Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14,607 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 585
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

@ zanki,

"What shocked me is Sisko blindly believing the prophets will save his son"

I guess I always interpreted it as an Abrahamic situation, where on some level Sisko would have sacrificed his son if that's what it took to protect Bajor.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Sigh.

Way to kill the fun, Booming. Guess that'll teach me to never joke with *you* again.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Well there's a reason why Frank Herbert created in-universe reasons why hand combat was necessary. Too much pew pew and combat becomes distanced to absurdity and means nothing in terms of narrative. But when transporters and planet-killing tech exist in-universe (even in TOS they said a starship could level a planet) at that point you have to just close your eyes and enjoy the storytelling. To whatever extent they needed to show fighting I think it should have been character-driven rather than plot drive. A good example of this was Dukat and Garak fighting side by side.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

@Booming
"Now show us your index finger."

I'm shocked and appalled at this blatant call for exhibitionism. Do you have no shame? ;-)
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

It's a problem with the form. How can you do excellent hand-to-hand combat on TV? It used to be, you couldn't. Now it's borderline. But then how do you deal with a race whose defining quality is being physically martial? Just talk about it and never show? The best answer probably lies in 'artistic' renderings, like Worf's fighting resembling tai chi, where you're fundamentally seeing dance. But even that doesn't work in a full-on war scenario. So I guess the answer is don't show a full-on war scenario other than with phasors?
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

"so what you're saying is"

Nicely memed.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Tue, Jun 15, 2021, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

A very good episode. Well written. Proper sci fi.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I have a thought

Is it ever found out what happens to Lore's main rom memory after he is "deactivated?"
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

It's true -- throwing a brick through a window is rarely helpful, even if there's something very insightful written on the brick.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

He didn't "rage-quit" nor did he quit at all. The guy has never shown his face here before his present rant. He came out of nowhere, and basically screamed "you all stink!".

Honestly, this kind of behavior shouldn't even dignify a response. We should be talking about Trek (and other interesting topics) here, rather than have piss-fights with kids who come here looking for them...
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

By the way, on the subject of WWIII and the current f***_ed-up situation of the world:

If you think that a modern global war is going to resemble WWII with it's physical invasions and ground maneuvers - think again. Nobody is going to march troops into any cities. Why bother when information warfare is just as devastating?

We live in strange times, and it is difficult to tell - from our current limited perspective - how future historians will describe our era. But it may well be that WWIII has already started quite a while ago.

(and to be absolutely clear: I'm not referring to one specific faction or nation as the cause here. Reality is far *far* more complicated then that)
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Mal

When it comes to the question of giving the Valakians warp drive, T'Pol is very clearly right. That's not a very difficult dilemma. You don't give people magical access to f***-ing antimatter unless you are absolutely sure that they'd know how to handle it.

Antimatter (which some people don't realize to be a real thing) is insanely powerful as well as volatile. A single ounce of antimatter, upon contact with ANYTHING, will result in a blast that's equivalent to about 1 megaton of TNT. This kind of "help" is almost certainly going to backfire disastrously.

This, though, has absolutely nothing to do with the question of giving the Valakians the cure for their disease.

@Peter

Janeway is a control freak, plain and simple. A mostly benevolent control freak, but a control freak nevertheless.

Ordinary this wouldn't be a problem for a Starfleet captain, because of the restraining effect of the admirals and the rest of the fleet's command structure. But in the Delta Quadrant... well, we've seen the results.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Kevin

The "no air" thing simply means that to make a fire/explosion in space, you need to carry the oxidizer (either oxygen or something else that can react with the fuel) with you.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Nice post, Mal.

I agree that one distinguishing feature of the various series is how seriously the writers take the incredibly power (and burden) a Captain have. On VOY we certainly never get the gravitas that we see on (for example) nu-Battlestar, where the issue of who's in charge is so serious that it has to be resolved politically. The idea that Janeway is just in charge of the Maquis after the pilot is...strange. And from then on it's taken as a given that she's the Sky Marshall, Grand Inquisitor, judge jury and all the rest. No votes of their peers ever taken, no challenge of her authority (even in Scorpion!). That's pretty wild, since she wasn't just a Captain, but in almost every sense was their Queen. She even turned the tone of her Captaincy into maternal care at certain points, which is certainly more of a Queen-attitude than a 'woman in the workplace' attitude.

And yeah, don't even get me started on DISCO on that front.
Set Bookmark
Polaris
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

One of the worst episodes, but almost comes back around to so-bad-it’s-good. I’d love to hear a Rifftrax type commentary.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

It may interest some here that actual trans commentators have weighed in on this episode. Here, for instance: https://podcasts.google.com/feed/aHR0cDovL2ZlZWRzLnNvdW5kY2xvdWQuY29tL3VzZXJzL3NvdW5kY2xvdWQ6dXNlcnM6MjUwNzI3ODUxL3NvdW5kcy5yc3M/episode/dGFnOnNvdW5kY2xvdWQsMjAxMDp0cmFja3MvMjkxMjEyMjE1?sa=X&ved=0CAUQkfYCahcKEwjw86ntoJDxAhUAAAAAHQAAAAAQAQ
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Fireworks are just rockets. They'd work perfectly fine in space.

The real problem is that space fireworks won't give you much of a show: Space doesn't scatter light.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Mal
"Archer wasn’t sent out by Earth to play God. The aliens in the TNG episode “The Chase” were sent out by their civilization to play god. But don’t kid yourself. If you are picking which race will live, and which will die, you are playing god (see TNG "The Survivors"). "

I think that's the main dilemma of this episode.

Archer basically stumbled into a position of "playing god". No matter what he'd do, he is already involved.

Remember that the Valakians initiated contact. They *asked* for help. They are also clearly aware of the existence of alien life, so there's zero danger of cultural contamination on that front. So if it weren't for the Menk, the decision would have been easy: Give them the cure.

With the Menk... well, I don't envy the decision that Archer had to make here. It's a very complex situation, and any decision would have huge consequences:

On the one hand, one could argue that when people ask for your help then it's obligation to give it to them.

On the other hand, looking at the complex symbiotic relations between the Valakians and the Menk, one could argue that interfering with then already delicate balance on this world is reckless and dangerous.

As for me, I find myself swayed back and forth. It's a well-crafted moral dilemma with no obvious "correct" answer. And if I were Archer, I would have felt terrible afterwords - regardless of what I'd decide in the end.

Guess that's why I'm not a starship Captain, eh?
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Booming

"Ok, now I'm completely off topic. Sorry!"

Yes you are.

Some how, you've a managed to spin a very real concern to the future of the human race (which has nothing to do with China specifically) to a rant that's - basically - political propaganda.

I know you really dig communism (I'm not being sarcastic here nor am I being imflamatory. You've said that openly and directly at a dozen times), but "off topic" doesn't even begin to cover what you did here.

Can you please *please* stop doing that? This is a Star Trek forum, where we have the opportunity to expand are horizons beyond the toxic stupidity of the current media, and beyond this silly "us vs them" mentality.

Thank you.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I love the surrealist aspect of this episode. It's really unique in the franchise. Surreal imagery, surreal staging, surreal dialogue. Yet somehow it works and it's captivating.

This episode captures why I really like the 2nd season. You could tell the writers were really trying to do all sorts of different things, taking risks, to make the series unique and pull it away from the original series 2.0 that the 1st season was shaping out to be. A lot of people talk about the third season as being the first real season when things come together and become the TNG we all love. But for me it's really the 2nd season when this happens....albeit still with those spandexy uniforms...
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Highlights:

1. The scene where Sisko meets Kira for the first time is actually quite memorable for me. Nana Visitor (Despite, as others have noted, having a talky and expositiony scene to work with) arrests one's attention extremely well. The hallmark of great acting.

2. I remember thinking the scene where Odo captures the thief was quite ehh in terms of special effects, even back when this aired. Not only that, but the bola (or w/e) that the thief throws at Odo is not shot well, imo. This needed more footage than they ended up being able to get, Idk.

3. The scene immediately after, let's call it "Community Leader?!", shall we, is the #1 reason I ever kept watching this show at all. Deep Space Nine got my attention for sure and realsies at this scene, and it is quite good. There are some Trekkian Classic lines in here.

ODO: The man is a gambler, AND a thief
QUARK: I'm not a thief.
ODO: *YOU* ARE A *THIEF!*
QUARK: If I am, then you haven't been able to prove it for four year--
SISKO: Please! My officers, the Bajoran engineers, all their families depend on the shops and the services of this Promenade. If people like you abandon it, this is going to become a ghost town. We need someone to step forward and say "I'm staying. I'm rebuilding." We need a community leader and it's going to be *You*, Quark. :D
QUARK: (Laughs hysterically) "COMMUNITY LEADER?!" (continues laughing)

... I love this scene. It introduces two extremely key characters in the series by contrasting them heavily, and with Ben Sisko in the center, as the decider.

Think of it as a Kirk/Spock/McCoy type scene, but with totally different characters, and a slightly altered premise/power dynamic between them. It possesses similar elements to older Trek Writing.

I like scenes with three distinct characters like this, it gives great opportunities for playing around with words on two separate fronts, with the two lines of conversation that are going on for any of them at any time.

The scene comes to a head in a later scene that is also shot well and has a lot of interesting stuff going on, and punctuates with an exchange between Shimmerman and Brooks that has a lot of sizzle to it.

4. Bashir and Kira's ...talk in the Infirmary is a bit much. I could agree that Kira is a bit over the top here, although in hindsight (SPOILERS: Julian is an augment, just like Khan), it really becomes a lot funnier. That Siddig and Visitor ended up getting together makes it just a bit even funnier just for the giggles.

5. The "Orb Experience" scenes do little to move the plot forward, and btw this entire plot point is an example of just the same kind of Mystery Box writing people are complaining about on the new shows, with **literal mystery boxes.** So, if you're going to slag those shows for it (rightly so), then you need to pay your respects to the Plot Device Orbs of DS9. I still to this day don't understand to this day what the deal was supposed to be with them, what the heck??

6. As to the main plot point, I feel like Fred Savage from "The Princess Bride":

"Contacting aliens inside a stable wormhole to the Gamma Quadrant is good."

Lol

7. O'Brien's last visit on the Enterprise isn't really a scene of DS9, but the epilogue of ST:TNG, really. It's simple and handled well, but that's all you can really say about it.

8. Marc Alamio is the 100% best thing that happened to this series. He's out of his bloody mind and he does it straight up. It is great, that this villain served as the throughline of DS9's story, from start to finish. Whatever material he was given to work with, Alamio killed it. That man's a stone-cold actor.

9. Odo's use of his shapeshifting is much better done in this scene, and the thought of it is clever. I have always thought so from the first time I saw this scene.

10. Sh__ starts to get WEIRD in the third act, but it's the good kind of "Sci Fi Weird" focused on concepts and communication, so to me it's acceptable.

Overall, I have always thought no ST Series established itself so distinctly and so quickly as DS9's. It really is a masterclass in unique design.

BTW: "Star Trek: Deep Space Nine? What is this?" xD hehe
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Booming
"Let's not forget WW3 starts in 5 years. :D"

Suddenly that's doesn't sound so funny... :-(
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

He seems to have a problem with reading comprehension too. The vast majority here agreed with Picard, so I'm not sure what this guy is at.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Booming

Great point.

This raises interesting questions: What other traits, besides intelligence, might have a near-universal advantage in the Darwinian battle for survival? Would we find these traits on pretty much every planet that can support life?

We get tantalizing hints of the power of this idea by studying parallel evolution here on earth. Things like eyes, for example, evolved more than once. Apparently, developing vision is such an awesome "cheat" that evolution goes down this path again and again.

Unfortunately, being limited to a single planet, most questions of this sort aren't scientifically answerable at the moment. But if we ever discover life on other planets, we'll *know*. I find this to be absolutely fascinating.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Ok so I've never commented on this, just as I thought.

First, that review was a scream to read. :D Hehehehehe

Second, this ep has one of the most blaring, klaxon-like examples of Counselor Troi States The Blindingly Obvious, in its final scene:

COUNSELOR TROI
"Now we're hearing some truth."

I mean, when she says "What happened to all of the people" in S1's "The Arsenal of Freedom," that was kind of a whopper, but this takes the (android-shaped) cake. This is the dumbest line spoken by a regular cast member in the whole series, I think. I like to imagine that Picard slowly looks at her and starts a slow clap, and says "you sure graduated from Starfleet Academy, didn't you! Good job, Counselor! I'll tell you what, you are getting a gold star on your performance review!"

Just... wow, Deanna
Next ►Page 1 of 585
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.