Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 128 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Lol evidently I made almost the exact same comment 12 years ago...
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

The whole episode is amazing, but the final act is start to finish the most exciting chunk of television I have ever seen.

Saul Tigh becomes my favorite character from now til the end of the show (and he was so good all season).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Also, I saw the quick changes of mind by Roslin and Adama as essentially they agreed with Tyrol’s points, but they could not give credence to strike as legitimate. So once they got him to back down first, get that token win, they proceeded to address the issues like the rational people they are.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

On rewatch I *really* liked this episode and the ending with seelix really moved it. I remembered thinking it was good but that Adama acted in a way at the end that I didn’t totally buy. But this time, I had no issue. It struck me very clearly that Adama was making an aggressive bluff and Tyrol had no desire to call it (in part because it was so unexpected and convincing). I liked that Roslin could be very firm and rigid in some places (as with Adama, she knows this is a can of worms that cannot be even slightly legitimized) but where there was room and it was a conversation without extortion/strike (the conversations about inheriting jobs, and again at the end) she met Tyrol’s POV genuinely. A lesser episode would have kept her hardline throughout.

3 stars feels right, but a strong 3. First episode in a while that really felt like it was firing on all cylinders in all aspects (even other midseason stronger episodes had some weaknesses).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Forgettable episode with some cringey moments and also some really good ones— which I had forgotten about and enjoyed anew! It’s not actually the “worst episode in the show” that I thought it was— it just shares that black market, and maybe the passage And deadlock. The episode annoys me more than black market, but it also has some wonderful moments that black market did not (adama roslin, helo moving away from hot dog and his rash)
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 29, 2020, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Woman King

Front of the line as far as 2.5 star filler/breather/bottle shows go. I enjoyed the rewatch better than when it aired, and I appreciate the simple and clear focus on the main storyline—- it isn’t overbaked, it doesn’t do anything particularly wrong, and it is kind of refreshing to focus on Helo. No retroactive backstory. But, some things could use a bit of nuance, and the heightened prejudice against sagitarrons seemed a little excessive based on what we have seen so far.

Like Jammer, I do really like how Helo’s predicament is very much the result of choices he has made. Ultimately, nothing really wrong here—- it’s just not quite what I watch battlestar for, and easily forgettable in a pleasant way. It’s the only episode on this current rewath where I went into it completely forgetting what happens, other than “helo gets on a mission with civilians on galactica.”— and I have seen the episode at least twice previously,
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, May 27, 2020, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

2 stars seems right.

One point that just made me roll my eyes was Starbuck suggesting Kat may have unwittingly helped cylons get to the colonies. After Hero, where I didn't care for the retroactive attempt to saddle Adama with guilt for a possible role in the cylon attack, I just want to shout at the writes "STOP TRYING TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN". Retroactive guilt ties to this big event that is a lot of plot behind us. Unnecessary, don't believe it, don't appreciate it.

I'd probably be more okay with it in this episode of Hero hadn't just made a big deal about it. It's left more in a gray area of "how can you be sure you didn't" and the stakes involved were less. But it still felt so manufactured (her whole backstory did).

Other quibble: these people sure are getting fucked up from radiation with no lasting consequences.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 26, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Doing my rewatch I opted for the extended version. I think it's just a good 3 star episode and I wound up having much less of positive/negative mixed response than I
expected. Just some good shit.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 26, 2020, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Mostly well executed but way too many things I just don't
buy. Don't need a valkyrie retcon, or anything to suggest Six's arrival on the armistice station wasn't the first word from the cylons, or the premise that the cylons would decide now of all time to release bulldog with confidence he would start some shit. Or adama resigning. But apart from those big issues, the individual scenes are well done and the Tigh and D'anna stuff I really like. Overall, I enjoyed it more on rewatch than I thought I would-- if I just accept it as not actually canon and lift it right out, it's fine. 2.5 stars sounds good to me-- credit to BSG for having quality elsewhere (subplots, actors, direction, etc) that makes the main story easier to watch.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, May 25, 2020, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

For me, this episode didn't need to have the level
of certainty around their plan as they did. That's why all the issues Jammer points out stick in the craw-- MAYBE the plan could work and cause genocide. But maybe not-- maybe just a lot of death, or some, or not work at all. I think the episode's moral arguments would work just as well in the realm of "this could possibly be a total genocide, and even if not could be a brutal tortuous death for many". It didn't need to be as total, and as problematic in the details, as it manifests in this episode.

I am ok with Adama giving Helo a pass-- he had misgivings and I buy that he is ready to accept this as maybe the right call. And he's come to rely on Helo more, and Sharon has become his confidant... I also like it because it does dramatize the different experiences and impacts that two people equally as committed to fighting and rescuing the New Capricans have that result from being on the ground vs on galactica. Adama can still cling to his "have to be worthy of survival", while Roslin is way past that.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

I'd give this 4 stars and prt 1 3. From a spectacle/action point of view, this is probably the best BSG offering for both the stakes involved, real losses, and execution.

But it's also incredibly powerful on an emotional and visceral level. Rewatching this, I think BSG brought tears to my eyes for the first time I can think of-- Tigh poisoning Ellen and then returning to the Galactica "not all of them". The nature of these stakes and losses and torments is so personal and profound with this whole arc.

Also, rewatching I picked up on a likely connection between two moments I always already liked: the extra twist of the knife Starbuck gives Leoben, and the moment she finds out her daughter is not hers-- It's a delayed-action twist of the knife by Leoben and I love how it just destroys her as the final twist after all she had been through and thought she was free from.

Beautiful, moving episode.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

Some issues for sure, but 3.5 star ep for me. Although that's really sold for me in the jump forward scenes. It's a bold choice, well done, and I have the same feeling I had back when it aired: spine tingling excitement and trust. That trust was proven right in what follows, but I can understand not being so sure initially and I get Jammer's more hesitant 3 star rating.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 23, 2020, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Rewatched on my series-rewatch. I have always thought this was a great 4-star episode, but it's easy to forget just how good when it doesn't have the big events of Pegasus or Kobol. It's a bit like 33-- just so well done, and rewatching it is a fresh reminder of what makes BSG so good and special.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 22, 2020, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Scar

On second thought, I think Adama's "it's not enough to survive, you have to be worthy of survival" decision not to kill Cain is too important to the show to go down that road. Maybe Starbuck could have been with Cain in her quarters or somehow made a decision not to stop Gina killing Cain. And she has to wrestle with that guilt even though she knew it was the right thing that had to happen.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 22, 2020, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Scar

Rewatching this, and I'd rate it higher. I just had a thought, though, about how this episode could have been about Starbuck's trouble after shooting Cain (if that had happened). There's a lot of mess associated with that to clean up (although maybe you have a lot of Pegasus people relieved, and you get an episode where Fiske has to manage these two groups. Maybe a scene with him appealing to Adama for help and coming clean with Cain's Case Orange plan.). But, you could get good motivation for a story like this.

And then have a volatile situation on Pegasus lead to the Fiske's death instead of black market, and then have Garner try to really be a conciliatory figure trying to lead a way forward before also dying and Lee providing stability.

Hard mess to work through for sure, but BSG loves the mess and honestly, episodes like Scar or all the turnover with Pegasus commanders seem like writers wanted to go there anyway, just with less pressure.

Ramble ramble.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 7:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

I’d watch an episode of just Odo helping out Chef Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Apr 29, 2011, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Watching this again, I got a real kick out of some moments that just had me say "Inception." The whole am-I-dreaming stuff was the best part of the episode... and 10 years later Inception comes to fully exploit it.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Apr 20, 2011, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Just rewatched. Normally I don't mind the bad Ferengi episodes- there's something mildly entertaining in watching such cheesy, cliched, bad trainwrecks- a sort of "Only star trek..." reaction. But I've got to say I really hated this episode and couldn't enjoy it really on any level. So much of it was just cringe-inducing (chanting "union! union!") while the rest was just kind of bad. I grew to like Rom a bit later in the show once he showed some engineering skill and some believable backbone in standing up to the Dominion in early season 6.... but here I just couldn't stand him. And the backbone he grew standing up to Quark just didn't seem believable or in character. I also thought that, while the sudden cut to Worf/O'Brien/Bashir in jail was a legitimate laugh, the whole notion of them getting into a fight seemed wildly out of character and beyond the stakes which these characters seemed involved.

In short, it's an episode like this that makes me embarrassed for the show... not something that usually happens.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Dec 20, 2009, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Not to sound like a nag, but is a review of The Plan on its way? It's been long enough that I'm starting to doubt. If it's coming and it's just a delay, I'm sure you've got your reasons.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jul 23, 2009, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I just noticed on the Main Page that DS9 ran from 93-99 and BSG from 03-09 and yet DS9 had 7 seasons and about 170 episodes while BSG had 4 seasons and about 70 episodes. Made me smile, hoorah for the huge stretch out of BSG's final season!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jun 25, 2009, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I just read a couple reviews for Transformers (it was fun to see it torn apart given how much I hated it) and looked at the comments after each. The unifying element? Attacks on the reviewer and claims that the reviewer is simple-minded for trashing it and all that sort of thing.

And then I come on here, and there's none of that. If people disagree with Jammer, they disagree. That's all. I think it's pretty special to have a site where the reviewer is so respected. That both speaks to the quality of the reviews and the types of people who read them. Warm and fuzzy moment.: )
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 7, 2009, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Yay for Virtuality airing the 26th! Now I can see it before I get out of town!

It sounds like such an awesome show.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, Jun 1, 2009, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I wish there were more review sites out there that went into as much depth and analysis as Jammer does. It'd be nice to get this kind of review for all movies, not just Star Trek ones.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 30, 2009, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

As usual, Jammer, we're on the exact same wavelength. Everything you praised, even the little things like Scotty's creature, was something I really liked while all the problems you identified, specifically Nero's uninspired history and motivation that doesn't really justify his actions, were also what I saw as the weaknesses. I think it's definitely the best First Movie for a cast, so on that note... I really look forward to some more great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 29, 2009, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

WakeMed- I know Jammer started doing reviews for DS9 around season 3 or 4... so It's been like 13 years at least I think. Congrats on that, Jammer, by the way.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.