Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 347 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
mark
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I refer to Katie's question as to why 24th-century Borg could be defeated by 22nd-century humans. Well, in a Borg ship that would be true. But the Borg only had access to a 22nd-century human shuttle, which is inherently less powerful than a full starship. I think the Borg being able to upgrade an old shuttle to give the Enterprise a real fight sufficiently shows their technological superiority.
I also questioned whether this violates the Trek timeline, but I consider it to be a separate timeline that was created when Picard went back to the 21st century. In this new timeline, the human race will be FAR more ready for the Borg by the time the 24th century rolls around. Of course, in other Trek time travel stories, there is little mention of other timelines. But that may be because the Trek characters don't really know how time works. They don't travel in time that often, and have often expressed confusion about temporal mechanics when they do.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 3:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Biggest thing with Travis is that he should have been a lieutenant in far less than four years. He had more space travel time than anyone else on Enterprise, he did his job through innumerable trials and tribulations, and he never made any mistake that I remember.

I am choosing to assume that the holodeck images in "These Are the Voyages" were six years out of date: no rank increases, no hairstyle changes, no new wrinkles, etc.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 3:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Regarding what Alex said, in older Naval tradition, the position of captain devolved on the highest ranking subordinate (usually a lieutenant) when the captain expired. This was in the days when you couldn't just radio your superior that your captain was dead and have a replacement flown out in a few days. Voyager is essentially in that position here. There are no replacements to be had. When the captain dies, the first officer becomes captain. This includes title and rank pips. Indeed, when Tuvok received command in "Resolutions", he should have changed into command red and put two more pips on his collar, and probably reconfigured the chain of command: chosen a first officer, for example. It's almost like he knew that the captain and Chakotay were going to come back...
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Mar 11, 2021, 2:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Ro exemplifies the danger of the deep cover operative... to have a convincing story, they have to have the right background. And what happened here (Ro joining them for real) is always a potential risk.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 9:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

I don't know if this one rates a ☆☆☆☆, but by Season 1 standards, it was very good. The Bynars were interesting, and their motivation was understandable. We see vignettes on how the cast handles shore leave. And Minuet... I didn't even know what "sultry" meant when I saw this episode, but she sure was SOMETHING!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 9:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

You're right about a lot of things, Jammer; you usually are. But you missed a lot of the points of this episode.

1. I think that the purpose of this episode was to explore a story arc the showrunners had chosen not to take. Just as "Year of Hell" explores a Voyager in dire straits and "Before and After" explores the life of an Ocampa among other species, most notably family (I thought the dynamic with Tom and Harry rather cute). This was "Janeway and Chakotay explore the feelings they have for each other".

2. I'm not sure Tuvok was quite as resolved to his course as we think. He still wore security yellow and two pips on his uniform. He should have put on a red uniform and worn four, and made a point of selecting an acting first officer. Maybe his clampdown on Harry was because the latter was tempting him to do what he knew he shouldn't. And Kes simply gave him a convenient excuse.

3. The monkey's purpose was to show a different side of Janeway, and it did. Similarly, the storm's purpose was to accelerate Janeway's decision to move on. Had her equipment remained intact, it would have taken far longer.

4. The antimatter was not conveniently improvised on the spot... Tuvok had undoubtedly planned for an ambush, and had instructed his people to prepare a few "just in case" contingencies. He was a security officer after all, and his job was to prepare for the worst case scenario. Yes, you see where I was going there.

5. The hard reset of the final ending. Yes, you saw what happened... and that's the point. Janeway and Chakotay both knew that whatever had happened between them (whether handholding, screwing like minks, or somewhere in between), could go no further. What happened on New Earth would stay there, at least until they reached the Alpha Quadrant.

You're right about most of it, though. That endless application of the reset button got really old. And this episode wasn't even the most annoying example.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 6:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

+1 on the thanks for everyone mentioning The Expanse. This is real Science Fiction.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@greycat
“The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.”

Lower Decks is a comedy though, Disco is supposed to be serious drama.
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

... also Bareil 2.0 would have been unique*. Is he human? What makes someone human? He was born a human, he has a human body, he has his memories and personality, he can even father human children (with his human body).

* In the ST universe, and possibly in science fiction (certainly the popular franchises).
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 4:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

"An alive (but robotic) Bareil would have been a decent way of handling his character going forward"

I agree. This would have been fascinating, and different from Data's journey (an android wanting to become more human).

Bareil 2.0 would be a human with his brain replaced with a positronic matrix (is he still human?) . Effectively a robot brain with a human body - as opposed to a human brain with a robot body (e.g. RoboCop). SciFi doesn't have many characters like this - I can't think of any.

Bareil 2.0 would have somehow had Bareil's memories and personality transferred, since that's what Bareil wanted in order to do whatever it takes to continue the peace treaty negotiations. It raises many questions, and it would be interesting to see how Bareil 2.0 navigates being thrown into Bareil 1.0s life. Bareil 2.0 could discover new things about himself, for example if his "software" (memories and personality) is now being run on superior hardware, what would that mean? Let's say he can think quicker, how will that affect the development of his personality, or his interactions with others. I think Bareil 2.0 could have been one of the most interesting characters in all of SciFi.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I’m not sure what target audience is, but I watched the first two episodes of Lower Decks and it’s quite fun. I’m 45.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

About Burnham killing people without reason in the last escape scene with the warp core: Starfleet is basically at war with EC, Discovery is trapped *inside* another ship and heavily fired upon. Not sure what people are expecting in such a situation.

(The above point ignores the question of the warp core had to be ejected - it was not explained why it was necessary since they were going to do a jump)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Maq
“ Why did Culber not take and use a hypo spry?”

They did take some I think but the holo-environment magically removed all objects they had on them.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer’s reviews and the comments section has been a saving grace for this season. Will be back for Discovery: Dilithium Freighter :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 7:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

At least I loled when Book said "Go save the day, Michael." As if the writers have been reading the complaints here and decided to troll us :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 4:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I think I get it. This is just like LOST. Things just happen, without a lot of justification. Then other stuff that seem fun and surprising happen even if they don’t make send compared to the previous stuff. Then a new round of stuff. Oh well. :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 5:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The tears are an easy guess.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 12:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The whole notion of Saru suddenly not acting as a captain and taking orders from Michael is alarming.
It will be highly ridiculous if we end up in season 4 with “Captain Michael”
Set Bookmark
Mark
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Regarding the argument between socialism and capitalism, remember that Trek exists in a world where there is no scarcity. Replicators ensure that no one goes hungry. Holodecks provide limitless entertainment. And transporters can move any person to any place. And limitless energy from any number of sources handles it all.

It's easy to share when everybody can have everything. When scarcity exists, not so much.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 11:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

JANEWAY: "Computer, initiate self destruct. Authorization Janeway pi 110."
COMPUTER: "Self destruct sequence initiated. Additional command authorization required."
CHAKOTAY: "Computer, confirm self destruct. Authorization Chakotay gamma 347."
COMPUTER: "Self destruct sequence completed and engaged. Indicate time interval."
JANEWAY: "Five minutes, mute voice warnings. Enable."

Pretty simple. No one person (male or female, captain or admiral, alien or human, whatever) should be able to nuke a Federation starship alone.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 10:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

The ups of this episode include allowing us to see a different side of Janeway, and delving into the truth of being a captain marooned in the Delta Quadrant: it's lonely at the top. I remember the end of "Resolutions". Janeway and Chakotay were unquestionably right to return to "all business" mode, but my heart broke a little all the same.

Downside is that it's a little ambiguous as to what these holographic characters are. Are they non-sentient computer programs, created for the crew's enjoyment? Or are they something more? There's little question that the Doctor, Vic Fontaine, and Moriarty achieved sentience, but can that happen with others? Especially on Voyager, given that its computers (where holograms dwell) were designed to mimic organic brains?
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 6:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Leif: 'Why are people saying the new Star treks arent as good as this? People don't think Discovery is good..?? '

To be blunt, people just are not happy with anything when it comes to new Star Trek. Instead of just not watching they watch then complain about how horrible it is, yet continue to watch and continue to complain. I just don't understand it myself and shows evolve and always will. Enjoy it or don't watch. Life it too short to spend an hour on something that makes you angry.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 1:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@dave "DISNEY needs to give Jon Favreau a blank check and ask him to take over the head of their Star Wars TV and Movie division and fill in the amount he wants to get paid. He has proven himself and has brought Star Wars back from a very muddy spot, Ill never meet the man but I want to thank him for giving us back our Star Wars. After a difficult two decades since the Prequel Trilogy started I feel like I can connect with Star Wars again. Its really is cool."

This is spot on and I agree 100%. The recent movies were less than desirable to me other than the last half of Rouge 1. The Mandalorian has given me faith again in Star Wars and let's hope it continues.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

My one word review: Unbelievable!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Chris W:
"This show is infinitely better than Discovery, hands down. This is the way."

Don't you mean, "I have spoken"? ;-)
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.