Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25,381 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,016
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 1:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I don't disagree with what Peter or anyone has said about Farrell specifically but for me there is this admittedly subjective feeling that everything she says is somehow flat and contrived. It feels like she is barely above reading her lines. I can't describe the feeling more than that. I don't get that same vibe from anyone else in the main cast.
Set Bookmark
InSaNe
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 1:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

I can't believe it's 2021, and people are still talking about voyager. I do love this show :)
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 8:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Another 3 out of 4 for me. Jeffrey Combs as the evil computer was worth the admission alone this week.!

I think last week was the worst episode of season 2 for me, though that was a 2.5. This week we had a lot more great character work.
Set Bookmark
Starfleet Acting Academy
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

Look. Avery Brooks is an incredible actor. Not blinking is page one in Michael Caine's "acting for film" text book. This episode is trying hard to call back to the weird gothic romance vibes of TOS, and it obviously brings along some pretty icky gender politics. I can't defend that, but I also can't condemn an episode which gives Sisko so many beautiful moments to brood, smile, flirt and giggle. Brooks rules/stuff it, haters.

PS. Kiley's dumb.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Great review Jammer.

I REALLY enjoyed this episode. Mariner and Boimler teamed up again and suck-up Billups of all characters getting his time on screen.

I can't believe there are Trekkies out there that don't immediately recognize Jeffrey Combs' voice. lol It's such a huge part of Trek lore and behind 2 of Trek's more memorable secondary characters. As soon as I heard it my excitement level for this episode doubled.

We start off with Boimler getting reassigned from a task he was really excited about to the blah assignment of delivering an evil computer (Agimus) to the Daystrom Institute for study. I suspected Mariner would have something to do with it.

Then we meet Queen Palana (Billups). A missed opportunity here IMO. Suzie Plakson's voice and inflections would have been just perfect for the queen. We learn that suck-up Billups is heir to a thrown?!?? haha... leave it to LD to come up with something like this. Of course, it gets even whackier when we find out all he has to do to become king is to lose his virginity and his mother is hell-bent that her son will inherit the throne. She reports her engines have failed and her folks can't fix them. An obvious ploy to require the services of her favorite engineer. It appears most everyone on Cerritos knows what's going on.

Nice to see we haven't forgotten some classic trek tropes... shuttle mission gone awry, crash landing on a planet without seat belts, the planet just happens to have a breathable atmosphere... and just like in regular trek, it doesn't matter. lol

Mariner pops her shoulder back in and of course, Boimler can't watch, again.

My scan indicates you could lose a couple of pounds anyway... lol Nice reference to TNG's Times Arrow by mentioning Data's head.

Boimler finds out that Mariner got him reassigned and he's furious.

Billups and Rutherford figure out what's wrong with the engines and the Queen seems to respect her son for his engineering prowess. Capt Freeman summons Billups back to Cerritos trying to help her engineer out figuring his mother would have been up to her old tricks and BOOM! A huge explosion on the Monadean(?)
Billups can't figure out why the engine exploded and the Queen is dead. Dr. T'Ana informs Tendi that Rutherford was a casualty of the explosion. While I knew this was going to be a ruse to get Billups on the throne, I actually felt for Tendi here.

Billups resigns his commission to tend to his royal copulation duties. Tendi searches for a weak Rutherford signal and ends up finding him having a feast with the Queen. He rushes to warn Billups that this is all a trick and prevents the ascension to the throne. "Did his kingdom come?" lol

Back on the planet, Boimler gets in a scuffle with Mariner and actually stuns her all to get Agimus from her so he can get them off the planet. Boimler gives in and plugs Agimus into the console and we are treated to Jeffrey Combs hamming it up and getting all-powerful only to learn that he's been "Boimed" haha... he was only plugged into the lighting panel and wasn't able to take over anything all while Boimler was able to send out a distress signal. Mariner is impressed with Boimler's plan and how he executed it.

Tons of funny lines in this one.

Tendi/Rutherford, Mariner/Boimler... back to the old combos that have worked so well. Combs was perfect. The pace was nice and we got a couple of stories that did some character building along the way. As always, all in good fun.

Suzie Plakson I'm tellin ya... 3.5 stars from me.

Did we see the MK5 stored away at the Daystome Institute at the end?
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 2:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I don’t know why people are bothered by Ferrell’s acting. She plays the role they created for her, a “wise beyond her years” literally young woman who lived lifetimes before. She behaves as she should and has the right amount of feminine aspect for Jadzia being a new woman as a new person.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 12:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

@Tidd

Well, of course, Alexander is probably not much like "real" Klingon kids. Not only is he genetically part human, he has been raised in more humanlike settings his whole life, first with his mother, then with his grandparents. On the Enterprise, he is on a Federation ship with a mostly human crew. Even Worf has not lived among Klingons since he himself was a young child. He is really only guessing at what "Klingon children" are supposed to be like.

SPOILER ALERT FOR ANYONE WHO HASN'T WATCHED DS9:

I have always been frustrated with what the writers did with Worf and Alexander in DS9. TNG had shown us a Worf who was deeply honorable, and who had grown in his appreciation of the human part of his experience. We had been shown a relationship with Alexander that started off rocky because Worf was projecting onto Alexander his own desire to be 100% Klingon despite having barely experienced Klingon culture, but we had also been shown that relationship growing through a lot of effort not only by Worf and young Alexander, but also by Alexander's schoolteachers, the ship's counselor, and the adult Alexander from a possible future. Worf had given Alexander permission to lay down his bat'leth and find his own future.

Then in DS9, we were told essentially that sometime after we stopped seeing him, Worf abandoned Alexander, who ended up embittered and ill-prepared for the Klingon life he for some reason decided he wanted. Yes, it's true that the optimistic peacetime universe of TNG made it easier for a young Klingon to contemplate a non-warrior's life than the dark days of DS9's Dominion War, but that, too, was a decision of the writers that I did not care for. Even in the face of war, I would have preferred not to see Worf lose practically all the personal growth that had been his character's arc throughout TNG, and to lose his improved relationship with Alexander as if all that growth had never happened.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Watching this episode after the Coronavirus pandemic has made me see this episode in a new light. I laughed when Kira said to the scientist they were taking back that since she’s infected with the virus he is too. Lots of quarantine but no masks.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

I didn't catch that the computer was Jeffrey Combs until the credits either. I knew it was a familiar voice but I thought it was Thomas Lennon. I also thought Billup's mom sounded very familiar, but I didn't recognize any of the other names at the end.

I liked the phaser rifle joke (this one takes TWO hands!) and I found the concept of where Billups comes from to be really funny, but the jokes they made from it were only mildly funny.

Not bad; not great.
Set Bookmark
Barristan
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 11:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Jammer is far kinder to this film than I am, haha. Rarely if ever have I seen so much money spent on a script so terrible. I can't imagine a worse finale to the Star Wars saga.

They should have planned out where the whole trilogy was heading before making Episode VII. And by "they," I mean completely different, actually competent writers.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 10:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

On this watching, I found myself recalling Beverly Crusher's comment in "Remember Me":

"If there's nothing wrong with me, maybe there's something wrong with the universe."

This episode offered a very different answer to that question:

"No, it's you."
Set Bookmark
Trish
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 9:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

The other thing that strikes me as I think about both of these episodes together, TNG's "Suddenly Human" and DS9's "Cardassians," is how UNlike the story of Solomon's judgment they are.

For anyone who did not grow up with Bible stories, Solomon is said to have been the wisest king in all of history, and his wisdom is illustrated by his handling of a case when two women came before him with one baby, each woman claiming that she was the baby's mother and the other woman was trying to steal the child because her own had died. With no concrete evidence to determine the truth, Solomon called for his servant to bring him a sword and declared that he would cut the child in two so each woman could have half to bury. One woman said, "That' fair," but the other said, "No, give the child to her. I give up my claim." Solomon pointed to the woman who had surrendered her claim and declared, "That is the true mother. Give the child to her."

Maybe the writers thought it would be too obvious to retell such a classic tale. But it comes across like a very sad situation for the boy that the two fathers (as I recall, we are given no hint of what the mothers would have thought) never say, "I don't want to put my son into the middle of a tug of war. Enough people have already been hurt by war between Bajorans and Cardassians. Let him go with the other man, who can give him something I cannot." That man, whether the line would have been given to the Bajoran or the Cardassian, would have been the "real" father. In a sense, Rugal ends the episode truly an orphan.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 7:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Some of the surprise in the ending of this episode was, for me, because it was the opposite of the surprise ending in TNG's "Suddenly Human," in which Picard, after spending almost the entire episode trying to "reawaken" the boy's humanity, sends him back to his adoptive father and his (frankly disgusting) adoptive culture. I felt a flare-up of my Star Trek Moral of the Story Whiplash Syndrome.

I tried to think of what makes the situations so different, but all I can come up with is "One decision is made by Picard, the other by Sisko." And maybe that's what it's all about, that each is showing us what kind of person the leading character is. I know in real life, children's fate is often determined by the luck of the draw of which government employee happens to be deciding their case. One goes back to the only parents they have known, while another goes "home" to a stranger.

I know some will say that Jono (the boy in TNG) hadn't been taught to hate his humanity the way Rugel was taught to hate being Cardassian, but Jono had certaintly been taught that his adoptive people were superior to all others, and therefore by implication that humans were inferior, that only his association with his adopted people spared him that inferiority. In both cases, there were loving birth relatives and loving adoptive relatives who wanted the child back.

Is it really so, well, wrong for Rugel to be ashamed of being Cardassian? In-universe, the Cardassians are portrayed as having done much to be ashamed of, despite the fact that most Cardassians who WEREN'T raised by Bajorans have no shame for most of it. Maybe sometimes a little shame is not pathological self-hatred, but just facing reality.
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Barge of the Dead. Initially I was taken out to sea on it , largely because I started watching it after midnight. I was tired, missed 25 percent of the scenes, nodded off, then awoke to see the final scene.

Then I read the reviews, Jammer's first, then everybody else's. Never been a huge fan of Klingon episodes. Liked Worf in TNG; loathed him in much of DS9. I like B'Elanna and always look forward to Roxann Dawson's contributions, but my bias against Klingon bombast is pretty hard to shut down.

So, as I read the reviews, I agreed with many of the so-called dissenters, based on my 'half-out-of-it' impressions of the scenes. THEN I watched the episode when actually awake. Changed my mind.

Final assessment: it's a powerful episode, very Beowulfian. The scenes with B'Elanna and Janeway are just too emotionally overwhelming to ignore. Will watch it again with much interest. I need that lump in the throat from time-to-time. 4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

"I was pretty mad that the film so thoroughly caved to toxic bigoted fans, "

Just for my curiosity, what aspect of the story do you feel "caves" to bigots?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I just think Jammer's apologetics for this mess are misplaced. The Mandalorian (to use a pertinent example) was hardly original and borrowed heavily from numerous cliches. Yet it made sense, it was well crafted, and it worked so most fans loved it.

The entire new trilogy was an exercise in recycling old ideas *badly* with emphasis on the latter. And it's the total incompetence of the writing that bears special mention here. I know I know, logic, continuity, consistency all silly nerd stuff we just need PEW PEW PEW to have a great movie except you really really don't and those things are really really really important.

When someone says "this makes no sense when you think about it BUT" you need to stop right there because there's no BUT. And when an entire trilogy is made of entire mountains of this gibberish, there's just no defence. Ditto for the "well yes there are plot threads that go nowhere BUT"

The Chrohnek : Yes Abrams has a problem with endings. Just like I'd have a problem winning my cases in court if I walked in with no plan, no agenda, no case references and winged it every time.

The failure of ROS is not merely some unhappy stumble or co-incidence - it was by design, or rather total lack thereof. It was as predictable as it was inevitable.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 12:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Peter, that is really the only logical conclusion. What is the alternative? That he just mashed the control pad to the time ship and randomly appeared in the 24th century on the bridge of the Federation flagship? Of all the gin joints...

In Enterprise we see that Daniels, who is basically the counterpart of whoever Max Headroom stole the time ship from, had a data pad with Wikipedia entries on pretty much everything about Federation history. You could put all this data on a single USB key or portable hard drive today, to say nothing of whatever hard drive a 29th century time ship has.

Max obviously knew something about the Enterprise, probably from the original time ship captain's own mission logs. The Enterprise was probably even a destination on his itinerary before he lost his ship.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

You can tell this was meant for Robin Williams by how Rasmussen's lines are so repetitive and lightly written. Basically "crewman X! Some cutesy remark about X! Ooh, wait, ominousness..."

Over and over.

It was written like that because of Williams' great strength in crazy improvisation. He would, in effect, have rewritten all the lines.

Frewer couldn't do that (like the vast majority of actors) so the character gets tiring very quickly.
Set Bookmark
Jeffery's Tube
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 12:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I love this film. It's a snapshot of what Star Trek might have been. A way that Star Trek might have gone, and then didn't. And none of the other TOS films ever had this much money to spend again. This film had budget (and went way over it), and you can really see all those dollars on the screen. Oh, I know it isn't a good movie, per se. The first time anyone watches it, I can't imagine this being the movie they'd hoped it would be. The movie they'd hoped to see. But the second time. Or the third time. When you already know what it's going to be, and what it's not going to be. What then?

I don't think it can be argued this is a *good* film. But it has merit. And I love it anyway. I do.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 10:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@Tidd
@Karen
@Top Hat

I have not seen this one in a few months at least, but my recollection is very like Top Hat's, that Rasmussen is just doing what conmen do best: giving people just enough vague input to encourage them to fill in the details. It's like fake psychics who do "cold reading."

("I'm seeing an old man, some connection with the Z … Oh, you say your Uncle Donald worked in a zipper factory? Yes, that's what the Z is about. And did Uncle Donald, at the end of his life, have trouble with his heart, something drawn out and painful? You say he got divorced shortly before he was hit by a bus while running a marathon? Yes, the heartbreak of his divorce is what the problem was …")

For example, I don't think there's any indication that he knew the size of Picard's office before seeing it, such as saying BEFORE entering it that he can't wait to see if it's really X feet wide or Y feet. When he walks into the room, he starts talking about a debate between historians of his time, but he's making that up on the fly.

The writers are conning first-time viewers as much as he's conning the Enterprise crew.
Set Bookmark
Silly
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Gorn, have you seen "The Vast of Night", 2019?

Not but budget or A listers, but a slllooooowwwwwww pace.

The IMDb user reviews are about as polar as I've ever seen. But at a minimum, it does seem there are a lot of people who would like to see more old style pacing.

I personally didn't like it at all. Extremely long takes and scenes, sometimes in just a profile. Longer than you will believe. It would have been better as a radio story, so little actually happens.


It's based around a radio host when people start calling about UFOs. I thought I would really like this because I used to listen to Art Bell's Coast to Coast radio program where they would have callers on this type stuff.

I was sure it was 99% BS, but it could really get the imagination going sometimes, listening to these callers on my radio driving around at 1AM. It was like sharing secrets in a tiny club. The title of the movie absolutely conveys that feeling.

But the movie doesn't, at least not to me.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I guess I shouldn't be surprised by Jammer's exceedingly generous review.
Set Bookmark
Patrick Wise
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 4:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

After many years and views, I just noticed an inconsistency that I've not seen anyone mention: After the violin duet scene, Data goes to see Dr. Crusher and is still carrying his violin, leading one to believe that this takes place relatively soon after the duet. Then, when he's called to the transporter room "immediately", he not only had time to drop off the violin, but he and Dr. Tainer (sp?) arrive in the transporter room together and her hair is now not only pulled up, but fully braided in the back, despite it being mostly down in the duet scene. I then noticed as they beam down that she's wearing boots with a very high, thin heel, which would be a bad thing to wear in a cavern undergoing quakes. Added to this, when they materialize in the cavern, she is then wearing flat soled boots; apparently the transporter chief must have noticed and changed them for her mid-transport, right? I'm not usually a continuity buff, but this one cracked me up.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 2:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

2.5 stars? Man, Jammer is a tough crowd.

I found this episode delightful. The Pakleds' idiocy never fails to make me laugh, which I think is where the breakdown happens between people who like this stuff and people who don't: if you find this stuff funny, you don't care if it's obvious or not.
Set Bookmark
Geoff Hudson
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 9:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

I was glad to find this site. And impressed to see comments spanning so long a time. I watched BSG back when it was first coming out. Having been a fan of the original as a kid, I was just blown away by the direction they took with this new incarnation.
I’m now having a rewatch of the series after all these years and having a good time with it. It’s been interesting to see how it feels now compared to back then. I do remember there being a point in the original viewing where it felt like something started feeling “off” and never came back. For me it seemed like the more we were taken behind the curtain with the Cylons, the more revealed about their “plan,” things became more confusing yet less interesting.
One thing I really used to enjoy was visiting the reviews on The Onion’s TV club and reading the thoughts in the comments from other viewers. That no longer seems to be online so like I said I was happy to find this place and see all the comments people are leaving here for the episodes, as I work my way through the show again. So thanks for the good episode reviews and thanks everybody leaving comments!
Next ►Page 1 of 1,016
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.