15 comments on this post

🔗
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 8:26am (UTC -6)
That was a great comeback episode. I loved how holo-Odo's first word was, "Hmph!"

That holodeck was a nice little tribute to all of the past series and casts, with the Ent-D looking badass.

Daz's growing annoyance at every failed attempt of the simulation was hilarious.

Janeway now knows that her crew has been lying to her, and we also found out more about what just the hell was going on.
🔗
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 8:58am (UTC -6)
That was a great episode, but it leaned a tad bit too much into fanservice for me.

The main plot was of course Dal's attempt (with Pog in tow) to win the Kobayashi Maru. It served as a good introduction to a lot of elements of Trek lore, and was clearly meant as a love letter to fans. I am not sure how I feel, however, about the choice to have every single crew member other than Beverly (who got some new lines) to be a deceased cast member with archival audio. The audio didn't quite mix right, but I can forgive that as being due to the holodeck. But some of the lines (particularly things Spock said) were pretty clearly non-sequiturs when it came to responses to Dal - they just didn't work right. And while I liked the idea of Odo appearing, he was never in Starfleet - they should have had Nog appear if they wanted to have a tribute to a deceased DS9 member. Oh well, at least it appears that Dal has had some emotional growth from Boimler-ing out on the scenario.

The B-plot which involved Gwyn and Zero was great. Gwyn has quickly become my favorite character, as she has a level of pathos and internal conflict which the other kids lack. Zero acts as a good friend here as well. And with Janeway's help, they make crucial discoveries about Captain Chakotay by the end of the episode. The timeline now seems really off however, since the episode establishes the Diviner was already looking for the Protostar 17 years ago. Yet both the pre-show information and the stardate shown in this episode suggest it takes place in 2383, which would mean the ship would have to have been launched during the TNG era. Which of course makes no sense with hologram Janeway/Captain Chakotay. The only plausible solution at this time is the Protostar somehow got thrown back in time - but we do not yet know how far back in time that was.

There's not really much of anything to say about the "c plot" involving Rok-Takk and Murf. Murf ate some grenades, but it was no big deal.

3.5 stars.
🔗
Mal
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Star Trek: Prodigy
season 1 episode 6

Kobayashi


"Nothing comforts anxiety like a little nostalgia.”

- Morpheus in Matrix 4


3 stars (out of 4)


Well I loved this one! Two simple stories done well. @Karl Zimmerman already has a great write up. But since @Eric Cheung hasn’t done his write up yet, let me give you a few of my thoughts.

First, the characters on this show have really come alive. Gwyn gets a nice arc this episode, stuck in sick-bay, not because she’s sick, but just because she’s really down about everything that’s going on. Sometimes shows neglect the inner lives of children, so it is great to see Prodigy take the time to let Gwyn find a reason to move forward. And when she does, we get a nice glimpse into the relationship she had with her father, and what it means for the two of them to be the last of their kind. And I particularly appreciate that this wasn't done in the context of some therapy session (ala Discovery), and also that it moved the story forward, rather than hold it hostage (ala Zora).

Second, Dal learns a little humility. Through a video game! The idea of turning Kobayashi into a video game is perfect - even if we just got a similar story in Matrix 4.

@Karl Zimmerman asks himself, the "Trek lore [] was clearly meant as a love letter to fans. I am not sure how I feel.” Well I know how I feel - I loved it!!!! It is always a treat to see the bridge of the Enterprise D. And hearing rapid fire clips of Rene, Leonard Nimoy, and Scotty (RIP all), was very touching. Throw in Uhura and Beverly’s lines, and this was a clip show to top all clip shows!

Prodigy continues to be a wonderful treat. Enjoyable fare that leaves you feeling good about the future and hopeful about our young friends eventually finding the Federation. Now that’s a show I want to live in :)

P.S. I’m not going to spoil the ending for those who haven’t seen it yet. Just one word, two syllables: awe-some. Now it makes so much more sense that the holo looks like Janeway.
🔗
Rahul
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Best episode of PROD thus far as it takes advantage of its animated nature to the full extent with classic characters and action scenes but there's a bit more depth to the characters, their motivations/purposes, and it starts to get back to the mystery of the Protostar, causing Janeway to run into something she "can't remember." And this is somehow tied to her old VOY crew with Chakotay in charge -- very intriguing.

Have to say how amazing it was to hear the voices of Uhura, Scotty, Spock, Odo, Crusher exactly as they should sound. Always thought it would be cool to get some kind of an all-star crew to run a ship...

Wondering why Crusher says the neutral zone separates the Federation from the Klingons instead of the Romulans...

So now we understand Gwen and her father are the last of their kind and have some kind of mission to recover the Protostar and their language is needed to decode what Janeway says was classified. Gwen finds a purpose. This is all pretty intricate stuff for a supposed kids show.

But I think the kids out there watching this would enjoy Dal's final attempt at the no-win scenario. Pretty far-fetched, but Spock imparts his wisdom with the needs of the many speech. Dal learns a thing or 2 about being a captain. All fine and dandy.

3 stars for "Kobayashi" -- quite a lot accomplished in 20 something mins. and I like that the arc seems like it would/could be a legit story arc for a non-animated Trek series with the a prototype ship potentially falling into the wrong hands etc. Continue to be very impressed with PROD and nu-Trek of late.
🔗
Mal
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
@Rahul asked, "Wondering why Crusher says the neutral zone separates the Federation from the Klingons instead of the Romulans"?

I chalked it up to it being a simulation, so they can mix and match elements (like a crew with folks from all the shows). But now that you ask, I'm wondering if there is something going on here?

Where are the Klingons???

I don't actually recall seeing Klingons on Picard. The last TNG movie, Nemesis, Worf is back on the crew - nary a mention of his ever serving as Ambassador to Kronos.

Did something happen with the Klingons? Did relations break down so far that Worf was recalled as Ambassador? That the Federation cut ties with Kronos and set up a Neutral Zone. Such that we don't see them on Picard. We don't see them on future Discovery.

By the way, speaking of mix and match, here's a fun one: If you had to command the Enterprise D, what would be your crew?

My dream team would be,

Captain: Mal (rhymes with Dal!)

First Officer: Riker
Science Officer: Spock
Chief Engineer: Geordi
Doctor: Bashir
Nurse: Chapel
Communications: Hoshi
Security: Tuvok
Transporter Chief: O'Brien
Counselor: Culber
Helmsman: Ro Laren
Astrometrics: Seven
Bartender: Bones

Fire everything!!!
🔗
AMA
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Great episode.

Gwyn's story added some further depth to her character and suggested that her father, The Diviner, may not simply be a moustache-twirling villain. The reveal of a prior mission to the Delta quadrant was also quite compelling.

Although Dal's story offered quite a bit of fan service, I thought it too worked well. However, it appeared that if he ran the simulation one more time, and not put his feet up on the console in celebration, he would have passed the Kobayashi Maru. Not sure how I feel about that, given that the exercise is supposed to be a 'no-win' situation. Agree with @Karl Zimmerman that Nog could have taken the helm. Odo could perhaps have taken Worf's typical position. In that way, the tribute could have been expanded further. Also feel like The Doctor would have been a great, sarcastic foil to Dal. Minor quibbles.

Finally, I had a good laugh at seeing Murf blow up. Episode had a bit of everything.

At this rate, this season is shaping up to be by far the best of any new iteration of Trek, and near the best of any first season of Trek. An unexpected but pleasant surprise.
🔗
Jeffrey's Tube
Thu, Jan 6, 2022, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
I think it's official that Prodigy is a sequel series to Voyager. When can we expect Bob Picardo to show up? Really looking forward to that one.

Kind of surprised Beltran hasn't burned all his Star Trek bridges yet.

Of all the Voyager characters I'd like to see again, I can't really say Chakotay was at the top of that list.

Wonder if Jeri will drop by or if Kate would put the kibosh on that.

Might we run into Neelix, at some point? Not high on anyone's list either, I'd imagine, but it'd fit the show. He's still Federation ambassador to the Delta Quadrant, as appointed by Janeway.

Garrett Wang is probably camped outside the production offices right now and the producers are still like "ehhhhhhhh . . . no. But really, though: NO."

Roxann won't do it. She's left any kind of front-of -the-camera work behind. Robbie of course would do it, but they'd have to stretch to find a reason probably.

Did they make up yet another new uniform for the same approximate time period? Make up your minds! Haha.
🔗
SpaceCadet
Fri, Jan 7, 2022, 2:03am (UTC -6)
I loved this episode, as both a long time fan of the franchise in general, and because I’m greatly enjoying this series so far specifically.

@Jeffrey’s Tube: Jeri Ryan doesn’t really need to show up on this series. She’s busy as it is as a regular on Picard. And voiceover work isn’t front-of-the-camera work, so there’s no reason Roxann Dawson couldn’t contribute to this series doing a voiceover character. She’s already done that before you know as the voice of an alien computer on Enterprise.

However, while I loved the heavy dose of fan service in this episode, it’s not something I want or need to see on a regular basis. A little taste of it here and there is fine but let this show stand on its own two feet. It’s already got Janeway and Chakotay on a regular basis anyway. But the big crossover in this episode was a nice big event of MCU team-up proportions.
🔗
StevenA
Fri, Jan 7, 2022, 6:23am (UTC -6)
@AMA, I get the feeling that even if he had rerun and done the same without putting his foot on the console, something else would happen to make him lose. The fact something as tiny as a foot on a console causes mayhem shows the game is definitely rigged against him :)
🔗
StevenA
Fri, Jan 7, 2022, 6:26am (UTC -6)
To those thinking other characters (e.g. Nog) would have been better fits or more fitting tributes, I wonder how much of the character choice was purely down to who had the best back catalogue of soundbites that fit the scenario. Since the crew was to be annoyed at Dal, Odo was probably a gold mine of grumpiness in that respect.
🔗
Nick
Sat, Jan 8, 2022, 1:55am (UTC -6)
Good episode. The best so far. Loved the idea of choosing an all star bridge crew from legacy Trek. So much fun.
🔗
Yanks
Sun, Jan 9, 2022, 6:01am (UTC -6)
Enjoyed it. It's amazing what animaters can do.
🔗
Troy G
Sun, Jan 9, 2022, 10:04am (UTC -6)
With this episode, Prodigy became a show I want to watch, instead of being merely the best of the new Trek.

And it’s not the “cameos” which did it either. The fan service here was restrained and tastefully done. And much is accomplished in these 30 minutes with each episode

I expect Jammer will grade each episode ***.
🔗
Danielle
Tue, Jan 11, 2022, 10:34am (UTC -6)
"Wondering why Crusher says the neutral zone separates the Federation from the Klingons instead of the Romulans"?

Potentially more evidence that the Protostar is from the future. Is there still a Romulan Neutral Zone after the destruction of Romulus? Are the Federation and Klingons still friendly after Gowron dies/retires?

At it's best Lower Decks is better, but Prodigy has so far been more consistently good. Excited to see where this goes.
🔗
StevenA
Tue, Jan 11, 2022, 11:20am (UTC -6)
I could be wrong but I don't think the Klingons being the enemy or the reference to the Klingon Neutral Zone are meant as any comment on late 24th century Klingon / Federation relations. I think it's just the programme is a direct copy of the scenario as it was in Star Trek II when we saw Saavik taking the test.

Submit a comment




I agree to the terms of use

◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2022 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.