Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 426 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Sep 26, 2021, 7:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

Well to be clear, I don't think Farrell is a bad actress by any means. When I see Jadzia Dax, I'm not thinking "well, I'm watching an actress", I see Jadzia. And I think she held her own throughput the series with Brooks, Visitor and really all of them. Good chemistry.

I do question her range at times, but that's not a slam. Not everybody is a Meryl Streep. And to be fair to the actress, they were rejiggering the Dax character from season one to two. Meaning, the production couldn't decide what the character was, so it's hardly surprising Farrell couldn't hit it out of the park, particularly with the very alien backstory of Dax.

But it is weird here how explicitly Dax is sidelined in her own story.

It could just be the episode is flawed. There's talk of this episode not being as provocative as the production intended. It kind of seems like they were enthralled with Dax previously being a straight male and now being a straight woman and what happens when Jadzia meets a former lover. Except, TNG already did that exact story much better and more directly when the Trill were introduced.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 2:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

This is rather clunky, and harmed somewhat by wooden acting, like it's predecessor Ensigns of Command. But, the wooden actors here are at least playing an alien race, and do seem to be trying.

I'll personally bump it up to 3 stars because it's trying to do something interesting and has some good drama and action pieces.

The negatives are basically Picard and company's ridiculous plan and actions. There is simply no reason for Picard to believe he could explain things to the lady, etc etc.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 1:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

This one was hobbled by the utterly wooden acting of everyone but the regulars. This looks like ALL of the guests got handed their lines a minute before each take. This is actually embarrassing.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 1:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Watching this again, after watching TNG many times over the years, it really struck me how TOS Dr. Stubbs was, and by extension the whole episode. He almost directly pulls the "I'm an Ambassador and you're my bitch" card. He has an almost Harry Mudd flippancy about the whole situation.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

You can tell this was meant for Robin Williams by how Rasmussen's lines are so repetitive and lightly written. Basically "crewman X! Some cutesy remark about X! Ooh, wait, ominousness..."

Over and over.

It was written like that because of Williams' great strength in crazy improvisation. He would, in effect, have rewritten all the lines.

Frewer couldn't do that (like the vast majority of actors) so the character gets tiring very quickly.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Gorn, have you seen "The Vast of Night", 2019?

Not but budget or A listers, but a slllooooowwwwwww pace.

The IMDb user reviews are about as polar as I've ever seen. But at a minimum, it does seem there are a lot of people who would like to see more old style pacing.

I personally didn't like it at all. Extremely long takes and scenes, sometimes in just a profile. Longer than you will believe. It would have been better as a radio story, so little actually happens.


It's based around a radio host when people start calling about UFOs. I thought I would really like this because I used to listen to Art Bell's Coast to Coast radio program where they would have callers on this type stuff.

I was sure it was 99% BS, but it could really get the imagination going sometimes, listening to these callers on my radio driving around at 1AM. It was like sharing secrets in a tiny club. The title of the movie absolutely conveys that feeling.

But the movie doesn't, at least not to me.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 4:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

@Gorn "The Motion Picture is a form of story telling that will never come again, at least not with A listers and a huge budget."

Well we might have moved back in that direction though. "Midsommar" has an extremely leisurely pace. Though, the gore was rather excessive to me.

"Interstellar" had both A listers and a high budget, and it definitely aims to be epic.

2014's "Young Ones" has a markedly slow burn, almost Kubrickian in many ways. Not much really happens, but it gives what I thought was a very creepy vision of a near future Dust Bowl Great Depression. It's creepy because although there is technology from maybe 30 years ahead of use, most people are quite poor. This is probably what the Great Depression was like. They didn't have computers and cell phones, but the 1930s was hardly primitive.

(And, likely completely coincidentally, "Young Ones" could fit in the "Interstellar" verse. )
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

@Jill "I didn't care for this ep when it came out, or even on my second viewing, but my third watch moved me to tears"

Similar for me.

I wonder if that's largely because as you pointed out, a lot of the substance here is Seven's gradual and wordless attitude change, very well played by Ryan.

You really have to be paying close attention, and Voyager (and really most Trek) doesn't usually require or encourage that because things are usually loud and right in your face.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 4:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

@Peter G. "No wonder the Wadi are rolling their eyes."

That is a really good point. When you don't know what's really going on, they seem quite callous and indifferent. But they're actually thinking "what the hell is wrong with these people?"
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

I don't know if creating an illusory colony like the illusory Rishon was outside Kevin's powers. Possibly, but the episode isn't explicit about the scope of his powers.

My personal assumption was that he had the ability, but didn't want to go that far and hide all his guilt. He wanted to be reminded of it and wallow in it. He wasn't initially trying to fool the Enterprise, he just went to that when they wouldn't leave.

I think, sadly, having lived as a human without his powers, he was simply out of practice even thinking in those terms. This is why he failed at tricking the Husnock, then failed at tricking the Enterprise. Also, his clumsy effort to distract Deanna.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 5:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Sisko and Nog have surprisingly good chemistry.

Perhaps both Brooks and Eisenberg have/had good chemistry with other actors. Certainly Nog improved massively by being upgraded from a "comic relief" type character.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 5:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Look how little Sisko really offers in the end meeting with Odo and the others. Starfleet won't confirm nor deny the existence of Section 31, etc, then he *advises Julian to accept being recruited*.

Seems to me Sisko, as a high ranking officer in a critical post, is perfectly well aware of Section 31 and may have even recommended Julian for recruitment.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

*relieve, not retrieve
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 8:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

It would be interesting to see this redone by a modern Trek.

It's 100% believable that the evil Kirk half would attempt rape. I would like to see how this would be handled now. Probably they would never use a main character for this now, because the character would be so badly tarnished.

The best part here for me is the "good" Kirk absolutely overwhelmed by the Spock and McCoy arguments. "Yeah, that sounds reasonable" over and over.

As for Kirk not relinquishing command, possibly machismo, but also possibly he simply couldn't even make that decision by that point.

This is an early episode, and thus an early installment of when can you retrieve the captain? Granted, this is a case so whacky Starfleet would never have thought of it. But split into two halves?

Clearly he should be declared incompetent. But to be fair, the Good Kirk wasn't obviously impaired at first. But really, he has no more claim to the throne than Evil Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 6:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

"later as Dukat"
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 6:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

The main dog alien was played by Marc Alaimo, better known as late as Dukat. The mask hides him and his notable neck and the voice is so distorted he's pretty much unrecognizable. However at one point he stretches out his arm in the dramatic way Dukat sometimes did. "an entire universe set in flames"
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 12, 2021, 6:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

Wheaton's comments on his costume are interesting. It's ironic that he got those subdued colors, not just relative to popular gain of the 80s, but the bright blue, gold and red of standard Starfleet uniforms. Still, that orange looks pretty 80s now.

I had just assumed they gave him bulky sweaters because he was still a skinny kid and sets are typically quite cold.


This is the first decent episode of season one, but when it becomes the total Wesley wankfest and Picard advises the crew to think happy thoughts, you definitely know where you are.

It's just silly Picard not only took the advice of this sick mystery space alien, but went far beyond and made him an acting officer.

But Wesley was meant to be a main character, and this was probably better than him being otherwise jammed into stories.


Bleh, Engineer Argyle and especially Riker are behaving quite unprofessionally toward Kazinski. Even if he is an ass, they are still officers.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Aug 11, 2021, 9:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I was always struck by the idea of the cadet ship circumnavigating the Federation, thinking that would take an awful long time.

But according to the DS9 Technical Manual, Bajor is only 52 light years from Earth. Wow, if 52 light years is considered "deep space", then the Federation is drastically smaller than I ever thought.

This also rather contradicts actual statements from TOS.


Anyway, is 52 light years considered "deep" space even today?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 6:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

It would have been cool if Kira had appeared. Ah well.

It's true this was conceived as a Picard vehicle, but they realized Picard was unlikely to be that much different in the slightly altered realities.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

I agree with the above that one thing that dampens the fun is that regular DS9 already has terrorism, war, political games, etc, so it wasn't as different as the original TOS episode. Basically, Mirror DS9 was about the same as regular DS9, with the characters just switched around.

That does dampen the fun because I'm not terribly interested in investing time in figuring out the new intrigue because there's no point.


Also, to me, the TNG episode "Parallels" kind of spoils the Mirror Universe idea anyway. In that (excellent) episode, Worf switches among numerous alternate universes. So what's so special about this one?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 5:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

The DS9 Mirror Universe episodes never did much for me. Like other reviewers, it feels like I should like this but somehow it's blah.

I think it might be because it straddles the line about whether it's meant to be taken seriously or not.

One thing I did NOT like was Mirror Kira seeming to know all about Prime Kirk's visit and what Mirror Spock did that ultimately brought down the Terran Empire. It felt ridiculously self aware, like she had just watched that episode.

This is nearly 100 years later. That would be pretty long ago trivia by now, IF Kira had any way of knowing all that in the first place. She might easily know about the great Spock that foolishly brought down the Terran Empire but wouldn't have the make "Kirk" practically on the tip of her tongue.


Nana Visitor was very good here though. She looked great and played a convincingly different Intendant (and I learned that word from this ep). Mirror Kira was a compelling character in her own right and could easily have been credible villain.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 2:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

That 52 light year number has to be considered a mistake, imho. That wouldn't have been "deep space" in even Kirk's time.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 2:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

I liked it well enough, though the "ancient Bajorans" building and launching spaceships really needed at least some fleshing out. Using the word "ancient" seems misguided because it appears the protection wants you to believe they were not much beyond ocean sailing to make the achievement even more incredible.

It just seems they don't want you to think "ancient" Bajor must have had the ability to launch ships into space, ability to construct a pressurized cabin and provision it with oxygen, etc etc etc.

It's difficult to directly compare, but I don't think 1221 AD is considered "ancient" in Earth's history in a technical sense. Certainly 500 years ago isn't, it's considered the early modern era.



As for Bajorans at home learning of the ship somehow making it to Cardassia, I don't think that requires an FTL return trip or communications. A standard transmission would work, it would just take five years.


Incidentally, I was googling to see the distance from Bajor to Cardassia, which is five light years, then find out Bajor is only 52 light years from Earth ...

Um, say what?? 52 light years is considered "deep space"?
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Aug 8, 2021, 9:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Heh, I'm on an anti-Dax campaign I guess. Really these are thoughts from back in the day when this first ran.

I'm not a Dax or Jadzia hater at all, but I never liked the Dax-centric episodes. I couldn't care less if this guy makes off with the worm nor if Jadzia died.

The guest acting and the side stories were pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Aug 8, 2021, 9:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

As mentioned above, it is pretty weird how quiet Jadzia gets about all this. Kira even lampshades it.

It does put quite a damper on the drama when the central character apparently couldn't care less. It's vaguely justified by the script (she's hiding something) but I can't help but think the production minimized Jadzia's role here because Farrell couldn't carry much weight in the acting department.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.