Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,982 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 80
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, May 1, 2021, 1:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

In this one, Spock uses the mind meld to restore Kirk’s memory. In Requiem, he uses it to remove the pain of Kirk’s lost love for the android, Rayna.

I totally do not come here randomly to read comments for TOS episodes. :-)
Set Bookmark
Jon from Rhode Island
Mon, Mar 15, 2021, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Litmus

On my first watch now (thanks Peacock) and the tribunal scene rubbed me the wrong way. Either the proceeding is legitimate or it’s not. If it is, Adama shutting the thing down is basically a coup d’etat against civilian rule. If it’s not, then as someone mentioned above, his junior officer can’t be guilty of perjury. Picard never would have made an MP choose between following his orders or that of a civilian tribunal. He would have gone to the brig on principle.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I agree with The Queen that the original trilogy is a bit quaint, but most of it holds up really well (I reread it about two years ago and enjoyed it immensely). Asimov had a eidetic memory and his books are extremely consistent in both terms of science and storytelling. Anyway, @Midshipman Norris you should definitely read it before Apple releases the TV Series because the show looks, how do I put this diplomatically... underwhelming? Plus, the books are ~250 pages which makes them a very light read.

If you want like a small taste of his robot books I'd also recommend the short story "Bicentennial Man" as well.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Is there any chance of seeing some reviews of the old 70s cartoon series?"

I mean, if he's not going to review a current animated Trek series that could get him hundreds of thousands more hits, what are the chances he'd review TAS? I came to the conclusion that Jammer doesn't really like comedies in general, or he doesn't like reviewing them. He even got a little peeved when he had to review the funny episodes of DS9. :-)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MidshipmanNorris

"Discovery has a logistical problem that I don't think I've thought about up until now. It is trying to be more serialized, in less time per season, than previous Trek shows had to be. Doesn't anyone else see why that would be a bad idea? You are basically forced to boil down the plot to a "Digest Version" of what would constitute an actual story. I don't want to watch a show written like it's the Cliff Notes. I want to see the story."

There's nothing inherently wrong with a serialized model. It's been around for ages, it's only relatively new to Star Trek. Serialized shows can also be very episodic while spending only a small amount of time on the larger seasonal story per episode. DS9 operates on a seasonal plotline that is addressed intermittently throughout otherwise episodic content.

This season actually shifted more towards being episodic and less on the series mystery compared to prior seasons. However, all this means nothing if the writers can't make a good episodic *or* serialized story. Unlike other successful shows I've watched, Discovery relies way too much on gimmicks to make one keep watching, Mysteries are rarely explained or if they are explained it's in a one-minute scene at the end of the episode which only makes it feel perfunctory.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

That Jammer's wife enjoyed this says it all to me. There's a demographic CBS is catering to and it may not be us but it's working for them, I guess.

I really do hope that the showrunners get wind of the negative feedback for this season and make some serious changes to improve the writing. After all, I think whether we hate or like the show a little, ideally we'd all want to see a more successful and stimulating Star Trek show on the air, right?

On another note, CBS All Access has been glitched for a couple days and wouldn't let me cancel my subscription. It's probably an amazing coincidence but the timing is still pretty amusing...
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@Mal

Just to be clear, I wasn't trying to weigh one way or another on which episode is better. If you look into the numbers like William B pointed out above, there's significant flaws in the data from one series to another. It's interesting that the IMDb list comes out that way, certainly, but we should take the list with a huge amount of salt.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@William B

Yeah, I think there's some use to the metric of popularity when considering a definitive episode, We may even have to go back a bit further and agree what a definitive episode is. For example "In The Pale Moonlight" is unquestionably a popular and amazing episode of DS9 but is it definitive? If you think about it, it's an atypical entry in the series. Contrary to what Sisko's haters may believe, he isn't usually engaged in subterfuge and shrugging off his morals to win a war. The episode depicts Sisko's actions as a very extreme instance in the series that notably troubled the character deeply.

"I think the cross-series IMDb ratings are only so useful, because I think you get into weird effects"

Another funny example from the list is "Trials and Tribulations" from DS9 being in top 10 but "The Trouble With Tribbles" barely makes top 30. Either there's a disproportionate number of DS9 fans on IMDb, or "The Trouble With Tribbles" has fallen off hard with Trek fans. That people would like Trials and Tribulations but not the original TOS episode seems more than a bit suspect though.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@Paul M.

For TNG, I think one could make a really strong argument for "All Good Things..." being a series-defining episode. You've got all the TNG eras working together with their particular quirks, the lovable Q being both ominous and thought-provoking, and then of course the "if the Enterprise D crew puts their mind on it, they can fix any problem" situation which defined the show.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 11:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@William B, Rahul, Mal

My problem with these types of conglomerated review lists from IMDB and the like is that we're bound to get a result that substitutes quality for popularity. One thing to consider is whether an episode's popularity really is an indicator of quality or if there's some overlooked gem in all these series that hasn't hit mainstream popularity yet. Like sure, City on The Edge of Forever and Mirror, Mirror are obviously the most popular TOS episodes, but are they the best? That's not so clear cut.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jammer

Yeah sorry, I was misremembering a comment you made though I knew you were extremely crunched for time when writing the TOS reviews. Just for posterity (and because we’re on the subject) I’ll repost what you wrote:

“The TOS reviews were very much a product of the specific circumstances under which they were written. It was the fall of 1998, which was my last semester of college before graduating that December. The Sci-Fi Channel (later SciFi; now Syfy) aired all of TOS in order five days a week, along with special interviews with the writers and cast. For me, it was a good opportunity to expand the coverage of this site -- and I didn't know when I might have another chance. (Keep in mind that there were no binge-watching options like TV DVD box sets or Netflix yet.)

I settled on capsule reviews as a matter of that or nothing. Not only was I finishing school, I was reviewing both DS9 and Voyager weekly (in full-length mode) and working about 25 hours a week at the student newspaper. It's kind of amazing that the TOS reviews happened at all.

So, yes, brevity and a lack of depth were imposed upon the enterprise. Of everything on this site, it's probably hardest for me to go back and read those.”

I second Rahul’s suggestion you review TOS again, by the way. I do like your current reviews for what they are, but well, I wouldn’t mind hearing more of your thoughts on TOS. :-)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rahul

Jammer's TOS reviews are capsule reviews that were written hastily over a weekend so Jammer's site would have some reviews to read for a TOS marathon on Sci-Fi.

The TNG reviews on this site are also revised reviews redone after DS9 completed, I believe? Thus, they're written with a bit more perspective on what was good TNG or not. I remember reading that Jammer originally rated TNG much higher. The rest of the Trek reviews were made concurrently at the time of broadcast.

TL;DR - This is another reason why cross-series comparisons of Jammer stars aren't very informative or accurate.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Frank A. Booze

No arguments here. It's because the writers either only have a vague pop culture notion of TOS, or they refuse to make a deep TOS reference and alienate a young millennial demographic. The Kirk "no-win scenario" idea was brought up in Star Trek 2009 as well in the context that Kirk lost his father in a no-win scenario, so Kirk is motivated by the pain of that loss not to let such an event happen again. This episode doesn't even get that far; it's just a trailer soundbite for Burnham with no logical reference to the circumstances of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Yeah, I mean when Burnham is spouting lines like "I don't believe in no-win scenarios" it's pretty obvious the showrunners are trying to make her the black female James Kirk. If that doesn't appeal to you, you should back out now.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

It's funny reading the comments that say Burnham isn't qualified to be captain. In this show's universe, Michael has in chronological order:

1) Saved the multiverse(!)
2) Saved the Federation
3) Saved all biological life in the universe
4) Solved the universe's energy crisis

Forget captain, she's basically a demigod.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@William B

"Discovery also squandered Yeoh and Isaacs by sticking them with one dimensional MU crazies. They at least seem to kind of know that they have something special in Doug Jones though I haven't watched much of the show."

Those actors really did the best with what they we're given though. I've gone back and watched some of the MU episodes where Isaacs Face-Heel-Turns, and damn if he doesn't sell the Donald Trump persona ("Join me and Let's make the Empire Great Again!") the writers were going for. You can see by Jammer's reviews at the time he was really digging the Lorca character; a lot of us were.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Bob wrote:

"VOY wasn't available in my area when it was new, but I did manage to catch ENT. I gave up on ENT early in season two and I'm sure I would have done the same with VOY. Years later I finished both series, and while I don't love them, there are some good episodes in both series, imo."

Yeah, I eventually did go back (15 years later!) and watched Voyager episodes Jammer rated 3.5 or higher and there are some good ones. "Timeless" is probably one of my favorite Star Trek episodes. Anyway, that's probably what I'll end up doing with Discovery.

@Peter G.

That's a great comment and really gets to the heart of numeric quality being an inaccurate description of fiction. For example, I like the cast of DS9 so much that I can watch "Let He Who Is Without Sin..." and just have fun with it despite it being "zero stars". Conversely, I tried some of higher rated ST: ENT episodes and could hardly stomach them. There's a lot more that goes into a show than just structural elements that can be analyzed by critics.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Matthew

"And even when looking at seasons as a whole, as I said I'd rather have a season that had a few total stinkers but also a few 4 star gems, as opposed to one that flatlined with every episode being "just good.""

Right, but that's ultimately your opinion. I'm not sure how many 2 - 1.5 star episodes of Voyager I put up with before I quit the show. Maybe if on average the show were higher quality, I would've stuck with it.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Well, we either admit the stars are entirely subjective or our mathematical goal is subjective. A scale that only assess upper quartile episodes would ignore the lower quarter episodes we had to tolerate to get there.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Let's say Lower Decks has an average of a rating of 3 in season 2. It would mathematically be the best season of Star Trek. Do you not see the logical fallacy here?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I mean in terms of pure math, of course.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Matthew

A problem with that sort of barometer is that your conclusion can vary wildly by where you're setting the bar. For example, if a season of Star Trek got 3 stars consistently we could probably call it the most successful season in Star Trek history even if it never reached 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Rahul wrote:

"I'd say DSC's 2nd season was overall better than this 3rd season. A few too many weaker episodes in S3 and an overall arc that wasn't very compelling"

Yes, I'd say even season one was better. This season lacked both an interesting central mystery and good episodic content. The only thing praiseworthy about it is that it finally sets up a series reboot in an established universe for season 4.

On another note, did this season successfully break Trent? I haven't seen him since that Mirror Universe two-parter that (predictably) went down in flames.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

If you'd like to make a more intelligent rebuttal, I'd happily discuss it with you.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

There was an interview with Michael Chabon, I believe, back when Picard was airing and he said something like "Picard is slow-paced show that challenges the viewer on a philosophical level versus Discovery which is more of a space adventure show." The more I watch of this, the more realize how all the hokey action shlock is really part of Discovery's DNA and this season finale here is Exhibit A. Every moment in this episode is a tense, nerve-grinding beat the clock scenario where the characters often need to punch their way out of a problem. Admittedly, it's similar to the Abrams movies, but at least the Abrams movies were written with just the right level of thoughtful dialogue to make sense out of the high-octane and high-budget action that accompanied it.

Anyhow, I think I've made my opinion of this season clear in previous comments. I'll try to give some positive notes about this episode:

1. The last five minutes were some of the most thoughtful and I'm glad they finally realized Burnham's rightful place on this show was the captain's chair.

2. Everyone in new uniforms looked good! And on that I'm glad they're going to stick around in this time period and finally work on world building. Season 4 could be similar to DS9's season 4 or TNG's season 3 if you will. DSC has a long way to go before it can be considered anywhere near as good as those shows, though.

3. The Roddenberry quote was awesome and it's nice to know the writers at least give his philosophical views lip service even if they can't quite capture them in stories.

Tim C wrote:
"Georgiou actually had the best character development of the season... and was then written off the show."

I know! And it seems like the writers prefer to write Mirror Universe episodes anyway. I don't know why they didn't just make a show about it to begin with.
Next ►Page 1 of 80
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.