Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
nil
Tue, May 4, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

"What if we found a nursery filled with 31 infant primates?"

That's actually the deepest, most thoughtful thing Archer has ever said up to that point. Pretty untypical for him, and too bad he apparently had those thoughts just because a neurotoxin made him.

I mean, yeah. Imagine a full war against the Klingons and you find a disintegrating nursery with 31 Klingon babies (and let's just say they somehow couldn't survive if you brought them on the ship). Would you just let them die?

The realisation that it's not right to let them die just because it's much harder for us to empathise with insectoid larvae than with humanoid babies, that we have to realise they're by all means innocent children... that is suprisingly, strikingly classic Trek. It caught me off guard.

It's a tough ethical dilemma even by classic Trek standards. Too bad this season's stakes are so high that you can justify almost anything by prioritising the survival of Earth, and frankly this setup is too big for ENT to resolve.

So the resolution is to cure Archer. What about the hatchlings? In one sentence, it is declared that they'll survive until the arrival of the next Xindi ship after all and that's it. How convenient, problem solved.

I appreciate that ENT dared to set up such an ethical dilemma, but in the end it feels like it bit off more than it could chew.
Set Bookmark
nil
Sat, May 1, 2021, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Mostly a good episode, but it just had to hate on the Vulcans again, didn't it? Soval is again depicted as an uncaring, obstinate, stubborn asshole. T'Pol applying "logic" in the space battle is apparently what ultimately resulted in the failure of the mission and the destruction of mankind. If only Archer wouldn't have been incapacitated, the mission would have been a success apparently.

Why does ENT hate Vulcans so much? Before the Xindi appeared, they seemed like mankind's worst antagonists. In previous shows, they applied strict logic but weren't always right. Those shows tried to appreciate intellect and logic but also to show its limits. ENT has no such ambiguity, Vulcans pay lip service to logic but whenever they appear they're really just stubborn jerks, rarely even explaining their stance with logic. They're just comic book idiots.

Vulcans appearing anywhere in ENT? 100% chance they're being assholes. Vulcans mentioned in the presence of Archer? 100% chance he makes annoyed/sarcastic remarks.

Why is ENT so obsessed with depicting them as assholes? It feels like someone being bitter and vindictive about an ex and badmouthing them at any chance they get. I don't know what went on behind the scenes, but it feels like someone made sure that whenever Vulcans appear or are even mentioned, it must be made clear they're assholes.
Set Bookmark
nil
Thu, Apr 22, 2021, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

The whole Trip/Kaitaama plot alone would be enough to put this episode down. But just if that wasn't enough, we get the most laughable good cop/bad cop scene on Enterprise that serves no purpose whatsoever in the plot.

The only effect of that scene is that we now know Archer is willing to threaten torture and death to obtain information, and that T'Pol went along with this pathetic charade. What was the point of this? Just to show that Archer and T'Pol are stupid assholes pathetically inept at pretend?

This episode is what happens if you let a 10 years old do the writing. And if it wasn't actually a 10 years old, if it was actually Berman & Braga, then I'm afraid this episode is what happens if you let Berman & Braga do the writing.
Set Bookmark
nil
Thu, Apr 22, 2021, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

"Arr we're trapped in a ring of fire and have to teleport out! If only we could teleport back behind you!"

"Arr you tricked us! The way of the warrior commands us to admit defeat and leave you alone and never come back!"

"Arr if only we could throw a few bombs on your heads before leaving!"

During my current rewatch I must say this is one of the stupidest episodes of Star Trek - and I've watched all of DIS, so I believe that's saying something.

Moreover, it is a prime case of Archer being reckless and irresponsible AGAIN. When he made his decision, he couldn't have known that the writer would later decide to just make the Klingons magically disappear forever.

In anything resembling reality, Archer's decision would have doomed those people to being massacred. That was the situation at the moment of his decision. Certainly he had good reason? "I don't like bullies". Oh, you don't like bullies. That's a great reason to have some 80 innocent people massacred who aren't you. But if it makes you feel better...
Set Bookmark
nil
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

T'Pol: "Prepare to leave orbit on my order."
Trip: "Belay that. Keep this ship right where it is."

"Engineering."
Trip: "Billy, stand by to vent the nacelles on my order."
"Yes sir."
Trip: "We're not going anywhere!"

So Trip tried to raise a mutiny... where's the consequence? It's just forgotten immediately. You'd think trying to overthrow your superior would have adverse effects on your position as chief engineer. Maybe T'Pol is just very lenient, but I wonder how Trip could keep his position after such an extreme display of insubordination.
Set Bookmark
nil
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

This episode highlights the inadequacy of early Archer. When his crewmen were in peril, he hesitated to call the Vulcans for help, and it needed T'Pol to convince him.

Archer actually considered risking the lives of his crewmen rather than swallowing his pride. At this point, he is clearly not fit for command.

If the best mankind has for commanding their best ship is someone as irresponsible as this, well then even ENT's obstacle Vulcans were right.
Set Bookmark
Sunil
Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

How much I will miss this show? I had tears in my eyes during all the send off. It was like me sending off everyone. Many of the DS9 episodes were unpredictable and realistic like the good guys will not always have their way. So is the last episode where many of them choose to make a change in their lives, Damar being dead, Garak back home, Odo going back to where he always wanted to etc...I think only Jadazia was missed when Worf had a last look at the station..Otherwise the focus given on each important character was indeed nice! Again I will miss DS9 as I always missed TNG. Good bye Capitain Sisko, we will miss your charismatic leadership.
Set Bookmark
Sunil
Thu, Mar 27, 2014, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Absolutely fantastic episode. Very nicely done. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!
Set Bookmark
Sunil
Fri, Mar 14, 2014, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

A funny episode esp. the time when Keevan is being exchanged with moogie. I burst out laughing and laughed for sometime after the episode.
Set Bookmark
Sunil
Wed, Mar 5, 2014, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

By far one of the best episodes. Felt so nice to see future meeting the past. Done very well!!!
Set Bookmark
Sunil
Tue, Feb 25, 2014, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

This is a very funny episode and I had a very good laugh. The way humans trying to understand the aliens and the Ferengi talking seemingly gibberish, the kind of questions Quark asking etc. Overall a fantastic episode imo.
Set Bookmark
Anil
Thu, May 23, 2013, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Dear Jammer,

I have just finished watching this episode for what seems like the 100th time. I hope you are aware I have been following your reviews since 1996 when I was at university in Portsmouth, UK, and Netscape was the preferred browser of choice, I'm now 36...but I digress.

Your review was great but you wanted a pay off for Kor, yet they didn't give you one...this is the genius of this episode, we don't know what Kor did, yet it doesn't matter, he did what was necessary and it keep us wanting more, but we are not going to get it. This is the nature of a legend.

I can't believe I wrote DS9 off as early as 1994 but I was young and inexperienced. To me DS9 is the soul of Trek...to quote the Jem'Hadar, the core of Trek's being...
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.