Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Well, I have mixed feelings about this first episode.
The first 30 MN are nearly perfect. The first scene is a perfect transition with last Tng episode.
The ordinary living of an retired Picard is well retranscribed:he's very old, bored and out of place. His dog named Number one, among other things, is an evidence of his nostalgia and melancholy.
The media interview is a smart way to introduce current political contest and Picard's dogma:10 years ago, Romulus was no more. Picard organized refugees evacuation and a act of terrorism committed by rogue androids cause Federation withdraw of rescue operation and deactivation of all androids.
In protest, Picard resigned.
Even I would have preferred that this show had no link with Kelvin time-line, the context is credible and typical of good Science fiction:this identity withdrawal of Federation echoes our real world and Picard will probably fight this, opposite to real values of Federation.
A moment, I hoped that the show will dig deeper (one more episode) in Picard's melancholic mind and bored life.
Direction was smooth and quiet, dialogues were great and funny until, Bam! ... The ninja scene. Boy, what a shame.
Wasn't there an other way to introduce Dahj character? Jason Bourne style? Come on...
On the contrary, the way to reveal her real identity is fine. Reference to dreams and later to Data's paintings were well made, because it makes use of Trekkies memories. A Really nice touch.
Once again, I hoped the show will explore further in Picard's paternal desires and Bang!, Ninjas are back again(dressed like Dead Space Hero) and Dahj died...
10 MN, faster than a blind date. Shame!
After that, the show was on Discovery mode:Picard, not very moved by Dahj's death, learns in Daystrom Institute that she has... A twin! (drumrolls) and revealed that ninjas were... Romulans! (jawdrop).
And of course, the shocking last shot: the Romulan recovery barge is a... Borg cube!!! (My. GOD.)
Next:an intergalactic conspiracy, with probably a "back from the Dead "Lore manipulating outraged Romulan. Or not.
Well, this episode reminds me a lot Discovery Pilot, which was very respectful of Star Trek ideals, except that here it lasted only 30 MN...
A schizophrenic episode and I hope that producers realized that Patrick Stewart is nearly 80 years old, a bit old to act in an action show(Shatner stopped ST at 64...).
Damn,the beginning was so good...

3 stars
Set Bookmark
batfunk
Wed, Oct 16, 2019, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I watched it. His new version of Endgame is much better. Janeway trying to save Galaxy from Borg Apocalypse is more relevant than destroying future to save egoistically a few friends.Borg Apocalypse reminds me a fine episode of Tng, where Riker tries to survive in an alternate reality.
If you add the promised reunions(Paris father and son, Tuvok and his family...), Voyager destruction and my bittersweet moments and ending, you obtain a fine episode, with great issues, action and believable human behaviors.
On the other end, his original final episode is underwhelming:no great issues and it's a rehash of a previous Barclay episode. Not good.
A finale episode and preferably a last season should resolve all issues satisfactorily.last season and Endgame does not:Paris/ father janeway/chakotay doc/seven Tuvok/family and on and on... Strangely, only Neelix got a great conclusion in a full episode!!!

Finally, my re-watch of Voyager didn't change my first opinion :it's a fun but inconsequential show, far behind Tng and DS9, with very few great episodes.
But better than Enterprise and Discovery (ugh)

See you in a few months to deliver my own finale episode of Enterprise, after it's first re-watch.... Lol
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Wed, Oct 16, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I love your ending, grumpy_otter, specially the Tuvok part(I thought exactly the same scene).
But I think your version is not enough bittersweet. We learn with Endgame that Voyager lost a few officers, I think it's fair.My version would include the loss of the innocent Harry.
The loop wouldbe complete with another Caretaker sending the crew back. Janeway must destroy Voyager to permit the crew's return(I don't know how and why...), another heartbreaking scene. Maybe with Chakotay preventing Janeway to sink with her ship, (by declaring his love?) .
I imagine Harry's parents looking for him in the crowd at the dock.Then a sad Janeway arrives in front of them... No words.. Just her sad face. Heart breaking...
I think also that some officers, after so many years of action,as war veterans, will not adapt to civil life, specially Janeway. After a year of living with CHakotay holidays, unsatisfied with her new life, she broke and take the command of another ship.
A final meal scene, with the ancient bridge crew, before Janeway departure, with a vacant seat for Harry, a toast to the lost crew, emotional crossed looks and a large final shoot of the table, where life resumes with enjoyed talking and smiles.
Set Bookmark
Boaty McBoatface
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 11:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I also think they missed an important opportunity to connect with the events of paradise lost/homefront arc. As other people here have pointed out they even brought the character from Red Squad who ratted out their participation in Admiral Leyton's false flag plot, so it seems like the writers and casting team consciously planned to incorporate this into the story but failed to ultimately deliver it in the script. It would have been great to have Jake say to Nog "Hey, remember that time Red Squad was instrumental in bringing down the power grid on earth? They are fanatical to the point where they don't think and you shouldn't trust them..." I think this would have been effective and made sense especially since both Jake and Nog were present on Earth when that storyline unfolded.
Set Bookmark
Boaty McBoatface
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I thought some elements of the story were really clunky and didn't work well. For instance, early in the story you see all the crew wearing phasers. I get that they are trapped behind enemy lines, but they are also trying to emulate Starfleet officers. It may be military tradition to carry sidearms in the world today, but Starfleet is an organization that has a storied reputation for scientific discovery and significant aspirational goals of achieving peaceful unity. Starfleet officers rarely walk around armed outside of security type roles or specific mission requirements. It also is shown right when the conflict between Jake and Waters is beginning so you say to yourself "Oh I see what the writers are doing, they are going to pull phasers on Jake or Nog or both at some point in this episode". Beyond that, if they are going to bother strapping phasers, wouldn't they take the time to strap tricorders as well? Weren't they experiencing pretty serious technical issues with this ship that caused them to be stranded behind enemy lines in the first place? Speaking of those issues, does it seem realistic that leadership would leave the engineer to manage the warp speed crisis for months with literally no sign of progress without providing additional support or micromanaging the problem or at least trying to look into what the hell is taking so long? And for all the Captain's talk of "rising to the occasion" his pick for chief engineer sure seems willing to defer to Nog at the first opportunity without any objections or questions about Nog's plan or attempt to preserve his own position or even to defend his own work. His "to hell with it I suck at this job anyway" attitude rings really hollow and works against the ambition that the writers are trying to imbue in these characters. All of these elements detract from the story itself, and the performance of the First Officer and to a lesser extent the operations officer seem stilted and serve to undermine the otherwise excellent performances by the Captain and Chief Petty Officer.
That said, the episode is most successful where it explores contrast. For instance, after Valiant goes boom there is a scene where the camera focuses on the Defiant bridge. You see an unnamed Lt at the helm and he exudes this aura of calm, professional competence that can only be achieved through experience. I really liked this scene because it effectively spells out the deficits with Valiant's crew whilst telegraphing the tragedy that these otherwise talented people were robbed of the opportunity to realize their aspirations through their missteps and inexperience (with the exception of the CPO who survives).
I think most of the criticisms mentioned on this forum have merit but have been overstated, and for all its flaws this is still a good episode, especially considering the level of controversy and dialogue that it produced here decades after being dropped on the air.

@springy

I thought your comments about Jadzia's experience versus Valiant's crew were spot on.
Set Bookmark
DontFeedTheTrolls
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 9:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

*slingshots around sun*
*puts up "Don't feed the troll" sign*
*slingshots back around sun*
Set Bookmark
tf
Wed, Aug 28, 2013, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

i thought the fake tuvok just liked to stay in character to increase/practise his impersonation skill, and the other con-artists ,(who were comfortable with their impersonation skill level and didn't need more practise) understood this and so they didn't take issue with him impersonating, even when it was just the three of them together.
Set Bookmark
DeceitfulFish
Fri, Apr 6, 2012, 3:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

While this had the workings of a good episode, it was disappointing for a few reasons:

- As mentioned before, it's hard to get into because we know how it'll end. Clearly, the Doctor is not actually on Jupiter Station, but on Voyager. When you get down to it, there's no real conflict to be felt.
- So much talking. Barclay appears and more or less explains the entire plot in one sitting, then Chakotay does the same for a bit, then Janeway at the end.
- The mental turmoil and confusion caused by the Doctor's existential crisis and the struggle to figure out the truth is never really resolved. It's as if the writers said, "OK, show's over, just make all the bad stuff disappear."
- I saw the dream-within-a-dream thing a mile away.

In spite of that, the first half of the episode had me genuinely intrigued as to what had happened to the Doctor or the crew or who or what or WTF.
Set Bookmark
steamednotfried
Thu, Apr 28, 2011, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

Thank you for your condemnation of the ending of episode 13 - 'The Conscience of the King'. After a very enjoyable episode I was sickened by this ending. I looked on wikipedia and to my dismay found no mention of this. Thank god there are others who can see sense.
Set Bookmark
Gary Westfahl
Sat, May 23, 2009, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Wise creates one memorable sequence, a homage to David Bowman's journey through the Star Gate in 2001: A Space Odyssey, featuring Mr. Spock in a spacesuit venturing alone into the bowels of the enigmatic V'Ger and observing its bizarre phenomena. The scene briefly offers the disturbing message that Star Trek adventures otherwise labor to suppress: namely, that humans venturing into outer space are going to be lonely, vulnerable, and puzzled creatures. And these are all feelings that Robert Wise knows, and projects, extremely well.
Set Bookmark
WTF FTL
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Niall,

You must be a republican.
Find the joy in life.
Relax, you'll live longer.
Produce your own sci-fi series, and then express an opinion.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.