Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 183 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 20, 2019, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

NO KISSING ON DUTY

I am looking forward to this series finale and will be sad to see my review of TNG at an end...

Stewart does a good job of acting an aged Picard complete with the higher pitched whine old men get when they are upset (Buckle up gents, old age is coming for all of us). But with his fitness regime etc he seems more like 85(not 72). So was he 60 at the end of the 7 year run? I was thinking he was 40-47, no that isn't right is it?

Wait! how did Picard (in the past) know Q was involved???


We are a dangerous savage child race indeed...

After watching seven years, there is no way humans are inferior to Ferengi, Romulans, Cardassians, Klingons, Bajorans, etc. Not better but not worse...

I shall miss Riker shouting "Red Alert!"

This certainly has more of a movie feel to it: where they pull in all the old bridge crew through often bizarre tangents (We're getting the band back together). For example, I hope that medical globe ship didn't have any patients in it. Hey where did they put the patients?

I like the idea of time travelling for the series finale. It shows the past we experienced, where the ship and crew are now and then the future possibilities. But a big minus for me was how much this focussed on Picard. Yes he pulled this series along with his acting, but surely there could have been more of an ensemble plot. I know there was the Worf/Riker spat, seeing Beverly divorced from Jean Luc, Troi dead but these were minor minor vignettes.

It wasn't even a good episode for Stewart acting besides the old man behaviours I spoke of earlier. And my god, his early behaviour asking the crew to trust him when he as taken them on a series of actions without explanation and with certain peril. He comes across as a cult leader frankly.

I did like Q's little speech although I thought Picard was always telling Q how they were improving as species, developing as beings and not just exploring.

I did like the poker game and I am sure it is difficult to write a series finale. This one had its good elements. The ultra focus on Picard just put me off it.

8/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 20, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

A good start but Ro's little fake bar scene seemed so contrived. how would they trust her? shouldn't she have a very public fallout with Star Fleet?

wow Picard shows poor judgement in threatening Ro. If she is already feeling conflicted but is in a good position in terms of gathering intelligence, do you threaten her and send her over to the other side? And who was the numb nuts attacking their cell?

Why did Picard make a show of asking Ro if she was willing but then be total hardass and not in a good way later on? What a pisspoor way to end the series...

8/10 for Picard the assalope.

Even Riker seemed to be more sympathetic. I wonder what Picard was thinking at the end? his part in pushing her over to the Maquis? His lack of finesse? His lack of judgement?
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, May 19, 2019, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

Look how the Ferengi have improved over the years of TNG. No longer cartoonish in the same way, they start to approach Quark and company as believable. Its funny that all we saw on DS9, to my recollection, is the commerce side of the Ferengi and not the military, scientists etc that we saw on TNG.

OMG Jason is a perfect Jack Nicholson. Why doesn't Picard show him the Holodeck. I bet there are great climbing programs in it...oops there it is


This was a nice calm look at Jason and Picard navigating their new relationship..not fake instant connection or forcing it. This was a nice arc for Picard and well acted by both him and Jason.


9/10

. I am not sure what to think of the Ferengi finding superior technology but it makes sense since they are wealthy and travel and trade far....its funny how Bok turns his knife around and safely gives the knife handle to his comrade when he surrenders..one billionth rule of acquisition .....never run with scissors.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, May 18, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

I like Worf and Alexander and enjoy seeing them both evolve as characters and as father and son.



9/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, May 18, 2019, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Wow Wesley looks older. He has filled out some. He is a little old for the sullen teen persona....Wesley insufferable brat...where no confused youth has gone before...why doesn't he at least graduate? good riddance and I cant believe he doesn't apologise to Geordi or Worf.

Nice tie in to the Cardassian Federation land swap and rise of the Maquis, no?

Of course the solution on the planet seems well and good but then why did the Cardassians insist on that planet? or are they going to use all of it but the village?

Overall blech

6/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Fri, May 17, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

8/10

Enjoyable but degraded by technobabble in sickbay as they worked one solution after another. I like the creepy jungle atmosphere. Outer Limits?
Set Bookmark
Meister
Fri, May 17, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

Geordi is best when he is patiently explaining something to Data. I know someone had a great explanation as to Geordi being more comfortable with technology I believe. And Data is that and more. We all wish we could sit down and explain things to technology: why we need it to work better! ha ha!

Why does Deanna look like the Joker? Did she have surgery or injections? Does anyone else see it? or the makeup application?

I liked this. Very Hitchcockian...but to be honest, I did NOT understand the explanation.

8/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 16, 2019, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Ugh shades of Indiana Jones and not in a good way...the symbols, the evil ones from another culture....complete with a pit of snakes

This is ridiculous: how much Picard interprets and tells the crew what is going on.

4/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 16, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

by the way, the healer/teacher is played by Ronnie Edwards who was Corabeth Godsey on the Waltons! A great actress.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 16, 2019, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

8/10

I like Data episodes even if this one reminds me of Data and the other little girl.

Its funny how Troi equates ability to pass the engineering test to memorizing technical manuals. No mention of the critical thinking skills that are at the heart of the math-able.

These tests always include sending someone to their death or injury. Send data to do the fixing. or the nanites or whatever they were called.

I am truly confused as to how people become officers, get promoted, are trained, supervised etc. If Troi can become effective ship supervisor like that over others that have been ensigns on the bridge then pffft!
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 16, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

9/10


Unprofessional Troi and Riker discussing crew evaluations in the bar....

Interesting after the drill, when the two ensigns are talking, the female is self deprecating and complimenting the male. The male doesn't critique his own performance just blames Riker for having it in for him. Such beautiful stereotypes: women putting themselves down and males blaming others for their mistakes.

I'm actually enjoying these nitwit ensigns. it would have been good to have an ensign other than Wes as part of the main crew...maybe someone making mistakes as one does....

Actually I like a "day in the life of" type episodes and it is refreshing to have others besides the main crew in an episode. They should have done this earlier and then followed up...

Crusher telling a staff person that they are a friend.....someone she really cares about. I hope none of her other staff hear that...was it really necessary to say that in the middle of sick bay?

I can't believe they are using the Bajoran ensign for the mission...they have surgery in other cases...shouldn't Worf or Riker be altered and sent across? Or perhaps a fake corpse...the Cardassian could still say they had a prisoner but they died...I guess they corpse would have been tossed...shouldn't they have dummies or simple robots for this purpose by now?

Sam makes Sito's death about him by lamenting that probably Sito was going to get the promotion.....and therefore he can't feel good about it.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, May 15, 2019, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Ooh a Crusher focused episode.....

I am not interested in her erotic dreams

I do like mysteries but not fantasy bodice ripper damsel in distress stories with Fabian. Although I enjoyed the final graveyard scene.


5/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Wed, May 15, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Okay As others have stated and I should have paid attention to, this Prime Directive is a little fishy. Wouldn't people choose to live on a different planet or with intervention rather than die? The Federation's own ethics don't seem developed enough for a Prime Directive.

I guess 7/10 for the lofty ideas
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, May 14, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

+1 for Captain Picard day and his discomfort

9/10 A great Riker episode. Could it be the butt of all jokes, Riker is turning into an interesting flawed individual?

Actual grey is shown here. A fabulous technological development vs a treaty which achieved peace. This is DS9 level grey.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, May 14, 2019, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

6/10

I like Worf but ho hum. And I need a refresher on quantum physics and multiple realities
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, May 14, 2019, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

William B has an excellent discussion on why Data didn't tell Juliana. Actually an excellent discussion on Data's change in general.

I still felt Data should have told her. And would have told her. I think for William B's theory to be most likely, emotions would have to be involved and with Data they aren't.


In general. this was the most disappointing of Data's arc stories. I think if I had seen William B's view of it more clearly directly from the episode it would have been tragic brilliance since Data is the character I root most for.

Troi is useless and unbelievable, But then again she never liked Data from what I could see. I saw many instances where she was almost derisive with him. Certainly superior. I'll give Geordi and Crusher points for not being like that with Data.

And Crusher should have been confidential and open with her patient.

[an aside: Troi reminds me of journalists who sneer at math abilities just because they themselves are weak at them. They are equated with nerd-dom. I will never forget a journalist friend of mine who told me how they competed for who had the lowest math mark in high school. Like that was a matter of pride. Hello! math skills are correlated to critical thinking skills. The same skills that allow you to suss out the assumptions and bullshit in a story. ]


I guess 7/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 13, 2019, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

10/10 for the Picard message alone:

"We can only hope that others realize that it is in their best interests to take action."
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 13, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

ok. I was suspicious almost right from the start of the so called good guys The Kes. Lets see if that plays out...

(its funny that I don't remember this episode or the previous one. So many episodes I remember after 30 years even if its just a small element that causes a glimmer on the rest of the episode; although that empath glaring in the last episode was familiar, perhaps it was just to the previous pervy mind rapist)

Once again Riker reacts angrily and defensively with the Kes ambassador even though all he had to do would be to be assertive and explain why he wants to contact the Prytt. The ambassador was calm so why not Riker? Riker is such a joke of a non leader. I feel sorry for him though with his shit childhood. ...wait he's not a real person! ha ha.

Why is Picard prattling at full volume as they try and escape and are outdoors...?

Oh no Crusher has found out the secret of men: guess and pretend you know what you are doing. Picard I hereby kick you out of men's club for revealing our greatest secret!

It is good to see Crusher acknowledge her nitwit behaviour.

Its funny to see the Kes take control of the rescue and even on the ship they are in control. Riker leadership again. You would at least ask to have an operative join your reception team at the village. If you control the village. And why wouldn't you just give them the badges so they can beam up from the village? they don't need to go to the Kes land.

I actually cant believe Picard is in love with Crusher. He likes adventurous women like Vash. Crusher is intelligent but vapid in her own way.Is she interesting at all?

It was a touching scene by the fire though. And Stewart masterful as usual. I'm sorry though, I just don't like the two of them together. But love is fickle right?


6/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, May 12, 2019, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

7/10 Its too bad this one came right after Data's dream one. They have the same dreamscape running through the ship type scenes.

I like Lwaxana. Troi was okay in this one. They set up the mindreader to be another criminal perv with his grimaces but he turned out to be a nice guy.

Well we are in the home stretch of TNG. I definitely like DS9 better for simply a larger number of better actors and characters and the longer arc stories. But TNG is the basis of it all that greatly expanded on TOS for me.
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, May 12, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

As soon as I saw the preview picture of Data with the phone in his chest, I knew I would like this one. I liked Data and his dream discovery. And in the preview when Data woke up and his modern art was in the easel next to his bed, I confirmed that to me, Data is the best of TNG. Even better than Stewart's acting - which is stellar. So lets see how I found the rest of the episode...

Oh the ironies of Geordi finding unwanted attention uncomfortable. Maybe he would like to revisit his treatment of Dr Brahms.

Ugh I hope this isn't one of those creatures in the warp core/plasma conduit/transporter stream in trouble and communicating through Data...


9/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sun, May 12, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

PArt 2:

5/10
Riker proves why he is unsuitable for command with his emotional tantrum in front of Troi. Of course the writers then had Troi be Troi and also be emotional. But she was right: he had responsibilities. Her response was terribly acted.

I know one reason why I don't like this episode: the 80s metal band outfits on the bad guys' ship.

And we have already seen Troi act undercover and Sirtis did a much better job of it. Riker and Picard are painful

+1 for Data putting Worf in his place

The best part was the final scene with Data, Riker and Picard
Set Bookmark
Meister
Sat, May 11, 2019, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

6/10 for some reason this should have been better than it was. I did enjoy seeing Data in charge. But the rest...ho hum
Set Bookmark
Meister
Fri, May 10, 2019, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

+1 for both Riker and Geordi sharing their personal lives.

Overall though, there was too much technobabble here. I wasn't able to even imagine what might be going on and why they couldn't disconnect.

5/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 9, 2019, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Lame

They know nothing about each other (e.g procreation) and send Picard with one of them and let two on board.

Its funny I remembered that sweet tooth ambassador taking the entire plate of cupcakes or whatever they were to the table.

Then there is "deranged woman ".

I could barely finish watching it.

4/10
Set Bookmark
Meister
Thu, May 9, 2019, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

9/10

I usually like the Lore Data episodes. This may have been the weakest of them but it still had some gems.

Riker is such an asshole. The hostility from him when anyone criticizes him. Hugh had valid complaints. And these new Borg need help. Why is Riker so emotional and defensive? I do not see how he is right for command at all. (My father pointed out that many tall men get command when they shouldn't. I have witnessed it myself - and the man crushes other men have on tall men. Yes I believe there have been studies on that?). But this is extreme.

I thought it was interesting what happens when only so called negative emotions are felt. I think there may be something here. Is it the shear volume or height of emotion? Was Lore giving Data the equivalent of endorphins with the negative emotions? So turn off the ethical part of the brain (or brainwash with the whole greater good crap) and feed lots of negative emotions and voila...murderous leaders...
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.