Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
YoYo Papa
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

"I am Locutus, of Borg.

Resistance is futile.

Your life, as it has been, is over.

From this time forward, you will service us."

Creepy, creepy stuff. This is by far the best episode in the series.
Set Bookmark
Chris Papadopoulos
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think 2.5 stars is generous. This is a very poor episode that treats the viewers as idiots. Fancy production value can only get this series so far.
Set Bookmark
papa
Sun, Apr 24, 2011, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Just to add one more note of Pulaski appreciation, it was nice to see Diana Muldaur again after she guest starred in two TOS episodes. She was hot in the red mini-uniform in "Return to Tomorrow".
Set Bookmark
papa
Fri, Apr 22, 2011, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I agree with Franco's assessment of Dr. Pulaski.

Having been raised on classic Star Trek (we don't need no steenkin' "OS"!), I was often annoyed by the character of Dr. Crusher. Dr. Pulaski was a refreshing change, in spite of some rough scripts in early season 2, and in spite of (or maybe because of) the obvious homage to Dr. McCoy.

I think Dr. Pulaski got off on the wrong foot with a lot of TNG fans because of her initial antagonism with the much-beloved Mr. Data. Personally, I think they lost a chance to tell some very interesting stories concerning the natures of artificial and human intelligence by dropping that antagonism, or skepticism, so soon.

The character of Dr. Pulaski was developed nicely over the course of season 2. I would have liked the character to been kept and further developed in later seasons. In view of the relationship that was developing between her and Worf the character would have been an asset in the Klingon Cycle stories that developed through the series. I could also see the character fitting in the DS9 milieu.
Set Bookmark
papa
Wed, Apr 13, 2011, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

"The Outrageous Okona" is the only TNG episode I caught in first run, and it put me off new Trek for a decade afterwards.
Set Bookmark
papa
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Here in Japan all I was able to scrape up was partial video on YouTube, and that may be all I get, but I must say:

FRAKKING BRILLIANT!

A moving, resonant, beautiful conclusion to the Battlestar Galactica story that tied up more loose and mythological ends than I thought possible. I think they hit the magic balance between exposition, sense of wonder, plot, and character development.
Set Bookmark
papa
Fri, Mar 20, 2009, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

I was fascinated that the "inhuman" Caprica Six showed such deep human insight into both Baltar and his father in taking charge and solving a problem the human Baltar lacked the insight to solve. I was afraid she was going to solve the problem of Old Pop the same way she "solved" the market baby's problem in the miniseries. *snap*
Set Bookmark
papa
Wed, Nov 26, 2008, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

Thanks for the new review, Jammer. I know overcoming the inertia of your reviewing hiatus was tough. I hope you enjoy writing them as much as we enjoy reading.
Set Bookmark
papa
Wed, Jul 9, 2008, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Welcome back, Jammer. Thanks for the review.
Set Bookmark
papa
Sun, Sep 9, 2007, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Site Version 5.0 (2017)

Congratulations. I respect a webmaster who cares as much about the unseen technical side of his site as he does about the visible contents.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.