Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 80 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Rattrap Maximize!
Mon, Sep 2, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Hi Jason. Viruses do indeed change the DNA of the cells they infect. In the majority of cases, however those changes cause the cell to stop functioning, and die. By that point, the virus has used the cell to reproduce, and infect more cells, but as the infection spreads, the host cells will likely keep dying. Or, they'll often become cancerous. Both situations are bad for the host.

There are exceptions, but for a race to design a pathogen that could successfully infect species from another planet is... really improbable. By "successfully", I mean that it could rewrite the DNA of the infected individuals such that it doesn't end up killing them.

This would require knowledge and understanding of the target species' genome, which is exceedingly unlikely as in the case of this episode. It would require tailoring the pathogen specifically to the target genome so that it would have any chance of working as intended at all.

On top of that, the crew showed *very* significant physical changes. Changes in bone structure, almost instantaneous massive hair growth, gills, and I think that x-ray zoom into Archer's chest showed him spontaneously popping a second heart into existence?

Such drastic physical changes *might* be able to be encoded into a person's genome, but it would need to be done before the cells begin differentiating. Basically, this pathogen would need to have been injected into a very early fetus for any hope of working.

An adult human has more or less reached the end of the growth/development phase of life, so editing the DNA isn't going to result in sudden organ/bone/etc generation *unless* there's also a way to reset the host cells into a pluripotent state -- but that would also likely cause massive debilitating health issues.

On top of *that*, is the fact that the virus seemingly transmitted an alien consciousness into the team's brains, which I can't think of any sort of justification for.

Somehow, though, that's all a roundabout way of getting to my real issue with this epidode, and Berman/Braga era Trek in general:

The biological properties and functions of the pathogen in this episode are the *interesting* aspect of the show. And yet it's handwaved away, and treated as a means to an extremely uninteresting end. All that, so Archer could find the ruins of an ancient city? Meh.

If the episode actually focused on studying the virus itself -- if the hour was devoted to a detailed, analysis of how it does what it does, and if that analysis even *sounded* plausible enough, I might have liked the episode.

I mean, I can't overstate how significant this pathogen is to the Star Trek universe (you can turn a Klingon into a Vulcan? Hello!). A few decades of study by the Federation's top biologists should give you a cure to essentially any illness. Been exposed to Berthold Rays? Got Dorek Syndrome? Telurian Plague? Just take a hypospray of this stuff that can edit your DNA, and reset your cells back to normal! Doctors will be obsolete. McCoy will go into Anthropology.

A collective of cybernetic organisms comes knocking at Earth's door, hellbent on assimilating your population? Make giant bug-bombs of this stuff, and beam it onto their cubes! Massively edit their DNA to reject the cybernetic implants, and turn them all into tribbles! At the very least, reversing their own assimilation should be fairly trivial.

Alternatively, edit your own species' DNA to be assimilation-proof.

If the massive changes to the away team's bodies had killed them, or the treatment had killed them, or at the *very least*, left them with severe, debilitating medical conditions requiring them to resign from Starfleet, *that* would have been an episode worth watching.

You'd have a new captain (T'Pol, maybe?), security chief, and communications officer, so the show would have to deal with those ramifications, but that's what bothers me...

...The pathogen in this episode is a MAJOR discovery. Historic, even. The biology and physics behind its abilities are not trivial, and should be almost the sole focus of the episode.

The ramifications of the pathogen's very existence are crying out to be explored. The ability to change a person so fundamentally and completely into a completely different species, with a completely different personal identity is utterly terrifying.

But instead of focusing on the *actually compelling* aspects of this pathogen, it's used as nothing more than an infection-of-the-week to set in motion this utterly insipid, threadbare story about the ruins of an ancient city in a jungle.

This is Star Trek pulling its punches. It introduces a (frankly universe-breaking) concept/situation, and then goes on to completely sidestep and ignore everything that made the opening concept compelling, in favor of telling a generic, safe, non-compelling story.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As for the replicators, I'm not going to say they're more plausible per se, however...

...I would say we have enough established science on biology to set some upper limits on what a virus should be capable of.

I'd say that we don't have enough established science on quantum physics (which I tend to associate transporters/replicators with) to set any meaningful limits on what such a device should be capable of.

In other words, I think we know enough by now to know that this virus is nearly impossible.

I think we *don't* know enough yet to know that a replicator is impossible.

That might be a weak argument, but it's easier (for me, at least) to suspend my disbelief on a topic when it has less data screaming in my face "this isn't plausible!!!"
Set Bookmark
Rattrap Maximize!
Mon, Sep 2, 2019, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

I more or less agree with both Dave and NoPoet on this episode. Not much I can add to that.

Something brought up by kythe:

"I wouldn't have rated this more than 2 stars. I didn't see the purpose of this as a zombie story. Vulcans who can't control their emotions are just called Romulans. There is no reason to believe they turn into killing machines that don't speak."

This brings up a question that the show clearly (and unfortunately) had no interest in asking -- just *what if* Vulcans with no emotional control ARE, in fact, hyper-violent killing machines?

Following from that, what if their strict adherence to emotional suppression was merely the consensus best-available solution to a deep, fundamental flaw in the 'Vulcan Condition'?

Following further, what if the Romulans were simply a portion of the Vulcan populace who disagreed with the idea of emotional suppression, and simply developed different ways of managing the darker parts of the Vulco-Romulan psyche.

What if the 'fully matured' Vulcan and Romulan societies are the products of differing lines of thought, regarding the best ways to manage a hyper-violent Id? (a slightly re-worded version of the previous question).

From what I've learned over the years, emotional suppression is largely an unhealthy thing. What if the shared base tendencies are such that Romulan civilization

1) Allows for freer expression and management of emotions, thus...
2)... a given Romulan is --individually-- more emotionally/mentally/psychologically healthy than a given Vulcan, yet...
3) ... a civilization which allows such free psychological expression is susceptible to the darker elements of said psyche becoming a defining characteristic or guiding principle upon which the civilization as a whole is based.

WHEREAS Vulcan civilization:

1) Insists on --frankly oppressive-- emotional suppression of the individual, thus...
2) A given Vulcan is more psychologically unhealthy than a Romulan, despite their often calm outward demeanor, yet...
3) ... a civilization which works so hard at suppressing their emotions, and which ostracizes those who can't/don't, ends up out-thinking the hyper-violent tendencies which would otherwise make that civilization unsustainable in the long run. The unhealthy self-denial of the individual allows the civilization to flourish alongside many other worlds.

This could be seen as the Vulcans choosing a sort of conceptual dictatorship -- where logic is the dictator, and slavish subservience is ensured through strict social conditioning. The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few... or the one.

The Romulans, on the other hand, choose a certain freedom of expression, which allows a toxic and fundamental aspect of their psyche to take hold on a civilizational level. This makes them less amenable to diplomatic relations with other worlds.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BUT, as I said earlier, this show isn't interested in asking these questions. The following quote from Cetric proves as much

"You just have to look into their distorted, mutated faces to understand the effect goes more far than just switching off logic and turning on paranoia. The Vulcan chief engineer interrogated by T'Pol isn't capable of recognizing her, a former ship mate, lest saying something. He was turned into a beast, we have to assume what's left of the Vulcan brain is an animal-like horde drive which makes them behave like they do. And other physical changes go along with it."

This condition goes FAR beyond simple inability to control emotion. This loss of all higher functions altogether. This isn't representative of a possible Vulcan psyche, but rather what's left of their reptilian brain (or equivalent) simply reacting violently in a violent situation.

And it's too bad. Dave pointed out the 'what if', with regards to the possibility of rescuing the Vulcans, and having to deal with the fallout of having 140+ new residents on your cramped vessel, all recovering from a severe psychological illness during a desperate mission to save your own world from annihilation. That's a story I want to watch. But Enterprise pulled its punches by making the Vulcans a lost cause, and blowing them up.

Similarly, exploring the possibility that Vulcans *are* in fact a fundamentally hyper-violent race, and what that implies about both how Vulcan AND Romulan society developed in response, offers a potentially fascinating and status-quo breaking insight into both civilizations. But again, Enterprise pulls its punches, by turning the Vulcans into straight-up zombies.

This is the major failing endemic to Berman/Braga era Trek. FAR too often, compelling problems are presented, but then completely worked in such a way that all the compelling aspects of said problems are ignored/evaded completely, in favor of some utterly toothless, unrealistically convenient, uninteresting, 'safe', status-quo-maintaining resolution.

I often get the sense that whoever was making the decisions in the B&B era, be it writers, producers, or network, didn't actually *see* how compelling the situations they came up with were. The situations were just a means to an already-scripted end.

Maybe it's the fault of the more episodic TV of the time. I don't know.

I haven't seen Discovery yet, but I hope it goes all-in on asking the compelling questions.

Having said that, I absolutely enjoyed the production value and presentation of the episode. I'll give it three stars for being utterly watchable, despite the shying away from the big questions, and despite the seizure-inducing visuals, Seriously. They should have put a warning in front of that episode.
Set Bookmark
Rattrap Maximize!
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

This was the worst hour of Star Trek I've ever sat through. No, I'm not exaggerating -- The worst. Zero stars. No, scratch that. -2 stars.

It was uncomfortable watching reasonably talented actors run around like neanderthals in an utterly unnecessary episode. Apparently, designing a virus which can turn an alien into one of your people by literally rewriting their DNA and booting up a copy of your species' brainwaves is so easy a caveman can do it.

"Pretty laughable really, when those same folks have accepted Warp drive, replicators, transporters and sub-space communications as gospel for 50 years."
- Yanks

I don't think this is a sensible comparison. Warp drive and transporters are a founding conceit, without which we wouldn't have Star Trek. I mean, we *might*, but we'd have to sub in cryostasis ships/generation ships and shuttlepods. But I'm getting away from my real point which is:

Warp drive and transporters, while obviously not real, are somewhere on the very fringes of speculative science. We may never have those technologies -- they may, in fact be entirely impossible. *However*, we don't know that yet, and there are actual, real physicists who are entertaining the thoughts. Replicators are just a variation on transporters.

Subspace -- okay. There's no such real hypothetical that I'm aware of. Maybe you could say it's just another name for extra dimensions/bubble universe theory, which is also somewhere on the fringe of speculative science.

Point is, I (and apparently millions of Trek fans) are willing to suspend disbelief when the science seems at least somewhat plausible.

Rewriting DNA, and suddenly undergoing extreme physiological changes (altered bone structure, extreme hair growth within seconds, altered respiratory system [sudden gills],) is simply not plausible. Not even the fringes of biology (to the extent that I'm familiar) has *any* speculative science to support the idea that a virus/pathogen could literally turn you into a different species, write new data (language, memories, personhood etc) to your brain, radically re-engineer your respiratory, circulatory, and/or nervous systems, do so within minutes, AND somehow leave enough of your previous body/identity intact so as to return FULLY back to normal with the simple injection of an antidote?

That's not how biology works. That's not even how biology *could* work. If you make sudden, massive edits to a person's DNA, they get cancer and die.

Things like warp drive and transporters are a plausible --even if just on a fringe level-- conceit that allows Star Trek to exist. The completely asinine 'Extinction', 'Threshold', and 'Genesis' ideas on biology are the stuff of saturday morning cartoons (I should know, see my username).

I like saturday morning cartoons. But Star Trek isn't --and shouldn't!-- be a saturday morning cartoon. Not the live-action, mainline canon series, anyway.

Star Trek should ask sensible, compelling questions. Or even fringe-sensible, but still compelling questions. This asked neither. This is dreck.
Set Bookmark
Rattrap Maximize!
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

So. I actually *liked* the opening song for the first two seasons. I know, I know. But this weird island remix? That's not a good thing. That's bad.

I love the MACOs. It's incredibly refreshing to *finally* have a platoon of appropriately trained and equipped infantry on a Starfleet ship.

On a slight tangent from the above; It's always been a bone of contention of mine that Starfleet tries so hard to define itself as a non-military force, despite being THE arm of the Federation which conducts every military activity, up to and including total war.

Every Starfleet vessel should be staffed with MACOs from ENT through VOY and beyond. It makes absolutely no sense to fly headlong into deep, unknown, often hostile space, relying on a frankly insufficient "security team" for the inevitable combat scenarios.

My only fear with the MACOs is that they're being deliberately setup as a sort of 'thematic effigy' to be burned at the alter of 'Gene Roddenberry's Vision™', and will eventually be revealed to be stereotypically 'military jock bully' types. This will be used to show how 'enlightened' and 'superior' the non-military, pacifist, Starfleet Way is in comparison.

Maybe they won't do this. I really hope they don't do this.

On a related note, I *really* can't stand Reed. The guy has such an aggressive, overbearing inferiority complex, it's insane. It really feels like every time he opens his mouth, it's to whine, complain, or fish for sympathy. It's absolutely grating. His unilateral measuring contest with Maj. Hayes over who should do what on the rescue mission was immature to the point of being unprofessional. I'm glad T'Pol agreed with Hayes.

Speaking of T'Pol, let's talk about THAT scene. No, not the not-sex-but-Trek-sex scene with Trip, but rather the earlier scene with Phlox. The scene that somehow *no one* is talking about.

I have the utmost respect for Phlox. He might just be my favorite character so far. But, the hell?! His pressuring T'Pol into committing a very intimate act with a crewmate was plain unsettling. I get that Denobulan (and Vulcan, for that matter) ethics aren't necessarily in lockstep with human ethics, but T'Pol and Trip were *both* clearly uncomfortable with the idea, yet Phlox pressed on anyway. He both pressured T'Pol into the act, and lied to Trip about a treatment, so as to set up the encounter.

I *get* that he wanted to help Trip relax, so he can focus and perform while on the job, but really. Would he pressure Sato into having sex with Reed, to help him get over himself? Because that's essentially what he did. This feels unprofessional, unethical, and wrong. Maybe it could almost work if the whole Xindi situation became incredibly desperate, urgent, and dire, but this is literally the beginning of the arc. We're not there yet.

As an aside to T'Pol, sexuality, and feminism -- I find it interesting that during TOS, it was considered a show of sexual liberation and female agency, that women could wear somewhat... accentuating attire. From TNG through ENT, however, dressing this way developed a presumption of sexual objectification.

Having said that, I also do believe that there was a concerted effort (from B&B? The network?) to overly sexualize T'Pol (and Seven before her), and it would have been gratifying to see T'Pol switch to a Starfleet uniform in this episode.

The prison break was... eh. The MACO shootout was enjoyable, largely because of how cathartic it is to see a competent combat team at work in the Star Trek universe.

But seriously -- enough with the kidnapped/imprisoned captain. The one time it worked, there were four lights.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

@Peremensoe - I realize I'm several years late here and the original commenter will probably never read this, but I had to point out the appalling misunderstanding of biology in this comment just for my own peace of mind.

The epidemics of smallpox, measles, and other Old World diseases among the inhabitants of the Americas are in no way comparable to what happened in this episode. As Dutchstudent clearly said, viruses and bacteria cannot effect species they are not adapted to. Key word: species. Europeans and Native Americans are not different species! Smallpox, measles, etc, had been adapting to the human species in Eurasia and Africa for millennia before they were brought to America, where they encountered absolutely ideal conditions for a disease, a large population of a species they were adapted to that had no prior exposure to them. That's why those epidemics were so devastating.

The situation in episode is in no way comparable. It's explicitly stated that the Enterprise crew are the first humans to land on the planet, so nothing on the planet would have had a chance to adapt to humans. Without prior exposure, the chances of a bacteria or virus being able to infect or even interact with a human's system would be extremely low. Have you ever given an oak tree a cold by sneezing on it? Sounds ridiculous, right? To catch a disease from a never before encountered alien lifeform is exponentially more unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, May 16, 2019, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Startrekwatcher -

I'm surprised that you think the whole cast was more involved on TNG than DS9. I feel like there were plenty of TNG episodes where Troi or Crusher or La Forge got maybe two lines in one scene. It doesn't seem to me that there was a whole lot of difference between the two shows in that regard.

Also, the open submission policy lasted all the way through DS9 and VOY and was only stopped with ENT, so I don't think that can explain any difference in quality between the shows.
Set Bookmark
Max
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

What’s happened to the comments here? Can they be made readable again?
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Forgot to mention, and I honestly don't know the answer to this, but would the censors really have thrown a fit if they dribbled some cherry syrup on the sword blades after someone gets stabbed? I'm not looking huge amounts of gore, but seeing blades get drawn out shiny clean from a stab wound is hard on the ol' suspension of disbelief.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

This is a great episode and it's the beginning of a stretch of great episodes running to the end of the season that's one of longest in Trek history. However, I do have to disagree about the effectiveness of the moral dilemma element. Part of it is that it just doesn't work for me on a personal level because I don't think there's anything morally or ethically wrong with killing a child murderer. But even aside from that, I have some other issues. Although Nana Visitor gives a wonderful performance in the scene where Dax asks Kira about killing, I find it hard to believe that Dax doesn't have any personal experience with the subject in all her lifetimes. Even with Joran's memories still surpressed, none of her other past hosts ever killed someone? None of them ever fought in a war? (Remember, Kira's impassioned speech is based on her wartime experiences.) And in the end, Kira and Sisko are so disappointed in her actions that they go so far as to... subject her to disapproving stares and then never mention the subject again. As serious consequences go, this does not impress. And of course, Dax herself is so deeply affected by her actions that...she also never mentions it again or gives any sign that she was changed by it in any way. The episode is a fun romp, but it would have been better without the moralizing about the terrible moral weight of killing a terrible person, a weight that totally fails to materialize.
Set Bookmark
Max
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 5:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

"Brainless" is probably best left without quotation marks (I was quoting OTDP) because Jammer didn't call it that in the review.

I too did not see any problem with the Krill entering the battle. It had nothing to do with Avis and everything to do with self-preservation.

The show still stands up to much more scrutiny than Discovery, which as others have noticed Jammer doesn't like to scrutinize much despite pointing out that Orville is much less serious.
Set Bookmark
Max
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

One could actually view the Kaylon plan to invade Earth as an emotional reaction to what happened to them. Their reasoning for being unsympathetic towards objections that humans are not like the Kaylons' enslavers was that humans had enslaved in their past too. An emotionless robot wouldn't care how innocent the humans were, the practical goal would be all that mattered. They clearly have a sense of justice and that comes from empathy.
Set Bookmark
Max
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Anyone else always get a headache after watching this show?
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, Dec 20, 2018, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

Some pretty ugly sexism in this one, with Kirk threatening to spank Elaan and commenting that Vulcan women are the only logical women in the galaxy. Also, some uncomfortable 'dragon lady' overtones with an East Asian actress in this part. What I really wonder, though, is why it was so damn dark on the bridge in this episode?
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

A pretty good episode, especially for Season 1, but it bothered me how long Picard spends marveling over Geordi's VISORvision in a dangerous situation. Bet he would have regretted that if he'd gone on a minute longer and it led to losing half his senior staff when the freighter blew up before they could beam back. I also wonder if the third Klingon might have had a better chance for survival if the away team had gotten to work right away instead of chatting.

When I was a young kid watching for the first time, I thought for a long time that the Klingons had actually joined the Federation rather than just allying, and seeing things like the Federation symbol on the Klingon transmission makes me understand why.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

There was another all-Vulcan ship on DS9. It was the one whose captain was Sisko's old rival and they played a baseball game against in Season 7.

According to Memory Alpha, it was also mentioned on TNG that the Hera, the ship commanded by Geordi's mother, had mostly, (but obviously not entirely), Vulcan crew. Makes you wonder what the crew dynamics would be like on a ship full of Vulcans commanded by a human.
Set Bookmark
MaxHeadroom
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

This was a great episode, though I sort of wish he hadn't died at the end. I always wondered why he couldn't have simply pretended to activate his suicide implant. It's not like they had any way to know.
Set Bookmark
Max
Wed, Dec 16, 2015, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

I was hoping when she got back to the future one of the first things she would do would be to track down Basso and make him pay for what he did. Of course he was probably dead by then but it would have felt nice to see him get his comeuppance. He was such a sleazeball.
Set Bookmark
Max
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

One of my least favorite episodes of DS9, would not watch again. So incredibly boring, is this Star Trek or Days of Our Lives?
Set Bookmark
Max
Mon, Nov 23, 2015, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

I'm also wondering how she caught up with Voyager? Aside from the distance they would have traveled in 2 years at warp, didn't they also use the subspace slingshot device during that time?
Set Bookmark
Max
Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Roman - I think you underestimate the trust Picard has for Guinan. Guinan's "hunches" are always spot-on, which I've always assumed, for lack of a better explanation, is because of the species she comes from.

I honestly don't think Picard would have gone through with the Enterprise-C going back in time if it hadn't been for Guinan saying it was absolutely necessary. This nagged at him, and changed his perception enough that instead of sending the Enterprise-C into battle (which it was clear they WERE going to do, whether or not the ship would have been "hopeless" in such a battle), he actually took time to think about his decision at many levels, and then finally decided that if there was a chance that the Enterprise-C could "fix" the timeline, it should be sent back.

As someone on the thread said before, the temporal prime directive would apply here, even if the concept itself didn't really exist at this point in Trek. Because Picard had an idea that he was FIXING the timeline rather than deliberately changing it, he was willing to do it. And the idea of fixing the timeline came directly from Guinan. Logic, in this instance, could have gone either way. It was Guinan's certainty that made Picard decide to do what he did.
Set Bookmark
Max
Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I'm sorry, but the Mariachi band was completely hilarious. It was such a Q thing to do - stupid and genuine all at the same time, and completely embarrassing for the bridge crew. I actually laughed out loud when that happened. Plus, you know, the cigars, and the beautiful women. It was funny, dammit.

I definitely think this episode deserves the full 4 stars. I can't think of a part I didn't like or appreciate in some way. And there is a lot of depth here, which is what I enjoy most in a Trek episode.
Set Bookmark
Maxwell Anderson
Thu, Nov 13, 2014, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

This stands up there with Tuvix as among the very best of Voyager, and among the best of Star Trek ever. To have these conscious lifeforms struggle with their own identity, their purpose, then to have them die like that at the end, without any record or memory of them ever having existed, it just really struck me emotionally. Its one of the few times that Star Trek dares not have a silver lining or greater meaning, or anything positive that can come out of this story. All there is in the end is space dust. Truly dark, powerful stuff, and very daring writing.
Set Bookmark
Maximillian
Sun, Sep 28, 2014, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

"when he is looking once again at the image of Vina and realizes he does have a chance to "live" a normal life again"

I wonder also that Pike had fallen in love with Vena, and part of the reaction was accordingly.
(Susan Oliver was striking btw).

I would have made it far more romantic, and touching, where Kirk asks "Chris, do you want to go there ?"

Instead, "Chris, do you want go there, and be with her ?"

The eternal love of a man for a woman, is dealt
directly from God.

I think they just missed the boat there.
Set Bookmark
Max Udargo
Thu, Jul 24, 2014, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

@D. Albert

Excellent analysis of the fundamental problem that undermined the series at it moved along. The key word here is "lazy," I think.
Set Bookmark
max
Sat, Jun 7, 2014, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I'd like to note, that real world model for this episode would be rather Japanese Unit 731 than Nazis. Nazis, although cruel and inhumane, were like kids in playground compared to these oriental butchers.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.