Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 249 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Wow... I seem to belong to the small minority of people very much enjoying this episode. Lazy writing? Hm. Even so, with the Orient Express, the Enterprise becoming sentient, all characters involved, Shakespeare recital etc. - not much can go wrong here. I found the episode to be refreshingly surreal and mysterious after all those episodes about long forgotten relatives etc. But in general I have a fondness for season 7 - even in its badness ("Sub rosa" not included).

I found the concept of the Enterprise becoming intelligent not at all ludicrous. And I do appreciate that they play around with the concept of emergence and philosophy of mind. And I liked Picard's final words that if the adventures of the Enterprise were honorable the sum of it would be too.

One funny production mistake though: When Data depolarizes the power grid in the holodeck while keeping a taxi at distance with his left arm we can clearly see both hands in the next shot.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

I’ve always enjoyed this one despite it really making very little sense. This one always seemed to me like the writers were making it up as they went along. 2.5 stars regardless, it’s just good fun.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

The first thing I notice popping open Season 2 is the vastly improved camera work. Better panning, closeups, and a lot more angles. It’s very noticeable after having watched all of Season 1 together. Also, Riker looking sexy with that new beard and Worf and Laforge in their new gold uniforms.

I can’t make up my mind between Crusher/Polaski. I do think Polaski got way too much hate and I always liked her. But I also like Crusher too, probably more for sentimental and nostalgic value despite that I can now see the weaknesses in her character better.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Always felt the crew behaved very out of character in this episode in terms of how they reacted to the cyrogen folk. From Data saying that cryogenics was a fad that never lasted long, it’s clear that finding people like this isn’t exactly routine, which would partly explain the crew’s behaviour were it the case. Picard saying “they were already dead” is just not like him - if they were able to be revived, is it even really accurate?

And then just the crew’s general disinterest. I mean think about it, if we revived someone from 16-1700’s America or Europe wouldn’t that be just about the most fascinating thing ever?? To understand how they saw events from their perspective and not coloured by history, to see how they reacted to the changes, to answer their questions, even to know what their accents sounded like... it would be so cool! Yet this episode had an aloofness around the whole thing that doesn’t scratch the surface of doing it justice. I mean their biggest concern being their stock portfolio? I just don’t buy it.

1.5 stars...
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

This episode always felt it should have been a two-parter to me. For the scope of story they’re covering, it always felt too rushed. With this coming right before the season finale, I always felt this episode should have been the finale with the second part starting season two. They could have fleshed everything out a lot more with a two-parter.

As is, 2.5-3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

I found the sci fun plot in this story difficult to follow. Time loops and paradoxes are always fun, but what exactly what going on here? It could have been bette explained.

Agreed about Troi, especially regarding confronting Beverly. It really had nothing to do with anything.

I really want to like this one as I love the premise of the sci fli plot, but it was just so poorly executed and explained and fell flat. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I like this one. Armus behaves in a manner befitting of an embodiment of evil - his motivations make sense as far as such things go. You’re torn on how to feel about him and even feel pity for Picard leaving him behind.

Data’s suggestion - that he should be destroyed - is probably the kindest solution.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Just Say No to this episode.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

To support my comment above, you'll notice that in Season 1, Troi does not do therapy sessions with anyone on-screen. Her commitment is completely to the Captain (or whoever is in charge). I really think her shift into a literal therapist who keeps office hours and meets with crew members was not the original intent for her role.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I said earlier that I thought Home Soil was my favourite Season 1 episode - I have to take that back and give this one the credit.

Highlights for me are:

- An interesting premise (and may be a bit cliched now, but was novel-ish at the time)
- Seeing what they did with Geordi's character. It's interesting that the writers seemed to have command aspirations for him before settling him down in Engineering.
- Character development between Picard and Crusher
- Data jumping 11.75 meters down a hole

In regard to the comments about Troi: I always got the impression that in the first season, she's not meant to be a literal psychological therapist, but is instead supposed to be a diplomatic advisor. Similar to how kings kept "counsel" - that is what I believe her role was meant to be, until it got morphed into a literal armchair "counselor" in later seasons. Her role and position on the bridge make a lot more sense when seen from this perspective.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

I didn't really understand why Picard was talking about Worf feeling allegiance to "his own kind". The Klingons who were after the two traitors were also "his own kind".

Although we've been Klingon'd to death now, it's important to remember that when this episode first aired, it was the first good look at TNG-era Klingons.

I don't feel super strongly about this one one way or another - 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

It’s a good thing you’re cute, Wesley, or you could really be obnoxious.

Another solid episode. Not much to add to the previous comments. I appreciate the continuity to Conspiracy, coming a few episodes later. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Best episode of the season so far and maybe the best overall. Watching Data in the room with the lasers is epic. The sci fi in this episode is pretty solid as far as Star Trek goes. The crew interacts well and the acting from the main cast is good. Biggest drawback is it’s a little on the slow side. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Another really bad epsiode. This mid-way part of Season 1 is getting difficult to watch. Lots of issues could be pointed out but the biggest problem of all is that it’s just extremely boring. 1 star, I guess...
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

Too Long an Episode. 1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

This rosier is....okay, but four stars is really excessive in my view. I’d give it two.

The many issues in the plot have been pointed out already. Standing out most of all is the convulutedness of designing an AI to distract ONE person in the event their plan falls short and they need said person to then break out of the distraction just in time to hack their files and save the day.

Minor nitpick, I could see another species independently developing binary computers but the organization into 8-bit bytes is entirely arbitrary.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Lots of issues in this episode, but I could have given it at least a passing grade if not for Wesley Saving The Day again.

Apparently Wil Wheaton gets constantly cyber bullied with “Shut up, Wesley” spam on all the social media he’s part of and he has written extensively asking people to stop.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

Really not a fan of this episode. Can we talk about the Federation bending over backward to unbelievable levels to not risk offending these Jarada? Why is the obligation all on the Federation and none on the Jarada to show good manners? And then all the other reasons this episode is dull. 1 star
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

I really enjoy this episode, well executed comedy and Troi performs well in it. Some highlights:

- Yar yet again allowing random things to be transported aboard. She seems to think as long as she’s there to see what it is, that is adequate security.
- Picard’s initial reaction to Troi. Knowing now how he feels about her through the rest of the series, seeing him put in a genuine effort with her here is doubly amusing.
- Data’s absorption in observing Troi’s family drama
- That plant pet creature of Lwaxana’s
- The ambiguity around whether Lwaxana is telling the truth about Picard being attracted to her or if she’s just trying to bully him into liking her
- I enjoyed the acting of Troi’s husband-to-be. I thought he put in a pretty subtle and well done performance for a guest actor. You can’t quite decide how to feel about him.
- The double meaning in Troi’s words at the end when her mother hits on Riker: “Mother, Riker has other obligations!”

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Markus
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

I’ve never liked this one. Q episodes overall have never really done it for me. 1.5 stars.

What’s with Tasha Yar hitting on Picard? Somehow in all the times I’ve seen this episode, this was the first time I noticed it.

I always get confused about what the Enterprise’s mission is. Supposedly they’re exploring, yet at the same time supposedly they’re always firmly in Federation space, and never too far from anywhere - e.g. dropping Troi off for a visit to Betazed in this episode, or flying past Risa for shore leave.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

Because this episode came so early on, it wasn’t completely unfathomable to viewers when this episode first aired that perhaps Picard really did fire in a defenskess ship. We don’t know Captain very well at this point, and he’s pretty surly. I enjoyed that they’re able to lay those seeds of doubt in a way they couldn’t have later in the series when we trust Picard unquestioningly.

The little technobabble about checksums was nice, at a time when computing science wasn’t the degree of choice of every other student.

When Bok offers Picard the Stargazer, the Ferengi first officer comments “we are not selling it to HIM!”, but it was clearly meant to be “we are not SELLING it to him?”

I notice these instances of actors putting the emphasis on the wrong word all the time and it’s a little pet peeve of mine because it shows that the writers and the directors aren’t understanding the script they’re acting out.

The fact the Starfleet security crew allowed all those Stargazer belongings on board without any inspection, including a just slightly suspicious giant glowing sphere.... between that and Tasha not thoroughly researching the laws if the planet of the previous episode Justice... I think Yar was on track for a firing if she hadn’t been killed first.

For all the little gripes though, solid episode that showcased Stewart’s acting and stands out as a more complex and mature script than what had come previously. Agreed with the 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I didn’t think this episode was so bad. I enjoyed the philosophical dilemma of whether to obey the other society’s laws or not.

I like how different Season 1 is from the others. It has its stinkers, but it also seems to have a lot of adventure. I like that there are sets in Season 1 that we never see again, and the music is great.

I’ll take the slightly heavy handed moralizing and philosophical debate over that Discovery garbage any day.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

I loved this one as a little kid. It gave me many fantasies wondering if there were parts of the universe where it didn’t just look like stars in the sky and if so, what else might be possible.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

The preachiness is real in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

This episode has always been a favorite if mine, probability since I first saw it as a kid and didn’t notice the plot holes.

I liked that one cheeky writer managed to get his thoughts about the episode in through Riker’s comments to Picard in one of the ending scenes: “With all the power that McDuff had to alter our brain chemistry and manipulate the computers, it’s hard to believe that he needed the Enterprise.”

I also always found it a little weird that they didn’t express more concern/guilt about destroying an innocent ship of 53 people. I know they can’t realky be blamed, but it would still be human nature to feel some guilt.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.