Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,291 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 52
Set Bookmark
Paul Hardwick
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I watched this episode today for the first time since I was a kid and I was genuinely impressed with the build up. Very eerie setting and the kids playing havoc with the new grups by throwing things at them at singing the "nyah nyah, na nyah nyah" was just brilliant. When the zombie like creature first enters at the start when Bones takes an uncharacteristic interest in the wheel of trike was an excellent action sequence with some great (for the day) makeup.

The premise is both intriguing and absurd. With a little more care with the writing, perhaps allowing some better character development and maybe playing off the whole Kirk, Miri and Jand love triangle with more aplomb may have led this episode becoming a true classic.

Unfortunately we have some jarring dialogue (Bones : I've never seen so much bacteria, enterprise, send down some virus scanners!) and kirks final speech is pretty lame. The ending left me agog with the Enterprise leaving orbit and leaving the kids there on the planet!

So a great start to the episode but it doesn't meet its promise of a true classic.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Yeah, I noticed Janeway's hair in this one. Made me think that a far better episode would have been set in the Voyager's hairdressing salon. Perhaps they could have developed a bromance between Kim and Parris under the hair dryers?
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"It's pon farr night at the Vulcan nightclub."

Wow. Just wow. I wonder what that's like.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

My favorite part of this episode is how abrupt and trite Picard's farewell is to all the Romulan kids.

--AFTER EVERYTHING FAILS COLOSSALLY--

Picard: "What will you do now"

Romulan chick: "What we have always done. Continue to teach. Pass on the ideals to a new generation. Work for the day when new thoughts--- [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Yeah yeah yeah, move on with it you dumb bitch I've got to get back to my ship already."] ---may be spoken aloud."

Picard (now in stiff diplomat mode): "The federation will welcome that day" [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Fat chance. Ugh I can't stand naive hippie chicks... god damn it, the federation's gotta stop sending me to these stupid, utterly naive 'movements'"]]

Data: (programmed to get Picard out of these situations): "Captain, we will need to reach our transport site in 14 minutes."

Picard: (relieved) [[THINKING TO HIMSELF: well, this is awkward, what should I say to these morons. gotta say something...um...]] "I wish you well." (moves away sheepishly).

Romulan kids: "Thank you. Thanks. Thank you captain." [[standing around all awkward and shit]]


---Moments later the Tal Shiar shock troops move in and torture or exterminate all the remaining dissidents. Their cries of pain reverberate up the caves and throughout the empire.---
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I just have to say, Robert Beltran is a very, very good actor. Actually, I think he is superb. Definitely the best part of the show, in my opinion, and it's a shame they didn't use him more...even though they used him a fair amount.

I am surprised that he hasn't had a bigger career, but I wish him the very best for the future.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

the whole odo / kira relationship never worked. i'm sorry, but it's just flat. not believable. no chemistry. nothing. it's awful really.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Overtones of the Master & Margarita - ‘manuscripts don’t burn’.

Too many unexplained things by those mysterious prophets - what happened to those JemHadar ships by the way? - and a touch too much over acting.

Great to see the characters portray humans.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

No one seems to have spotted it (or mentioned it anyway) so here we go... nice Easter egg at the start. Quark is selling a weapon in the holo suite and it’s serial number is CRM 114. A reference to Dr Strangelove. And of course, nuclear weapons. Also referenced in Back to the Future (Marty hooking up his guitar to that huge amp).
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Sorry I forgot -

Sisko kicking Worf’s arse. ‘You have your orders, dismissed!’
That was good. Don’t see that in ST much.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Not clear to me why they bothered with the disembodied voice part for the messages. Didn’t do anything for the story.

Pretty grim transporter death... and no one even tried to stop Kira looking at her. Of course she’d have said no, but surely someone would say, ‘are you sure you want to see her..?’
Just before the accident we had some banter that was very out of place. Worf and Dax were treating this as a routine transport, but they were intercepting someone who could possibly be murdered. Very blasé.

Pregnant woman gets into multiple fights and risks her baby to seek revenge. That’s just plain stupid behaviour.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

On and not one.
Too and not to.

Never seen an error before in your writings Jammer and here we have 2! A rarity!

I like Rom’s character in this, he’s pulling himself up from the bootstraps despite being shot down by Quark and others at every opportunity. He received no encouragement or welcome from the staffers on the day shift (familiar feeling for me) despite his excitement at being there.

Some funny moments ‘I don’t waste time talking to people like everyone else seems to’ and self awareness ‘Not that anyone wants to talk to me.’

I was rooting for him. And got his deserved promotion.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

First of all, thanks to Elliott for that review, especially the reference to ‘stone etchings’.

“Yes I carved these with a phaser.”
Riker.

A few interesting points.
1) Korinas, if that is her real name, Captain Garrett on Yesterday’s Enterprise. Brilliant casting.
2) No way that Thomas would just be allowed on another ship after 8 years with no human contact.
3) That beard thing, how did he keep a straight face?

Skywalker. You really are a military officer aren’t you? Lot to think about isn’t there?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I just want to give a shout out to McFadden’a acting in this episode. The ‘that’s extraordinary’ line when she is basically looking at a lightbulb, and being a doctor, probably wouldn’t really know what she was looking at in any case, is completely believable. I just really admire that she could look at that and be so convincing.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Watched this again today. This episode gets better each time. One parallel I didn’t notice was that Boothby & Picard say exactly the same thing. “I just made sure you listened to yourself.”

Thought that was a great bit of writing. Simple, yet effective.

It demonstrates that Picard looks up to Boothby so much that he wants to emulate him.

The punishment is fairly typical - back to day 00. Wesley takes that well. However that is pretty light for a death taking place. Despite impassioned pleas. They should have all been expelled, Wesley was right about that. Locarno should have faced charges for manslaughter. It was his responsibility. Then there was the cover up. All in all, fairly irredeemable actions after years of training in leadership, integrity and taking responsibility.

Wesley shouldn’t need to have been reminded of all that.

Then there was the throwing under the bus. That was pretty despicable. To say that, with his father watching on. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, May 9, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It was a good episode right up until Riker MURDERED those two people.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius. Thank you.

All I can say is ‘wow’. Loved it.

Will be watching it again.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Artymiss

You could well be right, she could know something, that was a very specific situation. However that would show she had knowledge of the future too. But...she did seem to be inspired by the ice, maybe that was a coincidence.

What's frustrating is that it's already aired in the US and I have to keep avoiding the discussion on this site!

The theme about wanting a second chance to do things afresh... isn't that what the Orville actually is? TNG refreshed? Seth made a pitch with CBS for a series, but maybe this is his 'second chance'.

Praying for a new season - otherwise life will be just Discovery to watch. Just Discovery! Imagine.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Artymiss

Agreed. This must have some effect. Interesting decision she took. The little speech by Ed the end (sorry for the next 5 years) and that future Kelly hadn’t reached any of her goals must have swayed past Kelly away from him.

This means that their logic was wrong. They say ‘oh we know this will work because you have no memory of it.’ However you could say that the past hasn’t been written yet... if the future will change as a result of this, then it’s possible that Isaac never brought her forward, which means she never learns about her future, so she can’t go back and change it.

A lot to unpack there!

Yes 6 days and counting for me.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 3:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I really enjoyed this. The story has a hell of a twist - who saw that coming? - despite the more predictable plot points during the episode. For me the laugh out loud moment was the video game scene, where one character is walking the wrong way and Ed can't do anything about it. Acute observation. Plus your opponent finds it easy.

Again, in the UK, so a week behind, I have no idea what they're going to do about this - and it will be something - so can't wait to see.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@James Smith

Thanks for replying James. Ok, fair points. I'll check out those episodes again. Yes, I'm out too, but it has become a bit of a slow-motion-car-crash where you can watch to see how much damage they're going to do. So I may end up watching in the end!

You're right - the cop out ending is so lazy. What they must have decided was 'let's do whatever we want, because we can always make it classified', which goes against what us ST fans believe in. I'm surprised Jammer has swallowed this one - and again, I agree with you, 1 star episode maximum. The space battle which is so hard to understand you can actually go away from it for a while to watch two characters have a chat (and take their time about it) as nothing has changed when you get back anyway! This isn't Star Trek.

It's not clever, it's not inspirational, it's not thoughtful, it's not insightful, it's not full of characters you care about and it doesn't make you wish you were on that ship. Because if you were, you'd spend your days getting interrupted by Burnham or her not doing what you just told her to do.

TNG was all those things. Can't see Disco getting there.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

One thing not mentioned that is not Star Trek was the belittling and condescending way officers spoke to each other at the start of the episode - a lazy way to create tension and urgency in the story. Sarcastic comments like ‘Are you trying to kill her?’ Have no place in ST, and typified just some of the poor universe creation in this show.

There’s a long list of what else is wrong with this ST world which is a huge shame really. I don’t think I’ll be watching season 3. However the first two seasons of both TNG and Voyager were truly awful, so maybe we could see an improvement.
Set Bookmark
Paul G
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Let's imagine you're doing your job as a doctor, helping someone, and 5 seconds later you're murdered.
After being miraculously brought back to life, you'd still be in shock. Mega PTSD.
Not wanting to be in the same room as someone else. Probably not wanting a boyfriend, nor friends. Just wanting to be left alone. Probably for years.....

Well, they really could have done better with Culber.
I agree with kinematic and the others on this.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Let's hope Michelle makes a better showrunner. She doesn't exactly have much experience, but at least she *is* primarily a writer. Kurtzman, on the other hand, has only a couple writing credits in this century and around one million producer credits. At this very moment the guy is producing 5 movies and several TV shows. How anyone can accomplish that in addition to writing, editing, showrunning, and directing is beyond me.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I thought this season was coming along rather nicely, with its own unique voice and approach to storytelling, up until Red Angel stuff hit us full force, sometime around when Momma Burnham showed up. Since then, these last, say, 4-5 episodes were going down the drain, and quickly. The show abandoned the episodic structure of the earlier two thirds of the season and dived headlong into the narrative and character black hole that is the Control/Red Angel plot. Pathos increased exponentially, tears and fake earnestness flowed like blood at the Red Wedding, outrageous plot points started piling atop one another, and it all culminated in a gigantic space battle that was, like any Michael Bay movie, at the same time a marvel of technical expertise and a textbook example of style without substance or character.

Even upon rewatch, I am still not sure which pew-pew beams are supposed to hit Discovery and Enterprise and which ones are actually fired by the two ships. There is no strategy or tactics to the battle, just thousands of light pixels exploding everywhere. Compare this to any of BSG space battles, which were done on a vastly smaller budget. BSG also had a lot of smaller craft flying around, it had that awesome looking flak barrier that seemed to be present around Big-E and Disco as well -- but there is no comparison. BSG battles were masterpieces of pacing, action, storytelling, and character beats. This thing... ugh.

And that ending, sweet Roberta, that ending. For months Kurtzman had been all around the various media outlets, talking about how the ending will explain any and all canon inconsistencies (which -- canon, I mean -- is rather low on my list of priorities, so I never exactly needed an explanation, but fine, whatever). The explanation: they swore never to talk about it. And Starfleet apparently abandoned perfectly workable and reliable technology like, oh I don't know, spore drive and time travel because, hey, why not? There may be some bad guys who could misuse it, so let's pretend it doesn't exist.

Though, why stop there? I vote for the retirement of antimatter energy production and transporters! They could be abused in a million ways. Oh, and a note to the future Federation engineers: DO NOT DESIGN HOLODECKS!!! Those damn things abuse themselves all the time, not to mention that they seem intent on creating self-aware AIs every now and then. It's only a matter of time before a 20th century afficionado embarks on a Terminator-style holo-adventure with a sentient Arnold replica, and the future is screwed. You were warned. Arnold did say he'd be back.

On a side note: after all is said done, what was with all those strange Borg callbacks that amounted to nothing? Sentient fusing of organic and artificial, green nano-technology injected into the body that assimilates the host (kinda), "struggle is pointless"... What the hell was all that? It's way too reminiscent of the established Borg lore to be a mere coincidence... yet that's exactly what it seems to be from an in-universe standpoint.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Trent
"Can someone explain the probe encountered over Kaminar? "

Feels to me like there was some heavy behind-the-scenes rejiggering of the plotlines after the dismissal of the previous showrunners, which happened somewhere early in the season. I don't think all the pieces neatly fall in as we would like.
Next ►Page 1 of 52
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.