Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 113 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

To clarify slightly, it’s possible Tuvok fully remembers his experiences as Tuvix deeply misses them, and wished Janeway hadn’t separated Tuvix. He sure as hell wouldn’t bring it up in his normal state of mind, but he definitely would in this state.

Aside from the potential murder angle, Tuvok might believe that she took something from him and deeply hurt him. Given that he would be “fixed” by the end of the episode, Janeway would remain saddled with this knowledge. It would be similar to the (not bad) actual ending, with Neelix wondering if Tuvok still liked him, but quite a bit thornier.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

This one is a winner because of Russ’s great acting, and his and Phillips’ acting. 3 stars.

Could have been better. Less of the “find and deal with the aliens” plot- who cares?

Also, I don’t think the name “Tuvix” is spoken once in the episode, a dreadful omission considering how much dramatic meat that could have provided. Tuvok and Neelix could have come to terms with that experience in ways they probably hadn’t.

And this Tuvok might well accuse Janeway of murder for splitting Tuvix, and Neelix would have been interesting standing there whether he agreed with Tuvok, agreed with Janeway, or was torn himself.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

There’s no continuity issues about Starfleet knowledge of the Borg. Starfleet doesn’t watch the Star Trek shows and know that this curious incident was significant because it’s The Borg.

They’ve got their hands full with Andorian and Vulcan intrigue, and all the other immediate issues. This would indeed be filed away and forgotten.

Similar with Seven’s parents. There was some knowledge in Starfleet of the Borg, but as a distant possible threat.


I wasn’t a huge fan. Too much of a ratings grab, and way too on the nose in a very annoying way with Archer’s final statement about the invasion being delayed until the 24th century.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Murdering Icheb in gore to get street cred?

It’s true, there were lots other, previous Treks that pulled this, like, um....

Lol, sorry dude, this is zero stars, full stop.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Tom’s comment on deuterium ... geezer this show so often doesn’t catch a break.

It seems pretty obvious the point of that line was the production acknowledging they boned science in the Demon episode.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

Haha, I just realized, I personally occasionally use Windom’s “don’t you think I know that!!!” when I want to be melodramatic. I picked that up 30+ years ago and long since forgot where it came from.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

A classic, one of the best of the series.

As for the remasters—- seasons 2 and 3 titles with the opera lady singing. Holy crap, I hate how they’ve ramped up the volume of that, especially the last wail. I literally always mute it.

It’s comical to me they did that. A new recording I guess? I don’t know, but I think exactly zero percent of Trek’s longevity was due to its title theme song.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

The registered fx can be so frustrating. It’s nice to see beautifully rendered planets, but the super-clean image of the ship just look awful. It looks exactly like what it is- a model.

Now of course I know it’s actually, ironically, a cgi ship. But it’s cgi of a model with insufficient detail for the resolution it’s being shown at.

It’s a trade off, because the love actor footage looks brilliant in the remastered set. I would probably be happiest if I could watch the old ship fix with the remastered actors.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 6:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I always thought the falling turbo lift thing was ridiculous. They have gravity in a lift tube that the lift then has to work against? All the way to the, um, “bottom” floor of the ship like a skyscraper?

Of course I can fan wank it, but blah. It just feels like a cheap import without any sci-fi thought.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

By the way, that’s one crazy weird script Beverly wrote and staged!
Set Bookmark
Silly
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Good high concept Braga.

But yes, I definitely notice how often the crew is involved in a play. I’ve was never a big fan, but at least this one didn’t have Data talking about method acting.

Not bad and solid work from Frakes. It looked like the opening scene had Frakes on a two minute long take, playing someone acting. Not bad at all.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Not great, and the Worf parts ultimately have terrible payoff in part 2.

For me, the Bashir/Data parts are pretty well, probably because Julian is intentionally a Scrappy saved from the heap, as TV Tropes calls it. Bashir is silly here, but completely consistent with his contemporary DS9 character. The Data stuff isn’t bad at all, and gives some amount of character growth.

The Worf stuff is already trite and cheesy by now. Klingons aren’t/don’t take prisoners unless we’re captured or need to or whatever. Blah. Garbage.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Also right now, some nice details I never noticed before. Moriarty’’s steampunk device to shake/control the Enterprise has a small integrated LCARS display.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

It’s insane that the holodeck got through testing enough for all the shenanigans that happen throughout Trek. And certainly with such a casual command from Geordi, like “do you want to create a supervillain controlling the whole ship?” and no “Are You Sure?”

Pulaski’s dreadful Data hate is on full display here, but it is at least consistent characterization, and shows some small character growth.

But aside from the many difficulties, it plays out pretty well with Trek sensibilities. Day-Lewis is spectacular, and Moriarty becoming self-aware and transcending his caricature origin is very compelling. Maybe not completely convincing, but good stuff. This is Roddenberry‘s vision of the future in steroids. It’s pretty good sci-fi even outside its Trek. Picard’s talk with Moriarty about technology is rather touching.

Watching it now, it’s reasonable to wonder if Moriarty is playing a deeper game. He’s got the intelligence to basically understand his existence, and even perhaps to be planning his future moves.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Aug 10, 2020, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

The clocks are annoying, and the phaser storage in—- the galley??— are goofy.

This is no WOK, but there is a lot of very good stuff here. Kim Cattrall is wonderful. I’m aware that they wanted this to be Saavik, and that Mr Roddenberry vetoed it.

I can see that it feels like a plausible arc for Saavik, and obviously lines here were meant to echo WOK. But at the same time, especially in light of recent shows attempting Trek, I’m really respecting Roddenberry’s vision.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I’ve watched this several times, and I think this is one of Trek’s finest hours.

I’m not a huge fan at how Chuckles is played— it so often feels like cheesy stereotype of an American Indian, but this one works. The Vision Quest thing still feels kind of cheeseball, but the whole thing is dealt with in very real seeming terms.

It highlights the risk of dealing with one’s problems with hallucinogens. Not in a cheap way— Chuckles is trying to help Neelix, and it shows the risk of this approach. In the show’s terms, it depicts the very real risk of someone not understanding the “visions” they are dealing with, because they are completely, literally, alien to the visions they are shown.

This actually feels like what Voyager should have depicted a lot more. Fish out of water in an alien part of the galaxy, trying to do what they feel is right. Chuckles attempted to help, not fully realizing how another species would handle it.

This is solid stuff, and great a basis— Seven’s cold blooded attempts to help, and later when Neelix comes to Seven, her severely limited ability to read his extremely severe emotional state rings 100% true to her character.

This is really good stuff.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

This is great Voyager.

When they made contact, there was a wonderfully underplayed scene, when Admiral Paris was talking about Tom. They could have really gone cheesy here but they didn’t.

Voyager gets a lot of often deserved flack, but not here.

This was brilliant and believable.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

THROW away, pardon.

But, blah, It’s the worst of Voyager’s loop-d-loop style.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This is just a sad ep. they LITERALLY play the J card, and a couple other cards, but there is no meat. It’s all their away.

I would put this worse than threshold.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Dax’s scorching response to Bashir was a fantastic scene.

But... I’m thinking Section 31 and Garak were right... the founders should be destroyed. They are flat out evil.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

The fall of Betazed was absolutely brilliant in a very brilliant episode. That was like literally jaw dropping to me.

I was unaware before this thread that the writers had initially considered having Vulcan fall but thought that would be too weighty. I basically agree, but also I would have found it less plausible. Weighty, yes, because that’s a very core federation planet, right by Earth, and I would expect Starfleet to abandon 90% of the Federation and fall back to defending its core systems. Though, they would almost certainly still try to hold DS9.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

One thing that astounds me is that the Kirk/McCoy “missing man” drinking scene was already in place before Anton Yelchin died. I had assumed it was added in as a dedication to him. Ostensibly, it’s supposed to be about Kirk’s father, but it made sense as a dedication, especially since McCoy said he *found* the bottle they are drinking in Chekov’s locker. They even joke about how they assumed Chekov would be a vodka man. So, McCoy just steals from people’s lockers?

Knowing the scene was in the cut before Yelchin’s death makes it seem eerily prescient.

Anyway, far better movie than Into Darkness, though Yelchin and Nimoy’s deaths do hang over it. I’m glad Anton’s Chekov had a nice large part in this story. This might be the best Trek movie of them all in using the entire ensemble.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I liked it for the most part, and the Chuckles/Janeway dynamic in particular. Janeway has a believable Janeway arc here, going from BS! to accepting the situation, then realizing she will do whatever she can to prevent this future.

While I never liked the bonkers direction they took Seska back in the day, at least she is consistent with her conniving self from back then.

The Seven stuff was a lot less believable because it just seemed so unlikely they could convince her to help them. She’s not the Seven they have known, she’s full on original Borg.

I don’t feel like writing a review for All Good Things, but that had a very similar and more extreme version of this. In the Yar era, Picard, who has just taken command, orders the ship into what sure looks like suicide. Picard speeches can be quite effective, but what he’s saying there is just nuts. Especially considering his behavior prior to that. His behavior there is worse than in Lonely Among Us. Really, the ONLY reason I believe he got away with it was he hadn’t yet picked up the first officer.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I absolutely DESPISE boxing as a trope in general, and especially out of the blue in sci fi.

I absolutely never want to see again boxing as a metaphor, boxing to work out everyone’s problems, etc etc.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Not by any means a copy, but lots of shades of Space 1999’s Bringers of Wonder.

Good episode.

The Prozac-y crew works great here. Too often in this sort of possession type plot, the crew become evil henchmen for the big bad. But here, they are normal, just happily deluded.

Naomi Wildman is surprisingly likable and the Seven/Naomi chemistry is great.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.