Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 11:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

The Federation is faced with an overwhelmingly superior adversary with easy access to the Alpha quadrant. Why the founders just let the crew go home at the end is nonsensical, because the obvious thing for the Federation to do is to blow up the wormhole. But then the series is over, isn’t it? The changeling leader says maybe she’ll visit Odo, but it is evident from the mind control bs that the crew is willing to blow up the wormhole. Yet the leader doesn’t give this a second thought because she knows that the writers can’t allow Sisco to blow up the wormhole because that would end the series. That’s the cop out and it’s why this whole plot line never should have started.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Glad some folks enjoyed the episode. I’m always happy when Nana Visitor has a big role. But man, what a boring episode, and I hate the vision sequences, which remind me too much of 7th season TNG.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Generally I agree with Jammers reviews or I’m close but this episode is a real stinker. Quark sabotages the airlock to let Klingons take over the station? A female antagonist strong enough to kick Kira’s butt but so weak she pines for mr wimpy bad actor and will do anything for him? A plot so predictable I, a bad writer, could have written acts 2 and 3 in my sleep? Come on this is zero or one star.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 15, 2019, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Picard’s dialogue doesn’t suit his character. The only time he seems like Picard is when Patrick Stuart is reacting silently; he’s a great actor. OTOH, Jennifer is so badly acted that it ruins my suspension of disbelief—similar to the dude who plays Michael Burnham’s boyfriend on STD.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, May 12, 2019, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

So many comments! Mine, briefly: 1. Shouldn’t have killed Sisko. 2. Paghwraith stuff was idiotic. 3. Good to end with Kira, a hall of fame Trek character. 4. Finally, thanks to everyone who made this show, which is fine and enduring entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, May 9, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

What have you done with Spock’s brain?
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 8, 2019, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Great episode. And they’ve brought the main characters back to center stage where they belong; too often in season 7 they’ve been pushed aside.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

So, the wife of the guy O’Brien befriended as a spy just so happened to be killed by the brother of the woman who received Dax—a troubled soul driven to murder by his mother. Talk about manufacturing a plot. This is DS9 meets Days of Our Lives.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@ William B,
Although there is some debate about the meaning of the last act of Shane, it is not about an indestructible gunfighter. Indeed, the book makes it pretty clear that the opposite is true. Although the ds9 episode reveals the ending of the movie, I still highly recommend Shane as a great American movie, and the book is also excellent.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Above average for season 7. Not boring, but not 4 stars. The “war is he**” theme has been done so well in so many places that there is nothing new or insightful here, nor does it advance the characters or story arc. I enjoyed seeing Sisko kick butt; he is the Trek captain most like Kirk. Other than that—well, I already know that war is he** and don’t need a bunch of red shirts to tell me again.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not much happened. Odd for a 43 minute episode to have so much filler. Okay, so the captain pops pills—this leads nowhere. Alright, the first officer thinks the captain is tired—and this is important later? No. And, it’s the big pep talk from the captain before the battle! Then they all die. It’s bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Although I’ve only watched around a quarter of ds9’s episodes, this is the worst one by far. At least Spock’s Brain had a semblance of a sci-fi premise.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

So this fellow Eddington is a master hacker who implanted a virus that left the Defiant and the Station vulnerable to complete destruction? Wow. He’s a genius and the Federation is inept.

So there’s a toxic gas that only kills Cardassians (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate? And there also just so happens to be a toxic gas on the Defiant that only kills humans (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate?

Forget about the premise that Sisko uses WMD with no assurance that people won’t die, even though there is no ticking time bomb scenario (Eddington having repeatedly stated that he doesn’t kill innocents, and he spares Sisko more than once); the episode is an utter contrivance. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

It’s an ambitious episode, which I appreciate. But issues of war and its effect on the human psyche are very hard to get right and this episode falls well short. The word “hackneyed” is perfect for this episode. Every cliche was used and every bit of stilted pretentious dialog was spoken. M.A.S.H. did it much better and was funny too.
Set Bookmark
tanstaafl
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Interesting comments.

I think this episode is set up to be the pragmatist vs the idealist. But usually the idealist is the protestor speaking truth to power while the pragmatist has the power. I think of the nuclear freeze advocates during the Reagan years vs Reagan. I also thing of that Jack Nicholson court scene in A Few Good Men: "You have the luxury of not knowing what I know; that Santiago's death, while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, *saves lives*. You don't want the truth because deep down in places you don't talk about at parties, you want me on that wall. You need me on that wall. "

There are two problems in this episode. First, the captain of a ship in the middle of nowhere surrounded by enemies does not have the luxury of being the idealist, and in this particular case the situation was set up so that there was zero chance that Voyager would survive the final battle. Second, a story like this needs the idealist to be the one without the power and the pragmatist to be the one with the power. Janeway has all the power and her actions here seem more like Ahab destroying his boat and crew seeking the whale. As Seven says, there is no morality in suicide, and in Janeway's case she's decided that the death of her entire crew, which she has described as a family in prior episodes, is worth defending some principal. That is not even idealism; that is lunacy.

It would have been much more interesting if Voyager had some chance of success in the battle rather than being ridiculously overmatched, and if Janeway was the one who wanted to hand over the alien and someone else on the crew objected.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

So, they’re in the nebula and Torres says the warp drive won’t be working for weeks. But the captain says they’re leaving the nebula anyway at 8AM the next day. How far can they get with impulse power? This shows Janeway has lost her mind, yet Tuvok scolds Seven for objecting? Sorry but idiocies like this disengage my suspension of disbelief.
Set Bookmark
tanstaafl
Mon, Sep 10, 2018, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Saw this episode on H&I TV tonight. I give one star for Marina Sirtis in western wear, and zero stars for everything else.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.