Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,300 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 52
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I'll just leave this here:

Tuvok: "It is illogical to dwell on matters beyond your control. It will only serve to heighten your anxiety."

@MidshipmanNorris: three cheers.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi:
"ST:Picard is a bit different in this respect, because it supposedly continues the story of our beloved TNG captain. But is it really convincing? Can you really believe that STP's world is a direct continuation of the world of TNG and DS9 and Nemesis? Does STP's Picard seem like a future version of the person we know from previous installments?"

The answer to all your questions is "yes".

Yes, it is convincing. Yes, I do believe that STP's world is a direct continuation of the world of TNG and DS9. Yes, STP's Picard does seem like a future version of the person we knew.

Some 26 years have passed since the show, and 18 since Nemesis. Picard still has that unshakeable moral center, but he's weary and tired by the darker turn of Starfleet (more on that later) and, well, his own advanced age. But it's still unmistakably him!

As for Federation and Starfleet, I find the insistence that STP depicts a dystopian future so overblown that it borders on silly. Have you guys seen some of the shenanigans these organisations were up to back in day? You know, like DS9's Section 31, Sisko's behavior in "In the Pale Moonlight" and while hunting Eddington, and all the crazy/corrupt admirals gracing our screens since 1960s!?

And STP is dystopian now? Pffft. Yeah, I find it very convincing that the Federation might take a more isolationist attitude after hundreds of millions, if not billions, had died in the Dominion War and Starfleet itself had been severely decimated, both in ships and personnel. And even so, nothing we've seen in these three episodes, tells me that the Federation is now EVIL! or that it doesn't give a damn about anything anymore or that it's dangerously close to being irredeemable. Talk about exaggerating.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Picard is actually 94 :)

Now that the opening act is over, I can say that I rather enjoyed these three episodes. Not groundbreaking, no, but very solid. I am interested in finding out what happens next, I like the characters presented so far and I find the mystery sufficiently... well, mysterious, I guess. Let's hope they actually do something worthwhile with it and we don't end up with another one of Kurtzan's and Abrams's patented mystery boxes that don't go anywhere.

Fandom is whiny as always, but that comes with the territory, so nothing new there.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

A completely unmemorable episode.

Regarding the F-bomb: why? Why? Unnecessary.

However that wasn’t the only one. There was an Irish one too if anyone spotted it... the cheeky feckers. That’s an Irish way to swear without swearing. Circa 1994. Why the hell would a Romulan use that in 2399 or whatever it is? Jarring.
Set Bookmark
John Paul
Wed, Dec 4, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Not a good episode but the Essentialists are absolutely right and if I were unlucky enough to live in the 24th century (though it's already pretty unlucky being born in the late 20th UK, rather than the 2nd century BC Rome or 17th century France ) I'd certainly join them.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Nov 18, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

the kid is a terrible actor.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

And you’re just a whiner.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

It's a neat episode, but it just falls short. A perfect example of the missed opportunities of this series:

In a nutshell, it's too cynical. Once again the voyager crew outwits an alien adversary and then, sayonara, they're on their way to the next episode. It's a plot driven episode with no emotional weight or moral and it's a shame because these things could have easily been woven in.

At the end, Chakotay should have reasoned with them, explaining that they can't live their lives in paranoia about other people, that not all races are the same, and that they can be friends etc. Outwit and defeat the enemy, and then use it as an opportunity to redeem them and bring humanity to them. Chakotay should have been like: "look, we can kill you all right now, but we won't, because that's not who we are! We come in peace, we mean you no harm! You cannot judge other people to be the same, let's be friends! I love you!" Then the aliens could come back and have one of those little cocktail party things they do in star trek and the final scenes could be the aliens thanking everyone with really happy dreams... each dream is different, except Kim still winds up with seven.

That would be cool.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I'm going off memory here so I may be wrong, but,

It never quite sit with me well that the voyager crew basically left that alien guy (the guy who traded in the negative emotions and "caused" the violence) in the hands of that planet's twisted and evil justice and morality system, probably to be locked away forever, simply for the "crime" of thinking bad thoughts.

It was like, "This is horrible! Thoughtcrimes! How utterly barbaric and Orwellian and evil, we've got to find a way to rescue B'Ellana!"

--after saving b'ellana--

"yeah, we found the guy who had the negative thoughts we're gonna turn him over to you to punish horrifically. have a nice day, see yah later!"

Just didn't seem noble.
Set Bookmark
Paul Hardwick
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I watched this episode today for the first time since I was a kid and I was genuinely impressed with the build up. Very eerie setting and the kids playing havoc with the new grups by throwing things at them at singing the "nyah nyah, na nyah nyah" was just brilliant. When the zombie like creature first enters at the start when Bones takes an uncharacteristic interest in the wheel of trike was an excellent action sequence with some great (for the day) makeup.

The premise is both intriguing and absurd. With a little more care with the writing, perhaps allowing some better character development and maybe playing off the whole Kirk, Miri and Jand love triangle with more aplomb may have led this episode becoming a true classic.

Unfortunately we have some jarring dialogue (Bones : I've never seen so much bacteria, enterprise, send down some virus scanners!) and kirks final speech is pretty lame. The ending left me agog with the Enterprise leaving orbit and leaving the kids there on the planet!

So a great start to the episode but it doesn't meet its promise of a true classic.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Yeah, I noticed Janeway's hair in this one. Made me think that a far better episode would have been set in the Voyager's hairdressing salon. Perhaps they could have developed a bromance between Kim and Parris under the hair dryers?
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 10:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"It's pon farr night at the Vulcan nightclub."

Wow. Just wow. I wonder what that's like.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

My favorite part of this episode is how abrupt and trite Picard's farewell is to all the Romulan kids.

--AFTER EVERYTHING FAILS COLOSSALLY--

Picard: "What will you do now"

Romulan chick: "What we have always done. Continue to teach. Pass on the ideals to a new generation. Work for the day when new thoughts--- [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Yeah yeah yeah, move on with it you dumb bitch I've got to get back to my ship already."] ---may be spoken aloud."

Picard (now in stiff diplomat mode): "The federation will welcome that day" [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Fat chance. Ugh I can't stand naive hippie chicks... god damn it, the federation's gotta stop sending me to these stupid, utterly naive 'movements'"]]

Data: (programmed to get Picard out of these situations): "Captain, we will need to reach our transport site in 14 minutes."

Picard: (relieved) [[THINKING TO HIMSELF: well, this is awkward, what should I say to these morons. gotta say something...um...]] "I wish you well." (moves away sheepishly).

Romulan kids: "Thank you. Thanks. Thank you captain." [[standing around all awkward and shit]]


---Moments later the Tal Shiar shock troops move in and torture or exterminate all the remaining dissidents. Their cries of pain reverberate up the caves and throughout the empire.---
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I just have to say, Robert Beltran is a very, very good actor. Actually, I think he is superb. Definitely the best part of the show, in my opinion, and it's a shame they didn't use him more...even though they used him a fair amount.

I am surprised that he hasn't had a bigger career, but I wish him the very best for the future.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

the whole odo / kira relationship never worked. i'm sorry, but it's just flat. not believable. no chemistry. nothing. it's awful really.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Overtones of the Master & Margarita - ‘manuscripts don’t burn’.

Too many unexplained things by those mysterious prophets - what happened to those JemHadar ships by the way? - and a touch too much over acting.

Great to see the characters portray humans.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

No one seems to have spotted it (or mentioned it anyway) so here we go... nice Easter egg at the start. Quark is selling a weapon in the holo suite and it’s serial number is CRM 114. A reference to Dr Strangelove. And of course, nuclear weapons. Also referenced in Back to the Future (Marty hooking up his guitar to that huge amp).
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Sorry I forgot -

Sisko kicking Worf’s arse. ‘You have your orders, dismissed!’
That was good. Don’t see that in ST much.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Not clear to me why they bothered with the disembodied voice part for the messages. Didn’t do anything for the story.

Pretty grim transporter death... and no one even tried to stop Kira looking at her. Of course she’d have said no, but surely someone would say, ‘are you sure you want to see her..?’
Just before the accident we had some banter that was very out of place. Worf and Dax were treating this as a routine transport, but they were intercepting someone who could possibly be murdered. Very blasé.

Pregnant woman gets into multiple fights and risks her baby to seek revenge. That’s just plain stupid behaviour.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 4:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

On and not one.
Too and not to.

Never seen an error before in your writings Jammer and here we have 2! A rarity!

I like Rom’s character in this, he’s pulling himself up from the bootstraps despite being shot down by Quark and others at every opportunity. He received no encouragement or welcome from the staffers on the day shift (familiar feeling for me) despite his excitement at being there.

Some funny moments ‘I don’t waste time talking to people like everyone else seems to’ and self awareness ‘Not that anyone wants to talk to me.’

I was rooting for him. And got his deserved promotion.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

First of all, thanks to Elliott for that review, especially the reference to ‘stone etchings’.

“Yes I carved these with a phaser.”
Riker.

A few interesting points.
1) Korinas, if that is her real name, Captain Garrett on Yesterday’s Enterprise. Brilliant casting.
2) No way that Thomas would just be allowed on another ship after 8 years with no human contact.
3) That beard thing, how did he keep a straight face?

Skywalker. You really are a military officer aren’t you? Lot to think about isn’t there?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I just want to give a shout out to McFadden’a acting in this episode. The ‘that’s extraordinary’ line when she is basically looking at a lightbulb, and being a doctor, probably wouldn’t really know what she was looking at in any case, is completely believable. I just really admire that she could look at that and be so convincing.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

Watched this again today. This episode gets better each time. One parallel I didn’t notice was that Boothby & Picard say exactly the same thing. “I just made sure you listened to yourself.”

Thought that was a great bit of writing. Simple, yet effective.

It demonstrates that Picard looks up to Boothby so much that he wants to emulate him.

The punishment is fairly typical - back to day 00. Wesley takes that well. However that is pretty light for a death taking place. Despite impassioned pleas. They should have all been expelled, Wesley was right about that. Locarno should have faced charges for manslaughter. It was his responsibility. Then there was the cover up. All in all, fairly irredeemable actions after years of training in leadership, integrity and taking responsibility.

Wesley shouldn’t need to have been reminded of all that.

Then there was the throwing under the bus. That was pretty despicable. To say that, with his father watching on. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, May 9, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It was a good episode right up until Riker MURDERED those two people.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius. Thank you.

All I can say is ‘wow’. Loved it.

Will be watching it again.
Next ►Page 1 of 52
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.