Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,450 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 58
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 6:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Having Paris turn up dates LD to an exact year where Picard has left and the Romulans need help... not sure how they’ll tie this together. Also Voy being back means some tasty Borg tech they borrowed from the future. When’s that turning up?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 5:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

Spot on review.
(Got a ‘the the’ to edit Jammer)
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 12:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Only a 3 star outing but a 4 for season 1, a few laugh out loud moments (number 1? What? Good work and well done - every 5 seconds) Worf’s we will crush them approach to friendly games etc. The ship has a feel of the Love Boat with only the laughter track missing.

The talking about Minuet in front of her face about how realistic she was - what to say about this... the Doc would have had an embolism. Seemed sexist, hologram-ist(?) and inappropriate.

The plot - weak. And no mention by anyone of the voice of the computer being male for the countdown, not Majel. This was Michael Dorn btw. It didn’t sound right, glad they binned this.

Upgrades to the Holodeck continuity- apparently the episodes were shot in a different order so the big goodbye was made after the upgrades hence some confusion. Why I don’t know.

Amazingly we do see Minuet again... briefly.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Sat, Aug 14, 2021, 2:50am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

The Doctor hopes that Janeway is spinning in her grave. Apparently, her final resting place is in Stanley's Death Park, in one of those fancy spinning coffins.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

The writers of this episode obviously don't know the meaning of the word prodigal. Obviously, they must have heard the story of the prodigal son and assumed, as many people do, that the word prodigal means "returned", but it actually means "wasteful" or "extravagant", which has absolutely nothing to do with this episode.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jul 22, 2021, 10:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

What ever happened to Hutchenson??? I think they should have at least shown at the end his fate. Dead, or alive and back to his usual happy self....
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Mon, Jul 19, 2021, 3:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Archer is a freakin' genius. How else would you describe a captain who would dock his ship, with a gang of augmented murderers who got their ship, by taking out an entire crew of Klingons. I mean, there is no way that they're going to use that docking connection to invade and assault your ship.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Mon, Jul 19, 2021, 2:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: E2

What is up with "Enterprise" and the plasma injectors? They appear to be the most essential part of the ship. But, they don't have any extras? They are small, portable, and are, apparently, standardized across ship designs and races. Why does the Enterprise not have a storage closet filled with them?
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Mon, Jul 19, 2021, 1:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Damage

"Enterprise" goes from worse to worse. If that crew ever made it home and if they encountered any other races, they had to issue a warning about the marauders called humans. Archer is a dirty, filthy space pirate and the worst representative that humanity could have sent out into the galaxy. Apparently, his greatest "strength" is his ability to rationalize any act, no matter how repugnant. He's the embodiment of everything that's wrong with "Enterprise".
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 11:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Archer is the worst of captains. He's not the first Earth starship captain. So, you would think that he would have learned by example (and by reason) not to take his pet into someone else's house. His reasoning is that he transmitted the dog's genome to his hosts and if they had a problem, they should have told him not to bring it along. Is it reasonable to assume that an invitation includes your pet? No. It's like Archer arriving on Betazed, being invited to a diplomatic function, at the 5th House and being insulted, because his hosts took offense at him lighting up a cigar and using the Sacred Chalice of Riix as an ashtray. Some things are just, obviously, not done in someone else's house. He never seems to learn his lesson.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 2:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

It wasn't a bad episode. But, that count to warp 5 was... anticlimactic.
Set Bookmark
Paul Allen
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 3:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

A bad rip-off of TNG's "Genesis", with some Johnny Bravo aliens thrown in for comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 11:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I love the surrealist aspect of this episode. It's really unique in the franchise. Surreal imagery, surreal staging, surreal dialogue. Yet somehow it works and it's captivating.

This episode captures why I really like the 2nd season. You could tell the writers were really trying to do all sorts of different things, taking risks, to make the series unique and pull it away from the original series 2.0 that the 1st season was shaping out to be. A lot of people talk about the third season as being the first real season when things come together and become the TNG we all love. But for me it's really the 2nd season when this happens....albeit still with those spandexy uniforms...
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sun, May 30, 2021, 5:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

It must be so dispiriting working for Janeway. It Disney matter if she sets up her own mini Think Tank, it’ll be her who has the solution... the others must think ‘why bother?’

And if Seven is such a genius why didn’t she have a solution?

I think Janeway is a poor leader, never seeks to allow her crew to solve problems. I think Picard, in contrast, would actually know the solution but he would let his crew tell him, allowing them to think they came up with it.

That’s real leadership.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, May 26, 2021, 5:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: On a Tragic Tuesday Morning

I wonder if 20 years on you still feel that America will recover? Incredibly you've still not left Afghanistan. I would say that it hasn't recovered from it and never will.

Yes they were very innocent times. A few of the films released at the time were about how humdrum everyday life was - the Matrix, Office Space, Fight Club... and how people wished for something more. They got what they wanted unfortunately.

In retrospect, this was not an act of war but a terrorist attack which was successful in that it indeed stoked terror into the hearts of many and continues to do so. In Europe we have been undergoing terrorist attacks for decades.

Politically, I don't see how or why the US could invoke Article 5 and get NATO involved... I don't think this was the correct response. Far more lives were lost after the attack itself in Afghanistan and all for nothing, really.

Looking at your so-called former President Trump and his tendency to sow fear in to citizens (except about pandemics, where everything was fine), the US has probably never been weaker on the global stage and Russia holds it in contempt. The 'death...unimaginable' is actually the scariest part. Trump's fiddling was killing 1000s a day through inaction. Yet some Americans still voted for him and still believe the election was rigged (who claims this? let's see, oh, Trump... he can always be relied upon - good as his word, that guy).

This is just how things appear to me from Europe and following US news for the last few years.

I remember seeing the 2nd plane hit live on television and felt a chill up the spine that not only was this a terrorist attack like something from a film, the Pentagon attack demonstrated its scale and planning. Someone has taken the time to update home made videos of the twin towers from SD to HD and you can see people jumping very clearly. All on YouTube.

The polarisation of America in the last few decades has caused a lot of your problems where one group will not co-operate with the other no matter how reasonable it seems to do so. People misuse the word 'freedom' to mean they can do anything they like... for example, risk spreading Covid by not wearing a mask. It's actually quite painful to watch such stupidity from such a great nation.

The US is heading towards a dystopia.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, May 26, 2021, 4:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Trek or Wars, Different Bob

Yes, no mention anywhere as far as I can tell and something that confused me. 39 years stuck, gets himself out. Goes right back in. Why? I feel like I'm missing something obvious here...

Apart from that, it was ok.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, May 23, 2021, 12:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

The only problem I have with this episode is a pretty big one in my mind:

The connection between the parasite little brother storyline and Data's storyline. The needed to be connected in the sense that Data (and his father) SHOULD NOT ALLOW ANY RISK OF LIFE to happen to the little parasite brother boy in sickbay. Soong should have informed Data that there was no risk to the boy, since he has scheduled the Enterprise to divert in time. Or, even better, Soong could know--through Data--what the little boy was suffering from and give him an antidote when Data first arrived on Soong's planet ("Oh, but here's an antidote just in case you don't reach that staircase of yours in time my boy..."). You could make it one step better by having Lore not care about Data returning to the Enterprise--wanting him to stay for his own emotional reasons, or Lore could even smash the antidote in a fit of rage.

Whatever...

The only thing I'm driving at is that Data (and Soong) seem to be quite callous at not considering the child's life being endangered by the diversion of the Enterprise. There is simply no mention of it. The writers could have used the opportunity to nicely tie in the Data/Lore storyline and keep Soong and Data sympathetic to the child's life.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, May 20, 2021, 5:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Apart from the 0700 thing there was a mistake in his dream of when he was a boy... Janeway says 30 years, not days.

Also ‘Eugene’ is obviously a reference to Gene Roddenberry who himself gave Wesley Crusher the middle name Eugene.

But no doubt you already know that.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, May 17, 2021, 6:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

An obvious question that Janeway didn’t ask - where did 8472 get their intelligence? The answer to that could have been so interesting. How did they know who Boothby was and know so many exact details? Missed a trick there.

Next up - wherever they got their information from, it was out of date. Those uniforms were wrong.

Bugged me.
Set Bookmark
Paul F
Sat, May 15, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer really loves the word “arbitrary” just a little too much. Every time he uses the word in a review I’m going to down a shot of gin from now on.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

The look Janeway gives Chakotay when the Doc is answering her questions... laugh out loud moment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Before watching checked Jammers score - assumed it must be really good for 3.5 stars!

Snooze fest that was laughable and not believable in many places.

Already forgotten it.

None of it made sense and worse, I wasn’t made to care.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Mar 27, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

Interesting review Elliott and bizarre ending on about Biden.

The main thing is he’s not Trump who is about as antithetical to Star Trek as Dawson’s Creek. The guy only lies, has no shame, takes no responsibility yet seeks credit, bullies, abuses, is corrupt and lacks empathy. Other than that he makes a great leader.

Even after the election he incited a crowd to attack your Capitol because he didn’t like the result, insisting it must have been a fraudulent election. He still is playing that card now.

His past is riddled with scandal. He likely collided with foreign governments, he was happy to see bounties placed on US soldiers’ heads, he didn’t attend a memorial to war dead because it was raining... the list goes on. How he has any support is beyond my understanding.

Good luck.

Regarding the actual episode: best quote by the Doc was him describing Zimmerman as arrogant and condescending and how could anyone be like that?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 4:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Peter. Actually some continuity here - look out for Naomi Wildman. Not a coincidence we’ve just met a new officer.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 9:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I love what you do Jammer and I have immmmmmense respect for your work. So I mean this in the best possible spirit. It’s hard to come across a rating and review like this one and not feel you have a bias against TNG. Considering the quality of this episode - and how much my kids loved it the other day - but especially considering the quality of this episode as compared to the vast majority of Discovery episodes, it’s hard to square the consistently generous ratings you’ve given to Discovery. Sure the special effects are nice, but the writing is consistently terrible (my opinion, I’ll grant) and nowhere near the standard of TNG. Leaving the other series aside, comparing these two on your site feels weird. If this is 1.5 then there should be a whole lot more disco episodes with a similar or lower rating. IMHO of course!
Next ►Page 1 of 58
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.