Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 49 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Zanki
Sat, May 1, 2021, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I hated this episode, this would of been a good season 1 or 2 episode, but at this point, it's all just grey and you assume as the viewer that messy things happened on both sides of the occupation (I agree more one sided towards Bejorans but you get the point).
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I'll give it five stars because this episode pretty sets in motion the arch and theme of the 5th season being imminent invasion of the dominion , granted at this point were not supposed to know what the locust symbolise.

Outside of that concept, Sisko getting surreal powers harkens back to some classic TOS that didn't necessarily imply technobabble to explain why or how something worked. Star Trek never had a problem sep rating itself from the machine or science, and it works well here.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I would of given it one star had the character of Worf been written otherwise in TNG.

I do not recall Worf being so pious in the previous show, had the Worf in this episode served on the Enterprise ,Riker would of been castrated by Bat'leth, Diana would of been seen as ''impur'' and probably he would of never had that one night stand with Klingon woman in season 2.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

'' I get to sue doctor Orpax''


....being a Ferengi doctor sounds like a very volatile business
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

Solid season finale, highlight of the episode is the female changeling giving a grim warning to Garak that war will come to Cardasia and given they're barely holding off the Klingnons at that point , one would think they're boxed in a corner. Which makes Dukat's diplomatic reversal in season 5 all that more impressive.

One thing has bugged me since the Klingnons have become adversarial and i'm not sure if the writers chose to ignore this, but I thought the ability for the Klingnons to wage war especially against the Federation, was syphoned because of the Praxis incident in ST 6
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

I guess they tried to do a sci fi version of those old french films, cigarette in an artist cafe on a Sunday afternoon.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

precisely how I felt about this episode, we know this scenario all too well, yet, they found a way to make it enticing, a welcomed pause from season's 4 heavy political intrigues.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Always strong outings with mirror universe episodes, but.....this one sort of felt like the concept was running out of steam. After going through the spectrum of characters and how they differ from their prime counterparts , it starts to become these recurring panoramas of themes from the first two episodes.

Only redeeming part is the Defiant tearing up a squadron of Klingnons/ Cardassians (yet somehow gets the bejesus kicked out of it in '' the search'').
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

@Jon
Yeah that whole B plot with Worf was sort of useless and going nowhere fast when you come the realization it made no sense to have living quarters on a ship he may not be on when on a long term or heck short trip . I did like the nudge O'Brien said about dying of boredom when he was transport chief on the Enterprise. And Odo slamming him for being a sloppy security officer on the Federations flag ship , I'm surprised he didn't mention the events from Starship Mine aka Die Hard Trek .

That being said, I'd give this 7/10, I have a bias for Ferengi episodes , I'll say this I did feel genuinely sorry for ROm when Quark disavowed him as a brother.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 7:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

Holodeck episodes in ST are hit or miss, and most of the time it's a miss......especially in VOY, that being , said maybe I'm a James Bond fan so there's some bias but I would say this is probably the best holodeck episode in all of trek given the ridiculous yet improbable context .

Garak is key in this episode reminding the viewers that real life spying isn't a 007 a la Sean Connery type smooth sailing. In fact I pretty much gutted my insides of laughter when he said '' clearly I joined the wrong spy agency'' and '' they never thought me this in the Obsidian Order''. He was also instrumental in reminding the viewers that yes this whole situation is pretty ridiculous (not sure if this was a stab at how TNG approached these sort episodes) and we should just do the logical thing and let all 5 die ....and it's made clear the writers were probably chuckling as they wrote this episode down knowing how weak the premise was.

''Our Man Bashir'' is probably the worst yet strongest pure ''holodeck shenanigans'' episodes trek has to offert up .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Mar 18, 2021, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

although I get why Jammer rated this episode so high , for me at times it was a platitude, the whole Turel thing was just useless filler (like hey remember this kid from that one episode of tng and Duras clan) , basically a whole lot of nothing with him.

As for the LOTR parallel , it's easy to make but also necessary and plausible in some way as to why no ordinary Klingon can wield the sword. Heck this came out in 1995, probably a good chunk of the audience have probably never read the books before Peter Jackson made it main stream fantasy.

7/10 just a solid Korr Klingnon quest
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

I would say 5/10, I thought the B story was way more fascinating than Bashir and O'Brien dealing with rogue Jem Hadar. Somehow (and this is just me), I never came to grips with O'Brien going on a nut rage and destroying everything in sight. One would think star fleet's main mandate is to give out a helping hand , Dominion or not.

From what I understood, the ratings were tanking , despite bringing Worf on board , not sure if the writers had pressure to put out something extreme such as O'Brien trashing the main principles of starfleet.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Great episode, especially the action sequences topped with the ST Generations theme playing, it makes for something out of our confort zone from what we've seen in TNG (which normally resolves into a diplomatic solution admit the rising tensions).

Concerning Gowron's out of character mood shift , I could argue that this is thought to be explained in a later season that he might be a changeling hence his brash actions, but as the series goes on and spoiler, Martok is the culprit , it sort of leaves you wondering if the writers sort of rewrote the TNG Gowron to make him more of the perfect imperial bouffon .

In TNG we saw a cunning and calculated Gowron always willing to let the better general get the job done, DS9 Gowron is just straight out....Klingnon, evidence to that in ''Taking Into the Wind''...all this to say the last true appearance of TNG Gowron would be in ''House of Quark''
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

what can be said about this episode, it's 2021 and pretty much all that needed to be said about is self evident on these boards.

I actually watched this episode with someone who's not well versed in star trek, and just watches it when I happen to have the tv , true story they were low key crying towards the end.

Tony Todd just knocked it out of the ballpark when he said '' we're getting a second chance'' . I guess the real tragedy here is Benjamin wanting his son to live out a happy and fulfilling life while Jake goes into this obsession on bringing him back at the expense of wasting it away.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

If you ever feel useless, just think of Jadzia and Quark in this episode
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

''Die is cast'' and ''Improbable '' is in my book the highlight of season 3. This is an Odo, Garak story and it's a great dynamic because both are probably the most astute/ paranoid characters on the show .

Basically the first part is Odo giving a quasi interrogation into Garak's mysterious background, and the second part is Garak showing us why he was a feared interrogator in a rather disturbing scene. Probably the secret agent theme of ST, Omarion Nebula battle removed.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

7 out of 10, the fact Qark annoyed the prophets into submission is worth it
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Just got around to watching this after running through 7 seasons of TNG , with some perspective on ''how things work', in the ST universe , I can understand why maybe a casual Sci-Fi fan who has never bothered watching the entirety of tng or tos (or it's movies) will probably think it's a decent sci-fi film . As for a ST fan to call this movie out as being poorly written and lame.

That being said, it's a 6 on 10 for me , (or 21/2 out of 4 in this case), like some have mentioned , the movie beats the drums on solid notes , Kirk being reduced to a Starfleet spokesperson and finding retirement boring , honestly just Kirk , no Bones, Spock, Chekov or Scotty would of sufficed to convey what the entire scene was about.

The whole uniform thing didn't bug me, in fact it might of gave an undesired touch of realism which I enjoyed. On the same note, I loved the refitted Enterprise bridge and the darker scene shades to give it that movie like atmosphere. And of course the advent of Worf's promotion, Picards entire extended family perishing in a fire adds to ''event'' being essentially a ''tng'' movie and not a star trek movie.

What sunk this movie was poor writing, the potential was there for something memorable , instead we get a retrofitted Ent D getting blow out of the stars by an out dated bird of prey, Riker forgetting that shield modulation is a thing and that he heavily out guns a D12....they should of given the Duras sisters a Neg Var class , they had the model from All Good Things, could of made for a more credible battle.

The whole mechanics surrounding how the nexus works could of been plot armored had they taken time to write a few more restrictions on what can and can't be done with the bloody ribbon. They say ships blow up yet at the beginning of the movie we see evidence that the transport ships withstood the nexus for a few moments before imploding, and the famous argument Picard could of returned at the point in time in 10 forward and have Sorin arrested.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I thought this episode was rather sordid and illustrated how twisted and uncompassionate Kai Wynn is compared to Opaka.

Wynn was literally beating a dead horse (Bareil) and everyone except Bashir seemed okay with it. It was a death but by a thousand cuts....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

huh and to think Parallax was on VOY the following week, must of really turned off some viewership at the time.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

so I'm doing a watch in order sort of thing , Generations came out 3 days prior to this episode , yet every watch guide I come accros (Reddit , Wiki), suggests the events of Generations happened at around Through the Looking Glass" and ''Improbably Causes '' ?
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Reading Jamer's review , I'm not sure this episode merits 2 starts but maybe 3. Aside from the fail safe that I thought was at the time humorous and preposterous , it's a fun ''escape room'' episode.

Anyhow, this is Saw Trek ....just replace Dukat by Jig Saw
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I won't go on a long rant that Keong is Picard light, but it's clearly illustrated by the writers through the destruction of the Odyssey , that the Dominion will not be appeased through TNG style diplomatic channels, or in any case DS9 will be the happy-go-lucky space exploration and analysis of the human condition that we have been so accustomed to in TNG , I think there is a reason they decided to have this finale right after All Good Things.

That being said, I think season 2 of DS9 is very underrated, it hits the drums slowly at the start with some generic sci-fi episodes, once the maquis come along it gets into this moral political sci fi drama, and the steaks in DS9 just go up a notch, add to that the introduction of the Dominion and the concept that the '' Final Frontier'' can push back .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Aya
''Another example of Trek making episodes with manic, sexualized versions of characters wearing leather Spandex and boob-y dresses and shimmying everywhere.... Made specifically for the same creepy fanboys that Seven of Nine was made for. Hate it. Hate. It.

Everyone's weird manic laughy delivery and hypersexuality made this episode over the top and terrible. I'm surprised Jammer rated it so favorably. This works in TOS because it is by nature over the top. Not in DS-9.''

....ever opened a history book and looked at the decadence of the Roman Empire or the Harems of the Ottoman Sultanate , the mirror Universe is supposed to illustrate those parallels....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Probably my second favorite episode of season 7 after Lower Decks , if Michelle Forbes stayed on board she could of easily had a cameo or two on DS9 , or as someone suggesting even getting a role on VOY (I think there is room for her and Torres, the key is getting rid of Neelix) but I guess she feared getting type casted in a role , I digress.

This episode felt like a space western , especially the bar scenes (reminiscent to some as the Mos Eisley bar scene) , the reasons for defecting are credible and of course the screw job on Picard hurts more then Eddington betraying Sisko, I guess it's because we all saw Ro grow as a characther...
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.