Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 167 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

ramon wrote: "Heck we are getting closer and closer to holodeck technology already. Not sure how much VR you do, but the Virtuix Omni is a VERY rudimentary idea of the treadmill in place concept and they are even producing a second version. Combine that with replicated matter and transporter tech and it’s really not hard to
Imagine a holodeck."

@ramon:
Vr is similar to a holodeck? Us getting closer to holodeck tech? And you think transporters and matter replication are even remotely plausible? Especially in the near future as you appear to think? Don't make me laugh.

As far as I know vr involves putting contraptions on your body, a holodeck does not. It is doubtful matter replication and transporters are even possible within known physics.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ramon - which of a bazillion manuals official or fan made are you talking about? I have read about optical illusions and segmenting a simulation and treadmills. To me those explanations sound even more half-assed than somehow warping the space inside a holodeck. Warping space and warp bubbles are something known to possible in Star Trek's universe.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 2:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Ramon Ymalay wrote:

"IT HAS REALISTIC TURBOLIFT SHAFTS!!!"

Could it be the Discovery's turbolift shafts are inside a warp bubble inside the ship? Such interior bubbles would also explain how holodecks can contain a space larger than the holodeck itself.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 4:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@nolan
You are entirely right, I used one specific example about a screw up on more personal than professional level. I don't believe in perfect people who never screw up or situations where you aren't forced to do something not by the books. Having said that, I does sometimes look as though writers make a character screw up only get the away with it in an implausible matter. I guess some writers can't figure out a better way to write a story than to pull a story out of their butt-hole at times. Then again no one is perfect.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Nolan:

"Starfleet, as originally designed, was a system where the excellent are rewarded and highlighted and the consistent screw ups drowned out, " watch Tapestry again. Some of Star Fleet's best wouldn't have gotten where they got without f*cking up and learning from it.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@austin - I felt like that too when saw the first season and nearly gave up on Discovery. You do realize TNG did the same to TOS, don't you? TNG didn't just update TOS. Some of its updates contradict TOS too. Bumpy vs non bumpy Klingons. Or what about warp scale? It changed too. Personally I liked TNG, DS9 and VOY. Not surprising as the where all late 80's to late 90's series which didn't have huge updates from incarnation to incarnation. When I watched TOS on Netflix in full I was surprised at how silly, boring, dated, and cheap it could be. Most episodes were watchable if only because I could forgive many of those short comings due to the series being at least 20 years older than TNG. And 40 years old when I watched it. Oh, and it helped I saw few eps when I was younger. Even then I noticed the differences.
Set Bookmark
peter swinkels
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

(it could be)
Set Bookmark
peter swinkels
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@mac:
“ First off, how big is the Discovery? It doesn't feel like that turbolift room could fit on the ship. Is it bigger on the inside?”

It could handwaved with subspace and warp bubbles inside the ship itself. It would also explain how a world inside a holosimulation could be bigger than the holodeck it’s in. Personally I would find that a creepy notion being on a ship with warp bubbles in it... and magnetically sealed bottles of antimatter. (warp core)
Set Bookmark
peter swinkels
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 2:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

This was a unexpectedly above average episode of Discovery with good action, morals and execution. I don’t know when this episode was written and how much later it was filmed. While Discovery’s beginnings lie well before the current Corona and political events the story’s morals and dilemma’s fit fairly well. Admittedly you have look for parallels and not apply them to strictly. At its best Star Trek always managed to be provide relevant insight into the society of the time a story was written. On a more specific note, I really loved the message about communicating and the TOS ending music was a nice touch. And say what you will about the magical DNA and Burk, poor Su’kal! That must have been a horrible shock, his family and then his mother dying possibly due to his childlike urge to explore the ship’s controls. And that dilithium planet looked like Hell itself. No wonder he didn’t want to leave his safe and comfy virtual world.
Set Bookmark
peter swinkels
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

“ but I could've simply missed it because of this series' tendency to race through dialogue scenes to get to emotional beats and action sequences.) ”

Either I am projecting your words back onto you or you may really be racing to conclusions yourself. I shouldn’t be quick to jump to conclusions I guess. Some things need more time and patience than others.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I found this ep boring, however I am glad there still is some kind of Star Trek on tv and I understand and can live with most updates. All incarnations had their issues. Having said that I don't know what to make of Disco even though I am trying to accept it as an updated Star Trek, older Treks have started looking surprisingly dated. Not in bad way per se, but noticable.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 2:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Darn spelling errors: "characters'" and "there are two".
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Quote from the review: "We once again reduce a massive galactic crisis down to a one-character play, which feels way out of scale compared to the consequences."

There have been stories where things were presented in such a way to show the viewer a character's warped perspective on his/her reality. Sometimes this is done in a blindingly obvious way (think children's cartoons depicting a characters fantasies.) and sometimes it's done in a less obvious way (I believe DS9 and TNG did this a few times) but it is made pretty clear at the episode's onset.

I think there two general possibilites here broadly speaking, on one extreme the writers have absolutely no idea of what they are doing and presenting us with poorly written drivel. On the other extreme, they may have written a for more clever and subtle story than we expected and therefore fail to look deeper into any deeper meanings hidden in the story. The latter of course brings with it the risk of seeing things that aren't there and misinterpreting the intent behind the story. E.g., mere entertainment instead of some hidden message.

As the saying (in Dutch at least) goes, the truth is probably somewhere in the middle.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 6:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I hate being negative, but I was mostly like wtf is the episode about?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Nov 10, 2020, 3:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

@Booming: I see. thx.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Nov 7, 2020, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

@Booming, were you replying to my Titan/Earth comment? If so you might want to use @Peter Swinkels. It makes it easier to see who is replying to who.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 2:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

No communication between Titan and Earth? I dunno but shouldn’t it be possible to communicate albeit with a few hours delay? And intra solar system travel should be possible even without warp... Any opinions anyone?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Wed, Nov 4, 2020, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Alright if Discovery keeps this up they’re on the right track. Initally I was like “omfg, what did they do to Star Trek?!” I have accepted the changes and thought this ep was pretty interesting. 8/10
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Nov 3, 2020, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

This episode was pretty good, and the main actors did a pretty good job acting. The action was also well done. While Discovery isn't exactly what I had hoped keeping in mind it is supposed to be Star Trek I think I can learn to accept it as it is.

Also, why is the reviewer making such a big deal of those flapdoors? If we're gonna nitpick like that I could throw a fit over that surprisingly 20st century looking mining machine that was in view for a few secs!
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Nov 3, 2020, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

watchted it - meh, kinda like the newer Star Wars. Looks nice and sounds nice. Entertained me for 45 minutes. But is it Star Trek? And is it really worth watching?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

bored - sounds like mindless but entertaining action - should give it a watch. It would make a nice distraction.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

it’s “du jour”

not sure why I went here other than being bored

Discovery was a massive disappointment to me and it surprises me to learn it hasn’t been canceled. It deserved that to happen to it imho.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 3:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

A new Star Trek cartoon for the first time in over 40 years? Interesting. A third season for Star Trek Discovery? I gave up on that garbage pretending to be Star Trek related after season two and thought it had been canceled.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars S1: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

This movie has the lowest rating here. You should review the christmas special and rip it to shreds. :-)
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Apparently the idea of dinosaurs evolving a technological civilization has been done before. Perhaps the writers were inspired by this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silurian_(Doctor_Who)
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.