Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 2:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I don’t know why people are bothered by Ferrell’s acting. She plays the role they created for her, a “wise beyond her years” literally young woman who lived lifetimes before. She behaves as she should and has the right amount of feminine aspect for Jadzia being a new woman as a new person.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Watching this episode after the Coronavirus pandemic has made me see this episode in a new light. I laughed when Kira said to the scientist they were taking back that since she’s infected with the virus he is too. Lots of quarantine but no masks.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 1:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

“Seize the time... Live now! Make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again.”

I saw this ep for the first time when I was 10-12 or so and I'm now in my mid-30's and I never forgot this line. It's so true, and makes you sad about all the time in your youth you'll never have again
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 11:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

This episode aired in 1990, and people are reviewing it with the lens of posts from 2013-2021 from the posts here. Back THEN Geordi's behavior wasn't viewed as creepy. Yes he was kind of impulsive, but he backed off when she told him he was married, and didn't progress any further besides friendship.

Guys it was 1990, the "Me too" movement didn't exist yet.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 8:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

O'Brien's starring role in TNG. This episode honestly felt like a pilot for Deep Space Nine, where O'Brien and the Cardassian's are main and center and a nice preview of what was to come.

The peaceful solution at the end of the episode was a nice resolve of conflict compared to what would have been a much worse ending. And the Cardassian's are not let off scott-free either, as we know something is up with them. Strong show.
Set Bookmark
Iain Scott
Sun, May 16, 2021, 7:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

The only problem with this production is that it should have been movie length. This was the best Feel-Good presentation in the whole Star Trek genera.
Set Bookmark
Iain Scott
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This episosed must have been a lot of fun for the script writers, just as it is for the viewers. One tall tale after another, it seems like everyone has turned into either an Irishman or a Newfoundlander! This is GOOD entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I take offense to the term MarySue since that is my wife's name LOL. Just kidding.
Set Bookmark
Scottathew
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Hello future readers. This episode came out just days before the 2020 election and after months of COVID restrictions. Please forgive us.

Gents and ladies, please, I beg thee, let's end the political conversation. This isn't the appropriate space for it.

Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Scottathew
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Temporal Edict

I wrote lower decks off, but because CBS All Access was giving me a free trial for a month (which they subsequently charged me for anyway) I figured, what the heck.

I really enjoy Lower Decks. It take place in a near-TNG time, a time I've been arguing that new Trek show show pickup on. No more of the pre-pre-prequel-alternate-timeline BS.

Lower Decks takes full advantage that it's a cartoon and has a lot of fun while showing us new parts of the ship we've never seen. It's super-silly, we don't have to take it 100% serious or try to dove-tail it into being cannon. It's a cartoon. It's fun.

I respect that Jammer isn't writing review for it Lower Decks, but if he does, I'll read them!

I wish you all well!
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

"My review got lost in the posting so I will try and remember. I think this was a 4/10. The only value was the Geordie conversation about a society pre judging someone's value. "

This was my only problem with it. The idea that destroying some cells with a genetic defect is pre-judging people isn't right to me. It seems more correct to say in their society that Geordie would be born without those and other defects.


>Troi feeling shame for having sex? I guess Riker's one night stands were never with other societies as part of his away missions? Troi didn't breach the Prime Directive and only professionalism.

Riker's sex usually wouldn't potentially undermine their entire society and growth. The only time I can think that was a problem is that odd scene where he pretty much got blackmailed into being raped by alien doctor in the First Contact episode. The society in this episode requires isolation. They were already disturbing that isolation, but out of pure necessity. Troy went way too far past that. It's only not a Prime Directive failure because of the technicality that they are human.

"After all in the next episode he has sex with Ro, a fellow crew member, who reported to him?? Didn't they know their ranks at that time? "

One of the areas were TNG shows its age. Sex with crew members down the chain of command wasn't frowned upon as it should have been.

"The so called Masterpiece society was lame : a few people leave and 1000s are at risk? Haven't they heard of redundancy? "

They address this in the episode. The society is perfectly planned. They do have the redundancy to handle a few unexpected accidental deaths but many more than a few were intrigued by the outsiders with more advanced technology that were different and wanted to leave.

Honestly I think this is a great episode that makes one think about these values. Would you rather a tightly controlled society where everyone's needs are met and everyone has a purpose to fill to help the greater good (probably a not so subtle allegory to communism) or would you rather have a life where things are far more uncertain, where people have far more direction and certainty in life and have to compete with each other, but where that leads to faster growth and advancement at the expense of many not having a fulfilling life? Personally, give me the former.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 12:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Picard took the conn on two occasions that I can remember - 11001001 which was mentioned above, and then Booby Trap when he relieved Wesley and piloted the Enterprise out of the asteroid field

Riker did something similar when he relieved the helmsman in ST: Insurrection.
Set Bookmark
Scott Gordon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I was worried about young Kelly's rejection at first, but then I remembered that we were told only that he called her at 9:00 AM the next day. It was also implied that this was not an appropriate time to call and was probably a little off putting to most people. So, since Kelly's memory was wiped (Dr. Finn usually knows what she is doing), I convinced my self that in the original timeline, young Kelly probably react by saying that she didn't see it working out, Ed Mercer is very strong willed and probably got her to come around after the initial reaction. Oh well, at least I was able to satisfy myself with this, but I am not very hard to convince.
Set Bookmark
Scott B
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Admiral Cornwell’s background as a counselor was a major plot point last season in one or two episodes as she was analyzing Lorca’s fitness to command and then herself becoming a POW
Set Bookmark
scott
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 4:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Social evolution, as referenced in many comments above, MAY reduce underlying primal survival and aggressive traits. Primarily due to preferential breeding choices, but only to a very limited extent. The prevalance and intensity MAY be reduced. However to act as though those underlying traits wont exist in the future is ludicrous. Quarks speech though perhaps not fully realized, from the 20th/21st century perspective, is certainly realized within the 24th century federation ideal.

as to the "robot/drone army" arguments, such would violate the 24th century ideal far more than ground troops. Not to mention any such soldiers/weapons would almost certainly violate any number of internal/external federation treaties.

No SOCIALLY advanced civilization would use such weapons/soldiers. Because weaponry of such a type diminishes the cost of war. The less war costs the more viable a solution it is.

That likely seems insane to most readers, however consider this, the defiant is the FIRST federation WARSHIP. Though most federation starships are really just mobile military (civil defense if you prefer) research bases (they have less defenses and weapons, but are more powerful). This is in keeping with the defensive militarism of a socially evolved culture. The federation clearly has weapons of mass destruction or technologies easily adapted as such (genesis device) and STANDARD (okay relatively standard) torpedos that can be made into planet killers (Omega-VOY). Not to mention they can replicate bioweapons, if they choose, pretty much on demand. Notably, with the exception of the section 31 virus, those tactics are never used even when losing.

Federation questionable tactics/technologies are used by individuals and organizations as the war progresses, but not adopted to any further extent (shipyards and ketracel white facility come to mind). those actions should be judged keeping in mind that the founders/dominion attempted to supernova bajor's sun, using a federation proto matter technology before the war actually began.

Yes of course the technologically advanced federation COULD deploy a drone and robot army, much like the dominion deploys the biological equivalent Jem'Hadar. But they wouldnt. at least not until their bellies were empty ... really empty .. and a least a fortnight sans sonic showering.. minimum.

its intimated that the federation could (but never would) wipe out the klingons and romulans and definitely the cardassians, but as an enlightened civilization they prefer peace treaties allowing for the eventual and inevitable root beer infiltration. The federation is like the vulcans of ST: first contact, but with hugs though still kinda condescending.
Set Bookmark
scott
Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 7:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

While the technology of the TR-116 rifle and targeting system may or may not be sound , the discontinuation and non use of such a weapon is sound. Its a weapon of assassination and murder, its only purpose is to kill, in complete violation of the tenets of the federation. One would also assume it violates one of the many treaties of the federation, both internal and external treaties.

Beaming and replicator technology could be used to decimate almost any enemy, since a biogenic weapon beamed onto ds9 could have wiped out everyone, as could beaming a bomb onboard. instead soldiers are beamed in. even klingons, cardacians and romulans (the less enlightened, so to speak, confederations never use such methods). notably this is overlooked when a bomb is beamed onto the ketracel white facility (as gamma quadrant invaders seem to be unprotected by Alpha quadrant treaties..)the destabilization of a suns core to destroy the jem h'dar ship yards. The same goes for the section 31 changeling virus, though predicated on threat of dominion and considerably further away from federation tenets.

Even starfleet controlled replicators seem to have extreme restrictions, and require clearance and command approval for even replicating substrates for biogenic weapons (bashir- bio mimetic gel). The TR 116 seemed to have similar but less stringent restrictions on replication.

of course, lesser civilizations seem to use such methods and weaponry with frequency against their enemies and their own people. (quark as arms dealer).

Clearly very effective and highly destructive weapons are available, "genesis device" but they are not used, partly because of enlightenment but also probably because of treaty bans. This applies more for the Federation, take for instance the Defiant (even sans cloak) which is viewed pretty unfavorably within starfleet as a "ship of war", created in response to the "borg threat". That even at the height of the war with the dominion its the only one of its kind, discounting the "valiant". War takes its toll on enlightenment though and perceptions of the defiant shift quite dramatically though not enough to commission more of them.

basically, its very reasonable that the TR 116 was not used, regardless of situation.

as far as the vulcan issue there is a strong argument to be made that this is realism, not revisionism. Vulcans are physically and mentally superior to humans. arrogance is not an emotion it is a conclusion of logic. Logic as stated frequently in the commentary can be used to justify almost anything, including superiority of logical beings. They use logic to restrain an underlying violent and highly emotional psyche , to deny who they are at the core. All of the series depict them as a superior race that has reached THEIR peak, in part because of this compromise. They are a stagnant civilization , they are not particularly adaptive. Reliance on logic alone has to some extent assured this. the flaws of the vulcans, like all god like figures, become more apparent as their "children" surpass or outgrow them. This is perhaps most strongly portrayed in ENT as the children seek to step out from the "benevolent" shadow of the "parents". While this is a simplification, it is also reasonable justification for a greater depiction of limitations and even flaws of the "highly evolved" vulcans. Tempering emotion with logic is a great concept, one that should be striven for in our own development, however logic not tempered by emotion is not an evolutionary path to aspire to. one of the themes that runs through ENT, DS9 and VOY is that moderation/acceptance of emotion rather than near complete suppression of emotions is path out of stagnation for vulcans.

of course thats just my meandering thoughts on the topic
Set Bookmark
Scott Eltringham
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Reading all these very knowledgeable Star Trek fans comments,I think this series should be stopped now! No second series. I agree that this story is a mess. The federation are not acting like our federation we have known and loved for 40 years. The Klingons are not the Klingons we hate/love/respect. (no way would they have walked away from destroying the federation if they were that close to achieving that at time of war) The liberties these writers have made running rough shod over star trek history is un-forgivable. It's reminding me how I felt after the last episode of Lost....betrayed. Time wasted. Dont mess with the star trek universe any more. Stop!
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Was anyone else really bothered that when Data and Geordi were testing the phaser rifle that they took it to main engineering just mere feet from the warp core? If I needed a shooting range on the Enterprise I would NOT make one right in front of the thing that can blow the whole ship up.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 11:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Jammer, THANK YOU for rocking out both Discovery and The Orville. I really enjoy reading your reviews.

I'm writing this after watching the first four episodes, and so far "Context is King" is my favorite. A new Star Trek TV series is exciting, and there's a lot to adjust to. I don't get why they didn't just put the series 20 years after TNG, it would have explained a lot of the new look and feel, but I'm willing to give them a lot of leeway. I don't expect a TOS prequel to look like TOS. Klingons don't have to look like TOS or TNG Klingons and I'll give them some space there for having Star Trek be "fresh" and modern.

I don't like that I have to buy a streaming service. As of right now I plan to keep up-to-date with Season 1, but if there is a Season 2 I will consider just getting the streaming service when ALL the episodes are out and binge it.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I thought this episode was great. I've probably seen it a few times, but watching it in 2017 was the first time that I picked up that the alien Riker nailed was Lilith from Fraser. I really liked that they didn't end it all clean. Basically, they failed their mission by f-ing up first contact, but came to an understanding and planted the seeds for a better future, but an imperfect now.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I enjoyed the episode but I have one burning, glaring issue with the plot...

So they manipulated the computer's time by 24 hours to cover for the "missing day" - but what the hell happens when they pull up to the next Starbase and start arguing over whether it's Tuesday or Wednesday?
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I thought Worf should have proclaimed that he took over the Enterprise through battle and forced the crew to submit to him and was now using it for the glory of the empire.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 8:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

By reading all these negative comments, I guess I'm not as hardcore of a Trek fan as I once thought. I'm not that deeply aware of Trek cannon and convention, as some are. I found myself fairly emotionally engaged by this episode. I think the core point was to explore a "primitive" society's reaction to first contact. I could certainly feel their bewilderment and fear. And yes, it makes sense that they'll fall back on whatever cultural mythologies that they happen to have when encountering as unknown as a star-ship. By our 21st century eyes, the cultures of 100+ years ago do look primitive and silly. I also bet our 21st century ways will look equally primitive to those who come around after another 100 years or so.

After reading comments about all these faults regarding the plot inconsistencies, I guess I can see them. But interestingly, none of them occurred to me at the moment I was watching. Ok, maybe the Doc being hypnotized by the watch was weak - but it was also funny enough I didn't get bothered by it. So if none of these criticisms surfaced for me at the moment, I would rate the episode at least 3 of 4 stars. My favorite moment was when Janeway's boyfriend shows up on the bridge, and she's got some explaining to do. Given their emotional bond, she and he were really the only hope for a bridge to form between the two conflicting sides. Yes, Star Trek gets a little predictable by frequently making cheesy appeals to rationality, humanity, and good will to resolve conflicts. But that's been true since Jim Kirk and Mr. Spock first set sail back in the 1960s.

Forgive me, but isn't that sentiment a major part of the whole attraction of the entire Trek series? We all have to deal with a world every day that's too much full of irrationality and crap. I suspect that a major part of its fan base depends on a Star Trek that is consistently a world in which good will, rationality, humanity, and non-religious morality wins the day most of the time.

Most of us aren't creators of literature - we're consumers of it. I suppose if I wrote or thought about stories for a living - all day, every day - I'd have similar reactions as many on this board. But I suspect for most of us, there isn't any harm in some technically less-than-stellar plot lines, if we don't have to work too hard to suspend belief, and can still become emotionally connected to the story.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

What breaks this episode for me is that Bashir would go from reanimating his coma patient on day 0, to putting the moves on her on day 2, that makes no sense. It's repulsive that his character couldn't control himself.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 9:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I enjoyed the episode, but did so while rolling my eyes.

I had major issues with the following plot points:
- Data can get "drunk" and hyposprays can fix it
- They never initiated a ship-wide quarantine to stop the spread
- Data obviously could have put all the chips back in. They kept cutting back to him and he seemed to be putting the same ones in
- The sun explodes and expels a single "sun chunk" that happens to be going straight at the Enterprise? Pleaaaase.
- They had to do the fancy tractor beam reversal, why? Just use the normal tractor beam to move the other ship in the way of the "sun chunk"
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.