Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 389 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Aug 30, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

lol
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 29, 2018, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

@mitty I agree with you about "Blink". After watching that I couldn't sleep for a couple of nights.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 29, 2018, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

There are some moments that, no matter how many times you experience them, never lose their impact. "I am Locutus of Borg. Resistance is futile."
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 29, 2018, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

A run of the mill mystery that the audience has no chance of solving. Not bad, not great.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Hilarious episode! Lwaxana gets Lwaxana'd by a Ferengi who eventually kidnaps her, Riker and Troi. Very funny hijinks ensue culminating with Picard performing love poetry (comically badly) to rescue her from the Ferengi clutches.
Fun, comic relief after the morose boredom of Sarek.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

If you are ever having trouble sleeping, turn this one on, you'll be snoozing before the concert is over.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 8:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

If Data had killed Faja, at the worst it would have been justifiable homicide. Too bad the Enterprise didn't come 5 seconds later.
Data delights in gloating and then mockingly says, "I do not feel pleasure. I am only an android." Riiiight Data. (wink wink)
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

REG _ GIE! REG -GIE! REG- GIE! REG- GIE!
Social outcast who is mercilessly picked on by the crew exacts his revenge holodeck style.
Oh, and he saves the ship too.
5 stars
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Both Tin man and tam just wanted to be left alone. My advice is that you just leave them alone. A boring episode that ends with us knowing nothing more than what we learned in the first five minutes.
@Peter Swinkels In order to die, Tinman put itself in the path of an exploding star. I don't know hat the Romulans had the firepower to kill it but might have wounded it enough to cause it to suffer. Also, now that Tam was near, maybe gave Tin man hope. Joining with a kindred spirit would alleviate it's loneliness.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 4:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Chrome Of course I watched it. Picard made an exception after the little girl gave him an excuse. If Picard did not hear her say, "Data where are you" , the Enterprise would have left them to die.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 3:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@PeterG & Chrome
"There are times sir, when men of good conscience cannot blindly follow orders." Jean Luc Picard
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 2:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Very good episode. Picard punches out a Ferengi on during his time of rest and relaxation on Riza. A fun time was held by all and of course, we meet Vash, a fun girl however you spell her.
3 stars
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Bravo! Bravo!
The greatest Troi episode to date!
Oh beautiful Troi, how absolutely useless you are. What did the writers have against you? I must say that your ineptitude in this episode was remarkably portrayed.
You sure are pretty though
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

It seems that some thought it a shame that the Klingon High Council did not live up to the high ideals we have heard so much about Klingon culture. This actually makes the empire more realistic. In most societies the ideals are usually found among the populace. The governments push the ideals as a veneer but rarely do they live up to them.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Many praised The Offspring for its emotional punch. This was bigger and better, with far more reaching consequences.
It was amusing watching Worf slowly seethe to his eventual boil and eruption just because he was being treated politely and complimented at every turn. Great stuff!
The tone gets serious though once his brother reveals himself. Worf's sacrifice to keep the empire intact was noble and honorable.
Great story, great plot, great sets, great action 5 stars
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

The Riker scene was humorous but even if he had been living in a cave for a few days, the first officer should have had knowledge of the new android on the ship.
The child/parent dynamic seemed forced and heavy handed. For an unfeeling android (wink wink) Data's fixation on said dynamic seemed to be more than just the result of logical conclusions.
Interesting plot.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I wonder if people know what mirror means. A mirror shows the same picture in reverse. Why wouldn't a mirror universe have the same people?
Furthermore, the reason I like time travel stories is that they present infinite possibilities. If you understand the concepts of a multiverse and infinite timelines then it should be completely plausible that a universe or a timeline might only have subtle changes.
With this in mind, could they have shown us an alternate timeline in which an entirely different crew was on Enterprise D? Sure but what fun would that be? Could they have shown a timeline in which the Enterprise C comes through the rift and meets the Excelsior rather than Enterprise D? Of course, but what would be the point? What they did was to show the most interesting and relevant timeline to the viewers who tuned in to see Enterprise D and the familiar crew.
I don't mind nitpicking but I'd hate to watch some of the episodes that some people seem to want.
"Tune in to our next episode of STTNG when we have an entirely different crew on an entirely different ship because it's a time travel story from an entirely different alternate universe."
I pass.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Yummy time distortion, butterfly effect, Klingon aggressors, … a smorgasborg (pun) for a scifi enthusiast like me. More More
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Oh My Gosh! Did someone actually say that Riker introduced the suggestion of rape? lol The lady's recreation literally has Riker trying to forcibly remove her clothes as she persists to protest. That's attempted rape. For Riker to actually articulate it as rape, he was merely stating the obvious.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

After reading the comments, I stand with Jay on this one. Is Riker a womanizer? Yes but it has never been established that he would be open to an adulterous relationship. And to do it right in front of the husband, you'll never convince me of that. Riker does have some standards.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 7:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Hogwash! I'm not buying it. That lady literally accused Riker of rape. Riker says that the woman came on to him. Either Troi is a complete buffoon of that lady has an impressive ability to convince herself of a lie. The stories are so diametrically opposed that there is no way you can chalk it up to a matter of perspective. Somebody was out and out lying and it wasn't Riker.
Data gave Picard a Hilarious side eye when he looked to critique his painting. Now I'm giving that same side eye to Troi.
She is pretty though.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I'm tempted to say that this was the greatest Q episode ever. It was most certainly the most entertaining.
I love Worf puns, from Data's "Take my Worf ...please" to Q's "Little boy who cried Worf." bwahahahahah funny stuff
Best moment this time round was when Data said "Trained little minions." echoing Q's derision of the Enterprise crew.
Worf's "Die" suggestion was quite droll.
And let's not forget Q's dig at Riker's stache.
There was some serious stuff as Q contemplated his mortality. Overall 5 out of 4 stars.
More Q please. They should make a Star Trek Q series lol
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@Chrome In my original post I stated, "Surely the prime directive wasn't meant to make men into monsters.' I don't have a problem with the Prime Directive, I have a problem with people who use the prime directive as a crutch to justify helping someone who is in immediate jeopardy. A scared child is communicating her fears to Data. When Data realizes how serious the situation is, his logic says help her. He goes to Picard who holds a meeting.
Everybody in the room except the doctor and Data are more worried about the prime directive than they are about actually helping the people. Here's the facts, 1. The crew is actively studying the geological problem. (Wasn't the study about seeing if they could interfere with the course of nature in the future? If not, it was pointless.) 2. They know a race is about to be wiped out. 3. (Here's the kicker) They can help the people without the people even knowing they exist. But they would use the prime directive to justify letting the people go boom? That sounds ridiculous to me.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

You have an enhanced super soldier, why is your strongest member sitting at a keyboard? Data should have been going after Danar with Worf.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 9:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

It doesn't pay to be a Romulan with a moral compass
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.