Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 31 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@sc i'm not upset about anything. I respect that Jammer's review doesn't align with my opinion but I just found his actual review to be not up to his usual standard (ie "I call BS" repeatedly). The actual review itself wasn't well written. Which is what I already said actually.

You saying he was right doesn't actually make him right, it just means you agree with him.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@nick just for fun here's mine for season 1s

1. ToS
2. PIC
3. VOY
4. DS9
5. ENT
6. TNG
7. DSC

It's nothing like my ranking of series as a whole of course.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@geekgarious "If this show were as good as a show like The Expanse, we wouldn’t be arguing over whether or not it’s Trek."

Oh we so would.. It's everyone's favourite topic.

I don't see the what's so great about The Mandalorian. It's pretty but full of soap opera quality acting and bad/sloppy writing. I'm not a SW fan I guess. The Expanse deserves all the praise it gets however.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@sc never a good idea to claim your opinion is the voice of everyone.. anyway..

Finallt got around to it: Damn fine finale. Brought a sentimental and sometime nostaligic tear to my eye a few times.

I'm SO glad they didn't end with a 30 minute space battle like DSC S2 did (a finale that "everyone" except me apparently loved). That may have ruined what was on the whole a damn fine season.

I mean the show isn't on an Expanse level of brilliance but with the exception of MAYBE the odd patch of DS9 and a handful of TNG realistically Star Trek never has been. Much as I love it. Thoroughly enjoyable. They could do with squeezing in the odd morale dilema a bit or some original high brow idea (which is tough given the vast amount tv these days tbh)...but whatever.. thoroughly enjoyable.

I agree with some of the above poster's... very nice send off for Data complete the song he sang at the wedding.

Hopefully Jammer can do a better effort than last weeks childish "I call BS" review but with everything that's going on it's probably understand if they're delay or not his usual standard.

Hmm I guess I have to sit through S3 of DSC. If I find myself ranting at the screen every 5 minutes after 2 or 3 episodes I fear I may have to give up on it.. and not come on here and rip into it every week with 1000 words either. Life is way too short.

Looking forward to s2 greatly.

Keep well and stay safe everyone.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@james White I feel Stewart's acting is vastly superior in this than most of TNG. More natural and also you'd expect the character to mellow a little with age and take life less seriously. My parents certainly have.

He was always head and shoulders above the rest of the cast except Spiner in TNG anyway (in acting, not height - Frakes or Dorn win that).
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Not quite as good as the previous 2 but certainly still pretty darn good. Lots of set up for part 2 so it's hard to tell how well this series/season will end up as a whole.

Easily the best season 1 of any version of Star Trek (hard to compare ToS though really). Thoroughly enoyable. Wonderfully acted, looks stunning and an interesting story too. I'll certainly be rewatching this while i wait for S2. I haven't felt the desire to rewatch any of DIS. I'm actually in the middle of VOY rewatch and am just about able to tolerate Janeway for now.

The quality of Jammer's reviews aren't great lately (no offense and not because I don't agree with them entirely either). They just used to add something to watching the show but they're just so full of cynicism now it's making it a bit of a chore to even read them.

Strange since with DIS he seemed full of witty and well written reviews (rather than "I call BS" - Really?!?!). Maybe that show beat it out of him after 2 seasons.

As ever I find it astonishing how subjective us puny humans can be.

(And before you say "don't bother coming here if you don't like the reviews" - I did used to and I still enjoy the wildly different views and theories in the comments. Hey I even enjoy the arrogant 5000 word essays on how to be a writer/producer sometimes).

Maybe in this current world a bit of cynicism is understandable however.

Keep safe all.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Marco great comment.

Looking forward to it too. Need some nice escapism from the real world right now :)
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Scott The infamous joystick.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

this forum can't change or we wouldn't know how to use the controls.

As a programmer if i was out of the game for 15 years i imagine i wouldn't have a clue how to use Visual Studio 2035 or whatever it would be so I found that scene perfectly acceptable personally.

I did find it amusing too but more because Star Fleet people are always so brilliant at everything (especially the 2 handed punch) and it was nice to see one out of their element not having a clue (rather than laughing at an old man being confused/befuddled/whatever).

Did they start filming season 2 yet?
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

..bleh posting on phone...

...adequate job. Not a perfect one but its and incredibly complicated universe so Im happy to let it slide and enjoy the ride.

(Man I hated The Force Awakens.. 90%?? Really?)
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

As awesome as The Expanse is it does have an easier time seeming believable than any ST would given that all they really needed to explain how we had Belters and Martians etc was the Epstein drive (1 10 minute flashback).

If PIC spent any more time explaining how we got from What We Leave Behind or Nemesis then I think it would be far too slow for most people.

Personally it think it does an adequare
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

The only "definition" I can find of NuTrek is from wiktionary:

"(fandom slang) A reboot of the Star Trek universe, launched in the 2000s, that established an alternate reality."
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 6:44am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi fair enough - if I didn't enjoy it I'd usually give up after a few episodes. Unfortunately I did this with The Expanse after the first episode. Luckily someone persuaded me to continue because that's some of the best sci-fi in existance. Picard could be an example of this. Personally i've at least enjoyed it all but it has got better and better - it's not Expanse levels yet though..

(..and not @ anyone in particular)

When did this NuTrek term become a thing? Was it around the JJ Abrams movies time? Or Enterprise? I mean I can see how TNG/VOY/DS9 are similarly produced (although still vastly different shows). TOS is completely different as is ENT.

Personally I find the JJ films abominations. PIC feels like a kinda modernized late-series DS9 to me with some TNG nostalgia thrown in. DSC feels like Star Trek on amphetamines and hallucinogenics.

So is NuTrek anything we don't like after TNG or anything JJ onwards or ENT or is the term itself subjective?

And couldn't have us oh-so-intelligent Star Trek fans not spelled it "Nu"?? I jest...
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Scrolling through a few comments.. a few stuck out

@james white much as i love tng. Much of i was just a giant biege cushion hitting you over the head with the lesson/morale of the week - it had some amazing episodes thoigh. It wasn't semi naked Shatner fighting a hilarious lizard man either - but tbh what else can compete with that?

...Trents traditional writing masterclass ;)

I feel offended on Alison Pill's behalf for her to be compared to Tilly (sorry don't want to look her the actor's name). She is a such a vastly superior actress its not even comparable.

Be kind to each other, now more than ever. We need more sci-fi if we're gonna be stuck indoors surrounded by toilet paper, pasta, soap and paracetamol.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Finally got around to this episode just now (we get it kinda a day later than the US too).

I loved last week.. nostalgia and some lovely acting but wow this one really knocked it out of the park. Some people's comments earlier on in the series needed to wait a little before saying x, y and z didn't make sense. But whatever, if its not for you it's not for you - for me this is like: Star Trek is finally back. The most i've enjoyed it since DS9. 4 star easily for me.

Personally I don't see the need for the F bombs but whatever.. its not Network television or 1986. Times change. Two from the crew seemed natural enough and i barely noticed them. The admiral's one seemed even more ridiculous than the one in ep1 or 2 though. Not a deal breaker though.

Poor 7... i kinda wanted her to have a drone army. She'd have been a nice queen. The drones would've enjoyed it. Sword guy (forgot his name) seemed keen.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Trent well I guess if the Michael Bay comment was gonna come from anyone, it would be you (or "That Troll"). No offense ;)

As grey cat said it better than I could anyway about the science. It basically magic in Star Trek and Marvel anyway. But then there's a famous Arthur C Clarke quote about that...

Anyhoo.. Those sunglasses need their own spin-off series. Why on earth did they pick such a cheap contemporary looking pair?
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

3.5 or maybe a even a 4. Loved it.

Not sure what this sound problem people are having is all about.. it all sounds glorious and crystal clear on my soundbar.

I can kinda of understand people hate-watching it i guess. I did that with most or DSC just because it was Star Trek. I really don't see the point of coming on here to shit all over it (at length) though. I just read jammers reviews (and wondered how his tastes had changed so much since ds9 - seriously high scores for some very poor ST in DSC). And then to patronise the people who do like it with comments about Marvel. I'm surprised someone hasn't mentioned Michael Bay yet.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Another damn fine episode. They're really building up some momentum without needing endless effects or action scenes.

Still really enjoying the latest version of Star Trek.

Too tired to nit-pick but the small problems with it make it a 3.5 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

"but it most certainly does not have the same qualities that made me fall in love with the franchise in the first place: The optimism, the intelligence, the open-mindedness, the inspiration to become a better person."

I'm hoping that's the point of PIC. That things HAVE gone astray and he's trying to find out why and get them back to how they should be. Something rotten at the core of the Federation etc.

I mean if the show started in a perfect paradise that Earth is meant to be and he just chatted to Riker, Geordi and his Romulans in his vineyard.. ok that would be sort of entertaining but not particularly exciting for 10 episodes.

Keeping and open mind and enjoying it for now.

I just love the new high speed "beam" though. Man I wish there were teleporters on Earth...
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Booming "patronising/sarcastic/condescending" Pretty much sums up your responses in general. Maybe you think you're funny though.

The comment above your last one literally contains "You really have to turn your brain off to defend Picard on that basis alone." So you counting must be a little off. Feel free to spend another few hours trawling through hundreds of comments and subjectively counting up one side or the other though.

Saying someone is a bitching doesn't make them a bitch (everyone does it sometimes) no more than saying someone is talking crap doesn't mean they always talk crap or ARE crap. And it's hardly an insult either way.

Since you're on wikipedia, look up "subjective".

Oops I descended to your level (sarcasm). You mostly seem to patrol these boards to pick fights due to boredom or something from what I've seen over the years hence you ignoring everything else I said and chose to try and start something.

I shall engage you no longer.

@Trek noir make a completely valid point. PIC easily better than early TNG or DS9 (it already beats VOY/ENT for me). Whether it will reach their heights - we shall see.

@Dave in MN "being provocative just for the sake of instigating debate." Nah, just a different opinion. Problem with nostalgia is people remember things to be far better than they actually were usually.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Booming "Wha... well... mhh... you know... ... ... they started it! :D" Exactly the point I was making with "patronising/sarcastic/condescending".

@Booming @Mertov Could be true. I'm not going to just believe your point about who is more comments about the "other side". Someone can feel free to count them up for PIC if they want and prove me wrong if they really want.

And I don't see any attacks in Mike W's post at all. Telling moaning people to move along if they hate it so much is hardly attacking anyone. Obviously it's nice to read both view points but we don't really need 500 words on why the writers suck from the same people week after week.

I mean Jammer's review is nicely written even if I completely disagree with it. I mean seriously.. rating it lower than any DSC episode. Lower than " Will You Take My Hand?" My god.. Anyway, repeating myself... the world would be dull without different opinions.

Why is no one in "the middle"? I don't remember anyone saying "meh" about PIC yet? Like/Love or Hate descending into a pit of boiling bile and vitriol.
Weird.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Hank I wouldn't say it has to be new or original to be good. The Expanse manages to be fantastic without any ideas we haven't seen in sci-fi before (mysterious god-like races, alien goo, star gates).

@chrome "With a good script, this crew could easily earn a four star episode." Totally agree. Script is definitely one of the shows weakest areas.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@James White you really don't need to feel sorry for me for not liking the same television episodes/shows as you. What a strange sentiment.

And wow PIC seems more polarizing than the utter drek that was DSC. And how in the name of all that is holy does Jammer give pretty damn good episode less than any episode of season one of DSC? Seriously? This is the most i've ever disagreed with Jammer on any episode I think. We agreed on 95% of our DS9 scores.

People have some really wildly different views on the 2 new Star Trek's. I'll probably drag myself through season 3 of DSC.. almost becoming a hate-watch though. I probably won't come here and write 500 words on why I hate it so much though. I just don't care enough.

Anyone who says anything positive about PIC is quickly patronised and indicated to be mentally deficient. It's strangely ironic that Star Trek (which for me is about a more hopeful future where humans have grown ridiculous disputes about imaginary borders ie Brexit, Mexico walls and religious wars) has a comment board filled with some really bitter and jaded people.

PIC obviously ISN'T showing the that ALL human's have grown beyond what we are now and it's easy to slip back into old ways. For me that's more interesting that sticking Picard about a new federation ship and exploring the latest spacial anomaly complete with ticking clock and reset button. We've had many years of that already in various version. Is that actually what people want?

The writing and acting and story in general is vastly superior to DSC (both look gorgeous) but maybe people just wanted it to be season 8 of TNG or something. Man that would be boring...

I get the feeling the board would be mostly moaning regardless. That's what the internet is for.

I thought Star Trek fans were generally a bit more civil and respectful to each other too - we COULD have an actual discussion about episodes. I guess being patronising/sarcastic/condescending is cool though these days.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@james white

Nah it's an opinion. It was pretty average most of the time but the occasional really amazing episode kept me going. That and at the time most of us had 4 tv channels and therefore very little sci-fi to watch.

I still kept watching till the end although i remember i was the only remaining friend or family member watching it.

DS9 however.. was amazing 90% of the time from season 3 onwards.

There. My fully-sane and perfectly valid opinion summarized for you
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Another very good, almost great episode from a thoroughly enjoyable version of Star Trek. The difference between this and the drivel in DSC is night and day.

I'd say mostly because PIC has some actual actors. Someone compared Jurati to Tilly.. ridiculous.. Alison Pill can actually act. I hope she has a chance for redemption for the murder she felt forced to commit.

Blah blah blah its not star trek. Wrath of Khan ear thingies used to make me have to look away when i watched that at the time (not to mention TMPs transporter accident - hideous) and more pointless storywise than the gore in this episode. Star Trek has always been dark. Some people have a serious case of rose tinted glasses about TNG. It wasn't THAT great. Or even good 90% of the time. PIC has managed to be at least a 7 or more out of 10 in its first 5 episodes. That's pretty good going.

I'm not sure where this light fluffy idealistic Star Trek some people were watching was because i've never seen it.

DS9 wasn't even great at all till about the end of season 3. VOY wasn't good at all until they brought in a 3rd actor (Jeri). Then then they could finally make some decent scenes with her, mulgrew and picardo. ENT was just plain dull..hence getting cancelled.

Sheesh the arrogance of the posts on here sometimes. Must be some Emmy award winning writers on here too. They can tell you exactly how a show MUST be written.

Anyway back to this episode..

Awesome work from Ryan. The scene at the end with her and Stewart was superb. Raffi is becoming more interestint by the episode as is Rios. And i didn't miss the borg cube at all.

Um.. gonna go with a 3 stars. Almost a 3.5 but picards pointless french character and the bar in general didn't really do it for me - just didn't seem futuristic (the bar not the accent).

I think they can pull off a 4 star this season. Lots of promising stuff. Just have to pull it all together.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.