Star Trek: The Original Series

"Balance of Terror"

2.5 stars

Air date: 12/13/1966
Written by Paul Schneider
Directed by Vincent McEveety

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

After a century of silence, the Romulans, a race with whom humans had a war long ago, appear to be on the move again—apparently testing their new cloaking technology—and the Enterprise may be the only ship to stop them from starting another conflict.

The episode is in the tradition of submarine thrillers like Run Silent, Run Deep (or The Hunt for Red October as a more current comparison), but like "The Corbomite Maneuver," it has a tendency to get too wound up in its tactical moments and special effects, which can be confusing and sometimes go on for too long. And, I'm sorry, the set design on the Romulan ship is just not convincing; unlike the Enterprise, it feels too much like a cheap set and little more. And what's with those corny helmets the Romulan officers wear? There are, of course, many strengths here; the episode takes some stabs at relevant issues, especially when the crew discovers the Romulans may be related to Vulcans and a bridge officer's bigoted aggression (aimed here at Spock) emerges.

The Cold War allegory was certainly timely, and the idea of each captains' respect for their counterpart makes for a nice theme, but I wish it had been taken a bit farther. Mark Lenard is good as a Romulan commander who begins to doubt his military's usefulness, but his thoughtfulness isn't utilized nearly as much as it could've been.

The episode's unevenness is its drawback, and it's too bad; there's the potential for greatness here that goes unrealized. Each little theme would've been more effective if given more focus. "Balance" needed more balance.

Previous episode: The Conscience of the King
Next episode: Shore Leave

◄ Season Index

75 comments on this review

sci fi nerd
Wed, Apr 13, 2011, 7:15am (UTC -6)
i agree with you on most of your reviews, however, i MUST disagree with you on "balance of terror" i thought it developed it's themes well, and was perfectly "balanced"
Jayson
Sat, May 21, 2011, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
I've never been a huge fan of "City On The Edge Of Forever" and while it's not bad, I actually prefer "Balance Of Terror" because not only is a good old fashioned submarine story, it's also one of those could easily have been told in any of the recent Star Trek series with out losing a beat.

In fact DS9 had a similar episode "Starship Down" but to do to budgetary reasons, it didn't quite live up to the original idea. That being said, I think you should have given "Balance Of Terror" at least 3 stars.
Someguy
Sun, May 27, 2012, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Love your website and your reviews are consistently solid and insightful. In this case, however, I have to disagree with your review! In this episode, we see Kirk at his tactical and command best, revealing why he is a legendary Star Fleet officer. The cat and mouse drama and tesion is superb, with or without a high budget set. The intro to the Romulans sets a foundation for their race that has endured across the Star Trek universe. This episode was, is, and remains CLASSIC Star Trek. Should be at LEAST 3 to 3.5 stars.
Strider
Fri, Jul 20, 2012, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Strangely, as deeply as I respect Mark Lenard as an actor, I thought he was missing a bit of an edge that I would have expected from a Romulan on such a war-provoking mission. He was so angsty. Not that Romulans don't think deeply about their missions, but they're also decisive officers and ruthless combatants. Lenard really displays more of that do-what's-necessary edge as Sarek.
Lorene
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 9:10am (UTC -6)
"Someguy" says it best. I'd give this episode 4 stars.
SpyTV
Thu, Nov 28, 2013, 12:39am (UTC -6)
I'm a big fan of your reviews (I started reading with your early DS9 reviews). I disagree with this one. I started watching TOS in the 70's when it was in syndication. This is easily one of my top ten Star Trek (any series) of all time. I completely agree with the Hunt for Red October analogy. Easily 4 stars for me.
Adam
Tue, Feb 11, 2014, 6:21am (UTC -6)
Sorry, but this is just one review where you're WAY off base. Balance of Terror is essential Star Trek. Worthy of 4 stars, or at least 3.5
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 9:52pm (UTC -6)
3.5 at least
Shannon
Mon, Aug 11, 2014, 4:44pm (UTC -6)
I completely disagree with your assessment of this episode. First off, who cares that the Romulan bridge was cheap looking? We all know they were on a shoe-string budget, and the helmets were obviously to save on the cost of having to put pointed ears on the entire Romulan bridge crew. Star Trek has always been about the story, and this was a damn good one. Yes, the mutual respect theme was great, but they did as much with it as they could have, especially when you have to fit a lot into a 45 minute episode... No question, this was a 4-star episode!
Yanks
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 7:07pm (UTC -6)
Wow Jammer. I can't believe this earned such a low rating from you. Easy 4 star episode for me.
William
Mon, Sep 8, 2014, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Jammer, I've got the join the chorus on this one. I usually concur with you, but not this time.

To me, this is classic and essential "Trek." It's one of the best episodes to me off any of the five series. It stands on its own, plus it gives us the Romulans. For that alone, it gets two of its four stars.
Snitch
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:19am (UTC -6)
If you like this episode I would recommend "The Enemy below"

It illustrates the hide and seek game against submarines, and respecting the enemy and their skill.
Beth
Sat, Nov 29, 2014, 5:42am (UTC -6)
2.5 stars again? (After the last ep.) Jammer, you're a tough customer sometimes. ;)

I didn't even notice the cheap-looking Romulan bridge - I was more focused on the characters and what the Romulans were doing and thinking.

And yeah the helmets are funny looking, and obviously a cost-saving measure - but Romulan wardrobe has always been funny-looking, even when TNG got a much bigger budget than TOS ever had. Perhaps alien sensibilities cannot be expected to match ours? Perhaps to Romulans, those helmets and, later on, the (to us rather goofy-looking) giant grey quilted shirts with giant shoulder pads look the epitome strength and power. They are a warlike people, after all, plus they are also rigidly heirarchical, so it makes sense that they would value a show of strength and status in their dress. Klingons were never fashion plates either, although their Japanese-inspired uniforms look more badass to our human eyes. And Cardassian fashion is no fashion at all - purely utilitarian and, to us, very ugly. A reflection of their highly militarized, and by human standards, oppressively fascistic culture.

Also: Something in the traditional robes of Vulcan culture harkens back to a common culture with the Romulans. Such clothing is also kind of funny-looking to us, and seems to be very concerned (against the logic of modern Vulcan culture) with a display of status and power (esp. in the resplendent robes T'Pau is wearing, compared with the Vulcan guards around her in "Amok Time"). Romulan culture retained some of that, but their clothing perhaps isn't as strangely beautiful as Vulcan traditional clothing because in leaving Vulcan, as much as they did take the violence and obsession with duty and power, they had no room on their ships for beauty and softness and colourful fabrics, not when riding off to conquer a new home and a new empire for themselves.

Anyway, this episode rates as a 4/4 for me. This calibre of a cat-and-mouse space battle is partly what made "The Wrath of Khan" great some 16 years later, and it makes this episode shine too. The acting on all fronts is spot-on. (And I believe much of the "angst" of the Romulan commander is due to him losing his best and oldest friend so rapidly in battle. And even before that, it might reflect a weariness of not knowing whether he can fulfill his duty while also ferrying him and his crew back to home, alive. Maybe he knows, on some level, that his end is near, and his despair shows). I also thought the b-plot of the never-to-be-married Tomlinson and Martin to be tragic, but also helpful as a window to what operations are like in the lower decks. When Kirk yells "Fire!" on the bridge, what actually has to happen to fire that torpedo? It's evidently not like it is in TNG, when presumably the computer does the firing, and more like a submarine in action. (Which helps with the submarine battle theme).

Anyway, I could go on about this episode, but for me, it's one of the best of Trek, and a real gem of Season 1.
Beth
Sat, Nov 29, 2014, 5:46am (UTC -6)
P.S. It just boggled my mind a bit that there's less distance in time between first season TOS and The Wrath of Khan than there is between the final season of TNG and now. O_O
Timothy
Fri, Feb 6, 2015, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
This episode was almost directly lifted from The Enemy Below; watch the back to back and you can almost make a drinking game out of the similarities.

Concur with the chorus of people that say Jammer had underrated this episode. This is classic Trek and Kirk right here, in fact I'm pretty sure BoT makes the essential ten episodes list for TOS.
lizzzi
Thu, Mar 12, 2015, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
I just watched this episode again after many years, and was glued to the edge of my chair even though I knew what was going to happen. This is a top Trek episode, and deserves at least 3.5 stars…probably 4 stars. The cat-and-mouse game was gripping, and Kirk was at his best as the legendary starship captain in battle. Mark Lenard was warlike but gave a richly-layered performance. Just the fact that this episode introduced the Romulans made it important. Who cares if their helmets looked stupid and their bridge cheesy. The love story with the tragic ending gave some depth and meaning to what the casualties of battle really felt like for the crew. (No disposable red-shirt death of the week this time!) Classic, top-notch Trek. Jammer, I usually agree with your reviews pretty closely, but not this time.
Eli
Sun, Jun 7, 2015, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Very well done episode. Thrilling and captivating. Banter between captains was a highlight. Also Spock's alien ethnicity and the Vulcan connection to Romulans provided added thematic complexity.
Andrea
Sun, Jul 5, 2015, 8:16pm (UTC -6)
I have to agree with everyone else here. I just watched this episode for about the 10 time and still love it. It's epic Trek, along the lines of The Wrath of Khan and worthy of 4 stars. The sets are cheesy but who cares, the plot and acting are great. The is definitely among the top 5 of my favorite Trek episodes period.
Bill
Sat, Aug 1, 2015, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Yep, 4 stars for me. I give it that for all the little things, too, like after the briefing the way Sulu tracks just behind Kirk, both faces grim set in determination--it lasts only a few seconds by I found it captivating both in its effortlessness and its portrayal of a war-time commander with his tactical officer on their way to battle. Or McCoy's counsel to Kirk in his quarters, even as he enters the room maintaining a smile in the midst of the possible horror about to unfold. I guess I was more focused on those aspects than on what hats the Romulans were wearing.
A fellow Kalandan
Tue, Oct 27, 2015, 3:48am (UTC -6)
I watch war movies and so I've seen Run Silent Run Deep and The Enemy Below. And I liked the homage paid to them in this episode.

Lots of action, drama and suspense. This is classic Star Trek and is what makes Wrath of Khan a favorite.

4 stars for this episode my friend
Chris Lindsay
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
I agree with your comment: "The Cold War allegory was certainly timely." The Romulans represent the Soviet Union in this episode; however, "Balance of Terror" has more parallels with The Enemy Below (1957) than Run Silent Run Deep (1958). I read somewhere that the script was loosely based on the Robert Mitchum film. I wrote a short essay on Balance of Terror called "The Doctrine of Proportional Response." If you would like to read it, here is the link.
BeesBill
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 4:02am (UTC -6)
This was a great episode of Star Trek - I have just watched TNG, V, DS9 and Enterprise in that order and this is top 10 material across all ST versions. Taken in the timeframe it was made it ranks even higher, Kirks acting range and way his line 'There's no room for bigotry here' was delivered were compelling viewing. Sometimes less is indeed more - I suspect if that episode were made now we would have had endless drawn out special effects battle scenes - as the technology of the time forces the acting and script to the fore it forces them to be very good to carry an episode. And the final shot of Kirk walking haunt consoled the widow speaks volumes - I'm sure that Patrick Stewart took inspiration from it.
icarus32soar
Tue, Mar 29, 2016, 9:40am (UTC -6)
Who cares about how many stars? This ep is so outstanding it stands alone in a class of its own. Understated, naturally acted even by the hammy Mr Shatner, and Mark Lenard just lights up the screen...much better here than the sulky and stilted Sarek elsewhere. Who cares about the silly sets? That's not what eps like this one are about. The depth of characterisation and the dramatic tension are top notch. Better than some of the feature length movies. ST GLORIOUS ST.
Yanks
Tue, Mar 29, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -6)
BeesBill,

I'm with you. Top 10 Star Trek episode for me too.

Agree Luke, nothing really to nit-pick here. Outstanding trek!!
PackerBronco
Fri, Jun 10, 2016, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Without a doubt, a 4 star episode. Watched it with my kids the other night and they were all set to leave when I said I was going to watch "classic Trek". 45 minutes later they were still there and commented that that was an amazing episode as it concluded. No one cared about cheesy Romulan sets, they were all captivated by the Romulan commander.

BOT is among the best Trek episodes ever of any of the series.
Skeptical
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:46pm (UTC -6)
Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority. Apparently, for Jammer, it's Balance of Terror. Seriously, this is one of the best TOS episodes there is, and certainly the best so far in the series.

Part of it is that this is the first time we see an alien species on par with The Enterprise. Sure, there were the all powerful Talosians and Bartok, also the all powerful, but this is the first real ship to ship battle. This is the first peer to peer battle, not humans justifying themselves against someone more powerful. So it expands the scope of the Trek universe, and does so admirably. We now know what the Enterprise is capable of against an equal crew, and we see how Kirk and company react. Sure, by the time we get to Voyager, this is just standard background stuff they throw in every episode, but for now it feels very fresh.

Part of it is, of course, the performance of Mark Lenard and the Romulan presence. They could have remained enigmas, they could have just been generic villains. But instead, we spent a fair amount of time with them, getting to see different personalities. Sure, they were fairly standard - the eager and blind patriot lieutenant, the aged yet wisened adviser, and the thoughtful, philosophical captain - but Lenard's performance was masterful. He helped to clarify the episode and give depth to the Romulan empire. Watching him doing his duty even when he knew it was wrong, swearing loyalty to leaders he didn't believe in, was immensely satisfying. Even though the morality of the Romulans may be different, you can tell that these are a thoughtful, intellectual people.

As an aside, I'm curious as to the reason why they are a Vulcan offshoot. Trek never did do too much with that relationship (except perhaps the Unification story), and it doesn't add too much to the Romulan people. It seems to exist only as a reason to get Stiles even more riled up against Spock. On the other hand, perhaps it's also there to immediately show that these people are a force to be reckoned with. By now, we know Spock is very intelligent and highly analytical, so presumably it's an immediate hint that the Romulans will be similar.

Meanwhile, I like that there is more going on than just the battle. We see how it affects everyone. We see Stiles still burning with anger. We see Martine struggling with the loss of her fiancee. We see Kirk having to work his hardest to come up with the proper strategies. And we see Spock having virtually no reaction to discovering the Romulans. It focuses the episode rightly on the characters (on both ships), rather than the technical details of the battle itself.

Not that the battle itself was bad, far from it! There was a ton of tension there, particularly when the Romulans fired their weapon on the Enterprise. I like that the two ships were evenly matched, but with different advantages for each. Made the battle more of a battle of wits than just a slug fest. Yes, it was blatantly taken from submarine battles, and that got a bit silly at times (especially the "everyone must be quiet" part), but I think the tension was still there. It's very reminiscent of Wrath of Khan's final battle as well. And really, the mental battle between Kirk and the Romulan matched up fairly well to that between Kirk and Khan, even if the characters have an actual history in the movie.

Enh, I don't have too much more to say. It's just a great episode, y'know?
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:51am (UTC -6)
@ Skeptical,

I must agree about this episode; it's not just great, it's superb. The entire thing is riveting, and the tension is really there. The characters the pacing, everything, as well as meeting a new foe that seemed almost stronger than the Federation ships.

Not that much is done about the Vulcan offshoot thing, but it subtly tell us that these people are as super-intelligent and even strong as Vulcans, but that unlike Vulcans are also wild and prone to temper and deception. In other words, they're pre-Surak Vulcans who are pretty much out of control. I like that tone a lot, because it does put the spotlight on Spock regarding this, and actually even a threat contained within, since in principle if Spock and other Vulcans dropped the logic lifestyle they could have turned out just like the warlike Romulans.

Mark Lenard as well - brilliant. I give this one 4 stars outright, and it's in my top 20 list for all Trek series combined. Top 2 for TOS (along with The Enterprise Incident). I might have to think about that some more but I think it's those two.
Robert
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 9:03am (UTC -6)
"Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority. "

That would make a fun chat topic. Pick the most beloved episode that you hate and the most hated episode that you love.

I'd definitely pick "Genesis" for the second category. I don't know if I hate any beloved episodes, I'll have to think about it.
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Challenge accepted.

Most beloved episode that I hate:
Hmmm...that's a surprisingly tough one. I'd probably have to go with TNG's "Conspiracy"; a surprising number of people seem to like it, but I don't.

Most hated episode that I love:
Definitely TNG's "Genesis" for me too. I enjoyed it despite the many scientific implausibilities.
Robert
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
I think Conspiracy gets graded on a curve. It was really decent for S1.
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
For Robert's challenge:

Beloved episode that I hate: Nothing satisfies this exact category but a beloved episode that I think is middling, at any rate, is "The City on the Edge of Forever." It's decent, a bit dated, and certainly has its oddities that don't quite work (such as Bones and Kirk ending up in the exact same building by coincidence). The message is classic sci-fi, but also not even as visionary as a lot of TOS episodes that take their premise in stride rather than announcing it through a proxy. One or two great scenes with Kirk and Spock but otherwise I think a lot of this was overtrumped on account of getting a name actress involved.

Most hated that I love: DS9's "Fascination." Call me crazy but I think it's a lot of fun and gave the actors a chance to goof off in a good way. A few classic moments from Sisko (when Bareil tries to hit him) and Odo (deadpan look when Lwaxana 'dances' with him), and otherwise has such a strange energy from Brook's direction that I can see how it would be off-putting for those who prefer the more standard DS9 tone. This is DS9's version of "The Naked Time/Now", I guess, but where it's about sex for everyone.
Robert
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -6)
I could do a beloved episode I find middling. I don' t think I hate any beloved episodes.

I find some of the fanatical love for Frame of Mind to be baffling. The direction/atmosphere/music/acting are all amazing, but I think the episode fails to be more than the sum of it's parts. It's a really well presented, but ultimately unsatisfying dish.
Yanks
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Robert:

"Everyone has an episode that they are in complete opposite opinion of the vast majority."

Worst: VOY: 'Threshold'. Universally hated, despised, spat upon.... I graded it a 2.5 on Jammer's scale. Only the ending was bad, that episode actually got an award! :-)

Best: I haven't reviewed everything yet, but DS9: 'Rapture' comes to mind. for Jammer this is a 4-star episode. for me, 1 star. (and I was nice)
Robert
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -6)
@Yanks - Bold choices! I still hate Threshold, but I'm sorry I do because RDM does amazing character work.
Chrome
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Let's not overhype Threshold's award here. It was for make-up, not storytelling. No one is complaining about the makeup. :)
William B
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Most hated episode I love: I've talked before about how I am very attached to parts of Descent, though I'm aware of its serious flaws. There are some other eps I feel could have been fixed with a few small rewrites.

Most loved episode I hate: uh. Yeah, I don't think I hate any beloved episodes, but some leave me somewhat cold. I'll have to think what the best example probably is. Homefront didn't do that much for me this rewatch (Paradise Lost flowed much better for me).
Chrome
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 11:44am (UTC -6)
I actually like TNG's "Genesis" despite the science being awfully flawed. It's still a good hour-long horror show, and at least there's fun Sci-Fi "what-if" type concepts with various animal-human combinations floating around.

As for dislikes of loved episodes? DS9's finale is probably near the top of that list. Hugely disappointing on so many fronts. It's actually not a bad episode per se, it's just that it falls short of potential so many times that I wish they'd just scrapped it and rewrote the ending. Like, the war ends in a 20 second conversation the audience CAN'T hear. Sisko did not deserve to die, or is he in purgatory? Who knows? Oh, and finally, why was Bajor's Federation question never brought up?
William B
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
I wonder whether What You Leave Behind counts as a "most beloved" episode -- not to dispute you, Chrome, because certainly a lot of people love it. But it does seem to me to be pretty controversial, and, indeed, maybe even viewed more negatively in the current thread than positively. I can kind of see both takes on it -- while I was in the middle of DS9, I was pretty convinced I would dislike the finale from what I remembered, but it ended up working okay for me, though not great.
Chrome
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 1:33pm (UTC -6)
@William B

Well, I was looking more at the Jammer scale (since people on this site tend to agree with Jammer) and he gave it a nice 3.5 stars.

If had to pick a runner up, I'd go with DS9's "The Children of Time" from recent memory. It's a cool sci-fi time concept, but I think the crew is way too easily convinced to side with the temporal civilization. A lot of commenters go on about the "6000 lives" figure which justify them staying, but all of those lives are there *by mistake* to begin with, and there's no way to calculate how many more thousands of lives were lost by the DS9 crew not returning. It's a safe bet that in fair conditions with access to the Federation that crew will naturally live on to create 10 to 100s of thousands of people through their families over a couple centuries.

So even using Spock "needs of the many" logic, the crew was doing the right thing by trying to get off the planet.
Robert
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Enough of the fan base considers DS9's finale to be as good as All Good Things as far as I can tell. For me, even though I'm a Niner, I'll admit to liking AGT more, but WYLB is really perfect to me.

I love Vic's song, I love Odo/Kira's ending, I love Jake staring out the wormhole, I love Bashir/O'Brien, I love Garak/Bashir, I love Damar's end...

I really get why some people don't like the end to the war. It's a bit rushed, but ok for me. In the end the conversation basically amounted to "Your people will go extinct if you don't end this." And I could see almost anyone agreeing to that.

Dukat is the weak point for me, and I usually am a fan of the Prophets and such. I even loved Kai Winn's arc. Although it's not AGT fault, I think DS9 ends better than any other Trek except TOS. TNG ends with Nemesis, ENT with the Pegasus retcon, VOY with Endgame and TOS with "second star on the right and all til morning". 2nd place isn't so bad.
Peter G.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
You can count me in amongst those who find WYLB to be "perfect" as Robert said. In that light, I'm happy for it to be categorized as "beloved" :)

(I think it and "All Good Things..." are equal to each other in quality)
William B
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Well certainly WYLB is *beloved*. This is undeniable. "Most beloved" has a certain something else. I think it lacks the near-universality acclaim among fans that, say, AGT has. OTOH, if we consider "most beloved" by how intensely it is loved and by how many, WYLB would certainly qualify, even if (using this site as guide) it has a higher proportion of detractors than AGT or Balance of Terror or something like In the Pale Moonlight (which of course has detractors too, just at a lower rate).
Skeptical
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 9:32pm (UTC -6)
Heh, actually Peter, while I agree 100% on the fact that the Romulans being a Vulcan offshoot means they're highly intelligent, the fact that they AREN'T prone to emotional outbursts is one of the things I was thinking about when I mentioned that Trek never did much with this relationship. I'd consider the Klingons (even pre-Viking TOS Klingons) more of an emotional race than the Romulans. They seem to be fairly measured in their actions in practically every engagement we've seen.

This, to me, seems to suggest that the Vulcan claim that only pure suppression of emotion can control their emotions is wrong. The Romulans can clearly do it without resorting to pure logic. So how do they do it? I think there might be some external suppression from the government that acts as a substitute for the Vulcan's internal suppression. By keeping society rigid, the Romulans impose a sense of order on the people and tell them where their place is. The lack of freedom combined with a strong patriotic fervor towards that system leaves the Romulans with less of an outlet for their emotions. As such, they remain placated. Even the upper class can keep emotions in control by being loyal to the state, so even though they may have more freedoms than the lower classes they also end up with more of a reason to maintain the desired order. An unwillingness of anyone to upset the Romulan State is enough to keep everyone in line. This even seems to be the case with Mark Lenard here. He clearly hates his mission and could fly off the handle because of it, but his sworn sense of duty prevents it.

Of course, this is only a hypothesis on my part, as it is never mentioned in the various series. That's one thing I would have liked to have seen explored.

As for the other topic:

While I have issues with Tapestry and Chain of Command, two beloved classics, I still like both of them. So instead, I think the one I disagree with the most is DS9's The Visitor. Maybe it was a deep and emotional story, but the framing narrative (It was a dark and stormy night. Inside was the wizened old brilliant author who only published one story, because that's totally how authors work. He is visited by a young, attractive, wide eyed novice writer on accident who just so happens to be his biggest fan! And on the night when the wizened old author is planning to meet his destiny, no less) made my eyes roll so fast I simply couldn't concentrate on the rest. The fact that I was never a big fan of Jake probably didn't help either.

On the flip side, I will go with TNG's Emergence. Sure, it's dumb, but I was just happy to spend some time with the crew working out a very silly problem. Also, while I do think Threshold is downright awful, I don't think it is its own special category of atrociousness that a lot of fans seem to put it in. Not that that's saying much...
Peter G.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
@ Skeptical,

I've thought about the Romulan/Vulcan thing from time to time, and I like your theory. I wonder, though, whether people wouldn't boil over frequently if they really were that emotional, fear or no fear. Creating a contained, boiling cauldron seems like a recipe for chaos. But on the other hand, the Romulan commanders we see do appear to be extremely measured, beginning with Mark Lenard and the commander in "The Enterprise Incident", who are both passionate but in control, and ending in DS9 where the Romulans are downright stonefaces who reveal almost no emotion at all other than disdain. So I'm not that inclined to believe either one of two things: 1) That the Vulcans are telling the whole truth about how emotional they are without logic, or 2) That the Romulans are at present identical to the Vulcans. I prefer (2), and my suggested explanation for this is that while the Romulans left to avoid being forced to adopts the teachings of Surak, they still experienced the old emotional problems upon reaching Romulus. Since they have no problems with violence, I would expect they massacred every Romulan who was overly emotional, in a long term eugenics plan to weed out the most emotional of them and breed calmer people. The Romulans we know may be passionate, but barely more so than Humans, and hardly the maniacs we see during the Pon Farr.

Regarding your other point about "The Visitor":

"Inside was the wizened old brilliant author who only published one story, because that's totally how authors work."

Jake in the episode is a deliberate reference to J.D. Salinger, who shares exactly the features you just described; was famous for exactly one book, which was a classic, went into seclusion for unspecified reasons, and wouldn't allow interviews once he did. This episode is a kind of "what if" nifty sci-fi explanation for why such an acclaimed author would quit writing. To study subspace physics and save his father, of course :)

Chrome
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 11:05am (UTC -6)
@William B

You're right, WYLB is definitely not as beloved by fans as "Duet", "Improbable Cause" or even "Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges". But it's really hard for me to complain about classics like those. I feel like I'm nitpicking shows that don't deserve it when there are *really* bad ones out there that do.
Paul M.
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Ooooh, best/worst debates! I'm always up for those!

Worst episode I love (or at least enjoy): Genesis of course! It's so corny, silly, stupid, and outrageous that it's actually phenomenally fun. For the same reason I have a soft spot for a lot of TNG Season 1 episodes. They are generally so goofy that I can't help but be entertained.

Most beloved episode that I hate (or am cold towards): First Contact (TNG episode). I dunno, its clinical and dry hand-wringing morality always leaves me blase and eager to move on. I Borg is another. Very didactic and ponderous. I can't stand all those childlike kindergarten lessons with Hugh.
RJ
Mon, Oct 17, 2016, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
When I see 2/5 stars for this episode, most of my respect for Jammer's opinion vanished.
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
That's a little harsh, no? Even a good umpire occasionally makes a bad call.
Robert
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
@Jammer - Agreed! Are you admitting it's a bad call though? I'm curious... considering we were playing our little game above.

I really like the episode, but if it was only alright for you, I can respect that. I mean... it's not like you gave it a 1.
Peter G.
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
In Jammer's defence, while I don't agree at all with the rating, at the same time I think it might be incorrect to construe the rating as an absolute standard on the 'objective' quality of the episode. If there was such a standard, and if Jammer's rating meant that, then perhaps a case could be made that he got it 'wrong.' However I take review ratings to be a combination of personal enjoyment and satisfaction from the episode, as well as some objective criteria as well (design, production values, editing, internal logic, etc.).

For example, I noticed that Jammer's reviews tend to take the series' strengths and weaknesses into account, which already suggests to me they are not meant to be absolutely objective. There are episodes of Voyager which have the same rating as TNG episodes that are simply far more enjoyable. But when reviewing Voyager it seems that the standard shifted in the direction of "are they trying something new? are they taking a step in the right direction? Is this something that helps the characterizations more than we usually get?" In such cases the rating seems to reflect Jammer's satisfaction that the writers were making strides that he appreciated. Objectively, the episode may still be inferior to a TNG episode of the 'same calibre', but again, the rating isn't an objective scale.

I'm not at all disturbed that Jammer sometimes likes or dislikes episodes that I don't. Although to be fair in this case I disagree strongly, but hey man, to each their own.
Jammer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
@Peter G: I would say that there really is no such thing as an "objective" review. My reviews are all probably subjective. I try to be "fair" to the degree that I can, but it's all ultimately a sum of my overall feelings.

@Robert: I haven't seen this episode in many years, but I can't shake the feeling that I might have gotten this one wrong and that I might have a different reaction today. I am certainly willing to go against the general consensus, but I don't know that this would still be one of them.
Robert
Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 8:04am (UTC -6)
@Peter G. - I believe part of the reason that the reviews of the different shows seem to be a bit different, and sometimes be very subjective in the context of where they lie in the season/series is because DS9/VOY/ENT were done "live" while the show was running and TOS/TNG wasn't.

It's really a totally different measure how something affects you on the first run. I can tell you that I'd personally rate both "The Nagus" and "Broken Link" lower now than on the first run. "The Nagus" because Rom's characterization feels so WRONG to someone who's seen the whole show and "Broken Link" because the Odo is human and Gowron is a changeling both felt like such huge OMGWTF!!!! reveals and then neither of them really stuck. Gowron wasn't a changeling, Odo isn't as human as he seemed and the next episode was really good (a personal favorite for me even now) but it didn't seem to pay off "Broken Link" in the way that I was hoping for. I'd still probably give it a 3, but at the time I might have felt like 3.5 or 4. Likewise episodes that I might have rated abysmally like the yawn-fest that is "Storyteller" is worth a drop more now because of the glimmer of the start of the O'Brien/Bashir friendship.

And as to Balance of Terror... well I agree with Jammer. You can't have totally objective reviews because those would be wrong. I actually think Balance of Terror is not, objectively, as good as people think it is. The individual parts amount to a 3, whereas people rate it 3.5 or 4 regularly. I don't think the individual parts add up to that mathematically. Instead the factor of subjectivity allows acknowledging when an episode somehow adds up to more or less than the sum of it's parts. And I think this episode is one of those. I'd probably boost it from a 3 to a 3.5 for that "je ne sais quoi". As an example of the opposite I've always felt that "Where No One Has Gone Before" had some nice moments but was ultimately less than the sum of it's parts (I'd probably knock it from a 2.5 to a 2).

I think that if you don't allow for subjectivity in your reviews one would do a disservice to those episodes that have an extra special charm or whatnot, that'd you'd miss if you tried to be totally objective. Obviously subjectivity should be within a range (I'd say a range of about a star). I mean... if Jammers gives something a 1 I think it's fair to interpret that to the fact that he thinks it objectively sucks. Whereas a 2.5 could certainly be objectively decent but not the reviewers cup of tea. Earl Grey. Hot.
Capn Quirk
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
RE “Strangely, as deeply as I respect Mark Lenard as an actor, I thought he was missing a bit of an edge …”

Strider (yeah I know its an early post, but I don’t see any other responses!), I categorically disagree. Claiming Lenard’s commander –who use more varied types of tactics than any other military commander depicted in Star Trek, jettisoned his friend and ultimately detonated his whole ship and crew- was not a decisive officer or lacked do-whats –necessary is just not justifyable. The one decision change we saw was despite his character, not because of it. That’s the whole point.

History is replete w/brilliant military commanders who doubted their political leaders’ motives but did their duty as they saw it (Rommel comes to mind) – a weakness not of a person but of a system of thought (the “leader principle” our Starfleet officers referred to in the ep).

Lenard’s commander was just the sort wily survivor that sometimes makes it to the top in a system fraught with intrigue. A 2-dimensional full-speed-ahead character – like his foolish lieutenant who blackmailed the commander into ordering the final attack that got them all killed in the end – would not have lasted anywhere near as long against Kirk, and the ep would have sucked – both because we ‘d miss a good battle and –more importantly- because we’d miss a good point:

A flawed system fails because it forces its most brilliant people to do dumb things against their better judgement –with tragic results and tremendous suffering. This ep makes that point eloquently –in Lenard’s hands, it borders on poetry- with a study in contrast between Kirk’s fate and the Romulan’s.

The irony of a commander sacrificing everything –even desecrating his oldest friend’s corpse- to turn defeat into a measure of victory (bringing his ship and crew home safely after destroying enemy bases, with a report of new military information) …only to be thwarted by an upstart big dumb thug whose only strength is that he has the ear of an even bigger thug back home- was handled with almost Shakespearian subtlety, grace, even poetry in Mark Lenard’s hands.

..and its a theme we’d better reacquaint ourselves with in the age of Putin and Trump. This story is just as timely now as it was in 1966.
Capn Quirk
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Jammer, I agree with most of your criticisms but categorically disagree with your conclusions. Sure, the sets and props reflect the limits of the art at that time – what of it? It was by far the best of its era (1966, remember? It came on between Gomer Pyle and McHale’s Navy…) and in fact a lot of gee-whiz-effects on their bridge would only have distracted from the story, which was not about technology, or even mainly about introducing the Romulans or the tragedy of war or racism (tho it juggled all those subplots quite adroitly in the time frame allowed).

I don’t think his thoughtfulness was under-utilized so much as it was easy to miss subtle points. I’ve been watching this ep periodically for 40 years and I’m still seeing details I missed before.

He wasn’t doubting his service’s usefulness, he was hinting at doubts about the uses to which it was being put by leaders more interested in their own glory than the well-being of their people.
The limited nature of the picture they had of each other was not an oversight, it was part of the point. (side points: limits on communication is counterproductive… and great minds will overcome barriers).
These two men never knew each others’ name, yet knew each other more intimately than a lover. “He’s a sorcerer, that one. He reads my thoughts”. I don’t think the potential for greatness was unrealized. I think it was quite realized – its just a bit too subtle for TV – a line Star Trek was famous for flirting with, from the first moment.

The stress on the battle (which was quite sparing on special effects shots, compared to modern fare– conveying the necessary points with great economy) was not only entertaining but necessary to make the point that, over and over in a game of military chess, these commanders were evenly matched … that one of them lost everything not because he was out-thought but because he was trapped in a dysfunctional system – one talented man prospered under a good system, another equally talented man was destroyed by a bad one.

This story (and its multiple complementary sub-stories so smoothly interwoven that its easy to miss just how much was comfortably fit into 45 minutes.. even ten second ones like between Rand and the Captain, or our favorite black woman officer taking the helm with authority in the midst of battle –aired in 1966! when there were still "colored" signs on bathrooms!) was so strong that, even with some production flaws, it was not only one of the best of TOS and all Star Trek, it was one of the best in the history of TV. It deserves all 4 stars, or at the very least 3.5 … and another look from you, Jammer.
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
I see to fall somewhere between Jammer and then the rest of you guys because I don't think it's as mediocre as Jammer does but I don't think it is as outstanding as the rest. I'd give it 3 stars--it's a good but not great hour. I actually appreciate it more thanks to Star Trek Enterprise's prequel Romulan and Vulcan threads from its fourth season. The episode takes on more significance as a piece in the bigger Trek tapestry. As far as the episode on its own it does tend to drag in spots and loses some of its tension and urgency. But overall it's a pretty entertaining hour but I wouldn't consider it a classic hour.
Trek fan
Wed, Jan 11, 2017, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Let me add my voice to the consensus that Jammer "called this one wrong" and should re-review or re-review it, as he's done on other Trek series reviews and could easily do here. I happen to agree with him that this one is a bit overrated. But if you take Jammer's comment that reviews are relative to a given Trek series at face value, how does "Wink of an Eye" get the same rating as "Balance of Terror" in any universe? Seriously, Jammer, let's get on it: Time for you to re-rate this one.

Personally, I agree with the substance of Jammer's review outside of the star rating, but I would give this one 3 or maybe even 3 1/2 stars. Yes, it's a bit slow and talky, but it's also a tightly wound story that unfolds perfectly on its own terms. The message about prejudice and respecting one's enemy remains strong. BoT is an antiwar allegory with cold war overtones, not unlike many of the self-serious DS9 "war episodes" that Jammer goes ape over.

To my mind, all Trek "war episodes" in this style are of a piece: Slightly derivative message shows which revel in war movie cliches. Qualitatively, they're all the same thing, more or less, with varying levels of success. And "Balance," I think, handles ethics of war themes better than DS9 episodes like the Siege of AR-whatever and that episode where Jake is a hospital orderly on a battlefield of Klingons. Those shows put me to sleep; "Balance," while not as exciting a "TOS tactical action show with moral message" as "Doomsday Machine," presents Mark Lenard in a riveting turn and features a powerful B-story with the doomed Tomlinson couple and bigoted Styles. Also, the amount of universe building with the introduction of the Romulans and cloaking device is noteworthy, as well as the addition to Spock's Vulcan back story. Yet the main theme is really what people find compelling: This is adult stuff here, portrayed sincerely in classic Trek fashion -- and even though I agree with Jammer that BoT isn't a four-star classic, primarily because it gets lost in its own battle tactics, I think it deserves more stars than this piddling rating, which equals what Jammer gave to several middling 3rd Season outings.
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
To paraphrase Spock, the reviews of the many outweigh the reviews of the one!

Several contributors pointed out correctly that more advanced effects would have detracted from the plot. One of the wonderful things about the original series is that the writing and directing were often so good, that years later you can watch an episode like Balance of Terror and think "this time they may not get out of it" even though you have seen the show countless times before
Rahul
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Definitely one of the best Trek episodes. It's riveting and there's not much one can shake a stick at.
A number of themes at play -- it's interesting Star Trek introduces the Romulans before the Klingons as it seemed to me the latter would turn out to be the primary ongoing threat to the Federation.
In any case, so much to like about this episode that clearly served as a model for parts of Wrath of Khan, the best ST movie ever.
Kirk's handling of Stiles' bigotry is excellent, his admission to McCoy of the pressure of command in their heart-to-heart adds a human dimension to the battle, Lenard as Romulan commander ultimately showing respect for his adversary and the conflicts between his philosophy and the Romulan Empire's, so much to love about this episode.
I guess the Enterprise is quite lucky with firing phasers (though they came out as photon torpedoes) and getting away from the Romulan plasma torpedo. But what's interesting about the battle is each starship has its strengths and weaknesses.
The side story of the wedding and Spock saving Stiles' life is weaved in perfectly.
No question one of the best Trek episodes. For me 4/4 stars.
There_Is_Coffee_In_That_Nebular
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 7:58am (UTC -6)
I have been reading your comments for a long time now, Jammer. Whenever I watched an episode of TNG/DS9/VOY/TOS on various rewatch-sessions, I always came to your site to read the reviews and the comments.
And on various occasions I found myself in disagreement. But it's always great to read other opinions.
So, thank you for this site!

I just couldn't restrain myself, when I saw the Best/MostHated thread, even if I'm a bit late...

So Loved-by-all-and-hated-by-me: Definitely "The Magnificent Ferengi"- I really hate that episode. It's disguisting that our heroes humiliate a corpse and play around with it. Just think how it would feel, if the Dominion would use Siskos body in such a way! I know it's played for laughs, but for me it's not funny in any way...
Just sick!

In the Hated-and-loved-by-me-category: Many Voy-episodes, as I love that series and also its serial character. Love many of the crew and also many of the themes. One of my favourite episodes is "Virtuoso", which is IMHO funny and deeply sad at the same time.

Regarding BoT: just watched it now in a personal rerun: I like the almost poetic moments of both the romulan commander and Kirk. I have my problems with TOS in general, as its sexism is really bothering me. But there are some episodes, which I can enjoy.
Phillip
Mon, Mar 20, 2017, 10:56am (UTC -6)
"Balance of Terror" is one of the few episodes where we really get the sense that Enterprise is a deep-space battle cruiser with a complement of 430 well-trained, highly-motivated men and women, each of whom comes with his or her backstory. All too often we were left with the impression the ship was being run solely by Kirk and his command staff.

Favorite moments: Kirk turning to Scotty on the bridge, the latter anticipating his captain's wish for better than flank speed and assuring him "I've already spoken with my engine room, sir." How characteristic of Mr. Scott to take a proprietary attitude toward "his" engine room.

The interplay between Angela and the coverall-clad gunnery techs on the phaser deck as they bring the weapons on-line. I especially like the one with the creased face and sparse hair; he looks the part of a lowly but indispensable noncom serving his third hitch in Starfleet. Can't help but wish Classic Trek had depicted women entrusted with Fire Control and other critical assignments more frequently. Speaking of which...there's the moment when Uhura leaves her console to pinch-hit for Stiles, the clear implication being she's cross-trained in Navigation and is more than a glorified switchboard operator. Here again, too bad we didn't see more of that.

The dialogue between the Romulan CO and his exec, both war-weary and cynical, both rightly wary of the strutting Decius and his bloodlust. (Side note: Lawrence Montaigne, who played Decius, died yesterday at age 86. RIP) These scenes evoke the byplay between Curt Jurgens and Theodore Bikel in "The Enemy Below," just as Kirk seeking reassurance from McCoy echoes Robert Mitchum confiding in his medical officer. Paul Schneider obviously sat through this movie more than once.

Stiles undergoing his Road to Damascus moment as he realizes Spock saved his life, a scene rescued from bathos by Spock's bland explanation he acted not out of sentiment but to spare himself the trouble of finding a replacement navigator. Kirk's rueful glance at Spock and McCoy after Yeoman Rand brings word Starfleet will back any command decision he makes.

There are one or two roll-your-eyes moments (Kirk embracing Rand as the plasma bolt bears down on them? No one suggesting they dodge it by going into warp?)
But on the whole a superior episode, ranking among the best of Season One.
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
I have to join the chorus, and feel that Jammer underrated this episode. (I do enjoy Jammer's reviews, and it is interesting to see comments from other people giving their opinions on various episodes.)

I think this is one of the best Star Trek TOS episodes. A lot of drama, and excellent acting from Mark Lenard. I would give it 4 stars.
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 10:46pm (UTC -6)
Re the question about beloved episodes that you hate and hated episodes that you loved.

I can't think of any beloved episodes that I hate. I do think "Mirror, Mirror" and "The City on the Edge of Forever" are slightly overrated, but still very good episodes.

Two episodes that most people think are really bad are "Spock's Brain" and "Move Along Home". I don't love these episodes, but I do think they are better than most people give them credit for.
She Wolf
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
I agree with a lot of the comments made, and won't belabor than by repeating them. This is indeed one of the best Star Trek episodes and rewatching it recently confirmed my opinion.

Some comments have been made about the style of helmets. Other than the obvious, which somebody already mentioned, was that the helmets were to prevent the expense of making everyone with ears. Aside from that, references to the founders of Rome by naming the planets Romulus and Remus, it is clear that someone based the Romulans on the Roman Empire. The references to Centurion, Decius, Centurion, etc make it clear. If you look back at history you'll see Romans wore this type of helmet at one point.

On the other topic, I think the episode The City on the Edge of Forever is overrated. It's not that it's a bad episode, but to state it is the best Star Trek episode of all time is going too far, in my opinion. I think it gains its reputation because it was written by Harlan Ellison. Even though a lot of it was rewritten after his original draft, I think a lot of people elevated to the best because of his reputation.

As an episode I don't particularly care for, the one I would nominate is Shore Leave . When I was a kid I really enjoyed this episode, but when I watch it as an adult it just seems a little bit silly. And Kirk's fight with Finnegan went on way too long and was just boring. I think probably Shatner pushed this idea to celebrate his machismo. I think that the idea was interesting, but it wasn't executed very well.
Derek
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
One of my all-time favorite episodes of all the series. Definitely a 4 out of 4 for me.
Alex
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 12:23am (UTC -6)
The only plot hole in this episode is that the Romulan ship supposedly only has impulse engines. How would it traverse the entire distance from Romulus to the edge of the Neutral Zone w/o warp? Chalk it up to 'early Trek problems'.
Vladimir Estragon
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 12:26am (UTC -6)
I'm immensely entertained by "The Way to Eden." I groove on the music, especially the songs by Charles Napier (lead singer and driver of the Winnebago). I also laugh at how Kirk and Scott, despite being on a mission to seek out new life, display nothing but revulsion for a bunch of space hippies. And Kirk sulks at being called Herbert. Spock, meanwhile, is down with the scene entirely. I also find Spock's acknowledgment of his mixed background to be so poignant: "They regard themselves as aliens in their own worlds – a condition with which I am somewhat familiar."
Trek fan
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
As I rewatch all of the TOS episodes in order on DVD for the first time, I realize that I underrated this episode in my January comments here. It's easily 3 1/2 or 4 stars. There is just so much going on this episode that is effortlessly blended together in a tense space battle thriller: Debates about preemptive war, bigotry, personal loss, heroism, resentment, war weariness, the hope of peace, Cold War, demilitarized zones, Roman-style aliens related to Vulcans, marriage, funerals, deception, friendship, submarine warfare, history, and so on find their way into the script. And yet all of the world-building feels effortless as the cat-and-mouse battle with the Romulan ship gradually escalates into something tense and thrilling.

When I first saw this episode as a kid, I thought it was one of the greatest TV episodes I ever saw. I was especially struck by Mark Lenard's angst as a military commander with doubts about the justness of his cause, a classic theme for late 1960s America, and by Kirk's similar doubts about the effects that retaliating against the Romulans will have. Say what you will about TOS, but there was a genuine desire for peace and distaste of war on this show that was lost in Trek sometime after TNG, to the point where the Star Trek Discovery main character (mild spoiler) is urging her captain to shoot first and ask questions later on last night's pilot premiere. Unfortunately, this episode was also the the only one I owned (on VHS!) for many years, and I rewatched it so many times that I lost my taste for it. But seeing it again in order makes me realize it's really, really good in all respects.

What more can I say? Balance of Terror is a multi-layered allegory about war, bigotry, revenge, and the sneaky use of barely-legal weapons (invisibility screen for ships) in covert operations. We pick up the vibe of the Romulan culture in their shipboard scenes in this first episode, but we also learn about their relationship to Vulcans and many other key things in the Star Trek universe. This is really the first tactical ship battle episode in Star Trek history, giving us a nautical flavor right from the opening speech by Kirk about wooden ship captains -- comparisons to Wrath of Khan feel right to me -- and is the only episode thus far outside of "Corbomite" to feature a shipbound space adventure with an alien ship threat. It's the first episode where we see the ship fire phasers, this time in proximity bursts which feel more like the gunshot-style phasers we see in JJ Abrams reboot Trek. And this one gives all the regulars (except for Chekhov, who won't join us until Season Two) some nice things to do in the ensemble, while also leaving room for touching moments with the guest stars (Tomlinson, Styles, and Tomlinson's fiancée) and a minor bit for Rand. McCoy's scene with Kirk, paralleling the Romulan commander and centurion, shows how both commanders desire peace but are locked into a death struggle that may promote war if they're to do their job right -- very tragic and sad. The final speech by the Romulan commander before he ends the battle remains eloquent and moving in its simplicity and directness.
Trek fan
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 11:50pm (UTC -6)
PS -- To correct myself, I know the Enterprise fired phasers in Corbomite to destroy the warning buoy, but Balance is the first time we really see them in action extensively. It's also the first time we see them fired in short bursts with detonation power. And we get the Neutral Zone and cloaking devices here, even though Enterprise and Discovery will later contradict this episode by saying the Klingons (who never had it in the TOS era until Star Trek III) and Romulans had invisibility long before the original series.
hilberseimer
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 5:34pm (UTC -6)


guilty pleasure: 1st season of TNG. Yes, the storytelling is bad. But the concepts are bold and the whole is just a fun mess, opposed to more than often well crated, but boring quadrant diplomacy / new age touchy-feely narratives of later seasons. Especially the first season feels like a crossover between TOS and 90s star trek. And if I have to choose, I side with bold sci fi concepts and melodrama rather than space diplomacy and character development.

overrated: agree with TCONTEOF, but also TNG The best of both worlds. It is fine, and the first part is thrilling, but depends too much on the cliffhanger, after which it rapidly loses dynamics. It also marks a change in the storytelling as described above

Trent
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Tense, fast-paced and featuring a great villain, Balance of Terror is for me the greatest Trek "ship combat episode". The remastered cut in particular is excellent, with its gorgeous comet effects and CGI ship models.
Lennie K.
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 2:16am (UTC -6)
You know what I love in this episode? The exchange between Kirk and Commander Hansen on Outpost 5. I don't know who the actor was who played Hansen, but I think he was great! I also loved the technical detail. "We're a mile deep, on an asteroid of almost solid iron, and even through our deflectors it did this!" It takes vivid imagination, and an attention to detail to write dialogue like that. "And then it fired something at us, some form of high energy plasma. Fantastic power." I just loved that scene, just seems so authentic.

The acting in the original Star Trek was fantastic, as was the music. The music was amazing too, still the best in the history of television in my opinion. Thanks Jammer for providing this forum.
Marcus
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Interesting that Spock is so quick to slander the romulans. His suggestion that they might be "savages" because (apparently) his ancestor were like that a very long time ago makes about as much sense as trying to make predictions about the behavior of modern day italians on the basis of ancient roman history.

I also didn't buy the manufactured tension between Spock and that silly crewman. In a universe with so many aliens outwardly identical to humans why would the notion of vulcan- looking aliens be so shocking?

Well, at least we got to see a duel between two "brilliant" starship commanders trying to outmanoeuvre each other with dazzling tactics such as: "playing dead", "hiding behind asteroids", "shooting at random and actually hitting something in space"etc.
Steve
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -6)
Having seen this episode for the first time today, my jaw dropped when I saw Sarek as a Romulan commander! I wonder if people were similarly shocked and reminded of this episode when seeing the actual Sarek character for the first time.

Great episode. My favorite so far. There's so many interesting facets.
Spock and Sulu are superlative in this one.

I enjoyed the Romulan commander's ordeal. Watching him be outmanoevered yet still show his respect for his adversary was great. I do regret the writer's decision to kill the character though. I get the sentiment behind the choice, but there was the potential for a great rivalry here in future episodes, had they given the character a name and a means of escape.
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 2:16pm (UTC -6)
Decent episode. Why were they behaving as if sound could propegate across space while both waiting for the other to make a move.
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
?

Submit a comment





Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.