Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Enterprise

"Bound"

*

Air date: 4/15/2005
Written by Manny Coto
Directed by Allan Kroeker

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Unless a new policy has been instated, I don't believe Starfleet condones slavery." — Low-key T'Pol sarcasm

In brief: Un-good. Very, very un-good.

Manny Coto, a self-confessed Trek geek, has written what I'm sure he thinks is a "fun" homage to the Trek days of yesteryear. What he fails to recognize, however, is that this is not an episode of television that deserves to see the light of day in 2005. It's too dumb, too obvious, too boring, and too rooted in gender stereotypes. If this is an homage, it's an homage to all the things that I, for one, hoped Trek had grown out of in the past four decades.

Maybe this is a sly commentary/satire on the sexism that frequently pervaded TOS. On the other hand, maybe it's just bad, boring, juvenile TV that exploits those qualities rather than lampooning them.

The plot. Blah, blah, blah — do you even care? Because the episode certainly does not. Perfunctory barely beings to describe it. Anyone could've written this by-the-numbers storyline. The captain of an Orion ship, Harrad-Sar (William Lucking) offers a proposal to Archer as an olive branch in establishing good relations between Starfleet and the Orion Syndicate. Whether Starfleet would even entertain the idea of negotiating with openly self-described criminal slavers is an interesting question that the episode doesn't bother asking, but never mind. Harrad-Sar pitches his proposal during a Sexy Dance Number by three scantily clad Orion slave girls (Cyia Batten, Crystal Allen, Menina Fortunato). The dancing leaves Archer and his away team positively entranced. Hypnotized. Galvanized. Stupefied. Moronized. Gee, y'think these girls have a special power over men that goes beyond simply their visual sex appeal? If not, would we even have a plot here? Duh.

Harrad-Sar gives Archer the location of a planet allegedly perfect for a lucrative, joint mining operation. Archer accepts the deal. T'Pol futilely offers words of caution, but Archer has already decided, and we're on our way. Is this a trap? Was Enterprise canceled exactly when the dailies of this episode started coming in? Okay, I made that last part up.

Meanwhile, Lt. Cmdr. Kelby (Derek Magyar) has a beef with Tucker because Tucker hasn't returned to the Columbia and Kelby thinks his promotion to chief engineer is going to be voided. Judging by the way the episode plays out, I'd say his fears are pretty justified. Oh, well — maybe Kelby can be the chief engineer on the Columbia. Sort of a consolation prize for both Kelby and Captain Hernandez. Trip's transfer off the Enterprise in "The Aenar" was interesting specifically because it dealt believably with personnel issues on board a starship. The situation with Kelby here flies in the face of believable staffing issues, but we naturally must have our guy Trip back where he belongs.

Oh, wait, we were talking about "Bound." Sorry. So Harrad-Sar gives Archer the three slave girls as a gift, leading to many scenes where they slink and slither around the ship and cause distractions and disturbances because none of the men can think straight. These women, they DRIVE MEN WILD. And they drive the other women on the ship to have headaches, which is to say, one woman. Hoshi complains to Phlox while T'Pol is unaffected, being the logical Vulcan that she is. Are there even any other women on the ship?

Much of the episode is your typical Sci-Fi Sexuality Lite, which is to say neutered faux sexuality played for nervous tee-hee laughs and aimed at a TV-PG audience. It's an embarrassment. It's perhaps here that Star Trek has become most anachronistic and useless. Because it has tried to stay in the family-friendly zone while cramming false sexuality down our throats, Enterprise's take on sex has been left behind in the land of irrelevance, and nobody cares. (For Sci-Fi Sexuality Dealt With, you should watch Ron Moore's Battlestar Galactica.)

Really, on even the dumbest level of the male libido, are these girls even a turn-on? I didn't think so, because all I could think of was the fact that they'd painted these poor actresses green from head to toe, and all that paint is going to turn into quease-inducing cakes of sweat and pastel grime during ... well, whatever. A game of billiards, say. Yeah.

So Archer quickly is turned useless by the power of these women to DRIVE MEN WILD. There's one scene on the bridge that I have to commend for technical reasons, simply because it's directed so vividly oddly, as if Archer were on drugs. The camera movement is somewhat refreshing and appropriate. It made me want to smoke pot, something that would be preferable to watching this episode, albeit illegal. Hell, "Bound" should be illegal. It should be charged with impersonating a TV show. Of course, the burden of proof for that charge is much higher on UPN.

Meanwhile, Kelby sabotages the engines after one of the Orion girls sexes him into doing it. Trip is fortunately on hand to beat Kelby up in engineering, but not in time. Poor Kelby; what a thankless character. Promoted to chief engineer only to be written as a complete boob who is manipulated by Mr. Johnson into sabotaging the ship so he can get beat down in public by Trip, who then takes his job back.

Why is all of this happening? Phlox explains. The Orion women have strong pheromones that DRIVE MEN WILD and make them susceptible to suggestion. Duh!

And now I'm bored, so allow me to retort. What does Marcellus Wallace look like? Are you telling me you're as useless as an asshole right here? You're not Mr. Purple. Some guy on some other job is Mr. Purple. You're Mr. Pink! What ain't no country I've heard of. Do they speak English in What? I would quote lines from "Bound," but that would require me to think about the show. Oh, wait, here you go, courtesy the Wachowski brothers and Joe Pantoliano: "F***ing dark in here." Wrong Bound, yes, but one I'd much rather watch than this.

There was one question I had and was going to rip on the script about: If these women have so much control over their men with these pheromones, why aren't they running things? But that's where the Twist comes in. It's revealed that the Orion women actually ARE running things, counter to our previous conceptions, or, preconceptions. The men are the slaves. Whoa! Clever. Of course, this power structure is based solely on the women's ability to use their sexual charms to DRIVE MEN WILD, and this twist is not going to be of much consolation to those in the audience who correctly label the episode sexist.

But then again, that requires some sort of thought and deconstruction. There isn't thought to be found here, nor philosophies worthy of deconstruction. The episode is mainly a 60-minute IQ vortex.

The thwarting of this plot centers on T'Pol and Trip, who are immune to the Orion pheromones because T'Pol is a Vulcan and Trip had sex with her. Yes. They now share some sort of telepathic link. This leads us back to the whole Trip/T'Pol question: Will They or Won't They? It looked like Will They for a brief while, and then Won't They for a long time, and now we're back on Will They. It's sort of like flipping a coin a lot of times. I'm just going to throw in the towel and pose a question about the audience: Care They or Don't They? I answer this question Don't They.

Coto meant this all in good fun, proof of which is shown at the end, where T'Pol makes a joke, and then all the other guys poke fun at the Vulcan and laugh, just like when they used to laugh at Mr. Spock, the all-purpose straight man. But like the rest of this episode, it's a massive miscalculation. The episode doesn't work because it's an anachronism that doesn't stand on its own entertainment value. It comes off looking idiotic when it's meant to look affectionate. Coto has clearly taken his love of Star Trek to a place where the audience doesn't need it to go. This is the worst episode of Enterprise in more than two years.

Next week: Back to the mirror universe, which will hopefully be far more fun than this.

Previous episode: Divergence
Next episode: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Season Index

38 comments on this review

stef - Tue, Jan 22, 2008 - 9:13am (USA Central)
I've seen my fair share of rubbish Next Gen and voyager episodes. But this was surely the worst modern Trek ever made? This was worse then the 2 identical "Irish" holodeck episodes of Voyager.

How did this episode even get off the planning stage let alone written, filmed, and broadcast.
rob - Wed, Mar 12, 2008 - 10:27pm (USA Central)
i actually really like this one. yeah, it's not "balance of terror" or "darmok," but who cares?

& there's nothing about this episode that even remotely approaches VOY levels of stupidity. orion slave girls? - or evil clowns from the delta quadrant?
Dan - Tue, Jul 22, 2008 - 7:52am (USA Central)
No problems with this at all. My Wife thought it was good fun as well.
Brian Ulrich - Sat, Aug 30, 2008 - 5:51pm (USA Central)
Why did you give this a star?
Todd - Tue, Sep 16, 2008 - 5:41am (USA Central)
Just a point - there are other females on board apart from Hoshi and T'Pol. The ep shows a few of them looking rather annoyed at the Orion girls and the smitten male crewmembers.. ;)
TC - Sun, Sep 28, 2008 - 6:09am (USA Central)
2 stars. It was amusing, to a point, which was more than you can say about such excruciating experiences as "The Emperor's New Cloak" or "Spirit Folk" (shudder).
Jaybee - Thu, Jun 25, 2009 - 2:28pm (USA Central)
Major complaint with the episode was that these supposedly hyper-seducers fell a long way short of being the irresistible sirens the crew treated them. Not that I'd throw any of them out of bed for screaming, "Too hard!", but T'Pol is still better eye-candy than any of them - or at least, Mirror T'Pol was.

I'd speculate that given the show's predominant demographic - horny teenagers with raging acne and military parents - they're not likely to be too choosy about sex-objects providing they're not more than 5" adversely away from 36-24-36, nor more than 25. But for those of us who know about life, who have screwed a better grade of female, and who realise that this is STILL fiction, we ain't gonna buy it.

In my case, LITERALLY - I downloaded a copy but wouldn't pay for this junk out of the annual interest on an 8-figure account.
ARX - Wed, Aug 5, 2009 - 4:13am (USA Central)
Murderously, coma-inducingly, BORING. I found myself skipping thru some of the middle scenes thinking, "would you just move along to the damn attack already so we can get some action?" because it was so painfully obvious what the women were up to and that this was a trap, 10 minutes into the episode, that everything else was just a waste of time. Its as if they thought we were stupid enough not to figure this out until the last moment, so they could get away wtih what amounted to a half hour of filler before Phlox's reveal. Come on, three or four different pointless seduction/bedroom scenes? That 2 minute scene in the gym? Really, thats the best you guys could do? I feel like I just watched 5 minutes of (predictable) plot with 45 minutes of filler.

As others have hinted, where were all the female crew members? The male engineers are fighting amongst themselves in the middle of a crisis, but you dont have enough females to sub for them? You've got 3 Orions emitting powerful pheromones that give them control over any man theyre in prolonged contact with...yet you leave TWO MEN IN CHARGE OF WATCHING THEM???

This was one of the most boring episodes of Trek I've ever watched. Not as flat out HORRIBLE as some of Voyagers greatest (s)hits, but still an hour of my life I'll never get back.
Nic - Mon, Oct 5, 2009 - 8:33am (USA Central)
As I have not seen the episode (and I don't have any intention of ever seeing it), I'll just say one thing, in case no one noticed: Cyia Batten was the first actress to play Tora Ziyal.
Shawn - Mon, Jun 28, 2010 - 11:08pm (USA Central)
I have to say I agree with you on most of your points in the review but I admit I did like the dance scene, the way it was shot was kind of interesting.

I will give Enterprise one thing though, they do actually explores some of the races from TOS, when is the last time you saw an Orion or Andorian.
Jay - Mon, Dec 13, 2010 - 3:13pm (USA Central)
Mr. Kroeker usually ends up directing some of the most meaningful of Star Trek fare (including, if I recall, ore season-enders than anyone else). Boy howdy not in this case tho....yeesh.
Jay - Mon, Dec 13, 2010 - 3:19pm (USA Central)
And how many ENT episodes now has T'Pol been immune to whatever was afflicting everyone else because of her "unique Vulcan physiology". I don't think there are enough fingers on two hands to count.

I always hated how in every Trek incarnation, Humans were the most frail, fragile, and susceptible to every affliction that Vulcans, Ferengi, Borg, or somesuch were somehow immune to.

If T'Pol weren't aboard, the ship would have been destroyed several times over.
Carbetarian - Fri, Jan 7, 2011 - 8:05pm (USA Central)
I didn't hate this episode. It wasn't good. But, parts of it were somewhat amusing. It was kind of interesting to see the first tora ziyal all grown up.

Anyway, what I really wanted to say is this; Jammer, thanks for the many uses of the phrase "DRIVE MEN WILD" in this review. Haha, your review was the best part of this episode for me!
Grumpy - Sat, Apr 30, 2011 - 6:45pm (USA Central)
Maybe there's some factor in Orion pheremones that causes divisive audience response.

This was not a one-star episode. Sure, it didn't have much going on plot-wise and was therefore slow-paced. And sure, if there was some attempt at ironic commentary on Trek's old-fashioned sexism, I missed it. But this was hardly painful to watch or embarrassing for the actors. "Bound" deserves at least the same 1.5 stars that Jammer gave "Mudd's Women" (though as I noted in my comment to "The Aenar," star ratings aren't equal between series).
Christopher - Sat, Feb 4, 2012 - 5:03pm (USA Central)
Oh God- just terrible. I have really been enjoying season 4 (apart from the terrible opening crap that finally killed off the temporal cold war and that snoozefest about the transporter guy that noone knew or cared about), but this one takes the cake for worst of the season. No surprises, boring storyline and just the most idiotic homage to TOS with Vulcans joke followed by fake manic human laughter- it was like something out of the Brady Bunch movie.

As I watched the rest of the season I was genuinely sad that the show was cancelled as it seemed to be finding its niche and then I saw this written by the show runner and was kinda glad that there will be no more insults like this.
TMLS - Fri, Jun 1, 2012 - 2:47pm (USA Central)
Seen worse episodes of Trek (all varieties), but the that's really awful... hey, wait. Green boobies! Now where was I...
ceebee - Sat, Jun 30, 2012 - 7:56pm (USA Central)
T'Pol is immune to radiation.
Archer is being held captive.
Someone has to leave a place before a dangerous phenomenon will kill him, but he can't but at second .00001 he just makes it.
People are doing weird because there's radiation or some sort of airborne substance.
Some hostile alien enters Enterprise and presses some computer buttons, rendering the crew instantly unable to "lock him out" or "override him".
Enterprise encounters a ship with a shield that is impenetrable for their weapons.

From those cliché perspectives a somewhat stupid episode where the men turn out to be the slaves of their women has some surprisingly redeeming qualities.
Milica - Thu, Jul 5, 2012 - 4:22pm (USA Central)
You guys really have some issues - I suppose lack of love and sex and you must be leading some really lonely unfulfilled lives when you cant appreciate this. If you hated the episode so much, why are there so many comments to it - shouldnt you have just ignored it? I plays on your complexes, thats why.
I loved the episode - one of the most enjoyable ones. 4 stars.
Curtis - Tue, Jul 31, 2012 - 5:12am (USA Central)
I guess there's no gay people in the future!
Brock - Wed, Aug 8, 2012 - 12:02pm (USA Central)
There is no reason I should like this episode, but I did. It's probably because I've always been fascinated by the idea of Sirens like in "The Odyssey" and other Greek tales.

But just thinking back to Voyager....not even half of that series was as entertaining as this episode. That's a sad realization.
Zane314 - Tue, Sep 25, 2012 - 9:19pm (USA Central)
Bound was a solid 3.0 stars for me. I knew this was a green hottie episode and went in with low expectations but it was actually pretty good. And Ziyal as the head Orion women and the other DS9 alumni as the Orion trader was neat. The dance was excellent and the sexual innuendo was well done for sexual innuendo. Remember this series opened with T'Pol in her undies getting a salve rub down or T'Pol (again!) in decon going all Ponfar like a pol dancer? This was much more reasonable and intentionally funny than those scenes. I liked the twist at the end with who's really in charge! Good episode.
Tiarfe - Thu, Nov 1, 2012 - 6:49pm (USA Central)
Funny how the truth hurts, huh? People don't like seeing men reduced to babbling fools over women but in reality it happens every day on a lesser level. I have seen it many times and even today when a pretty petite blonde walked into a restaurant the men seemed to trip over themselves. So yeah, this was an exaggerated yet humorous depiction of human nature and sexuality. It also dabbled into how women respond to other women who appear to be a threat but they could have gone much deeper with that than was shown.

Now the Trip and T'Pol connection is so obvious but at least it is fun seeing Trip try to control his actions even better than a Vulcan.

Phlox is definitely my favorite character on Enterprise.
Cloudane - Sat, Dec 22, 2012 - 5:05pm (USA Central)
Hahaha, oh it wasn't that bad. It was a bit of TOS style sexy fun.
But I suppose it's a point that they should've just done a porn spinoff called Star Trek: The Next Penetration or something

In terms of Trip+T'Pol, AT LAST. Can we just marry them off and get it over with now? :P
(I'll admit, I d'awwed. A bit.)

LOVED the "it's the women who own the men" twist. Very life-like, very believable, and I wonder if they're related to cats.

I do agree with Curtis's point about there not being any gay people in the future in Trek. Or at least, only in the mirror universe that will no doubt show plenty of lesbianism next episode, if DS9 is to go by. Whenever there was a hint of it, it had a "reason" like Dax's previous male host, rather than being a sexual preference. It's a shame that a show originally hailed (hur hur... hailed...) for making taboos of the time like women and other races in positions of power seem as normal as they should be, rarely even touched on alternative sexual preferences.

Now the mirror universe next. I thought that was spawned from a TOS episode. Whatever. I hope it doesn't suck as much as half the DS9 ones did :P
Annie - Tue, Jan 8, 2013 - 5:35pm (USA Central)
Like ARX I loved how after they figured out that the pheromones caused men to do whatever the women wanted, and right after Archer almost let them free, they still left two men in charge of guarding them.

The T'Pol/Trip immunity thing was laugh-out-loud stupid. So mating with T'Pol makes you immune? She should have mated with all the men on board, then. There has to be a "needs of the many" joke in there somewhere.
mark - Wed, Mar 6, 2013 - 12:28am (USA Central)
Wouldn't it have been interesting if Harrad-Sar was not attacking Enterprise at all, but Archer, due to his pheremone fueled paranoia, believed he was? And then Archer could have attacked Harrad Sar first, before T'Pol and Trip relieved Archer of duty and broke off the fight. Harrad Sar could have then commented that he didn't realize human beings would be so susceptible to Orion female pheremones, take back the girls and apologize.

I agree with the one star, although I thought the scene between Trip and T'Pol toward the end was worthwhile, and I did enjoy the "everybody laugh at the Vulcan" bit at the end, which was a far more sincere tribute to TOS than anything else in the show.

Another idea: maybe Orion males could have the same intoxicating effect on women that the females have on men. I would have enjoyed it if at least one of the three "gifts" had been an Orion guy who makes all the women aboard Enterprise go crazy while all the men abaord Enterprise become stupidly jealous. It could have been played for laughs as sort of a "Naked Time" episode. Although I suppose ultimately the whole concept of Orion slave people should have perhaps been left to TOS.
Nebula Nox - Thu, Apr 25, 2013 - 8:24pm (USA Central)
Oh, this episode was fun! Plot wise a rip off of an episode of firefly, but the Orions are just a great species in terms of make-up. And the dance scene was fabulous.

Who wants deep and dramatic in every ep? This was sheer green entertainment!
Nebula Nox - Thu, Apr 25, 2013 - 8:50pm (USA Central)
Of course, it was mad not to put a female security guard in charge of guarding those three green ladies.
Dom - Sat, Jun 1, 2013 - 8:07pm (USA Central)
Nobody will argue that this was a great episode, but it was obviously meant to be a joke and I think it succeeds at that. Unlike say all of Voyager, there were some genuinely funny moments. Even better was the twist at the end where it's revealed that the Orion men are the slaves, not the women. That's actually one of the better twists in the series as it really does play effectively on our stereotypes of gender relations.
T'Paul - Wed, Aug 28, 2013 - 2:59pm (USA Central)
Have to agree that it wasn't SO awful.

It was bringing old TOS series back to life and exploring its species a bit more. And TOS was like that... silly faux sexuality... this was putting a more modern spin on it (and yes, I realise it is still full of gender stereotypes etc., but as I said, them's the roots of old-style trek.

It gave the Orion sex slaves a bit more depth than the 2D way they had been presented in TOS (by saying the men are actually the slaves), and yes, I do think it was meant to be at least a bit tongue in cheek.

I do think that Jammer is once again being unfair on ENT here, because if it had been Jadzia Dax in that sort of a role I'm fairly sure he wouldn't have protested...
Nancy - Sun, Sep 22, 2013 - 7:40pm (USA Central)
Well, I consider this tongue-in-cheek and could enjoy it on that level. Also, I must admit I found the notion of the male being controlled by the female very refreshing..... And very hot. "Why would you do to keep me forever? " "Anything you say!" Works for me. ;)
Snot Rocket - Wed, Oct 9, 2013 - 4:05pm (USA Central)
I'm terribly sorry but apart from being rather silly there's nothing wrong with this episode.

Perhaps some people here look too deep into it and are unable to just sit back and enjoy a good 45 minutes of undemanding, harmless, entertaining nonsense.
Jons - Sun, Nov 3, 2013 - 9:30am (USA Central)
What a terrible episode. Not only boring and deja-vu, but completely sexist and vaguely homophobic (apparently, no one is gay on that ship).

If you don't understand why it's sexist, how about:

> These women "in control" not because of their capacities (intelligence, leadership...) like men, but just because of pheromones and sexual attractivity

> Men are all bumbling idiots who have no control over their emotions (both offensive to men AND legitimizing things like rape)

> These are supposedly in control, but Orion is controlled by the men (a male captain, male slave owners...). Not matter that in the slave market women were being sold just like the other slaves. Hows that for power.

Once again, we've yet to see any species where men are not dominant. And apart from the Cpt of the Columbia, I haven't seen any female captain in ANY of the species we've encountered.

I like Star Trek, I really do, but sometimes these kinds of episodes come along and I'm reminded I'm watching a show made by and for stupid teenage boys, and I remember why I'm a bit ashamed to say I like Star Trek in public
Jack - Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - 8:11pm (USA Central)
The best thign about this episode is the continuity nod in the mention in the opening scene of a starbase in the Berengaria system, which I recall being mentioned by Kai Winn as a core Federation world.
Filip - Tue, Jan 28, 2014 - 6:49am (USA Central)
Not a five star episode for sure, but I enjoyed it. Not ALL episodes have to make me think about deep topics. I also liked the development of the situation between Trip and T'Pol. Apart from that, an average no brainer episode.
BPR - Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - 4:41pm (USA Central)
Man, I think the "outrage" over this episode is a bit over the top. It's like the reviewer—and everyone else who agrees with him—simply took a few truisms to heart and completely judged the episode based solely on those:

Slavery=BAD!
Objectification of Women=BAD!
Men who let their libido run away with them when hot women are around=BAD!
And, as a bonus: No (obviously) gay characters on the Enterprise=BAD!

So therefore:
An episode that doesn't righteously condemn all of the above and instead approaches Orion culture on its own terms…OH MY GOD THIS IS SO HORRIBLY BAD IT CAN'T POSSIBLY HAVE ANY MERIT WHATSOEVER!!! THE OUTRAGE!!!! THE OUTRAGE!!! IT'S OUTRAGEOUS, I TELL YOU!!!!!!

Gnashing of teeth ensues.

Having said all that, while I liked the episode and found it entertaining, it wasn't the best Star Trek (in all of its incarnations) has to offer. I'd give it a solid three stars out of five. By no means was it as bad as it's made out to be. It did recycle various concepts from Star Trek's past, so it wasn't groundbreaking. But as an hour of entertainment I enjoyed it.

Rather than go further into an essay on the episode, I'll just list some bullet points of my thoughts on the episode and the review:

• The dance at the beginning was VERY WELL done. The choreography, the editing, etc. More than just "hot chicks jiggling around"

• That Trip would be immune to the pheromone effect of the Orion girls due to his hookup with T'Pol was a plot contrivance, but one steeped in the tradition of Star Trek

• Given that it is a pheromone effect clouding the males' judgement, would it not stand to reason that even gay male characters would be affected on some level? Not in a come back to the Home team kind of way, but at least some degree of confusion? That would explain why simply assigning a gay character to chaperone them wouldn't have worked. Even a headache like the other women.

• I was confused by the Orions' dastardly plan; was it really necessary to implant the women on the Enterprise when they had Archer on their ship and at their mercy at the beginning of the episode? Couldn't he have simply taken him hostage and/or took off to the Klingon Empire to turn him over to them? But then again getting the Orion women on board and wreaking havoc was the entire point of the episode, so, nevermind ;-)

• One of the commentators above made a very valid point about how men will fall over themselves when a really hot woman appears, even without pheromones affecting them. It's human nature. Deal with it.

• I totally bought T'Pol's and Trip's relationship drama; the two actors have legitimate chemistry and Jolene Blaylock's acting vastly improved over the course of the series (some of her season one acting was just flat as a board). It's too bad they didn't have her with long hair for the duration of the series instead of just the Mirror Universe…but that's just my sexist male libido talking, right? DOH!
BPR - Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - 4:44pm (USA Central)
One final note: I thought the big "reveal" that it was the women who really ran the show despite all appearances to the contrary was pretty weak and a lame attempt to take the edge off any anticipated complaints about the episode's (alleged) sexism.
Elliott - Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - 10:56pm (USA Central)
Dear God this was bad. I have always skipped this in the viewings but this is "Twisted"/"Aquiel"/"Move Along Home" level wasted screentime. In 1990, it was *slightly* more acceptable to be oblivious to the fact that sexuality was less cut and dry than the powers that were wished, but in 2004, I would at least expect them to avoid subjects which would cast such a bright light on how obviously childish the Trek writers were when it came to sex. Just awful.
Captain Jim - Fri, Mar 7, 2014 - 9:32pm (USA Central)
While it certainly wasn't a wonderful episode, I would never say it was "the worst episode in more than two years." If nothing else, it was watchable. I can recall a couple of others that weren't even that.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer