Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 272 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Just watched this this evening. I admit I do like the episode. Worf sometimes bored me with all his Klingon honour blah blah. But seeing him with his human "brother", I enjoyed the sparring dynamic between the two.

This episode also gives me yet another reason to not like Picard. He rails at Nikolai throughout the episode, yet at the end says "Our plan worked". Oh right, take credit once its been shown to work. Shut up, Picard!
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

As Spock might say (Tuvok never struck me as a particularly wise Vulcan, and besides, he's a security officer):

"What humans refer to as a soul has never been observed, therefore it would be logical to assume it does not exist"
Set Bookmark
Sam Dracula
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I found this episode having a lot of potential but instead of focusing more on the antagonist, we have the Montgomery Scott turns into an obnoxious pussy. I’d still give 2 stars but after watching it tonight, I’m hoping Mr Scott gets stuck in a Jeffries tube.
Sometimes, I think the writers were high and decided to cut corners out of laziness
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Funny how we never heard about this "quantum stasis field generator" again...it would have come in handy at many points during the Dominion War.

or in The Way Of The Warrior.

or in Homefornt/Paradise Lost.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, May 8, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Did anybody else think it was funny when Data pushed Dr Crusher into the water or is it just me?
Set Bookmark
Sam
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

What the hell ?
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

@nolan. I meant he was dismissed as far as the story goes...and they did it as a gag that he was really Jack London...similar time gags in other time travel shows where some character of low station reveals his name in “and now you know the rest of the story...” way. After building up the relationship, I can’t recall that Data and the bell-hop had any interaction at all in part II.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

I agree with @Zazen. One of the things positive aspects of TOS was meeting strange new life forms. These subspace aliens were a cool concept. Part of me thought ther was a decent chance that Geordi might be vindicated, so the suspense factor was there as well. I also enjoyed the Data and Geordi bromance this episode. Overall this was an enjoyable and very worthy episode.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

This one is a classic IMHO. Four stars all the way.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Riker takes over command of the enterprise and within five minutes they are taken over by a handful of Ferengis. In the later seasons he really is kind of a screw-up.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I both love and hate the Twain character. He is annoying, but there is something I like about him. He provides a foil and comic relief.

The bell hop was built up in part 1 as potentially significant, only to be summarily dismissed in part . I thought this was a failing as I thought his relationship with Data was interesting.

In many ways this had the feel of a Doctor Who episode...Doctor goes into the past to stop sone evil aliens from killing people, while dealing with a populace that does not understand aliens and time travel...throw in a few timey wimey things and there you go.

Overall this is a strong and enjoyable effort. I would say that it is more than merely competent, it is really solid and entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

The Unification two parter, on the whole, was very disappointing. For all of the alleged intrigue, the plot just boiled down to Pardek cat fishing Spock for 80 years for some comic book level planetary invasion plot. It was really quite a simple story dragged out over two episodes to capitalize on the appearance of Nimoy. There were some decent scenes, but, as a whole, it just drags for me. One change that might have helped a little would be if they had brought back the Romulan commander from “The Enterprise Incident” in place of Pardek. After a fantastic season four, I feel like season five was really scuffling at this point with some really mediocre material.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I dont know why so many people seem to like this episode. Boggles my mind. There was so much hype. I was so excited to see Troi and Riker. I feel so let down. This show really is terrible and has no rewatch value. It's depressing and miserable. Why do we need the dead son story? Ugh. And Hugh dying for no reason was ridiculous. So much senseless violence. None of the characters have any likeability. Too many mindless action scenes and not enough heard. There is nothing to be learned and no real substance here.The writers of this show are awful. This is just terrible TV and comes nothing close the amazing Star trek we know. For shame
Set Bookmark
sam
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I just had to comment and say that your review is so accurate Jammer. I agree so much with what you said. I really respect your perspective because I have been reading your reviews for years and know how much you love Star Trek. I felt such a gut punch from the opening scene and still haven't recovered. This isn't Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Tue, Jan 28, 2020, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

This discussion shows that it's easy to get caught up in the utopia as a given but not really consider the hard work and principled stances all the show's captains had to take to make it a utopia. Someone mentioned Star Trek VI above - an excellent example of Kirk *overcoming* his bias towards Klingons. The work Kirk takes to get over his human bigotry can inspire people in our time who might be in Kirk's shoes right now. If Kirk just started out as an "I love all and accept all aliens" type of character because he lives in a utopia, there'd be no Trek message left to give.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Nov 5, 2019, 4:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I actually sympathised a lot with the aliens... but is Borg genocide justified? According to Picard in I, Borg: no, it's not. But if you witness your quadrant slowly and relentlessly eaten out by the Borg... well, I thought about it a lot!
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Oct 27, 2019, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this episode for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was surprised at the identity of the saboteur, too. All that said, all of Jammer's critiques are valid. This isn't great drama and has a lot of holes. But I did have a good time with it all the same.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Regardless of how people feel about this episode (it was just on TV today), I kind of wished the crew managed to get the time capsule off safely and that Voyager, upon arriving at the spot where they found only odd debris, did find that capsule. Seeing them find out that the duplicate ship and crew managed to leave their home world and experience adventures different from our crew and ship would have been interesting to me.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I thoroughly enjoyed "Muse". I liked watching the play within a play, and how Kelis used the Flyer's records to write his plays. (Why is some of that information in the records anyway?) Kim's part may have been unnecessary, but seeing B'Lanna happily greet him by name made me think back to when she was calling him "starfleet". Quite a change after all they've been through as one crew. And the fact that B'Lanna found the kissing extraneous, when it was she who wanted more romance in Tuvok's holonovel from "Worst Case Scenario". And Kelis' last lines, talking about Earth as a place where hate had no home, almost moved me to tears, wishing it were so. Sometimes Trek writers really know how to touch my heart, schmaltzy as it is.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I guess I'm one of a few people who believe time is made up of many lanes on a vast freeway. If the Defiant crew went back to their own time, why couldn't the colony still exist in a lane of their own, while the DS9 crew headed back to their own lane. I just don't think that once matter is created, it can be so easily dispatched. It will always exist, somewhere.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Sat, Sep 21, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

These people just lost their god, yet laugh at the end as if strangers killing your god is no big deal.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Great fun little episode. I don't know why everyone is so hard on Lwaxana, she is funny and looks amazing especially for her age. I first saw this episode when I was about 5 or 6 way back when it first aired. I always loved the fun costumes when I was a kid and the alien makeup. Troi was my fave ( Now as an adult I tend to like Picard, Data or Bev) I loved Troi's outfits and hair and had the action figure. There were not many great female role models for kids my age.
I tend to like the comedy or the romance episodes a lot. I enjoyed them as a child, so it brings me back to that innocent time in my life.
Set Bookmark
Sam Mickle
Sat, Jun 15, 2019, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Everyone is thinking way too hard about this episode. It was about the most simple issue that everyone seems to overlook in this episode. Penis size. Don't believe me? ok think about this. Odan must have had THE BIG ONE. So he dies right and the host swap out happens. Then oh look Riker is the new host. Well guess what? Bev is his doctor so guess what she knows? That's right his peepee size. And then at the end of the episode that lady doesn't have one at all. Bet that makes you think huh.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I watched this episode when it first aired, I was probably about 6 years old. I really have a soft spot for this episode. It really creeped me out, and it is just an all around fun episode. I am probably in the minority but I really love when Star trek does horror. Some of my favorite scenes from Star trek: In Identity crisis, geordi is recreating the scene of the holodeck, and he discovers a shadow in the scence. Another is the scene I believe in phantasms where Beverly is in the morgue and the corpses are covered in sheets and sit upright. I also love the episode Sub Rosa. Great atmosphere. Genesis was a lot of fun as well, It was a dumb episode but it was fun and creepy to see the ship in such a disarray.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, May 13, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

@Jason R. I completely agree and always found it odd that this episode even had a lukewarm reception among fans, when nothing that happens in it makes even the most minimal amount of sense. Even as a little kid, I always found this episode completely ludicrous on every level. The slow and repetitive execution stops it from even being goofy/campy fun.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.