Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Tue, Jul 12, 2011, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

First Contact as indeed an excellent change of pace show primarily due to its POV. However, I found it difficult to believe that the chancellor could speak for the entire planet. How unlikely was it that the planet had a single world government and that people everywhere thought and believed the same thing? In reality, there would be a spectrum of beliefs with the Chancellor not authorized to speak for the whole planet. This has been one of the failures of Trek in that too often (if not always)it assumes every alien world possesses one culture, one government, one belief system. More likely most would be like our own, divided into many different nations and belief systems etc.
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Mon, Jul 11, 2011, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

In The Wounded I was surprised to hear that O'Brien had served as "the best tactical officer" Maxwell ever had. If so, what has he been doing wasting his talents as the operator of one transporter on the Enterprise? Is serving on the big E so valuable that officers are willing to scrub floors or wait tables in Ten Forward to stay aboard? And speaking of waiting tables on Ten Forward, who are those people? In the perfect future of Star Trek where everyone can do whatever they want with nothing like the need for money to hold them back, some people are still employed serving tables in bars?
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 2:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

"Future Imperfect" started out good and got better as soon as tomalak made his appearance but became a huge disappointment when it all turned out to be an illusion by some kid alien...ugh! And why didn't Riker notice that anything was strange as soon as he woke and found that Dr. Crusher had served aboard the Enterprise for over 15 years! Not to mention other past crew members...who the heck stays aboard the same ship for that long without moving on and up? And then, after supposedly losing his memory of the last 15 years, he's allowed to stay in command?! Even I knew something was wrong at that point!
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Wed, Jun 29, 2011, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

What struck me about Suddenly Human was its naked political correctness. Because Talarian society reflects more America of the 1950s than the PC 2000s it is to be disdained? My prediction: the Federation like the US today, is on its way to societal senescence while the Talarians are on the way up. In a 100 years, the Talarians will be the ascendent culture and the Federation falling rapidly into decadence.
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Thu, Jun 23, 2011, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

There was much to like about Best of Both Worlds but like Yesterday's Enterprise, political correctness kept it from being perfect as well as the presence of such annoying characters as Shelby, Wesley, and Guinan...ugh! And seeing Picard as a Borg this time around is a good deal less shocking when I know he's going to be back to normal as if nothing as extreme as being reengineered ever took place. By all rights, no one should be able to survive an attempt to being de-Borged.
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Sat, Jun 18, 2011, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Although I agree with Jammer that Hallow Pursuits was an entertaining hour of tv, the one thing that bugged me about the show that he didn't mention was the ease in which anyone can walk in while the holodeck is occupied. I can easily imagine far more embarassing uses to which such incredible tech can be used! I mean, isn't there any kind of security with the thing? Barclay's use of the holodeck made me wonder too about its availability in Federation society in general. If there was such a thing in real life, I'm afraid society would simply collapse as, human nature being what it is, most people would become so addicted to living out their fantasies on a holodeck that society would simply collapse. It reminds me of an experiment I read of where mice were allowed to press a button that stimulated their pleasure centers and they ended up starving to death because they couldn't bear not being stimulated.
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Wed, Jun 15, 2011, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Caveat to my last post: Bab 5 and Trek are most imporant star faring SF tv shows. Of course, the original Outer Limits was the most important SF tv show of all time!
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Wed, Jun 15, 2011, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Have to admit some surprise that with all the reviews Jammer has done, there was no evidence on his site that he covered Bab 5...perhaps the most important SF tv show outside of Trek. What's up with that Jammer?
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Mon, Jun 13, 2011, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

I've reached mid season of season 3 so far in my reviewing and I've been trying to put my finger on just what it is about Trek that prevents me from wholeheartedly getting into it the way I later did with Bab 5 and I'm beginning to think that it's the fact that Trek is just so MANNERED. I think you touch on that in your comments regarding some of the end season episodes. The living room look of the bridge is a perfect visual example of that. The characters and Federation itself are often devoid of human foibles etc. The insufferable PC attitude of the show also doesn't help. I think that's why a show like Bab 5, despite its sometimes tone deaf dialogue and stiffness on the part of some of its actors, still landed like a depth charge amidst TV SF that was dominated by Trek at the time. Bab 5 had human beings behaving like real people, it had an ongoing, visceral threat, and its sets looked like real working envionments. When Trek had good episodes they worked but so far, there have been few of them.
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Fri, Jun 10, 2011, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

I have to take issue with at least one thing mentioned by Paul, ie you give pulp a bad name by associating with the mess that was season one!
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Tue, May 10, 2011, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

In watching season two for the first time in decades, I was struck once again by the contradictions inherent in the PC future of the Trek universe: In season one everyone falls all over themselves to declare the viability of a point of light found in "Home Soil" but in "The Child" abortion of Troi's child is discussed with nary a sign of concern. So all sentient life no matter what form it may take or how insignificant it is is worth moving heaven and earth to protect but an unborn human child isn't?
Set Bookmark
stviateur
Mon, May 9, 2011, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Have just begun reviewing TNG from first season for first time in decades and must agree with most of what Jammer has said about the episodes...easily the worst Star Trek I recall seeing! But in particular I want to bring up the final episode The Neutral Zone that I recall liking back in the day. It still held up due to its A and B storylines but the real problem I had with it was the reactions of the crew to these rescued people (and what's the deal about them being "dead?" Are we to believe that Federation medicine can revive dead people?) Totally arrogant and completely disinterested...in fact totally out of character so far as I can tell. Riker was even made that they were rescued...a robot had more compassion for these hapless people than he did! Then, as the episode progresses, everyone acts as if nothing is amiss...survivors from hundreds of years in the past and no one cares a wit about them. Where are the historians aboard the Enterprise? you'd think people would be falling all over themselves to get first hand accounts from a time period hundreds of years ago. And what's with the condescenion over television? You mean to tell me entertainment/information is no longer recorded for later visual broadcast in the future? Anyway, the whole attitude of Riker and Picard especially toward this incredible find was just plain bizarre! that said, I still kinda dig this episode!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.