Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,690 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 68
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Bashir did cross an ethical line by getting romantically involved. His loneliness is no excuse. I noted a contradiction in Trek technobabble in this one. O'Brien says that precision at the synaptic level is impossible due to "quantum fluctuations", ie that he can't break the laws of physics, yet transporters are routinely capable of precision down to the atomic level (if not lower), and O'Brien himself said in TNG that transporters have "Heisenberg compensators", something he apparently forgot about.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Meh. The whole thing seemed like an excuse for the DS9 actors to pretend to play baseball. It wasn't funny, and it wasn't (if you'll pardon the expression) logical.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

This is my favorite episode. It lets me decide that all the things I'd have done differently happened in one of those other universes Worf encountered.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Surprised at some of the dislike for this episode but to each their own.

I'm not sure what my previous favorite S1 episode was, probably the one with Lore, but this one easily overtakes it.

I had forgotten this episode so I honestly thought Picard was being duped and the first group he met were the real conspirators. Which, given how much more sophisticated TV storytelling has become, I think says a lot about the great job they did setting a tone here where at least one viewer, myself, wasn't sure which side was right some 33 years later. Riker's initial resistance to believing helped in this regard even if it felt a little kneejerk and poorly-explained.

All of my quibbles about this episode are minor. I liked the return of Remmick but, even knowing he'd never become a member of the crew, I was sad to see him get blowed up. It was a lost opportunity. A character who had previously antagonized the crew as part of his investigation would have been a great addition and allowed for some interesting episodes where we would have seen members of the crew inclined to not like or trust him grow to know and like him.

I was 13 or so when this episode aired and I had given up on watching TNG after 'Justice' - even as a kid I hated the pandering aspect of using sexuality so clumsily to tittilate viewers. If I had seen this episode at age 13 I think I would have become a diehard Trekkie.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

The resolution was fun but it could have been better. I wish that each Data had been more of a mirror of the previous one with identical movements and words just spoken with a brief delay to really have the tesseract feeling hit.

Still, S1 is starting to do better than I remembered. My first time watching it through was like a decade ago and I hated pretty much every moment of season 1. Maybe being locked in during a pandemic has made a show like this more comforting, but at this point I'm enjoying it a lot more than I would have expected, warts and all.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

It's not as bad as I remembered and the tribute to Tasha was great I just wish it happened in season 3. Not because I particularly cared for the character or loved the actress just that with an ensemble cast this large we only got a few Tasha-heavy episodes. Her biggest moments in the show was being kidnapped by a, shall we say, problematic society in terms of how it feels like a representation of actual human civilizations.

That and the uncomfortable invocation of 'rape gangs' a couple of times including in an episode with a heavy sexual component.

The goodbye ceremony was fantastic but it failed to deliver any type of emotional hit because we just hadn't had enough time to really get close to the character. Had the actress decided to move on from the show a couple of years later, however, it would have been a landmark moment in TV because I can't recall any show with major deaths like hers would have been up to that point.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Well said Different Bob.

Honestly, there's just something about the Prime Directive that sort of romanticizes the idea of a society pulling itself up by its bootstraps while ignoring the very real suffering that must take place.

Imagine a Federation type organization was monitoring earth during WW2 or the Bubonic plague. Untold suffering allowed to go on for centuries without intervention because of this absurd idea that a civilization cannot take a shortcut.

Better to let children suffer from parasites that eat out the back of their eyeballs than to maybe disrupt a society built around backwards beliefs and woefully inept medical capabilities.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Ugghhh. For some time, I had been thinking that this was looking like the best Trek series. Some really good episodes, touching at times and hilarious at others. But I have a bad feeling about Season 7. I can't stand all the mystical mumbo jumbo, and what's up with implying that all these characters are a figment of someone's imagination INSIDE THE SHOW??? Ezri seems like a useless, immature juvenile. At this point, I barely even feel like I want to finish the series.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Just watched this episode. Not really liking Ezri. Adding her to the cast seemed pointless.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I doubt this is an original opinion but I"ll write it anyways - the Prime Directive annoys the hell out of me because we see endless instances of it being ignored until the plot demands it.

It's cool to beam drug dealers and addicts onto the ship but preventing an entire population being unwittingly held hostage by drug dependence in the guise of a plague is peachy-fine?

I get where it makes sense with regards to populations who lack the technological advancement to discern the Federation from gods but the way the Prime Directive is invoked almost always elicits an eyeroll from me because it's clear that it only matters to the writers when the plot demands.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Perfectly fine episode, a little simplistic with its trope-y message about the weapon dealers killed by their own weapons. Judged against the times it was a positive and progressive message. It just seems really simplistic and on the nose 3 decades later.

My main issue is the Chief Engineer. I've read that Roddenberry didn't want there to be friction between the crew of the Enterprise which is childish in my opinion.

The friction here is incredibly clumsy with confrontation between the new Chief Engineer and Geordi. Reasonable, well-intentioned people can disagree without one of them having to be a bad person. Here's the first significant disagreement I can recall in TNG and one of them is LaForge, portrayed by one of the nicest people on earth, and the other is a huge douchebag who is overly aggressive and as close to being a 'bad person' as you can get without being a villain of the episode.

Disagreements between well-intentioned people on the same side is good TV and excellent fodder for character development but not when done like this.

As far as season 1 goes it's a pretty good little episode with minimal other issues.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

I honestly can't recall a Wesley episode I liked more. His interaction with the webbed finger angry alien man is one that has stuck with me from the first time I saw the episode on TV to now, several mostly Trek-less decades later.

I also really enjoyed the whole antagonistic investigator premise.

I could have done with a better Psych test for Wesley. Have the 'test' start as one premise and then have one of the teachers run in and say all students have to evacuate, tests are postponed, etc. It was too obvious that the emergency was the test because nothing else had happened after he entered the room.

Bonus amusement at the idea of Starfleet bringing in failed actors for low paying gigs for corporate training (something I've personally done) instead of just using holodeck tech...
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

So far I'd say this was the best S1 had to offer. Which isn't saying much, I wasn't riveted or blown away but it was...watchable.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

This episode is so frustrating I keep writing huge essays about it here and then deleting them. The 'so advanced they lose the ability to understand their own tech' type of society is a fun concept and everything promising about it is ruined by the writing where simple answers are ignored for the purpose of plot. Tech for children? Sure, but let's do that with orphaned children who need homes rather than freaking *kidnapping*.

The one complaint I have that I don't think I've seen anyone else have, though, is the ludicrous premise of a society where someone can take something they want from someone else and then just arrange compensation.

No society even remotely similar to human civilization here on earth could progress with that as a fundamental law. The Aldeans would not have made it out of the stone age if Grok preferred Ung's cave and could just go squat in the cave while Ung was out picking berries. Like your neighbor's wife? Go grab her and drag her back to your hide tent. This whole concept is ridiculous because it would just lead to ceaseless violence and instability in the society.

It's so mindnumblingly bad I am angry and my entire day is ruined.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Ok, so the episode was preposterous, but it did make me laugh at the sheer silliness of it all.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 11:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Bleah. I don't like the Prophet-mystical-gobbledygook mumbo jumbo stuff at all. This is like something out of an old Hammer or Roger Corman movie. It has no place in an SF series. And the Winn character annoys the hell out of me. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I very much enjoyed the episode. Darren's singing was a little weak, but I thought he did a great job with the character. I'm a big softie for romance, and the banter leading up to The Big Kiss was superb! Very reminiscent of classic romantic comedies. I was laughing my head off! Best laugh I've had in a long time!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Please excuse me if someone mentioned this, but I view Sisko’s actions as being Garak’s enabler. This is the kind of scheme that Garak has always demonstrated he’s capable of implementing, and I’m sure he was pleased when Sisko went along with it. I agree with those who are annoyed by Brooks’ overacting, and Sisko’s previous actions make his handwringing rather inconsistent.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Booming, millions of Bajorans died in slave labor camps under the Cardassians. Not so different from what happens to the Jews, except that there wasn't an all out campaign to eradicate them. But the point I was making is that Sisko is VERY familiar with what happened to the Bajorans. He does NOT need to be Benny to know that full well. And yes, racism is long gone in the Federation, which means that Sisko has no emotional connection to it at ALL, nor does any family member in his memory, his father's memory, or his father's father's father's memory. That's why Benny's breakdown makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Sorry, not buying it Jason. Sisko has PLENTY of knowledge about the horrors perpetrated on Bajor. He knows people PERSONALLY who have experienced it. Besides, if that REALLY was the purpose, a MUCH better situation to put Sisko in would have been as a Jew in WW II Europe, which is much closer to what the Bajorans suffered. This episode was purely an exercise in 20th century political commentary, nothing more.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

'm sure that many people like this as an exercise in social commentary, but it has essentially nothing to do with the fundamental premise of DS9 as a TV show. It essentially smashed the fourth wall and dropped any pretense that they were doing a show about the 24th century. It does not grow organically from any of the premises in the show. Benjamin Sisko has no emotional connection to racism at all. The very premise of Star Trek is that racism had long since ceased to exist. Neither he nor his grandfather nor his grandfather's grandfather would have experienced racism. It's a relic of history, so there would be no reason at all for him to dream about this kind of scenario (the episode doesn't even bother to explain why he experienced it). I also found Brooks' over the top scene chewing acting in the breakdown scene to be quite off-putting. I hated the character cliches, namely, depicting a left winger as the only white character strongly opposed to racism. Pabst gets no credit at all for hiring Benny in the first place, or agreeing to publish it as a dream story. He's just another example of the businessman that Hollywood loves to hate. Two stars for seeing the actors out of makeup.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

It's all be said above, for the most part. The only thing I want to add is that it's so obvious that the producers made it up as they went along. That was very much reflected in the final episodes. I'm happy they gave us a reasonable wrap up, unlike a show like Lost. Nothing burns me more than a series that leads people on with a lot of tantalizing material only to not deliver in the final days.

Humanity abandoning technology? Not believable, sorry. At least not without some executive order that shows the notion was forced. Even with PTSD from years of living on ships that are under attack, I don't buy that people would give up all tech.

Humanity scattering around the planet? Also non-sensical. Why would they not build a human settlement well away from the hominids already on the planet, and just live separately? Ok, so technology is the bane of your existence, but it seems like computers and AI were the problem, not all tech. Do you hate flush toilets, stoves for cooking, and medical care just because AI let you down? It just doesn't add up.

Kara Thrace's disappearance... total copout. To me, the implication is that she's an actual Angel, similar to Head Baltar and Head Six. Leoben calls her an Angel blazing with the light of God. The pigeon in her final scene alludes to this. But we're supposed to believe this whole without any real lead up. I'm a spiritual person but as a plot device I couldn't stand it. It was lazy writing.

Who was the guy in Kara's visions playing the piano? We were led to believe that this might've been Number 7 (Daniel). Maybe he was Kara's absent father? Maybe he is the reason why Kara's mom refers to her as being special, and why her mom was such a hard case -- because her mom got romanced by a Cylon skinjob and it produced a child. To me, this would've been a WAY better plot unfoldment: Kara is actually the first Cylon/Human hybrid and we get to see one as a full adult.

Either way, Kara's story line really led is on and then was just simply wiped away with the pan of a camera.

The Opera House was a let down. I liked how they gave us something, and tied it all into the command centre and Hera's meandering throughout the ship. It seemed too convenient though. So much hype yet such a simple explanation. All the talk about how the child belonged to Six and Baltar, and how that could possibly be? Never really tied it. It could've worked in Helo and Athena somehow died, then Caprica could raise the kid with Baltar.

You can count me as one of the people who was let down by the final episode. Amazing series though and I will always come back to it.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I agree with some others here that this episode must have meant a lot when you *first* see it, and don't know the revelation or what to expect.

Because of this, I ended up not rewatching the episode nearly as often as other ones, maybe only 2-3 total viewings over the years. It turned out I really didn't remember much, so even on a rewatch a few days ago, it felt pretty fresh!

I'm in the minority, but I thought the ship combat scenes were quite good for the limitations. You can tell they save on cost when they only show isolated shots of each ship firing or getting hit, but the concussive sounds and punchy effects (and yes, the shaky camera) had some serious weight to it. I can remember a good amount of TNG battles with Birds of Preys and Warbirds where there was absolutely no punchiness.

And yes, Peter's gif is GREAT.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

So a lot of criticism on the plot and plot holes here, and I agree with them:

- The turbolift areas are just ridiculous big
- The Ni'Var come to help but then don't do anything except chasing the Veridian
- Discount Seska going back to be a cardboard villain (love that meme by the way!)
- Mortal peril scenes for Michael, Book and the bridge crew that we of course know they will survive (BORING!)
- The cute Sphere robots being shot down (does that mean the Sphere data is lost forever?)
- What was the need to displace the nacell to make Discovery drop out of warp, other than that the plot demands it? (So that the plot can blow up the Veridian later.)
- A simple reboot of the Discovery computer after changing 4 chip plates/whatever things (?) solves all ship issues. Plus at that point Michael could have transported herself and the bridge crew back to the bridge in an instant.

And does it seem that they re-used the actor who played Ryn until he was killed in the last episode to play a nameless Andorian in this episode? The Andorian on the bridge when Osyraa and Discovery escaped the Federation hub looks exactly like Ryn, except that he still has his antennas. (First I thought it WAS Ryn and a plot mistake, until I saw the intact antennas.)

Having said this though, I still find Star Trek DIscovery highly entertaining. The visuals (FX) and the action scenes are great, there are some great actors in the show, and it has it's (Starfleet) heart in the right place, striving for it's Starfleet / Federation ideals of safety, inclusiveness and justice.

And this episode with it's theme of connection was right on, especially in these pandemic times.

So while there are definitely flaws with this show, I am highly entertained, looking forward to new episodes, and will definitely be back for season 4, with Michael in the captain chair. And since Discovery was renewed despite all negativity here, no doubt many subscribers to CBS All Access agree, or it would not have been renewed. Money is money.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Am I the only one who saw a significant plot hole, namely, why the Defiant didn't bother to cloak on its way to Earth? The battle with the Lakota was dramatic and all, but still...
Next ►Page 1 of 68
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.