Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I enjoyed this episode and this season. I still am not sure what happened in season one but that all seems so far away now, it does not matter. I am very curious to see what season 3 will have to offer, and which direction it will go from here. Do we get to see Pike's tragic injury? WIll it flip between future and past? Reboot of the an Enterprise-centered show?
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I watched this for the first time, and let it sit for a couple days before commenting. I get what they were trying to do, and wrap up the series with a nod to one of their more popular series TNG. But, I agree with sentiments above, do this earlier on and let ENT end on its own merits. Plus, it is interesting they kill off one of the major characters in the last episode, especially after the tearjerking loss of a baby in the previous one. At least they were not predicable, but it likely was not interesting.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Wow, this episode was quite polarizing! I found the premise interesting, but it was tough for me to keep my enthusiasm up.

I had trouble with the overacting, the weird close talking, with people's face 3 inches from someone, even when angry and shouting. Scott Bakula was difficult to watch for me, fuming, pacing, clenching - he seemed uncomfortable like he was coming off of meds or in withdrawal or something.

I give them props for trying something daring, but I did not enjoy the mirror universe in DS9, and this episode was average for me. 2/4
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

I thought the tethering was a little silly, but a lot of Hollywood is silly, and Star Trek sometimes joins the party. I did not have an issue with the warp field stuff, as it currently is in the realm of fiction, as are the transporters, etc.

The section 31 thing was interesting, I was not expecting that in this series.

Regarding ENT, the 4th season, and the other series in this universse, I think we gave "a pass" to the other series that we hold dear (TOS, TNG, DS9), since we were more invested in the characters, so we did not care as much about wooden acting, them being totally out of character, suddenly revolting against the Prime Directive, etc. I recently rewatched the entire DS9, and was surprised to see that early on Major Kira's and Sisko had some issues before the actors became comfortable in their skin. But, since that series was one I enjoyed, I can happily suspend belief and get caught up in the exploits of life on the station. Except the Ferengi episodes, those are still terrible...

It seems like it took 3.5 seasons for the ENT writers to actually generate interest in the viewer that we should care about what happens to the characters.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Not a bad episode. 2.5 stars, possibly 3 if I had a couple beer in me!
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

I enjoyed it, decent plot, pacing, acting was mostly believable. The fight to the death was not necessary, the episode would have been exactly the same without it, it was a little goofy. I found the pair on the drone ship to be the most frustrating in the episode, but it was not a deal breaker for me.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Interesting episode, this year is less of a hot mess than S1 was, so that is good. I am not a huge fan of all the time travel, but we are deep into it now, so I want to see how it ends.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I enjoyed this one, decent premise, twist at the end. I thought the acting was pretty believable, and it is SciFi, so I was not annoyed that the Romulans had impossibly advanced tech.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I thought this was a good one, Reed and Mayweather were interesting in this one.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

I watched it trying to babysit two kids under the age of 6, but eventually shut it off since I was missing vital dialogue. I am glad I did as it was a deep and enjoyable episode, I even rewound a couple spots to hear something twice.

I was wondering why we needed Archer to be the carrier of vital Vulcan information, but they likely needed a human for it to work with the plot.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

I also wondered about Silik really being dead. I look forward to settling into some exploration, science missions, and weird sexual tension between crew members.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

If they do wrap up the time travel, then they need to start having holodeck malfunctions or the writers will not know what to do with themselves.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I think they should have caught their breath, finished off the Xindi arc before embarking on the temporal cold war bullshit.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Countdown

Quite enjoyable, good to see them tying things together.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

Solid episode, very enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

-Reavers!!
-Where, sir?
- I meant us!!!

I was not expecting to see drug addiction, so that was a surprise, the desperate pirates stealing ship parts, that was a surprise.

I recently watched Ds9 from start to finish and I liked it, but I do not understand people canonizing SIsko in Sainthood. He did some shady stuff, lied, blackmailed and was dastardly. But, he also helped save the Federation. Archer is impulsive, petulant, and volitile, but his crew likes him and they are facing extinction of the species. I think the director wanted to portay this as very dark, as well as very desperate. I do not condone their actions, but I understand them.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

This episode was solid, entertaining, and helped us see where the writers think this arc is going. Parts were troublesome, like Archer's weird obsession with suicide on this one, T'Pol's sudden emotional outbursts, but those did not destroy it for me.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

My first instinct on the away mission was. "You fools, keep the GD helmet on!" I see now that it was necessary to make the plot of this episode happen. But seriously, they have the weird booty-shorts-decontamination procedures to come back to the ship, but they huff alien air based on a quick tricorder reading.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I did not watch that Voyager episode, so I do not hold the same level of fury as the other commenters. I thought the episode was a nice change of pace, not Emmy-worthy but still a decent execution.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Bizarre episode but parts were enjoyable. The T'Pol and Trip thing has been bring for a while, not sure if it was necessary, and it seemed to be a little clumsy, but life sometimes imitates art. The firstfight was something I have mixed feeling with. It seemed very childish in the beginning, like it was forced. I can see why they did it, but it seemed to last too long, and be a little overdone. I did like the one Klingon move sequence, that was funny.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

I enjoyed this one, the Andorians are turning out to be quite interesting after a bit of a harsh and overdone introduction to this series.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I can not believe how many people are griping about it not looking like Detroit.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

If a TV show based in fantasy can produce strong and polarizing viewpoints from an episode, then I say Similitude hit a bullseye. The hand wringers who want this to be a BBC science documentary should have turned Trek off a long time ago, this was pure fantasy and the writers did not shy away from the fantasy, but hit you with both barrels. I was expecting them to chicken out and prolong the Sim's life and let Tucker die, but they did not, and here we are. I do agree there are moral issues here, a greater good, a catch-22, and a no win situation, and that is what makes the debate continue on 14 years after the episode first aired.
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Very polarizing episode it seems! I was expecting it to be terrible based on the criticisms here, and it was not that bad. As mentioned above, put your aspirations aside and watch it for a fantasy/holodeck type episode and it was not that bad. Your experience, however, may vary...
Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

I liked this episode, 3.5 stars. The story arc seems a little convoluted, but it is nice to see some character development, some plotlines, and enough action to keep many people happy.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.