Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 294 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
navamske
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@Trek fan

"The scene where he pushes Kirk in thte library cart is funny."

I wonder what era he was planning to send Kirk to. Wherever it was, the inhabitants must have been surprised when a library cart came shooting out of a wall or a cliff face.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Maybe this was dealt with in a discussion I didn't see or that I've forgotten, but what is to prevent Talla from succumbing to the same gravity-related issues that afflicted Alara? Maybe the holodeck treatment that Kasidy Yates came up with that Alara ended up not using?
Set Bookmark
navamske
Tue, Jun 18, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

[[The archeologist assigned to oversee this unearthing is played by Tim Russ, whom I haven't seen in anything since probably Live Free or Die Hard. His performance here suggests a specific eccentricity.]]

Tim Russ was in an episode of "The Good Doctor."
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I enjoyed it for the most part -- I'm not really into space battles -- even though the resolution was a foregone conclusion. I thought it was an odd way to end a season, with no cliffhanger to get viewers excited about a possible third season.

Where was Cleveland? I guess since he's mostly comic relief it would not have have been a good move to have him in a serious episode.

No surprise that it was Worf who attacked Ed on the submerged Orville, since he was the only major character who hadn't been shown up to that point.

Years of science fiction have stipulated that you can't even go *near* a black hole or you'll get sucked in -- and now you can hide in the "event horizon"? If even light can't escape, how would a ship?

If the woman from 2015, the one who said (according to Tuvok) "Wireless telecommunications facility," had gone to a meeting at her wireless carrier, that could have been an event Verizon.

Nice nod to "Return of the Jedi" when they knocked on the door and part of Yaphit came out of the hole.

I agree with the poster who said there was a bit of "Yesterday's Enterprise" in the return of Alara 1.0, even though she wasn't dead in the "normal" timeline. I hope her character comes back to the show -- I don't like Alara 2.0.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I didn't find it very interesting, and it was too reminiscent of TNG's "Second Chances," where there are two Rikers.

The only thing that was interesting to me was the ending, where Past Kelly blew off Past Ed and then basically hung up on him. What does this mean? If they never get married, then Ed could conceivably not get command of the Orville, since it was Kelly, in her role as Ed's ex-wife, who recommended Ed to Admiral Halsey. Or if Ed ends up being in command of the Orville anyway, maybe Kelly won't be his first officer. Could they be writing her out of the show?
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

That was a halfway decent episode, but I don't find the Moclans all that interesting and would prefer that the writers not use them so much. Also, Klyden is a dick.

Topa referred to Klyden as "Papa," then called Worf "Papa." Wireless telecommunications facility?

The Dolly Parton thing was funny, but they pushed it too far.

The Marina Sirtis appearance was a complete waste. Anybody could have played that part. I don't think her character even had a name.

Nice to see Ru'afo from "Insurrection."

With each episode, I dislike Alara 2.0 even more.

I like the character of Haveena, and I guess by extension the actress who plays her.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 7:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I guess it's good to know that New Jersey ( where I am from) still exists in the 25th century. And Jell-O too. They should have snuck in a Cool Hwip joke.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I am wondering about the "stunt-casting." I saw during the opening credits that John Fleck (Silik from "Enterprise") and J. Paul Boehmer (generic Nazi from "Enterprise" and "Voyager," as well as the super-Borg created from Seven of Nine's nanoprobes and The Doctor's mobile emitter) were both in this episode. But I couldn't figure out what characters they were playing, even given Fleck's distinctive voice. I wonder what's the point of having Star Trek actors on the show if you can't recognize them. I also didn't get the point of Jason Alexander's cameo as the rhinoceros-like bartender.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I wonder if they set up that "Gordon and Alara 2.0 having a drink together" thing just so Alara 2.0 could say "Cheers" and the audience would say, "Tee hee, Ted Danson was on the show and they said 'Cheers'."
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

@Mertov

"We vaguely hear from an Admiral-like character that they would like them to join the Federation[.]"

That character *was* an admiral.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

"which includes a scene where Scott Grimes sings, to which my reaction was simply — whoa, wow"

I think I'd be singing too if I were engaged to Adrianne Palicki.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Wouldn't you think that a civilization as advanced as the Kaylon would have a better way of disposing of the bodies, like maybe disintegrating them with a phaser?

One thing I didn't understand. Alara 2.0 (I forget her name) and Worf (c'mon, everybody knows Bortus is The Orville's Worf) detected these structures beneath the surface and said that the Kaylon were adding new ones. Does that mean that some of the Kaylons' builders are still around and being executed?

On watching the episode a second time, I noticed on Mercer's desk what appeared to be a tiny model of Wilbur and Orville Wright's first airplane.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

OT as far as this episode is concerned.

I was wondering if the Planetary Union also has a ship called The Wilbur. But I realized that the Planetary Union corresponds to the United Federation of Planets in the Star Trek universe, and Starfleet is the Federation's space-exploration agency. Is there an agency in "The Orville" that corresponds to Starfleet? The writers seem to be using the same terminology for the government (Planetary Union) and for the space agency.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 9:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Wren T. Brown, who played Locar, was Kohlar on the Voyager episode "Prophecy."
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I don't see what Isaac could get from holodeck sex. At best he's got a holo-weenie.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Karl Zimmerman again

By citing that line said by the Elephant Guy, I was assuming that when you said "The humor was entirely absent for once, except for the double esophagus guy," you meant the character himself, and not anything in particular he said.

Did you (you = all the commenters) see that alien who was humanoid with two eyes, but one eye was directly above the other? That was pretty cool.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Karl Zimmerman

"The humor was entirely absent for once"

How about when the Elephant Man -- who I'm pretty sure was Joe Swanson (Patrick Warburton) from Family Guy -- said his previous captain "totally had a boner for [him]"? (It wasn't funny, but it was clearly meant as humor.)
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@SlackerInc

"I am stuck with the barbaric scenario as regards this show of having to watch it live on antenna with no recording available, since FOX does not make full episodes available any longer on its website for 'cordcutters' like myself, and I don’t have cable or satellite for a signin, nor do I subscribe to Hulu."

I don't have satellite or cable either. Do you have a smartphone and/or a tablet? The episodes are available from the iTunes Store and maybe from Google Play. If you have a smart TV you can stream the content to the TV.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

What was the point of having Jason Alexander play the bartender? That could have been anybody in that costume so far as the audience knew.

I didn't think this was a good episode with which to start the new season. (Yes, I know it was a first-season show that was held over until the second season.)
Set Bookmark
navamske
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

@John

"I find myself wondering what color blood Human-Vulcan hybrids have."

Christmas-y.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Dec 20, 2018, 7:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

@LiliEoze

"the plants traveled [through] space to that planet"

Yes, I remember that. Why does the reviewer seem to go out of his way to say that the plants were indigenous to the planet?
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Dec 20, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

@Debra Petersen

"The developing relationship between Kirk and Edith was beautifully done. When Edith first encountered Kirk and Spock she could easily have dismissed them as common thieves. But she seemed to instinctively recognize that they were much more than that, and to understand their closeness, even though there were things about them that puzzled her."

One of my favorite scenes in this episode is where Edith, asked by Spock where she would estimate they belonged, said to Kirk something like, "And you -- you belong to a different place. I don't know where or how . . . I'll figure it out eventually." As she says this, Kirk has a half-smile and a look on his face, and then we see Edith with the same half-smile and look on her face. This was when I first understood the concept of "chemistry" between performers (even though the actors were not necessarily looking at each other or were even in the same room at the time). The deep intellectual and emotional connection between Kirk and Edith -- Shatner and Collins really sold it.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Wed, Dec 19, 2018, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

@dgalvan

"To make it all the worse/insulting, Kirk has a one-liner where he said 'I'm sure the Federation can find another diplomat to prevent that war.'"

Actually, he said, "I'm sure the Federation can find another woman to prevent that war." Which of course is worse.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Apropos of the reviewer's quite correctly saying that the transporter should have been mentioned: T'Pol tells Hoshi to start scanning for Archer's and Reed's bio signs, and Hoshi argues, "There are 10,000 people down there!" Yes, but only two of them are human. They might have given themselves an "out" by expositing that humans' and the planet's inhabitant's bio signs were nearly indistinguishable from each other -- but the episode went out of its way to show that human physiology was very different from the aliens' physiology.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@Nolan

[[Before this guy was a Family Guy writer, and before he was a writer for Enterprise, he wrote the Star Trek parody episode of Futurama, "Where No Fan has Gone Before."]]

Was it also before our sun burned hot in space?
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.