Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

"First Season Recap"

For episodes airing from 1/4/1993 to 6/21/1993
Series created by Rick Berman & Michael Piller
Executive producers: Rick Berman & Michael Piller

Review by Jamahl Epsicokhan

Season in a nutshell: It's a promising beginning, but there's naturally room for improvement. Bajor and DS9 are extremely fascinating places with interesting grey-area situations. But the science fiction content so far has been less than compelling.

The first season of DS9 was surprisingly good. It definitely had its problems, but it also had some very strong episodes. Overall, there's a sense here that the series used its first season as a shakedown run—and used it very effectively. It introduced all the major characters and gave them all adequate screen time, fleshing them out reasonably well. It found its own tone—one of grey-area politics and philosophy analysis—that will separate it from its sibling series, The Next Generation. And it established a few significant plot threads that will definitely be around next season.

This season was solid, but not incredibly focused. It was a tad uneven—although that's to be expected from a series that just came into existence. I'm sure the cast and crew is just beginning to learn itself. Hands down, this season of DS9 is leaps and bounds ahead of where TNG was after its first season. But that was probably to be expected as well; after all, Berman and Piller have had the opportunity to learn from their other series before making this one.

Anyway, this season sort of exhibited a case of split personality. There seemed to be two types of episodes attempted. There was the philosophical/political theme emphasized in the Bajor-oriented shows—which highlighted the season at its best. Many of the most probing stories—"Duet," "In the Hands of the Prophets," "Progress," "Past Prologue," "Battle Lines"—had much to do with Bajoran situations and, more specifically, Major Kira. As the Bajoran who represents the communication between Bajor and the Federation, Kira has proven the most interesting and well-developed character. Under Nana Visitor's gutsy performances, the character has grown and shone this season. Other strong episodes like "Dax" and "Vortex" took some interesting looks at DS9's non-Bajoran characters. "Dax" was a fulfilling courtroom show that got deep into Dax's backstory; "Vortex" was an interesting look at DS9's resident shapeshifter Odo. The heart of "Emissary" was of course Sisko, who was put to brilliant use in the pilot and used well as the station's commander; still, I'd like to see more of what he thinks and feels, and hopes the series gives him a focused agenda in the future.

The other personality of DS9's freshman season was considerably less effective, although the show never really approached anything that was downright bad. This second personality was the "sci-fi" angle of the series, which proved relatively pedestrian overall. "Vortex" and "Captive Pursuit" were good examples of this side of DS9, but other sci-fi episodes didn't fare as well. "If Wishes Were Horses" was the most mediocre episode this season, with some pretty shoddy storytelling a lot of technobabble. The plots of "The Forsaken," "Babel," "The Passenger," "Move Along Home," and "A Man Alone" were also relatively nondescript. Strangely, all were sci-fi types of episodes, whereas the effective shows were mostly political intrigue or character development episodes.

Let me hasten to mention that DS9's shortcomings with the sci-fi angle of things really have nothing to do with the setting being stationary. I have no qualms whatsoever about the setting. It changes very little of what would be dramatically possible on TNG, plus it adds the benefit of forcing the series to present consequences and follow-ups to every action—especially politically.

Based on "In the Hands of the Prophets," the season finale, I would guess we're going to see a lot of episodes next season centering around Bajor and its political intrigue. And I look forward to it. However, I also look forward to improvements in some of the sci-fi plots and a lessening of the technobabble. Star Trek has always been known for its ability to tell wide ranges of stories. Deep Space Nine's setting has that ability more than ever. The series' first season has shown a lot of promise, and next season has every opportunity to follow up on it.

For what it's worth, I have ranked the episodes for this season in order of preference and included my 10-scale ratings. The rank is based on the numeric ratings combined with my overall feelings about an episode as they happened to be when I did this ranking. (The 10-scale ratings are as they appear in the S.O.S. under my submissions.)


Ranking Episode Star rating 10-scale
1 "Duet" 4.0 10.0
2 "Emissary" 3.5 9.5
3 "In the Hands of the Prophets" 3.5 9.5
4 "Vortex" 3.5 9.5
5 "Dax" 3.5 9.0
6 "Progress" 3.0 8.0
7 "Past Prologue" 3.0 8.0
8 "Battle Lines" 3.0 7.5
9 "Captive Pursuit" 3.0 7.5
10 "The Nagus" 3.0 7.0
11 "The Storyteller" 3.0 7.0
12 "Dramatis Personae" 2.5 6.5
13 "The Passenger" 2.5 6.5
14 "The Forsaken" 2.5 6.0
15 "Babel" 2.5 6.0
16 "Move Along Home" 2.5 5.5
17 "Q-Less" 2.5 5.5
18 "A Man Alone" 2.0 4.5
19 "If Wishes Were Horses" 2.0 4.0

Next: Season 2

◄ Season Index

17 comments on this review

azcats
Thu, Sep 12, 2013, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Well, i will have to post now! i will be the first one! i agree, "duet" was the best episode of the season.
Yanks
Tue, Jul 8, 2014, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
OK, I've actually ranked each episode in Season 1.

Here are mine from best to worst.

Captive Pursuit 4
Duet 4
In The Hands Of The Prophets 4
Emissary 3.5
Past Prologue 3.5
The Forsaken 3
Vortex 2.5
Babel 2
Q-Less 2
Dax 2
The Passenger 2
The Nagus 2
Dramatis Personae 2
A Man Alone 1.5
Move Along Home 0.5
The Storyteller 0.5
If Wishes Were Horses 0.5
Battle Lines 0
Progress 0

Sorry I can't seem to get them to line up very good.

39.5 total points for the year, for an average of 2.08.

Some truly fantastic trek, and some truly horrible trek.
Elliott
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Well, here are my totals for DS9's first season. For the record, I consider stars to equate thusly :

**** = exceptional (You have to watch this)
***.5 = excellent (Truly enjoyable to watch)
*** = good (A solid instalment)
**.5 = okay (Problems, but worth watching)
** = watchable (You won't want your hour back, but it's nothing good)
*.5 = poor (You will be annoyed)
* = terrible (Don't watch this)
.5 = horrendous (Don't watch this unless you do so ironically)
0 = worthless (Don't watch this unless someone pays you)


Rank Title Stars Score Difference from Jammer
1. Duet **** (3.83) [=]
2. The Nagus ***.5 (3.72) [+.5]
3. Dax ***.5 (3.39) [=]
4. Progress *** (3.0) [=]
5. Captive Pursuit *** (2.89) [=]
6. Vortex *** (2.755) [-.5]
7. The Forsaken **.5 (2.72) [=]
8. (tie) Past Prologue **.5 (2.525) [-.5]
8. (tie) In the Hands of the Prophets **.5 (2.525) [-1]
9. A Man Alone **.5 (2.365) [+.5]
10. Emissary ** (2.03) [-1.5]
11. Battle Lines ** (2.195) [-1]
12. Dramatis Personæ ** (1.855) [-.5]
13. The Storyteller *.5 (1.66) [-1.5]
14. The Passenger *.5 (1.62) [-1]
15. Babel *.5 (1.525) [-1]
16. Q-less * (1.025) [-1.5]
17. If Wishes Were Horses * (.78) [-1]
18. Move Along Home .5 (.685) [-2]

Average **.5 2.268 [-12]

So, overall, it was an okay season. “Dax” and “The Nagus” were two totally different standout episodes, one classic Trek, the other freshly DS9, while “Duet” will prove to be one of the best episodes in the entire franchise, in spite of its being a bottle show to make up for expensive episodes like “Emissary” and “The Storyteller.” With the exception of the Bajoran faith episodes which are rife with poorly-thought-out apologist crap (“Emissary,” “Battle Lines,” The Storyteller,” “In the Hands of the Prophets”), Jammer and I seem to concur on the good episodes. The real disparity is in the middling and poor episodes. Jammer was willing to grant generous “okay” scores to really terrible episodes like “Q-less” and “Move Along Home,” bolstering up the overall impression of the season. It was undoubtedly better than TNG's or Enterprise's first seasons, but not better than Voyager's, and certainly not better than TOS's, which remains the best first season of any Trek.

Trends :

I noticed that many of the episodes, especially in the first half of the season, dropped off in quality in the last act, with rushed or contrived resolutions and really poor, upsetting characterisations (like Sisko's cowardly turn in “Captive Pursuit”). One of DS9's strength as a series, its secondary cast, is only embryonic at this point (2 appearances of Dukat, 1 of Garak, 2 of Neela, who's gone after this, and a fair few of Nog), so that will help in following seasons.

The bookeneding episodes seem to want to suggest the thematic direction for the series: politics and spirituality as they pertain to Bajor. That's all well and good, but the spiritual side of the equation is incredibly weak. It does both believers and non-believers a disservice to write such pandering wishy-washy dialogue concerning so serious a topic. The political issues fair better, but I have serious doubts about the Bajorans' ability to recover from the Occupation.

Characters (in order from best to worst):

O'Brien : In Colm Meaney's skilful hands, this character has really shone brightly this season, stepping out from his TNG supporting-rôle into a rounded character in his own right. Smart, family-oriented, loyal, brave, cunning and with a bit of an impatient streak, he's always a pleasure to have on screen.

Odo : Again, Auberjonois is a tremendous actor and his classic sci-fi character begins to fill out nicely; there's some good mystery about his origins in “Vortex” and a competent display of his skills and underlying motivations throughout the season as a keen investigator and sometimes overly diligent crime-fighter.

Quark : As your not-the-average-Ferengi, he's proved to be quite charming and noble in his own way. Several comedic bits from Shimmerman work wonders, and I submit “The Nagus” as being amongst the most under-appreciated episodes of the series. One of Trek's best comedies.

Jake : Although there's little to say about him at this point, his interactions with Ben have proved mostly quite good and I thought his friendship with Nog proved rather touching in “The Nagus.”

Kira : Two episodes saved her from being the worst character in the bunch, “Progress” and of course “Duet” which both added chasms of depth to a previously shallow and irritating character as well as showcased the better sides of Visitor's skill (which was dubious in the beginning). Unfortunately, what we see in the finale makes it seem like this change won't stick.

Bashir : There's not a lot to say about him and he's kind of a blank slate. He's smart and eager and young and horny. Not much else to add, I'm afraid. His only starring rôle, “The Passenger” did little to ingratiate the character to us.

Sisko : This blustering idiot gets a few decent moments here and there, but over all, I find the character to be a self-serving, temperamental, cowardly ass who has no business running such a strategically important post. Brooks acting is less aggravating in this season than it will prove to be later on, but it's still not what I'd call “good.” A disappointing face to the series.

Dax : In theory, she's the most “Trek” character, but aside from “Dax,” where she barely speaks and “Duet” where she acts like she should for, like the only time, she's this weird, under-acted, self-centred brat with 300 years of memories which are hardly utilised outside of Kurzon's memories of Sisko.
Yanks
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Damn Elliot, you rated it higher than I did. :-)
Yanks
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Elliot,

No Garak?
Elliott
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:23am (UTC -5)
@Yanks :

He only appeared in one episode this season! I'll give him a writeup in later seasons
Yanks
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Wow, that had not occurred to me. So I checked out IMDB.

Garak is only listed as partipating in 37 (of 173) episodes. I thought it was MUCH more than that.

Wow, such a powerful character. My favorite in DS9.
William B
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Thinking about Elliott's character rankings for season one (which I think I agree with -- though I'd tend to put Kira higher because "Progress" and "Duet" count *so* heavily in her favour), I think Bashir is the character who comes to have the most dramatic improvement over the series' running time, and Jake probably the one who has the most dramatic dropoff. Bashir becomes, I think, one of the best characters in the show, and possibly the most successful human character (well, I don't know how he and Miles compare to each other -- Bashir has more of an arc, but O'Brien headlines more exceptional episodes); Jake gradually fades into the background and there stop being effective stories about him.

Hopefully I'll rewatch DS9 after finishing TOS (and I also plan on watching the movies after finishing TOS). I'd be interested to see how it holds up now. It's hard to disagree that "Duet" is the season's (and one of the franchise's) highlight(s), and that "Move Along Home," "Q-Less," and "If Wishes Were Horses" are very weak stuff. I think I had a more favourable reaction to the religious material when I watched it when I was younger -- but I see Elliott's points about them and wonder how it would hold up.

DS9's supporting cast really is remarkable. Hey, here's a question: which characters in DS9 appear in all seven seasons? I guess we have the initial opening credits cast save Jadzia (if we count Dax as one person, I guess she counts as well), and then:

- Garak
- Dukat
- Nog
- Rom
- ...Morn?

Am I forgetting anyone? Winn and Zek appear in *almost* every season, but don't appear in season four. By contrast, in TNG, I think the only non-regular who appears in all seasons is O'Brien (and until "All Good Things..." definitively establishes that the battle bridge conn Colm Meaney was playing in "Encounter at Farpoint," it wasn't clear that that was the same character). That means it's just the main seven minus Beverly plus O'Brien for TNG. Wesley and Lwaxana in every season but 6, Q in every season but 5. I guess if we count Majel Barret generally she gets credit every season for the computer voice.... Voyager is -- am I right in thinking it's the original opening credits cast, minus Kes? TOS is the sort of "regulars" minus Chekov, plus Chapel, I think. Maybe not that useful information, but fun!
Robert
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 11:58am (UTC -5)
I think Samantha Wildman was the closest on VOY. They held back 4 S1 episodes and aired them in S2 (for reasons). That means she is actually in every season except 7.

Anyone know if anyone else comes close?

It's pretty impressive that DS9 has that many (plus 2 that came close) that appear across a 7 year run though. I think a lot of people would hit 5 seasons though, so many that I'm not sure I'd want to make a list :)

Random factoid. Lwaxanna does not appear in TNG S6 because her yearly appearance that year was on DS9.
Luke
Sat, Feb 13, 2016, 4:56am (UTC -5)
Post season number crunching! Always my favorite part of these reviews. :-)

"DEEP SPACE NINE" SEASON ONE
7 - Emissary
6 - Past Prologue
5 - A Man Alone
3 - Babel
5 - Captive Pursuit
1 - Q-Less
4 - Dax
4 - The Passenger
1 - Move Along Home
7 - The Nague
7 - Vortex
5 - Battle Lines
2 - The Storyteller
6 - Progress
2 - If Wishes Were Horses
5 - The Forsaken
6 - Dramatis Personae
10 - Duet
10 - In the Hands of the Prophets

Average Season Score: 5.053
TNG Average Score After One Season: 2.720
TOS Average Score After One Season: 5.276

Best Episode: In the Hands of the Prophets
Worst Episode: Move Along Home

And there we have it. Season One is an above average season, but just barely. In fact, it managed to pull itself up over 5/10 by, no joke, one point! If it hadn't been for the outstanding finish to the season (two 10s in a row, that's a first for Trek), Season One would have ended slightly below average. And just as I did with my final TNG review (where it lost to TOS by a mere three points) I again assure you that I did not plan it out that way. That's exactly how the chips fell. Given that this first season is possibly the worst of the series, I doubt DS9 will have trouble topping the final average scores for TOS and TNG.

As for Season One itself, while it's far, far, far, far above TNG's opening season in terms of quality, it was definitely hit and miss. It was at it's worst when trying to be like TNG or outright bringing on TNG characters. It was at it's best when focusing on the world-building aspects of the story. The top three episodes ("In the Hands of the Prophets", "Duet" and "The Nagus") all focused heavily on fleshing out the Trek universe and DS9's corner of it.

The characters, while often capable of bringing up some of the dreck episodes and saving them from a zero rating (most notably in "The Storyteller") need a lot of work. The best, most developed, characters thus far are Quark and Kira (as Jammer points out). Bashir, however, really needs some work. While he is annoying, I don't find him as off-putting as many do. Still, he needs some direction aside from green, wide-eyed skirt-chaser. Sisko also needs some work. Aside from starring in "Emissary", he hasn't been given much to do besides typical commanding officer stuff - I think Nog may have gotten more development this season. The one most desperately in need of development, however, is Dax. She practically has no character to speak of at this point aside from being the "smart person" of the cast. And what little characterization she has received hasn't helped - it's made her look rather unlikable, like she's a self-important, pompous egotist.

So, after a stable, if not firm, foundation, I'm looking forward to Season Two.
Luke
Sat, Feb 13, 2016, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Dammit, I forgot to include the counters yet again. :-(

Holodeck Toys - 2
WTF Hair - 4
Andrew
Thu, Feb 18, 2016, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Nothing fantastic (though "Emissary" comes close) but a lot of successes, only a few real misses and definitely off to a very good start.
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
I think my Top 10 for this season would be:

Duet
In The Hands of The Prophets
Progress
Dax
Captive Pursuit
Vortex
Emissary
Past Prologue
Battle Lines
The Forsaken

I think my top 2 are the only excellent episodes this season though.
Iceman
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
My scoring would be:
1. "Emissary"-3.5
2. "Past Prologue"-3
3. "A Man Alone"-2
4. "Babel"-2.5
5. "Captive Pursuit"-3.5
6. "Q-Less"-2.5
7. "Dax"-2.5
8. "The Passenger"-2
9. "Move Along Home"-2
10. "The Nagus"-3
11. "Vortex"-2
12. "Battle Lines"-2
13. "The Storyteller"-2
14. "Progress"-3.5
15. "If Wishes Were Horses"-0.5
16. "The Forsaken"-2
17. "Dramatis Personae"-3.5
18. "Duet"-4
19. "In the Hands of the Prophets"-3.5

Average: 2.6

I thought it was quite a dull start. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't exactly enthralled.
Vger23
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 9:36am (UTC -5)
I think the S1 ratings for DS9 are EXTREMELY generous. Yes, this is a very good series (easily my second-favorite after the "incapable of ever being de-throned TOS), but the first season of DS9 is nearly unwatchable.
Iceman
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
@Vger23-I don't know about 'unwatchable', but it is pretty poor.

If I put the 4 star scale to a 10 point scale, here's how it would average out for me (My feelings have changed since I last posted on this page):

1-2. "Emissary"-7.0
3. "Past Prologue"-7.0
4. "A Man Alone"-3.0
5. "Babel"-2.0
6. "Captive Pursuit"-7.0
7. "Q-Less"-2.0
8. "Dax"-9.0
9. "The Passenger"-2.0
10. "Move Along Home"-1.0
11. "The Nagus"-6.5
12. "Vortex"-5.0
13. "Battle Lines"-3.0
14. "The Storyteller"-2.0
15. "Progress"-9.5
16. "If Wishes Were Horses"-2.0
17. "The Forsaken"-6.5
18. "Dramatis Personae"-6.0
19. "Duet"-10.0
20. "In the Hands of the Prophets"-9.5

Averages out to 5.35 for me. An average season of tv. Not great, but not awful.
CPUFP
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
So we made it. To be honest, there were a few points where I thought I’d stop watching, but my good faith was more than rewarded with the season’s last few episodes, which showed a significant rise in the quality of storylines, characterization, and acting.

The main problem so far is that the show doesn’t really have a use for the wormhole. It just serves as a distraction from us getting to know the characters, and the situation in Bajor. During the first half of the season, the wormhole simply drops of aliens of the week, who are poorly characterized and immediately forgotten, just like most of the planets of the week the Enterprise used to visit. Also, there’s no sign that the Bajorans or the Federation have any idea about the strategic of the wormhole, safe for the handful of annoying ambassadors who come to visit in „The Forsaken“. This will of course change later during the Dominion War arch.

Story-wise, as Jammer has pointed out, the season’s strong points are with political and moral questions, rather than high concept science fiction. So far, the equally brutal and refined Cardassians prove much more interesting than the Bajorans, with their silly inner conflicts and insistence on their even sillier religious beliefs. But the shift from pure antagonistic resistance to the necessity of rebuilding a society, which requires diplomacy, political power play and compromises, is still promising, and in some of the Kira-centric episodes this aspects provides engaging storylines.

The season’s high points for me were easily “Duet”, “In The Hands Of The Prophets”, and the Odo/Troi scenes in The Forsaken”. On the other end of the spectrum would be the wormhole scenes in “The Emissary”, which I see as the same level as TNG stinkers like “Code Of Honor”, and “The Storyteller”. Apart from that, there aren’t really any episodes that are terrible as a whole, but a few on the lower end of average.

So far, each of the characters had at least one episode centered on them, but they’re not equally fleshed out, and certainly not acted at the same level.

- Sisko is the one with the richest backstory from the start. He has earned some military merits, but has been clinging to the past since his wife died, and has a history of renitence against his orders. As a result, he’s more or less disposed off with a position at the butthole of Federation space. It’s hard to understand yet what his motivations really are, other than indulging in past memories (mostly of his wife, baseball, and adventures with Curzon Dax) and being left alone. He usually takes the easiest way out of uncomfortable situations, shirking his responsibilities as commander on others, blackmailing, lying, and sometimes forcing others to lie for him to keep his own hands clean. So in general, he’s the anti-Picard, which is fine as a means to create conflict within the stories, but which makes one wonder how he could get this far in Starfleet. Despite Sisko being richly characterized, Avery Brooks seems to have no idea how to play him, and dominates his scenes with wide-eyed crazy looks, overacted gestures and odd little screams. At least his voice is great, but so far, Brooks is the worst of the cast. Let’s see how he develops further down the line.

- Sisko’s counterpoint on the station is Kira. We get a lot of insight into her life and motivations during the season, as she’s basically used to personify the struggles of the Bajoran people as a whole. Despite having somewhat of a learning curve towards the end of the season, she’s mostly written as an impulsive, undiplomatic zealot who has no business being the liaison officer to a foreign power. But since the Bajorans aren’t exactly the smartest when it comes to decision-making (see: destroying a moon with a breathable atmosphere and rich ecosystem in order to power 200.000 homes), they probably thought: What the hell? We might as well send her. The earlier episodes have Nana Visitor playing Kira as someone who’s continually screaming, banging her fists, and stomping her foot. But her acting improves vastly towards the season’s end, where she shines in “Progress” and “Duet”.


- So far, Odo is still rather enigmatic. Most of his backstory is only hinted at, especially his time on the station during Cardassian rule. He’s depicted as a no-nonsense, mostly joyless person, whose only goal is to provide justice, even it means breaking the law. Which he does so often that you wonder why anybody would keep up with it (well, anybody except for Sisko, who also goes by “the ends justify the means” pretty much most of the time). Especially in his behavior towards Quark, he behaves like a quasi-fascist asshole, which the writers seem to expect us to find acceptable because, well, it’s only Quark. But it makes Odo hardly relatable. This is only made up for by the superb acting skills of René Auberjonois, who, in spite of his face being covered in tons of latex, manages to transport all kinds of emotion with just a look, a tilt of the head, or a slight change in the tone of his voice.

- The second noteworthy actor in the cast so far is Armin Shimerman, who plays Quark as a rogue with a heart of gold, and makes even the worst Ferengi stereotypes in the scripts almost believable. While the Ferengi of TNG were simply horrible caricatures for comic relief, Quark is the first of them to be written and acted as an actual person, with their own beliefs and meaningful relationships to others. It’s also refreshing to see a civilian take up such a central position of the cast, and the contrast between his thinking and that of the station’s Starfleet/Bajoran personell sheds new perspectives on situations. Sadly, he’s still often written as the butt of jokes, and the show seems to think that it’s ok for all the other characters (mostly Odo, Kira and Sisko) to load all their crap onto him.


- It’s nice to see that O’Brien gets promoted to the main cast in this show. His role very much mirrors the one of TOS’s Scott, especially in the movies. He’s a technician uninterested in high concepts – as long as he can keep the engine running, he’s content. His family life is also given more screen time here, which serves to ground his character and to show us more of the scope of things going on at this station, with the various troubles going on in Keiko’s school. Colm Meany is the third and last good actor on the show, and it’s satisfying to see him in the spotlight, since he was always much better than many of the higher billed stars on TNG.

- At this point, I don’t know what to make of Dax, and the same seems to be true for the writers as well as Terry Farrell. On paper, she sounds like a fascinating character, who has lived through 300 years’ worth of memories and several different personalities. But apart from a few adventures Curzon had with Sisko, and a study on the general concept of what constitutes a Trill (“Dax”), we’re not offered anything about her actual personality and motives. So Farrell can be forgiven for portraying Dax as a sometimes nagging, but usually emotionless blank slate. I really hope though that the character and Farrell’s acting skills will get a time to shine in the coming season.


- Not really much can be said about Bashir up until now. He’s a young overachiever, he’s easily impressed and likes a challenge. Also, he’s super horny, but only in regard to Dax. Why? Given her so far non-existent personality, your guess is as good as mine – maybe he likes her because she’s a challenge too, since it’s almost impossible that a 300-year old should have an interest in someone as inexperienced as him. Alexander Siddig makes the best he can with the little he’s given. He’s not a great actor, but he plays the character convincingly, apart from the occasional over-acting.

- It’s unclear why Jake Sisko is even presented as member of the main cast at all, since all of his few stories happen in B- or C-plots. Where his father was the anti-Picard, Jake could be considered the anti-Wesley. He’s no wunderkind by any stretch, and his ambitions are limited to hanging around, impressing girls, and getting into trouble. So basically, he’s a modern-day teenager in a futuristic setting, which could be interesting, if he were given a little more room. Cirroc Lofton’s acting is ok – not stellar (after all, he’s just a teenager at this point), but also not as stiff as some of Will Wheaton’s earlier performances.


Honorable mentions should go to the recurring characters of Gul Dukat, Garak, and Nog, as well as their respective actors (Marc Alaimo, Andrew Robinson, and Aron Eisenberg), who outshine many members of the main cast. Wonderful performances are also being given by the guest stars Majel Barrett (as Lwaxana Troi) and Harris Yulin (as Marritza). Patrick Stewart, John de Lancie, and Jennifer Hetrick (as Vash) also give welcome guest appearances, but don’t manage to make that much of an impression.

Overall, a more or less solid first season, which only really finds its footing towards its end, and a promising start for things to come.

Submit a comment





◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.