" or "A Night in Sickbay" or a dozen others? Hardly. This isn't even the worst episode this season. It's a mediocre show with some highlights and lowlights. The episode itself probably would've fared better had the concept not unfortunately also served as the series finale.

What's kind of sad is that the episode is actually, genuinely well-intended. It has general ideas and sentiments and historical perspectives that are in the true spirit of Star Trek. It's just that the generalities are not adequately developed as specific ideas for the Enterprise characters, and the show ultimately comes across as an ill-executed, ponderous, miscalculated melding of two Trek series, neither of which comes into real focus. Like much of Enterprise as a series, it doesn't stop and ask: Who are these people, exactly? What do they want out of life? What makes them tick? Perhaps it's not about the individuals but about the state of the Federation — but even then, I was left confused because this story seems to make a distinction between the alliance being formed here and what will ultimately become the Federation. My thinking is, if we're going to fast-forward six years, why aren't we seeing the actual Federation charter being signed? Perhaps I'm confused.

And perhaps that confusion is justified. The whole episode builds up to a speech that Archer is scheduled to deliver, and just as he's walking out to deliver it, Riker interrupts with, "Computer, end program." The sound you heard immediately after that line was fans across the country throwing objects at their television sets. Perhaps ending two episodes in a row with a speech by Archer would not have been ideal, but the anticlimax of ending the story before the would-be dramatic payoff is just flat-out wrong.

As a final act of redemption, "These Are the Voyages" does get the last 30 seconds right, with a series-melding montage that blends TNG, TOS, and Enterprise, with three captains speaking the famous Star Trek mantra. It's the right note for an episode that contains a number of wrong ones.

And that's how Trek comes to an end after a run of 18 consecutive years — with a somewhat ponderous whimper that still manages to show its self-affection. Maybe too much misdirected affection for TNG. And not enough for the characters we've been watching for the past four seasons.

Previous episode: Terra Prime

End-of-season article: Fourth Season Recap

Season Index

61 comments on this review

Daniel Williams - Sat, Sep 29, 2007 - 12:04pm (USA Central)
I just read the Enterprise novel "The Good Men That Do". Basically it goes over the real events of what happened and that this depiction of history was a Section 31 cover up, which for me makes this episode more watchable.

It gives Trip a much more heroic send off and what's even better he doesn't kick the bucket.
Adam - Wed, Nov 21, 2007 - 6:08pm (USA Central)
It was just a total mess. Why bring back two TNG characters? Why kill off Trip? Why set it years after the previous episode? The blame lies in the people who wrote the episode and responsible for ENT's failure in the first place. Braga and Berman did a lot of good for ST but by the time VOY ended it was time for them to move on and bring in new blood for a new age of sci fi. They refused and the rest is history. Most of ENT doesn't hold up well to the current sci fi gold on TV these days. Unsuprisingly DS9 is just as strong as it was 10 years ago. You can see its influence over everything. And guess what? Neither Braga or Berman (he just paid the checks) had anything to do with it.
Matthew - Thu, Jan 10, 2008 - 12:08pm (USA Central)
I always prefer to think of this episode as a "dream in a shower", because it so rampantly destroys all the good will that seasons 3 and 4 had built up towards Enterprise. More especially, it came straight after a much more appropriate ending in "Terra Prime", which, whilst not a superlative episode in itself, at least managed to treat the characters with respect and give them a hopeful and proper ending. This episode just shits all over that. I think maybe the worst idea is that the absolute nothingness that happens to the characters during 6 whole years. It is so out of step with the realistic 'people' that the last couple of seasons had built up, that it really always feels like it was just tacked on by a completely separate writing team.

Zero stars from me, solely for those reasons.
Stef - Fri, Feb 15, 2008 - 3:15am (USA Central)
Well, I finally made it through Enterprise. And this was my reward.

I couldn't quite believe what I was watching. Mayweather is more Harry Kim than even Harry Kim was. Still and ENSIGN after 10 YEARS?

I assumed that Trip's overacting in his final scene, and that apparent ease of the aliens boarding Enterprise where down to the holodeck trying to piece things together the best it could (not even the writers of the show could expect us to accept all this at face value could they?)

I had to take it all as historical mistakes (similar to Living Witness from Voyager)

What exactly did the cast of Enterprise do to deserve this finale?

Is it only me that thinks Riker and Troi should have been filmed from the neck up and not full body shots? And even then they should have used soft focus. Neither of them aged well. I also found the 'fake' Picard in Ten-Forward far too cheesy (Well, the back of his head anyway).

Even 'The Sisko' had a better death then 'The Trip'

"At least it wasn't 'Bound'" is about the best thing I can say about this episode.
Kyle - Tue, Jun 24, 2008 - 11:25pm (USA Central)
I would have given this episode Zero stars. You were far more charitable than I would have been. This was NO way to end 18 years straight of Trek on TV. Totally unacceptable. And just when Enterprise was starting to get compelling too.
Dan - Tue, Jul 22, 2008 - 7:49am (USA Central)
A wasted opportunity.
robgnow - Wed, Jul 23, 2008 - 8:58pm (USA Central)
I have to agree with the general consensus and disagree with the 2-stars given. This episode had nothing to do with the Enterprise crew and everything to do with Riker... a slap in the face to the actors of Enterprise. All of the weaknesses and ridiculousness has already been pointed out above, so I won't rehash them, but I felt NOTHING over Trip's demise, except glad for Mayweather (maybe he'll be able to pilot the shuttle more) and Reed (maybe he'll be able to get in on future heroics for a change). Trip was completely over-used throughout the series doing things that had nothing to do with engineering (it was like Geordy performing Data and Worf's jobs in every other script). This is nothing against Trineer as an actor because I liked him immensely, but he was given too much screen time in nearly every episode, leaving Hoshi, Reed and poor Mayweather with little to do.
I'd give this one a half of one star. It wasn't an episode of Enterprise... it was a belated episode of TNG. I feel insulted on behalf of the Enterprise cast.
Vylora - Thu, Oct 16, 2008 - 2:22am (USA Central)
I'd have to agree with the consensus on this as well. This is a slap in the face especially to everyone who has been with Trek for so long. (I personally have seen every episode of every series over my lifetime.) To end 18 years of consecutive mainly very good programming with TNG masquerading as ENT is like handing someone dog sh*t after saying it's caviar.

However I DID see some of the good intentions you pointed out Jammer and I agree with the vast majority of your reviews but I can't go above one star on this one. I just can't.

It's just sad that Star Trek had to end this way especially after the major improvement in the 3rd season (minus the Temporal Cold War) and the bile that Voyager pumped out in 60% of it's episodes (though the high points of Voyager were so good that it left me scratching my head wondering why they couldn't keep it up).

Maybe if they took the phenomenal storytelling of DS9 and Ron Moore's BSG and applied it to Enterprise and even Voyager Star Trek might still be alive today as a series. In fact I guarantee that if Ron Moore had full reigns on Enterprise it'd be a far superior show than what Berman, Braga, and Coto produced.

I'd say as a series whole I'd rate them like this:

BSG - *****
- only show I've ever seen in my life with only a few mediocre eps and absolutely ZERO flops - show isn't over yet but continues to impress me - halfway through 4th and final season - definitely onboard for Caprica series

DS9 - *****
- a few flops along the way but an outstanding series that challenged everything Star Trek but yet remained more true to Star Trek than any other series - should have gone for at least one more season - also best series finale ever

TNG - ****
- four stars being generous given that the first 2 and a half seasons really sucked but once it improved it improved drastically - had my favorite overall crew out of all series save for maybe DS9 - series finale outstanding - disappointed that TNG movies were never good except First Contact though Insurrection was entertaining

TOS - ***
- got to hand it to TOS the start of it all - still amazed at how good a lot of the stories are in these episodes but unfortunately their were a lot of bad ones as well - didn't have a true series finale - had some of the best Star Trek movies ever and then there's the one I won't mention...

VOY - **1/2
- very disappointed in this series for it could have been so much more - could've had story arcs right at the beginning dealing with integration of Maquis into the ranks that would have made great storytelling - as earlier stated the high points of the series were so good, I mean SO good, that I was completely confused why there was so much crap - series finale was entertaining (albeit filled with wormholes...sorry...plot holes) but ultimately a major letdown

ENT - **1/2
- ah Enterprise the show that could have been - I was actually quite impressed with the season opener then it kinda was bland throughout the whole run with it's share of low points (a lot) and high points (not enough) - parts of season 2 and a lot of season 3 was the only thing that kept me going - season 4 dropped the ball with only 3 episodes that I truly liked a lot and was kind of glad it was cancelled - worst series finale ever

My rant is over. kthxbai
Larc Dalextrex - Mon, Dec 29, 2008 - 3:02am (USA Central)
..There was a time, in the very beginning, where Stark Trek was about ideas.Thoes ideas were fresh and original, at that time... TOS
...So Trek ends with a wimper, as Enterprise
caters to fanboy wimperings of mere continuity,and posturing bravado...
An era is truly over...
ZZ in WY - Wed, Dec 31, 2008 - 4:11am (USA Central)
Let us hope ST has a new beginning w/ XI
Billy Ainsley - Thu, Jan 15, 2009 - 3:00pm (USA Central)
I live in hope that startrek is reserrected by paramount with a complete new series
Jammer - Thu, Jan 15, 2009 - 3:18pm (USA Central)
^ They are. It's called rebooting the original series as a film franchise. (I guess in regard to your hope, though, that's not what's happening.)
Dan L. - Thu, Jan 29, 2009 - 12:45am (USA Central)
The reboot definitely worked for the Batman franchise (Academy Award snubs notwithstanding); seems to have worked with James Bond (Casino Royale was one of the best action films of the decade, and Quantum of Solace has its defenders, although I am not one of them); and may have worked with Superman (Superman Returns was a decent movie that had the misfortune of only making $200 million in North America and $200 million in the rest of the world. Its costs were rumored to be as high as $270 million, though, so in Hollywood terms, it was considered a financial flop, and there may be no sequel).

No one would argue with respect to any of these three series, though, that the reboot effort was a resounding failure. As the concept of "reboots" is gaining hold (and favor) in our moviegoing consciousness, it would look all the more disappointing were the Star Trek reboot to fail. Star Trek has been unofficially rebooted more times than Billy Martin was fired by George Steinbrenner - most successfully in 1982 and 1987, and kind of in 1992 when DSN launched. Ub But since then, it's been more booted around than successfully "rebooted," as the Next Generation films failed to improve creatively and as Enterprise failed to stanch the decline in the quality of Star Trek television that started with Voyager. This is one of those moments - there were really only three others - 1979, 1982, and 1987, where it is do or die, and if this latest effort falls down, Star Trek may not be able to get up again. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. In earnest.
Straha - Fri, Feb 13, 2009 - 5:32pm (USA Central)
Bit strange. Because of all the bad press "These are the voyages" got, I avoided watching it until just now.
The effect was that while I surely do agree with all the points of critique posted here, I in fact didn't find the episode half as bas as I *expected* it to be. Maybe if it isn't seen as "the episode that ended Enterprise" or "the episode that ended 18 years of continuous Treck", Jammer's two points go ok.
Stefan - Wed, Mar 18, 2009 - 10:17pm (USA Central)
I don't consider this to be an ENT episode. Instead, I consider this to be an addendum to the TNG episode Pegasus. The episode was about how Commander Riker used one of the Enterprise-D's holodecks to reach his decision to reveal the truth to Captain Picard in that TNG episode.

This was a tremendous insult to the ENT cast. Why not simply have a series finale which dealt solely with the ENT cast? What the reasoning for bootstrapping this episode to TNG? The best thing to do to honor the ENT cast is to treat Terra Prime as the series finale of ENT and treat this insult as an addendum to Pegasus.
Chris H - Tue, Mar 31, 2009 - 12:03am (USA Central)
I understand what they were trying to do. They knew it was the absolute end of 18 years of star trek, and wanted to say goodbye to the franchise. But they messed it up so badly. They should of made an episode set in normal space and time, and like terra prime..sort of pointing to it being an integral moment. Or made a super two parter, like All good things. The fact is, viewers saw this simply as an series finale not a franchise finale so it just looked insulting and cheesy.
navamske - Tue, Sep 15, 2009 - 7:16pm (USA Central)
Chris H. wrote: "I understand what they were trying to do. They knew it was the absolute end of 18 years of star trek, and wanted to say goodbye to the franchise."

I think that's only part of it. By creating this prequel, they were canonically putting the adventures of Captain Archer and the NX-01 in the past of Captains Kirk, Picard, Sisko, and Janeway (i.e., retconning). But none of those captains ever mentioned Jonathan Archer or the NX-01, for the obvious reason that from a real-world standpoint, they hadn't been created yet. Nemesis had sucked and there probably wasn't going to be another TNG movie, and no one knew in what form Star Trek would return when it finally did. I think Berman and Braga, before Star Trek The TV Franchise ended, wanted to canonically place Archer & Co. in the other Star Treks' past. Well, not canonically, because the events of "Enterprise" were always canon -- more like "dramatically."

I believe they thought we fans would appreciate this, hence their saying the final episode was a "valentine" to the fans.
Derek - Thu, Oct 1, 2009 - 9:59am (USA Central)
It's a pretty cool idea had it not served as the series finale, as I think Jammer noted. But why oh why oh WHY they decided to stick it into "Pegasus" is way beyond me. I didn't buy Frakes and Sirtis as their 7th season selves anymore than they seemed to...the only thing that worked was the new Ent-D shots and Spiner's voiceover cameo. Given the fact that the actors have aged beyond the realm of convincing us we're in 1994, they should have set it on the Titan or something. But even then, all the stupid things like No One Changes on the NX-01 and Trip's silly death wouldn't be fixed. Oh well, a huge missed opportunity on more than one level, although I think 2 stars is a fair grade for it.
Ken Egervari - Tue, Feb 16, 2010 - 4:03am (USA Central)
This episode was horrible.

The only nice thing about this episode is that we got to see high-def recreation of the TNG sets.

I agree that this finale doesn't do the crew, the arcs or anything justice. Of course, it's written by B&B... so why would they care about all the hard work that Coto and company did throughout the final season?

Coto really did have changes to put in play in season 5 (if they kept going). There would have been changes, but we simply didn't see it. B&B just don't care, so we get a horrible story that is totally irrelevant and doesn't tell us anything about the characters. The whole affair just doesn't matter.

1 star, if that.
Paul - Tue, Feb 16, 2010 - 3:34pm (USA Central)
I agree that the episode was a huge disappointment. One thing that really bothered me, though, was the fact that the timing of events in this ep doesn't work with "Pegasus." Riker wouldn't have had time to spend hours in the holodeck during the actual mission.

Also, the whole point of "These are the Voyages" was that Riker decided to come clean because of his talk with Trip. But, really, it seemed like Riker decided to come clean once he and Pressman walked around the Pegasus engine room and saw dead bodies -- at least, that's how it comes across in the TNG episode.

Enterprise was such an odd series overall -- horrible for most of season one and most of season two, very good in season three and decent in season four.

Jeff O'Connor - Thu, Oct 21, 2010 - 11:20am (USA Central)
I think the two stars Jammer gave this episode are a bit more credible than most of you think. It's my understanding (and I could be mistaken) that he tends to review episodes primarily on their own merits.

There's a higher probability he'd have given this zero stars if he were reviewing it as a 'franchise finale', but he wasn't.
RussS - Wed, Nov 17, 2010 - 7:39am (USA Central)
I'll be honest.

The thing that bothered me most was that Trip and T'Pol didn't live happily ever after, with a baby. Everything else I can accept - the disrespect of the last episode, the dumb focus on Riker finding his inner child, even the appalingly low quality of the first two seasons.

But Trip should have lived. And he and T'Pol should have raised the baby.

Terribly unsatisfying.
Carbetarian - Sun, Jan 9, 2011 - 5:44am (USA Central)
Good lord, this episode is just awful! From start to finish, this episode is a total insult to everyone who stuck this show out for all four seasons.

Here's what sucked the most:

• tacking on a TNG episode. Really? I see the good intentions here that Jammer mentioned, and I get what they were going for. But, that doesn't make it right. Making the last voyage of the Enterprise a holodeck adventure to help Riker with his personal issues was a completely insulting way to end this series.

• No one has made any progress in six years. Totally ridiculous.

• Trip and T'Pol did not get back together after Terra Prime. I find this terribly disappointing. In fact, it would seem they haven't grown at all, despite going through the terrible loss of a child together. That part is a huge let down.

• Why was Shran behaving like a criminal? I thought his entire role in this episode was completely out of character. Shran may be a hot head, but he has always maintained a certain level of integrity. Also, I don't think he'd be dumb enough to get involved in something like what they were showing accidentally. The whole thing really made no sense, and it was a really poorly written last appearance for Shran, a character I really enjoyed otherwise.

• Trip dies a totally pointless death. Not only that, he dies an over the top, ridiculously staged, pointless death. Literally everything that could have been wrong with Trip's death sequence was. The whole thing was a travesty. Plus, I liked Trip. I was sad to see them treat his character this way.

• Everyone in this episode acted like a cartoon character. God, it was just horrifically bad.

• We don't get to see Archer's speech.

• The tacky end sequence was totally lame.

• this episode crapped all over the progress this show made in the last season and a half and reminded me of just how unbearably awful the first two seasons were.

Were this episode just another random episode of Enterprise, I might be able to scrape together one star for this mess. But, as a series finale? No. This gets a big, fat zero from me.
Eric Dugdale - Sat, Jul 23, 2011 - 9:18pm (USA Central)
I agree with Jammer's assessment of this episode: It doesn't work.

Having said that, the decision to make Riker "Chef" was brilliant.
Jeremy Short - Sun, Aug 21, 2011 - 3:25pm (USA Central)
The episode definitely had it's problems, the largest ones being, nobody on ENT changed in 6 years, Sirtis and Frakes are just too darn old to play season 7 Troi and Riker, and Trip's death was kinda hokey. Otherwise, I see where they were going, and I don't see this episode as being as abysmal as everyone says it is. It's not great, but not the piece of targ dung that fans keep labeling it.
As far as the accuracy of the holodeck recreation, I kinda took it to be a magical tv story-telling thing that what we, the audience, were seeing was what actually what happened (outside of the Riker-as-Chef scenes, which obviously didn't happen)
Nathan - Mon, Nov 28, 2011 - 3:58am (USA Central)
I didn't mind it. It's certainly not great, but it at least kept my interest, unlike probably half of Enterprise.
chris - Wed, Nov 30, 2011 - 8:09am (USA Central)
I just watched the first minutes of this episode.

When Riker came up with "computer freeze program", all the ENT cast looked like "children" in front of him... God, I miss TNG so much!
Steve - Sun, Apr 1, 2012 - 3:36am (USA Central)
What a depressing end to the series. First the baby dies for no good reason, and now Trip does.

I thought Trek was supposed to be uplifting and give us hope for the future? Sounds like Trip wouldn't agree.
Latex Zebra - Tue, Apr 3, 2012 - 12:59pm (USA Central)
Did make a comment many moons back as Dan...
My main irk for me is Trip's death. I don't understand this need to kill of a character for the sake of it. Did nothing for the story, wastes all the character progression made over the years.
I don't mind the idea of the looking back on the Holodeck, even though it screams 'LOOK AT ME, I'M IN A TNG EPISODE!' and seems a desperate ploy to convince fans that despite never being mentioned that in any other episode of Trek that Archer and his crew are pivitol to the Trekverse.
Shame, the new movie did a better job of that with a throwaway bit of humour.
Milica - Sat, Jul 7, 2012 - 5:15am (USA Central)
As far as Im concerned, this episode does not exist. After killing the baby (totally pointless), there is another, even more pointless, death. Everything appears to have been in vain - noone has advanced, interstellar love did not triumph, we didnt even hear the famous Archer's speech.
Wrapping it in a TNG episide was clever, but this should have been done in another episode, not the finale!
And I hate does holodeck programmes, with all those elaborate information and character profiles that seem to predict what each person would say and do better than a real person would know.
I really do not understand the rating you give to DS9 - for me, this was by far the worst.
Moegreen - Thu, Aug 30, 2012 - 6:30pm (USA Central)
Troi and Riker (especially Riker) out of character. Not only his obvious physical middle-agedness but the contentedness and almost smugness that can come to some people of that age, like nothing matters as much anymore, angst is a folly of youth etc. Nothing like the Riker of the original 'Pegasus' episode. That was one of the most jarring things for me. It was all a game to him in 'Voyages'. He couldn't even take his own supposed big problem seriously; that Picard had literally threatened to kick him off the ship. Very lazy effort by Frakes in particular, he just came across like a bland goober.
Vylora - Mon, Sep 3, 2012 - 10:34pm (USA Central)
Ugh. I just watched this ep again and, though I stand by my above statement, I do see some more of what they tried to portray. Still bitter though. Just sad they ended it this way.
Zane314 - Mon, Sep 17, 2012 - 10:13pm (USA Central)
Ok, I’m watching the finale out of order since I’ve heard it’s such a stinker. I just finished the Xindi and Temporal Cold War archs with s4e02. Now for the finale!!

First off, 4 stars for Hoshi’s hair! It looks great out of the pony tail and with that sporty half-bang on the right side, very cool. Impractical? Sure but who cares. Don’t know if this is her hair dew in other season 4 episodes or if it’s a “six years in the future” hair cut.

Secondly, for a non-fan of T’Pol I really liked her interaction with Archer before he made the speech. I wish B&B wrote her less woodenly like this, especially during s1 and s2. Unfortunately for this epi, it’s all downhill from here.

I’m a ginormous Jeffery Combs fan and I was determined to watch all his parts and skip the Riker/Troi silliness. But the NG folks kept getting in the scenes, sitting or standing watching, and saying “computer, freeze program.” Nuts. It was awful. About 40% through I had to start skipping looking for Hoshi and Phlox scenes. I found some! But it was with a super-sized Riker in the kitchen (not a surprise) so I had to watch muted. I also watched the amazingly stupid Trip death scene. It could have been worse I guess. Tasha’s death scene was dumb but I think she brought that on herself with contract demands and/or wanting to leave. Why not just critically injure Trip, have Phlox save him with weird creature X from planet Y, and then have a moving scene with T’Pol in sick bay sharing a moment with him, maybe committing? Naw, just have Trip die. No time for that other stuff since Riker/Troi need screen time. I’m glad I didn’t see the bit about their baby dying. I’m just going to pretend that (and this whole episode) didn’t happen.

While I understand the idea of tying up the whole series, it’s still a bad idea. We had to go through 4 years of ENT ups and downs so the finale should be set in that context and with those characters. I don’t even remember the NG episode Pegasus! To me, that’s a Battlestar, not a Trek episode and I watched NG several times albeit years ago. I’ve moved on through DS9, VOY, and now ENT. Why try to pull the NG cast and story into the finale of ENT? And they did a bad job at it! I think ENT deserved a full, proper finale with no cast from other shows. Afterward, a 2 hour clip show hosted by all of the captains would have been awesome. By combining a series finale with a TV franchise wrap up all in 43 minutes, they ended up doing a bad job at both.

To sum up: I’m very glad I watched the finale between s4e02 and s4e03. It reminds me of watching BSG’s The Plan just after No Exit and not after the finale Daybreak - you just don’t want to end on The Plan. And I think I’ll be much happier not ending Enterprise on These Are the Voyages.

1 star because Hoshi's hair looked great and Combs was fantastic in other episodes.
Tiarfe - Sat, Nov 3, 2012 - 8:19am (USA Central)
I think everything has been said that I was thinking about this ending.

It left me feeling sad in more ways than one but mostly for the actors who were short changed by the writers.
Yanks - Thu, Dec 6, 2012 - 12:03pm (USA Central)
The bad:

I've never felt this way watching a TV show before. I got real upset, I actually left the room when it was over in anger. This was different than when our heroes didn't get home right after blowing up the weapon. This hurt.
#1. Troi and Riker are in Engineering and we hear Troi say: It's sad. Commander Tucker had no idea he wouldn't make it back. . Now WTF! If you are writing the last Star Trek episode EVER, and have planned out the death of a major cast member (one of the "big three" to boot), why on earth would you give it away to the fans there? I'll tell you why... a slap in the face, TNG's "better", that's why... It's hard to explain how mad I got when she said that.
#2. 6 years into the future and everyone is the same rank? WTF??
#3. The fact that Trip and T'Pol don't end up together. I was hoping when we were 6 years in the future that they had become married. It would have been nice to have the right closure to their relationship. All we get is T'POL: However long it may be, I believe I'm going to miss you.
#4. T'Pol's make up and hair. She just looked unhealthy and overdone. They had her looks right in season three. I'm not fond of her final "development". She had this issue for me during most of season four, but it's much worse in TATV.
#5. Trip's death. I'm mean really. We've fast forwarded 6 year's in the future and the crew that saved earth from the Xindi attack and survived countless other death defying situations can't detect and stop a couple bad guys from boarding? Where was everyone else? Conner's acting was very good once again, but for what? There they go putting Archer up on a pedestal again.
#6. Archer's speech to the Alliance. The entire series Daniel and company have gone out of their way to keep Archer alive, because HE is the ONLY ONE that can give birth to the Federation; his presence and speech are the bedrock to everything and what... we don't get to hear the speech? Big fat make up caked give the plot away Deanna (an alien) has to memorize this historic speech in grammar school and we don't get to hear it. Yanks blood is boiling here. What we should have seen is our heroes and Trip's parents sitting right up front when Archer gives his speech. A part of that scene, we should have seen T'Pol sitting next to Trip's mom and when Archer mentions the hardship/loss/dedication ... "how worthwhile it's all been." etc, Trip's mother could have taken T'Pol's hand... come on Berman...
#7. And of course, having the TNG characters close out "our" series. " Computer, end Program" was like a knife in the back.

The good:

#1. The whole holodeck idea wasn't a bad one. When Riker said "Computer, freeze programme" I actually liked it, along with Riker taking the place of chef and interacting with our crew. The whole premise doesn't fit with the Pegasus (TNG) episode though.
#2. I was glad they decided to include Shran in the final episode. I wasn't fond of Shran, a star ship captain in the Imperial Guard, being relegated to a runaway. I liked his daughter. I liked the way they told the story with the "objective mode" and Riker along for the ride.
#3. I enjoyed Riker's conversation with all our crew in the kitchen. Every one of them was nice.
#4. While Trips death was stupid, it gave us one of Enterprise's best scenes (in Trip's quarters) and probably Archer's best line.
T'POL: Trip told me as the years went by that I would miss her less. But he was wrong, because I find myself missing her more. Why would he tell me that?
ARCHER: Time heals all wounds, but absence makes the heart grow fonder. I guess it's a little tricky. Emotions have a way of contradicting themselves.
T'POL: And you wonder why we suppress them.
#5. While I don't believe T'Pol should have been where she was, when Archer stopped, came back down the stairs and gave T'Pol a hug Yanks got all choked up. Full swing of emotions in this one.
#6. The ending montage. Listening all three captains of the Star Ship Enterprise say their piece was very nice and touching. Very, very nice.
All in all a very selfish episode WRT Berman. It was obvious to me that this "Valentine to the Fans" was not written for the Enterprise fans, but to satisfy Berman's ego with regard to TNG. I felt left out of the end of Star Trek. I don't understand how Berman could give us so much great Trek throughout the years and then just cast off a group of fans. I guess that's what hurts so much about TATV. So Terra Prime and Archer's speech to the council is the finale for me.
Cloudane - Sun, Dec 23, 2012 - 2:04pm (USA Central)
So here we are. Cut short once again - just like there was no watching Voyager come home, there was no listening to the speech that ultimately gives birth to the Federation. In internet terminology, "we were trolled" - heck, I half expected Riker to turn around after "End Program" and have 4chan's "trollface" grin photoshopped on. Grr.

Sad at the needless killing-off of Trip, and a bit annoyed also that Troi slipped in a spoiler as a way of revealing it. As someone mentioned, Star Trek was about hope for the future. Kind of fizzled out by this point. Back to ponies for my feelgoods I guess...

So yeah, plenty of gripes. However, no, I don't think it's the most terrible thing created. It was a 2 star episode, I can agree with that, I would've liked a much warmer and more positively emotional end to the series and to Trek-as-we-knew-it, but it wasn't terrible. It just deserved better.

Mixing in TNG was a nice idea. It just needed to be better executed, but I enjoyed seeing my old friend TNG.

Pleasantly surprised at how effective the makeup was in de-ageing Riker and Troi.

Also the "These are the voyages" montage at the end was a nice way to finish it (better than literally ending at "End Program").

What else to say... they just had to squeeze Combs in of course, and nice to see him get a happy ending even if getting there wasn't the most gripping thing ever.

It was one heck of a franchise.
The bold, daring and optimistic (if sometimes a little over sexed) foundations of TOS.
The magnificent individual storytelling, great characters and high moral values of TNG
The amazing long term storytelling and shaking up that came with DS9
The fun, action packed exploration of Voyager
The brave new beginnings and fighting through the darkest of times depicted by Enterprise
Star Trek has had its laughably bad moments, it's had its jaw-dropping moments of sheer brilliance (many in TNG), and sometimes when looking at it all with a critical eye you'd think we hadn't enjoyed it. Don't know about others, but overall, I'd say I damn well have.

Thanks to everyone who has been involved with the various forms of Star Trek for all the years of smiles and frowns, tears and smiles, and taking us out to the stars and back again. And thanks to Jammer and other reviewers for adding in the fun of reflecting on each episode after watching them. It's been a pleasure adding to the comments.

So ends TV's Star Trek. In the words of James T Kirk: It was... fun.
Quixotic - Sun, Dec 30, 2012 - 7:39am (USA Central)
I just happen to watch a the final as a Fan Edit version without realising it. Noticed something was wrong when references to TNG characters were made here. In the Fan Edit there is no TNG at all. However, even without TNG the 6 years without change, especially between Tpol and Trip, and Trip's deaths seemed out of place.

This also represents my last Star Trek TV episode as part of my epic catch-up endeavours, so quite an anti-climax.

Annie - Thu, Jan 10, 2013 - 9:29am (USA Central)
The ONE thing Enterprise had going for it that no other post-TOS show had? No holodeck episodes!

I should have trusted my instincts and all the warnings I read and pretended this episode didn't exist. Terra Prime was such a better series finale.
Keiren - Wed, Jan 16, 2013 - 7:13am (USA Central)
The really insulting thing? It HAD to be framed by a TNG episode, like there weren't enough movie's or references to them enough...
How about some DS9 or Voyager characters showing up? Ohhh...no...cause the creators dont love them, they just glorify the averageness that is TNG...
Arachnea - Mon, Feb 18, 2013 - 1:34am (USA Central)
I hesitated to leave a comment, because like many others, I prefer to think it never existed: it was a holodeck novel and nothing in it was true !

First of all, if the producers wanted to make an homage to the franchise, well, invite the other shows. Even so, Enterprise should have had its own true finale, not a travesty which didn't reflect anything about the whole Trek world. Everyone is out of character, except for Archer.

So, in my head, Trip (doesn't die)and T'Pol have a romantic relation and another (and very healthy) baby. Shran has a relation with the Aenar and a girl, but joins the Enterprise crew and doesn't become a thug. Travis has settled on earth with the journalist/starfleet intelligence girl, Hoshi becomes an ambassador, Malcolm is forced to rejoin section 31, Phlox has accepted the job of head of xenobiology on Denobula (and Porthos meets a beautiful beagle female).

I won't say more about all the bad things that happen, but even the end, when Archer is about to make one of the most important speeches in human history, we have Riker say "end program", how disrespectful is that ! Well, everything was about as disrespectful as you can get about the show, but most of all, towards the cast.

I'm sad it was cancelled as it got better. I had good expectations for a fifth season after the seeds of what was to come were so skillfully planted. Whatever anti-Enterprise people can say, the overall quality of season 4 was as good (if not better than some) as any other Trek, even if there hasn't been a big wow 4 stars. And maybe we wouldn't have had to endure TATV...
mark - Fri, Mar 8, 2013 - 10:17am (USA Central)
Jolene was right: this was just appalling.
Patrick - Sun, Mar 24, 2013 - 9:01pm (USA Central)
It's interesting that post-Roddenberry televised Star Trek began and ended with an appearance of the Enterprise-D. DS9's "Emissary" and ENT's "These Are the Voyages...". Symmetry, of a sort.
Patrick - Thu, Mar 28, 2013 - 5:34pm (USA Central)
This episode would be the equivalent of TNG ending with "Skin of Evil". In fact this episode is all level of weird.

However, it is delightful seeing Riker and Troi again who bring more believable chemistry with each other to this show than the previous 97 episodes of this particular Trek incarnation.
Nebula Nox - Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - 7:45pm (USA Central)
I'm still upset by the death of the baby, and now they kill Trip, too?

I guess the writers thought that TNG was the most popular and wanted to tie into it. But Troi and Riker don't look the way they used to. At least they only used Data's voice.

I don't get it. I wanted a farewell episode to ent and instead got a lukewarm ep of TNG.
Row Jimmy - Sat, May 18, 2013 - 2:07pm (USA Central)
I'm in agreement with the consensus about the series finale. But I'm seeing many comments ragging on the first two seasons which I thought were great. I recently re-watched the series and the first two seasons were actually my favorite. Season 3, with the linear plot line, enthralled me the first time I watched it but I wasn't as impressed watching it a second time. I think this plot line for an entire season contributed to the shows failure. For the casual fan, who didn't watch the show every week, they would have been completely lost tuning in at mid-season. Star Trek was always about exploration and not all out war.

Season 4 went back to the regular format but it was kind of hit or miss. The hurriedly thrown together series finale was a major bummer to an otherwise solid show. It's too bad SyFy channel never picked up the show. I think it would have been far more successful on cable and available during the age of streaming. Due to their poor advertising, I had no idea that this show even existed when it aired on television.
Zephram Cockring - Tue, May 21, 2013 - 11:40am (USA Central)
This episode made me shart in my favorite jorts.
Zephram Cockring - Wed, May 22, 2013 - 9:09am (USA Central)
Then my fedora fell off. :(
Nancy - Mon, Sep 23, 2013 - 9:53pm (USA Central)
TNG is my favorite Trek; Riker and Troi are two of my favorite characters. However, even I found this to be an ill-conceived finale.

Others have already pointed out why this episode was so disappointing in detail, so I'll just say that I agree Enterprise and its fans deserved better.

I'm glad I stuck with the show. It did get better. Perhaps it would have become great. We'll never know.
NoPoet - Fri, Dec 13, 2013 - 5:26am (USA Central)
Calling this a "valentine to the fans" brings to mind Alan Partridge trying to sing "Why do birds suddenly appear". Killing Trip in a fight against kidnappers? Ending a holodeck program right before Archer fulfils the supposed destiny of this show? Presenting a 10-year "missing time" gap in which none of the characters have done anything with their lives? Cheers Bermaga, you romantic sods, you can come to my house and shag my sister!

If this had been the episode BEFORE the finale, the "end program" would be the most infamous teaser/cliffhanger in Trek legend. Frakes and Sirtis would have been welcome guests with TNG fans and long-term Trekkies buzzing with excitement. In fact, as a crossover episode, many scenes are executed superbly, when Trek crossovers are usually of poor quality.

Instead, the poorly-judged finale of not just Enterprise, but possibly televised Trek, created howls of outrage that will echo through eternity due to a couple of unbelievable - truly, utterly unbelievable - decisions. This episode epitomises how far Rick Berman has fallen but to my mind, this fall really started when Brannon Braga was hired to bring all the sex, time travel and repetitive crud into Trek. He provided the fatty deposits that blogged Star Trek's arteries, gradually stagnating and eventually killing the franchise.

It took a mega-budget reboot from a "fashionable" creator like JJ Abrams, who incidentally made a total mess of the "plot" of Lost (it was actually advertised as "Find the Plot" in the UK), to restore some of the damage Bermaga did to the franchise. Long gone are the days when Trek was regarded as "important" and when the show tried to do something daring.

If the man behind Lost can reboot Trek so successfully, to me that speak volumes about Bermaga.
AshP - Tue, Dec 17, 2013 - 3:31pm (USA Central)
I think because I never really clicked with Enterprise and am a TNG groopie that I didn't find this episode as disagreeable as many.

But I think we need to remember one very important thing that justifies the inclusion of TNG in this- This episode wasn't just a finale for Enterprise but a finale for televised Star trek. The producers knew this was signalling the end of 18 straight years of TV Trek and so sent it out as best they could. Taking that into account this episode isn't as bad as people make out- should it have been produced as a special Star Trek TV movie instead of an Enterprise finale? Sure. It could have included DS9 and Voy cast too and made one big last farewell to TV Trek.

Seeing it as a conclusion to TV Trek makes it easier and far more emotional a wallop than seeing it as a finale to Enterprise. I do wish however they had used that extra production block to make this a Star Trek special instead of an ENT finale.
gogo - Sun, Jan 12, 2014 - 1:56pm (USA Central)
Glad I read this about insulting the cast of enterprise (Blalok said this also). So I decided not to see it and end my trek marathon with the scene where trip and t'pol hold hands. A quite nice end because it is such a basic human gesture. It reaches to the future and maybe to a other child half human half vulcan which is what Roddenberry had in mind - exploring new worlds inside and outside. So be it. It was fun. Have a nice journey. And thanks jammer for these nice and thoughtful reviews.
Yanks - Wed, Mar 5, 2014 - 10:07am (USA Central)
Well played gogo, well played.
FriendofSonic - Sun, Apr 20, 2014 - 11:06am (USA Central)
Jammer, thanks for the reviews. They made Enterprise all the more fun to watch on Netflix.

I would have loved Enterprise establishing Jonathan Frakes as the actor to play Chef. He was really great in it! But, no, we had to have the series be like "Remember Home Improvement when you could never see the neighbor hurhurhur"

I can't support much else of what this finale did, though. Really sad.
Robert - Tue, May 27, 2014 - 10:27am (USA Central)
The episode didn't entirely work, but what ittried to do was finish making Archer into such a larger than life character that the TNG crew hero worships him. And that's a pretty cool concept. We've heard other TNG-era Trek character fawn over mentions of Kirk and Co., but never Archer (for obvious reasons). I think this was just a way to retcon the idea that people will still be talking about this voyage 200 years from now.

As I said, lots of things didn't work, but if TNG is the most popular TV Trek ever (via the ratings), having Riker want to spend time with these guys on the holodeck when he's facing a tough decision to see how his heroes would do it is hardly insulting. If you view it as a Code instead of a finale it's actually pretty decent.

With the exception of Trip dying and not enough things happening in the last several years. It would have been awesome to get little mentions of what things of actual consequence that everyone has been doing in that time.
Robert - Tue, May 27, 2014 - 10:28am (USA Central)
That should say Coda, not Code. I need more coffee.
John G - Tue, May 27, 2014 - 6:56pm (USA Central)
Well, I finally made it to the end after having missed most of the series when it originally aired. I’ve been reading Jammer’s reviews in parallel to watching the entire series, and I suppose it’s fitting that while I often disagreed with him on various episodes, in this case I agree pretty much down the line.

I too was hoping that the criticism of the episode that I’d read about was overblown, much as I feel the criticism of the whole series was overblown (for me it ranks well above “Voyager”, above DS9, about par with TOS and slightly worse than TNG). Those hopes were dashed. OK, it wasn’t the unmitigated nightmare I expected, but it still wasn’t very good, either, certainly nowhere near the caliber of the rest of the season. It particularly rankled that the characters apparently didn’t change or develop over six years, and that T’Pol and Trip, after going through so much together, *still* don’t stay together for long.

Even the slightly modified uniforms struck me as goofy, almost like they were trying to echo the Mirror Universe uniforms for some odd reason (like the epaulets). The odd back story for Shran just didn’t add up, and Trip’s death was so contrived and poorly acted that it was a total let-down. They should have just left well enough alone at the previous episode.

I guess what I’m saying (and I think Jammer says as much) is that this would have been a passable episode if it had been in the middle of the season, but as a finale it stunk and really soured the series for me. More’s the pity that the series was cancelled and left with such a poor ending, just when it was starting to show so much promise.
Paul - Thu, May 29, 2014 - 2:33pm (USA Central)
@John G: Your thoughts on this episode are pretty much how I feel. I also think it's odd that the Enterprise would be put in mothballs after just 10 years when ships starting in the 23rd century (at least) were commissioned for much longer. Kirk's Enterprise (the first one) launched in 2245 and was in active service (with refits along the way) for about four decades!

But your larger point about Enterprise's ranking in the series is interesting. I don't agree with it, though I do think Enterprise was better than Voyager.

The other three series just had more going for them. TOS set everything up and had the best character relationships. TNG set the mold for second-generation Trek, had the best large ensemble cast and the best actor in Star Trek (Patrick Stewart). DS9 was the most daring and is the Trek series that fits best alongside the better serialized shows that have emerged in the past 15 years.

Enterprise (like Voyager, ironically) just didn't do that much with its own premise. The first season was too vanilla, the second season was just awful and the third season was good (but didn't do much with the show's premise and took too long to ramp up. The fourth season was the only one that really felt like a compelling setup for what we saw later -- but the payoff on a lot of the three-parters was weak.

Lastly, Bakula's performance was probably the worst of the Star Trek captains (even Avery Brooks had some really great moments as Sisko, and Mulgrew was rarely terrible in her performance). He's too informal in the early season and too Jack Bauer later in season three and four. It's possible the writing was the problem, too.

I actually think Enterprise is better than it gets credit for. But it's no better than fourth among Star Trek series.
Yanks - Wed, Jul 9, 2014 - 1:17pm (USA Central)
Bakula's perfromance was worse that Brooks?

*** blink , blink ***

You may be thinking of the stories maybe?

Certainly Scott can act circles around Avery. (and I don't hate Avery)
Snooky - Fri, Jul 18, 2014 - 7:51pm (USA Central)
YUCK. Hate it. Hated it the first time I saw it 10 years ago, and hate it on rewatch. Horrible, horrible ending to a series I never missed an episode of. It's one of the reasons I never rewatched any episodes until now.

Way to give the finger to ENT fans. Yes, I watched TNG, though not religiously, but I did enjoy it. I'm an original series fan from way back. Putting the focus on TNG was stupid and insulting.

Killing Trip was such a huge appalling misstep, the Pocket book novelists set it straight in the very well reviewed "The Good Men That Do. I'm about to start reading it. Anything to wipe this drek from my mind.
Snooky - Fri, Jul 18, 2014 - 8:21pm (USA Central)
Besides hating pretty much everything about this as a finale, the whole concept is stupid. Six years without any character changes? Trip and T'Pol back to business as usual? Are you kidding me? No changes from before the death of their child? Why would they suddenly act like nothing ever happened?

Even more ridiculous: Starfleet is retiring their top-of-the-line ship after only 10 years? They honestly want us to think the fleet's flagship is already so crappy it belongs in mothballs? So silly!! The identical Columbia was commissioned just six years earlier in this timeline. Why not retrofit Enterprise with a better engine?

I hated how perky Archer was right after Trip died, while T'Pol was packing his things (but it's easy for me to hate Archer, he's by far the worst ST captain ever acted.) For that matter, Hoshi, Mayweather, and Malcolm didn't even seem to notice Trip was missing during the speechifying.

And scuba diving with Archer? Since when? It's like these were completely different people. T'Pol seemed really weird, too, interacting with Chef. I didn't even recognize this woman. Maybe that was an acting choice by Jolene, to separate the "real" T'Pol from this travesty.

I agree this was an attempt to bolster Archer's rep and try to bring it up to the level of Kirk's, but it's a fail all around, not least of which is Archer never really deserved it. It's telling us he's special, not showing us why. Because we didn't see a particularly remarkable Captain for the past four years, more of a very average fellow who made serious mistakes, often refusing to acknowledge them. You can dress him up in a fancy uniform and send him before a crowd, but that doesn't sell me on him. Sorry, show. I did like his speech in Terra Prime. Archer has always been very hit or miss for me, and at least that one was a hit.
Sean - Sun, Jul 27, 2014 - 3:10am (USA Central)
You really did overrate this one. This is a zero star episode if ever there was one.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer