Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

finally got around to watching this episode, heard of it , never bothered to sit down and watch it.

I sense that if this was a season 1 episode it would of rated better amongst fans. I guess by season 7, the soup du jour for TNG was more inner personnel relationships between characters and a clear checkpoint of their character evolution (from where they started) and takes a peek into their origins, the family theme helps in that matter and so does the Pegasus episode in that matter.

So yeah, I just treated this episode as TNG making an attempt to rediscover it's goofy sci-fi roots from season 1, probably a 2 1/2 stars....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

''The editing is overly aggressive, with excessive cuts and obnoxious camera work. (Director Olatunde Osunsanmi must've asked himself, "How many needless 180-degree camera rotations can we fit into one episode?") ''


Not just in this episode, as the season went on this semi-rotation camera technique, literally had to make me press pause because it was nauseating.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

'' it's made with our sh***t'' ( admiral talking about replicated food)

Pretty much what Kurtzman is conveying to what's left of the fan base.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

I wanted this episode to truly be between Dax and the initiate, unfortunately the B story (which I think should of been an A story in another episode) , sorta took over . The problem with B stories in trek is that half the time they are side notes with little to no details. So the end product is an ill constructed episode with both stories fighting for screen time and importance only to be mutually diminished, everything felt rushed and poorly ensembled .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

for me this episode single handedly sank the season (for some that happened ions ago) . Not sure what the ''allegory'' is supposed to be here or the social commentary, something I can take out of almost any trek episode. Unfortunately in all my stupidity , I understood the Galaxy is now deprived of dilithium because of a child's tantrum.....

Also like many, I gave a perplexed look at the tv when Burhnam said Saru was out of line, disco writing in a nutshell '' they just forgot'' who was saying it....

As for Tilly , I can't really blame her because heck Saru decided to put an inexperienced ensign in the chair....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

good episode, maybe 3 stars, this felt along the lines (for me anyway) of Harry Kim getting replaced by his carbon double on VOY and never mentioned again
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 8:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Tom
''For better or worse, in TOS or TNG this episode (a typical "trial" setting) would have hinged upon certain issues which are solved in a rational, logical and impersonal way.

Here, there is talk ABOUT logic with very little of it employed in the trial. The situation is resolved because essentially the Vulcans/Romulans resonate emotionally with Michael's plight. Whether this is intentional to cater to more modern tastes or a matter of the writers not having the skill to navigate intellectual issues, I do not know.''

I'm glad someone noticed this , after I would say 3 strong episodes , this one just falls flat. Once again Disco falls back into Kurtzman logic , Tilly gets promoted to acting commander that has Garrett Wang on suicide watch . Everything must start and end with Burnham , a plot concept that is rather hurting the show and diminishing every other character and story arcs .....as they did with Spock's implication in Unification , all of a sudden Burhnam seems like the master architect of Unification, because she told Spock '' how to think and see the Universe'' . That trial scene was everything but logical , felt like a plastic set up for instant '' drama '' , no build up or pivotal rebuttal like in the Drumhead or Mesure of a Man .

At this point Im rather interested in how Saru is handling his duties as captain, the eventual problem with Georgiu , I don't mind the engineering crew , hell i'll settle for an episode of Tilly screwing up command and learning from it. Safe to say I'm nauseated by '' Micheal Burham Controls the Universe '' (sorry Andy Richter) .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 7:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

So I just watched this episode, really not as bad as the review makes it out to be or some on this message board paints it as being ''another Luxuana Troy episode''.

I'll say this, the character is polarizing in a sense that she is at times the lowlight and highlight of some episodes. Meaning , she will flatline a plot to the point of eye rolling boredom or be a humorous prop that makes Picard fear her more then the Borg or annoy Troy to death by embarrassment.

I think the writers really tried to give this character an ounce of credence with this episode ( although DS9 tried to do that with the elevator scene). Repressed trauma is a real problem and this episode explores that plain and simple , sometimes getting it out of a person can be a mucky and emotional experience , reason being why they had those ''1950's cliches'' and Phanthasms like camera work.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Very solid episode , I thought the Barzan security officer was one of the strong points of last season so it sorta sucked to see her stay behind, maybe a season finale cameo is in the books for her.

The Georgiu scenes were probably my favorite parts , even if the notion of her disabling 32nd century holograms seems far fetched.

Aside from the first episode that had me going '' here we go again'' , Disco seems to be gaining that series momentum and coming into it's own.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@SlackerInc

One of the hosts had a Starfleet 2399 uniform
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 10, 2020, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Only thing that bugged me about this episode, then again , this has been a theme through out Disco, even with the consorted effort to rectify some canon in season 2.

Do Trills see their former hosts as spiritual manifestations, at the end of this episode with Gray , I don't recall Jadzia talking to people others don't see.

Also it was pretty great the nod at ST Picard
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 3, 2020, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Seeing alot of negative comments about this episode, I actually enjoyed it, I think this aired a week after the Gambit so I'm not sure if the theme on the writing board for both episodes was ''Mercenaries'' .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I guess a microcosm of season 7th TNG fatigue ( I have actually never seen this episode until today) can be resumed in this two parter, at times it felt like Steward and Frakes were just cashing in the performance, sometimes being nonchalante , to sudden mood changes (especially that shouting match with Troy), I basically had trouble taking them seriously in their '' mission''. Ah and of course Worf all of a sudden disregarding Data after 7 seasons.

Some have compared this 2 parter to a ds9 plot , I can also argue ST Picard must of ripped a page out of this episode, ship of mercenaries not bound by federation law ...huh so it has been done before, in this less then memorable tng episodes.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

A well thought out season finally in theory, just poorly executed with it's fair share of plot wholes as explained above, most notably if they were really serious about blowing up the ship they should of set phasers to maximum setting and blow up the warp core .....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 12:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

As many have mentioned a very ambitious installment that perfectly encapsulates the consequences of the events of'' In the Hands of the Prophets''. And also a worthy introduction to a bad guy staple along Dukat being Kai Wynn (Vedek at this point sorry for the spoiler) .

What I loved about season 1 and especially amplified in season 2 , were the political intrigues of the Beta quadrant ( and to some extent the alpha quadrant) pre Klingon / Dominion War.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 9:05am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Ultimately an episode fueled by memberberries , and it works. That scene around the diner table was the glimmer of I thought this show would be about, serious rational talking points a la tng.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

'' event plot lines '' ...lol whatever that means.

As opposed to what cheesy TOS plot lines that put a smear on TNG's first two seasons and makes for laughable conversations on these same boards....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

"Does anyone remember when we used to be explorers?"

...me neither Jean-Luc.....me neither

as a whole this is the 180 degree turn star trek has taken since JJ Trek in 2009 and by extension his minion Kurtzman Trek (except for Beyond which I thought did a sincere effort to stay true to that theme, but I digress) .

One can argue DS9 had alot of pew pew and explosions .....but DS9 did take pause from that at times and reminded us we were watching Star Trek by showing us the human (or alien) nature of war and it's consequences. If I wanted non stop gun slinging action I'd probably watch the Mandelorian. At the end of the day the premise was practically a copie paste of the premise of a New Hope except Burnam meets the smuggler before entering a city that's seems like the Mos Eisley of said planet.....
Set Bookmark
Zanki
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@Peter G

Oh definitely, it's absurd to assume (in Western civilization to my knowledge) that you're deemed guilty before the trial even starts, probably why the viewers crack a laugh, and yes like some have said, it does plays along the lines of Kafka's '' The Trial'' where we see first hand the absurdity bureaucracy can take some times.
Set Bookmark
Zanki
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 8:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Knowing what I know of the entirety of the VOY series, I think the Voth would of made an excellent recurring ''bad guy of the week '' (instead we get the Hirogen ,Space Garbage Men the Mayllon, and the Cone Heads of the Delta Quadrant, those Hierarchy dudes, oh and the dumbass hunters) .

The theme of VOY has been wasted potential to be something greater, the Voth coming to grips with the existence of a '' second born race'' and tolerating it would of made for an interesting premise that could of spanned over a few seasons .
Set Bookmark
Zanki
Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

It's an okay episode I guess, my guess they sort of tried to do like ''chain of command '' maybe that explains why I wasn't surprised of the Orwellian approach to their legal system ...you sort of expect this from the Cardassian's at this point.
Set Bookmark
Zanki
Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 12:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me, DS9 season 1 was like any show trying to find it's footing early on, like many on this review, Duet is sort of like this diamond in the rough. I knew every landmark episode of TNG and VOY , but I had no clue this episode existed in a season 1 of trek (Star trek is notorious for having lack luster starters).

The holocaust allegory is heavy here, Yulin delivering what I think is the role he will be remembered for , funny because i'm watching Ozark and he's playing the old guy , but I digress. He's invested in the character and it all comes to a crescendo when he spills his emotional guts in front of Kira, trying to remedy the atrocities the Bajorans had to endure.

As mentionned by many this bottle episode punches above it's weight
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.