Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 76 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

I enjoyed this one, I usually roll my eyes at holodeck error episodes but this was fun to follow along.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

This was more fantasy and less about Sci Fi. Some interesting things here, and I enjoyed it more when I decided to not take it seriously.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

I did not think this was too bad. Tuvok was heavy handed in the beginning, with a little tone deafness, but he was believable in the acting. The Maquis were a little too negative and teenage-like, but you have to think there was some tension early on in the merging of the crews.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

Average episode so far. I did not find it as terrible as everyone else seems to, but I was not really in love with it either.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

Somewhat forgettable episode, already a couple holodeck episodes and we are not even half way through the first season! Two more time travel episodes, a couple more bizarre energy lifeforms, and we get a full house!
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I enjoyed this episode. A few silly parts in the episode, but nothing that diminished the episode. The last scene was quite well done. Janeway was believable, and Tuvok was credible.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

I am really enjoying Tim Russ as Tuvok. I did call the mind meld. We have already had a lot of time travel, worm holes and holodecks, so a mind meld early on was a must!
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Good episode, predictable, but good popcorn fodder. So far on my first time through, I am finding the episodes to be better than I expected, so the negative press and reviews must have influenced my expectations accordingly.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

Not a bad episode. After the above book report, I do not have much more to offer. :)
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

This was a bit of a weak outing. I am not sure why we always have to have a character with telepathic, psychic, empath, or other advanced mental abilites on a Sci Fi show. Why not have one with a wand and do some Gandalf as well? That being said, even the weak episodes have some character development to this point, but I agree with much of what is being said above.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Jun 3, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I watched 20 or 30 episodes during its run, but am going through the whole series. I did not think it was too bad of an opening, off to a decent start, we shall see if the rest of the series is as bad as everyone is saying...
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, May 17, 2019, 6:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Well, it’s official. The new Picard show is called... (get ready to be shocked) Star Trek: Picard. I could’ve sworn Jammer’s been calling it this for months already.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I enjoyed this episode and this season. I still am not sure what happened in season one but that all seems so far away now, it does not matter. I am very curious to see what season 3 will have to offer, and which direction it will go from here. Do we get to see Pike's tragic injury? WIll it flip between future and past? Reboot of the an Enterprise-centered show?
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I watched this for the first time, and let it sit for a couple days before commenting. I get what they were trying to do, and wrap up the series with a nod to one of their more popular series TNG. But, I agree with sentiments above, do this earlier on and let ENT end on its own merits. Plus, it is interesting they kill off one of the major characters in the last episode, especially after the tearjerking loss of a baby in the previous one. At least they were not predicable, but it likely was not interesting.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Wow, this episode was quite polarizing! I found the premise interesting, but it was tough for me to keep my enthusiasm up.

I had trouble with the overacting, the weird close talking, with people's face 3 inches from someone, even when angry and shouting. Scott Bakula was difficult to watch for me, fuming, pacing, clenching - he seemed uncomfortable like he was coming off of meds or in withdrawal or something.

I give them props for trying something daring, but I did not enjoy the mirror universe in DS9, and this episode was average for me. 2/4
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

I thought the tethering was a little silly, but a lot of Hollywood is silly, and Star Trek sometimes joins the party. I did not have an issue with the warp field stuff, as it currently is in the realm of fiction, as are the transporters, etc.

The section 31 thing was interesting, I was not expecting that in this series.

Regarding ENT, the 4th season, and the other series in this universse, I think we gave "a pass" to the other series that we hold dear (TOS, TNG, DS9), since we were more invested in the characters, so we did not care as much about wooden acting, them being totally out of character, suddenly revolting against the Prime Directive, etc. I recently rewatched the entire DS9, and was surprised to see that early on Major Kira's and Sisko had some issues before the actors became comfortable in their skin. But, since that series was one I enjoyed, I can happily suspend belief and get caught up in the exploits of life on the station. Except the Ferengi episodes, those are still terrible...

It seems like it took 3.5 seasons for the ENT writers to actually generate interest in the viewer that we should care about what happens to the characters.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Not a bad episode. 2.5 stars, possibly 3 if I had a couple beer in me!
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

I enjoyed it, decent plot, pacing, acting was mostly believable. The fight to the death was not necessary, the episode would have been exactly the same without it, it was a little goofy. I found the pair on the drone ship to be the most frustrating in the episode, but it was not a deal breaker for me.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Interesting episode, this year is less of a hot mess than S1 was, so that is good. I am not a huge fan of all the time travel, but we are deep into it now, so I want to see how it ends.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I enjoyed this one, decent premise, twist at the end. I thought the acting was pretty believable, and it is SciFi, so I was not annoyed that the Romulans had impossibly advanced tech.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I thought this was a good one, Reed and Mayweather were interesting in this one.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

I watched it trying to babysit two kids under the age of 6, but eventually shut it off since I was missing vital dialogue. I am glad I did as it was a deep and enjoyable episode, I even rewound a couple spots to hear something twice.

I was wondering why we needed Archer to be the carrier of vital Vulcan information, but they likely needed a human for it to work with the plot.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

I also wondered about Silik really being dead. I look forward to settling into some exploration, science missions, and weird sexual tension between crew members.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

If they do wrap up the time travel, then they need to start having holodeck malfunctions or the writers will not know what to do with themselves.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I think they should have caught their breath, finished off the Xindi arc before embarking on the temporal cold war bullshit.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.