Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 330 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Very strong episode. I would have given 3 stars after first seeing it, but easily 4 after seeing it again. This episode effectively delves into dissenting Vulcan personalities with subtlety, which is as it should be.

This is one of the few episodes of Star Trek nominated for a Hugo award(others have been DS9's "The Visitor," or TNG's "The Inner Light," and "All Good Things"
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

This is probably better than 90% of the Ferengi episodes on TNG and DS9. It's a comedy episode. COM-E-DY. Plausibility has never been a concern in these types of episodes. A shipment of kemocite in the shuttle causes time travel back to Roswell, New Mexico? A group of bumbling Ferengi outsmart the Dominion, who have taken "Moogie" hostage!? I could go on. Even the most celebrated Ferengi episodes of DS9 are wildly implausible and ridiculous. Try holding this to the same standard.

I see a lot of complaints about the knockout gas. Do we know what kind of gas was used? Alien gas from the future must work like incapacitating agents we use today? You better hand in your combadge, because the same complaint could be applied to every single episode where a phaser is used to stun someone.

As for continuity, even in TNG we are told that Picard had fought with the Ferengi when he was younger. Why didn't he recognize them or their ship?
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

"... Pregnant Cardassian Hotties OnlyFans account, damn it".

Elliot, you just brightened my day 100% with that comment.
Set Bookmark
Mike C
Sat, Jul 20, 2019, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

@John-

"But by the end of Season 2, there seemed to be complete 180, because all indications are that in Resolutions, all the stuff beamed down that Janeway and Chakotay were living with was left there when they came back to Voyager."

They left the shelter, but i assume the reason they packed up everything else and had it sitting in a huge pile of containers outside was not so they could just leave it behind.

I'd give the episode 2.5-3 stars. That seems fair for handling B'elanna's depression fairly well. And it's never said that she is magically "fixed" by the end. She's merely confronted her problems, and not by herself, for the first time. She has started down a road of healing.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Do we know it wasn't a proactive writing choice? What better way is there to demonstrate equality in a show set in the 24th century than to say "look, gender isn't an issue in the future. We're all the same". If that message is far more appealing to present-day women than men, it tells us men still don't want to hear it. If decades of feminist literature and academia hasn't helped, what will?
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

"And for that matter, did Voyager really spend many episodes on the struggles of Janeway being a captain because she's female? "

That would be inequality, wouldn't it? The fact the show treated Janeway like any other (male) captain, and didn't focus on her female-specific problems, says she's the same, not different.
Set Bookmark
mike
Thu, May 30, 2019, 11:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I love Leeta, so gorgeous, she is the best reason to watch this episode.
Set Bookmark
mike
Mon, May 27, 2019, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Didn't like this two-parter very much. Cheap stuff like the "military occupation" of earth is shown by Sisko's dad looking out the window and seeing a couple of Starfleet security types appear on the street. lol. Bad acting by Avery Brooks, ugh. a restaurant with no staff, uh ok. Sisko foils a military coup of earth by talking to guy in an office. bad all around!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, May 12, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

“They irradiated their own planet?” One of the greatest Quark lines, an awesome episode, absolutely love it!!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

The concept of sailing star ship is so ludicrous but totally fun. I loved the Cisco-Jake scenes, and the drunken piss up between O’Brien and Bashir is one of the funniest scenes ever, I howled!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

Loved the episode (like everyone else)!
Odo’s meeting with his mysterious Cardassian government contact in the cave reminded me of All The President’s Men when Robert Redford met with Deep Throat in the parking garage. Great directing by Avery Brooks!

5 stars, great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Great ep! I like Mirror-Dax way better than real Dax, ultra gorgeous! And Sisko has to take one for team and have sex with her, the poor guy!
BTW where do they get the ore from and why do they process it on Terok Nor? A space station seems like inefficient location for a smelter.
Set Bookmark
mike
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

I love Quark, he's my favourite! interesting word in the review: cardboardedly.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I guess Jake doesn’t have any other friends on the station so he tolerates Nog, but Nog is such a douche, Jake should have told him to get lost. Not sure what the message is supposed to be about accepting Ferengi culture or whatever. Jake is a nice guy, but come on.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I felt embarrassed for the actors. Absolutely awful. Nearly stopped watching, but I am currently binge-watching the entire series, so gutted it out. Cringe-worthy.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I enjoyed this episode! I love Quark, he gets some funny lines. “Your integrity is going to get us killed. I hope you’re happy.” Lol, classic Quark.

Incredible bravery by Sisko and O’Brien to go into the burning Jefferies tube, and then by Jake to rescue O’Brien.

Enjoyable and fun!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Awful episode. One of the worst. Creepy and cringe-worthy.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 3:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Peter G.

YES! Yes it is, real love is single minded and essentially selfish, it is a beautiful insanity. When you really love someone, nobody and nothing else matters, if you wouldn’t happily let the world burn for someone you love then you don’t love them, you might be very fond of them, but love is more than fondness.


Johnny Cash wasn’t exaggerating when he wrote Ring of Fire...
Set Bookmark
Mike
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Jason


I don’t, I have a baby nephew, nonetheless the same thing applies. If God forbid something happened to him and I could bring him back by destroying the universe it wouldn’t even be a question. The nature of real love is such that nothing else really matters but those that you love.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Wow! Do none of the commenters here have parents?

I’ll say this, I know that my mom is going to die eventually and I’ll have no choice but to accept this and hope that I’ll see her again one day in heaven. However, if I did have a choice to either stop her from dying or undo her death, even if it meant destroying the whole universe in the process, it wouldn’t even be a question, I would do everything I could do to bring her back without a second thought to the universe. That’s what love is.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Can’t Keiko just get a job on DS9?

Quark is awesome, I love him! I’m getting a “Quark’s Bar” t-shirt! He is that great!!
Set Bookmark
Mike
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:45am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Great episode!

But (and there is always a but...) the Kaylon are starting to sound like the Borg, but instead of assimilating, they destroy inferior worlds. Even the leader was called Kaylon Prime, sounds like the Borg designations.

Can't wait until Part II.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

A very enjoyable episode!
Was this the first time we see until upstairs at Quark’s outside of the holosuites? I like the glowing lamp on the wall, the red light district!
Set Bookmark
Blue_Mike
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I'm still not sure where people are getting the impression that the Section 31 of the late 24th century didn't have access to ships. There is literally nothing in the dialogue to suggest this, and besides which, where do people think the holodeck they had Bashir in for most of "Inquisition" was situated if not on a ship?
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

I liked this episode! Shows Quark has a heart. And some intersting insight on Garak. They should have had more fun with the Casablanca theme though. I was totally waiting for Quark to say “Of all the synth ale joints in all the space stations in all the galaxy, she walks into mine!” And I couldn’t believe at the end Quark didn’t say: “Garak, I think this is the start of a beautiful friendship!” Could have been great, but it’s all good, I enjoyed it!!
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.