Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I've been rewatching Voyager on Netflix. I found this thread because I was wondering if it was Avery Brooks as a Klingon... He seemed very familiar and I realized it was his voice that sounded familiar- his inflections are just like Avery Brooks.
Set Bookmark
ToNy
Sun, Nov 6, 2016, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Not a fan of this episode AT ALL. So much so I did an immediate google search to see if anyone else agreed with me.

Thank you for creating this review site.

Love Star Trek! Especially TNG and Voyager (hence going back and watching yet again)

My main problem is the ridiculous plot holes. The villain being able to have such a high level of understanding of future tech. The horrible dialog, especially the 'uh-oh' death line. I was cringing the whole time.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Fri, Oct 7, 2016, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Thanks for the review. Agreed with pretty much all of it.

Archer's character had seemed to me to have been written as that of a self-entitled 12-year-old, so arguably this episode showed he'd matured a year or 2. But it was very silly.

I did like the bit where Archer spoke to T'Pol about the "tension" and she gave him a verbal slap, but other than that pretty bad.

It also annoys me when Archer talks about how "Porthos needs fresh air as well". Yeah, how many crew members are there? And how many of them get 'fresh air'?

The decontamination zone is getting annoying for its use as a plot device.

Set Bookmark
Tony
Tue, Sep 20, 2016, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

I didn't see the comparison with Shuttlepod One. Maybe I just enjoyed Trip and Reed more than Archer and Reed. I'd watch Shuttlepod One several times, but not this one.
I liked last week's though, can't please everyone all the time.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Fri, Sep 16, 2016, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

I was expecting it to be pretty bad from watching other tv shows. Part 2 always cheats part 1.
I thought this was really good. I like Silik's character and but it was weird how Archer managed to overpower the ship like that.
Some of the action scenes felt like padding.
But I like it. Promising start to series 2 (I'm watching these rather late you'll gather, just found they're on Netflix).
As for 'hammy', I really like Enterprise but I feel that some of the acting's like that every week. The speeches worked for me and Archer was just Archer.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Thu, Sep 15, 2016, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

I loved that episode.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

Regarding Red Dwarf's Marooned - I haven't seen it for a while but by my recollection that worked because we knew the characters a lot better, whereas this was in series 1.

Also, I think Reed is a deeper character than Rimmer.

And RD is comedy sci-fi (partly depending on which series) whereas Enterprise is sci-fi drama with some comedy thrown in. And I think we learned more about Reed and Tucker than we did about Lister and Rimmer in the 2 episodes.

(this is mostly my opinion obviously....)
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

Definitely one of my favourites of season 1.
2 men in a room winding each other up and exploring their characters. I thought Trip got too many of the punchlines, but that his frustration was fair enough.
The airlock bit was a bit silly though.

Regarding Reed as the lady's man, I thought his actions suggested the opposite. He knew (or had known) a few women and still had strong feelings for them.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

I enjoyed it.
I seem to like the relationship touches to an episode (TPol and Archer getting a bit closer, Reed's reaction to Archer's comebacks etc). Maybe that's not very sci-fi but I like it.

It was fun watching engineering as well.

Set Bookmark
Tony
Fri, Sep 9, 2016, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Only started watching Enterprise a week or so ago. Been really enjoying it so far. I didn't really like the episode though, for me there was little pay-off.
It was interesting seeing the Hoshi/T'Pol bit, I liked the water polo bit as well. (not my cup of tea but Archer's mentioned water polo before and it wasn't Tripp's cup of tea either but he watched it with Archer anyway and the 2 of them showed some of their friendship).
Anyway, for me there was too little communication with the creature. No reveal. It seemed obvious that the only answer it could give when they spoke to it was "take me home". Anything else would have resulted in 2 of the main characters dying.
The reveal about the first contact was more interesting I think.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sun, May 8, 2016, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

I liked this episode a lot. I firmly believe there were other female captains, and commodores and admirals, but Janice wasn't one of them. I think she was too mentally unstable to be given a command, and blamed her gender and not herself.

The second captain ever of a starship was female. Watch "Enterprise."
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sun, Apr 17, 2016, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I just finished watching enterprise and this will be my first, and I guess last, comment. I really enjoyed the series, even the first 2 seasons. Lots of kvetching from lots of people though.

Archer was the worst part of the whole series. Trip was the best, so watching him die made me cry. That part was way worse than the holodeck part.

I haven't liked the last episode on any of the series. Just don't want to say goodbye. Like lots of people , I grew up on star trek, and I never want to see any of the series end.

And finally, to join in the spirit of all the commenters who nitpick everything, I'll add my own. When the xindi attack Florida, the beam starts right about Orlando and goes south, right through the everglades and keeps going. When I first watched it, I was happy it didn't hit gainesville. Later when trip said it destroyed his hometown, I was puzzled. It was nowhere near Panama city, which is in the panhandle.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Thu, Jan 28, 2016, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

So I recently watched this episode for probably the 100th time, and I'm trying to figure out how a blind man -LaForge- could have been brainwashed. Without the visor, he's blind, and adding the Game doesn't automatically make him see. We know the visor needs to send flashes in the eyes to work, that's basically HOW it works. I doubt the game would be attenuated to his Visor, and I doubt his visor can create the same effects as the game itself. It doesn't add up.
Set Bookmark
tony
Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 7:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

"Well for all those complaining about Quark not getting punished...........

Maybe this was one of the times when Sisko later proclaimed he could have come down hard on Quark but didn't. Makes sense to me."

Well, it sure doesn't make any fucking sense to me, since Quark's actions almost got a friend of Sisko's KILLED!!!

Set Bookmark
tony
Wed, Mar 13, 2013, 5:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

@Nathaniel

Well let's see, they show up at DS9's first damn episode, they figure in boring episodes like "Destiny" and even that one episode where the Nagus 'regresses' to a more generous person, they infamously gave that deux ex machina ending to the arc which began the sixth season, & (for reasons we could care less about because Ira did) they send Sisko away at the series's end.
Set Bookmark
tony
Wed, Mar 13, 2013, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

You can tell DS9 was really starting to show its age by this point. Confused Matthew aptly called this episode the point where things went to shit with this show.
Set Bookmark
Tony Hendren
Thu, Feb 14, 2013, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I can't believe how many people agree with the outcome of this episode. It's scary. That it's okay to let other societies enslave people because it's their business. Totally uncharacteristic of Archer. Trip did the right thing, and the suicide was NOT his fault. Ending the show with Charlies death on his shoulders was wrong. If society suppresses people who would rather die than not be free than who is to blame? Society, not freedom. A society that is not outraged by this sort of situational morality is in danger of accepting it. I thought I would see more outrage here, but to my dismay a lot of people agree with the stupid story. AHHHH!
Set Bookmark
Tony
Tue, Jun 26, 2012, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

navamske:
"What about it (the Equinox)? Chuckles asks Janeway if there were any reports of other missing ships, not if she omnisciently knows about every Federation vessel that got yanked into the Delta quadrant. Evidently there were no such reports where the Equinox was concerned."

So Starfleet wouldn't have reported that ship missing? If Janeway didn't 'omnisciently' know about it or any other missing ships, couldn't she do that non-complicated thing called 'looking things up'?
Set Bookmark
Tony
Wed, Jun 13, 2012, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

"Because "Our Man Bashir" was a zippy and fun parody of cliches, while "Fistful of Datas" was a plodding and lifeless regurgitation of them."

WTF-ever, dude! This episode ROCKED!!!
Set Bookmark
Tony
Wed, May 23, 2012, 4:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

You dislike this episode because of the way Troi's understandable breakdown occurs, yet you gave "Crossfire" 3 stars even though Odo moping for Kira almost got Bajor's First Minister KILLED!
Funny, I don't recall Troi's moping getting anyone killed. Indeed, Picard encourages her to help the crew even though she doesn't have her abilities, whereas Worf saves Odo's shapeshifting ass by catching Shakaar's would-be assassin.
There's goes your DS9 bias again. Sheesh.....
Set Bookmark
Tony
Mon, Apr 30, 2012, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Uhh...
Actually, Troi was present at the episode's beginning. She said that she could sense an emotional presence in Q, but the crew were still understandably skeptical due to their past dealings with him.
Set Bookmark
Tony
Sun, Oct 9, 2011, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

"When did Sisko become a God, exactly?"

Oh, let's see, how about when he disappears into obilivion & returns in some bullshit spiritual form to tell his pregnant wife that he'll be back maybe tomorrow, maybe yesterday, maybe in two weeks, or some such bullshit like that, while she just has to raise their child by herself & (doubtlessly) tell that kid that Daddy just disappeared one day & who knows when he'll be back.

If any of the other series had done this, people like you would be saying how much it lacked creativity, but, if DS9 pulls shit like this, then the show must have its reasons.
Set Bookmark
tony
Mon, Sep 19, 2011, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

I'll forgive you for living this time, but don't do it again!
Set Bookmark
tony
Mon, Sep 12, 2011, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Jeff O'Connor,
The TNG vs. DS9 wars can only end when those who obsessively drool over DS9 can see reason by not taking pot shots at TNG whenever they praise 'their' show.
If someone likes DS9 better than TNG that's fine, but what bugs the crap out of me is how they basically dismiss TNG as a bland abomination for no good reason.
Set Bookmark
tony
Fri, Aug 12, 2011, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Mike Meares

I just love how people like you bend over backwards insisting that Kirk taking Edith to the future with him just wasn't an option, even though NOTHING in the episode indicates that it wasn't. It's just like those people making excuses for why Janeway just didn't set a timer on the Caretaker and going home.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.