Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 340 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

A dark and gritty episode that doesn’t shy away from uncomfortable issues. Kira is not my favorite character but I liked her here.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I enjoyed thie episode a lot, but kept waiting for the inevitable reveal that Sisko was somehow being manipulated by anti-Federation Bajorans trying to prevent Bajor from joining the Federation. I still think that bee-yotch Winn may have had something to do with it.

Anybody have a list of all the DS9 episodes touching on Bajoran faith, the emissary, the prophets, orbs and stuff?
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Below average episode for me. I’m a Quark fan, Odo is so mean to him. OK Quark is a shady character, but Odo hates him so much he takes such perverse pleasure in seeing him go to jail, he’s willing to travel 8 days just to see him get what he deserves. Than it turns out Odo wasn’t even told what the proceedings were really about. Yeah right.
Quark for the win!!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Is Risa like a prostitution planet or something? I don't get it.

Dax in a swimsuit was nice. I also think Leeta is smoking hot so I enjoyed her scenes. Other than that, I concur with the consensus: Gawd awful.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Loved it! My favorite parts were Worf describing the Klingon war against the tribbles, “mortal enemies of the Klingon Empire”, the Klingons obliterated the Tribble homeworld, lol, I howled.
And Dax looking smoking hot in a Starfleet mini skirt. Thank the stars!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

O’Brien went along with the alien body snatcher too easily, didn’t even ask who are you? Miles is savvier than that. Keiko should just go be a botanist somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I enjoyed this episode. I like Jake and I like Cirroc Lofton (guess I’m in the minority judging by other reviews).
I was waiting for Jake to save Bashir’s life at the end, go from coward to hero all in one episode, but I like how the writers didn’t take that route. Instead Jake saves everybody pretty much by accident, he confessed it all to Sisko at the end. I really like the bond between Sisko and Jake.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Glad I read to the end of this thread, as Monk seems to be the only real person here - the rest of you are imposters. Whispers is the kind of episode that makes me want to throw a billiard ball through the TV. Imagine DS9 staff prepping for Replicant-O'Brien's arrival:
Sisko: "Ok, people, we are not sure, but we think O'Brien has been replaced by a replicant. When he arrives, I want you all to act really spooked around him. Think 'Stepford Wives,' 'Body Snatchers,' that sort of vibe. So that he does not suspect anything."
Bashir: "I can do a medical exam on him."
Sisko: "Good idea, although he may be duplicated down to his DNA and synaptic patterns. Better ask him about dizziness and headaches. I've heard that replicants get a lot of headaches."
Kako: "Do I have to sleep with him?"
Sisko: "Only if you want to. You should probably snog with him a bit. Make sure to keep your eyes wide open."
Kako: "I will have Molly smell him. She will be able to tell if it's her real dad or not."
Sisko: "Fine. I'm sure she will need some serious therapy when this episode is over. Why stop there? Bring her along to the final scene so she can watch her fake dad get shot."
Kira: "Why don't we just put him in the brig?"
Sisko: "That would make for a pretty short episode. Anyway, if we do that, they might kill the real O'Brien."
Odo: "But if the replicant is an exact duplicate, down to his neural patterns, isn't he Also the real O'Brien? Which means he is as deserving of life as any sentient being?"
Sisko: "...?...?..."
Odo: "Sorry."
Kira: "I think Quark is fake."
Sisko: "Major?"
Kira: "Quark is fake and I am going to kill him."
Sisko: "Stand down, Major."
Kira: "I had Molly smell Quark. She says he smells funny, not like Quark at all. Gonna blow his lobes off."
Bashir: "Major, come to the sick bay."
Odo: "Doctor, you appear unwell."
Kako: "I do not feel like myself. I think I am not the real Kako."
Sisko: "I'm not liking any of this."
O'Brien: "Computer, freeze program."
/holoprogram paused/
O'Brien: "Computer, this episode straight up sucks. Play 'Reunification Part 1' again."
Computer: "Accessing..."
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping. 2.5 stars plus .5 for Vulcan pajamas

A decent 3 stars

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I really enjoyed this one. It's nice that while DS9 was doing war, drama, soap, and sitcom, Voyager was still doing the Star Trek sci fi "what if" concept episodes. I love when they realize they're still sleeping.

To answer some questions, the aliens are probably like cats, and sleep most of the time, but still have to get up, work, eat, etc. Then they use their telepathic abilities to commit piracy on passers by.

@Jammer
What are the "pins" on her "engineering jacket"? Well, I assume they are tools, like a stylus, a universal Sonic screwdriver, a laser cutter, perhaps? I walk around work with a pocket knife, a Gerber/Leatherman, pens, and a sharpie. It makes sense for B'elanna to do likewise. In fact, we should see others doing so.

@Brian C
On Voyager, they successfully and deliberately eject the Warp core 3 times on Voyager. They do it in season 1(I don't remember the episode title) but you don't see it. B'elanna does it in season 4's "Day of Honor." And the doctor, posing as B'elanna, ejects it in season 7's "Renaissance Man." In the latter two instances, they show it happening, and it's a pretty cool effect.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Very strong episode. I would have given 3 stars after first seeing it, but easily 4 after seeing it again. This episode effectively delves into dissenting Vulcan personalities with subtlety, which is as it should be.

This is one of the few episodes of Star Trek nominated for a Hugo award(others have been DS9's "The Visitor," or TNG's "The Inner Light," and "All Good Things"
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

This is probably better than 90% of the Ferengi episodes on TNG and DS9. It's a comedy episode. COM-E-DY. Plausibility has never been a concern in these types of episodes. A shipment of kemocite in the shuttle causes time travel back to Roswell, New Mexico? A group of bumbling Ferengi outsmart the Dominion, who have taken "Moogie" hostage!? I could go on. Even the most celebrated Ferengi episodes of DS9 are wildly implausible and ridiculous. Try holding this to the same standard.

I see a lot of complaints about the knockout gas. Do we know what kind of gas was used? Alien gas from the future must work like incapacitating agents we use today? You better hand in your combadge, because the same complaint could be applied to every single episode where a phaser is used to stun someone.

As for continuity, even in TNG we are told that Picard had fought with the Ferengi when he was younger. Why didn't he recognize them or their ship?
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"... Pregnant Cardassian Hotties OnlyFans account, damn it".

Elliot, you just brightened my day 100% with that comment.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Jul 20, 2019, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

@John-

"But by the end of Season 2, there seemed to be complete 180, because all indications are that in Resolutions, all the stuff beamed down that Janeway and Chakotay were living with was left there when they came back to Voyager."

They left the shelter, but i assume the reason they packed up everything else and had it sitting in a huge pile of containers outside was not so they could just leave it behind.

I'd give the episode 2.5-3 stars. That seems fair for handling B'elanna's depression fairly well. And it's never said that she is magically "fixed" by the end. She's merely confronted her problems, and not by herself, for the first time. She has started down a road of healing.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Do we know it wasn't a proactive writing choice? What better way is there to demonstrate equality in a show set in the 24th century than to say "look, gender isn't an issue in the future. We're all the same". If that message is far more appealing to present-day women than men, it tells us men still don't want to hear it. If decades of feminist literature and academia hasn't helped, what will?
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

"And for that matter, did Voyager really spend many episodes on the struggles of Janeway being a captain because she's female? "

That would be inequality, wouldn't it? The fact the show treated Janeway like any other (male) captain, and didn't focus on her female-specific problems, says she's the same, not different.
Set Bookmark
mike
Thu, May 30, 2019, 11:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I love Leeta, so gorgeous, she is the best reason to watch this episode.
Set Bookmark
mike
Mon, May 27, 2019, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Didn't like this two-parter very much. Cheap stuff like the "military occupation" of earth is shown by Sisko's dad looking out the window and seeing a couple of Starfleet security types appear on the street. lol. Bad acting by Avery Brooks, ugh. a restaurant with no staff, uh ok. Sisko foils a military coup of earth by talking to guy in an office. bad all around!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, May 12, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

“They irradiated their own planet?” One of the greatest Quark lines, an awesome episode, absolutely love it!!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

The concept of sailing star ship is so ludicrous but totally fun. I loved the Cisco-Jake scenes, and the drunken piss up between O’Brien and Bashir is one of the funniest scenes ever, I howled!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

Loved the episode (like everyone else)!
Odo’s meeting with his mysterious Cardassian government contact in the cave reminded me of All The President’s Men when Robert Redford met with Deep Throat in the parking garage. Great directing by Avery Brooks!

5 stars, great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Great ep! I like Mirror-Dax way better than real Dax, ultra gorgeous! And Sisko has to take one for team and have sex with her, the poor guy!
BTW where do they get the ore from and why do they process it on Terok Nor? A space station seems like inefficient location for a smelter.
Set Bookmark
mike
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

I love Quark, he's my favourite! interesting word in the review: cardboardedly.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I guess Jake doesn’t have any other friends on the station so he tolerates Nog, but Nog is such a douche, Jake should have told him to get lost. Not sure what the message is supposed to be about accepting Ferengi culture or whatever. Jake is a nice guy, but come on.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I felt embarrassed for the actors. Absolutely awful. Nearly stopped watching, but I am currently binge-watching the entire series, so gutted it out. Cringe-worthy.
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.