Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 185 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Well, I enjoyed this one as well. Thats two pretty strong outings in a row. Hopefully next week starts a hitting streak.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Hope the momentum continues.

Set Bookmark
Tom R
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I feel like everyone who liked this episode has just lowered the bar so low, they don’t know what a good Trek episode is anymore.


This whole episode was a waste of time. Everything revealed were things we all already knew. The red angel is a time traveler. It’s probably MB anyway. Don’t ask why. And why did MB have the intelligence as like 9 year old to know she should leave her home because of some bs politicial faction? Is she just great at everything she does all the time?

I also dont even buy that she cares for Spock. They’re relationship is completely unbelievable.
Saru letting that fight continue. Was ridiculous also.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@ Borbo

Good point.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

3 stars. Predictable, but fun.

One nit pick. The "pee corner" thing. Usually I don't care if a show addresses stuff like that, but since they did, the shuttle crafts don't have restrooms? I always assumed they did because they can travel ftl, and I would think some of those trips could take a while.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Not just the best Orville episode but one of the best episodes of any Trek (it's so similar to Star Trek I am happy to group it in that way).

What a shower of shit Discovery is by comparison.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I thought this was pretty good. The bridge scene was extremely tense, though I think if I were Pike I would have removed Saru from the bridge about halfway into it. I'm not sure what to make of the red angel. Think its an interesting concept but it hasn't really gone anywhere so far.

I also am not a fan of the Tyler character. I don't know if its the writing, acting, direction, or all of the above. Just doesn't do anything for me.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

That was pretty great. Any nitpicks I might have about some of the plot really don't detract from the episode as a whole. Excited for the resolution.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

If I had to rate this on the Jammer scale, it would be 1.5 stars. I just couldn't get totally into this one.

As much as I like having Dr. Culber back, I think this episode just highlights how silly it was to have him killed off in the first place. I did think for a moment though his death would be permanent, and I credit the actors for that.

I also think that the Section 31 stuff isn't very interesting, nor is the Ash Tyler character. And I do think they could slow down the technobabble solution scenes. They come so quickly after a problem is presented that they don't feel quite earned, if that makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I'd agree with a 3 star episode here. My only gripe would probably be I thought the Burnham/Saru deathbed scene was a little overdone, but I think thats a nitpick. Much better than last weeks outing.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Slacker, it's not a misunderstanding. Other atheists came up with a term that is deliberately offensive to anyone who disagrees with them and you apparently use it without even realising that. Obviously people can call themselves whatever they like - but it's obviously incredibly closed minded to say everyone who thinks freely could reach only your own conclusions about big questions. Is that what you are saying? Or are you saying that plenty of devout Christians, Jews etc can also be free thinkers?
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

"This [implying that only atheists can be free thinkers] is common usage in my circles"

That says so much more about your circles than it does about religious people. Absurd.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Jan 28, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Is there any purpose to claiming only atheists are freethinkers other than to detail the thread? I am agnostic myself but I find sentences like that absurd.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I don't mind plots that don't make total sense if the jokes are good. But there was hardly any humour this week either.

The birth scene was interminable. Do they think there is something inherently moving about watching a birth? Boring.
Set Bookmark
Tom Poore
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

This single episode has sparked a heated and compelling debate. It grapples with a scenario for which there’s no easy answer. It makes us uncomfortable. It makes us think. That’s what high art ought to do. For these reasons, at least, this episode deserves to be considered as high art.
Set Bookmark
Tomus Parvus
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN

'I can't get over all of the egregious violations of canon. Everything about it annoys me, every time I see something anachronistic to the timeline I grew up, I immediately say "But what about _________?" '

I totally agree. I have to admit, I've found this season far more compelling than the last, and was really getting into this episode. But then I remember that this is a Kirk era where they somehow have spore-drives and holographic communication and where the Klingons don't act or look like Klingons.

Why, why, why did this have to be a prequel? All of these stories would work much better if this were set fifty years after TNG/DS9/VOY. The new technology we've never seen, the new ship designs, a new threat (that didn't have to be Kingons) would all fit into the timeline. But instead my brain is trying to shove this square Discovery peg into a round prime-universe/timeline hole.

I fear that even if the stories get better and better, which they are so far, I'l still never 100% be able to buy into the show.

Set Bookmark
Ghost of Tom J
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I've been reading Jammer for a long time. First post I believe, though.

Overall, I really enjoy The Orville. And I have to agree, I think this episode is a 3 star one. In fact, I don't think any of the episodes have eclipsed that yet.

There are a lot of things to like in the episode though. I though Xeleya looked great. The weird twist was interesting, and having the two doctors on opposite sides was fun. But I thought the comedy was flat and in all honesty, I don't think this show has had enough time for me to feel something about Alara leaving the ship. I do hope she comes back at some point.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

"it's really surprising that any Star Trek fan is so pro-capitalist since the Federation in Star Trek is a nearly pure socialist entity"

I see this argument made a fair bit and if you are making this point in good faith - rather than as some kind of "Ha! Gotcha!" - it deserves a response. Why would a keen conservative also be a keen Star Trek fan?

1. You can enjoy fiction without enjoying every specific bit of it. At least until Discovery, while Star Trek's political and moral messages have always been heavy handed and extremely unsubtle, they are reasonably rare and often confined to the closing minutes of an episode. I don't feel like I am watching a political campaign ad when watching Star Trek.

2. Similarly, it's not a contradiction to like someone's fiction while disagreeing with their politics. For all I know, Ronald Reagan would have written some awful Star Trek episodes (although he talked about sci fi themes a surprising amount for a leading politician), but that wouldn't actually alter my view of his Presidency. Ditto I can think a Star Trek writer's politics are something I would never vote for while enjoying his scripts.

3. I think there is a fair bit of liberals seeing 20th/21st century conservatives in Star Trek villains in a way that no conservative would.

Anyone can caricature ideas they disagree with, but there is this helpful notion - the ideological Turing test - that requires one to describe what your political opponents believe in a way that they would agree describes their own belief. You don't have to agree with that description yourself - you just need to be able to describe what someone else thinks so accurately that they would endorse it.

I don't think many Star Trek writers are even trying to caricature conservatives, but insofar as they do, they would usually fail the ideological Turing test. I don't feel in any way obliged to side with the evil caricatures when they don't remotely reflect my view of the ends and means in the first place! (Or, to separate ends and means, you could even happily agree with a character's verbal argument about tradition or whatever, but when they do something evil you could disagree with that bit.)

4. Perhaps above all, the notion of Star Trek as this post-economics, post-scarcity utopia has always seemed the weakest part of the franchise. Almost every time it is touched upon - which is rare - it comes up against problems like:

"Why is everyone cheering that round of drinks Picard bought everyone if it's free anyway?"
"What do humans do when meeting a society that doesn't practice post-currency economics and actually wants to be paid?" [Jake Sisko's answer was to whine at Rom for his latinum so he could bid in an auction.]
"Who exactly is allocating tables in Ben Sisko's dad's restaurant for free? Who is working in 'turbolift control' on a starship?"

This is before you even consider deeper, but rather obvious, questions like "If 4 million people all want an apartment next to the Royal Opera House, who gets to live there?".

So no, I don't look at Star Trek and think it provides any kind of example of why socialism works.

By the way, nothing I have written above is in any way meant to imply that Star Trek fans should be conservatives, either - it's just a response to the notion it would be in any way surprising that someone could be a card-carrying conservative and a Trekkie.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

"In fact, seeing so many complaining so much about the minor faults and lesser details of what are, essentially, wonderful stories about a better future is what has made me all but stop commenting here on Jammer's."

Weird. I don't comment much but I really like getting very different takes on these episodes, and look forward to reading the review and comments here the minute an episode is done. I can't imagine anything more dull to read than people purely being positive about things they liked, and so worried about appearing to "complain" that they turn off their critical faculties. No thanks.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Every so often you hear about some eccentric woman somewhere in the world falling in love with her chandelier or candlestick or hairdryer and going through a faux marriage ceremony. Not clear how any of this is different - unless you also believe a chandelier programmed to talk back would also be a suitable romantic partner.
Set Bookmark
Tom Lyden
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Return of the Anykey

I have been using Anykey keyboards for years. My 7 year old computer's PS-2 Keyboard input port died. I bought a "smart" PS-2 to USB adapter but the programming didn't work on my Anykey keyboard. So I bought a $15.00 PCI 32bit Dual PS2 PS/2 Card and pluged my keyboard into it. It took several weeks for a slow boat from China to deliver it but everything works fine.
Set Bookmark
Tom Paris
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

"No, not a utopia, but there are tangible consequences to having certain technologies. Having repilcators doesn't make humans perfect, but it does eliminate the need for competition over resources."

Does it really? Can you replicate relationships, the love of someone you desire? What about land, and ownership of it? If want a large plot of land overlooking Golden Gate Bridge, can I replicate that? What about social status - power, fame, success, employment. You can't replicate the position of captain of the Enterprise. In one TNG episode Picard in an alternate timeline viewed himself as a "loser" because he hadn't risen to the lofty heights of captain. And you can't even replicate all material things, which is why Picard occasionally runs off with Vash to chase after archeological relics.

As far as I can tell, we only strive after material resources in order to get more intangible ones. Being able to replicate pots of gold and infinite plates of tiramisu isn't going to stop us wanting finite things, and competing over them.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

As presented, this doesn't seem to be a disease, but rather a naturally occurring, species-wide genetic change.

So "cure" isn't even the appropriate word for what is being discussed. Gene modification is. Basically GMO-ing a race.

That would certainly seem to violate the Prime Directive.
Set Bookmark
Tomalak
Sun, Jul 1, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

When we first see the Enterprise bridge, it looks like Romulan attack because Romulans are present, Riker is on the floor and the semi circle behind Picard's seat had a massive disrupter or phaser blast. The first two are explained but was the damage to the bridge ever explained?
Set Bookmark
Komrad_Tombstone
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Oh, one final though: it's disappointing that we didn't get a final reaction to Kira's foolish attempt to seek vengeance from Chief O'Brien. It would have been nice for him to say something to her, or even just give her a disapproving head shake, to let her know that she had let him and his family down through her recklessness. He should have been given the chance to tell Kira that it would take a lot of time for him to come to terms with her actions, and the fact that she nearly got his unborn baby killed, and that he might have a hard time trusting her again in the future. Instead we get a useless, though pretty, belly-angle shot of the Defiant flying away from the planet.
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.