Jammer's Review

Star Trek: The Next Generation

"Haven"

**1/2

Air date: 11/30/1987
Teleplay by Tracy Torme
Story by Tracy Torme and Lan O'Kun
Directed by Richard Compton

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

In the series' first romantic comedy of sorts, Troi is scheduled to meet for the first time her husband-to-be, Wyatt Miller (Robert Knepper), as suggested by a traditional Betazoid arranged marriage. This allows viewers (not to mention Picard) to meet for the first time Deanna's piece-of-work mother, Lwaxana (Majel Barrett), who quite simply never stops talking. It also forces Riker to confront his feelings for Troi, which he buried in order to focus on his career (a backstory point that could by no means be an ancient cliche, right?).

"Haven" plays more like an episode from a later TNG season, with more focus on character and less on TNG-season-one cliches like superbeings. That's a good thing. What's not a good thing is the purely forgettable nature of the story. Who honestly believes, for one second, that Troi is going to marry Wyatt and leave the Enterprise? They're cordial to each other and both think the other is a nice person, but they have nothing in common. Oh, and Wyatt has had dreams since childhood of another woman. (Yeah, this is going to last.)

On a collision course with this storyline is a Tarellian vessel — a surprise to the Enterprise crew since all the Tarellians were thought to have died in a war years ago. Destiny is fulfilled when Wyatt realizes his dream woman is actually aboard the Tarellian ship, which is a very tidy piece of plotting business.

What keeps the episode pleasant is the amusing banter that revolves around Lwaxana. Lwaxana can certainly be an annoying-as-hell character, as evidenced in later episodes in the series, but in "Haven" there's just enough of her — without going too far — to convey the point of this overly verbal woman who insists upon being an in-your-face presence and somehow still remains essentially likable.

Previous episode: Hide and Q
Next episode: The Big Goodbye

Season Index

10 comments on this review

Matt L. - Fri, Jun 12, 2009 - 3:16am (USA Central)
I just finished watching Haven and just wanted to say that there are some fantastic comedic moments in this episode. I think my favorite may very well be the bit with Picard carrying Luxwana's luggage. Check out Picard's facial expressions as this scene plays out...priceless (almost as priceless as the look on his face when she beams off the ship at the end of the episode).

Yeah, the plot is forgettable...but who cares? It's a fun episode that your review takes waaaaay too seriously if you ask me.
Corey - Fri, Apr 20, 2012 - 4:44pm (USA Central)
I too, personally found this episode pleasant. I think it had good production values, and certainly like this one more than the previous ones, except Hide and Q. I would put it at 3 stars.

Jammer didn't mention this, but there's serious reason to doubt the character's motivations and actions, which could have been avoided with a little more thought on the character's thoughts and actions. What I mean is, that Wyatt said he's had this image of a woman for years -- yet he never bothered to confirm or deny it by seeing a picture of Deanna in advance -- surely this is possible in the 24th century! He said in the show he assumed the woman was Deanna, but since it was so easy to find out, and it must have interested him the idea what she looked like since he bothered to draw this mystery woman, he doesn't sound believable.

They could still have worked this into the story, e.g., he brought the pictures with him, knowing they weren't Deanna, but wanting them nearby. Deanna could ask about them, and it would just be a mystery at that point, which I think would be a good thing actually (get the audience invested). Also, it wouldn't seem so obvious that they were set up for failure. As the show goes, you just don't believe Deanna and Wyatt are really going through with this.

Also Jammer, this is the 24th century - Deanna doesn't have to move in with Wyatt, Wyatt could move to the Enterprise! We know from many episodes there are both civilians and families aboard. This means the marriage could actually happen, from that point of view. Although we we know she wouldn't marry for a different reason -- the producers wanted her available to have stories with her involved with other males, tough to do if she's married.
Rikko - Thu, Jun 28, 2012 - 12:11am (USA Central)
Mmm, it's not that bad of an ep (even when I hated the rom-com concept) but the place where they put it really killed any enjoyment I could have get.

It's just the beginning of the season and the series. I was still trying to figure out what Star Trek is all about, and they gave us this: A comedy with romance. Gosh, Lwaxana was so annoying (and lol, Lurch from the Adams Family was there) and the outcome was super predictable.

Good thing the next ep was "The Big Goodbye"
Van Patten - Sun, Sep 23, 2012 - 6:55pm (USA Central)
Another reasonable episode with major flaws. The Enterprise is visited by Troi's mother, Lwaxana and her fiancée in adherence with traditional Betazood custom.

I found Lwaxana Troi distinctly unappealing from the off, as though the writers had deliberate chosen to make her into 'Mother from hell', but this is actually one of her more tolerable appearances ('Cost of Living' or 'manhunt' anyone?) The scenes at the pre wedding dinner, especially the classic line:

'Please could you continue the petty bickering'

I still find entertaining. However, as Jammer points out, there is no real jeopardy premise here. No way is one of The main characters going to disappear off with a stranger. The Miller family were fairly uninteresting and I found Robert Knepper distinctly unimpressive. I did enjoy Carel Struycken as the Valet, Mr. Homn, though! An uneven episode which, I agree merits 2.5 stars - probably the most consistent run of fair to middling episodes yet.
xaaos - Mon, Oct 29, 2012 - 4:09pm (USA Central)
Why did Deanna call Riker as Bill?
DPC - Tue, Nov 13, 2012 - 9:11pm (USA Central)
Every time I try to watch the dinner scene between the families, the moment they put the camera on Yar, I start thinking of the song "Hair" by the Cowsills. (Oh, this episode is telling in that "Yar" is a diminutive of "By'ar'F")...

This is the sort of drippy drama seasons 5-7 would descend to, but at least it's not as preachy.

1.5 of 4. The opening bit with the silver box and dialogue-driven head does plenty to knock it down...
Jay - Wed, Dec 12, 2012 - 3:45pm (USA Central)
That Cowsills song is awesome, and much too good to connected to this episode...
William B - Fri, Mar 22, 2013 - 6:50pm (USA Central)
Pleasant is a good way to describe this ep -- while Lwaxana and Wyatt's parents bicker, Troi and Wyatt deal with a strange situation as maturely as they can. I love the way Riker pouts and sulks and the way Deanna and Wyatt subtly call him on it (Wyatt's "good luck with that" is the best). I love Data's reaction to the bickering. I also really like the way Lwaxana deliberately seeks to guide Wyatt when he asks for help from her, and while she is blase on the surface there is a sense that she is looking out for him and her daughter too. I think this is probably Lwaxana's best appearance overall, though I do consider Half a Life and some of the Odo-Lwaxana material on Deep Space Nine to be worthwhile.

The episode suffers because it doesn't have a strong story throughline. Haven is a planet which might have mystical healing power and that's where Wyatt meets his destiny with the Tallerians, and the destiny with Troi was just a mislead. Great -- but um, what? It's hard to draw any conclusions about what this episode is 'about' besides some fairly effective dramatic scenes. That But those dramatic scenes are some of the best character pieces that season one has to offer, which is admittedly a low bar.

I can't quite decide between 2.5-3 stars. This and Hide and Q are the two best episodes up to this point; Haven is better at presenting largely real recognizable people, and Hide and Q is more interesting as a story.
Reverend Spork - Wed, Aug 21, 2013 - 10:40pm (USA Central)
Never was a fan of this episode. It did boast, however, Trekdom's worst hair. And that, indeed, is a very impressive achievement.
Lorene - Thu, Jan 23, 2014 - 10:15pm (USA Central)
This episode might have worked were it not for the terrible, awful whining violins throughout. All of the background music was unbearable.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer