Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,423 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 57
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

We open on the anbo-jitsu scene.

Daddy Riker says some stuff like "Anbo-jitsu the long revered martial arts method of blah blah blah"

Will must have been like "Who are you saying that for? We've had anbo-jitsu fights dozens of time."

Even for late 80s standards that was some goofy exposition.

Good to know that Daddy Riker really revved Pulaski's nacels.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I like Picard killing his future self but I just wish we had gotten more explanation as to why it might make sense.

At first I thought it was stupid and bizarrely heartless but the more I think about it I think I get it. If we imagine ourselves moving through time as some sort of "Droste Effect" - sort of similar to the multiple Datas in a previous episode - then in this instance a particular one of Picard's future iterations had become desynced with time and was either caught in or causing a loop.

Present Picard killing Shuttle Picard isn't a very clever solution but it removes this weird out of sync future Picard and restores the current linear path.

But why explain that when, instead, we can spend valuable time with Troi telling us how Picard feels despite the fact that Stewart had done a perfect job of already showing us via, you know, acting.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I never found a reason to care or be concerned. They're stuck in a simulation of some kind ok but there's no real urgency to get out.

Terrible trade in on an interesting opening of finding a piece of NASA salvage but I guess they wanted to avoid anything close to V-GER?

The best thing to come out of this episode is the gif of Riker fist pumping after Data throws a winner.

Considering how often I groan about stuff in TNG it was rich to see Picard struggling with the 'dark and stormy night' opener.

Feel my pain Jean Luc. Feel my goddamn pain.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

I simp for Pulaski.

She's got Galaxy-class sized balls and it's really great having a personality as strong as Picard's that is in a position to clash with him. Riker is probably the only other person on the ship with a personality as big as Picard's but he's ever the dutiful 2nd in command. No such issue with Pulask who will stand up Picard and even cut him off.

It's strange that I genuinely love Picard but I enjoy seeing him take an L in debates sometimes. The first episode of DS9 where we see Sisko giving it to Picard was like a Stone Cold's music just hit moment for me. I can't explain it, maybe it's just that as much as I love Picard it's good to see him take as good as he can get, I don't know.

The plot is mostly irrelevant to me it's all about Pulaski. As with almost any episode of Star Trek if you ponder it too long it falls apart. It's insane to imagine a society as advanced as we're shown with the ability to easily scan an identify so much but doesn't have something as easy to imagine as regular DNA scans against recorded DNA for each person onboard to make sure they aren't experiencing radiation which even a quick google tells me can introduce "DNA breaks".

So I just simply choose to try not to let stuff like that ruin my enjoyment of an episode. Sometimes it's inevitable but here the plot is merely a vehicle for character development and it's one of my favorite characters at the center.

Pulaski is just one of those characters I'd dislike in person but enjoy in a TV show because she's what we needed - some level of strife between the crew. I've read that Roddenberry didn't want there to be interpersonal static and it's just sort of bonkers to me and I'm glad his influence over TNG apparently waned. We should have had more obnoxious crewmembers.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

As far as Wesley stories go this was not enjoyable but at least somewhat tolerable.

It is, however, the sort of story that suffers heavily from the episodic formula.

If TNG was a serial with over-arching plotlines then we could better develop the relationship between Wesley and the chick without having to rush to them being overwhelmed with attraction for each other after a mere glance. After a few episodes of developing this sideplot it would make Wesley's distraction during the engineering testing less ridiculous. Them being in love despite having never held hands.

Also - did I miss it or did they never follow-up on Picard telling Wesley to stay away from her and then 15 minutes later getting chest touches in his quarters?
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 10:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

I too found this episode inconsequential, but I didn't find it horrible as a stand-alone. It makes no sense that the doctor would wreak this much havoc to an alien species but there were no consequences discussed. No one even raised the notion that he should be blocked from modifying his own program in the future, just that he "shouldn't do it". Torres warns him briskly in the beginning after he is violating her medical boundaries, but he doesn't heed the warning, and there's no further investigation. If a flesh and blood crew member did all that, there would be hell to pay.

Like all of VOY, the writers don't go deep enough into the realities they are creating. Actors are supposed to be embody character roles, which gives them an insider view of that character like a living, breathing being. The writers never seemed to do this. The characters were more about the selfish projections of the writers than any attempt to breathe deep life into them.

That said, this episode wasn't THAT bad. Picardo did a good job as the two-sided doctor. The alien species were interesting in concept. Too bad that, for such a far flung race, we'll never encounter them again in the series. We also never find out exactly just what information they give the Voyager crew. At least with 7of9 and astrometrics, we see illustrations of course plots.

This series had so much potential and episodes like this make me remember why I was ultimately disappointed by it all. They really should've made Ronald Moore the chief producer.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

They could have given a much darker reason for her Fury--like finding out that the Kazon wiped out everyone on her homeworld after she left.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I hated the start of this episode and the whole "Troi only does rape or romance storylines" thing.

I get the idea behind having someone who communicates through others but it just came off as incredibly goofy watching Riva tilt his head constantly while others spoke.

The episode actually got much, much better after his chorus got lazered because using sign language got rid of the goofy chorus stuff.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

I'm almost impressed at how this show manages to nail two of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to TV show writing.

#1 - Writers trying to write stand-up comedy is always, always, always TERRIBLE. Like, criminally bad. This episode was as painful an example of that as I can imagine. At no point in all of history has the Comedian's standup been funny. Especially the weird moment where he and Data are flailing around making noises with the fake teeth. I want to become violent with whoever wrote that scene.

#2 - Writers trying to write a successful womanizer. It's PAINFULLY obvious that the people who wrote Okana's seduction scenes had no fucking clue how you pick up a woman and as a result seem to subconsciously view the act of seducing a woman as magic or mind control or something. And I say this as a man with next to no game. Nobody who isn't performing for sold out stadiums can just walk up to a woman at a transportation station and say "You're attracted to me let's plow" as an opener.

The sad part is that Okana's character did win me over and is the sort of character I would have liked to have seen more from because a lot of TNG seems woefully lacking in individual characters with goals that are separate from whatever military service they're a part of. The ending was actually nice even if it was predictable.

Just...please for the love of God TV writers, stop writing stand-up and terrible PUAs.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

I love that we get Pulaski coming right at Data. I like the conflict and I like how it makes us feel given that most of us probably consider Data in our top 2-3 favorite characters in the show.

I liked pretty much everything about this episode, it's one of the holodeck episodes that clicks for me. Data solving every mystery because he had them stored in his memory is a great bit because we see Data totally missing the point and learning about it, somewhat.

I like the exchange between Picard and Moriarity and that's all fun and interesting but I kept finding myself wishing that instead of there being a threat to the ship or anything that the stakes had remained low and we would have found out in the end that Pulaski was working with Moriarity as part of the game as a way to prove Data couldn't adapt and interpret new info and challenges. Ah well.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Worf assuming the responsibility of tucking in Wesley is a genuinely funny comment and probably the first bit of humor from this show I've seen to still hold up today.

I hate when Dr. Pulaski shows up because she's such a better actor and more interesting character than the Bevster. I hate it because I see all the lost potential had they kept her around for the entire series. I know a lot of people don't like Pulaski and I don't 'like' her in the sense that I find her to be a mostly-unlikeable character but in a way that is enjoyable and has the potential for good interpersonal plotlines with the rest crew. Sadly we'll soon be, yet again, stuck with one-note Beverly Crusher who is probably the second weakest actor in the cast ahead of only Burton. Such a shame, Pulaski owns.


Agree wholeheartedly about how poorly they handled a crew member getting impregnated by an alien and then giving birth a day later. It's bizarre how quickly they just go 'Oh well, that's a thing that happens I guess. Send him to daycare'.

There's a lot about TNG that falls apart if you think about it too much but this is one of the most egregious cases. Don't write about a bizarre and upsetting thing like this and then just act like it's fine.

Really wanna know why they took extra time to make sure we knew that Troi's lady parts were ship shape after the delivery. She could have had her scenes while recovering. I don't know, man, this show sometimes....I just don't know.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

This is my favorite episode. It lets me decide that all the things I'd have done differently happened in one of those other universes Worf encountered.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Surprised at some of the dislike for this episode but to each their own.

I'm not sure what my previous favorite S1 episode was, probably the one with Lore, but this one easily overtakes it.

I had forgotten this episode so I honestly thought Picard was being duped and the first group he met were the real conspirators. Which, given how much more sophisticated TV storytelling has become, I think says a lot about the great job they did setting a tone here where at least one viewer, myself, wasn't sure which side was right some 33 years later. Riker's initial resistance to believing helped in this regard even if it felt a little kneejerk and poorly-explained.

All of my quibbles about this episode are minor. I liked the return of Remmick but, even knowing he'd never become a member of the crew, I was sad to see him get blowed up. It was a lost opportunity. A character who had previously antagonized the crew as part of his investigation would have been a great addition and allowed for some interesting episodes where we would have seen members of the crew inclined to not like or trust him grow to know and like him.

I was 13 or so when this episode aired and I had given up on watching TNG after 'Justice' - even as a kid I hated the pandering aspect of using sexuality so clumsily to tittilate viewers. If I had seen this episode at age 13 I think I would have become a diehard Trekkie.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

The resolution was fun but it could have been better. I wish that each Data had been more of a mirror of the previous one with identical movements and words just spoken with a brief delay to really have the tesseract feeling hit.

Still, S1 is starting to do better than I remembered. My first time watching it through was like a decade ago and I hated pretty much every moment of season 1. Maybe being locked in during a pandemic has made a show like this more comforting, but at this point I'm enjoying it a lot more than I would have expected, warts and all.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

It's not as bad as I remembered and the tribute to Tasha was great I just wish it happened in season 3. Not because I particularly cared for the character or loved the actress just that with an ensemble cast this large we only got a few Tasha-heavy episodes. Her biggest moments in the show was being kidnapped by a, shall we say, problematic society in terms of how it feels like a representation of actual human civilizations.

That and the uncomfortable invocation of 'rape gangs' a couple of times including in an episode with a heavy sexual component.

The goodbye ceremony was fantastic but it failed to deliver any type of emotional hit because we just hadn't had enough time to really get close to the character. Had the actress decided to move on from the show a couple of years later, however, it would have been a landmark moment in TV because I can't recall any show with major deaths like hers would have been up to that point.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Well said Different Bob.

Honestly, there's just something about the Prime Directive that sort of romanticizes the idea of a society pulling itself up by its bootstraps while ignoring the very real suffering that must take place.

Imagine a Federation type organization was monitoring earth during WW2 or the Bubonic plague. Untold suffering allowed to go on for centuries without intervention because of this absurd idea that a civilization cannot take a shortcut.

Better to let children suffer from parasites that eat out the back of their eyeballs than to maybe disrupt a society built around backwards beliefs and woefully inept medical capabilities.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I doubt this is an original opinion but I"ll write it anyways - the Prime Directive annoys the hell out of me because we see endless instances of it being ignored until the plot demands it.

It's cool to beam drug dealers and addicts onto the ship but preventing an entire population being unwittingly held hostage by drug dependence in the guise of a plague is peachy-fine?

I get where it makes sense with regards to populations who lack the technological advancement to discern the Federation from gods but the way the Prime Directive is invoked almost always elicits an eyeroll from me because it's clear that it only matters to the writers when the plot demands.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Perfectly fine episode, a little simplistic with its trope-y message about the weapon dealers killed by their own weapons. Judged against the times it was a positive and progressive message. It just seems really simplistic and on the nose 3 decades later.

My main issue is the Chief Engineer. I've read that Roddenberry didn't want there to be friction between the crew of the Enterprise which is childish in my opinion.

The friction here is incredibly clumsy with confrontation between the new Chief Engineer and Geordi. Reasonable, well-intentioned people can disagree without one of them having to be a bad person. Here's the first significant disagreement I can recall in TNG and one of them is LaForge, portrayed by one of the nicest people on earth, and the other is a huge douchebag who is overly aggressive and as close to being a 'bad person' as you can get without being a villain of the episode.

Disagreements between well-intentioned people on the same side is good TV and excellent fodder for character development but not when done like this.

As far as season 1 goes it's a pretty good little episode with minimal other issues.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

I honestly can't recall a Wesley episode I liked more. His interaction with the webbed finger angry alien man is one that has stuck with me from the first time I saw the episode on TV to now, several mostly Trek-less decades later.

I also really enjoyed the whole antagonistic investigator premise.

I could have done with a better Psych test for Wesley. Have the 'test' start as one premise and then have one of the teachers run in and say all students have to evacuate, tests are postponed, etc. It was too obvious that the emergency was the test because nothing else had happened after he entered the room.

Bonus amusement at the idea of Starfleet bringing in failed actors for low paying gigs for corporate training (something I've personally done) instead of just using holodeck tech...
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

So far I'd say this was the best S1 had to offer. Which isn't saying much, I wasn't riveted or blown away but it was...watchable.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

This episode is so frustrating I keep writing huge essays about it here and then deleting them. The 'so advanced they lose the ability to understand their own tech' type of society is a fun concept and everything promising about it is ruined by the writing where simple answers are ignored for the purpose of plot. Tech for children? Sure, but let's do that with orphaned children who need homes rather than freaking *kidnapping*.

The one complaint I have that I don't think I've seen anyone else have, though, is the ludicrous premise of a society where someone can take something they want from someone else and then just arrange compensation.

No society even remotely similar to human civilization here on earth could progress with that as a fundamental law. The Aldeans would not have made it out of the stone age if Grok preferred Ung's cave and could just go squat in the cave while Ung was out picking berries. Like your neighbor's wife? Go grab her and drag her back to your hide tent. This whole concept is ridiculous because it would just lead to ceaseless violence and instability in the society.

It's so mindnumblingly bad I am angry and my entire day is ruined.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

It's all be said above, for the most part. The only thing I want to add is that it's so obvious that the producers made it up as they went along. That was very much reflected in the final episodes. I'm happy they gave us a reasonable wrap up, unlike a show like Lost. Nothing burns me more than a series that leads people on with a lot of tantalizing material only to not deliver in the final days.

Humanity abandoning technology? Not believable, sorry. At least not without some executive order that shows the notion was forced. Even with PTSD from years of living on ships that are under attack, I don't buy that people would give up all tech.

Humanity scattering around the planet? Also non-sensical. Why would they not build a human settlement well away from the hominids already on the planet, and just live separately? Ok, so technology is the bane of your existence, but it seems like computers and AI were the problem, not all tech. Do you hate flush toilets, stoves for cooking, and medical care just because AI let you down? It just doesn't add up.

Kara Thrace's disappearance... total copout. To me, the implication is that she's an actual Angel, similar to Head Baltar and Head Six. Leoben calls her an Angel blazing with the light of God. The pigeon in her final scene alludes to this. But we're supposed to believe this whole without any real lead up. I'm a spiritual person but as a plot device I couldn't stand it. It was lazy writing.

Who was the guy in Kara's visions playing the piano? We were led to believe that this might've been Number 7 (Daniel). Maybe he was Kara's absent father? Maybe he is the reason why Kara's mom refers to her as being special, and why her mom was such a hard case -- because her mom got romanced by a Cylon skinjob and it produced a child. To me, this would've been a WAY better plot unfoldment: Kara is actually the first Cylon/Human hybrid and we get to see one as a full adult.

Either way, Kara's story line really led is on and then was just simply wiped away with the pan of a camera.

The Opera House was a let down. I liked how they gave us something, and tied it all into the command centre and Hera's meandering throughout the ship. It seemed too convenient though. So much hype yet such a simple explanation. All the talk about how the child belonged to Six and Baltar, and how that could possibly be? Never really tied it. It could've worked in Helo and Athena somehow died, then Caprica could raise the kid with Baltar.

You can count me as one of the people who was let down by the final episode. Amazing series though and I will always come back to it.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

So a lot of criticism on the plot and plot holes here, and I agree with them:

- The turbolift areas are just ridiculous big
- The Ni'Var come to help but then don't do anything except chasing the Veridian
- Discount Seska going back to be a cardboard villain (love that meme by the way!)
- Mortal peril scenes for Michael, Book and the bridge crew that we of course know they will survive (BORING!)
- The cute Sphere robots being shot down (does that mean the Sphere data is lost forever?)
- What was the need to displace the nacell to make Discovery drop out of warp, other than that the plot demands it? (So that the plot can blow up the Veridian later.)
- A simple reboot of the Discovery computer after changing 4 chip plates/whatever things (?) solves all ship issues. Plus at that point Michael could have transported herself and the bridge crew back to the bridge in an instant.

And does it seem that they re-used the actor who played Ryn until he was killed in the last episode to play a nameless Andorian in this episode? The Andorian on the bridge when Osyraa and Discovery escaped the Federation hub looks exactly like Ryn, except that he still has his antennas. (First I thought it WAS Ryn and a plot mistake, until I saw the intact antennas.)

Having said this though, I still find Star Trek DIscovery highly entertaining. The visuals (FX) and the action scenes are great, there are some great actors in the show, and it has it's (Starfleet) heart in the right place, striving for it's Starfleet / Federation ideals of safety, inclusiveness and justice.

And this episode with it's theme of connection was right on, especially in these pandemic times.

So while there are definitely flaws with this show, I am highly entertained, looking forward to new episodes, and will definitely be back for season 4, with Michael in the captain chair. And since Discovery was renewed despite all negativity here, no doubt many subscribers to CBS All Access agree, or it would not have been renewed. Money is money.
Set Bookmark
Robert M.
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I’m here to say I’m betting Saru learns about “tough choices “ by having to kill this man-child to protect the universe. He’ll decide he doesn’t want the burden of command after that.

Vance is always well acted, but water is wet. The negotiation was great. She may be cruel and it may be purposeful but I’m wondering if we see her join the crew like the ol Empress.

*WHAT DOES OWO DO??? She’s like “Mega-Worf” and I love it! In any timeline she’s quite the powerhouse!!

I need to rewatch but why does Stamets get the “safe” nerve pinch but rando regulator gets the choke out so Burnham gets stabbed? I laughed when she got stabbed because it came out of nowhere to me.

Previously I defended Tilly being the first officer. I’m willing to grant her engineering and personnel skills, but she was definitely out of her element this time. I admit I expected her to have a moment where she decides to tap into the “Killy” personality like when they were in the mirror universe. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Robert M
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I really enjoyed this hour. Some people were expecting Lorca. I was actually expecting to see a half-crazed prime universe Lorca in the MU. Oh well.

It’s cool to see how Georgiou plants the seed of an anti Terran galaxy here. ST:E and ST:D went a long way to justify the anti Terran views we glimpsed in DS9.

Claiming Georgiou is dead was a convenient way of not bringing up the all powerful sentient time machine being used by a time traveling crew long after time manipulation has been outlawed.

Without someone to go along with her schemes, I expect Burnham to become more “by the book” too, and get back into Disco’s upper command.

Stamens is being overshadowed by everyone that works for him. I didn’t enjoy him when I started watching but I hope we see more of his leadership and mentoring. Others there’s no reason to see him unless he’s with Culber.

I’m hoping we can see more of the ship evolving as a sentient being and wrap up the burn though. Mirror universe is always fun for me, but Enterprise did it best with its own opening theme. These 2 eps seemed like a step back.
Next ►Page 1 of 57
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.