Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sat, Feb 6, 2010, 2:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Good point, Anthony. I'm sure that following around an Admiral who did his job competently and caused no problems for our main characters at all would be... let's just call it 'anti-climatic'.

Not to mention 'purposeless' to the main character's plot arc.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Aug 12, 2009, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I agree wholeheartedly Mike. The Nexus scenes could have had much more of a "punch" if we'd seen scenes with character we knew from our central character's pasts.

I was thinking for Kirk, they should have gone with Carol Marcus and David. Now, do to real life, they'd have to have different actors, but they could easily have shown the mother/son at a far younger age. Perhaps Kirk could have wanted to experience being there with his son as an infant.

Picard's is more challenging - I think. I feel like he's dealt with his Kataan experiences and the fact that they weren't his life. And, I agree - especially after his brother's and nephew's deaths - that family would be on his mind. I just don't agree with the way they were portrayed - especially the wife's character, who seemed hideously stereotypical and not someone you would think a 24th Century man would run around having fantasies about. I'm not sure there could be an appropriate callback - perhaps Vash, now a bit more settled, happily exploring with him some archeological site or another?

That would seem far more in character for Picard.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 10, 2009, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

I agree Will. I think Shatner's body of work will point to the fact that he tends to - uh - over-emote. But if he has a director who know exactly how he wants a scene played out and restrains him, then Bill can actually act without chewing the scenery too much.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Thu, Aug 21, 2008, 8:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Ah, the "evil admiral" cliche'....

Actually Leyton reminded me a lot of Admiral Norah Satie in 'The Drumhead'... the same "only I can save the Federation from itself" attitude when faced with a possible invasion.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Aug 13, 2008, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

Actually, I think this episode represents Kai Winn pretty well. If you consider all of 'her' episodes, I think you can see a clear character flaw within her: She is over-filled with personal pride.
This issue wasn't about the farm reclamators (or whatever the techno-babble name of them was), but was about the fact that the Province said 'no' to her.
I remember a line of hers (to Sisko, I believe) where she told Opaka that she would gladly look on the faces of God (the wormhole aliens) and the Kai told her to go to her room and meditate... 'And rightly so,' Winn states.
Unfortunately, the lesson appears to not have been learnt by her. Her self-pride continued to taint everything she tried to do until it finally leads to her death.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Aug 13, 2008, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

The real problem with this episode is the set-up. Like you, I just can't buy into the fact that this program wasn't discovered and/or deleted/overwritten by Starfleet protocols already. This is really a S1 story - when we are new to the station - that has come after this boat should have already sailed.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

This movie is okay, but it just doesn't thrill me while I'm watching it. I'm not sure what the problem is, except that by this point I was kind of sick of Data's development arc. Enough with the android, already!
It also felt like the scenes were just that... scenes that were being filmed and then put next to each other instead of serving a central story theme. It felt like bits and pieces on screen instead of one contiguous film.
The ease with which Picard shakes off the Nexus' influence after Enterprise-Guinan had built it up was anti-climatic and really... Picard's "wrapped in joy" fantasy life was really, really suckilicious. Especially galling was his 'wife'... this is what he wants in a life partner?! She was insipid.
Killing off Lursa and B'Etor was a huge mistake. They were a riotous pair of villains that could have done so much more on DS9 as recurring characters. Imagine the episode with Toral trying to get the Bat'leth of Kahless with the Duras sisters and tell me it wouldn't have been way more fun!
This movie was just a bit of a disappointment and the scene in Picard's office (lit only by the Amargosa star) was too darned dark.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Funny. There are several comments about Valeris' shaky motivation... I've never been bothered by it in the least. She's a gun-ho Starfleet Officer and 'everyone' knows that Klingons are untrustworthy... now the Federation is trying to cut the corp off at the knees instead of remaining strong... sounds a lot like current arguments of "soft on terrorism" diatribes to me.
My problem is how Valeris tells them that any ship to shore communications will be intercepted... from the ENTIRE Federation?! Kirk couldn't dispatch a signal to every planet, every colony with instructions to find a way to inform Starfleet Command and the civilian authorities in the Federation? Really?
Naturally I engage my 'suspension of disbelief' muscle and enjoy the ship-to-ship battle, instead. -grin-
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 8:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

I have to mention a disagreement with your review on this point: Necessary under the circumstances? Perhaps. But no one seems to acknowledge that it's wrong.

I find the reaction shots of Scotty and Uhura entirely telling... it may be necessary to get this information, but clearly they are both bothered, especially when it's obvious that Valeris is being is suffering pain by the forced meld.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I agree with levi... it is like a TOS episode blown out of proportion for the movie screen. In fact, it recalls "Who Mourns for Adonis" and really, the Enterprise meeting one 'god' was enough. Especially when you think of Trelane, the Thusians, the Metrons, etc. etc. there were too many options if they really wanted a script where the Enterprise had to face a 'greater power' that would have tied more closely to the series - did we really need another disembodied, all-powerful (except he can't kill 'The Kirk' of course) being... and does anyone else have a problem with the ship being able to make it to the center of the galaxy when it could barely leave spacedock?
Don't even get me started on how the script humiliates Scotty....
Finally, I agree with Jammer in that it yanks the characters (especially Kirk) backward in development from the things (again, especially Kirk) that they've faced with regards to their own mortality, their winding toward the end of their careers in space, the upcoming hotshots and new ways of doing things that they don't quite understand, etc. rather than building on these themes from the prior movies.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 7:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

I have a love-hate relationship with this movie. I think the ambivalence mostly comes from the hang-over of feeling betrayed when Spock was magically resurrected. After sitting in a theatre and crying that he died, it really struck me as a slap in the face that he'd be brought back (especially as himself... maybe if they'd rescued a young Spock from the Genesis planet it would have felt less 'Conveeeenient').
With time, I've been able to appreciate the movie divorced from those feelings however. I still find the movie somewhat lacking in emotional involvement (David was too new a character for us to be wrapped up in and the death of Enterprise, while powerful, is still about a ship and not a person), I find much about it to enjoy. Number One among the good things is Lloyd's Kruge. He's an enjoyably hiss-able villain.
And I think I'm in the minority, but I like Curtis' restrained Vulcan far more than Alley's weepy one.
I also like Shatner's performance when he finds out David is dead. You can tell he's taken a cruel hit, but he also responds as a Starfleet officer by quickly pushing his sorrow (and guilt?) away to focus on rescuing the other hostages and getting away alive.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 6:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

When I first saw this, it was a special treat from my dad, who took me. As Spock lay dying I glanced at him to see tears in his eyes and when we reached Kirk's emotional eulogy (...his was the most... human), I cried, too.
It was embarassing until we reached the bright, sunlit lobby of the theatre and I saw just how many grown men were still wiping at their faces.
This is the most emotionally-resonant that Trek has ever been, and the most devastating. If I'm in the right frame of mind, I can still be moved to tears during Kirk's eulogy (I'm 41 now) even knowing that it all gets 'undone' in the next movie.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sun, Aug 3, 2008, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I have to agree this is some pretty boring stuff to watch. I like the ideas, I like the participants, but....
In addition to the stretched-out-to-ridiculous introduction of the new Enterprise, we have too many scenes of actors just staring 'awed' at the viewscreen and count how many times Dr. McCoy enters from a turbo lift, looks around (sometimes with dialog, sometimes not) and then leaves the bridge again... the point of that?
The movie is good, I guess, in its themes, but it could have used a bit of pruning along the way.
Finally, it seems far more interested in the mechanics of ST (worship of the Enterprise, long shots of V'ger's interiors) rather than giving the needed time to the characters to 'show' how this experience is impacting them. Perhaps of countless shots of the bridge crew looking silently, there could have been some quiet dialog scenes expressing the wonderment and puzzlement over what the probe's intent may be.
The only emotionally satisfying scenes in the movie are between Spock and Kirk, especially in sickbay... for the length of the movie, this just isn't enough character-drama.
Decker and Ilia never captured my emotional interest nor did Decker/Kirk's after Decker countermands Kirk's orders to fire phasers at the asteroid and the immediate fallout of that.
And, of course, there's the old TOS problem of short-shrifting Uhura, Sulu and Chekov but I think even Bones gets shorted this time out.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Aug 1, 2008, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

There are exactly 3 episodes of any TV that actually 'haunt' me... in that my reaction to them is the same each and everytime I see them. And, in fact, if I just remember them (say, when speaking to someone else about them) that I still can conjure up those same emotions. The Best Of Both Worlds, Part I is one of them. Easily the greatest cliffhanger and well as among the top ST (any series) episodes EVER. I'd easily give it a 5/5. (The others are ER when Carter gets stabbed along with Lucy and 'The Body' from BTVS).
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Aug 1, 2008, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I feel that S3 of TNG was their best season... everything just seemed to come together finally and the writing staff was really cooking. But, I wanted to comment specifically on Hallie Todd who I thought did an utterly fantastic job as Lal in 'The Offspring'. I think there are very few guest stars whose characters you could picture staying on the show and being a welcomed addition. She is one of them IMO. And I find it heartbreaking when she tells Troi that she's afraid and points to her stomach, saying "this is what it means to feel". The tragedy of Data's not being able to really 'feel' the loss while the crewman around him (especially Troi, Geordi and Wes) are obviously grieving on his behalf is also a special moment.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Jul 23, 2008, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I have to agree with the general consensus and disagree with the 2-stars given. This episode had nothing to do with the Enterprise crew and everything to do with Riker... a slap in the face to the actors of Enterprise. All of the weaknesses and ridiculousness has already been pointed out above, so I won't rehash them, but I felt NOTHING over Trip's demise, except glad for Mayweather (maybe he'll be able to pilot the shuttle more) and Reed (maybe he'll be able to get in on future heroics for a change). Trip was completely over-used throughout the series doing things that had nothing to do with engineering (it was like Geordy performing Data and Worf's jobs in every other script). This is nothing against Trineer as an actor because I liked him immensely, but he was given too much screen time in nearly every episode, leaving Hoshi, Reed and poor Mayweather with little to do.
I'd give this one a half of one star. It wasn't an episode of Enterprise... it was a belated episode of TNG. I feel insulted on behalf of the Enterprise cast.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 18, 2008, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Steff:

The rabbit and the hare?
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sat, Jul 12, 2008, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

I second the mildly offensive tone taken with Travis throughout the series. This poor guy could have been any old rotating day players. Its ridiculous that they couldn't find ANYTHING for him to do when he (you'd think) has the most experience in deep space. Even when a pilot is desperately needed, more times than not, it's Tucker who gets the nod!
As to the general arc of this season... wouldn't this season have been more exciting and more emotionally involving through character work if all of the timeline games had been excised? Why exactly is the 'Temporal Cold War' necessary to this story arc?! It could have just been Earth's struggle (for the first time) against not just an aggressive alien threat, but an alternate dimensional threat, as well. Perhaps, even shaking up Earth's entire outlook on the galaxy.
You could have even skirted the 'how this impacts on the known ST timeline' by having the Xindi vitually wiped out at the end of the arc with the remaining small populations going into seclusion as they attempt to save their cultures. Especially, since you could have Archer express fears that the Insectoid and Reptilians seems unlikely to forgive the other races for their "betrayal" and then leave it at that. The fan could then extrapolate that they could have been wiped out by Kirk's time, or so dispersed that they haven't been met again (in a way that Guinan's people are dispersed across the known galaxy).
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Sat, Jul 12, 2008, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

This episode was entirely pointless. As soon as Archer's face got squirted, WE knew he was under mind control and as he began to spend all of his time in the hatchery instead of on the bridge I kept yelling at everyone else that he was under mind control. It just made the crew look stupid that they didn't catch on a lot sooner and Hayes and the MACOs seemed to be pig-headed just to stretch the "plot" out.
As to your ending question, "Why not have a 'real' story...."? The answer is that Berman/Braga obviously have NO interest in Star Trek anymore. It was a job and nothing more and they just didn't have any energy to tell probing stories - they just had to get the 'product' out on UPN's schedule. The entire enterprise (excuse the pun- unintentional) was a cynical project to begin with. It's just too bad, because some new blood with passion for Star Trek could have really made this a fantastic series (as you can see hints of in S4 when real fans came on board).
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 11, 2008, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

The only thing that irritated me about this episode (as well as so many others) is the lack of Mayweather doing anything. As the pilot, don't you think HE should have piloted the shuttle on such a dangerous mission? I don't know how Anthony Montgomery managed to stay with the series for 4 years with the utter nothing he was given to do. I can only think the paycheck was awfully nice.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 11, 2008, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I have no problems with the basic outline of this story (I don't mind 'fun with DNA', no matter how implausible) but it is hideously boring. On the other hand, I like 'Genesis' on TNG a lot. Although, the "secondary crewman is in danger because his DNA is being rewritten" has become a bit too overused.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 11, 2008, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

And this, dear readers, is a large part of why there is no longer a UPN network. All of their programming (except for when they bought BTVS from the WB) was frickin' brain dead... like Spike TV, but more childish and less entertaining.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Fri, Jul 11, 2008, 7:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Whether you like this episode or not is a matter of taste, but I have to point out that there is no continuity mistake here. At least according to one theory, even if we could go back in time and alter the past, those effects would not be perceived until after the moment that the person making the changes returned to a point after he/she left to make those changes. Picard could not have read anything about Archer's encounter with the Borg because it hadn't happened yet (as Jammer states)... he couldn't perceive that the Borg were in the past until after it happened, the Enterprise-E went back in time and stopped the invasion and then returned to the "present" after the Enterprise-E first left. Only then would Archer's encounter with the Borg become "history" and suddenly be a part of the Federation's and Star Fleet's records.
Which is part of why I hate stories dependent on temporal mechanics... it gets so confusing and the ST writers often don't plot things out logically, anyway. However, in this case, there's no reason that the Borg meeting 22nd Century Earth violates 24th Century continuity in this story.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Jul 9, 2008, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

As Stef points out, my impressions when I first watched this episode was that this was an allegory for the 80's view of AIDS with the "mind-melders" standing in for the gay population (of which, I am one). It led me to not really enjoy the episode much for its own merits, because it feels like the 'message' was one that we've gotten and moved on from (or at least any ST fan had already gotten and moved on from, and who else would be watching the episode). It also has that feeling of being a toss to the gay fans who have lamented for ages (since at least TNG) that there has never been a gay crewmember included in any of the series or movies. And as per usual, it's not appreciated. I'd rather they just ignore the gay issue completely than half-heartedly throw a metaphor out there to us... it's insulting in this post QaF, post Will & Grace era.
Set Bookmark
robgnow
Wed, Jul 9, 2008, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

The 'Enterprise' crew also never mention to the colonists what to do when the Klingons come back with 50 of their closest friends or how to defend themselves against being shot at from orbit. Remember, these are Klingons?! Does anyone think they'll not see this "defeat" as some sort of slap in the face to their honor and a burning desire to get that honor back?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.