Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 596 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 24
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I'm going to make this simple. Any further comments discussing past events involving a certain poster who left the board and has now returned -- and rehashing any of the events surrounding that person's departure -- will be deleted. This includes any comments referencing past events that are made by the person who left the board and returned.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Mon, May 7, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

You are all being silly. The gaps explaining the backstory for TFA will be revealed in Episodes 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6, give or take a few decimals.
Set Bookmark
Kosst Ammonia
Sun, May 6, 2018, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I was read your opinion about "Mad Idolatry", so I'm sorry.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, May 6, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or punch your computer screen." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, circa 1997

"Feel free to agree, disagree, or throw your mobile device." -- Jammer's Reviews tagline, alternate version, circa 2012
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 5, 2018, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The MU is 100% writer's device. There is no logical way you can have a divergence that is so similar, with the existence of the same people, yet completely different or "opposite." There is no way to reconcile it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 4, 2018, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

My review is finally posted. May the Fourth be with you!
Set Bookmark
Kosst Ammonia
Wed, May 2, 2018, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

@artymiss

Yo're really thinking that way, or you're CBS-payed troll?
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Thu, Apr 26, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Nick P,

I know you will probably never read this...but it's stated quite clearly in DS9 that the Romulans gave the Fed permission to use cloaking tech in the Defiant so they could use it as a forward scout against the Dominion.

In the beginning, they were to keep a Romulan crew member on board at all times but they relented on this and let it be Star Fleet crew only.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I see everything. :)

Thanks, Katie. I didn't know any of that. Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

"Another thing, when I was growing up in Seattle (not a small city by any means) the local broadcasters refused to air this episode because it depicted the devil."

What?? In Seattle? Are you sure it wasn't preempted for baseball or something?
Set Bookmark
tommy
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Wow... hate for immigrants (or Jews... I can't really figure that out) is alive and well on these boards... fascinating. The aliens here don't claim ownership of Bajor. Their religious stories say there is a place they are destined to go, to help a suffering people. TO HELP. A lot of you are forgetting that part of the story.

This is what's so good about DS9.. not afraid to have an unhappy ending... and both sides had a point. Bajor couldn't support them if an emergency happened... and maybe the aliens could have helped Bajor.

And they weren't tossed out of Bajor and then returned. They just had a vision or religious belief of where they should go. In the end even the leader admitted Bajor was not katana (or whatever)

Very good episode.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"deus-ex-technobabble" -- I love it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

If I recall, in the very first episode of Voyager, someone calls Janeway "sir" and she says that although that is typical Starfleet protocol, she prefers "captain." (She says "ma'am" is acceptable in a crunch but less preferred.) So it's written as a preference thing.

Either I am imagining that or have a good memory about one obscure scene.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

For the record, the review is also from 1997. The comments just weren't turned on until 2007.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Those of you who were hoping for a new Star Trek show got your wish.

Star Trek: Special Effects Aroma But OMG The Plot Holes
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I always hated this episode. I mean, it had some interesting parts. Like seeing monster Worf, I guess.

But the premise seems...beneath Star Trek.

This isn't sci-fi, it's fantasy. Things need to at least be plausible.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

What always annoyed me about this two-parter is why in the hell would Picard and Data go the planet? Isn't this exactly what Star Fleet Intelligence is for? Why would they risk the life of a captain and Data?

It's TV, I know.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Great episode, but I feel that the 'advanced alien draws us in' trope is a bit overused. But to be fair, this was the early '90s.

But I could have sworn there was another alien that draws them to the center of the galaxy in a different episode of TNG. That one looked more like a cloud alien.

I like how they hinted that Broccoli retained some of the extra smarts. I like to think that his time on Voyager was this thing reasserting itself.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I hope to have this reviewed soon. Had to demote it on the priority list for a while, and time flies by faster than you expect.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

This was a pretty piss-poor finale to a mixed-bag of a first season.

The setup makes no sense. Why didn't they just use their foo foo magic jump drive to plant a bomb in the Klingon home world a long time ago? They couldn't pay some Orion pirates for the intel on where the Klingon planets are?

Ugh.

1 stars from me. I'll watch season 2 only if it explores the Romulans.

Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"Forego" is a valid variant spelling of "forgo" -- one I happen to prefer.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I don't understand anything the producers/showrunners are doing with Discovery.

Making the show a prequel makes little sense to me. They want to set the show in the cage era and insist its prime timeline. But nothing matches up at all. All the previous treks at least tried to make it all seem like the same universe just different eras. Like respecting the visuals and story. If they don't want the show to look like the TOS era because it looks too "primitive" for modern audiences, which I understand they really should've set it post-Voyager/Nemesis. All they would need to do is make some adjustments. Set the show several hundred years in Voyager/nemesis's future They could still have a faction of radical Klingons who are opposed to federation ideals. Instead of Sarek, just have another prominent Vulcan. Plus all the technology would make perfect sense because its in the future. People would expect technological advances. But setting the show pre-TOS era makes me feel like discovery is really not prime timeline but a different timeline having nothing to do with previous trek shows.

Also I don't understand why they have to re-imagine everything in trek now. I've heard there are licensing issues but doesn't CBS own the rights to the Star Trek prime designs? I was under the impression they only had to change the designs/iconography for the movies.
Set Bookmark
NoComment
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

Lol.

Phaedon wrote: "I don't care for people who compulsively bring up 'plotholes' to take down an otherwise entertaining episode"

He then proceeds to compulsively bring up the episode's potholes in an attempt to take it down.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

To answer a few questions with no particular methodology:

@Karl: No, I won't be revising the ratings retrospectively. There's just little point in trying to figure out how the breakdown "should" have been and I'd rather they just stand for how I felt at the time. It do what it do.

@Plain Simple: If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)

@Artymiss: If memory serves, Discovery's first season was originally going to be 13 episodes, and they actually upped it to 15. So they had more episodes than originally planned. Either way, whether it's 13 or 15 or 10, that's plenty of episodes to tell a season-long arc. It's all about planning out the story and leaving out what's not necessary.

@Everybody:

The T'Kuvma killing is worth revisiting. I never commented much on it because I think I may have missed something. I am with others who say his death was clearly not intended by the storyline to be this big thing that Burnham did. I never noticed at the time that she specifically set the phaser from "stun" to "kill." I kind of read it as she shot him to stop him from further attacking Georgiou in the heat of the action. I fully admit that may be an incorrect reading.

Like a lot of things on this series, I think this partially stems from a failure of sloppiness by the producers. They didn't comment on it because they probably didn't intend it to be this big decision of "murder" even if that's how it was shot. I only watched the scene once and don't recall the exact shot selection, so I could simply have missed it. But I think the writers missed it too, or that it got changed on the set, or something, because it was never made out to be anything than something that happened in the middle of the action. Either way, I see that sloppiness or omission as being on the creators for making it unclear, or not following it up with dialogue.

Also, @Everyone: I'm not actively taking solicitations on what to review next. You are free to submit them for fun, but the series has already been decided, if I can figure out how and when to make it happen.

Lest everyone think Discovery's reception is universal doom and gloom, there are some positive reviews out there by respected critics who have thought this through. Notably, this one from Matt Zoller Seitz:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/02/star-trek-discovery-season-1-finale-review.html
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Jammer,

I see you consider this to also be the season recap post. Does that mean you're going to be retrospectively downgrading some of your ratings, as you have in the past?

I agree with others that The Expanse would be the most logical series to review in the downtime. Not only because it's the best (although still modestly flawed) space opera on TV currently, but also because similar to BSG and Andromeda, it has a Trek connection (Naren Shankar is one of the showrunners). Though I'm also curious if you'd like Altered Carbon.
Next ►Page 1 of 24
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.