Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That wink:
Now why would Pike wink back in answer to Empress Georgiou's confession?
Does he know she's Terran all along? (how, since when?)
Is HE Terran?! after all he did beam aboard out of nowhere.....

Perhaps another Short Trek to please explain.
Or maybe cleanshaven Spock, gorgeous (non-hirsute) Number One & Pike all bump into mirror Georgiou again in Section 31 spinoff?
Make it so!
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

hi Jamahl, been re-watching newly acquired dvds for ST:Picard.
Regarding your critique of Agnes - poor woman didnt have the wisdom of Picard to help her unpack her Maddox dilemma. I say she maybe wouldnt have been so hasty with Maddox's murder if Picard had been able to question her judgment, step by step, like he did with Raffi's erroneous accusations against Agnes & Soji.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 4:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Luddite babyboomers like me just got our hands on the dvd - and I've watched it 3x already, the last time in a binge of TFA, TLJ & TRoS. Have to say whilst I find Kylo Ren/Ben Solo life history an unlikely tale, overall the storytelling is great, mostly (did skim thru some irrelevant bits). Abrahms did a good job with Leia scenes.
Wonderful landscape and sunset scenes - Luke's homeland & island hideout in particular.
Plagiarised scene is probably not the right thing to call out JJ Abrahms' favourite pastime - the words spoken sinks in, and leaves one distracted: where have I heard that before, where have I seen that before - Stargate? ID4? Star Trek:Picard? No matter, new generation of Star War fans probably like that sort of teasing from Abrahms, prompted by Mom/ Dad. (I am still puzzling over Poe agonising by Leia's deathbed, which movie was it).
By the way 'new' Star Trek movies, Abrahms style, I didnt like at first viewing, probably because they are standalone stories.
Those fans panning this final trilogy of Skywalker saga should try and view these family movies thru the eyes of younglings, and not as would be movie makers !
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 3:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@4Q2
I have rewatched ST Discovery dvd and new ST movies (2009, Into Darkness, Beyond) again - conclusion: Anson Mount's Pike is just great. I see a lot of Shatner's mannerisms and posturing from Anson, who digested old Trek thoroughly it looks like.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Jammer, can you go back and comment on Short Treks included in dvd sets please?
Short Trek The Brightest Star about Saru and Lieutenant Georgiou is quite relevant to Kaminar episodes.
Many thanks for good reads in Jammer's Reviews.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Re Vulcan Hello:
I thought the desert planet intro culminating in Star Trek logo etched in the sands is so very well done. Yay!
However, none of the Klingon episodes grab, so far.
Except maybe the time crystal acquisition episode - Pike's vision of future fate may not be meant for him, if my surmise that he's from the mirror universe plays out (he winked back at badass Georgiou when she confessed to being Terran).
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 1:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

New Eden's buildings so reminiscent of where the Caretaker plonk down Janeway's crew (Voyager pilot).
Simplistic unravelling of what the Red Angel's missions are.
I like it.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 4:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Re: Stamets/Culber - relationship breakdown can perhaps be explained in another way: Culber is from mirror universe! Hence he does not have any inclination to step into original Culber's shoes.
And when Pike gives Georgiou a wink at her revelation that she's mirror universe version, showing no surprise at all: are we to surmise that Pike too is mirror universe version all along?! He did after all appear out of nowhere, didnt he.
ST Discovery universe has CGI galore - how about "dating" each series with a bit more of that, eg the imagined spectacle of when Andromeda galaxy collides with ours, eg Betelgeuse implodes with a big bang, etc More astronomy please!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 9:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Just read critique/review on Season 2.
I love them bringing back the 3-dimensional chess - missed out on ordering a model decades ago. Figurines I never cared to own, so perhaps we will get a second chance to own that futuristic chess set soon?!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I read somewhere that fans are very interested in Rey's origin and parentage. Just watched Rogue One on dvd - Jyn's crystal pendant holds the clue, because her mother's (Lyra) side must have the Force in them, as blind monk Chirrut could sense Jyn's presence when she walked past him. Maybe Jyn was saved somehow and Rey is offspring from Jyn-Lyra's family tree, which would tie in Rogue One characters with Rey's future stories.
By the way, re swordplay and ancient Japanese folklore - I grew up watching black & white movies of Chinese swordplay and 'ching kung', much like Yoda's lightsaber fights. So Chinese audience may be wooed if Michelle Yeoh (of ST Dicovery fame) turns up with a lightsaber in SW franchise!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.