Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Wed, Aug 13, 2014, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

I find the sound editing in the webisodes is pretty low budget. It really draws attention to how important good sound editing is for the main series.

I also noted that the Canadian accents of the actors playing Tigh, Racetrack and Hoshi are much stronger in the webisodes and basically non-existent in the regular series. I wonder why that is and if it relates at all to sound editing.
Set Bookmark
PetetongLaw
Wed, Jun 4, 2014, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

I just re-watched this episode on Netflix and was really impressed with the way the production values have withstood the test of time.

I agree with the comments about Lt Neely. It's rare on Trek to have a red shirt who captivates your attention.
Set Bookmark
petetonglaw
Thu, May 8, 2014, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

After almost a year I finally got around to watching Star Trek Into Darkness. I was not expecting too much. I had read poor reviews from fans of the STWoK and I found the last movie silly. I ended up finding it worse than I could have imagined. A few key issues:

1. The key special effects sequence involves the crashing of a space ship into downtown San Francisco. The level of death and destruction is apocalyptic. Yet the film does not address it in anyway.

2. Kirk's death scene has no emotional resonance. Partly because he dies after a total of 3 hours of screen time in the movie franchise. Also the soundtrack is really lacking.

3. Uruha.

4. Pine's Kirk's cavalier attitude lacks the charm of Shatner's Kirk. He ends up just coming across as a douchebag and I cringed those scenes.

5. I love long shots. This movie has none. In fact the camera rarely stays on an actor's face for more than 2 seconds.
Set Bookmark
Petetonglaw
Thu, Dec 12, 2013, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Homecoming

"The action sequences and outdoor locations are expertly done under Winrich Kolbe's stellar direction." Rewatched this episode on netflix and found the action sequences and outdoor locations just do not withstand the test of time (20 years). Also, graffiti is a lame form of civil disobedience particularly for a society that has just lived through an 80 year brutal occupation.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Sun, Oct 20, 2013, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

I'm curious how it was decided that everyone in France would have British accents.
Set Bookmark
petetonglaw
Fri, Oct 18, 2013, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

I thought was some of the Enterprise's manoeuvres vis-a-vis the Romulans were a bit amateurish and the results were predictable (e.g. tipping off the Romulans that they were interested in the asteroid in the first place; entering the asteroid and exposing themselves to the risk of an attack).

Riker's broken rib scene in sickbay was a bit over the top.

Ensign Gates might be more of an android than Data. That extra couldn't even be bothered to appear in the slightest bit phased about piloting the ship into the narrow chasm of an asteroid.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Tue, Apr 2, 2013, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

The bridge for the USS Sutherland is sad, especially for a season opener. If they didn't have the cash to build a good set, the least they could have done was redressed the Enterprise Bridge a bit, or even the Enterprise battle bridge.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Sun, Mar 24, 2013, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Krola is a complete moron and prima facie appears unbelievable as a character, but then I thought about it more and figured Donald Rumsfield was probably also just as stupid and single-minded, so i guess it works.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Sun, Mar 24, 2013, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

It's interesting to compare these kind of simple yet very compelling TNG stories to Voyager episodes. Here we have tiny references to past episodes that only diehard fans would care for and casual viewers would not notice (e.g. Bruce Maddox) - it doesn't necessarily matter to the plot but it's a nice way to reward loyal viewers. Also, it lays the groundwork for Drumhead. TNG was great for allowing arcs to build without doing serialization. You can enjoy each one individually without seeing the others but if you watch them all they weave together quite nicely. Finally, we have the interaction between the main characters and the re-occurring ones (e.g. O'Brien's). TPTB for Voyager seem to think this doesn't work and chose to eliminate references to previous stories even where such omissions were actually to the point of distraction; rarely allowed for story arcs (particularly after Season 2) and for an odd reason had almost no re-occurring characters (again, particularly after Season 2). The lack of re-occurring characters is an issue because it really distracts from the realism of the show when everyone else on the ship is merely an extra who doesn't speak or interact with the 7 main characters. Obviously TNG had its fair share of extras mindlessly manning bridge and engineering consoles, but obviously there were the handful of other TNG crew (Ro, O'Brien, Ogawa, Barclay) who are not central to the plot but through their interaction with the main characters help to make the starship seem like an actual place where people live and work.
Set Bookmark
petetonglaw
Thu, Mar 21, 2013, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@Jack - I agree with you about Worf. It may have been better to leave him out or only give him a cameo. Worf fans got their fix from DS9 while including him in last two TNG movies created jarring plotholes (for fans anyway) and meant less time for the other TNG cast that we hadn't got to spend much time with.

When Insurrection and Nemesis came out I was eager to watch the film to see what had happened in the lives of my favourite characters. Especially in the 3-4 year gap between the films. So I ended up being quite disappointed when basically nothing had happened and it was just TNG Season 8 on a fancy new ship/soundstage. In the TOS films they made a point of giving the characters new jobs (e.g. Sulu on the Excelsior, Chekov on the Reliant). I don't know why it was so important to me but I really wanted to see the same thing happen to my TNG crew.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Wed, Mar 20, 2013, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Watching this episode today the thing that struck me was that Geordi senior team in Engineering is all men. Definitely would not be cast that way now.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Fri, Mar 15, 2013, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

@xaaos - Geordi has short man syndrome.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Thu, Mar 14, 2013, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

Just watched this episode now and I was really impressed by the camera work for the bridge scenes. There are interesting angles and continuous moving shots used which is a break a from the 3 camera format we so often saw in this series.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Fri, Mar 8, 2013, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

It seems to me that the space station and the Enterprise-D are not appropriately scaled.
Set Bookmark
PetetongLaw
Mon, Mar 4, 2013, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I was a young teenager when this movie was released and I waited for it with great anticipation basically from the moment I saw FIrst Contact (which rocked!). But sadly I view this movie as a colossal failure. Having waited two years I was really curious to see how the characters would have changed or evolved since the last film - who would be promoted or off the Enterprise, etc. - but sadly they just made it seem like nothing had happened at all (and the same is true for Nemesis to a large extent). I think this is indicative of Rick Berman's unchallenged helmship of the Star Trek franchise - no story arcs, no character evolutions,dismissiveness towards continuity and a belief that appealing to mass audiences at the expense of core fans is sustainable.
Set Bookmark
PeteTongLaw
Mon, Nov 19, 2012, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

It's hard to get over the lack of explosive decompression in the corridor when the forcefield gives way. Everyone should have been sucked into space.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.