Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 816 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

TAS is on the indefinite backlog.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:06am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Reece Zimm
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I almost skipped this one because of Jammer's review, glad I looked at the comments. Certainly worth a watch, especially if you liked or disliked Demon. Great ending too
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 3:32am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Loved it!
Set Bookmark
Reece Zimm
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 1:11am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Just great!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

So a few quick things, now that Picard has officially premiered:

1. I did my best to get the new Picard section and the first episode page up ASAP after the premiere was released (I did prep work days ago behind the scenes), but CBS made it especially difficult by not releasing the episode titles in advance, and by also not making it obvious what time this would actually be released. (Discovery used to be released in the evenings; that's clearly not the case for Picard. I guess for Picard this is going to be midnight Pacific Time?)

2. This goes across the board for all shows, but I would really appreciate if you would NOT discuss episodes in places other than the pages for those episodes. In recent years, I've gone to lengths to try to get pages up before the review is written (by timing it with prepared automation) because I know if I don't put a place out there for people to discuss, they'll just start posting comments somewhere else. It'd honestly be great if you could just *wait* if the page for some reason isn't there (like if I can't learn the title in advance) -- but I'll make every effort to time it so the page is there when the episode hits the street.

3. I know I've said this a lot in the past few years, but I have no idea how long or detailed the reviews will be this time around. As a matter of sanity, I am committed to stay on schedule and not get behind by more than a few days, and certainly no more than a week, because I simply can't have the reviews pile up or I'm likely to just give up. I managed to find a way to still turn out good reviews for the past few years of Discovery and Orville, but I don't know what that will look like with my time-boxed schedule being even more limited than in recent years. We'll see how it goes. The fact I couldn't even muster a blog posting previewing this and have still not yet written the "Rise of Skywalker" review is probably not a great sign, but we'll see.

4. No promises, but I may see if there's a solution I can come up with to help delayed Picard watchers steer clear of spoilers in the comment stream. Hiding them all would be easy, but I don't know if that's the best option for everyone. For now, if it is labeled with "PIC S1," that's your cue to avoid it if that's your desire.

5. Play nice while I'm not moderating. I'm frequently a few days behind in reading comments. And for Picard, I may run behind as a regular practice.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

On the whole it was very promising beginning to the season, but not a totally flawless one. Still probably the best pilot episode that a Trek series has ever had.

There were many things to love here, some of which have already been mentioned.

Stewart always elevates material - even when it's dreck like TNG's first season. Fortunately this is far from dreck, but his acting has only improved with age and every line he gives is a pleasure. Picard is back baby! Isa Briones surprised me in a very pleasant way as Dahj as well - the trailers didn't really show much of her after all, but she's a powerful enough force onscreen to not wither away in the presence of Stewart. Spiner is in perfect form in his two little bits as Data. Alison Pill's character leaves me a bit cold so far, but the supporting roles were generally speaking excellent.

I am very happy that this series is a lot slower paced, warmer feeling, and more naturalistic than Discovery. There was none of the jarring use of purposefully weird camera angles, fast cuts, harsh lighting, or loud music that makes Discovery episodes distracting. So far Picard knows that it's important to make the quiet parts quiet, and I very much appreciate that. Most of the dialogue seems natural and at ease. The focus on character so far reminds me quite a good deal of Deep Space Nine - my favorite Trek by far.

The one aspect I didn't like is the episode had a bit too much expository infodump for me. Two interactions in particular just stood out as not good. One was Picard's "interview." Although Picard's reactions to the interrogation were an excellent chance for Stewart to show off his chops - and the writers to show how many people in 2397 don't like Picard much - the questions the interviewer answers seemed like they were there for the purpose of elucidating us as the viewer. Worse still was the whole of the interaction with Jurati at the Daystrom Institute, which involved both badly-done exposition and some really suspect technobabble (Reconstructing all of Data's brain from a single positron? They always have to be twins? Seriously?). It's a shame, because except for these two scenes, everything was perfect.

On the whole I'd say in Jammer's rating system it is either 3 or 3.5 out of 4 stars. I'll be generous and give it 3.5 because he rated Emissary that high - and I think this is a better pilot.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me simply the best Star Trek episode ever written! Excellent acting all around. Captivating and riveting dialogue. Not one punch thrown, not one phaser fired, not one explosion. The current people working on Star Trek could learn a lot from this episode. 4/4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

For starters, I think there's a big misconception about JJ Abrams' contributions to "Lost," which is held up as the example for which he's the Worst Showrunner Ever. He created the show by way of writing the pilot and was involved in the first season, but beyond that he was minimally involved. That show was run by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse. All the mysteries everyone complains about and attributes to Abrams might have been (partially) initially set up by the pilot, but Lindelof and Cuse were the ones who teased them out for six seasons.

Another thing about "Lost": This idea that it was an epic failure that collapsed under the weight of all its mysteries is overstatement at best, revisionist history at worst. Maybe the ending (and the sixth season in general) wasn't everyone's cup of tea. Maybe the show went on longer than it needed to. But in litigating the mysteries and answers and resolutions (and their adequacy or lack thereof), the whole point of "Lost" -- its terrific characters -- gets completely overlooked in retrospect. This was a character show (and in many ways an anthology) first and foremost. The mystery box plotting could be dismissed almost as MacGuffin if you so wanted. I think people get so wrapped up in wanting plot answers *to their satisfaction* (let it be said "Lost" answered most of its questions; perhaps you just didn't like those answers), that they don't see the forest for the trees.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I gotta say, I've never quite understood the (increasingly fashionable) Abrams hate.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I can't and never will consider Discovery as ANY part of classic Star Trek canon. Probably not the Picard show,Or the Section 31 show either.I don't care what CBS or the show-runners say. Discovery is just too aesthetically and tonality different for me to reconcile it with classic Trek. They have just taken wayyyy too many liberties with aesthetics and canon. The ridiculous things for me that will never fit in for instance the R2-D2 like droids on the Enterprise hull or the Red Angel Iron Man suit . They are not era appropriate. For me these and the terrible (IMO) writing and unlikable characters are just insulting, laughable and cringe worthy . But if people like it that's absolutely fine. Everyone is different and has different opinions and tastes. I totally get it I just can't bring myself to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I have not. I imagine it might be a different viewing experience seen through a different lens now.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

@Springy,

I didn't say this on the DS9 thread when you got to the end of that series, but meant to: Thanks for bringing your rewatch of all these shows back here to share with us. It was fun and enlightening to hear your perspectives over the past several months!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Some quick thoughts, if perhaps we take the Picard topic over there:

https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/05/24/trailer-star-trek-picard/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I haven't really watched much of it, but my 6-year-old daughter really likes the new DuckTales. She doesn't get all the social media references, but hey.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 11, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor, Thank you for your kind words!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seeing as this pointless sniping over who said what and whether it's right or wrong, etc., blah, blah, has nothing to do with Star Trek and no sign of stopping, I'm deleting a bunch of this white noise in the hopes it will get things back on track.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The star ratings are what they are, and are explained here:

https://www.jammersreviews.com/info/ratings.php

Read the paragraph at the end. Not sure what else to say...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

There are not going to be other reviewing projects. Three and a half months is about all I can manage in a year. It's not sustainable.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Without summarizing my thoughts on the creative value of either show overall (I find strengths and weaknesses for both), I'll just say that creative and commercial success are often two different things. Drawing a correlation between the two is tenuous at best. Lots of people like garbage, while many gems go unappreciated.

Also, comparing the streaming business to the traditional broadcast one is a clear case of apples and oranges.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Okay, this unending personal argument has nothing to do with the episode and is completely out of hand. I'm going to delete it and ask that it be stopped at this point. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Though there are many flaws with the whole "Cornwell's heroic sacrifice" moment - most notably, as I said, the idea that blast doors (with a window!) could protect Pike from a photon torpedo exploding less than 20 feet away - from a character sense it was clear what they were trying to do here. Cornwell died for one reason only - in order to reinforce why Pike has accepted his fate to become a wheelchair-confined invalid.

The key is in their final exchange. Pike is ready to die in Cornwell's stead, since it is his ship. He's also a bit incredulous that he can die, considering he knows his true fate, and perhaps is considering that such a heroic out is better than what otherwise awaits him. Cornwell notes that he may be wrong, and he needs to think of all the people he could yet save in the future. This convinces Pike to let her make the heroic sacrifice.

The point of the scene is basically to say the reason Pike is now fated to end up in the chair isn't because there's some sort of god of destiny pushing things to their improbable conclusion. It's because he's a man driven by his sense of duty and selflessness, and because of that, he will continue to make the right decisions, right up to saving the cadets. Making other choices simply is not who he is.

Honestly, it was probably the single best "character moment" in the entire episode. It's a shame the scenario they used to railroad this moment into being was so fucking contrived.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.