Jammer's Review

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"When it Rains..."

***

Air date: 5/3/1999
Teleplay by Rene Echevarria
Story by Rene Echevarria & Spike Steingasser
Directed by Michael Dorn

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

"You need a lesson in humility. I'm going to see that you get it."
"By putting me out on the street?"
"You'll find that the Bajoran people are very kind."

— Winn and Dukat

Nutshell: Some interesting revelations, though the execution is a little stiff.

Someone wrote me an e-mail saying these "Final Chapter" episodes seem to be coming off as 90 percent setup and only about 10 percent riveting stories. I find that's an interesting take on the matter—and although I personally think it's a somewhat harsh assessment (setup itself can be riveting), I certainly can see the argument.

"When it Rains..." seems to be a good example of this mindset. This episode offers more plot into the mix, but the feel of the episode is somewhat off-kilter. It's probably the most frustrating yet of the "Final Chapter" episodes, because it moves along for an hour and then suddenly halts in its tracks, with virtually no resolution. If you were like me and weren't watching the clock, you might've been blindsided by the suddenness of the "executive producers" credit appearing.

Issues of multi-part structure aside, "When it Rains..." has a somewhat excessive title. The title seems to imply we're going to be plunged into the Abyss of Despair, perhaps for the last time before the series heads into final wrap-up. I don't think that was the case nor the intention. What is the case, rather, is that we have more setup of plot and character directions, with some interesting new revelations—as the elements continue to pile up.

The theme for this week is "the enemy within." No transporter mishaps or evil doubles, mind you, but rather an indication of various powers beginning to face some internal troubles.

  • In the Klingon Empire: Gowron comes to the station to bestow a great honor upon General Martok. Immediately after giving Martok this honor, Gowron announces he's taking military command of the Klingon fleets personally, sending Martok in as simply a soldier with no real authority. Giving Martok a chance to fight the simple soldier's fight is supposed to be an honor, but the hidden intentions are clear: Gowron wants his fleets run under a different strategy, one that quickly begins to look like a series of foolish suicide missions that undermine the big picture.
  • In the Dominion: We have a large uprising of Cardassian resistance soldiers who are trying to sabotage a force that has conquered them without firing a single shot.
  • Within that Cardassian resistance: We have an internal inability for the Cardassians to choose a strategy for resisting the Dominion. Damar asks Starfleet for help. Starfleet sends Kira, an expert on efficient terrorist-style resistance. Friction ensues, with Damar's right hand, Rosot (John Vickery), looking very much like the most likely candidate to undermine the operation with his inflexible attitudes.
  • In Starfleet: We have Bashir and O'Brien, who learn Odo has contracted the disease that has infected the Founders. In the course of Bashir's new search for a cure, he draws the suspicion and ire of subjects within Starfleet, some probably answering to Section 31.
  • On Bajor: Dukat continues to seek power for himself until the Paghwraiths take an action of their own, and Winn subsequently gives Dukat a lesson in humility.

In short, there's a lot going on here. The episode doesn't always make perfect sense of everything going on (I suspect that's what the next installment is for), but I liked the implications of most of the revelations, and I found the ironies emerging from many of the situations to be interesting.

The most obvious and interesting is the irony of them all: The Cardassians have become the Bajorans. They're fighting a battle against a more powerful group that occupies their soil. And to fight this battle they need help from Starfleet, who sends the person most suited to helping in this situation: Kira. No, Kira isn't happy. No, the Cardassians aren't happy. Yes, this is a partnership destined for conflict. Sisko seems to think giving Kira a Starfleet commission will make the situation slightly less volatile. (Kira finally gets to don a Starfleet uniform. Neat.) Garak and Odo are also sent on the mission as DS9's other resident experts on the Occupation. The mission objective is to prepare Damar and his followers for internal guerrilla warfare.

As is the case with a lot of this episode, I'm impressed more by the ideas behind this story element than the actual presentation. Once Kira meets Damar and his troops, the story execution turns surprisingly routine, with a general cinematic attitude of "show something happening, and quickly move on." Of course there's friction between Kira's group and the other Cardassians—particularly Rosot, who doesn't want to resort to the tactics Kira is proposing, like attacking Dominion targets run by other Cardassians. Kira informs him that they don't have a choice. Damar reluctantly agrees. Rosot isn't convinced, and can't look at the larger picture with Kira's detached pragmatism. And the fact that he absolutely hates Kira doesn't help matters, either.

This is all reasonable, but it's missing the extra punch it needs to be powerful. I wouldn't be surprised to see that punch delivered in the next episode, because "When it Rains..." only sets up the pieces for what's obviously to follow. But for now, "When it Rains..." is interesting but not riveting. It's, let's say, 70 percent setup and only 30 percent riveting story. (This week's formula says I should award one star for every 10 percent of riveting story that I can claim to quantify. Okay, yes, that's a bunch of nonsense. My scale, my rules.)

There are also the other subplots. The biggest twist of the week is the announcement that Odo has the disease, which has the emotional consequences one would probably expect under the circumstances: Kira is worried but presses on with the job she has. Odo is worried but refuses to yield to medical sensibilities—there's a job to do. Bashir takes up an obsessive search to find a cure to a disease currently considered incurable, much like the obsession he took up in fourth season's "The Quickening."

Bashir's quest, however, is only the tip of the iceberg. When he attempts to retrieve Odo's old records (something valuable for his research) from Starfleet Medical, he's greeted with a series of roadblocks. Ultimately, he uncovers what appears to be a conspiracy to keep him from working on a cure. Starfleet's resistance seems reasonable, even understandable, under the circumstances of this war (at this point, the death of the Founders is hardly considered a bad thing)—but it runs deeper, and after further investigation, Bashir concludes Odo was infected with the disease three years earlier and was intended as a carrier to infect the rest of the Link—a plan that apparently worked. The probable engineers of the virus: Section 31.

From a dramatic point of view, this storyline is probably the highlight of the episode. Bashir's search through the madness is executed with skill, and I found Bashir's frustration in getting the Starfleet bureaucratic runaround to be particularly effective. Also plausible, but chilling, are the implications of Section 31 manufacturing a virus for genocide. I hope the morality of this issue is tackled at some point, but for now the idea alone is one that's decidedly anti-Starfleet to the core, "best interests" be damned. As such, I'm intrigued.

Less effective is the Klingon plotline. As much chess-playing as the "Final Chapter" episodes have featured, none of it has really felt like blatant chess-piece manipulation—until now. We haven't seen Gowron since season five, and now all of a sudden he shows up here, using what would appear to any rational person as downright bone-headed military tactics. I know, Klingon culture is very tradition- and honor-based, but I'd expect even Klingons warriors would be skeptical of the strategic practicality of such blatantly suicidal missions. And what is Gowron's motive for doing this—other than, of course, to be at odds with Worf in the next episode's inevitable showdown? Of all the plot developments, this one is clearly the most forced.

Elsewhere in the sea of plot, the Dukat/Winn tidbits provide setup to a storyline going somewhere, but who-knows-where. There's not much here in terms of groundbreaking advancement, but there are some interesting characterizations. When Dukat attempts to read the Kosst Amojan without Winn's permission, a Paghwraith energy beam (or something) flies into his eyes and leaves him blind—temporarily, methinks, as a lesson. Winn then has Dukat put out on the streets of the city as a blind beggar, hoping the experience will serve as a "lesson in humility." This doesn't seem all that important in story terms, but I like what it has to say: Winn is using Dukat as much as he's using her, and she gives him a loud-and-clear indication of that. And, heck, it was just so much fun to see Dukat desperately begging "Adami!" not to throw him out into public. Winn even smiles with a quiet satisfaction.

There's not much else to say. I think that covers the major stuff, and it's tough to evaluate half-finished story themes. "When it Rains..." is a flawed but overall entertaining DS9 setup show. But don't expect any real payoffs in any aspect of the story. You won't be finding it. Yet.

Next week: Chapter six. Worf must go against the Klingon Empire in order to save it. Again.

Previous episode: The Changing Face of Evil
Next episode: Tacking into the Wind

Season Index

27 comments on this review

matt - Sat, Jun 21, 2008 - 12:53pm (USA Central)
One of the hardest things to get past in this season, and i think it starts in this episode, is the fact that Garak would ever be helping Damar. Damar killed the women he loved in cold blood (back in "Sacrifice of Angels") and it did not seem to be any secret(nothing Garak could not figure out anyway). Garak should have killed Damar, end of story (Garak is the vengeful type). For plot purposes this is overlooked. I guess its rather hard to let a revenge story of 2 secondary characters get in the way of of a story arc like this, but it really is unbelievable, and ashame for the Garak character. I do like that Damar finds redemption though, but realisticly, he should have been killed.
Jayson - Tue, Dec 16, 2008 - 9:40pm (USA Central)
I disgree with the comment about Garak, he's always come across as a man who doesn't let his feelings get in the way of the job. Obviously he's not that simple but spy or no spy, exile or exile, the job whatever that may be comes first.
matt - Wed, Dec 17, 2008 - 6:39pm (USA Central)
Yeah you may be right about that, it is hard to say. The job, must always be placed in the context of some value tho. Weather that value is loyalty, or vengence, or self preservation.

Garak wanted to overthrow the dominion to save his people, out of loyalty (and hatred for the Dominion). In one of the last episodes, when all hope seems lost, he boldy says something like, "All that is left now is vegence!" We also see an intense, i would say, irrational loyalty towards his extremely corrupt father. And again his capacity for vengeance when he attempts to commit genocide on the founders for his father's death. So I would agree that the job comes first, but the job is always influenced by his values, loyalty and vengence being high on that list.

So when it comes to Damar killing Ziyal, his loyalty to her would seem to require vengeance for her cold blooded killing. However, I could see his hatred for the Dominion and desire to see his people free superseding his need for vengence against Damar. But if this were the case, I would have like to at least seen this conflict of interests fleshed out a little. I mean her death goes forgotten, and we never even get to see Garak confront Damar on it. Again, such a conflict would require at least an episode to resolve itself, which may be too much for 2 secondary characters. And I understand they just needed to move the plot along.

So although you made me rethink what Garak might have done, I am still overall disappointed in the whole thing being brushed aside. I only harp on this because I like the show so much and because Garak was one of my favorite characters. Damar's redemption was also a pretty good story line (but not fleshed out enough.) Deep Space Nine overall does a pretty consistent job at keeping the stories and characters consistent, as opposed to some other serials I have been watching lately, namely heroes. And since it is one my favorite shows of all time, and it does remain relatively consistent, i find it hard to let this error go. Thanks for reply.
Jayson - Wed, Dec 17, 2008 - 6:53pm (USA Central)
You would be hard pressed to find any TV series, even a well written one that doesn't leave character moments like that. For example, in The West Wing when Sam ran for congress there was a whole arc of episodes for that story but after it was over there was no mention of weather or not he won or lost.

I do agree that it would be nice to have some time devoted to that story line but then again they were wrapping up so much of the series, it was just one of those things that got lost in the shuffle.
EP - Thu, Mar 12, 2009 - 3:47pm (USA Central)
I found it rather preposterous that of the billions of Cardassian soldiers and citizens left on Cardassia, not a *one* knew enough about guerilla warfare and urban combat to lead a resistance movement. Putting Kira in that position, while expedient for creating dramatic conflict (and giving Kira something to do besides making kissy-face with Odo), makes the Cardassians look galactically stupid. It makes me then question how they managed to conquer Bajor in the first place, much less pose as a competent and even threatening enemy during the latter years of TNG and early years of DS9.
MP - Tue, Jun 16, 2009 - 3:02am (USA Central)
@ EP

I agree with you. I mean, give me the internet and a month or so and I could, at least on paper, be just as good at guerrilla warfare as Kira.
Bligo - Sun, Jun 21, 2009 - 1:04am (USA Central)
@Ep&Mp

The cardassian had their own terrorist fighting versus the marquis.And the obsidian order would be the worst secret agency if they did not know how to be great terrorists either.Seems stupid of Sisko to recomend Kira,knowing that she will bring unwanted tension in the core of the newly formed resistance.

Destructor - Wed, Jan 13, 2010 - 6:06pm (USA Central)
I never saw any evidence that Garak 'loved' Ziyal. He was lonely and wanted to spend time with a Cardassian. When she kissed him it was very clear that he was extremely uncomfortable and certainly not in love. (Because, y'know, he loves Bashir.)

I thought sending Kira to support Damar made story sense and dramatic sense. It's not like she didn't help him, is it?
Marco P. - Sun, Aug 29, 2010 - 7:07am (USA Central)
I agree with matt. What's worse, I was so taken by the final chapters' storyline that this fact didn't even occur to me. But perhaps Garak has realized that the destiny of the Alpha Quadrant is at stake here, and is therefore willing to put his sentiments aside, at least momentarily? Perhaps in the last episode(s) we will see Garak has in fact *not* forgotten the Damar-Zihal business, and perhaps we shall see Damar's demise by Garak's hand after all?

Also, since we're mentioning ironies in this episode, I found that the most striking example came from Kai Winn mentioning "humility". My oh my did I scoff when I heard that line! A lesson in humility from... Kai Winn???? The person who had a chance to redeem herself by applying precisely that principle (as Kira had suggested to her, when she said Winn should step down as Kai), but instead chose to listen to her own ego and remain in power? Boy the hypocrisy!
Nic - Tue, Feb 1, 2011 - 8:24am (USA Central)
A short scene where Garak acknowledges that he must set his personal feelings aside for the good of Cardassia would have been enough. In fact, that would be my only criticism of the arc so far: too fast-paced. Not many scenes were 'filler' (which is great) but there's also a lot of scenes I think the series would have benefitied from but were not shown due to lack of time. Maybe they could have scrapped "Prodigal Daughter" and "The Emperor's New Cloak" and made a 12-hour arc instead :).
Neil - Fri, Feb 4, 2011 - 12:58pm (USA Central)
Actually, I've come to see in Garak an extremely cold and ruthless side. I think he would be quite ready to cooperate with anyone if it made sense tactically. I think that would have been lesson #1 growing up in the house of the Obsidian Order.

Kira is prepared to work with Damarr, I think it was harder for her than it was for Garak.

But I also find it absurd that the Cardassian rebels would need Kira's assistance. Euqally absurd of the idea that one person could come in and train and deploy a rebel force with thousands of troops.

We never see any troops in this show; even in the seige of AR-558 we see a dozen or so footsoldiers at the most. But we hear things like the Cardassians losing 500,000 soldiers on that moon that finally proved the last straw for Damarr.

Obviously Trek doesn't have the budget to conjure up the effects necessary to show a 500,000 strong army in action, or a battle with than many on each side. But they should never have mentioned those sorts of numbers when all we ever see is the same 5 or 6 people doing *everything* themselves.

With so much being done in space, and the way a couple of battlecruisers can secure an entire solar system, they really should have stayed away from talking about footsoldiers at all. It's somehow ruined the story of the dominion war for me that they try and imply there are millions of troops involved on each side.

As for the question of the Federation committing genocide - I don't see it as quite the moral quandary that Jammer does. Normally when you talk of genocide, it's abhorrent because it implies that 99% of the people killed are innocent civilians. But if you just spoke of killing all the armed forces, it becomes much less troublesome.

Well, the dominion is united - every single founder is an active participant in the fight against the alpha quadrant. In my opinion the entire founder population might be just one sentient individual anyway.

Against this kind of enemy, I think in a desperate situation like this, the idea of 'genocide' being morally wrong doesn't carry the same weight as it does in a normal country-at-war situation.

I think it's actually a pretty reasonable response, in that it could easily save millions or billions of lives if it defeats the founders a few years early, while killing only known combatants.
Weiss - Tue, Feb 8, 2011 - 2:24pm (USA Central)
it seems reasonable that under the given circumstances, Damar would need Kira's help
(depends on circum)
-yes, there may be guerilla soldiers out in cardassian empire, but those were on the border colonies (the ones that fought the maquis), not the homeworlf.
-maybe there are some soldiers who are on cardassia who have exp, but that doesnt mean Dumar has access to those trained staff. If anything his prior goal was to execute those for treachery.

-look at Dumar himself, he was an INSURGENT! against the Klingon empire with Dukat. How good was he at it? Well, look at him now. THey fought right into the hands of the Dominion. THey hated being the weaker force, and loved being an occupier, so they joined the winning side. THis time is differnt because the whole of Cardassia is occupied and they dont have an immediate stronger ally to go running to! Even the Federation cant just step in and kick out Dominion.

-given the circle of Dumar's group, how big is it that he can send a bat signal to call up trained insurgents. he has immediate access to Gul's and other high staff. but they may have gotten lazy in terms of warfare.
-he already setup a friendship with Worf and Ezri (Work is Klingon, his people invaded his Empire and he didnt mind allowing them to escape. Worf worked for starfleet. Maybe Kira in a uniform isnt a bad idea.)

-
form Sisko's perspective, who else can he send/
-how many people openly show their guerilla tactics.
the Maquis are wiped out, Section 31 doesnt officially exist, and most other trained staff are assisting out in the war in other places.
-Kira is the last option.
Captain Tripps - Tue, Oct 11, 2011 - 10:08am (USA Central)
How well equipped is the American army for fighting guerrilla tactics/urban warfare? Could we become Al Qaeda overnight, if the country was being occupied? The Cardassians almost always fought from a position of strength, that can actually work against you when you find yourself as the underdog, since most of your strategies revolve around all that superior firepower and technology. The Bajorans did it for decades, of course they'd have a thing or three to teach.

She wouldn't train any troops, either. She's training the officers, who would trains NCOs, who would train troops, within their cells.
Sfkeepay - Sat, Oct 29, 2011 - 1:45am (USA Central)
Although I've been reading Jammer for what seems about 10 years now, this is my first time posting, so please accept my apologies if I stumble in execution. I would like to spotlight the Ezri/Worf dialog, which I, perhaps undeservedly, found to be exceptional. Although Ezri is not usually my cup of tea, I felt her cutting to the chase with Worf (to paraphrase, '...when was the last time there was a Klingon chancellor you could respect? Has there been even one? ... If a man like you can tolerate a corrupt government, what hope is there for the empire?') I recognize the validity in Jammer's critique that this all seemed rather forced. I would say, rather, that it seemed a bit hurried. Yet nonetheless, given a history of hypocritical political ambition stretching all the way back to TNG season 2, I for one found Ezri's comments in particular, and the subplot in general, elegant and surprisingly satisfying. Probably, on reflection, this is because I feel our own government is reaching a critical turning point, but then the best of Trek is often, as we all know, to be experienced in our own clouded mirrors.
A Bludee Cardi - Sun, Oct 7, 2012 - 12:23pm (USA Central)
From what we've seen concerning Cardassians, there's no evidence to suggest they'd have any terrorist training, especially under planetary-occupational levels.

They were a race of conquerors, that occupied Bajor through the use of more advanced technology, and brute hostility (Dukat tells Sisko in a previous episode, that Bajor was centuries behind Cardassia, technologically, at the start of the Occupation).

Proud conquerors who use Brute force to bully a peaceful, spiritual, and weaker race, strike me as a people would have a difficult time understanding how to effectively defeat the Dominion from within occupied land. They're too proud to even understand/acknowledge/examine how Bajor resisted their own occupation.
Arachnea - Tue, Dec 4, 2012 - 9:57pm (USA Central)
Just adding my 2 cents: it's about time that Kira was given another uniform. Each time she fought the dominion as a bajoran military, she broke the treaty of non agression between Bajor and the Dominion. Unfortunately, it's only briefly adressed in an earlier episodes and then dismissed.

Here, it makes sense to send a formerly trained resistant. Like other said, you don't organize a resistance in a matter of days, it takes time. And for a race like the cardassians who's always been the occupant, reversing a way of thinking is not natural.
William - Wed, Jan 23, 2013 - 7:33pm (USA Central)
Yes, there was a lot to absorb in an hour. And yes, the Gowron plot seemed a little forced.

Otherwise, I'm fine with the "set-up" and thought it was a very good episode.

I think I was more pleased with the Winn/Dukat scenes than the rest of y'all, too.
Jack - Sat, Feb 2, 2013 - 12:42pm (USA Central)
In the interim between when Odo was apparently infected with the disease, and here, he spent a considerable period of time no longer being a changeling. It's hard to buy that the changelings were capable of making Odo a solid but not capable of detecting the pathogen he already carried at that point when they did so.
Jay - Sat, Jun 29, 2013 - 1:45pm (USA Central)
Or...is this the incident which infected the Great Link, and while they were punishing Odo, he (or rather 31) was simultanaeously punishing them...
Kotas - Sun, Nov 10, 2013 - 8:08am (USA Central)

Another decent but not great story ep. I wish they had killed off Kai Winn and the Bajoran storyline long ago.

6/10
Corey - Mon, Feb 24, 2014 - 6:53pm (USA Central)
Gowron has the most magnificent eyes, and it's sad to see him go. Martok, however, is on a whole other level. He's one of the most entertaining characters in all of Trek.
Ric - Mon, Feb 24, 2014 - 10:44pm (USA Central)
Once again, flying magic from the sacred books making Dukat become blind... This magical-like stuff a la Jedi order, a la Lord of Rings, is pathetic. Really, it is unwatchable.

Besides, once again, the Starfleet is portrayed completely out of the usual Trek morality. Here, a high officers try to prevent Bashir from finding a cure for Odo in hope of what? Of seeing the whole enemy population die from disease!

I can already guess that someone would say "but they are at war". And so what? How many times have the Federation been in similar situation before, but not being transformed into this 20th century-ish institution? Our ways of dealing with war today should not be extrapolated for the future as if it was the only way possible. On the contrary, Trek was once about a diferente future.

DS9 has changed it. You can find it realistic and good, ok. But no one can deny it is a great deal of a change in how Trek saw these matters. Letting Odo die so the enemy whole population may also die from disease? Really?

A fine episode is what regards execution. But Bajor arc with its cheap RPG magic stuff and this portrayal of Starfleet once again make this episode irritating and even offensive. Although, certainly, a bit less than the last with its bllod-that-makes-sacred-book-get-on-fire.

My beloved DS9 has become infuriating.
Ric - Mon, Feb 24, 2014 - 10:56pm (USA Central)
PS: not mention that the Section 31, supported or at least tolerated by Starfleet, looks to be the original cause of this attempt of mass genocide. In case this proves to be true, then... well, if this is not changing previous Trek's Starfleet and Federation, I don't what more is needed to make people see it.
Trekker - Fri, Mar 14, 2014 - 6:55pm (USA Central)
My theory is kind of weird, but might be true if they had any type of good writing for twists.

What if the creator of the changeling disease was Garak, himself?

Section 31 would have known about due to their illegal surveillance and spycraft, but it was Garak who orchestrated the entire thing.

Remember in the episode, "In the Pale Moonlight", that Garak requested that he obtain a large supply of Bio-medical gel for "someone" to get the data rod. We find out that the data rod was fake, but no one ever asked what happened to the gel.

What if Garak sought revenge for the death of his father? It's a classic theme and very simple motivation for a character, especially Garak. He concocted a plan within a plan from as far back as Season 6.

Sectipn 31 would have researched a cure for the founders, but would wait to offer it as a last resort to save the Federation, if Earth or Core worlds were threatened. Ethically questionable, perhaps, but it would still maintain Star Trek and the Federation's ideals.
Yanks - Mon, Aug 25, 2014 - 1:20pm (USA Central)
No way Garak 'should' have killed Damar. Couple reasons. He didn't "love" Ziyal like she loved him. As a matter of fact, at her death bed he was still puzzled as to why she loved him. Also, Damar killed Dukat's daughter, which broke Dukat. Garak would consider that a favor.

TONS going on in this episode.

Gowron has taken charge of the fleet and is just being stupid. It was obvious to me that this was a method to get rid of Martok. He was becoming too popular as a result of his deeds. Worf would be an easy “fix”.

Kira goes to help the Cardassian resistance. Wow, Cardassia has become Bajor. What a turn. Kira looks pretty darn good in that Star Fleet uniform. Rosot appears to be a dissenter in the making.

We learn that Odo has the “disease” and he was the one that infected the Founders. Lol …. Bashir is digging and will find the answer. This has section 31 written all over it. Bashir’s hit many road blocks at Star Fleet medical which is understandable. They have a very real concern about the cure making it’s way to the Founders.

Dukat finally gets what’s coming to him. Blind and thrown on the street by Winn. Most refreshing. :-)

I’ll go 3 stars too. Exciting episode.



zzybaloobah - Sun, Nov 2, 2014 - 1:02pm (USA Central)
Yeah, the magictechnobabble is really annoying.
But:
1) It's not new to Trek. TOS gave us Apollo (Who Mourns for Adonais?).
2) Clarke's 3rd law.
Henry - Mon, Nov 3, 2014 - 5:11pm (USA Central)
I have to say that Damar has had one of the most satisfying arc in DS9 in the last few seasons, more so than any of the leads. He is in the centre of things, make possibly the most pivotal decision in the war in a credible way without involving the prophets or anything too melodramatic. You know when you see him that it wouldn't be a filler episode and something serious is going to happen.

Submit a comment

Above, type the last name of the captain on Star Trek: TNG
Notify me about new comments on this page
Hide my e-mail on my post

Season Index

Copyright © 1994-2014, Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction or distribution of any review or article on this site is prohibited. Star Trek (in all its myriad forms), Battlestar Galactica, and Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc., NBC Universal, and Tribune Entertainment, respectively. This site is in no way affiliated with or authorized by any of those companies. | Copyright & Disclaimer