Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Was anyone else really bothered that when Data and Geordi were testing the phaser rifle that they took it to main engineering just mere feet from the warp core? If I needed a shooting range on the Enterprise I would NOT make one right in front of the thing that can blow the whole ship up.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Jammer, THANK YOU for rocking out both Discovery and The Orville. I really enjoy reading your reviews.

I'm writing this after watching the first four episodes, and so far "Context is King" is my favorite. A new Star Trek TV series is exciting, and there's a lot to adjust to. I don't get why they didn't just put the series 20 years after TNG, it would have explained a lot of the new look and feel, but I'm willing to give them a lot of leeway. I don't expect a TOS prequel to look like TOS. Klingons don't have to look like TOS or TNG Klingons and I'll give them some space there for having Star Trek be "fresh" and modern.

I don't like that I have to buy a streaming service. As of right now I plan to keep up-to-date with Season 1, but if there is a Season 2 I will consider just getting the streaming service when ALL the episodes are out and binge it.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I thought this episode was great. I've probably seen it a few times, but watching it in 2017 was the first time that I picked up that the alien Riker nailed was Lilith from Fraser. I really liked that they didn't end it all clean. Basically, they failed their mission by f-ing up first contact, but came to an understanding and planted the seeds for a better future, but an imperfect now.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I enjoyed the episode but I have one burning, glaring issue with the plot...

So they manipulated the computer's time by 24 hours to cover for the "missing day" - but what the hell happens when they pull up to the next Starbase and start arguing over whether it's Tuesday or Wednesday?
Set Bookmark
Troi
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Oh dear... we're getting into sheer fantasy here. What exactly is the point of rotating the ship's sections during travel? Wouldn't the crew be tossed about like a centrifuge?

Some of the acting is really quite dreadful. Stamets' attempt to feign surprise when the creature reacted to the mushrooms in particular. Burnham is almost as bad at expressing emotion. Lorca and science officer alien are by far the best here.

I still enjoy it, but I really don't know whose idea it was to call this Trek.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I thought Worf should have proclaimed that he took over the Enterprise through battle and forced the crew to submit to him and was now using it for the glory of the empire.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

What breaks this episode for me is that Bashir would go from reanimating his coma patient on day 0, to putting the moves on her on day 2, that makes no sense. It's repulsive that his character couldn't control himself.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I enjoyed the episode, but did so while rolling my eyes.

I had major issues with the following plot points:
- Data can get "drunk" and hyposprays can fix it
- They never initiated a ship-wide quarantine to stop the spread
- Data obviously could have put all the chips back in. They kept cutting back to him and he seemed to be putting the same ones in
- The sun explodes and expels a single "sun chunk" that happens to be going straight at the Enterprise? Pleaaaase.
- They had to do the fancy tractor beam reversal, why? Just use the normal tractor beam to move the other ship in the way of the "sun chunk"
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

It was a forgivable pilot. Great effects for 1987, they did a good job of introducing the characters, and I enjoyed the "court" scene.

However, there are some unforgivable points:

1) The saucer separation scene was far too long and they literally played the title theme in its entirety.
2) The new station seemed very empty
3) Crusher seemed odd in her challenge to Picard's wishes about children on the bridge with a snarky, "He's in the TURBOLIFT, not the bridge, DUH! He's just going to stand here holding up the G-Damn elevator while I give you a report."
4) Manually reconnecting the saucer section is sold to us as risky and dangerous. Why would Picard needlessly endanger the crew?
5) The time between Picard's order to evacuate the station and the time they shoot the energy beam is very short. They never got any confirmation that the station was evacuated. I just picture hundreds of people screaming as they're absorbed into the jelly fish creature and placed in the fancy torture chambers that make you float.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Dec 29, 2016, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'm a big The Walking Dead fan. I don't find Sonequa's character to be super-engaging, but she does a very good job with the material she's been given. I'm excited to see what she does with the Discovery role.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I'm not too big on speculation. With the given details it can go good or bad, that we'll just have to wait to see how it is executed.

The All-Access is both annoying, but opens up some possibilities. I'm hoping they'll make all the episodes available at once. If not, I hope I can just wait until all 13 are out and get All-Access for just one month and binge-watch them.

All-Access does open up some possibilities that the show won't have to be squeaky-clean, since it won't be on TV.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Fri, Feb 5, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I hope they do the new-age way of releasing ALL episodes for the season at once. CBS All-Access is $5.99 per month. I could watch an entire new season of Star Trek in the matter of a week or two. So $5.99 to watch a season of Star Trek? Hell yeah, sign me up.

I'd more than likely be canceling the subscription when I was done watching Star Trek, but maybe they can convince me otherwise, which would be the main reason for making Star Trek online-exclusive.

Mr. Jammer, there's plenty of time. Even if you don't review these episodes as they release we'll be hoping for reviews, even if they take years!
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Apr 2, 2015, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I am disgusted by the part where Work picks up the Ferengi Tooth Sharpener and uses it on himself. It would be like going to a garage sale, seeing an old used toothbrush, and trying it on the spot.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Mon, Mar 9, 2015, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I'd give this episode 1.5 to 2 out of 4. It has several fatal flaws.

- Pacing: This would be a much better plot if the show was only 30 minutes long

- Believably: So this alien race is advanced enough to build ships, transporters, and everything else that they'd have leading up to space travel, but they only have a couple handful of phrases they can say that are metaphors for large ideas? I simply don't believe that this race has made it to space.

- Repeated phrases: They simply just say the same jibberish too much in the episode, to the point that it becomes annoying.

Nonetheless, this is still an episode that I cherish, because it is a very unique TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Sat, Sep 15, 2012, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm a bit embarrassed to say, I didn't see it coming at all. I'm so used to characters doing frustrating things that I thought the writers were just being dumb when T'Pol was so helpless, turns out I was the one being dumb!

It was an alright episode, but the pacing was far too slow. I kept falling asleep.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Wow, this episode stunk. It stunk even worse for me as I live in the suburbs of Detroit and work in downtown Detroit.

First, I'll tear apart the plot. So why the hell are they trying to get the virus back to the future? Wouldn't they just release it right there in 2004? Killing all the humans in 2004 would be better than killing them in 2154 when they're scattered about the universe in space ships.

I totally agree that it makes no sense that Archer would be sent to 2004 two months into the Xindi mission. It would make more sense for them to be sent right on the heels of the Xindi and to spend the episode right on the heels trying to predict their next move and stop them.

Also, I totally agree that it makes no sense whatsoever that they need to make this virus specific to all blood types. There are very few things on this Earth in present day that are specific to a blood type.


OK, now I've got to tear apart the "Detroit 2004" part.

First off, apparently in 2004 Detroit had very few black people. In fact, Detroit now only has two black people, a cop and a hooker.

Secondly, not a single scene was from Detroit. The shot of the skyline was LA! I mean, c'mon, you couldn't even throw in a shot of the Detroit skyline?

Thirdly, on the radio there's an advertisement for a monster truck rally at the "tri-city" whatever. There is no "tri-city" in Detroit. There's the "tri-county" area of Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb. There is no tri-city.

The only thing they got right were the police cars which were either actual Detroit police cars, or extremely similar.

If you're going to say that a plot is in a certain city, you actually have to make an attempt. You can't say "Detroit" and show the LA skyline.

The only thing that seems accurate about the setting is:

1) There is a Carpenter Street in Detroit\Hamtramck (I think they just got lucky on that one)
2) Detroit did exist in 2004 and had hookers


Sucky plot. No attempt made at depicting Detroit. More time-travel wizardry.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

I did not find this episode very entertaining. My wife was having issues with the strobes, she has epilepsy.

Not much of a story at all. It was like one of those zombie-end-of-the-world movies you see.

I give it two-stars.

Watchable, but not much further than that.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Wow, this episode was bad. At first it was a little interesting trying to figure out why those dudes were torching the people. At first I thought it was going to be another "ENT: Rouge Planet" episode.

As soon as the away team started to transform I immediately, and literally picture a big red "RESET" button on the TV screen that they were going to press at the very end.

The main characters always have to live, so when you do episodes like this where we know what the ending will look like, it's important for it to have interesting dialogue. However, this episode was so boring.

First off, I agree with Jammer. I don't buy into the "DNA-Rewrite". First off, you wouldn't survive. Secondly, even if it were possible, it would not happen so quickly. Thirdly, if it was to happen so quickly they would need to eat like crazy to generate the energy for their bodies to do all that transforming,

I found the ending where Archer magically storms on the bridge when just 40 seconds ago he was a weird alien to be totally bogus. I usually only roll my eyes at the T'Pol Hot Bod[TM] scenes, but this one managed to get one from me.

Also, Archer wouldn't let Phlox destroy the "last remains" of the alien race. I simply don't get it, is there not a whole %$^#ing planet of virus still left? What does one vial matter?

I really thought Archer was going to tell Phlox to save the virus so he could use it on the Xindi if negotiations didn't work, but that would have been too evil for any Trek captain to save a genocidal biological weapon for the purpose of using it. However, if you want to keep a genocidal biological weapon on your ship for the hell of it, that makes perfect sense!

1.5 stars was generous. I give it 1-star tops.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I like this episode. I know that it's not a completely compatible metaphor, but I think the message is still completely applicable to the AIDS\HIV situation as well as other situations.

In the early days of AIDS\HIV it was thought of a homosexual disease. Then it turned into a disease of homosexuals, drug users, and the promiscuous.

Even today there is still a great stigma when it comes to AIDS\HIV. All though it's manageable it's a diagnosis that still caries a shorter lifespan.

AIDS\HIV is very preventable, and that combined with its profoundly negative health consequences account for the present day stigma.

This episode has some valuable lessons in it, including tolerance, acceptance, and wanting to reach out and help people even if some of those people are part of a lifestyle you may choose to not be a part of.

I also very much liked the moral lesson with Flox and Trip. To Flox it was completely normal for his wife to pursue Trip. And in the inverse it was perfectly normal for Trip to not want relations with a married woman. In the end they both understood and respected the moral differences between the two cultures.

This also applies to a society where polygamy and homosexuality is so hated. The moral lesson applies, if you don't want to have multiple partners or if you don't want to engage in relations with someone of a certain sex, then it's your choice, as it's the choice of others to do contrary.

I never watched this episode on TV, so I never got to see the HIV\AIDS hotline part at the end. However, I can see where that might be a little too "in your face" of a message. I think it also might narrow minds on what this message could apply to.

But more to the episode, I agree with others about the glaring continuity issue. T'Pol willingly started the mind-meld, so she got the disease willingly. The facts were changed to fit the plot of the episode, and they didn't even really need to be.

So really, T'Pol was the one damaging the minority more with her false mind-rape claim.

I'm also still frustrated by how much of an ass that Archer is, and how he has no respect for T'Pol's personal space. His short temper comes up again in this episode. It's so frustrating to watch this bumbling hothead-idiot commanding humanity's most prized possession.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I thought this episode was above average. I found watching the crew preparing to be entertaining. It makes me think of situations at my work where I've been sent down into the data center to complete some kind of mission critical task on a short time line and everyone pulls together.

I like that a large amount of crew (extras) were used to get a feeling for the amount of folks that are on the ship. The whole "camping" aspect of the show was fun, and we can all go back to a situation where we were camping and had much less space.

The alien takeover was a little too predictable in its ending, but we can't complain too much about that, because the writers can't destroy the crew\ship.

I liked that they dug into T'pol's character a little more, and made her a little more likable.

I would give this episode 3 to 3.5 stars. It was different, fun, predictable, but enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Mon, Jul 30, 2012, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I agree that this episode was terrible. For me it wasn't so much the cliché. The only parts that I found to be completely cliché were when their anger boiled over into romance and the "pampered" part of Kaitaama's character. Yup, it's sure believable that when two people are in a life and death survival situation that they can't even keep their pants zipped for even the first night.

What took this episode from bad to completely terrible was Padma Lakshmi. Her acting in this episode sounded like she was reading the lines for the first time and just saying the words to say them. Lakshmi reminded me of the very first Janeway that didn't work out.

As for those criticizing this review, I rather liked the review. It made me feel better about the last 43 minutes of my life. Knowing that I'm not the only one that watched this episode gives me comfort.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Well, I watched this episode and knew I could count on you for a scathing review.

I also rolled my eyes at the Hoshi-->T'Pol-->Archer-->Porthos rubdown scene.

Really? An episode that focuses on developing the character of the ****ing dog? And also managed to murder the character of Archer and make him more unlikable than Wesley Crusher?

Gee... here is an alien culture that is very easily offended and we need something from them. Let's go down there. I'll need my communications officer to communicate. I'll need my science officer for her wisdom. And I'll also need my dog so he can shed, s***, and p*** all over the place. No chance of anything going wrong here.

This episode was horrible, and 1-star was a very generous and forgiving rating.

I would have given it negative 1/2 star for damaging Archer's character.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jamahl, I disagree with you on this episode. I rather enjoyed it.

However, your review is so hilarious and true. The episode was hokey and predictable, but still entertaining to me.

I do certainly agree with you that the Ferengi episodes in DS9 were painful after a while!
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I found this episode to not be very entertaining. I understand that certain episodes will focus more heavily on certain characters to build them up. However, character building should be done WITHIN a plot, not in absence of one.

The tight shots of Reed's face were disturbing, he looks too much like Michael Jackson.

The episode was tolerable for the first half, but the second half just became very redundant. We get, Reed had a bunch of people he never really connected with that he wanted close with. We get it, Trip won't give up until the end, despite the odds.

Reiterating it over and over almost seemed condescending to the audience; especially since based off the character building in the episode alone we knew that those characters would not be disposed of.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.