Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Great review Jammer!
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The first time I loudly said "do these people know what Star Trek is?" was at the end of the pilot... with that horrible scene at what it was supposed to be a Federation courtroom.
A dark background, judges that you can't see their faces and the spotlight at the accused Burnham. What the frak this "cheap kafkaesque theatrical for juveniles" has to do with Federation? Judges with no visible faces? WTF?

And what about how easily Burnham keeps killing. She is "Dirty Harry" in space, trigger happy. How many lives she killed only in this finale? Where did she beam the regulators to? Why she had to explode that huge Chain ship which probably had many innocent workers/slaves on it?
No respect for life from the lead of your series. Very Star Trek.

Having a genocidal sadist serial killer running free around Star Fleet.
This is not WWII human history where the winners were sheltering Nazi monsters because they appreciated their horrible experiments on living ppl.
This is the advanced society of Star Trek. Why MU Georgiou had a place in it? For her witty jokes? And on top of that DSC crew seemed to really like and appreciate her.

Because DSC creators just confuse our times with the ST ones. There are not the same and borrowing elements from our current civilization doesn't make Star Trek relevant. It makes it less Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

These point systems confuse me ! :D

I pretty much enjoyed most of the ST series. Except DSC of course.
I cannot think a single episode of DSC that I really enjoyed and would like to watch again. The closest was the 3rd season premiere.

-TOS is.. TOS. I haven't watched since I was a kid and I do not remember much to be honest. I will correct this.
-TNG has my favorite crew. A family, like in most of the series (except one, you know which).
-DS9 the serious sibling of the franchise.
-VOY with my favorite ST character, Seven of Nine. Even if I hated the catsuit.
-ENT was a tad boring for me, plus I can't say I liked Bakula much.
-PIC I loved it, ok not the finale much, but I loved it. I liked the new crew, and having my two fav ST characters together, 7 and Picard, was Nerdgasmic.
-LD, such a pleasant surprise, full with love for the franchise.

-ORVILLE. Not officially ST, but let's be honest here, that's just a formality.
I never expected to like it so much.

-DSC.
Suffers in every area, except the special effects.
Bad writers who have messed up completely, trapped in their own efforts to present a "new Star Trek" while forgetting wth Star Trek is in the first place.
They are trying so much to feel trendy in the Peak TV era that, among other unfortunate things, they write like if DSC takes place in 21th century and not in the world the previous series have build.
Worst crew ever. I doubt a crew like this could even run a fishing boat.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

So the 4th season will be what the show should had been in the first place, with Burham as the captain. And why oh why we had to endure 3 seasons of BAD tv?
Because this is a random show, with random generic writing and I honestly still believe all the episodes are a result of a random computer algorithm where the "writers" only have to check options.

This show is a big mediocre nothing.
It's characters vary from slightly interesting to ultra annoying.
Problem is in the latter category belongs the lead.
Which I am sorry to say, I think she only exists and promoted so the creators feel ok with their social consciousness. She is woman and she is black and she is a superhero.
And everyone who doesn't like the lead must be a chauvinistic racist sexist pig.
That is their simplistic take on tοday's issues like racism and sexism. Cause the writers of DSC are simpletons or at least they think their target group is. Could be both.

This show is a combination of brainless action series full of cliches, some very confused versions of elements of peak tv era top shows , garnished with aesthetics and special effects that make no sense (like the ultra ridiculous scene with the turbo lifts on "planet Discovery").

Zero character development and use of constant over-melodramatic reactions to force feelings, since the story by itself fails to do so.
Saru was the only relatively interesting character you might care about, but at the end he was just a plot tool for Burnham to became a captain.
And there is absolutely no logic on Burnham remaining a Star Fleet officer, let alone being a captain.
Not that any other of the crew seems like Star Fleet material.
They work and behave more like college students on fraternities and not like a professional crew of a starship (or any ship really).
The writers have confused "people have feelings so they can cry when they feel like it" with how a ship captain/officer must behave like.
I mean imagine Admiral Vance being over-emotional showing all of his feelings constantly while on duty.
I can only guess they gonna tone it down now that Burnham is a captain.

Anyway, won't watch season 4 till I read positive Jammer's reviews.
Enough is enough, I love Star Trek but DSC is unbearable. And I don't even have to pay for the damn thing, I mean ok I pay Netflix, but not only for this stupid show.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

-- Interesting that Ossyra wants to join the Federation, but her plan was stupid.
When you want to negotiate with Federation, you don't take hostages and force yourself into their safe space. You do not need to, it is the Federation they will simply negotiate with you.
Of course it is more impressive to steal DSC to do so than follow logic, right writers of DSC? Right!

-- Ah, and the Federation, basically one (totally cool) admiral. He does everything. Literally. And he is 24/7/365 available. There is no night shift, he is always there.
He can negotiate, he can read treaties in the blink of an eye.
I wouldn't be surprised if Vance turns out to be an android.

-- Burnham, please STOP whispering. Not only because it is an indication of you being unstable, but mostly because it is difficult for the other person to HEAR you. I mean Stamets inside that force field was almost shouting and Michael was kept whispering..

-- This whole thing with Burnham crying at the spot for every difficult decision/action she makes is ridiculous. And unrealistic. Is it possible for a sane person that has to achieve difficult tasks (fights included) to switch emotionally like this and being effective?
Who on his/her/their right mind would trust this person to take life or death decisions? I would't!
And Ι no longer think this is a script/directing thing, but comes from the
inability of the actress to show emotions in any other way than crying (and whispering).

-- Stamets
I can't blame him for his ranting, he has every right to want to go back and save his partner since in DSC people put their personal needs first. Burnham has already done. Why not Stamets?

-- However, I didn't really get the part with "we came to the future for you Burnham"
I might missed something last season, because I really disliked it, but didn’t Discovery went to the future so the sphere data won’t be used by Control or whatever?

-- So EVE will save the day? We will see Wall-e as well?

-- Will Vulcan/Romulans also save the day in the next episode? And maybe rejoin Federation?

-- Did the ladies from Vance's delegation look like the ladies from "Addicted to love" clip, or was it my silly idea??

-- Ossyra's delegation are apparently some future version of Daft Punk.

-- Those regulators are quite dumb, right?

-- I am the only one expecting basrefoot Michael to walk on broken glass? I will confess I even waited for the .."Yippee ki-yay m.........."

-- RIP expendable Rhyn

-- Honestly... the next time Detmer and Owo will exchange meaningful glances, even under captivity, I think I will start taking hostages.

Happy New Year!
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@ Saru's ganglia
If I disliked a show that much, it would be even further reason for me not to watch it (a Trek show crashing "my view" of Star Trek). Me watching it and getting mad about it would be absurd because it sounds like contributing to the very thing that I am wishing did not exist.

I want so much to keep liking Star Trek and I want so much for the new Trek to be successful and keep the franchise alive.
But on the other hand, DSC is so badly made that you do not wish for something so average to the be the beacon of the new ST era.
So I keep watching hopping it will get better.. or could be that I hope the creators will finally pay attention to our objections and suggestions and improve the damn thing.
Or maybe I am just a masochist :)
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Dreubarik

About Adira.
I honestly do not believe they have thought of it as much as you have.
The writers of this show gimme the impression they have a checklist on a white board and having a non-binary/trans person was just an item of the list.


@CaptainMercer
"People that criticize the storytelling can just be called racists, misogynist, or bigots just because the show has protected itself from any attacks"

Exactly. If you say you do not like Burham, you get the same insults/accusations in the comments of the official Star Trek Facebook Page or prestigious (lol) Trek Forums.


@Booming
"I will watch the last two episodes but after that NuTrek will be dead to me."

Are you sure?
I have been "quitting" Discovery since the 1st half of season 1.
And I keep waiting for it to get better. Hopeless :D
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

First to introduce myself a bit, I am struggling trying to like Discovery, with not much success so far. I don't hate watching it, just patiently waiting for the day it will make me like it. In vain? Well, it is the word "Star Trek" in the title that causes all this to me, but the show being really mediocre TV doesn't help. And Burnham being one of the most annoying and badly written lead characters in TV history doesn't help either.
(also plz pardon my English, since it is not my first language)

Anyway, back to the episode:

-- I didn't mind the "Burn" explanation so far, I prefer it than some grand scheme or conspiracy.
I didn't quite get the story about the holodeck and the monster, but I didn't mind much.

-- I really liked Doug Jones playing without make up. I wouldn't mind if they manage somehow to make this permanent, wouldn't miss that horrible make up.

-- Are they "cooking" Captain-Burnham instead of Saru?
Cause they "telegraph" Saru's replacement way too much.
I do not think it will make any difference for DSC, they could place Book's cat as the captain and nothing would change really. My main concern is what they will do with Saru? Cause he is the only interesting and likable character.

-- Burnham criticizing Saru? Really? I literally LOLed.

-- Buenham didn't cry, but she was still whispering every other phrase. Is this some kind of acting method? cause to me looks more like the behavior of an unstable person.

-- Can we start a petition so they stop cutting to the Bridge's crew reactions every time something happens? These people are just like a part of the decoration, with their only job to dictate to the audience how they must feel : this is a scene we feel surprised, now we feel satisfied, now we feel scared, etc. You know like those animators (or however they call them) telling audience how to react while filming live shows.
I mean the writing in this show is bad, but hell, we are not lobotomized we can get when a scene creates tense.

-- Talking about the Crew-decoration-live-tiles, can they please also stop reminding us that "they are part of the DSC family"? None of this is earned through the story.

-- Adira's boyfriend..... It is not an interesting relationship so we can care about them (more bad writing alert) plus Gray (sp?) acts like if he plays in a teenagers' soap opera.

-- That Green-villain lady is so "meh". Her dialogue with Tilly was cringey ..
If there is not a mole in the Federation then Ossyra is a psychic or something.

-- Tilly as XO... when everyone feels the need to constantly encourage you, I think it is a sign you shouldn't have taken this job..
Still, I wonder when "Captain-Burnham" happens, will she remain as her no 2?

-- Book is one of the most Starfleet characters in the show. It would make a much better XO than Tilly. Hmm.. well maybe if his gf becomes captain... after all, Federation protocols don't really matter in the DSC universe :)

Overall so far, I am still not impressed with DSC, although I have to admit that the jump in the future made the show a tad more interesting. Not that the writers really know what to do with it. They instantly fell to the "let's save the universe/federation" trope again, instead of spend a season with the crew trying to adjust to the situation.

Merry Xmas to everyone celebrating! :)
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 5:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

This episode made me realize how much annoying Beltran's voice is..
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Wed, Jul 11, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

"medical bureaucracy"?
You mean "medical inequality", right?
We have an ethical issue here, an ethical choice not just bad organization.
Should the strong and wealthy keep being in favor of the society?
Should healthcare be equal for everyone?
I see it as as an allegory for the US medical system and I am not even American.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Sat, Jul 7, 2018, 4:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

One of the best Star Trek episodes. Ever.
I think it could make a great Star Trek (Tv) movie, an extended version with more time devoted to the planet's progress and Doc's visit.
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Fri, Jul 6, 2018, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

I would love to be a fly in the studios's walls while Jeri Ryan was trying to memorize her pages. Her MANY pages. If actors get paid by the words, she must had made a small fortune for this episode.
And this is the only thing this episode left me.

wow Jeri.. just wow!
Set Bookmark
theBgt
Fri, Jul 6, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I am re-watching STVOY for the first time since 2003. 15 years after and still this is an amazingly funny episode.
Last chance to be a hero Doctor, get going!
Just love it!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.