Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 497 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
nickf
Tue, Jul 20, 2021, 9:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Not a fan of this episode. The TOS-era ship looked archaic. Had it been something Galaxy-class or - even better - Intrepid-class, it would have made for a far more convincing episode, chewed scenery notwithstanding.
Set Bookmark
nickf
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 9:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

As somebody who's new to Enterprise I'm surprised no-one's made the observation that Reed fulfils the role of the crew outsider, i.e. the alien presence on the bridge. He's basically Spock, Data, The EMH, you name it. An emotionally repressed and uptight Englishman on a ship full of Americans. (Or alien-adjacent Americans, like Phlox).
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 12:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

My dad used to have a VHS tape of this movie, and on the back of the cover there was an image of Khan with his face covered in blood. This was disturbing to me as a little kid, so my dad told me that it was actually spaghetti sauce, not blood. And I believed it. (I also remember being scared by the image of the Balok puppet in the TOS end credits - I would hide behind the couch as soon as an episode ended because I knew that creepy bastard would appear soon)

Anyways, Star Trek II is (IMO) the best Trek movie, and among the best pieces of Trek media, period. It's exciting, stylish, and emotional, with cinematography and special effects that hold up even 40 years later, and a fantastic score on top of all that. It might not be as cerebral as some fans would like their Star Trek to be, but I think there's room for all kinds of stories in the Trek universe. And when you compare it to later, action-oriented Trek movies which don't have a tenth of its brains, its craft, or its heart, it's clear just how well Star Trek II works.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@The Chronek

Regarding the music, I agree that it didn't really need to be explained, but it was just odd to include from a storytelling standpoint. The Kara thing was different because that was the foundation of the entire S4 plot. By contrast, the music was completely unnecessary. If they removed it from the plot it wouldn't have changed anything. So what was the reason to include it? The only reason is if there was some kind of payoff when the mystery is revealed, but there wasn't anything.

As far I as I understand it, the Kelpian ship sent a distress call, which the nebula distorted into music (what?), which then was transmitted across the galaxy. Then multiple civilizations somehow picked that one signal out of the trillions upon trillions of signals in subspace, listened to it, and each made the music so popular it permeated the cultures of all these civilizations to the point that almost everyone in the galaxy knows it. It makes no sense on almost every level. The only thing that it makes me think about as a viewer is if the writers know what the hell they are doing.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 5:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Yanks, you're welcome. I will just add that the voiceover at the end of the episode being done by Burnham makes it all the more suspicious. "The Emerald Chain fell apart, because, ummm, well.... OSYRRA! Yes, that's it! It was definitely because of her. Amazing how much the organization relied on her to function. Everyone in the chain is gone now, don't bother trying to find them..."
Set Bookmark
Nick
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 10:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Given the relative size of Discovery's turboshafts to the Viridian, I'm guessing millions, if not billions, of people were on that ship that Burnham needlessly slaughtered. That dialogue at the end saying the chain "fell apart" without Osyrra? No, it was because its entire population on that ship! Kinda weird Burnham didn't shed a tear in that scene.

Personally I think the scene was there so the show could meet its season finale VFX quota, and the writers weren't really thinking too hard about it (i.e. same old lazy writing we have seen). When I brought this up on another forum, the superfans were like "no it's not lazy writing, the scene was there for more than just VFX" not really realizing the implications of what they were saying. It's like, you want to see a casual disregard for life? So much for the ideals of the Federation...
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 10:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Yanks, I can just hear Vance and the other admirals debating promotions: "well, Burnham did needlessly murder thousands of people on the Veridian, but have you heard her new catch phrase when they go to warp??? We have to promote her!"
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 10:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I think you should do the tip jar. I would pay for services already rendered and not expect anything extra.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 8:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Count me in for the premium section with nudes. I will pay.
Set Bookmark
nickf
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 10:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: First Season Recap

After being a fan of 90s Trek for years, I've finally got around to watching Enterprise, and I have to say, yes, it's often bland stuff, but I quite like it. Sometimes simple fodder suffices.

I'll offer up this observation. Surely the outside on the crew, providing the alien perspective, is not Phlox or T'Pol, but rather the diffident, awkward Englishman Reed. And I say this as a diffident, awkward Englishman. The contrast between Reed and Archer & Tucker couldn't be greater.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 9:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

There's a lot of discussion about whether things are truly Trek or not Trek. Personally I'm fine with the franchise trying something different as long as the quality is there. That's my problem with Discovery, the quality isn't there. Burnham as a character isn't interesting or dynamic enough to lead the series, but the writers seem hellbent on forcing her into that role. The writing is shallow, sloppy, and inconsistent and yet they continue to do serialized season long arcs despite clearly not being up to the task. The character development has gotten better recently but is still below average. You have one showrunner (Kurtzman) who is more of an action guy which I think translates better into movies and another showrunner (Paradise) who previously worked on teen-fantasy soap operas. The result? A teen-fantasy soap opera with a lot of action sequences mixed in.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 7:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I think the turboshaft is in a warp bubble to make it bigger because the bridge crew needs a large open space to play "turbolift quiddich" (instead of flying on brooms you stand on top of a turbolift car). It's always Michael Burham vs. the entire bridge crew and Michael always wins. The bridge crew tries their best but they are always so tired from the games that they don't even have the energy to speak one line. After the games, Michael can be found in the corner sobbing uncontrollability over her guilt at being so much better at the game than everyone else.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 5:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Paul M, the CGI copy and paste was lazy for sure, but didn't ruin the scene for me. A bunch of identical ships may not be as visually appealing but at least it makes sense in-universe. If you build a fleet of ships at the same time for the same purpose, there's no reason to think you wouldn't build a bunch of identical ships assembly line style. Its the most efficient approach.

@greycat, I agree. The writing is definitely uneven though. Jammer said it in his review, it's hard to believe the writers who gave us that Picard and Data scene (which was excellent) gave us those stupid space tentacles minutes earlier (which was unbelievably dumb).

That was my biggest gripe. It would have been way more interesting if nothing came out and you are left to wonder what would have happened or maybe you see something but it's not clear what their intentions are. Instead, we got space tentacles (to reinforce to the five year olds in the audience that what they are looking at is EVIL). So dumb.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Also, Riker coming in to save the day was awesome. Frakes stole that scene. I'll admit I re-watched that about 5 times.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm holding out hope that Picard can turn it around. I didn't think the first season was great, but it wasn't terrible either. The acting talent is better, the series has more of a "sci fi" feel to it, and the themes and issues they explored had more substance compared to Discovery (though admittedly, that is a VERY low bar).

While I wouldn't say the writing was excellent, it was at least more cohesive throughout the season. I didn't get the sense (like I do with Discovery) that every hair brained idea the writers had got thrown into the script. Somebody was at least trying to check for quality control and consistently. Most importantly, the season didn't crash and burn at the end. I did have issues with the finale, but the scene with Picard and Data was the best scene in NuTrek by a mile, so it had redeeming qualities. Whereas the season finale of Discovery was just a massive disappointment from every possible angle.

The nicest thing about STP is people aren't having unprofessional outbursts all the time or breaking down sobbing while screaming "YOUR MAKING THE RIGHT DECISION, WHAAAA".
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Somewhat on topic, I watched the Ready Room for the season finale which had SMG, Olatunde Osunsanmi, and Michelle Paradise and during the interview each one of them started crying at one point when talking about how amazing the show is. It gave me insight into why the characters act like they do on the show (frequent outbursts, constant crying, etc.) and also made me realize that my criticism that "nobody acts like that in real life" might be unfair. Some people really DO act like that in real life.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 10:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Grey you realize Adira is not a real person right?
Set Bookmark
Nick
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't enjoy bad mouthing DSC either. I actually thought this season started out with a lot of promise and had some decent episodes at the beginning. I wasn't overly critical of the show until the Su'Kal episode. Season 3 really crashed and burned at the end IMO. The writing got worse and more lazy as the season went on. By the finale it felt like they didn't even care anymore.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't think there's anything wrong with doing a serialized season in 13 episodes. Enterprise did some micro serialization with a bunch of stories in 2-3 episode arcs and I thought it worked quite well.

I often wonder if the people who like Discovery are not really science fiction fans, or if there's something about the show I'm just missing. It kind of reminds me of the Arrow or Flash TV shows. They aren't bad shows, but it's basically mindless action and the plots don't make any sense for the most part. Absolutely nothing of any substance and certainly nothing thought provoking. It's entertaining enough if you go into it with the right expectations.

I think the reviews of the end of season three were mixed or negative but there do seem to be a decent amount of people who liked it which leads me to believe I'm missing something.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 12:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jammer, great review! Agree with pretty much everything. I am curious what types of shows your wife likes? Is she a science fiction fan? I'm curious how many people out there (if any) like serious sci fi shows such as BSG and the Expanse and also like Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 5:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@SlackerInc

I can't comment on the TOS points, I'm ashamed to admit I haven't watched most of those episodes. But the points seem pretty accurate for all the other series. I would personally but VOY ahead of ENT but they are similar in points which I think is fair. As a high level gauge it makes sense with TNG and DS9 in the top tier, VOY and ENT in the second tier, and DIS significantly below.
Set Bookmark
nickf
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 10:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

I watched the first episode of Lower Decks tonight over at a friend's house, and I have to say I found it to be juvenile nonsense, and painfully unfunny. It was a real struggle to make it through the episode. If you're entertained by it, good for you. I won't be watching again.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MarkG @ Maq,

The weird thing about that is, there was no need for that ridiculous idea of the holodeck taking the hypospray away since they ended up staying there a lot longer than they originally planned. That's what I don't get about the writing sometimes. I understand why the writers might throw in something that doesn't make sense if it's needed to advance the plot. But many times they throw in these non-sensical things for no reason at all (as far as I can tell). It just feels lazy and sloppy. It really feel like nobody is QCing the final product.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 1:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Count me among those who liked Lorca in S1. Issacs is a good actor and at least they worked at it from a story standpoint. They planted the seeds for that early in the season and portrayed him pretty consistently throughout as a pretty ruthless guy. At first you think it's cause they are in a war, but nope, he was just biding his time until he could figure out how to use the spore drive to get him home. So the underlying story made sense (unlike the Voq thing).

In general I liked S1 of Discovery right until they got back from the mirror universe and made the Federation on the verge of losing the war. I think that was a poor decision and the way they wrapped it up made no sense at all. But up until that point it was a good season.
Set Bookmark
Nick
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

To echo other people's comments, I'm done with Discovery too. I might come back if there's a big shake up of the writers and show runners. Booming nailed it when saying this show is aimed at making people feel instead of think. There is absolutely nothing in this show that is thought provoking.

I'll give Picard another season and I actually like Lower Decks, and I'll give S31 and Strange New Worlds a chance, but I'm done with Discovery.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.