Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Better than last weeks by default since it had less Captain Marvel in it. I think I gave that a 3 out of 10 so I'd have to nudge up to a 4. Nothing even approaching good though.

Liked:
- Saru (Although he seems a little naive as a leader)
- Detmer. Nice to have a crew remember who acts professionally.
- looks glorious in all its 4k beauty as ever
- semi-enjoying idea of 3100 and all new things
- almost no Burnham

Hated:
- Most of the crew. Did they have any Star Fleet training? I've worked in some crappy jobs in my youth where people were more professional that those idiots. Snark snark snark. It's tiresome. The Expanse crew are more professional and they're from a crappy Ice Hauler.
- Western in the Ice complete with bar room brawl.
- Burnham saving them complete with annoying grinning.

Meh:
- Tilly. Getting old fast now. Not her age either. Please just act normally now rather than flitting into comedy mode.
- Why is 3100 so bleh so far? They have a free reign to do whatever and this is it so far? Hoping for more imagination soon.
- Nhan, maybe she'll be ok? Not looking promising so far.
- Why can everyone identify an 800 or so year old thingy at a glance? Maybe it's as common as a wheel or something I guess.
- How was the ship suddenly fixed so fast? It was a complete wreck then it looked almost perfect. Maybe I missed something though. My eyes started to glaze.

It was a diverting enough 50ish minutes. I was a bit bored though which is rare for DIS since it's so fast paced.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@CaptainMercer that's actually the only episode I've ever rewatched. Feels like ToS a little and evoked a little actual emotion in me. Whereas the rest of the series leaves me cold while looking pretty - it's rarely boring at least. Just no reason to watch again.

Here we are in episode 1 of season 3 with many comments about how it isn't Star Trek. Didn't we do this already in season 1 and 2 (and PIC and even ENT and *gasp* DS9)?

Harping on about Gene's vision isn't really valid since he didn't agree with many parts of TNG and certainly would have hated DS9 while many consider that to be the best trek or 2nd best at least.

It Star Trek. I don't like it personally but it diverting enough to keep me watching. Not liking it doesn't make it not Trek. I don't particularly enjoy ENT or VOY that much but my dislike doesn't make them not trek.

Anyway this is a really tired topic. Looking forward to Star Trek: Strange New Worlds. Hopefully that will be Star Trek *snort*
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Just read through the comments which was more entertaining than the episode.

@trent that was hilarious!

@booming nice list. I actually agree with you on 97.3% of your post too which is rare. I enjoyed NuTrek's PIC though so to each their own.

@anthimos for some reason i feel a somewhat misguided sense of loyalty to Star Trek having watched so much of it. As I said before there isn't a lot of good or even average sci-fi about.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Urgh. 3 out of 10 being generous and thats mostly because it looks gorgeous in 4k.

I mean I had SOME hope after the partial recovery from s1 even if it was mostly due to Anson/Pike. I gave some lee-way being a s1 and first time back for trek on TV in long while. But seriously..

SMG seems have had a character change between seasons and I find her a poor actor anyway but (and not to sound like the most common moan on here): The Writing. It was like bad Star Wars. Large parts made no sense at all. 3100 or wharever and we have futuristic guns that are worse than present day firearms. So much shooting. At what exactly? 2 people hiding behind a thing wall in a dead end? Michael got a small scratch though I guess so futuristic weaponry isn't all bad.

A humanoid with abilities and a leather jacket and human customs like a handkerchief. At cat. I mean I guess this could/may all be explained but what a bizarre way to start a new season. Not really an interesting new mystery but a rather jarring collection of scenes full of "huh? But..." moments.

I hate to be one of those moaners on here but this wasn't for me. It passes the time and I like sci-fi (and its still better than most of the slim pickings around (Away *shudder*)). I bet I still watch the whole season. It is Star Trek after all and my loyalty knows no bounds apparently.

Season 5 of The Expanse can't come soon enough.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Thank you for the insightful and well written review - a return to fine form after last episode's blip :)

I'd rate it half a star higher personally but close enough. My main argument for that is that it's far better than either final of DSC. But the ratings across series don't necessarily carry across well.

Why on earth are people writing novels in the comments?

I need some more good sci-fi in this lockdown. I can't tolerate The Orville. Yet another Expanse rewatch required..
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@sc i'm not upset about anything. I respect that Jammer's review doesn't align with my opinion but I just found his actual review to be not up to his usual standard (ie "I call BS" repeatedly). The actual review itself wasn't well written. Which is what I already said actually.

You saying he was right doesn't actually make him right, it just means you agree with him.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@nick just for fun here's mine for season 1s

1. ToS
2. PIC
3. VOY
4. DS9
5. ENT
6. TNG
7. DSC

It's nothing like my ranking of series as a whole of course.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@geekgarious "If this show were as good as a show like The Expanse, we wouldn’t be arguing over whether or not it’s Trek."

Oh we so would.. It's everyone's favourite topic.

I don't see the what's so great about The Mandalorian. It's pretty but full of soap opera quality acting and bad/sloppy writing. I'm not a SW fan I guess. The Expanse deserves all the praise it gets however.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@sc never a good idea to claim your opinion is the voice of everyone.. anyway..

Finallt got around to it: Damn fine finale. Brought a sentimental and sometime nostaligic tear to my eye a few times.

I'm SO glad they didn't end with a 30 minute space battle like DSC S2 did (a finale that "everyone" except me apparently loved). That may have ruined what was on the whole a damn fine season.

I mean the show isn't on an Expanse level of brilliance but with the exception of MAYBE the odd patch of DS9 and a handful of TNG realistically Star Trek never has been. Much as I love it. Thoroughly enjoyable. They could do with squeezing in the odd morale dilema a bit or some original high brow idea (which is tough given the vast amount tv these days tbh)...but whatever.. thoroughly enjoyable.

I agree with some of the above poster's... very nice send off for Data complete the song he sang at the wedding.

Hopefully Jammer can do a better effort than last weeks childish "I call BS" review but with everything that's going on it's probably understand if they're delay or not his usual standard.

Hmm I guess I have to sit through S3 of DSC. If I find myself ranting at the screen every 5 minutes after 2 or 3 episodes I fear I may have to give up on it.. and not come on here and rip into it every week with 1000 words either. Life is way too short.

Looking forward to s2 greatly.

Keep well and stay safe everyone.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@james White I feel Stewart's acting is vastly superior in this than most of TNG. More natural and also you'd expect the character to mellow a little with age and take life less seriously. My parents certainly have.

He was always head and shoulders above the rest of the cast except Spiner in TNG anyway (in acting, not height - Frakes or Dorn win that).
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Not quite as good as the previous 2 but certainly still pretty darn good. Lots of set up for part 2 so it's hard to tell how well this series/season will end up as a whole.

Easily the best season 1 of any version of Star Trek (hard to compare ToS though really). Thoroughly enoyable. Wonderfully acted, looks stunning and an interesting story too. I'll certainly be rewatching this while i wait for S2. I haven't felt the desire to rewatch any of DIS. I'm actually in the middle of VOY rewatch and am just about able to tolerate Janeway for now.

The quality of Jammer's reviews aren't great lately (no offense and not because I don't agree with them entirely either). They just used to add something to watching the show but they're just so full of cynicism now it's making it a bit of a chore to even read them.

Strange since with DIS he seemed full of witty and well written reviews (rather than "I call BS" - Really?!?!). Maybe that show beat it out of him after 2 seasons.

As ever I find it astonishing how subjective us puny humans can be.

(And before you say "don't bother coming here if you don't like the reviews" - I did used to and I still enjoy the wildly different views and theories in the comments. Hey I even enjoy the arrogant 5000 word essays on how to be a writer/producer sometimes).

Maybe in this current world a bit of cynicism is understandable however.

Keep safe all.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Marco great comment.

Looking forward to it too. Need some nice escapism from the real world right now :)
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Scott The infamous joystick.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

this forum can't change or we wouldn't know how to use the controls.

As a programmer if i was out of the game for 15 years i imagine i wouldn't have a clue how to use Visual Studio 2035 or whatever it would be so I found that scene perfectly acceptable personally.

I did find it amusing too but more because Star Fleet people are always so brilliant at everything (especially the 2 handed punch) and it was nice to see one out of their element not having a clue (rather than laughing at an old man being confused/befuddled/whatever).

Did they start filming season 2 yet?
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

..bleh posting on phone...

...adequate job. Not a perfect one but its and incredibly complicated universe so Im happy to let it slide and enjoy the ride.

(Man I hated The Force Awakens.. 90%?? Really?)
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Tue, Mar 17, 2020, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

As awesome as The Expanse is it does have an easier time seeming believable than any ST would given that all they really needed to explain how we had Belters and Martians etc was the Epstein drive (1 10 minute flashback).

If PIC spent any more time explaining how we got from What We Leave Behind or Nemesis then I think it would be far too slow for most people.

Personally it think it does an adequare
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

The only "definition" I can find of NuTrek is from wiktionary:

"(fandom slang) A reboot of the Star Trek universe, launched in the 2000s, that established an alternate reality."
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 6:44am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi fair enough - if I didn't enjoy it I'd usually give up after a few episodes. Unfortunately I did this with The Expanse after the first episode. Luckily someone persuaded me to continue because that's some of the best sci-fi in existance. Picard could be an example of this. Personally i've at least enjoyed it all but it has got better and better - it's not Expanse levels yet though..

(..and not @ anyone in particular)

When did this NuTrek term become a thing? Was it around the JJ Abrams movies time? Or Enterprise? I mean I can see how TNG/VOY/DS9 are similarly produced (although still vastly different shows). TOS is completely different as is ENT.

Personally I find the JJ films abominations. PIC feels like a kinda modernized late-series DS9 to me with some TNG nostalgia thrown in. DSC feels like Star Trek on amphetamines and hallucinogenics.

So is NuTrek anything we don't like after TNG or anything JJ onwards or ENT or is the term itself subjective?

And couldn't have us oh-so-intelligent Star Trek fans not spelled it "Nu"?? I jest...
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Scrolling through a few comments.. a few stuck out

@james white much as i love tng. Much of i was just a giant biege cushion hitting you over the head with the lesson/morale of the week - it had some amazing episodes thoigh. It wasn't semi naked Shatner fighting a hilarious lizard man either - but tbh what else can compete with that?

...Trents traditional writing masterclass ;)

I feel offended on Alison Pill's behalf for her to be compared to Tilly (sorry don't want to look her the actor's name). She is a such a vastly superior actress its not even comparable.

Be kind to each other, now more than ever. We need more sci-fi if we're gonna be stuck indoors surrounded by toilet paper, pasta, soap and paracetamol.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Finally got around to this episode just now (we get it kinda a day later than the US too).

I loved last week.. nostalgia and some lovely acting but wow this one really knocked it out of the park. Some people's comments earlier on in the series needed to wait a little before saying x, y and z didn't make sense. But whatever, if its not for you it's not for you - for me this is like: Star Trek is finally back. The most i've enjoyed it since DS9. 4 star easily for me.

Personally I don't see the need for the F bombs but whatever.. its not Network television or 1986. Times change. Two from the crew seemed natural enough and i barely noticed them. The admiral's one seemed even more ridiculous than the one in ep1 or 2 though. Not a deal breaker though.

Poor 7... i kinda wanted her to have a drone army. She'd have been a nice queen. The drones would've enjoyed it. Sword guy (forgot his name) seemed keen.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@Trent well I guess if the Michael Bay comment was gonna come from anyone, it would be you (or "That Troll"). No offense ;)

As grey cat said it better than I could anyway about the science. It basically magic in Star Trek and Marvel anyway. But then there's a famous Arthur C Clarke quote about that...

Anyhoo.. Those sunglasses need their own spin-off series. Why on earth did they pick such a cheap contemporary looking pair?
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

3.5 or maybe a even a 4. Loved it.

Not sure what this sound problem people are having is all about.. it all sounds glorious and crystal clear on my soundbar.

I can kinda of understand people hate-watching it i guess. I did that with most or DSC just because it was Star Trek. I really don't see the point of coming on here to shit all over it (at length) though. I just read jammers reviews (and wondered how his tastes had changed so much since ds9 - seriously high scores for some very poor ST in DSC). And then to patronise the people who do like it with comments about Marvel. I'm surprised someone hasn't mentioned Michael Bay yet.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Another damn fine episode. They're really building up some momentum without needing endless effects or action scenes.

Still really enjoying the latest version of Star Trek.

Too tired to nit-pick but the small problems with it make it a 3.5 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

"but it most certainly does not have the same qualities that made me fall in love with the franchise in the first place: The optimism, the intelligence, the open-mindedness, the inspiration to become a better person."

I'm hoping that's the point of PIC. That things HAVE gone astray and he's trying to find out why and get them back to how they should be. Something rotten at the core of the Federation etc.

I mean if the show started in a perfect paradise that Earth is meant to be and he just chatted to Riker, Geordi and his Romulans in his vineyard.. ok that would be sort of entertaining but not particularly exciting for 10 episodes.

Keeping and open mind and enjoying it for now.

I just love the new high speed "beam" though. Man I wish there were teleporters on Earth...
Set Bookmark
skye francis-maidstone
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Booming "patronising/sarcastic/condescending" Pretty much sums up your responses in general. Maybe you think you're funny though.

The comment above your last one literally contains "You really have to turn your brain off to defend Picard on that basis alone." So you counting must be a little off. Feel free to spend another few hours trawling through hundreds of comments and subjectively counting up one side or the other though.

Saying someone is a bitching doesn't make them a bitch (everyone does it sometimes) no more than saying someone is talking crap doesn't mean they always talk crap or ARE crap. And it's hardly an insult either way.

Since you're on wikipedia, look up "subjective".

Oops I descended to your level (sarcasm). You mostly seem to patrol these boards to pick fights due to boredom or something from what I've seen over the years hence you ignoring everything else I said and chose to try and start something.

I shall engage you no longer.

@Trek noir make a completely valid point. PIC easily better than early TNG or DS9 (it already beats VOY/ENT for me). Whether it will reach their heights - we shall see.

@Dave in MN "being provocative just for the sake of instigating debate." Nah, just a different opinion. Problem with nostalgia is people remember things to be far better than they actually were usually.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.