The Orville

General Discussion

If you have comments on individual episodes, please post them on the individual episode review pages. You can discuss the series at large here.

◄ Season Index

9 comments on this review

JPaul
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
The interesting thing about this show is that it's a very different take on Star Trek than Discovery - no Deep Space 9 vs. Babylon 5 clash of the 90s here.

I won't be surprised if it errs on the side of too much comedy while Discovery tries to be too serious. The perfect show is likely going end up being something in between the two.
Lord Garth
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
"Star Trek: Discovery" and "The Orville" if they were people...

Discovery: I'm dark! I'm serious! It's 2017! Story Arc!!! TV-MA!!!

Orville: Umm, Discovery, do you mind if I get that stick out of your ass?

I'm looking forward to both series but I'd lying if I said this _wasn't_ my impression of the difference between them.
Yanks
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Well, this guy didn't like it...

www.usatoday.com/story/life/tv/2017/09/06/review-seth-macfarlane-the-orville-star-trek-fox/633304001/

eeeesh...
Paul M.
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Orville seems to be getting rather tepid reviews...
Alfred
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 10:15am (UTC -5)
I agree with the comments about the ST:Discovery series. It really sounds like it's going overboard with the SJW virtue signaling. A black female lead with a male name who just happens to be the adopted human sister of Spock even though we've never heard of in the last 50 years?
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
I'm not going to be put off by the tepid reviews. I plan to completely ignore the critics pre-reviews, watch the show, come to my own opinions, then read all the reviews (good and bad) afterward.

Honestly, sometimes I feel that a lot of the professional full-time critics are way out of touch. While I don't dismiss them entirely, I do take them with a grain of salt. Obviously I don't expect I'll agree with any one critic all of the time, but if I start fiercely disagreeing more often than not, well...
(Obviously I don't feel this way about this site or I wouldn't keep coming back ;) )
Dougie
Sun, Sep 10, 2017, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Critics critique. If they all said it was great there'd be no controversy. That doesn't sell advertising space. If everyone who came to Jammers said everything was great everyone would quit coming and the advertising revenue would be $0.

That said most critics lost their senses years ago and actually think people care about the artistry. Nope. A good example is Passengers. Spectacular movie but panned by critics. Hottest script in hollywood for 10 years.

So critics need pay checks and write to obtain advertising impressions which fulfill their paychecks. That's how it works on the internet if there's a business. Most sites with ads are ... a business. Boom.
Rahul
Sun, Sep 10, 2017, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re. the 1st episode of "The Orville" -- not my kind of sci-fi. Not a fan of this kind of cheap, silly humor. Opening scene with this lady cheating on her husband with some blue alien...just not what I want in sci-fi.

I actually only heard of the show a few days ago from this site and decided to check it out instead of watching Cowboys vs. NY Giants.

Sure hope Discovery is not like this, i.e.) Star Trek using this kind of loose, unprofessional language. I understand it's a Seth MacFarlane thing but I'm not a fan of his. I still have my fingers crossed for Discovery.

Pretty basic plot, a basic battle scene and some stupid aliens. Reminded me of Austin Powers when the captain was talking to the captain of the enemy ship and he asks him to move to his right so he's in the center of the viewer. And then they talk about marriage.

So this is really some kind of cheap humor sci-fi and if I judge it based on the criteria I use for judging Trek episodes, I'd give it 1.5 stars. I don't think I'll go out of my way to catch "The Orville" next week.
gingerbreadmen
Mon, Sep 11, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
I really liked it actually. I'm looking forward to darker, serialized Discovery (I am a Niner), but this show was honest from the beginning that it was always going to be an episodic, funnier version of TNG. And on that front it succeeds. They've done a good job with the aliens and I'm curious about later exploring some of the species on the Orville's senior staff.

Submit a comment





◄ Season Index

▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.