Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 100 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Flipsider
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Really seems like the Family Guy of Star Trek. Just like Family Guy it's very reference heavy and polarizing, people either love or hate the humor. For me, I never cared for Family Guy and I dont care for the writing in this show either.
Set Bookmark
Flipsider
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

It is relevant though to want a show to be more "Star Trek", and we know what that means. Since the last three shows have felt nothing like Star Trek, it would be nice to have something that actually feels like Star Trek, with that sense of optimism and professionalism. Especially in this day and age, a show like that would be refreshing.

In the same vein, I actually found the new Bill & Ted ultra refreshing just because of it's rare sense of positivity.
Set Bookmark
Flipsider
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Paralax You know, it's far healthier to hate a show than it is to condemn people for daring to not share your opinions.

Just want to chime in on the TNG Season 1 Talk, I have always had a soft spot for it. It is partially the sense of exploration and wonder which is stronger there than any other season of Trek. It's also the soundtrack, which is really strong and emotional in the first few seasons before it became the famous droning "sonic wallpaper music" of the later seasons.

I think that even many of TNG Season 1's "bad" episodes like Naked Now, Code of Honor, and Angel One are pretty entertaining in a cheesy sort of way. There's only a few episodes that are actually boring, like Too Short a Season which is my vote for the true worst episode of season 1 (the guest actor's acting is unbelievably bad!)

Personally I find TNG season 7 to be solidly the worst season, with a whole bunch of boring and/or ridiculous episodes. I actually enjoy episodes like Masks and Genesis for the same reasons as some season 1 episodes, but the environmental message episode Forces of Nature and the space indians episodes for me are worse than just about anything in season 1. A lot of the episodes just feel really half-baked and are less entertaining than anything before them.

Give me the enthusiasm and freshness of TNG season 1 any day! And that soundtrack!

(Also I don't know if anyone noticed, but the original version of the TNG theme song used for season 1 has more lively instrumentation and I prefer that version as well!)
Set Bookmark
C.T. Phipps
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Lower Decks is awesome so it's your loss. Mind you, I find the idea of people wanting it to be a serious drama is about complaining about a dog not being a cat. It's meant to be fanservice and hilarity for hardcore Trek fans.

Love it for what it is.
Set Bookmark
Thompson
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

The pilot I would have begrudgingly given a 0.5/4, the second episode gets a 2 from me. I'd say it was more entertaining than any of the Discovery or Picard episodes, and that's because while those shows are big jokes, at least this show is aware it's a joke. I also have to admit it has the feel of 90s Trek, with the A and B plot structure where by the end we know something about the characters we didn't at the start. So, yeah, it's a step up from "unwatchable" to bordering on unwatchable. Take that as you will.
Set Bookmark
orbops
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Gavin, I agree with you. The Picard episode really destroyed Icheb's potential history with such an unnecessary and graphic death. I think Picard ruined the legacy of Hugh and Icheb.
Set Bookmark
IamCalypso
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 1:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Not the best episode but it did make me laugh several. The Grand Nagus humming merrily as he's being kidnapped was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
chrispaps
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:24am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I don't usually leave comments but had to on this occasion just to say a BIG thank you to Jammer for his wonderful, powerful spot-on review. I only hope CBS are also reading...
Set Bookmark
C.T. Phipps
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Guys, it's a prison camp.

These guys were kidnapped from their colony, put in a detention camp, and forced to live there for decades. Their children have grown up in bondage and any hybrid children born aren't there entirely willingly if just due to the power dynamic. This is no different than Bajorans living under Cardassian rule.
Set Bookmark
100fps
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 3:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

When the smash-and-grab, Jason-Bounre--fever-pitch editing on Discovery is rewarded by additional subscriptions to All-Access, the producers feel that they have been validated in their approach to storytelling as a series of scenes that must be sped up to the level of incoherence. This is one reason why people who REALLY do not like this whipsaw style, and hate the show because of it, are doing themselves no favors by continuing to pay for it. It's vaguely the equivalent of the DieHard movies phenomenon: it took the last film in the series, which was beyond awful, to (one hopes) slow the grosses
Set Bookmark
Rapscallion
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

'Dave johnson's point about languages and the 'Universal Translator' is well-made, and valid.

It would be nice, however, to understand *if* the U.T. was being used in the scenes with the Xindi. Seems unlikely, as we have seen numerous scene of the Xindi talking to one another without any humans present.

You could also wonder how the words of the Aquatics and Insectoids are being expressed to Archer when see them as written subtitles. Although I'm pretty sure I recall Hoshi actually translating on the spot in those instances.

All in all, I agree with the original point that was made, but there does need to be some understanding of the mechanics of the U.T. to help out the staple Trek fayre episodes of encounters with species where cooperation is required, and communication is impossible.....

My own snipe? Just what is the purpose of the weird copper piping that the Reptilians wear? It doesn't appear to serve any purpose. I'm all for cool costumes and the rest but it just looks.....daft (in my opinion).

3.5 stars for the episode, for me.
Set Bookmark
ps
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

A much better episode than the previous one.
Set Bookmark
ps
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

one positive thing: the make up used to make the ill crew members look old were quite good
Set Bookmark
ps
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

good premise wasted by being slow and pointless
Set Bookmark
ps
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

This is a nice episode with some fascinating stuff about vulcan/human family relationships. Especially Spock's struggle between his human and vulcan sides, imagine being willing to let your very own father die and alienate your mother. Logical perhaps, but not very emotional.
Set Bookmark
ps
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

lUny
Set Bookmark
ps
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

Okay so, this is was what the book Federations got most of its material from? Interesting differences in portrayals btw, the First Contact version is a drunken lunatic and this one is for the most part bland but decent. The argument could be made that living in a post nuclear war situation would make everyone a little liny and living in effective stasis for 150 years dull...
Set Bookmark
Skops
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

So Seven knows everything the Borg know? Is that it? How can that be? I wouldn't think every single drone would remember everything the Borg knew once they were separated from the collective.

Voyager finds a ship full of dead people, with a hologram sending a distress call, and they drop off Torres and the Doc and leave. See you later! Hope everything works out while we are gone! Bye! Silly.

Why would this maintainence hologram have a full personality and emotions and be sentient and all that if they just have him locked in a room to clean out antimatter waste? The people who made him would be sadists if they did that, and probably deserved to die. And why are there emitters all over the ship for him if he never leaves that room anyway? And why would he go insane? He's a program. Unless he was programmed to go insane. How would he know how to create a holographic fish? He's pretty advanced for an antimatter waste disposal hologram. Makes no sense.

And as other's said, the hologram guy says everyone died of a virulent plague, but they don't ask one single question about it, or worry that Torres might get it. Torres can't go to the lower deck because of antimatter radiation supposedly, but the Doc could, so why wouldn't he investigate? And once he went all mental on Torres, they would have left immediately and waited for Voyager to get back. All that is very stupid.

Torres shut down all the emitters, but somehow forgot some I guess(?) and so the hologram shows up again, and he is still able to go anywhere in the ship. So what did Torres shut down exactly?

If hologram guy reached in and grabbed her heart somehow, and punctured it, she would not be walking around and acting all normal, she would be dead. Yet after that, and being clobbered in the head with a hammer, she can still run around and stuff.

And when Voyager gets back, they just leave the ship there and take off I guess, since no one says anything about it. Like maybe trying to contact the homeworld of the ship or investigating this species or this advanced hologram or their ship or anything. Nope, they just fly away.

The stuff with Seven and Harry was alright, but Wang can't act to save his life.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
deepspace10
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

This might have been mentioned before, but I think there's some pretty good visual storytelling in that Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan vs Darth Maul fight.

When those lasers close in that hallway, and all three of them get trapped temporarily. Character reactions really show the difference between three of them: Qui-Gon Jinn sits down, calms himself and meditates, like a Jedi he is. Darth Maul keeps pacing like an angry lion in a cage, thirsty for blood, like a Sith. And then young Obi-Wan tiptoes anxiously and impatiently, waiting for the lasers to come down.
Set Bookmark
tmpsantos
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 5:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Brilliant argument from @hobo. Using Borg technology seems to not be a problem for Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Ps
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

A bit infintile but funny the way Odo and Quark interact...
Set Bookmark
PS
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

Mostly agree with the review this time. I felt for Odo, realizing you made an error in judgement (even if it is not as severe as causing innocents to be executed) is a very unpleasant but sometimes necessary experience... 8-()
Set Bookmark
JLPsquared
Wed, Jan 4, 2017, 11:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

As for the movie, I found it absolutely boring. The Enterprise destruction was cool, but that is about the 20th enterprise destruction we have seen on screen so not particularly clever.

Now, Into Darkness is a flawed movie, no doubt, however, it is seriously fun on re-watch. whenever it is on TV I stop to watch it. I do not see see myself ever stopping to watch this again. There is just nothing fun and memorable.

another thing, it is one of the ugliest looking movies I have seen in a while. Lens flares suck, but JJ had an eye for how things looked on screen and I always find myself loving the look of his movies, but this one seemed soooo boring, brown, and bland. And what is the deal with Pines' haircut? YUCK.
Set Bookmark
JLPsquared
Wed, Jan 4, 2017, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

@Nolan,

I do not agree that the gay Sulu is obvious. Both my mom and brother do not "follow" star trek news, and after they saw the movie they thought the guy with Sulus daugher was his brother or something. They had no idea it was his lover until I told them.
Set Bookmark
JLPsquared
Wed, Jan 4, 2017, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

LOVED IT!! 1st 2 acts were OK to good, but man that last act was some of the best movie making I have seen in quite a while. Second best SW movie behind Empire.

One point to all the A-holes hating on Tarkin. I did not know he was CGI until AFTER i saw the movie. During the film I remember distinctly thinking to myself how incredible the lookalike actor they found to play Tarkin looks like the original. I had no idea it was CGI. If you think there was something wrong with him you brought some pre-conceived notions with you.

As for Leah, that wasn't even close to as good as Tarkin.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.