Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 31 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Tue, Jul 8, 2014, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Just had to say Jammer than the beginning of your review make me LOL. You were spot on.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Mon, Jul 7, 2014, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

As much of a mess as the last few minutes were I'm surprised that no one commented on one of the Nazis being played by the same actor in Voyager who played a Nazi in Killing Game! I recognized his voice and his profile in shadow. It's the one who played the Nazi who was the 'father' of Brigette's baby.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Jul 6, 2014, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

@Jack - I thought the female sphere builders were all the same one but in different timelines.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I think one and a half stars was generous. Must have been coasting on the success of the last few shows. What a cringefest. I agree with just about everything already said and what I find even more disapointing is that Roxanne Dawson directed this episode. I understand she didnt' write the material but geesh. Maybe that was why there were so many shots of T'Pol's legs vice breasts, the director was trying to be 'respectful'.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I'm kinda uncomfortable with the way Feezal was harassing Trip. He obviously was uncomfortable but she kept it up. Since both she and Phlox giggled about 'humans' then obviously she was aware that some humans might not be amenable to an open relationship. It wasn't funny watching Trip squirm. It seemed dumb that he didn't tell her that he was uncomfortable beforehand.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Jun 8, 2014, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

So far this is the only episode of Star Trek where I was both uttering (almost screaming) 'no' AND visibly cringing as I watched. I must have flopped about the sofa like a fish out of water.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Jun 8, 2014, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I also enjoyed this episode. But I'm surprised that no one mentioned that it's surprising that the Vulcans speak perfect English!
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

I'm surprised that no one has questioned how the Tandarians knew that the ship was going to Risa? And how did they know that Archer even had a dog? I agree with Arachnea that Trip's characterization seems off. This episode does NOT deserve 3 stars. Sigh.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sat, Apr 26, 2014, 5:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Well, with all of the ENT bashing out there I liked this more than I feared I would. I'm not sure I liked any of the pilot episodes of ST. But generally I've enjoyed the series. So either way I'm looking fwd to more. Jammer pointed out all my problems with it. I'm rarely a fan of gratuitous scenes.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 11:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I found the story mentioned above (O Captain, My Captain: A Look Back At Deep Space Nine’s Ben Sisko) below is a better link:
www.racialicious.com/2012/03/15/o-captain-my-captain-a-look-back-at-deep-space-nines-ben-sisko/#more-21072

I thought it was a great article. I'm disappointed at the attitude people have over that small scene. I think for the most part if you are a person of color you're more apt to have thought of the scene as necessary.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 9:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I'm really confused that no one has pointed out the obvious with Ezri Dax. That she's now the naive ensign in the relationship with Sisko that he was when he first met Curzon. It's a flip with Sisko now being the mentor that Curzon was to him.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sun, Mar 30, 2014, 10:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I won't rehash what has been said but did anyone wonder how the guy who was controlling the weather on Risa know so much about Starfleet Intelligence? Or is the guy some kind of uber hacker?
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Tue, Oct 8, 2013, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I really didn't like this ep and agree with most of Jammer's statements. The whole who's the bigger old fart contest between Chakotay & Neelix was annoying and not funny. The aliens "because we can!" reasoning was BS, why kill everyone if they won't acquiece? That's because they weren't conducting any valid experiments they were torturing the crew! And Janeway as a scientist should have called them out on it, it was obvious. How could the data be valid if they are of a different humanoid species and their sample size is so damn small. They show a different experiment/apparatus on each crew member, how did they plan on filtering out possible variables, etc. You can't compare anything if it's just a one off. The Janeway/Tuvok interaction in the beginning was great (shall I flog them as well?). But the Captain flying the ship at the pulsars - pfffft. Why not just set the auto-destruct sequence? It's a lot easier to undo when you get them the hell off your ship and less risky too. And I agree with someone earlier that the Doc would have been deactivated earlier on by the aliens so it was pure plot device to have him be OK. It did facilitate his interaction with Seven and the whole tuning her borg devices which was interesting. I need to dig up the TNG episode referenced but I suspect that when I do I'll hate this ep even more. At least Kate Mulgrew, Robert Picardo & Jeri Ryan put in great performances. Robbie Duncan McNeil & Roxann Dawson did a good job but the sophomoric stuff was a little annoying and I think nibbles away at my respect for these characters. Nice to know it was mainly out of character stuff for a reason.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Mon, Jul 22, 2013, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

OK, did anyone else wonder why Jaffen's race has (at least) two sexes if they reproduce without there being a Father. I mean, just what was he doing with Janeway?
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Mon, Jul 15, 2013, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

OK, for a second there when the Dr. said he wanted to spend more time with the Captain I thought he was hitting on her! If it hadn't have been for his "death bed confession" of love for Seven, I would have wondered.

This is where I wish they would have expanded a bit on the Captain's weekly dinners. They showed her and Chakotay having candlelight dinners every so often in a cheap bid to keep the J/C fans happy. But I always thought that the Captain might have had weekly dinners with Tuvok as well since they were friends and she turned to him for counsel. Well, at least she said she did-- they didnt' exactly write it in all that often...
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Mon, Jul 15, 2013, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This was like having a pound of bacon at a sitting. Tastes good and satisfying in the short term but when you think about it you realize that it's not very nutritious.

99% of what I thought has already been covered. But I would have liked to have seen a scene like this:

Captain Janeway: "Why now? Why not earlier? I needn't have had to lose so many. Maybe we could have got everyone on BOTH crews home"

Admiral Janeway: "This has the most probable chance of success. I couldn't exactly run simulations, could I Kathryn?"

CJ: "So you want to interfere with the timeline just for your, er, our personal gain? That idea is repugnant to me Admiral."

AJ: "I know how much you've agonized over the Caretaker. Should I have done it differently? Mined the array and hopped it was destroyed before the Kazon took advantage? Or...? This was the best way I could come up with to try to undue the consequences of that decision. The best way to try and save this family."

A little soapy? Yea probably but it would have gotten a little more into the motivation of the Admiral. Also it would have been interesting to see some of the survivors blame her for the deaths of those that didn't make it.

Also it would have been nice to see Icheb for a few secs as well as Naomi. Especially since we see an adult version of both in Shattered.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sat, Jul 13, 2013, 11:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

I'm just not a fan of a Seven/Chakotay pairing. While she is technically not a Starfleet officer she's still part of the crew. Chakotay as first officer is her boss. Same argument for why a Janeway/Chakotay romance doesn't work either. Although I have to admit I'd have prefered the later to the former.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Sat, Jul 13, 2013, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

@ V - exactly! Just what I thought. Janeway is Seven's adopted Mom.

I read an interview with Mulgrew that she gave a few years after the show where she'd wished that they'd given Janeway a son that had been left home. It would fuel her desire to get home because he dies before she gets there. It was something she came up in the interview off the cuff but it would also have helped to explain the maternal side of Janeway a bit more. Maybe they decided that if she had a kid at home it would have been too Ripley?
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Did anyone else think that the Doctor's line about --Michael being as real as he is --sound like the Doc was hitting on the Captain?

Also the simulation was open to the whole ship so if they did do the nasty anyone could have walked on in AND all of the walls and such are made of electrons, probably not much that would muffle noise...ahem.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 10:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

@Matt - you forgot that Janeway has a pregnant dog in Caretaker.
I always hated the Barclay eps in TNG but he wasn't as annoying in this.
Also, the security for starfleet sucks, he removes a panel, diddles with it a few moments and poof he's in?
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 7:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

I liked this episode even thought it resembles swiss cheese with all of the plot holes and errors. Janeway going bat shit crazy was something I liked because of the "oh, no!" factor but it should have had a longer impact and like all of you I can lament what could have been with this show.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 10:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

@Rosario - Bingo! You hit it on the head.

Harry was NOT punished for having sex. He was punished for not following the rules beforehand in a situation that could have turned out badly. An officer. and a senior bridge officer at that, is expected to think with his brain and not his hormones.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 10:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I just couldn't get past the plot holes, irresponsible Hansens and wonky Borg reasons to really enjoy this.
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

@Jay - LOL!

I liked this episode, not as much as I wanted to but enough. It is a fun throwback to 1930's serials.

Although does anyone else thing that the naem Chaotica sounds like a girl?
Set Bookmark
skadoo
Wed, Jul 10, 2013, 9:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

So no one had a problem with the last scene where they're sitting in an empty hollodeck with eons of space between them? Why wouldn't they have replicated a living room or other cozy locale. Have the Captain sit near by maybe even call up his hollodeck family to provide him some comfort. It was almost as if they decided to ditch the ending and came up with this part on the fly.

I also hated the "he's like a toaster" analogy that Janeway uses. I thought it was cruel and not indicative of how she interacts with the Dr. Kinda like her feelings stepped back a couple of years or something. Like they used an old script they'd previously put on the discard pile?

I wasn't much of a fan of this episode but with all of the comments I'll have to watch it again.

Hmmmm.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.