Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 392 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 16
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Fri, Sep 17, 2021, 1:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

After rewatching this (might be only the 3rd time, and definitely been at least ten years since I saw it, and not many times after I saw it in theaters), it was actually more enjoyable than I remembered! I actually may put it above Generations, especially with that weird diversion into the Nexus. Its not a great movie, but its not as bad as STI:TMP and probably a little better than STV.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 11:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Re: The alien unmasking

Reminded me of:

“Old Man Winters?”

“Jinkies!”
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Aug 7, 2021, 4:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I have a hard time with this vs WoK as the best movie. I grew up on TNG, so I usually favor that. But they are both amazing movies.

I just love this movie. The Borg are great. Cochrane is great. It's got a lot of funny moments but also deep moments. Stewart is great on his "I WILL MAKE THEM PAY FOR WHAT THEY'VE DONE".

I just enjoy this so much.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I enjoyed this more than I thought. It is not a great movie - I agree with the other criticisms that after Picard goes into the Nexus the movie just crashes. It's slows and is nonsensical. But before that I thought it was decent.

I disagree that Data is annoying - I loved all his emotion chip scenes (and really all his scenes). I thought Soran was a good enemy but they did need to flesh him out a bit. Show his family and how much he wanted to get back to him. The battle I thought was really good, but I agree it should've been a more formidable ship than a dinky old bird of prey. And the crash sequence was way toooooooo looooong.

Of the TNG movies, I'd put this in Tier 2 (with FC in 1 and the other 2 in 3).
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jul 31, 2021, 3:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

One of the best Series Finales in TV history (right up there with Babylon 5).

I really enjoyed this finale. It was a great mystery and it was also great to see all our characters future, present, and past. And then the finale scene. So bittersweet.

Thank you for all your reviews. I read all of them but did not comment on them all. I binged watched TNG (after TOS) and now its on to DS9.

My season rankings:

S3
S4
S5
S7
S6
S2
S1
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 3:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

I really enjoyed this episode. It doesn't bother me that it was all in Troi's head. The mystery was fascinating to follow and try to figure out.

Also cool that Tim / Kwan left a comment here!
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 3:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I don't get the hate on this episode either. It's not one of the best episodes for sure, but its also not close to the worst. It was enjoyable overall, even if not perfect.

(I also think S7>S6 FWIW)
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 18, 2021, 2:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

This wasn't great, but it was watchable. It was no where as bad as Homeworld.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 18, 2021, 2:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I agree with Luke 100%. This is the worst episode of Star Trek I've seen. Nikolai is right. Everybody else is wrong. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jul 18, 2021, 12:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

@springy

"Hmm. Netflix seems to have skipped this one. It took me straight from Emissary to A Man Alone . . . am not on right now, but will check this out tomorrow . . . weird."

2.5 years later, it is still the case that Netflix has A Man Alone before this episode.

I can't really find much information on why, only this from Memory Alpha:

"Although this episode was the first to air after the show's pilot "Emissary", it was actually produced after "A Man Alone" (which was, in production order, the only episode between the pilot and this installment)."

Might have been a case of the studio airing it out of order for marketing reasons.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Fri, Jul 9, 2021, 2:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I really enjoyed this episode. But I like the mystery ones.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Yup like I said, Time's Arrow is far and away a much much much much better story than this dreck.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

I totally agree with Landon. Time's Arrow is far far better, and closer to TBOBW in good than it is close to this in bad. Let's not even talk of Redemption.

TBOBW>>TA>>>>>>>>>>>Descent>>>>Redemption.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I remember watching this decades ago and thinking it was a meh episode. But on rewatch its actually not bad.

But I really like Krog's idea. Will finally gets promoted and Tom takes his place. There would have been so many good stories there. And then in the movies (like the Borg fight) it would have been great to have two Rikers.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Sat, Jun 12, 2021, 5:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

It's not hard to imagine Starfleet agreeing to not use cloaking technology.

It's similar to how the US doesnt want Iran or Iraq to develop nucleur weapons even though the US already has. The Romulans do have superior technology.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 1:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I love this episode! I don't know why, its just cool and enjoyable, even if they never followed up on it.

And RIP to Norman Lloyd indeed. I read that he was married for 75 years to his wife, before her death at 98.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 2:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Really enjoyed this episode. But then I always love Q (even though all Q episodes aren't great), especially with Picard.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 1:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I agree with those that say Sirtis did a great job here. Inf fact Every time she has been given a decent script she has done well. The problem has always been that she has been given terrible scripts.

And I love Seymour here (and in other roles).
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 12:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

Jellico is the character you love to hate. Ronny Cox is a great actor, and really plays Jellico well.

But I agree with the anti-Jellico contingent. He is not a good leader. Being strong doesn't mean demeaning your followers nor demanding unreasonable actions. Riker was correct in the way he behaved, and especially the words he had for Jellico at the end.

The real problem of leadership though is Admiral Nechayev. She unreasonably passed over Riker. I get it for the story reasons, but in universe it doesn't make sense. I would have much rather had Riker off on a separate mission instead of how they did this.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I remember this film being not that good, and of course hearing about just how terrible it is. However, after watching all the TOS movies, this is underrated and not as bad as its made out to be. I certainly enjoyed it more than STI and STIII. It's not a great move by any means, and has its bad moments, but I enjoyed watching it. It has a decent story at its core, and for the most part doesn't drag on.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 8:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

An enjoyable episode. Three stars. While Data's move was ridiculous, how it ended was awesome
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Oh and the death of Spock was so well done. Just all around great writing and acting for that scene.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I just watched this and was blown away how well it stood up and how tight the whole movie is.

I'm a TNG fan first and foremost but this is my favorite movie.

Khan is such a great villain, but I love Kirk and Spock outsmart him as a TEAM. And they use his arrogance and ignorance on modern actions (IE that ships can really go 3D and the regulations) to defeat him.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I was greatly awaiting this episode in my rewatching. I remember it fondly from my first viewing 20 years ago. I did not disappoint. This is just behind BoBW in my rating of TNG 2 parters. I absolutely love these two episodes.

Love how the wrapped everything up here. As someone said I love how there already we established at the start and we didn't have to see them do that.

4 stars absolutely.
Set Bookmark
Matt B
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Forgot to say 4 stars absolutely.
Next ►Page 1 of 16
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.